Imperial Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
228 Reviews

Write A Review

First Night in Gold Country was Golden!

4.0 on July 09, 2014

We enjoyed our Sat. night stay on a vacation through the Motherlode. For our 1st night on our July trip, it supplied the historical milieu we were after. Clean, spacious room, comfy bed, modern amenities (but no TV, & we didn't want it) along with friendly service & vintage charm (exposed brick walls, old wood floors) made it a really nice stay. We were in #1 with front balcony overlooking Main St. A summer Dancing in the Street event took place that night, was great fun, and broke up by 9:15 so didn't interfere with sleep. The breakfast included (we ate on the cool, shady patio) was tasty. There are antiques & reminders of the area's history all around but wifi and good parking as well. The old squeaky wood floors in this 130+ yr. old building might bother some people, but we liked them. Would stay there again.


gold country go to

4.4 on July 09, 2014

This is our second stay at the Imperial Hotel. On both occasions we have found it clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly (as well as both outdoor hotel cats). It is a historic building and therefore somewhat rustic - don't let this put you off, it is a lovely find in this part of the wine/gold country.


we enjoyed our stay

5 on July 07, 2014

very nice hotel,nice room,nice balcony,nice patio,nice staff.we enjoyed sitting on the balcony and looking at the small quiet town.it was like a set from a western movie.


Wine Country Getaway

3.8 on June 30, 2014

Great location for Amador County wine tasting


Quaint vacation

3.8 on June 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel. Didn't expect the suites to be off site but it was a short walk back to the hotel. Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff. Relaxing time on the deck.


Good Experience

4.6 on June 24, 2014

We greeted promptly by the friendly staff and shown to our room. Everything was clean and comfortable. In the high 90s and the A/C worked great! Service was excellent and the food was outstanding! Will definitely return.


B&B in Amador

4.6 on June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel after the Barbera Festival. It was also the Banjo Festival in Amador City. The room and service were excellent, and the restaurant was outstanding. We would definitely go again.


Had a wonderful time!

4.2 on June 11, 2014

The only thing is my family stayed in the main inn and our room was a few blocks away. It seemed like the cottages were right in the back but they aren't. That disappointment was overshadowed by positive attributes the inn offers. Hospitality, and the food was terrific! Great value with breakfast.


Great place to stay!

4.4 on May 28, 2014

We came for a wedding and really enjoyed ourselves. The only issue we had was the mini fridge was loud so we just unplugged it. Our room was so cute and homey. Coffee was delivered to our door in the morning! Breakfast was delicious. We plan on returning with the entire family.


Quaint and Comfortable

3.8 on May 27, 2014

We had a lovely room with antique furnishings and a balcony overlooking the main street, which is peppered with antique and gift stores. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, but the bathroom, understandably, was dark and dated. Chalk it up to the historic B&B charm, and just don't plan on flawless makeup. Food was OK for dinner (I would not recommend the spaghetti) and very good for breakfast. Delightful owner was on the premises and full of helpful information. Delicious hot coffee is served in the upstairs hall early in the AM which was a welcome treat. Would definitely stay again.


Amador City visit

4.6 on May 20, 2014

Our favorite room, #8, in the Superintendent's House - excellent Dinner outside on the rear patio at the Hotel dining room - excellent Music and wine at Feist Winery (son of innkeeper) across the street - excellent Only complaint was the shower head needs to be replaced -


Wonderful wedding

5 on May 13, 2014

I felt so much "at home". The staff is extraordinary!! The focus that was spent on our event was awesome. I would definitely recommend it to others who want to get away from the city.


The Mother Lode

5 on May 06, 2014

What an incredible delightful place!! The whole building radiates soft cozy ambiance!! The dinner was exceptional with delightful service and white table cloths. Fresh made breakfast the next morning by the lovely sunken back patio. What a wonderful place to sneak away and spend a night with your husband!! Thank you, John & Michelle, Zionsville, Indiana


Great Find

5 on April 30, 2014

Room was nice, very clean. The courtyard area was laid out nicely. Food in the restaurant was excellent. We really liked the place.


Historic Hotel in the Gold Country

3.6 on April 28, 2014

We booked this hotel as a mid-way point on a trip to Yosemite. We were there on a Monday night, so the restaurant was closed. Though someone was there to check us in, the hotel was unstaffed that night which was surprising. The room was comfortable, but drafty. We could no figure out the heating set up and no one was there to ask. The breakfast the next day was lovely - well prepared and tasty. No one was at the front desk when we checked out.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that these guests were unable to contact someone regarding the heating system. It is true that we do not have staff "onsite" overnight; there are no owner/manager quarters in our facility. However, we do have staff living just across the road from the hotel, and at check-in we give each guest a "Welcome Letter" and point out the emergency phone numbers to use if there is a problem so that we can alert someone to come and help, no matter the hour. We always have breakfast and housekeeping staff on duty at 7:00 am, so while they may not be at the front desk, they are available to help and answer questions. We will make sure that this information is communicated to guests more clearly in the future.


Always a great stay!

5 on April 25, 2014

We have been coming to the Imperial Hotel for 25 years and always enjoy our stay. The rooms are always clean, neat and tidy; the staff is always courteous and helpful; and the food in the restaurant always great. A five-star stay for us.


Enjoyable get-away

3.8 on March 25, 2014

My husband and I try to stay at the Imperial at least once a year. We alway enjoy our stay and try to come more often when we are able to. This unique, small hotel and the short drive to Amador County wineries make it worth while for frequent return visits. We are looking forward to next time.


nice getaway

4.4 on March 21, 2014

beautiful scenery, very clean, enjoyed our stay.


Nice place to stay in Gold Country

3.2 on March 21, 2014

We stay here every March for a Gold Country wine tasting outing. During this visit the breakfast was particularly good: French toast and sausage, beautifully presented. We'll be back again next year.


Imperial Hotel

4.0 on March 12, 2014

Every room is different and adorable. Each one is decorated in antiques and retain much of the original charm. There is a balcony at the end of the hall for customers to sit outside and enjoy the town. We used the sitting area at the end of the hall to enjoy our appetizers and wine at the end of the day. Also, ask about the mid-winter mid-week special. For $150 you get the hotel room and dinner for two. The food was delicious.


Diamond in the Gold County!

5 on March 12, 2014

Recently we took a last minute getaway to Amador City, we were pleasantly surprised to encounter this lovely diamond in the hills! At first I was disappointed. The town is a bit torn up due to a major renovation. My disappointment quickly turned to excitement after we found the town bakery! Not just another bakery! Andrae's staff was friendly, inventory is first class. Gourmet cheeses, amazing pastry made from scratch daily-with the freshest local, organic ingredients, nice beer & wine selection, lovely outdoor area to relax by the creek. Try the blue cheese & walnut bread, you'll cry! It is sooo crunchy & good. I should have paid more attention to my inner glutton, "buy 2 loaves!" Our lodging experience at the Imperial Hotel 5 star!. Talk about a staff that has it together! From the first welcome by Kim, we knew we found a forever get away & a new friend. #2 upstairs has a nice balcony,was neat as a pin. The saloon, (ONLY bar in town) fully stocked with a satisfying selection of spirits, beer & local county wines. The featured Daffodil Martini is made with rye bourbon, sour & sweet, made with love by Kim. (bless her heart!) Clearly the staff takes pride in what they do, what they serve, and how they serve it. Our server Nicole was quiet at first, careful not to get too chummy. By the end of our meal we were laughing, sharing stories & licking our plates! Robert, the chef, a charming young man. An old soul indeed, his food reveals his passion & thoughtful expertise for delicious cuisine. Simple, elegant, scrumptious California cuisine. Try the Wild White Mexican Shrimp chili/ginger rubbed with lemon/garlic sauce with basmati rice - YUM! We enjoyed company with Kyle, another staff member, he too could not have been more kind. The atmosphere in the dining room is special, gently reminiscent of its earlier days.To wrap this up - don't wait - give yourself that treat you deserve. Spring up to Amador City, the area is filled with much more than the riches of the earth.


Valentine's Weekend

3.4 on March 03, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in the Imperial Suite #7. This unit is separate from the main hotel. Upon our check in, the host (I believe possibly the owner) was incredibly welcoming and very informative regarding the area. We had 2 breakfasts at the hotel. Very pleasant, but nothing really outstanding in terms of service. Our unit had a jetted hot tub and a nice porch to sit and enjoy a glass or two of wine. A basket with a carafe of coffee, mugs and sugar/creamer was presented in the foyer of our unit for both rooms #7 & #8 each morning. Coffee was always hot and also, good quality. Nice little garden area surrounding the suites. All in all, nice weekend adventure, but if we go down for more wine tasting, may stay elsewhere in the future. Would recommend the Imperial to stay there at least once, though.


Lovely hotel -great get-away

4.4 on February 25, 2014

We visited the Imperial Hotel for one of their Winemaker Dinners. Excellent food in a charming dinging room, good wines, and the added bonus of being able to stay at the hotel was perfect. Our room was comfy (good bed) clean and was furnished with some lovely antiques. The Gold Rush era building was charming. Breakfast was included in the dining room and was excellent.


Valentines at the Imperial

3.6 on February 19, 2014

Great service, all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The dinner was outstanding and the French toast was the best we've had. Great place to stay.


Anniversary Wonderful!

5 on February 19, 2014

Everyone was very personable, our room was excellent, our dinner was delish & our breakfast was yummy!


Good Gold Country experience

4.4 on February 16, 2014

Cozy place, friendly staff, outstanding food, for an unbelievably reasonable price.


