Craftsman Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
65 Reviews

Write A Review

A Short & Sweet Getaway

4.2 on November 20, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Craftsman, a much needed weekend getaway. The highlight is definitely Gillian's breakfast spread - it's INCREDIBLE and mouthwatering Delicious! I would come back just for her meals. The rooms were comfortable, clean and cozy. : ) The property is a quaint walk to downtown. One night while enjoying a tasty meal at Brannan's we discovered August Briggs, a local Calistoga wine. We had a bottle of Zin and learned they have a Wine Tasting shop across the street. Of course, the next day I went over and stocked up. Yummy! Thanks Gillian & Nick for the hospitality!


Wonderful Breakfast!

4.2 on November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Craftsman Inn. Centrally located and very easy to get anywhere in Calistoga. The breakfasts were wonderful, Juillian is an outstanding cook!


Perfect Honeymoon

4.6 on November 07, 2013

My new wife and I are used to staying in nicer places for work and play, but the Craftsman Inn was just perfect for our quiet, relaxing, wino honeymoon. The waterfall shower and jetted tub were excellent ways to rinse off the dirt and strain of our bike ride around Calistoga! Gillian set us up with a fantastic home cooked breakfast every morning that kept us going well past lunch every day! She was also a wonderful embassador for the Valley and Calistoga, giving us recommendations for a wine shuttle service and other various things. We took a short walk every night thru sleepy downtown Calistoga from the front door of the inn for a bite or pint. We will definately be staying at the Craftsman again when we visit Napa Valley. Cheers, Brett & Amy


Rumble though Napa

5 on November 05, 2013

This was a great get away. The whole place was very cozy and comfortable. The food was amazing, from the cookies at bedtime to the breakfast, what an experience it was.


Craftsman Inn Calistoga, CA

5 on October 18, 2013

The owners were very friendly and available, either on site or with cell phones. The inn was clean and well kept. Morning breakfasts were delicious and unique daily. I would stay there again.


Calistoga Retreat

3.8 on September 06, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Craftsman Inn as part of our longer trip. Loved our room and the darling bathroom in the Diamond Room. It has a small personal balcony, but it looks at the house next door which is pretty close. We ended up being the only guests at breakfast since everyone else had checked out. (It was the day after Labor Day weekend. Gillian was not there to cook, but Ellie cooked and the food was delicious. My only two complaints were that the pillows were really cheap and lumpy which was surprising for this price of a room ($295 with tax), and secondly the coffee was horrible... A real disappointment for a B&B. However, we would definitely stay there again!


Bathrooms!

4.2 on August 28, 2013

The bathrooms at this inn are fantastic. The hospitality was great, the food excellent. Overall a great stay!


Napa Trip

3.8 on August 27, 2013

Charming house furnished with great period details--lots of little touches. Delightful Innkeeper!!


Great stay!

4.4 on August 25, 2013

Such a beautiful inn with fantastic breakfast and very friendly owners!


Amazing breakfast and hospitality!

3.8 on August 20, 2013

Gillian is a very gracious hostess and she served an amazing breakfast! The location of the Craftsman Inn is within walking distant of downtown Calistoga. We would definitely stay here again...


Calistoga Weekend

4.8 on August 20, 2013

Great spot to get away for a weekend. Breakfast is excellent, staff is great.


Amazing Napa Value

5 on August 19, 2013

So glad we stayed here! The breakfast was amazing, the staff was amazing the location was amazing. Stay here!! I will every time I visit.


Last minute availability

5 on August 13, 2013

We found this availability on short notice in a wonderful home. Everything is easy, even late night check-in and online reservations. We had no problems getting in. Great location. Free wine and snacks! Great people and a great place.


Craftsman Inn

4.2 on August 06, 2013

By far the best breakfast at any B and B. Service was lovely, as were the little extra touches. Luxury bath products, cookies left in your room each evening, wine and cold drinks.The only negatives are the walls are very thin and it is on a busy street.


So happy we stayed there!

5 on August 06, 2013

I do not think we could have found a better place to stay for our vacation. The location is great and everything about the Craftsman Inn exceeded our expectations. It was our first trip to the wine country, and when we do go back we will stay there again.


THE place to stay!

4.8 on July 29, 2013

The Craftsman Inn exceeded all my expectations. The rooms are beautifully done and kept perfectly clean. The staff is also outstanding. Lois made breakfast for us everyday and is a truly phenomenal cook. Lois is also a wealth of knowledge about the history and goings on in Calistoga and Napa area. She is amazing!!! Over all, the Craftsman Inn is a fantastic place to stay and I highly recommend it. Hint: look for the cookies left at your bedside each night... they're outrageous!


