Tradewinds Carmel Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

lovely stay

4.4 on December 30, 2012

stayed at tradewinds for a single night and had to leave early in the morning, thus did not have an opportunity to take advantage of all they had to offer. the front office staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. the room was clean and comfortable, and the deep tub in the bathroom sublime! the free treats in the room were a nice touch. it's a quick walk to downtown carmel, but in an extremely quiet location. the casual morning continental breakfast by the fire was a great way to start the day. this hotel doesn't pretend to be a 5-star resort. excellent value, especially in carmel. would stay again!


Comfort At It's Best

4.8 on March 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Tradewinds. Our room was immaculate, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We knew at check-in that we had made a really good choice! The staff was very friendly; helped us with directions and even made our dinner reservations based on our preferences. Each morning we received a delicious and generous breakfast in the room at the time we requested. We were very pleased in every aspect of our stay. We will definitely return!


Hidden Gem - repeat patron

4.6 on February 01, 2011

We have now stayed at the Tradewinds two times and will defintely come back. The rooms are lovely with high end details throughout. The 1st time was a mom/daughter get-a-way and the room was perfect for us. The second time was an anniversary get-a-way. Our room had a great deck w/partial ocean views (although my hubby was daily focused on the Ferrari below the deck). It's great to be able to walk to town for dinner/shopping. We will be back.


Tradewinds stay in November

4.2 on November 21, 2010

The Tradewinds was great. Super clean rooms and very nice staff. Within walking distance to downtown and the rooms are very nice


Pretty room with comfortable bed...average amenities

3.4 on November 20, 2010

Was a nice place to stay however we chose this inn for the spa tub which ended up not even working and the shower was way to small to fit two people comfortably. Also a little far from the downtown area and beach since its all uphill back to the room. Staff was very nice and eager to please. Also there is a nice cat that lives in the lobby. Very comfy bed!


Nice place

4.4 on November 17, 2010

Room was amazing, breakfast was excellent, good location next to downtown. Only downside was room service knocking at 9:30am on a Sunday due to doors without any sort of privacy indicators.


California Dreamin

4.0 on November 16, 2010

On a recent trip to the California Coast I had an opportunity to stay at the Tradewinds. It was by far the nicest B&B we stayed at. The room was beautiful, the staff was great, the outdoor living spaces were wonderful. My traveling companion and I were only sorry that we had not stayed there every night of our trip. Ottawa, Ontario, Canada


Tradewinds Carmel

3.8 on November 12, 2010

My stay at the Tradewinds Carmel was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. The front desk personnel was helpful with directions and local restaurants. The rooms were much smaller than I expected, but the continental breakfast is one of the best around!


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on November 02, 2010

Beautiful ,luxurious accommodations. Close to everything ,no need to drive in town.


Great Spot!

4.4 on October 25, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tradewinds. Excellent location, easy walking distance to all shops and resaurants. Very quiet relaxing atmosphere with the terraced gardens and smaller size buildings. Really good size rooms which came in handy for all our cycling and hiking gear. Nice breakfast with lots of fruit,toast, yogurt and cereals. We loved our stay and would definetly stay at the Tradewinds again.


Hidden Paradise in Carmel!

5 on October 12, 2010

My Husband and I recently stayed at Tradewinds for our anniversary and the property was perfect. We were placed in room 26, and I have to say that it was just perfect! The balcony was shroaded in banana plants and others tropical plants; which made the room feel extremely private - as if it was is on a hidden isle in southeast Asia. We kept the door open to the balcony, and we were right above fountains and the noise was like a lullaby. The staff was very friendly as well, they even had a bellhop - Jose - who was great and helped us to figure out the fireplace. I would definitly stay at the property if you have the chance, I know that we will be back!


A gorgeous inn getaway just blocks from downtown!

4.8 on July 13, 2010

This was the first "non-hotel chain" inn we have ever stayed at. We were more than pleased with this first-ever experience! The staff at check in provided maps, dining suggestions and downtown ideas. The room was amazing - straight out of Architectual Digest magizne! We receieved a free room upgrade that included a seperate jet tub and fireplace. Very cool oriental details, including an in-room fountain in the room and throughout the grounds. Only minor detail that could be improved are the oriental-style beds that were a little harder than we're used to. Overall incredible stay!


Great Getaway Weekend in Carmel!

4.6 on April 30, 2010

The front desk staff are genuinely nice and friendly. They are thoughtful and truly want to help make your staff the best it can be. The rooms were updated and gorgeous, the breakfast delicious and the location perfect. Will definitely staff here when we return to Carmel! Thank you for great weekend!


Beautiful Restful Stay

4.2 on January 01, 2009

We had a terrific stay, from the warm welcome (with cookies and a gorgeous orchid to take to our room) to the easy check out). We ordered b'fast to our room -- and while just a continental it was so nice to have this extra service. Everything was really beautiful -- soft, comfortable king bed, fireplace, partial ocean view -- we had a gorgeous sunset. The decor has been so nicely done, and really forms a great alternative from the more traditional B&Bs with quilts/flowers/antiques. It was challenging to keep the gas fire going, as it's on a quick timer - no sooner did you get cozy in bed and the fire went off. But if that's your most serious worry -- you're in terrific shape. We also really appreciated the wetbar/mini fridge -- a nice extra convenience with water/snacks provided complimentary and glasses/mugs/coffee maker all conveniently provided. We'll definitely come again! Finally, you can't underestimate the serene landscaping and decor in the central courtyard. The only sound you can hear from the door is the lovely fountains -- no "neighbor noise" at all.


Fabulous Sanctuary

5 on October 27, 2008

We were greeted upon arrival with a warm welcome and a very curtious gentleman, Steve. He took our luggage and showed us to our magnificant room. Fresh flowers, dipped strawberries, apricots and fresh nuts and cold water a terrific welcome after a long ride from San Fransico. The grounds were spectacular. Just a terrfic place I would reccomend the Tradewinds to everyone.


If you want the best and relax!

5 on August 22, 2008

I am very picky! But they took care of every little detail, from the fireplace turned on when you arrived, the little personnal note, the strawberry chocolate, the musice.... The best service! The beds are so comfy... I want to go back anytime.....!!!! Go... you won't regret your money!


Tradewinds Carmel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $250 - $550
  • Reviews (16) 4.4
  • Rooms 28
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8316242776
  • Fax 1-8316240634

Visit Website »

View details

Top