A charming hotel, great for older couples

3.4 on January 15, 2014

My experience here was generally pleasant. Our room was cute and the balcony was lovely but it is not private and people have a tendency to walk the whole balcony so your curtains will need to be closed if you're not decent. Also, the walls are paper thin and there is central heating but no heater in the room. We asked for a space heater and got it promptly but it didn't work. The bartender was helpful and accommodating but the owner (?) of the hotel was rather curt in person and I really didn't feel that she wanted us to come back. The waitstaff packed up our dinner when we had to make an abrupt exit from dinner which was greatly appreciated! Overall, I won't be coming back but I would recommend the hotel for an older couple since I think that is the clientele that they cater to.


Imperial Hotel Amador City

3.4 on January 06, 2014

We had a very nice retreat at the Imperial Hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming and helped us find interesting things to do in the area. I felt that all of the meal portions were too small especially for the price although the food was tasty.


Nice Weekend

4.0 on December 11, 2013

Comfortable room, quiet, and excellent food.


Nice place! This little town is so quaint!

3.6 on December 04, 2013

We love this little historical hotel and it's location. Loved the dinner! The included breakfast was simple but good. Our room in the cottage was nice. Particularly enjoyed our delivered morning coffee which we drank on the patio overlooking town. We also love the proximity to many local wineries in Shenandoah Valley.


Welcome change for business travel

4.6 on November 25, 2013

I was traveling to nearby Jackson for business and wanted something different from the standard hotel chain. Staying here was a nice change and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The Wednesday happy hour where I got to meet local residents was a highlight of my stay.


Unique and Historical

5 on November 14, 2013

Old traditional rooms upgraded to modern amenities with whimsical touches. Excellent breakfast.


Construction zone!

4.4 on November 06, 2013

We stayed Halloween night and had fantastic time! Even with the construction out front (rebuilding the road through town, little hard to cross the street)! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff friendly, and a nice full breakfast in the morning! We will definitely go back!


Rustic Charm

4.2 on November 04, 2013

Although the road construction in front of the hotel was somewhat off putting the rustic ambiance of the hotel more than made up for the inconvenience. Loved the place..


Our favorite gold country get-away

4.6 on October 31, 2013

Great restaurant. Love the location: Amador City is about 1 block long, but all the buildings are from the 19th century. Interesting history to Hotel itself. Much less commercial and crowded than nearby Sutter Creek.


Delightful Stay

4.0 on October 28, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful 2-night stay in early October, 2013. This is a fine place to stay if you're exploring the wine country in Amador and Eldorado counties. The historic hotel is well-restored and quite charming. We stayed in Room 6, at the rear of the second floor, which has a very comfortable, nicely appointed king bed. The room and bath was quite clean, and the room was very quiet. The only two drawbacks were that 1) the WiFi signal in our room was very weak, forcing me to stand near the door or go downstairs to the bar area; and 2) the owners seem to have tried to place the lowest wattage light bulbs they could find in the room---which made a naturally dark room very dark and dreary at night, making reading in bed more a chore than it should have been. The most outstanding aspect of our stay was the amazing service. Everyone we encountered was gracious, friendly and accommodating. (example: They let us chill our own wine and store leftovers in their bar refrigerator.) Breakfasts were filling and tasty. We would stay again at the Imperial if given the opportunity.


Gold Country Treasure

4.4 on October 23, 2013

Pleasant two night stay in a well kept period hotel. Excellent central location for activities in Amador County.


Night in the Foothills

4.6 on October 18, 2013

They've done a nice job with this historic hotel. the town is so small that it feels very historic. The room was very clean and pleasant and the coffee and breakfast very tasty. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay to have the foothills/gold rush country experience.


Very pleasant

4.2 on October 10, 2013

Everything was correct


great hotel and restaurant in lovely setting

4.8 on September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay very much. Staff, restaurant and room were perfect for for a relaxing visit. Would recommend it.


Fun B&B

4.0 on September 29, 2013

Staff was great; wasn't much to do in town. Hotel was nice.


Stellar Stay

4.4 on September 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Amador County. It was our 25th anniversary and we loved our quiet stay in The Honeymoon Cottage on the hill above the hotel. Breakfasts were wonderful - and not too big...as some b&bs overdo it. Dinner was also great. We spent some time on the back patio of the hotel one night having drinks and enjoying a live band. Kudos to this gem out in the boonies of beautiful wine country!


Two Nights

4.8 on September 25, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Imperial every year and its always great.


NIce Place

4.8 on September 21, 2013

We will stay here again, no problem. The included breakfast is great. If we went to a Denny's or iHop, we would spend $25 per day. New breakfast selection daily. All staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. We stayed in room #4. Old wooden floors creak when you walk on them...didn't bother us. Just added some atmosphere to the room.


Imperial Hotel

4.2 on September 19, 2013

We stayed in Room 8 (Cottage) and loved it. Absolutely gorgeous, very clean, and the fellow at the front desk was awesome.


Great Place

4.4 on September 16, 2013

Coole Place, Great nice staff Hope to come back


Roadworks

3.4 on September 07, 2013

Lovely food and room. Was let down by the large scale roadworks that were taking place. Would have expected to be made aware as it had been ongoing for a few weeks.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry for the disruption the bridge replacement project is causing out in front of our little hotel. It has been in the planning stages for years, but the exact timing of the work has been difficult to predict, as the start date was delayed for years, then months, then weeks. Now that it is definitely underway, we have added a note in the reservation reminder that is emailed to all guests to let them know about the construction. So far all of our hotel guests have been most understanding, which we greatly appreciate. The construction crew has been very sensitive to the needs of the town's merchants and have tried to keep the disruption to a minimum. We're looking forward to completion (so far they are 2 weeks ahead of schedule!) when we have a brand new, safe bridge --- and a new patio out in front of the hotel for guests to enjoy with a glass of wine!


It was great to stay at the Imperial Hotel again!

4.4 on September 05, 2013

The hotel was great! We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel again. The restaurant was good (seem to remember it being better the last time we were there, but it was still good). Breakfast was really good. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only down side was all of the road/bridge construction in front of the hotel.


Great little hotel close to Amador wine country

4.4 on September 05, 2013

Really enjoyed this little hotel. We had Room #1 - which was huge and very charming. Had doors out onto the front balcony, which was great in the evening, a bit noisy in the morning, simply because they are doing road construction right now. The restaurant was great as well. Would stay there again!


The way a hotel experience should always be :)

4.6 on August 29, 2013

Magical!!!! My Boyfriend stayed in room #1 for my 45th bday and our time there was flawless. From the historic brick rooms, hardwood floors, vintage decor, sweet balcony with a sitting area overlooking city of Amador. Peter (manager) is amazing and fun to hang out with at the bar (great wine), gave us tips on site seeing and also helped serve our dinner and was the bartender and concierge fmor our room...wow!. He was very over accomadating as was everyone else. The girl who was our server and a gal in the am at breakfast too. Everyone was fun and delightful. Food was wonderful and the outdoor patio is special. Great vibe all around and we will return agai and again. We went wine tasting in Sutter creek, love the gals at Bella Grace and Yorba yummy vino and again everyone was fun, pleasant, passionate about wine. Thank you for making my bday so special and for the Chocolate mousse layer bday cake for desert with ALOT of candles that you managed to fit on one peice....Bravo!!!! Keep up the magic....See you again soon. Happy Happy :)


Imperial Hotel

3.8 on August 28, 2013

We had a great stay in this quaint little town. I have no complaints and would definitely return, though probably not on a monday or tuesday when there is nothing going on in town or the hotel.


Charming B&B—Feels very European

5 on August 20, 2013

Outstanding B&B. Stayed an extra day! Great price and the restaurant was excellent!


Imperial Hotel - Magical evening

4.8 on August 18, 2013

Very friendly courteous staff, clean, captured the essence of 1870's. would stay again.


Historic Building

4.2 on August 14, 2013

We enjoying staying at historic hotels and encourage everyone to keep this in mind when booking at this 130 year old plus structure. With anything that old you are bound to find features that might catch you off guard, but the quirkiness of such structures is what we enjoy. If you like people watching (which is perfect at this hotel as there are no TV's), we highly recommend you try to get one of the balcony rooms (Rooms 1 or 2).


Long Time Customer

3.4 on August 13, 2013

I love staying at the Imperial Hotel and have stayed there many times over the years. Customer service was great, as always, and I would like to say the manager who checked us in was wonderful. However there has been a real decline in the dining experience. The dinner was "so so" and I felt we overpaid for what we got -- until we had breakfast. The breakfast comes with the room cost but we had four friends joining us for this meal. In the past we ordered breakfast off a regular menu but not now -- we had two choice: yogurt and granola or breakfast burrito. Breakfast does come with coffee and choice of juice and we had all decided on the burrito. When it came I was appalled at how small it was -- a McDonald's McMuffin had more to it than this burrito did. It was served with: two strawberries, five blueberries, and a slice of orange. But that wasn't what made me upset . . . we were charged $15 each for these mini premade burritos! The fact that I had to pay $60 total for my friend's breakfast still stings a little. If I had known this is what they would serve us I would have said "Nevermind, we will have breakfast down the street or drive to Dry Town Cafe". So keep this in mind if you invite someone to meet you for breakfast at the Imperial Hotel.

Innkeeper Response
I was very sorry to read that this guest was disappointed with the meal service during their stay. Without knowing the specifics of the problem with dinner, I can only say that though our kitchen staff generally receives high marks for the food they produce, occasional misses are always possible, which is why our wait staff is instructed to offer a substitute for any meal that disappoints a guest for any reason. For breakfast, we have not in recent memory offered the option of ordering off of a menu. Rather, we offer a different hot entree each day, which we make from scratch so that we can accommodate any dietary restrictions or preferences of our guests, including vegetarian, low-carb and gluten-free diets, and we are always happy to serve a second helping to anyone who requests one (though most guests say one breakfast burrito is plenty of food). Though normally we serve breakfast only to room guests, we will try to accommodate extra people if a room guest requests it. However, we do charge for the extra meals an amount which seems fair given the quality of the food and the table service provided.