Very pleasant stay at Craftman Inn

4.0 on July 28, 2013

I took a quick getaway to the Craftsman Inn. The property, while set right off the main highway, was very quiet. My room faced the street but the noise was not excessive at night. The room was pleasant, if not a bit stark. The bathroom was light, airy with wonderful L'Occitane products, cozy robes and plush towels. My only minor complaint was my arrival and welcome. The proprietor seemed rushed and wasn't really thorough in orienting me to the property. There were lovely cookies in the room but I would not have known that if I hadn't poked around and found them next to the sherry bottle. Perhaps a welcome letter explaining the amenities (where water bottles were located, treats in the room, internet password in case you forget, etc.) would have been nice additional touches. However overall a fine experience. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and the server was really friendly.


stay at Crafsman Inn

3.8 on July 24, 2013

We had the most pleasant stay at Crafsman Inn,the breakfast, the beds, the whole house -so nice. The only thing that I wished I known before getting there was that it was an extra cost for the kids, it was really not seen on their website when we sent the request to stay there-otherwise I would recommend a visit and stay 2 nights as well.


Personal... Historic... and Perfect!

4.6 on July 19, 2013

I had the very good fortune of staying here for a romantic getaway. Easily one of the best bed in breakfast I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was on par with any I have ever been to at a proper five-star hotel. A huge bathtub perfect for two lovers to cuddle by candlelight. The owners and staff were incredibly friendly. Exchanging recipes and ideas on things to do in the local area. The attention to detail regarding the nice free amenities was far in excess of the five star I've stayed in. The only downside to the Craftman is that it is located on the main street of town and the nose level was a bit high from passing traffic (a fault that was significantly deminished with the windows closed). I would happily stay here again.


Beautiful weekend in Calistoga

4.6 on July 10, 2013

I took my girlfriend to the Craftsman Inn for a relaxing weekend getaway. We spent most of our time wine tasting and eating out, but the time that we spent at the Inn was spectacular. The Inn and rooms have a very cozy feeling. Fresh cookies and brandy were in the room upon arrival. The inn keeper provided us with a welcome bottle of champagne that came at an extra cost at my request, but was a nice touch. I had flowers delivered to the inn for the lady and they were there waiting for me upon arrival. The breakfast was spectacular. Plenty of healthy choices along with a main course. We took are table setting out onto the porch since it was a beautiful morning. The location is prime as it only takes about 5 minutes to walk into town.


Wine Country Visit

5 on July 05, 2013

This was our first visit to the wine country. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Craftsman Inn. I enjoyed the breakfast so much that I bought Gillian's cookbook. Gillian was very knowledgeable of the local area and even made calls for us to make reservations for one of the local spas. The location was perfect. We could walk to the main area of town to shop and have a nice lunch or dinner. If we ever return to this area, we would definitely stay at the Craftsman Inn.


wonderful trip

4.8 on July 05, 2013

The friendliness of the owner and staff were awesome and only made our stay more delightful...but the breakfasts were over the top wonderful! Calistoga is the place to stay and the Craftsman Inn is a return visit for us some day!


Wish we could have stayed longer

4.6 on June 11, 2013

This was literally a last minute thing; due to family being in palliative care, we weren’t sure we could even get away. Had previously bought tickets to “Cheers” wine walk in St. Helena, but wanted to stay in Calistoga. It was THE BEST… I wish we could have stayed another few nights. The place has warmth, character, comfort, and ease. You want to just chill there the entire time! The rooms are decorated soo well; we were able to take a peek at some of the other rooms since the other guests had not arrived yet. The bed was sooo comfortable, the bathrooms have those kinds of personal touches that mean a lot, and although it was 104 outside it was TOTALLY comfortable inside. The owners are WONDERFUL! Extremely hospitable, genuine, and we felt totally at home. There was wine with the white on the chill, when we arrived. The breakfast was one of the many of the best parts too. There’s THE BEST BBQ place right next door, with downtown Calistoga (one of my favorite places) just across the street. You don’t need to get in your car for anything other than maybe seeing the sights and checking out some of the wonderful wineries as we did. I’m moving out of state in just two weeks, but if I could fit in another stay, this is THE PLACE I would want to make it happen at.


