The Colonial Terrace Reviews

Overall
3.5

View details

  • Guest room3.0
  • Service3.8
  • Value3.6
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining3.0

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Very relaxing

3.6 on June 17, 2013

This is a lovely property. So many beautiful flowers. Very inviting check-in area. This is also our continental breakfast area which had a fireplace going. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very large and had a great view of the ocean! Wish we had more time to be there and in Caramel.


Not pleased with this room and the amenities.

1.6 on July 31, 2012

This room was booked with a "view of the beach". If you stood on one foot, and looked really hard you could see the ocean. The room was tiny. No place to really put your personal things but it did have a rickety old luggage rack. None of the furniture matched and it looked like it was furnished in the 70's with only 1 small chair at the end of the bed. The bathroom was 2 small rooms, one with the sink and then you had to go out and around to the other room to take a shower. For the price I expected a lot more than what we got. I would not stay there again.


Great weekend getaway place

3.8 on December 12, 2011

Very pleased with our recent stay. This was a last minute trip with a focus on efficiency and budget. Therefore we did not see the more expensive rooms but opted for a basic room only. The accommodations where absolutely sufficient and given more advance notice, we will likely return and pick the rooms with a view of the ocean. Breakfast was basic but sufficient, service was excellent (in our case it was simply room cleaning), the place was clean, well kept and very quaint. I would recommend to others looking for a B&B in the Carmel area, especially if you want to be near the water (1 block away).


Great getaway at the Colonial Terrace

4.2 on March 07, 2011

Came to the Colonial Terrace for a brief 2 day getaway and found a great place to stay. It is an older place with large rooms and sparse functional furnishings. The breakfast exceeded what I expected, the front desk was very helpful, and they even let me know of something I left behind and sent it to me via UPS. A very nice stay, very relaxing.


Colonial Terrace

3.2 on March 05, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here for our anniversary, the location is great if you want to be close to the ocean, but away from all the traffic of the downtown area. The rooms were small, as expected, but the bed was the worst! We both woke up in so much pain both mornings, it was a strange combination of rock hard, but the left side drooped badly. The service was great at both check-in and check-out and the property is beautiful. Breakfast was basically a continental breakfast, but served nicely in a very relaxing room.


directions

3.2 on February 15, 2011

We like the place but we needed better directions on how to find it. The streets are very poorly mark and hard to see.


Great location!

3.6 on April 26, 2010

We loved that we could walk down to the beach. They were very hospitable! We would stay here again!


Lovely stay at The Colonial Terrace

4.4 on March 31, 2010

Our stay in Carmel was wonderful and the accomodations at The Colonial Terrace was part of the great experience. The staff was helpful, it was quiet, and the grounds were beautiful. Loved the fireplace in the room - perfect for a cool evening in Carmel.


Not Quite What We Expected...

2.6 on January 29, 2010

We booked a room here for a Saturday night. Our room was #1 (booked as "Courtyard Queen"), which has a partial ocean view and semi-private patio area. It sounds much nicer than it actually is. The room was sparse and cramped. The bathroom was split with the toilet and shower in one room and the vanity/ sink area around the corner from the bathroom. We found this to be very annoying when trying to get ready to go out for the night and the next morning. The bed was lumpy, but the pillows were nice and fluffy. The fire place was nice for warmth, but not much ambiance with a gas fireplace. Also it was on a 30 minute timer which got to be a bit annoying. While we did enjoy the view from our window and the sound of the waves (when the window was open during the day), at night the only thing we heard was our neighbors. The walls are so thin that we heard the people upstairs as well as next door very well. We could hear so well in fact that we could tell what the people next door were watching on tv. We tried to sleep with our tv on to drown out the noise of the neighbors, but were frustrated because we didn't book a sea-side room just to listen to the noise of a tv all night. We could have had that at home. The staff was very nice and also helpful in local knowledge such as dinner recommendations. (BTW, the town is very dark at night, so if you plan on going anywhere make sure you have very good directions or GPS.) We enjoyed our breakfast, though it wasn't much. All in all, the place is nice but we had the feeling that they put more of their recent renovation work into the lobby and gardens instead of the rooms. It looks much different on their website than it does in person (Maybe some extra soft lighting for the photos?). We will definitely return to the town, but not this disappointing B&B.