Recent stay at Imperial Hotel

4.6 on August 08, 2013

We feel that a stay at the Imperial Hotel is one of the best values in the Gold Country. Our room, #5, was one of the less expensive ones, but was roomy even with a king size bed and 2 comfortable chairs. The bathroom was large and well-appointed. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. Included in the rate is either a hot meal or granola with fresh fruit and either milk or yogurt. It was excellent. The dining room is just lovely and since we had dinner on the lovely back patio garden, we had breakfast in the dining room. We would definitely return!


Rather ordinary room not particularly special nor memorable

3.2 on August 07, 2013

When we go to a bed and breakfast it should be special. While the town is cute the room at the cottege were quite ordinary.


The place to go !

4.2 on August 03, 2013

Imperial Hotel is the place to go if you're in Amador county! Everything ways great, we had good service (Thanks to Pete!) and food was very good ! I certainly recommend it.


Loved this place!

4.6 on August 02, 2013

This very old historic hotel was very clean and unique. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was outstanding as well as the breakfast we had each morning.


I felt like ond of the locals

4.0 on July 26, 2013

First time I stayed at a B&B. I really enjoyed it. I liked the fact that the locals come to the bar and dining room. Wonderful town folk. Met a lot of great friends. Food was excellent and they took very good care of me with my Celiac.


Very pleasant 3-night stay.

4.2 on July 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, with the third night at their reduced rate of $33, so the overall price was quite fair. The restaurant was very good, and the staff was unerringly friendly and attentive. Would go again!


Just what I needed

5 on July 22, 2013

I had just finished a retreat that was quite intense, and needed a couple of days to wind down. The Imperial was the PERFECT place for just that ... time to decompress, slow down, and let it all soak in. I stayed Sunday and Monday nights. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the coffee was plentiful and tasty, the food was top-notch, the service was friendly and courteous ... lots of genuine smiles everywhere. Something about the area is very calming. On my way out, I noticed some stairs that led away from the patio up the hill in the back of the property. To my surprise and definite interest, the town cemetery is on that hill -- such history in the tombstones and additional information posted (for curious folk like me, I suppose) really gives one a sense of the people who built this small town. I loved it. Mary Ann, Lindsey, Theresa .... thaaaank you for such a wonderful time! I'll never forget it. I'm planning a return trip next year! (The ooooonly thing I'd suggest to anyone considering a stay there between July & October of 2013 is to ask about the status of the road construction slated to take place right in front of the hotel. It's a good story, but could potentially impact your stay with the noise & equipment)


Fabulous Place!

5 on July 17, 2013

Outstanding visit - friendly, clean and the food was fabulous!


Amador getaway

3.8 on July 17, 2013

Stayed at the Imperial for 2 nights. The rooms have some old time charm, but are not very fancy. They have a very nice restaurant with an excellent menu and wine list. Breakfast was awesome, staff very friendly. We had both nights a band playing which was pretty cool. Perfect base for a wine tasting trip to Amador wine country.


IMPERIAL HOTEL

5 on July 14, 2013

We have stayed here at this little old hotel 3 times now and have loved it every single time. It is nicely done for a hotel of its age and always clean. We will for sure be going back again.


Golf jump start

3.8 on July 04, 2013

Peter, our host was convivial and gracious. The location was perfect for an early start on foothill golf and the historic setting provided a point of interest.


Nice stay

3.0 on July 03, 2013

- Owner was OK but not that welcoming ("did you have any trouble finding it" then asked for my credit card) but Pete the bartender was great, and the dining room staff were very nice. - ordered lamb chops (med rare) for dinner and they were completely overcooked. - room was comfortable enough but there were small details that could improve it; my friends' room across the hall was VERY hot, seemed like the a/c wasn't working and it was 100+ degrees outside. - I thought $155 was a little overpriced.


Wonderful hotel!

4.4 on July 01, 2013

Wonderful Hotel! Like going back in time... Good Service, Excellent restaurant, Charming in all ways!


Fabulous surprise!

5 on June 27, 2013

What an amazing improvement to this area, and specifically Imperial Hotel—this was nothing like the area I visited many years ago, which lacked the delicious dining experience, simply-decorated, but comfortable rooms, and top-knotch service from every staff member. We'll be back for more of the local wine and hospitality!


charming with updated fixtures BUT check area events first

4.0 on June 26, 2013

Our room was very clean, bed comfortable andbathroom had updated fixtures in an old fashioned setting--a perfect balance of quaint and new. The people were great and menu AMAZING. Our only complaint is we had specificity asked if the locale was quiet when we booked. "They roll up the streets early" we wrre told. We wre surprised to find a band and street party scheduled 6-9pm for under the balcony and boisterous drunks until quite late. We had imagined finishing our trip at this elegant 1880s style bar they have (do look for photos of this piece of history) and couldnt manage a drink in our own hotel due to locals drunk and snogging until well after 11:00. Disappointing and worse without earplugs. Staff did try to quiet them down but it was a losing battle. Breakfast was great

Innkeeper Response
We do regret the difficulties these guests encountered during their stay with us. Normally, our sleepy little town does roll up the sidewalks by nightfall and our hotel dining room and bar are the only things open at night. However, this summer the town is sponsoring a series of dances on Saturday nights that feature live music and "Dancin in the Street". The first one, on the night these guests stayed, was well attended and enjoyed (perhaps a bit too much) by everyone. The music ended at 9 pm and our bar stopped serving at 10 pm, but it did take some time for folks to disperse and make their way home. Consequently, we've learned that we have to be more proactive in encouraging those attending the dance to be considerate of our overnight guests who retire early.


Romantic weekend getaway

4.0 on June 24, 2013

My husband and I signed up for a bike ride in the area and stayed at the Imperial Hotel. We had a great weekend! The staff was great and the food was amazing. Can't wait until next year to do it all again. We highly recommend not only staying at this B&B but eating all your meals there too.


Do NOT Miss the Restaurant!!!

5 on June 23, 2013

Absolutely superb dishes very well designed and presented. We had dinner and breakfast -- both were wonderful. I finally found a place my wife likes to eat! Hospitality is great -- Manager Peter was so gracious in transferring our accidentally missed reservation when we did show up the next night. Location is marvelous, too, less than an hour from Sacramento, and so quiet and peaceful.


Super Value

4.8 on June 17, 2013

Our host, Pete welcomed us and offered a drink. Suggested a Mojito made with mint picked from his garden. Explained that he would have to leave early that night so he could go rock climbing in Yosemite with his chef next day. But if we needed a night cap just help ourselves to the bar and leave a tab. What a guy!


What a Wonderful Way to Step-Back in Time!

5 on June 16, 2013

This is the second year that we have visited and enjoyed the Imperial Hotel. It is a great place to just chill and relax and enjoy wonderful dining (right at the Imperial - both breakfast and dinner) - and - the wine country is a must for wine lovers- some of the oldest zinfandels - and - don't miss the Barbera wines. We will return!


Gem!

3.8 on June 15, 2013

Imperial Hotel is truly a gem. It is located in a sleepy little town and away from hustle and bustle but Sacramento/San Fransisco areas and Lake Tahoe are not far. The hotel is quiet, the grounds are very nice and staff were friendly and helpful. Our breakfasts were great-french toast baked and served with fresh blueberries was absolutely yummy! Charming place and I would definitely stay again if in the area.


Overall great stay at the Imperial

4.6 on June 07, 2013

We stayed in one of the offsite cottages and it was lovely. The only thing that wasn't so great was the free breakfast in the morning. The food was okay once it got to us, but there was only one waitress who played chef as well. So, it took awhile to get our food, and she was rushing around (could have been circumstantial??) The dinner we experienced was great though. They seem to be better staffed for the dinner time. Overall, a great stay and would go again.


Quaint, historic hotel

4.6 on June 04, 2013

Every staff member was very pleasant & helpful. The bar was well stocked. The menu was upscale with specials that were well prepared. Breakfast was very tasty. The rooms were what was expected for an older building - squeaky hardwood floors, doors that might stick. Pack light as there are no large closets, only armoire and side tables. The mattress could definitely be replaced. Having coffee waiting every morning in the hall was very nice. Grab a cup and go for a walk before breakfast. Walk up the back patio stairs and view the old graveyard on the next street. Lots of interesting architecture and mine remnants within walking distance.


One night stay 5-18-13

3.4 on June 04, 2013

We thought we were getting a king bed, but got a double instead. Other than that, good trip.


Nostalgic

5 on June 01, 2013

Can feel the history, visualize the era. Staff bestowed distinctive attention, exceptional meals and calming atmosphere.


Jim's review

5 on May 29, 2013

Everything was grand


Good Value

3.2 on May 28, 2013

Good value and location, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and filling both mornings of our stay. We'll return soon.


Relaxing and historic!

4.6 on May 23, 2013

Delightful hotel. It was tricky for my 83-year-old father to climb the stairs, but that's how hotels were built in 1879. Food, service, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, all made our stay quite lovely! Thanks!


Wonderful little jewel in the foothills!!!

4.2 on May 20, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay a deffinate do over!!!


Great Value

3.2 on May 13, 2013

We have stayed here before and enjoy the ambiance and historic atmosphere and friendly service.


Spring Bliss in Amador City

4.8 on April 22, 2013

We arrived to a wonderful welcome from Daniel who checked us in and gave us all the info we needed for our stay. We had purposefully not reserved a balcony room because we thought the street noise would be too much. In the many years since our last visit, the highway now bypasses the town and a balcony room would not have been noisy. We had dinner at the restaurant. Very good. There were several groups in the dining room but Daniel had reserved a table in the back next to the window. Very nice. Both my husband and I commented that even with the hight ceilings and numerous people in the dining room, the noise level was not too high. Breakfast in the AM was good. I would encourage anyone who stops in the area to go to the bakery just down the street. We got pre-made sandwiches made with Dutch Crunch rolls. Best Dutch Crunch ever!!! Wonderful time and hope to return to the area and more nights and dinners at the Imperial.