Late May stay

4.6 on June 04, 2013

Very nice job on the renovation and organization of check in. Stairs going down to breakfast were a little tough and the BBQ place next door had a dog on Friday night that barked a lot. Great breakfast served everyday. Bathroom need 1 more little table to put toilet trees. We will definitely be back!


Wonderful stay

4.6 on May 30, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights at the Craftsman Inn. Our room was gigantic, super clean and had great views. Breakfast was always delicious and Gillian was a gracious host. Great location, very walkable to downtown Calistoga. Would definitely stay here again.


craftsman Inn

5 on May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Spring room and it was fabulous. The private entrance and patio were just lovely. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Fresh made cookies and a bottle of port were waiting for us when we arrived. Kitchen was right next door and we woke up smelling coffee:-) Breakfast was very good, as was the company of the other guests. Cant wait to go back!


Always Excellent Service

5 on May 10, 2013

Great experience guaranteed and the home-made breakfast delicious as always!


Calistoga Wedding

4.4 on April 03, 2013

We traveled from Georgia for a wedding and had a great time! The location was convenient, our room was clean and nice with a comfortable bed and great patio. We had access through the back of the house and didn't have a problem with noise at all. Overall I would highly recommend staying here.


The Wine Way Inn is delightful

4.6 on March 17, 2013

The rooms are described and pictured in detail on the website so there were no surprises. We stayed in the Rutherford, the smallest room, and were perfectly comfortable. The mattress was firm which is important for my partner's back. The Wine Way Inn was the first B&B in Calistoga and it has an extra-special feeling of a home. The rave reviews about the food are accurate. The French Toast on Steroids, the chocolate cherry muffins, the scones, etc. are all worthy of the lavish praise seen elsewhere. We did not expect to use the $50 voucher at the Lavendar Spa (next door) but I am extremely glad we did! The mineral bath and massage were so exquisite that I can scarcely imagine going to any other spa in town.


Perfect Getaway

5 on February 24, 2013

I visited the Craftsman Inn for a girls getaway and we had a great stay. The Inn was beautiful and the room was clean and roomy. Gillian was a perfect hostess and breakfast far exceded our expectations. I can't wait to return to the Craftman Inn, next time for a romatic getaway with my husband.


Lovely innkeepers. Walls a little thin.

4.4 on February 20, 2013

We had a fantastic stay recently at the Craftsman Inn and would recommend it to others. Nick and Gillian were both wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were delightful. You certainly can't complain about the hospitality or the location. The only negative to the inn is that some of the rooms walls are super thin. Expect to hear doors closing, footsteps, ore even breakfast being prepared in the morning. Otherwise superb stay.


A December Napa Experience

4.8 on December 27, 2012

We so enjoyed The Craftsman Inn! The two breakfasts that we ate we great, (a different one each day). Our bed room and bath experience were lovely - love the 600 count sheets (Yummy) and the close proximity to the downtown area of Calistoga. Very enjoyable stay.


Outstanding Service

5 on December 21, 2012

Gillian and Nick accomadated our late arrival, provided world class culinary breakfasts and Gillian took the time to engage us with great stories of the holiday customs of her British background. We loved our two might stay in the Spring Room and highly reccomend The Craftsman Calistoga.


Fantastic Inn

4.6 on December 12, 2012

We stayed in the Helena room. It was lovely and quiet. The bathroom was enormous, with a huge 2-person jacuzzi. The inn is conveniently located and extremely clean. The baked goods were delicious. I'd highly recommend The Craftsman Inn.


Quick Trip To Napa Valley

5 on December 05, 2012

Enjoyed our two night stay. A wonderful breakfast each morning to start our day.


2 nights at the Craftsman! EXCELLENT! So nice!

5 on December 03, 2012

The hosts were kind, helpful and the food was delicious!!! I would stay there again for sure!


Birthday weekend

4.4 on December 01, 2012

The Craftsman Inn has been our designated place to stay at whenever we visit Napa Valley. Their hospitality is superb and food is simply delicious. Cant wait to return next season.


We Will Be Back

4.4 on November 20, 2012

The inn is a lovingly restored Craftsman home. The rooms are quite large and we had a 2-person Jacuzzi tub in an over-sized bathroom. The location is great as it is within easy walking distance of downtown Calistoga with many shops and restaurants. The food is one of the best things. Gillian excels at breakfast. She has even published a book with her recipes which we purchased. We will return.


charming

4.8 on November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and would love to return :) I enjoyed the opportunity to play the piano in the great room.


Awesome place to stay.

