Gold Mountain Manor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

The perfect place!

5 on August 26, 2013

WOW! This weekend getaway was a last minute surprise for me given by my husband. Big Bear in it's self is absolutely amazing, but the stay at GMM made it special. We stayed in the Ted Ducey room and the milk bath in the jacuzzi was heaven. The grounds is amazing and Kathy has lights strung around for the night. My husband and I danced outside under the lights (very special). I can't wait for snow so we can go back and enjoy the fabulous fire places. Let it snow!


Perfect for our anniversary getaway!

4.8 on April 30, 2012

We fell in love with GMM during the 2010 wedding tour, but with a potential of over 200 guests, it couldn't accommodate all of us...fast forward to our one year anniversary and it was an easy pick! We stayed 2 nights and it was absolutely wonderful!!! Robin was cheery when she checked us in and showed us around then we ran into Cathy who is just fantastic! Scott made sure to refill our firewood and helped un-stick our door (the key did not want to turn). The breakfasts were delicious (I LOVED their homemade yogurt...SO amazing!!) and the fact that there was 24/7 access to hot tea, popcorn, a small refrigerator & microwave made it feel like a home away from home. We loved the fireplace in the room (such a peaceful way to fall asleep) and I loved the beautiful claw foot tub and bath salt. We also liked that there were no tvs in the rooms, but there was a tv w/several movies to choose from in the "family room" along with several comfy couches and a pool table! The hammock and the swing in the yard were so relaxing...we loved our late afternoons there! We will definitely stay here again and if you're looking for a peaceful or romantic getaway, this is the place!!


Come as a guest, leave as a friend.

5 on April 06, 2011

The best part of our stay was meeting Cathy. She is an amazing person with a big smile, welcoming heart, and splendid conversation. Robin, Luisa and the other staff were also so sweet and welcoming. We felt like we came in as guests and left as friends. Cathy and company lovingly maintain the historic log mansion. We stayed in the Lucky Baldwin room, but were lucky enough to see each room. Each room has its own history, it's own decor and attention to detail. The lemonade and iced tea are the best I've ever had. Cookies in the afternoon were scrumptious. The breakfasts, simply delicious, including fresh fruit and homemade yogurt, served at a beautifully set table. The milk bath is simply luxurious. The location is perfect with a wonderful trail along the lake nearby. The grounds are well-maintained with many opportunities for a stroll or sit down. Cathy's recommendations on dining were spot on. Cathy cares about her guests, her staff and the manor and it shows in every smile, in every interaction, in every detail. We can't wait to go back.


Heaven on Earth

5 on June 28, 2009

Gold Mountain Manor has my heart. We got married there in 2002 and over the years have made fabulous memories with family and friends new and old. This is really the best place to stay in Big Bear if you want to feel right at home and the guest of honor.


Our Little Piece of Heaven

5 on April 21, 2009

I found Gold Mountain Manor on the Big Bear website three years ago. My husband and I have stayed in B&B's all over the United States and Ireland this is our very favorite. The rooms each have their own personalities. We have stayed with Cathy, the wonderful owner, seven times now. We have been there over Xmas which she went way out and above cartering to her guest. We have stayed in The Presidental Suite, Ted Ducey Suite, Cozy Pine Suite, Bessie's bedroom and the Bouquet Room. Each and everything one of them has a beautiful boquet of real flowers, a welcome handwritten card from Cathy and her own homemade milk bath. These rooms have more pillows than you no what to do with, robes, heated towels bars and some have fireplaces and jaques. Not to mention the linens. Every afternoon you get homemade chocolate cookies and lemonaide. The cookies are to die for. At night she has wine and goodies out. The breakfast are rare treat. You start with juice and her homemade yogart, which she won't give out the recipe for, with somekind of quiche or eggs dish, gormet food all the way. Cathy does so many extra's for you. On the 4th of July last year we requested a picnic basket. We took it down to the lake and had a wonderful time. There is hiking, boating, skiing, snowshoeing and many other outdoor activites. The Manor is a Historical Rustic B&B. If you are expecting modern steel and glass decor than this isn't the right place for you. Thank you Cathy and we will see you soon!!!!


WONDERFUL!!!

5 on April 18, 2009

I recently stayed at Gold Mountain Manor for a friends wedding. My husband and i stayed at in the Cozy Pine room and it was AMAZING. the room was nicely decorated and the spa tub for two was GREAT! The food was amazing. We had stuffed french toast with home made yogurt and bacon to die for. Cathy is WONDERFUL and the dogs are SUPER cute! I can't wait to go back.