Gold Country Getaway

4.6 on April 15, 2013

We found the Imperial Hotel to be a lovely, vintage-style property and were quite impressed with its courteous and competent staff.


Birthday for wife

4.6 on April 09, 2013

Wife and I ejoyed our stay at Imperial and would come back again. Very nice people, and Amador City/Sutter Creek visit was outstanding!


Great stay at a beautiful little hotel

4.6 on April 05, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Imperial Hotel. The staff were very friendly, rooms were clean and pretty, and the restaurant was great. It made a great jumping off point for wine tasting and sight seeing. Our little walk through the 1840's-1880's graveyard up the hill behind the hotel was fascinating. We will definitely be back!


Historic Retreat in California Gold Country

4.8 on April 02, 2013

We needed a stop over between Portland, Oregon and Yosemite National Park. We looked for interesting places less than 4 hours north of Yosemite and since we were traveling with teenagers we couldn't focus on wine. The Imperial Hotel was wonderful - we had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and loved having the place to ourselves in the late evening. The food and service were better than expected and we were completely reinvigorated for our trip south.


We return year after year

4.4 on March 28, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Imperial Hotel! It is always comfortable and relaxing. Our dinner meal March 21st was excellent, but I can not remember a time in the last 10 years that we were disappointed.


Weekend getaway

4.8 on March 28, 2013

Our friends recommended Imperial and we were not disappointed at all. This place is small and extremely efficient. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great food and hidden away in Amador County. I feel like we're giving away a secret and have already said too much.


perfect balance of history and today's comfort

5 on March 22, 2013

lovely stay - we wanted an authentic feeling true to local history, but not overdressed Victoriana... they hit the right mix.


Honeymoon part 2

5 on March 22, 2013

Eclectic, funky, brick walls and squeaky old wooden floors. No lack of charm and memories in this bed and breakfast. We absolutely loved this place. Staff unbelievable starting with Natasha who greeted us after hours with her young son in tow (we booked at the last minute and the hotel was closed). She was so friendly...we felt so bad dragging her out after hours. Never did we feel she was upset at this. Not only did she offer to heat us some soup but she also called all around town to see if anything was open for us to order in. The next morning we were served an amazing homemade breakfast by??? ( I can not remember her name but she lives in Volcano). She toured us around the hotel and she even showed us the suites so we had a better idea of what to book for our next visit. Gave us the historic about the area and told us which road to cruise on our motorcycles. We will absolutely be back. This little gem is a must if you are looking for something unique. Very good value for your money. Food and staff and absolute bonus on top See you soon Julie Quinlan and Francois Sauve


Our stay at the Imperial Hotel

2.8 on March 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, the room was fine and the food delicious. I thought the room was a bit overpriced. Water termperature was fine for a shower but not hot enough for a bath. The warm robes in the closet were wonderful!


Great Stay!

4.8 on March 16, 2013

We wanted to get away for a few days and enjoy Wine Country! Imperial Hotel made us feel as if we were at home - and made our stay beautiful!


Repeat visitor

5 on March 12, 2013

I visit three or four times a year and am never disappointed. The innkeeper and other staff are the nicest you will ever meet and i have always enjoyed great meals in the dining room, both breakfast and dinner. The rooms are comfortable and the overall ambience is very relaxing. When I visit I truly feel that I am among friends!


Excellent retreat

4.2 on March 07, 2013

We had a wonderful, friendly stay at the Imperial Hotel. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was roomy and clean. We will return again next year!


Going for Gold!

4.8 on February 27, 2013

I felt like I had struck the Mother Lode when I spent a lovely wine experience at the Imperial Hotel. The room was a lovely step back in time (with all the now luxury) that was enhanced by the Inn Keeper's attention to detail. Dinner was wonderful and our wine tour the next day was filled with lovely vistas and excellent wine. I would recommend this venue for your next sweetheart get-away or just to pamper yourself. Enjoy!


Our 19th Wedding Anniversary Getaway

3.8 on February 26, 2013

We were thrilled to find a B&B with a king sized bed in the Gold Country. Everyone was very friendly. Our cottage room was quiet and the jacuzzi tub was awesome! Dinner was very good and a hot breakfast (included) the next morning was excellent! We will definitely be staying at the Imperial Hotel again. Thanks to Pete and Staff for making our anniversary so special! L&M


great get away

4.0 on February 24, 2013

this was a great get away at nice place.


Superb Sierra Foothills Getaway

4.2 on February 22, 2013

This 1879 hotel has been tastefully updated while retaining its historic appeal. Full bar, excellent restaurant and attentive staff make it a top choice as a base for exploring the foothills and the nearby Shenandoah wineries.


Great Place to Stay

4.8 on January 12, 2013

Rooms are basic but the ambiance is outstanding due to the age and history of the hotel. Bathrooms are modern and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfasts were well prepared and delicious. This was our second stay at the hotel and we look forward to staying there again next time we are in Amador County.


Imperial Hotel

4.6 on January 07, 2013

Very charming hotel with great staff in the heart of gold country. If you prefer a unique spot with creeky floors and history, this is a great place to stay. We stayed in room 1 and enjoyed the balcony overlooking the middle of town. Bar was a kick sharing stories of the town and gold with locals.


Back again!

3.2 on January 03, 2013

Have stayed here before, so knew what to expect! Very nice, friendly place to stay.


Birthday Getaway

3.2 on January 02, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay! Great location, perfect for a weekend of wine tasting!


Unique and homey

5 on December 12, 2012

A very enjoyable stay. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The historic gold rush town is picturesque, a great get away!


One night Get-Away

4.8 on November 24, 2012

We checked in on Saturday afternoon and Mary Ann was there to greet us. She was extremely friendly and got us into our rooms very quickly. We loved our room with the balcony. The bathroom was very nice and clean and had all the amenities one could want including a towel bar warmer. The dinner on Saturday night and the breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent. We hope to stay at the Imperial again soon.


Feel welcomed at the Imperial Hotel

4.2 on November 15, 2012

We were given the Imperial Hotel gift certificate as a thank you from our son and new daughter-in-law, who married one month ago. We decided to use it to celebrate my husband's birthday. We love to visit new wineries that are so close to our home in Gold River. We started in Placerville, then through Fair Play, and ended the day in Amador City, our 1st time to this sweet and quaint town, which is a hop, skip, and a jump from the wineries. After being warmly greeted on our arrival, we had the most wonderful appetizers and entrees in the dining room. There was a great selection of local wines, which were reasonably priced by the glass. Besides the food being so tasty, the wait staff made dining there very enjoyable. The room was furnished very nicely, and the bed was super comfy. My only complaint was that the voices coming from the bar/dining room was not insulated from our hotel room. However, these guests retired around 9:30, so it didn't last all night long. I recommend this hotel. It is a great value, and I will gladly stay here again in the future.


Wine weekend getaway with good friends!

5 on November 05, 2012

Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend, room one & two had a wonderful view facing the town. We stayed out on the balcony till 10:45pm enjoying the warm nights. We will be back soon!! Chris Davis


Very Nice Stay

4.6 on October 24, 2012

Very nice stay at Imperial Hotel in Amador City. At first, I was disappointed because all the Bed and Breakfast places were sold out in Sutter Creek and Amador City for that weekend, so we had to resort to a hotel. But Imperial Hotel actually had a separate "home" across the street that they converted into a Bed and Breakfast in addition to their 6 rooms at the hotel. The room was clean and cozy, with a jacuzzi tub for two, coffeee delivered in the morning. It was still within walking distance to the shops. We also had dinner that night and it was very good. I would stay here again and I would recommend this place.


Second visit and we will be back for more!

4.2 on October 24, 2012

We go to Amador County 2x a year and have stayed at a variety of different B&B's in the area. We love staying at Imperial for 3 reasons. It is small and relatively private for a BB, the food is fabulous, and the balconies. We have always stayed in Rooms 1 or 2 which have a shared balcony overlooking the street which we really enjoy! Visit Feist Winery across the street while you are in the area. Fantastic small family owned winery!


Short stop over

3.6 on October 22, 2012

Arrived for a quiet stop over on our travels and found just what we were looking for. Room was as described on the internet, food was brilliant, service was good and had a good home from home feel.


Quaint stay

4.4 on October 21, 2012

Wonderful old Western town setting with authethntuc bar and wonderful garden


Charming Hotel and Atmosphere

3.2 on October 16, 2012

The hotel needs some upkeep and maintenance such as paint, loose fixtures, bannister, etc., and my dinner was not as warm as I would have liked; I chose not to have it returned to the kitchen for warming, however. Regardless, my wife and I enjoyed our stay and will return. Service by staff was courteous, pleasant, and overall most excellent. Due to the general state of our economy, our expectation with regard to the facilites, was not as high as on previous visits. We found this to be the case with regard to other b&bs and hotels in which we have stayed recently.


Quiet and accommodating experience!

4.8 on October 10, 2012

A most pleasant stay at the Imperial Hotel. This is exactly what I needed to do to recharge and refocus my energies. The accommodations were comfortable and the hotel staff were warm and welcoming. The dining experience was far better than I expected and is highly recommended. I'm looking forward to returning again in the future.