4.6 on November 16, 2012

We stayed four nights and had an outstanding stay. Gillians breakfasts are more then a meal, they are an experience. We had booked the Spring room with it's outdoor patio, but found in Novemeber it was a little cold to use the outdoor area and asked if we could change rooms to have more indoor room. Nick was very accomidating and made it happen. Gillian was great at making sure anything we needed was taken care of, from reservations to suggestions of places to see. Make sure you try her home made yogurt and granola with the fresh fruit served daily. The staff and houskeeping were outstanding. The only thing I think they could use is a hot tub out back. I suggested it to Nick. Cris and Dawna


outstanding breakfast

4.6 on September 26, 2012

Jillian was one of the best innkeepers that we've experienced. The breakfast was outstanding. Everything was made fresh.


Wonderful housekeeping, special breakfast service for us because we should check out earlier

4.2 on September 12, 2012

It is better for us (Japanese) if you have twin beds instead of one double bed. We are not accustomed to a double bed. Thank you for your wonderful service.


Great stay

5 on August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the spring room with its private sitting area (which we used extensively) and seperate entrance. The home architecture was beautiful and the breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. We actually bought some of Gillian's granola at the Oakville grocery on the way out of town as a gift. Only suggestion would be to update the website to say that DVD players are no longer in the rooms. Not a big deal but we brought a movie to watch based on reading that they had DVD players and it turns out they don't. Great experience and a peaceful home. We loved it and hope to return soon.


Loved our stay here

5 on August 26, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the craftsman inn. The inn itself is adorable, cleanly decorated with nice patio space as well. The beds and pillows were very comfortable we had the best night sleep of our trip here. Also the innkeeper Gillian was extremely friendly and accommodating and she is an amazing cook. Don't skip breakfast it is delicious. From the scratch made muffins or scones fresh fruit granola and yogurt, sauces, fritatas, everything is homemade and flavorful--a foodies delight. She's even written a cook book of her recipes buy one because I think you'll want to try the blueberry coconut muffins again and again! Overall a lovely lovely experience for our family and the highlight of our vacation! We would love to stay there again sometime.


Comfort in Calistoga

4.4 on August 24, 2012

The Craftsman is welcoming, well organized and quite comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding, our room was very clean and the L'Occitan toiletries were a nice touch. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner was unacceptably loud when set to cool and the windows had no screens. The front stairs are very steep, with a high riser, not so good for those of us with short legs or bad knees. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back, perhaps requesting a different room.


Like being pampered in your own home!

5 on August 20, 2012

The service was excellent and friendly, the rooms cozy and comfortable and a bit unique. The breakfast was amazing with aomething for every taste. Definitely the place to stay next time I am in Napa Valley!


Fantastic Stay!

4.8 on August 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Helena room, and it was wonderful! The breakfasts were divine, and the bed was super comfortable. It is also conveniently located to many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We would highly suggest a stay at the Craftsman Inn!


The Palisades Room

4.6 on August 13, 2012

The Craftsman Inn is very charming and accurately depicted in the photos provided on the website. The Palisades Room is quite large and comfortably accommodated 3 adults and their luggage with plenty of room to move around! The service during our 4 day stay was outstanding. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. The full breakfasts were exceptional and Gillian's attention to dietary constraints was very much appreciated. We enjoyed Gillian's recipes so much that I purchased her cookbook while at the Inn! We will definitely stay at The Craftsman Inn in the future and would highly recommend it if to anyone planning a trip to Calistoga / Napa Valley!


Convenient, Cozy, Clean and Spacious!

3.8 on July 24, 2012

Service was great - wine and cookies for a late night snack and the breakfast was delicious. Very convenient to downtown/wineries and has a great little BBQ place next door. Pleasantly surprised with the spacious bathroom and huge wooden patio off our room. Would stay again!


Great place!

5 on July 07, 2012

The room was very comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the owner was really helpful and nice. I really recommand the place you will not regret it! Regine


A quiet retreat at Craftsman Inn

4.8 on July 06, 2012

We had a quiet, romantic and restorative stay. Gillian is an an amazing chef and host! We will definitely be back! Ellee and Rick


Fun times at the Craftsmans Inn

3.6 on July 05, 2012

The rooms were very clean and well maintained but a bit small. The breakfasts were AMAZING! I don't know with all of the available B&B's in Napa that we will choose to return here but we had a very enjoyable stay


Wonderful get-away

4.8 on June 20, 2012

During our recent short vacation to Calistoga we felt very pampered by Gillian and Lisa Pochini, the in-house massage expert! The breakfast was incredible, and we particularly enjoyed the home-y atmosphere of the inn.


