The Continental Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

Adam M.

4.0 on December 14, 2014

Clean room, good value. Will definitely use again!


Stay in Tomales

3.2 on September 26, 2014

The room was very clean and well appointed. It was very noisy at night and early in the morning. Cars and motorcycles roaring by and gunning their engines.


We've been there before and would go back.

4.8 on August 20, 2014

Coffee could be richer. Also, we both barked out shins on the bed frame. But I think we'll ask for a room off the front due to the nighttime traffic noise. The town is very quiet, but the nighttime traffic just screams thru town. I wonder why there's not a 4-way stop sign at that intersection.


One Night Stay

3.4 on August 13, 2014

We only stayed for 1 night. The room was clean and just what we were looking for. We were given the door key code and our keys were waiting for us upon our arrival. The road nearby was a little noisy, but not too bothersome. We were a little disappointed in the continental breakfast but luckily there is a fabulous bakery across the street.


NorCal Coastal Road Trip

4.2 on July 14, 2014

Best night of sleep during this family road trip. So quiet and peaceful. The beds were so comfy. We would definitely stay here again.


Problems with our stay

2.4 on September 05, 2012

The Inn has a lot of promise. Our room was very spacious and wonderfully decorated, so we were very pleased with that, and the upstairs has a lovely sitting area with magazines, etc. However, we stayed there two nights during the week, and only saw anyone connected with the inn very briefly on the second night. There's a note on the door that says to call a number for assistance, but there were three of us standing there with three different cell providers, and no one could get a signal, so it was impossible to contact anyone -- we weren't given any other option for contact. They had a notebook of restaurants, etc., but it wasn't up to date. The Direct TV didn't work on the second night, and there was no way to contact anyone. The only thing provided as breakfast in the common area was a coffee maker where you made the coffee, single packets of microwave oatmeal, and milk and juice in a small fridge. Unfortunately, the temperature wasn't cold enough in the fridge, and the milk had curdled. It would be easy to add a small bowl of fruit and put some yogurt in the fridge. This standard would be OK if it were a hostel setting and/or only cost $75/night, but for the amount of money they charge, they must do better or they will have no returning guests.

Innkeeper Response
I'm so sorry you had a bad experience at our inn. We do leave 2 phone numbers on the front desk incase of any problems,and someone is 2 minutes away. The staff come in everyday to clean, etc. But if it is a quiet week they only come back for a couple of hours in the evening, so I'm so sorry that you missed them. Thank you for letting us know about the fridge we will definitely look into this and change if necessary. We only provide breakfast on the weekend. sincerely,


Perfect Getaway!

4.0 on September 20, 2011

Quaint Tomales - country by the sea - what could be better? Continental Inn - gracious staff, impeccably clean, tastefully decorated rooms in a quiet environment. Continental breakfast included! Next door to CI is a beautiful historic and fully functioning Catholic Church and community play/picnic area, and just down the road Dillon Beach with a casual cafe boasting delicious home cooked food reasonably priced and an incredible view of the Pacific Ocean. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it highly to anyone who'd ask.


getting ready for the wedding

4.0 on June 15, 2011

I rented two rooms here for my wedding party to get prepared in. (We were camping nearby), two of my bridesmaids actually stayed in the rooms. In the morning when we were getting ready there was a great breakfast spread. The innkeeper was really nice and the rooms were very clean and classy. Tomalas is a tiny cute town very close to the ocean and offers itself to a sweet weekend getaway. I would totally recommend the contintnetal inn,


A hidden gem.

4.2 on April 17, 2011

The Continental Inn is at a quiet crossroads that is convenient to whatever you want to do, and the little town of Tomales has exactly what you want on a casual morning after sleeping in. The rooms are lovely, clean, and comfortable. The Inn is large enough that you don't feel like you're staying in someone's house, but it's cozy. We've been going two or three times a year for four or five years.


Port City Guest House - Wilmington, NC

5 on April 10, 2011

The Port City guest house exceeded expectations in all ways. The accomodations were excellent and the host was great. The location provided quick and easy access to the Convention Center and harbor area. I can recommend it.


Fabulous!

5 on July 28, 2009

I've been vacationing in the Tomales area since childhood and had never stayed here. What a surprise that this gem was hiding under my nose the whole time. The room was spacious yet cozy, and the furnishings were lovely. We loved the delectable cheese danish that was one of the many breakfast options. The restaurant next door is outstanding as well.


Thanksgiving in Tomales, Ca.

3.8 on December 03, 2008

OK. You have asked for a review, and so I will share the actual email I sent to the hotel itself after our stay. It should prove just as insightful in this review venue, I believe! quote: I just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful stay at your hotel over Thanksgiving (11/26-11/27). You were a gracious host, and made our stay an even more memorable one! As a 4th generation Northern Californian, your area has always been familiar to me, and even though I may have "aged", the regional beauty of Marin County never seems to change! A couple of points we'd like to address about our room (the Bluebell, I believe): 1) The bed's height. The old style bed is normal for the period, but possibly a period "bed step" would be nice for us shorter people! Attaching it to the floor would deter theft. 2) Hallway chatter. We could hear people talking and chatting out side our door near the condiment table. This is an understandable occurrence, but it was not conductive to peace and quiet inside the room. Perhaps some simple weather stripping around the room's door frame would solve the noise factor. 3) No screening on windows. We opened our window a little bit for fresh air, but there were no screens to prevent any flying "critters" from coming in. Please do not take this as criticism but only as a friendly observations! We truly enjoyed our stay in Tomales and look forward to doing it again one day. All the best for the holidays and the New Year! Steve & Wendy Auldridge P.S. We believe someone did sneak in a small dog around 9 PM on 11/26/08, but I cannot prove it of course... Regards ....unquote.


Wonderful Historic bed and breakfast

3.8 on October 22, 2008

A fireplace in the corner, a warm duvet and a great host! what could be better? it is one the the nicest and well kept Inn's we have ever stayed at for the price! Highly recommended!


Hidden Gem

4.8 on October 01, 2008

My wife, Jan, and I stayed one night on our way back to San Fan. We stopped by chance and had the most restful night during our two week visit to Calif. Great place, friendly staff & guests.


comfortable and full of history

4.6 on August 20, 2008

The continental in was absolutely charming. The rooms were clean and exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed the communities quaint downtown on our visit. We plan on returning soon.


The Continental Inn

5 on August 20, 2008

All the best!


Cozy Comfy Clean

4.0 on July 18, 2008

Clean, comfortable room with newly renovated bathrooms. Exceptionally clean, comfortable mattress, cozy breakfast. Very private. Tomales Bakery across the street a plus. Located about half-way between Balega Bay and Pt. Reyes.


Tomales stay on Memorial Day

3.6 on June 11, 2008

Nice room with floral touches. Lack of ice was disappointing. Very clean and neat.


The Continental Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $235
  • Reviews (18) 4.1
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078782396

Visit Website »

View details

Top