Imperial Hotel One Night Getaway

4.2 on September 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to have a quick getaway from the Sacramento Area and I spent some time searching for interesting hotels or bed & breakfasts. I stumbled on the Imperial Hotel and liked the idea of the old brick building in a tiny town. When we arrived, the gentleman that checked us in was very pleasant and informed us of everything we would need to know about the stay. The downstairs area consists of a good sized dining area, and a small bar. It is very laid back, he told us he closes down at 9 pm but we were welcome to come down at any time after that and help ourselves to a drink and just write it on an order pad for our bill. We had room #1 which was fantastic. We kept the double doors to the patio open pretty much the whole time and had drinks out there while the sun went down. At night it is great with the fresh air but there is sporadic traffic noise that may disturb light sleepers. Behind the hotel there is a nice, landscaped patio area with several tables and a water sculpture that is very quiet and comfortable. The town itslef is quiet as well and all the shops close by 5 or 6 so this is definitely a place meant for just kicking back and enjoying peace and quiet. The highlight of our stay was the unexpected quality of the dining. In such a small town (I think the population is under 200) I would wouldn't necessarily be surprised to find experienced cooks and a good dining experience, however what I found was an exceptional chef. I steak medallions with mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables. Every item was prepared perfectly and it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Simple items, prepared very well, resulted in an exceptional meal. Overall, with the ambiance and personality of this hotel, along with the quality dining, I can be certain that when I need a night away from town I know where I will be going.


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel on a Sunday night of our wedding weekend. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was beautiful. It was spacious with lots of windows, a beautiful king size bed and spa tub. Bright and romantic with lace curtains. The room was spotless with antique furniture and décor. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful giving us directions to a nearby lake we wanted to explore the next day. The restaurant was beautiful with a sophisticated charm of antique architecture. We dined on the patio with a mature landscape and water fixture. Very romantic getaway. I would recommend it to any couple who wants to escape for a day or two.


Newsome, Mike and Melinda Stay 8-25/8-26-12 Room 5

4.2 on August 30, 2012

We had a lovely time at the Imperial Hotel and have recommended it to many people, Mary ann is very gracious and her staff was outstanding the food was to die for and it was very clean.


Great Find!!

5 on August 01, 2012

What a great find in this wonderful wine area. The Imperial Hotel is quaint, comfortable and a good value. We will be back.


Quiet, Private, Historic, Low-key, and a Great Wine Location

4.4 on July 21, 2012

My friend and I were driving down for a few days in California wine country and looking for an alternative to the expensive and hustling Napa. We were pointed to Amador County and discovered Imperial Hotel. The wine tasting was great, the temperatures warm, the scenery gorgeous, but our most delightful discovery was this wonderful little brick hotel at the turn in the road. If you're looking for pampering and a spa and a bunch of attentive waitstaff, this isn't for you. But if you value a super comfy bed, tall ceilings, brick walls, nice dinners (on some nights only), and privacy, this could be your place. We'll be back.


Welcoming Gold Country Charm

4.2 on July 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel in Amador City. Typical of an 120 year old building, its age is its charm. The food is very well prepared and presented with care. Service is personal and friendly.


Back in Time

4.2 on July 16, 2012

We stepped back in time to stay at this renovated B&B Hotel. No TV, but Wi Fi and AC were extremely helpful. Breakfast was superb.


Nice little get-a-way

3.4 on July 11, 2012

I wasn't expecting the restaurant to have anything vegan for my wife to eat. I was pleasantly surprized when it did. I also wasn't expecting the effort that went into my toast for breakfast. The fresh bakes bread and fruit was excellent. Thanks


Gold Country Treasure

4.6 on July 07, 2012

Quaint and charming, a real treat for those interested in gold country history. We had eaten at the hotel before and driven by it numerous times and finally decided to stay. Very enjoyable; rooms, dining area and ambiance recalled the gold mining era. We had stayed at several historic hotel in the mother lode, the Imperial is at the top of our list.


Why stay anywhere else?

4.8 on July 06, 2012

Great place to spend some time. Staff very accomodating. Amidor City/County undiscovered so far by tourists. Dining room terrific. Balcony great place to have a glass of wine. Watch out for very cute outdoor cat.


Great place

5 on June 30, 2012

The imperial was great. We were there with friends and had the place to ourselves. It is very charming and interesting with a great patio to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. The town is very cool as well. In the morning we were greeted witha wonderful breakfast in the beautifull dining room. We all wish we would have scheduled more time in this part of California. The wineries are abundant and good and the scenery is wonderful. We all agreed we want to go back.


Amador Visit

3.4 on June 18, 2012

Quaint hotel, lively bar and great dining room. The food was excellent and this hotel is a great location for visiting local wineries in the Amador region. Our room was on the 2nd floor and faced the front of the hotel. We had access to a lovely balcony/porch. This would have been great but there were a lot of leaf hopper bugs from dusk until after dark and too many wasps during the day making it impossible to sit out there. The A/C in our room did not work. All of the other rooms and common areas of the hotel were cool but our room maintained 78 degrees which was uncomfortable for a June stay. Although we asked several times to have it looked at, it did not get resolved during our stay.


June trip to the Imperial

4.4 on June 15, 2012

An annual stay that is always pleasant and relaxing. Great spot to use as a base for wine tasting in Plymouth area.


Favorite Foothills Getaway

3.6 on June 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Imperial Hotel in Amador City several times over the years during visits to the wine country near there. We always enjoy ourselves and this was no exception. This time we stayed in room 7 which is a detached suite. It was very nice although it was a 5 minute walk from the main hotel. We were there on a Sunday and Monday. Things were hopping on Sunday, but the whole town was closed on Monday. The wineries were open though.


Very nice old Hotel

5 on June 13, 2012

My husband and I just stayed for one night, but would certainly return for another stay. We had room 1 and were very pleased with it. Nice to have the balcony to sit and have a glass of wine.


Weekend get-away

3.4 on June 11, 2012

Nice quiet get-away. The dining root is very nice but had some problems with the food.


The most outstanding B&B in Amador County!

5 on June 02, 2012

Our stay was superb! From making the reservations, upon being greeted by the B&B staff, restaurant team and management, they are above outstanding!!! The Imperial Hotel has an nostalgic charm from the old west and beauty of the surroundings that make it a romantic adventure for any couple. The food was exquisite and exceeded our expectations. The prices are reasonable and the Imperial Hotel is worth every penny for future visits. Each guest room has it's own charm and privacy. Don't pass this up. Excellent place to stay!


Great B&B - Visit the Bar

3.4 on June 01, 2012

The Imperial is a great little spot right off California 49. The building is charming and the rooms are fit for any kind of get away. You can absolutely relax the time away or drink it away in good company at the bar. I'm happy we picked the Imperial Hotel for our short stay.


A Hidden Gem

4.0 on May 30, 2012

We had an event to attend in Ione and wanted to stay near by but lodging is limited in this area. The Imperial Hotel was the closest we could find and were very pleased to find comfortable accomodations, a nice bar and great dining room. We stayed in one of the suites and it was very nice but it did not have the WiFi advertised. Only the rooms in the hotel itself have WiFi. Other than that it was a very pleasant stay and we will come back next year.


Imperial Hotel visit

4.2 on May 27, 2012

We had an outstanding visit. Particularly enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, watching the goings-on in Amador City.


Great place for a weekend stay in the Gold Country

4.4 on May 21, 2012

This is a wonderful venue. Amador City is quaint and friendly (even if the gold mine that was open for tours is now ready to become a major gold mining operation). The room we stayed in had 12 foot ceiling with a great fan. The bed was one of the most comfortable my wife and I have ever slept in during our travels. Breakfast was good, if a bit sparse. The dining room is spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly. Highly recommended!


May 2012 Trip

3.6 on May 16, 2012

Room needed sprucing up, i.e., broken furniture taken out, door to room planed down so it didn't need to be tackled to get it to close, Brass/metal frame bed missing pieces in headboard and footboard, the mirror in bathroom over sink was so old/"corroded" that it unusable. This is quite a place (in a positive sense), and it appeared our room was below what the others looked like, but the room(s) need to be worked over to come up to the level of the staff and the kitchen. Pete was a huge help in tracking down several wineries in the local area that are first rate!! Kirk Underwood


Lovely hotel in the Gold Country

5 on May 16, 2012

Our stay at the Imperial Hotel was absolutely lovely. The hotel honors the flavor of its time while offering up-to-date facilities and services, including free wi-fi throughout. Our room was quiet and charming. The included breakfasts were delicious and the dinner we had in the restaurant was first rate. Everyone was warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our weekend to the max and plan to return at the next opportunity.


Imperial

4.2 on May 11, 2012

Great place and value! Food, wine list and recommendations were fantastic!!


great mid-week location to enjoy wine-tasting region

4.8 on May 10, 2012

This is a friendly, unique hotel in the Mother Lode near the great wine regions of Amador and El Dorado counties. The mid-week special can't be beat; very nice dinner. This was our third stay here and we will look forward to staying there in the future.


Room in suites not good value

2.6 on May 02, 2012

Although the rooms in the main hotel building were charming (our friends stayed in one), our own room in the nearby building referred to as "the suites" or "the cottage" was definitely sub-par for this amount of money. One of the room's three windows didn't function properly, the screen in the screen door was busted out, the patio sitting area in the garden was full of weeds and the patio furniture was dirty. For nearly $200 a night (with taxes), I expect more.


Perfectly Provincial (yet sophisticated)

5 on May 02, 2012

The breakfast and dinner food were splendid. The staff is so warm, professional and accomodating.


Imperial Hotel

4.6 on April 16, 2012

We had a fabulous stay! We are a family of five, so we took two adjoining rooms and it worked perfectly. Breakfast comes with the room rate, and it was wonderful. They even modified the breakfast to accomodate my children. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel!


EXTREMELY HOSPITABLE B&B HOTEL

4.0 on February 24, 2012

The room was very nice and included special amenities such as Trader Joe shower gel, shampoo, lotion etc. The staff were excellent and as a matter of fact we felt as it we were part of the family. They invited us to use the bar after hours if we wanted and just note for billing. For the price the food could have been a little better (my steak was tough) but we were very impressed with breakfast. The only complaint was that the bed was sagging a little in the center so not so comfy.


A quiet interlude in the Gold Country

3.8 on February 15, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay at the Imperial Hotel. The staff was very kind, generous and helpful. There was nothing to fault the rooms as they were both comfortable and clean. The decor of the hotel was wonderful and fit in well with the history represented by the hotel. The bartender, who also checked us in, was amiable, hospitable and generous. All in all, the Imperial Hotel is a stop I would recommend to anyone.