The Craftsman Inn

4.8 on June 05, 2012

The Craftsman Inn is a wonderful little gem in Calistoga, California. The Palisades Room slept three very comfortably, and the breakfasts were undeniably delicious.


Perfect for R&R and hearty breakfast

4.8 on May 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and the room was exactly as picured/described. This was the only B&B we stayed at during our vacation but it was wonderful. Thank you to hosts.


Wine and Wonderful

5 on October 31, 2011

The Spring room at The Craftsman Inn was just wonderful. The room was just the right size and the old fashioned tile bathroom set the pace. You are taken back to a more relaxed era which makes for a simple marvelous vacation. You wake up to a home filled with the aromas of coffee and a mouth watering breakfast. No continental breakfast from Gillian she puts out a feast, which begins with a delightful Momosa (orange juice and champaigne) followed by scruptous pancake cakes, quiche, fruit, granola, homemade yogart, the list just goes on. Never the same breakfast twice and we stayed Tuesday - Saturday. Make Craftmans Inn your home away from home. Gillian is just like a sister and will help you make so many arrangements with local vendors to make your stay memorable. I would definetly return.


Craftsman Inn

5 on October 18, 2011

We have a excellent time during our stay at the Craftsman Inn in Calistoga. Everything was 1st class. We hope to return in the very near future.


The best B&B in california

5 on October 10, 2011

Gillian is a wonderful hostess who has worked along with Nick very hard to get The Craftsman Inn and The Wine Way to the very high standard they are. the bathrooms are spotless, beds and linen lovely and breakfasts to be remembered for a very long time, thank you.


Mini vacation

5 on September 27, 2011

Nick and Gillan were great and Gillan's breakfasts are out of sight! I would like to stay longer but it as not to be. This is very high on my list to repeat in the future.


THE place to stay in the Napa Valley!

5 on June 14, 2011

Stayed here three nights on a family vacation to the Napa area, and we loved every second at this gorgeous inn. Gillian is a wonderful hostess, and an unbelievable cook! Her homemade granola is a must-try, even if you don't normally eat granola. The inn is beautifully decorated, and the time and effort Nick and Gillian invested into the inn are evident from the moment you drive up. My parents also traveled with us, and this was their first B-B experience. They were extremely impressed with the Craftsman Inn, and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Excellent location, outstanding food, and excellent hosts make this THE place to stay when in the Napa region. When we come back to Napa, we won't be looking anywhere else for a place to stay!


Cozy Room - Fantastic Hostess

5 on March 22, 2011

Jackie was the ultimate hostess and a fabulous cook! The room was comfortable and cozy.


We will absolutley stay there again

5 on June 07, 2010

Nick and Gillian were so pleasant and friendly. Our stay was so great we decided to stay another day. They were very helpful with recommedations for dinner and great wineries and spas to visit. Gillians cookies were so delicious as well. Our rooms were so clean and the bathroom in the Helena room was awesome. Thanks Nick and Gillian for such a great weekend.


Short but sweet

5 on April 04, 2010

This was an excellent bed and breakfast. Relaxed with class. I will stay here again!


Awesome inn, awesome hosts, awesome breakfasts.

4.8 on October 31, 2008

Awesome. That really is the only word I can think of to summarize our stay at the Craftsman Inn. Gillian was the ultimate hostess and her breakfasts are amazing. Seriously, ask her about the "french toast on steroids" It is crazy. The location was wonderful to many excellent wineries and Gillian gave us great advice as to which ones to visit. She even went out of her way to make us several private appointments for tastings that blew us away. Ask her about the Spring Mountain district and see if she can get you an appointment at Schweiger. We stayed downstairs the first night and spent the rest of our time in the Diamond room. The building was in great shape and is extremely romantic. The common area is great, and they leave out free wine and cookies......what more could you ask for? Stop reading this and make your reservations now. You won't be disappointed.


A Definite Must-Stay

5 on February 25, 2008

My partner and I recently stayed at the Craftsman Inn over the weekend and had the most wonderful time we have had on a vacation ever! Amy Rose was fabulous in all ways, her excellent choice of restaurants, her choice of spa and just being such a personal host to us. if you want to get away from the "Hotel" aspect of a place, the Craftsman Inn is where to stay. Amy Rose makes it feel like you are at your own house! Thank you very much and we will definitely be staying again soon!


Craftsman Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $399
  • Reviews (65) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7073413035
  • Fax 1-7079424657

Visit Website »

View details

Top