Cute and quaint!

3.8 on September 29, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at The Colonial Terrace, though we only stayed one night. Staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful with local info. Room was small but very cute - but then we payed the budget fare so I'm sure it was the smallest room on the property (but did have ocean view!). Nice gift toiletries and coffee/teas in the room. Continental breakfast (all homemade) and cookies at arrival were yummy!!! Coffee and teas in lobby were wonderful! Staff was wonderful and friendly from the maid to the office staff! Only complaint would be listening to the person in the adjoining room loud snoring (get a CPAP!). Fixed with soft satellite music on t.v.! Location was only a block from the ocean and a few blocks from town center. Very quiet and peaceful residential neighborhood! Of course it's Carmel! Would definitely come back and recommend to all, especially if your on a budget! Don - Milton, Fl.


Charming But Small

3.0 on August 12, 2009

Lovely grounds and lobby/dining areas close to beach and nice views although not waterfront. A long walk to downtown Carmel and room was uncomfortably small although.


Awesome place!

4.2 on April 01, 2009

My girlfriend and me stayed for 2 nights and it is such a lovely place. We had a nice little room. Service at the Desk was fantastic and so helpful. Perfect Location and so close to the beach. We definitely will be back soon. There is no reason to search for a different spot in Carmel. Thanks to you guys mad this a perfect stay. Cheers Thorben


Charming Romantic Stay

3.8 on March 21, 2009

We loved our stay here. Very nice room, friendly staff and one block fro the beach!


The Colonial Terrace: July 2008

2.8 on September 10, 2008

We liked our stay there. The rooms are small but most of the amenities are there. The service is correct. It is however a bit unpersonal. Still a good value for money in this area.


Colonial Terrace

3.0 on September 09, 2008

Leaving the windows open and hearing the ocean was the best part of our stay. Breakfast was just ok, coffee excellent, rooms / furnishings ok, parking off street, one block from the beach. I would stay here again.


Cute & Quiet Escape

4.2 on June 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary. We absolutely loved it! We brought our 2 young boys (one is only a few months old and I'm not ready to leave them overnight). The inn was very clean, quiet, and cute. We also loved the staff. They were very accomodating, they helped us out every way they could. Very close to the beach, we were lulled to sleep every night by the crashing waves. We absolutely loved it!


Truly Disappointing Behavior

2.2 on May 20, 2008

Never accept room #6. This $250/ night room is located next door to the maid service/employee quarters where loud chatter, banging doors, and service carts wake you up at 8 am. Don't bother to complain at the reception desk because every hotel employee either quickly dismisses your complaints or feigns surprise that room #6 has noise issues. This conduct is offensive and truly disappointing given the pricey rates and supposed good reputation of this hotel.


Great Value

4.2 on June 05, 2007

Had an opportunity to get away for some R&R stay in Carmel. Express Air now has flights serving Monterey so you don't have to fly to San Jose and drive down. Had a comfortable Garden room with a nice King Bed. Stepped off the property onto Carmel's scenic walk for a morning jog and had a chance to really soak up the beauty of Carmel. The place was entirely charming with its historical roots and cottage feel that provides more privacy than a typical B & B. Breakfast was everything it needed to be for me serving an excellent variety of fruit, quiche, danish, juices and cereal. Later we took a short stroll along the beacg into town to visit the shops and have dinner. The mood was set.


A pleasant surprise.

4.4 on April 14, 2007

It was just perfect for a relaxing weekend. Not too stuffy, not too homey. The staff was helpful and you could tell they really wanted to help you have a good time. We had a "garden" room but you could still see and hear the ocean (which is one block away). The breakfast was the best continental breakfast I've had, more like a buffet. It is about 10 blocks to the shops, which took about 15 minutes to walk, which we both thought was perfect (by the way it helps that you are walking past custom million dollar houses). This is our new anniversary getaway to just escape together.


Close to the Beach

3.4 on April 03, 2007

Very quiet, nice walk to the beach. A very nice place, romantic.


The Colonial Terrace

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8316242741
  • Fax 1-8316262715
  • Toll free 1-8003458220

Visit Website »

View details

Top