Great place to stay with fabulous restaurant

4.2 on February 12, 2012

Great place to stay with a fabulous restaurant. Convenient to the gold country and wine tasting.


Incredible place.

5 on February 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved the place. Older, quaint, comfortable, and the breakfast in the mornings was fantastic. We had room #1 which has a balcony overlooking the rest of the town (which is all of one block one way and one block the other) It is close to many other small mining towns with lots of personality and cute shops. Not as much open in the winter but enough to keep us busy. We look forward to going again maybe early Fall or late Spring for the colors etc. I would recommend this place to anyone.


Return after a few years absence..

5 on February 07, 2012

Haven't been back for a few years scince it changed ownership. Happy to see not Much has changed, so need to come back soon. Has always been one of my favorites.........


A gem in Amador

4.2 on February 03, 2012

The cottage suite (room 7) was so comfortable and beautiful. The room was quiet at night and the bed was super comfortable. The tub for two was so relaxing. It was also nice having the opporunity to walk to breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was served promptly and was really good, you could tell the egss were farm fresh. Will definately stay here again.


They showed us a good time!

3.6 on January 20, 2012

Thoughful service. Allowed us the run of the place and forgave us our trespasses! Expected the evening meal to have a bit more of a "Wow" factor both in flavor and presentation, but it was good and enjoyable. Breakfast was really good.


For those who dislike Bed and Breakfast

3.4 on January 19, 2012

Here is a Bed and Breakfast I can embrace. No forced eating or socializing with other guests or the owners. Rm. No. 9 is a block away, up the hill in the back of a cottage. Perfect. Great restaurant, considering where it is. Clean efficient rooms. Close to wineries, small mining towns, hiking etc. One small problem is the lack of any instructions on how to work the heater, TV or DVD player that are unique to the room. I wanted to adjust the heat and also play a cd on the dvd player and it took me a half hour of trying different set-up combinations. There should be a simple laminated typed sheet of instructions in each room. Also the pens were dry. No big deal but it did distract and for the price should not be.


Loved this Gold Country Hotel

4.0 on January 17, 2012

This reminded us of what Ma and Pa Ingalls probably stayed in when they went to the Big City. A restaurant and Saloon downstairs, bedrooms upstairs. It had a lot of old world charm, the room was beautifully appointed, the bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN!! I actually stripped the bed to find the brand and the sheets were cozy too. The homemade granola was delish, as were the french toast and sausage. Love that they use TJ's shampoos and not the little travel ones. We will be back!


Imperial Hote

3.8 on January 10, 2012

My husband & I just returned from an overnight stay at the Imperial Hotel in Amador City. It is right in the middle of Amador Wine country and very accessible to both wineries and antique stores.The hotel staff were all very pleasant and accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel itself is very historic and charming. The room was furnished with beautiful antiques and full of original woodwork and fixtures. Bed was comfy. No TV, which I thought of as a nice surprise!! Full hot breakfast was included and we ate in their lovely dining room for dinner. All in all a very nice stay.


Take a step back in time

4.2 on January 09, 2012

We had a wonderful stay on New Year's Day at the Imperial in Room 7, with good friends in the adjacent room 8. Service in the restaurant was excellent and the accomodations were quaint and beautiful...it was like taking a step back in time but still having the comforts and convenience of today. Small touches around our room were a clear sign of the thoughtfulness and caring nature of the staff at the Imperial. We made great memories there that will last a lifetime.


Great Stay At The Imperial Hotel

4.0 on December 27, 2011

A terrific B&B with a great staff and hosts. The accommodations were wonderful and took us back to the heyday of the hotel. The food was terrific and just hanging out in the bar with snacks and drinks with friends was a great experience. Highly recommended. We will visit again, soon!


great hotel

5 on December 14, 2011

everything was better than we expected, the food and just the hotel it self.


Pleasantly Surprised

4.6 on December 13, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the Imperial Hotel. Staff were all warm, friendly and anxious to serve. We would highly recommend it to anyone and would surely stay here again.


Great time

4.0 on December 07, 2011

Our stay was very nice, the room was very clean and pretty. The only complaint I would have is the cleaning people knocked on our door one hour before check out. It would be nice not to feel like we needed to leave before check out time.


Thanksgiving Delight!

4.8 on December 02, 2011

My husband's family all gathered for Thanksgiving in Amador City this year. We rented 4 of the lovely and oh so comfortable rooms at the Hotel.Maryann was a delightful hostess, the meals were fabulous and the rooms were restful and restorative.The morning coffee was always on the sideboard in the hall when I opened my door each morning. We so loved sitting on the cedar bow draped porch with a cup of joe and each other. it was a great start to a 9 day vacation for us!!!


Perfect Gold Country Getaway

5 on November 28, 2011

We were there for Thanksgiving and enjoyed a superb meal in their restaurant and cozy accommodations. Our room had french doors leading out to covered balcony overlooking the charming Gold Rush town where you can sit and drink your morning coffee. Excellent breakfast in charming dining room. Reasonably priced wine list with great selection of local wines.


Cozy B&B

4.2 on November 23, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Imperial Hotel. Rooms were very clean and cozy. Dinner was wonderful and the service was excellent !!! Can't wait to go again.


Wonderful weekend in Amador

5 on November 16, 2011

We came for a long weekend and had a fabulous time. The power was out when we arrived, but they managed to serve us a wonderful dinner and we had fun anyway. The rooms are lovely, the restaurant is wonderful and breakfast was delicious each day! Definitely will return!


nice hotel, but expensive.

3.0 on November 15, 2011

Just needed a place to stay overnight. I thought it was very expensive, but had a nice room.


Great stay at the Imperial!

4.4 on November 06, 2011

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Imperial. A building with great character, the location was perfect - in the middle of the Shenendoah Valley and Gold Rush country near lots of activities, Sutter Creek and lots of wineries. Awesome restaurant and cool bar. Great price also. We highly recommend it!


Great place, great service

4.4 on October 21, 2011

I brought my husband here for his birthday to stay in a nice small town in a historic hotel and go wine tasting. This was our first visit to the area and we loved it! The hotel was great, easy to get to, beautiful and very historic. We stayed in Rm 1 and had a balcony view of the small downtown area. The staff were all wonderful and each of them had wonderful things to say about the owner, Mary Ann, who was also great!


Renovated old classic.

3.6 on October 18, 2011

Very nicely renovated old hotel. Room has new beds, mattress and decorating. Bathroom was quite good, ample supply of water (hot & cold) and everything worked well. Very comfortable. Breakfast was good, and came with room. A gem if you are into old, funky hotels: this one is much cleaner and cozier then you might think.


Don't Miss!

3.8 on October 17, 2011

The Imperial Hotel is a 'Diamond-in the-Rough" find! Don't miss it if you're staying in the foothills and wine tasting! The town is small, quaint and rustic but between the Imperial Hotel and Andrae's Bakery, you'll be glad you stayed a night or two. We'll be back....for sure! -Don & Barb -Michigan


Wife's Birthday weekend trip

4.4 on October 12, 2011

The Imperial Hotel is well located for those who want to tour the Mother Lode area and Almador's Wine Country. The hotel is comfortable and maintained in an old west motif. The staff is very friendly and helpful.The food was excellent. Our room had access to the balcony. That made our weekend unique compared to other bed & breakfast inns where we have stayed. The Imperial Hotel is a great place for the Western History bluff to stay. It is also a great place to get away from televisions and computers. However, I did bring my iphone because there are no phones in the rooms. To those who want to stay at the Imperial, realize that when you inter Almador City you need to be prepared to take a step back in time.


Our anniversary pick

4.4 on October 02, 2011

My husband and I love the rooms in the main hotel particularly the two in the front with the balcony overlooking the street. We loved our stay even when it was pouring down rain; the creek sound was magnificent. All the help was courteous and the breakfast and dinner were delicious. This is our first choice for Gold Country.


Last weekends stay

3.4 on September 28, 2011

Breakfast was very good. We loved the bar area, the dinner was ok in the main dining room. We loved our room that had a balcony.


Wedding Weekend Getaway

4.0 on September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel after attending an evening wedding in Plymouth. The room was comfortable and pretty quiet. The innkeeper was engaging and friendly. The upstairs balcony was delightful when we met old friends there as well as new ones. And lastly, the breakfast was really good too. Considering the age of the building, it was very well maintained.


Found My Gold Nugget in The Imperial Hotel

3.6 on September 23, 2011

Step back in time by staying at The Imperial Hotel. We have always enjoyed stopping at the hotel for brunch or a refreshing cocktail but had never stayed overnight. We stayed in the room that opened up to the upstairs balcony. Our room was clean, large, and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. What more could one ask for? Stay here, you will not be disappointed.


Night in the Gold Country

4.0 on September 14, 2011

We would go back in a heart beat. What a lovely hotel! The balcony was superb. The parking was a plus! The staff was tops! The breakfast was delicious, beyond compare. We will look forward to our return!


Outstanding Experience

5 on September 05, 2011

Room was lovely in a charming quaint resort. Staff was friendly and very attentave. Food was wonderful with a great list of local wines offered at reasonable. This stop was one of a longer trip and we have already recommended the Inn to several people and we haven't even left for home yet


Great except old mattress

4.2 on September 01, 2011

Room 7 is offsite in a quiet location. Nice classic room taken from1/3 of a somewhat historic home. Huge bath. Large sitting area. Nice view from the shared front porch. Great in many ways. Worst is the old mattress. Sags so much in the middle that you can barely sleep. Both of us had backaches for days. High recommendation IF they replace the mattress! Great people and service. Breakfast included and was good quality.