Fabulous-You've Got to Stay Here!!

5 on April 10, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B & Bs over the years, but Gold Mountain Manor in Big Bear, CA far exceeds them all. Whenever we want to be in a romantic, woodsy, yet elegant mountain retreat, this is the only place for us. We are that spoiled! The host and owner, Cathy, is so very kind, caring, generous, and treats her guests like gold. She and her staff really work hard to make us happy. So many wonderul, personal touches, like fresh flowers in the room (big bouquets!), personalized handwritten notes upon our arrival, homemade natural bubblebath powder for your 2-person jacuzzi tub, and so much more. They feed you so much you practically don't need to eat a meal anywhere else, and it's all included. Gourmet multi-course breakfast feasts in the morning (and I'm not just talking bacon and eggs, here! How about a quiche souffle, molten capuccino chocolate muffins baked in a coffe cup, fresh yogurt with big, sweet, fresh berries, sweet granola, and that was just a single meal. Then there is fresh baked cookies in the afternoons with plenty of lemonade, coffee, hot cocoa with marshmallows, popcorn, and tea whenever you want it, day or night. On weekends, Cathy puts out hot and cold hors d'eorves (I can't spell) with wine at 5:00pm, all homemade recipes. My favorite is the sweet and spicy sausage with apple compote. Yum! And this place is just so gorgeous, and peaceful, and lush. You feel like you are right back in history, surrounded by lilacs, roses, and countless giant pine trees, and aspens too. The manor is a beautiful log home with the biggest wraparound front porch I've ever seen. Plenty of nooks and crannies there and in the gardens to sit and read a book, or swing in the hammock. She also has plenty of firewood for those cozy nights. And terrific, easy-to-hard hiking trails up Gold Mountain are about a block away. We are hooked, and we will be coming back to this incredible place over and over. Perfect for weddings, too!


Wonderful Getaway - Love the Thunder Bed!

5 on March 29, 2009

We enjoyed our 3-day weekend in the Ted Ducey Suite. The Thunder Bed lived up to its reputation, Cathy's cooking is 1st rate, a beautiful place to relax and "chill out". We'll be back!


Awesome Getaway

5 on February 13, 2009

Awesome!! My husband and I love Gold Mountain Manor. We have stayed quite a few times over the last 2-3yrs. Even had our wedding there last year in May. Beautiful!! We stayed a few weeks ago for a weekend and enjoyed the beautiful snowfall!! :) Thanks for a great weekend of relaxation, great company and food!!


Romantic Get Away

4.2 on January 28, 2009

My husband and I spend our 6 month Wedding Anniversery at the Gold Mountain Manor and were retreated to a great time. The Manor was just beautiful and the staff was so friendly. We were feed a wonderful breakfast and homemade goodies in the afternoon. We had a nice quite weekend and plenty of firewood to warm our nights. Thank you for our wonderful memories and we look forward to staying again.


Wonderful getaway

4.8 on August 03, 2008

What a beautiful facility - great staff, and great innkeeper. So much fun, yet relaxing. One of the BEST B&Bs I've ever been to.


Presidential Suite for an Engagement Weekend

4.2 on June 10, 2008

Beautiful B&B! Loved the doggy out in the front yard to greet and pass the time with. The innkeepers were very kind though I spoke mostly with the lady of the house. We loved the sweetheart's package...the champagne,treats, candles and roaring fireplace were simply amazing... though unfortunately we did not like the in-room massages as the masseuse did not seem to like her profession very much and we weren't quite sure is she was certified or certifiable :) Anyway, breakfast were the standard fare in a group setting which was very pleasant if you like cordial converstion over breakfast. Our room was truly stunning and while it was mid-July we enjoyed the fireplace and whirlpool tub followed promptly by a restful night of air conditioning. All in all, a beautiful mountain B&B, wonderful setting, yummy breakfasts, and 5-Stars to the lady of the house and her special lemon-lemon cupcakes!


Enjoyed our Stay

4.2 on May 22, 2008

For a last minute getaway this was a real deal. We only spent one night but found ourselves welcomed with a wine reception and breakfast the next morning was nice. The house has rustic charm which adds to the aumbiance of the stay, but did make it a little warm and the smaller room is 'rough around the edges' so to speak. Got some great advice on hiking in the area however, the b and b is on the otherside of the lake away from town.


Gold Mountain Manor

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $225
  • Reviews (13) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (909) 585-6997

Visit Website »

View details

Top