Innkeeper Response
We always appreciate feedback -- both good and bad -- from our guests, and this review again showed us the value of that feedback. I was puzzled by the comment about the "old" mattress since the mattress in this room is barely two years old. However when we inspected the bed after reading this review, we discovered that the center support of the bed frame had become seriously twisted (looked like an elephant had jumped on it), causing the middle of the bed to sag when any weight was put on it. We replaced the bed frame -- problem solved!


A great way to get away

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Great gold country experience. My wife and I loved it. The staff, the food and the room were all top knotch. And don't forget the excellent coffee, spot on!


Would return

4.6 on August 18, 2011

We so enjoyed the stay. Everyone was welcoming. Had a great time with the bartender-thanks for the wine tastings. We were not aware of the wine industry in the area.


Amador Imperial Hotel

4.0 on August 17, 2011

Highly recommend the disconnect package. Dinner was divine. The morning coffee placed in the vestibule at the cottages was a glorious welcome to the day. There was so much character and History, it was a pleasure to share this experience with the family.


Cute town

3.2 on August 17, 2011

The restaurant was pretty good, with a beautiful outdoor patio in back. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, viewing the peaceful town. The bed, however, wasn't that comfortable.


Great B&B where you would never expect it

5 on August 04, 2011

We've stayed here several times, always a great time. Close to wineries and Gold County attractions. The restaurant is amazing, Eric the chef is always coming up with new ideas. We would recommend it to anyone.


2 Days in July

3.0 on August 01, 2011

Everything, including the food was very nice. The weather reached 100 degrees during my stay, however, my room stayed cool because of the excellent air conditioning in the hotel The only drawback was the 23 stairs up to the rooms.


Charming Hotel in the Gold Country

4.4 on July 30, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms which was not inside the hotel - one of three that were in a separate house about 100 yards away. The rooms were charming with careful attention to detail. We had the option because of our location of having a continental breakfast delivered to us or going to the hotel for breakfast. In either case, coffee was waiting in a wicker basket for us when we awoke each morning. We had dinner at the hotel two nights -- it was delicious and service was great. They do not serve dinner on Monday Nights - try the prix fixe menu at Taste in Plymouth on Monday -- one of the best meals we have had.


Imperial Hotel

4.6 on July 26, 2011

We sat on the patio for a lovely dinner and had a nice hot breakfast the next morning. Charming place.


Wonderful Location for an Amador County Visit

4.0 on July 24, 2011

Staff was very friendly and helpful in answering questions about the local area. The room (#2) was just as described and we enjoyed being on the balcony overlooking the town in the morning. The location is perfect for exploring the wine country and close to the shops in Sutter Creek.


First time at a B&B

2.6 on July 21, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B. We enjoyed the coziness of the establishment, but overall not worth the price. When someone from another room flushed the toilet or turned the water on it sounded like the pipes were going to bust through the walls. There were ants in the bathroom and the bed was very uncomfortable. The decorations were a combination of antique, 70's throw back and IKEA furniture. The food was good and we were there the night a comedy show was there, that made for some fun entertainment. The town is very very small and does not unroll the sidewalk until noon on Sunday, so plan on driving around the area.


quaint...but

4.0 on July 19, 2011

We had the air conditioner go out on us on the hottest day of the year! The room was quaint, but needed a better cleaning,as crumbs were in the navy lounge chair! Breakfast was not good,it was pancakes that were made hours earlier and tough and the sausage was the same...tough. We had dinner in the dining room, and we also did not like the food.

Innkeeper Response
The 4th of July weekend this year did present us with one of those "innkeeper's nightmare scenarios": the hottest weather of the year to date and the air conditioner serving several of our rooms broke down. We did manage to find someone to repair it on Sunday morning, but in the meantime some of our guests had a less than comfortable stay. We did find alternate accommodations for this guest for the second night of their stay and gave them compensation for their discomfort the first night, for which they later expressed much appreciation. Our guests normally give very positive (even enthusiastic) reviews for our breakfasts, so the fact that this guest and one other recently were not satisfied will cause us to pay particular attention to the consistency of breakfast in the future.


History

3.8 on July 16, 2011

This off the beaten path place brings back some history. Siting on the balcony in the evening was a delight as one could envision the old gold rush days and that was reinforced by an early morning walk up the valley past an old gold mine.


I would stay again

3.6 on July 15, 2011

I was happy with my stay, the staff was great, drinks and appetizers were good, but breakfast left a little to be desired. All in all I would return.


A Great Getaway

4.2 on June 30, 2011

The Imperial Hotel is a gem in laid back Amador. The staff is approachable and very helpful. The food is great. The bar is lively. We felt very welcome and will be returning.


Stay at Imperial Hotel

5 on June 27, 2011

Your bed and breakfast is a jewel in a beautiful part of the country. Sharing your Inn with friends, good food, great entertainment, and lovely accomdations helped us to experience the Amamdor Valley.


Our Stay at the Imperial

3.6 on June 26, 2011

A great old B&B in tiny Amador City. Funky charm. No TV, the old wood floor creaks and groans. The food is exceptional, and the staff are warm and accommodating. Our favorite haunt when we visit Gold Country wineries.


Super cute place

5 on June 25, 2011

Enjoyed staying in Amador City, had nice view of Main St (the only street), food at the Imperial was excellent, loved the history of the town and hotel, bed a bit uncomfortable, but that is our only complaint.


great place to relax with wine and friends

4.2 on June 22, 2011

Hubby 50th BD. Wine tasting in the local area and a perfect place to relax when done. Staff was awesome, very accomodating. Let us store our wine purchases in their celler till we left. Quiet town, great quilt shop...Hotel is old with a great bar and creeky floors, old world charm. No sneeking around here! Use bug protection, I was a pin cushion. Would go again and again. Perfect...


Nice Get Away!

4.2 on June 18, 2011

We stayed at the one of the suites up hill from the main hotel. It was very quiet and relaxing with a lovely porch area where we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine. It was an easy walk from there to the hotel for our dinner and complimentary breakfast. Dinner was great, but we were a little disappointed with a limited hot breakfast menu. We would stay here again.


weekend in Amador City

4.4 on June 15, 2011

I was extremely happy with the friendliness of all of the staff at the hotel. They made sure our stay was special in every way from the bar to the dining staff during the two meals we had. The presentation of the plates in the dining room were outstanding...the chef and wait staff make it a dining experience. We shall return.


Romantic getaway

3.6 on June 14, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Imperial Hotel and liked it very much. The rooms very nice and clean and our room opened up to a veranda with a beautiful view of the street. The town and the hotel was very quiet and nothing was going on in the evening, in fact we were all alone at the hotel one night, but the quietness suited us just fine. Our 3 year old daughter was with us and we felt that she was very welcome (many other older bed and breakfasts are not that keen on small children). We dined in the restaurant one evening and found that the food was excellent and served in very charming rooms. We found the stay to be very romantic even though travelling with a small child. Can recommed it to everyone except people looking for a party scene.


A great Gem in Amador city

4.2 on June 13, 2011

This place was such a surprise. The food was great! The amenities were top notch. I liked the antique feel. The owner has obviously worked hard to provide a really nice experience. The open bar in the evening was enough to clench it for me. We are going to visit some other places in the area on future trips, but we will be back.


Really enjoyed the Imperial Hotel

4.0 on June 12, 2011

We were pleased to get a room just for one night on Memorial Day Weekend. We weren't sure what we would end up with, but were very pleased with the Imperial Hotel and our room. The towns of Amador City and Sutter Creek were charming and the dinner and breakfast at the Imperial Hotel were very good.


Imperial Hotel

3.2 on June 04, 2011

We had an enjoyable stay at the Imperial. The staff was exceptional and that made up for a few of the little imperfections in the hotel. It is an old hotel, and given that we were prepared to overlook some things, but the hotel could use some attention to. Breakfast was served each morning and was fairly decent. We chose to dine one evening and while the service was excellenent, the food was only "so-so" and extremely over-priced for what we received. Again, though the staff more than made up for the few imperfections and our over-all stay was enjoyable. By the way--the hotel IS haunted!!


I love the Imperial Hotel

3.6 on June 03, 2011

We took a suite that was in a remodeled house up the street. It was very private and comfortable, with a huge and fun tub. The staff down at the hotel were hard-working and friendly, and the overall ambiance was outstanding. Love this place.


Very nice

4.2 on May 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I were very pleased with our stay. The room was small, but clean and nice, and our dinner was outstanding.


Fabulous Getaway

4.6 on May 18, 2011

We loved our stay at the Imperial Hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Dinner in the hotel was fabulous. We will definitely go back!


A Wonderful Stay in Amador City

4.6 on May 14, 2011

Stayed for one night (Wednesday) in May and had a super time. The hostess was very warm and welcoming. We stayed in room 1 which has a wonderful balcony overlooking the town. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed drinks, complimentary hors de' oeuvres and live entertainment on the patio during Wednesday's happy hour. My only concern was with the amount of mosquitos on the patio (the standing water in still fountains and pots, etc. could have been drained to discourage them), but this was a very minor annoyance. Many friendly local residents were at the hotel's bar for happy hour and we thoroughly enjoyed visiting with them. We had dinner in the restaurant that night and both of our dinners and the wine were excellent. We were served a complimentary hot breakfast Thursday morning which was delicious. The shopping in town on Thursday was fun, too, and the shopkeepers were so friendly. We would absolutely stay there again and would highly recommend it to others!


Repeat Visit

2.8 on April 25, 2011

My husband and I and our good friends have an annual trip to Amador Co. and stay in The Imperial Hotel. We have always enjoyed our stay, however, this stay we felt that the service was not up to par. When we arrived we did not get a warm welcome or welcome back, which would have been nice being repeat guest. The dinner service was excellent and the food was fine. However, the breakfast needs some improvement. We will return again next year, because for the most part, it is an enjoyable stay.


The Old West at Your Fingertips

4.2 on April 21, 2011

Anchoring a small town, the Imperial takes you back 130 years. The traffic is light, beds are comfortable, dining is some of the best around, and service is outstanding. It IS an old hotel: the floors creak, windows don't always work, no TV in the rooms, keys are balky, furniture is older—all part of its charm and what transports one back in time. The price is right.


Wonderful Time

4.2 on April 18, 2011

This was very clean and cute, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.


Imperial Hotel: A taste of the past.

5 on April 18, 2011

I love the Imperial. It is clean, friendly, and in a lovely town near great wine country. Great visit.


Historic setting & extremely fun weekend

4.0 on April 07, 2011

Located in historic landmark...convenient to wineries & picturesque walks...great breakfast and dinner house, too. The value of the accomodations & service can't be beat.


Lovely Inn, great breakfast, too!

4.0 on March 27, 2011

We had a wonderful time - and would definitely stay there again!


wondeful food

3.2 on March 23, 2011

The Imperial offers pretty basic accommodations, but the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet and clean. The hotel would benefit from upgrading the furnishings and decor in the rooms. The restaurant offers wonderful food and attentive service. We enjoyed our stay.


amador city jewel

4.6 on March 22, 2011

wonderful dinner and breakfasts, great room (number 7-the honeymoon suite) really appreciated the time we had to relax in Amador City!


Behind the Cellar Door weekend

3.8 on March 09, 2011

It was great place to stay in the Gold County. Along with some shopping in Amador City and Jackson, we attended the Amador Vitner's Behind the Cellar Door Event. The stay at the Imperial Hotel was a extra nice add on. The Historic nature of the Hotel made the, well lets say, historic. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a nice quiet place to get away.


wine weekend getaway

3.4 on March 08, 2011

We were met with a very friendly reception. The room was like the picture so no false advertisment. Old but very nice and clean. My only complaint is the bed not so comfy. We had dinner in the Hotel and it was very good and well prepared. Nice presentation. Breakfast as well was wonderful we came down an hour before we had told them we were and they kindly fed us early. I enjoyed my stay.


A very pleasant stay.

3.8 on February 27, 2011

We stayed in the wedding suite. It was so cozy! We both slept so well there. And having coffee delivered to us in the mornings was so nice! We will definitely stay there again.


a nice weekend away!

3.6 on February 09, 2011

We stayed in the cottage off the property and had a lovely time. The room was clean and organized, although the bed was a bit squeeky. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was okay. It was not bad by any means but it seemed a bit over priced. We are total foodies so we can be a bit picky when going out and expect a lot for a $20 a plate meal, we need to be wowed and we weren't but it was still tasty. The dessert on the other hand was absolutely fantastic! The continental breakfast that was brought to our room was perfect, the coffee cake was wonderful and the granola was delicious. We will stay here again for sure.


Breakfast bounty

4.0 on February 06, 2011

Lovely redone hotel in a quiet tiny town. Thoughtful of staff to put out coffee, sugar and cream in the morning. We sat on the balcony overlooking downtown Amador City (one whole block!), getting our caffeine fix. Then we headed down to the dining area for cheese blintzes with tangy berries, sausages and spinach quiche. The rooms aren't cheap but the food's fantastic.


Quiet and Out of the Way Place to Stay

4.2 on January 06, 2011

The hotel's restaurant is superior...good wine list. Our room was simple but cozy, and very indicative of the period of the hotel. The only noticeable improvement would be the lobby and bar area...a bit shabby. Overall a wonderful stay with courteous and helpful staff.


An Amador gem

3.6 on October 27, 2010

We really liked staying in Amador because it was quiet, intimate and close enough to Sutter Creek to take advantage of the night life and Giants game! Imperial hotel was just the ticket for a two night stay when we could really relax!


a wonderful stay!!!

4.6 on October 24, 2010

Great place to stay! Very cozy rooms in the hotel, especially if you are with some extra couples. We had a very fun adult weekend with two other couples. All the rooms in the hotel are close and cozy. The staff treated us like family! Very quaint place, but if you are looking for modern, then this is not for you. It is a very old and beautiful historical place - whimsical and unique. So, if you are into rustic charm, then do pay a visit. I am very happy that they decided to preserve the romantic history there. Wonderful dining, you MUST experience! The night servers and bartender (bless their hearts!) are so friendly and accomodating. We will definately be returning! Thank you Imperial Hotel!!


Our stay

3.2 on October 20, 2010

The room we saw on the internet and thought we booked was not the room we stayed in. That was somewhat disappointing. Also didn't know we would be in a separate location. It was nice, though, having a large room and it was very quiet.


Good times at Imperial

3.8 on September 29, 2010

One night in a new area for us and we chose the Imperial Hotel. Loved the back patio and the front balcony as quiet and relaxing places to spend some time. Our dinner was outstanding as was our breakfast the next morning. Charming, Quiet and comfortable...We would definitely stay again.


A Step Back in Time - An Amazing Place to Stay

5 on September 25, 2010

Although our stay at the Imperial Hotel was brief (one night), it was very enjoyable. We booked 5 of the 9 rooms & were unanimous in saying they met our every need & made it a memorable stopover. Reservations & check-in were flawless. The decor of each room was charming - incredibly posh linens. Our dining experience (both dinner & breakfast) were wonderful. The owner & staff made us feel very welcome in their establishment. Would love to return again.


Private and Pampered

4.2 on September 25, 2010

What a wonderful experience! The rooms are beautiful and I was delighted with the special touches: extra nice toiletry items, heated towel bars, coffee carafe and mugs waiting in the hallway in the morning. Our group rented 5 of the rooms one night and literally had the entire floor to ourselves. The food was excellent and the menu extensive. The private patio in the back is lovely. The innkeepers and staff are so friendly and welcoming.


Wonderful Hostess Tucked in a Little Back Corner

4.4 on September 09, 2010

I was thrilled to pull into the parking lot for the Imperial Hotel. Tucked away in the corner of Hwy 49, it had the perfect "get away from everything" feeling I was hoping for. The Hostess, Mary Ann was incredibly welcoming and certainly made it feel just like home very quickly. I was most impressed with breakfast the next morning- it was so filling and tasty and the coffee was delicious. Sitting outside under the trees, taking all the time I needed to wake up for my day, I felt fully rested when I went out to explore Amador and Jackson that afternoon. I will definitely consider returning to the Imperial Hotel on my next visit to Amador.


Great potential but could use some spiffying up

2.8 on September 08, 2010

Nice, quiet setting. The room was OK but not very clean. The bed was too soft which was hard on the back. No way to control air conditioner which was bad for my sinuses. The dinner was very good (tasted fresh), but we waited at our table for a bit over an hour before the food was served. The ambience was great and definitely enjoyed breakfast out in the patio. patio/garden area could use some gardening. A hotel with great potential but could use some spiffing up.


Amador City's best lodging

3.0 on September 07, 2010

The Imperial Hotel in Amador City often gets missed by folks whizzing by on the new Hwy 49 bypass, but for those wanting a quiet getaway in a historic Gold Country town it's a great option. We prefer to stay in the largest of the three 1930's Cottage suites, which takes up almost half the entire building and includes a jacuzzi tub for two. Being in the cottage means a short walk down to the Imperial for breakfast, but it also means a quieter stay and more privacy. These are also the most expensive rooms, so be sure to do your homework before making a reservation. But the view off the porch of the surrounding countryside can't be beat and is one of the best ways to instantly shed the stress of modern city life. We're also big fans of local wineries, which are among the best kept secrets in the state. It's all a mere 2 1/2 hour drive from the Bay Area and once you've stayed there you understand why so many people can't stop coming back.


Weekend wine tasting in the Golden Rose room

4.8 on August 19, 2010

What we liked was: The food both breakfast and dinner. The peaceful patio garden both in the morning and evening. The shower head. The water pressure and temperature was outstanding. The casual walk from room to hotel for meals. The staff. Close proximity to wine country. What not to expect:A large room with a big marble bathroom. The place was built over a hundred years ago. A large wine list. Somewhat surprising being in excellent wine country. A great view from the room. (not really needed because of the patio)


Okay

2.2 on August 24, 2009

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and I must say, for the price we paid we should have had coffee in our room. I think it is the least the hotel could do since the room is not a part of the main hotel. Its not like we could walk down stairs to get a cup. We were blocks away. The drinking glasses that were provided for our use were filthy. The sink basin was not attached to the pedestal and is dangerous if you were to lean on it while brushing your teeth. The wall above the sink was splattered with toothpaste. The bed was lopsided and broken down. You can't compensate a badly broken down mattress with a feather top. We woke up stiff and sore and then annoyed to not have coffee!!! For the price 200+ a night our room should have been better.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate feedback from guests and attempt to resolve problems promptly so that guests leave more than satisfied with their stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, these guests brought none of their concerns to us directly during or after their stay, so we could not immediately address them. The welcome letter we give to our guests at check-in explains that there will be freshly brewed coffee outside their rooms early in the morning. (Our guests often comment on how good our coffee is and ask where we buy it.) These guests had indicated that they did not want breakfast, and they left before the coffee arrived outside their door. We usually can provide earlier service to those who have to leave before our normal breakfast hours if it is requested ahead of time, but in this case it was not. We have been replacing our older mattresses, and though there have been no prior complaints about the mattress in this room, we have replaced this one sooner rather than later in light of the comment from these guests. The antique sink in the room is a bit loose but will not fall off or pose a danger under normal use. The “toothpaste splatters” on the wall behind the sink are spots where the blue wall paint has been rubbed off the textured wall -- a maintenance item, but not a hygiene issue. Our hard water can cause water spots on glassware (which usually get polished off, but apparently were not in this case) -- again, a cosmetic not a hygiene issue. We receive many enthusiastic reviews from guests about our hotel, and regret that we were not given an opportunity to make these guests comfortable with their decision to stay with us.


Imperial Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $195
  • Reviews (228) 4.2
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2092679172

Visit Website »

View details

Top