Knowles Hill Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful B&B

5 on October 08, 2014

If only every bed & breakfast could be as fantastic as The Inn on Knowles Hill. The room was delightful and very comfortable. The breakfast prepared by Rhonda each morning was a gourmet delight. My daughter and I stayed as part of a group that took over the Inn. It was such fun and was like staying with friends at their home. Thank you Rhonda and Fred.


Beyond Amazing!

5 on April 18, 2014

My husband surprised me for our anniversary by reserving us a room here. We live about a mile away, but getting away has always been difficult for us-so he made a great choice in staying local! Everything about the Inn was perfect! The room was large and extremely clean, the bed was so comfortable (and the special detergent smelled so good-you'll want to know what she uses)! Rhonda is one of the nicest people you will ever meet-and the BEST cook! Our breakfast was out of this world-my husband and I couldn't stop talking about it! We will be back, but in the meantime, we'll spread the word about how amazing The Inn on Knowles Hill is!


We Love This Inn

5 on November 21, 2013

The innkeepers at Knowles Hill really know how to spoil their guests. We would come back just for the scrumptuous gourmet breakfasts made with fresh ingredients. We particularly enjoyed the stuffed poached pear, and loved having eggs straight from the property's chicken coop. There's much to appreciate about this Inn. We stayed two nights in the exquisitely decorated Earl Warren Room, and were impressed with the amazing attention to detail, comfortable mattress on a beautiful antique carved bed, and spectacular hilltop views overlooking the town of Sonora. Not to mention the gracious owners! The location is perfect for exploring, shopping and winetasting throughout the southern end of the Gold Country. The charming town of Murphys is a short drive, and the Calveros Big Trees State Park is not much farther. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years, and the Knowles Inn has quickly become one of our favorites.


Beyond Expectations!

5 on May 20, 2013

After a long flight from the East Coast and then a long drive to Sonora, my wife, family, and I were absolutely amazed from the moment we passed through the gates of the Inn. The grandeur of the estate, the view from the summit, the delightful garden scents and sounds of the animals were enchanting. And then we were embraced by Rhonda's loving attention, caring, and charm. The Inn and our room were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed every inch of this historic inn, complete with generations of family antiques and history. The morning breakfasts were truly gourmet and we laughed because none of us had ever taken pictures of our morning meals! As a professional photographer with a Studio that has won national and international awards in wedding photography, I was very impressed with The Buess's plans to expand the grounds of the Inn to include an area for outdoor wedding ceremonies and receptions. Their artistic vision, attention to details, and ability to "take care of us" will certainly make the Inn a destination point for many celebrations. So, we would highly recommend that you take advantage of this Gem in Sonora, but we also hope that there will always be a room available for us! John and Marge Gardner and Family


A GREAT B&B

5 on May 16, 2013

A wonderfully run bed and breakfast located in the hills of Sonora, CA. The palce is beautifully furnished and well staffed.


WOW! WOW! WOW!

5 on May 16, 2013

Everything about this place is fabulous! The beds, food, flowers, and view. Don't stay anywhere else. It is totally worth it.


Enjoyed it!

5 on May 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Inn and truly enjoyed it. We stayed in the room with a king size bed which was very comfortable. Rhonda was a very gracious host and we enjoyed talking to her. The view from the top of the hill was wonderful and the Inn itself is truly a landmark. The first mornings breakfast was delicious. Rhonda served a poached pear, unbelievable. The main course was a vegetarian omelet. To be honest, I wasn't thrilled about a vegetarian omelet. I am more of a meat and potatoes guy, but for a vegetarian omelet it was good. We were really hoping for the eggs Benedict, we read some good things about it. The second days breakfast was amazing. We had some yogurt, fresh fruit and granola, but the main course was the Danish pancakes. One of the best breakfasts I had ever had and this was our 18th bed and breakfast stay. Highly recommend The Inn at Knowles Hill.


A Place for the Whole Family

4.8 on April 29, 2013

This was a wonderful place to bring the whole family, icluding my six month old. The Inn keeper was very accomadating and made our stay magical. The kids claim they'd rather come here then recieve presents for their birthday or Christmas.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on April 27, 2013

The Inn is lovely and Rhonda and Fred are wonderful hosts. We were quite comfortable and loved the location. Dinner is a short walk into town and back. Gourmet breakfasts were always delicious and well presented. The history of the house and its relationship to Sonora is deep and rich. My husband has a life long interest in anything railroad and there were old books to read and DVD's for him to watch. Learning about antique car restoration was fascinating for both of us. Highly recommend this Inn!


Perfect

5 on November 04, 2012

It's hard to say enough good things about this new B&B. This historical house has been re-furbished exquisitely with amazing attention to detail - reflecting Rhonda's background in graphics design and Fred's in automobile restoration. Rhonda is an amazing cook - the snacks and breakfast were first-class. The Inn is situated just out of town on top of a hill and the grounds are quite beautiful - complete with a set of welcoming dogs & cats. As an added bonus, you may get a chance to see one of the classic old Rolls Royce cars that Fred restores. Go treat yourself - you won't regret it!


A luxurious and relaxing weekend

5 on November 03, 2012

My husband and I loved our recent weekend getaway at The Inn on Knowles Hill and are already looking forward to the next opportunity to visit again. From making the reservations, to our departure, Rhonda was most gracious and welcoming. Driving up to the property, we were blown away by the beauty of Knowles Hill--an elegant and lovingly restored historic home situated on a site offering gorgeous views of the Sonora area. We were first greeted by the Inn's 2 friendly collies, who kept us company as we enjoyed the grounds during our stay. Rhonda's friend Robyn gave us a very warm welcome, and we were thrilled to find out that Rhonda had upgraded our reservation. We stayed in the Earl Warren room, which was simply luxurious, with its rich decor, tranquil sounds of the fountain below, and amazing view of lights twinkling on Sonora's hillsides in the evening. We enjoyed the sunset while sitting on the porch swing--and watching the collies playfully chase each other on the sweeping lawn. Rhonda struck the perfect balance of being an extremely friendly and personable innkeeper without making us feel uncomfortable. She was very accommodating about the breakfast arrangements, allowing us to sit on the back terrace while thoroughly enjoying the gourmet meal she prepared--mascarpone-stuffed poached pears with raspberry coulis to start, followed by crisp turkey bacon and perfect french toast with peaches and a delicious rum sauce. She even packed us homemade cookies for the road! A departing guest had told us Rhonda's breakfast was to die for, and it really was absolutely sumptuous. From start to finish, our experience with The Inn on Knowles Hill was first rate--the best bed and breakfast stay we have had! Cannot wait to return!


Best B&B in Sonora.

4.6 on October 30, 2012

Our stay at the Inn on Knowles Hill was the most restfull we have had in years. Rhonda was sooo attentive! Mary Ann & Kevin


A little piece of heaven!

5 on September 18, 2012

If you want the ultimate experience of today's amazing comforts coupled with the rarest pearls of yesteryear you must plan a stay at The Inn On Knowles Hill. The new proprietors have lovingly restored this historic home to its original grand self....attending to every one of its details. The resulting warmth and beauty you'll experience is so special, you'll feel like you've been transported back to a time when there wasn't the rush to keep moving, but instead the desire to smell the roses, watch the sunset, and enjoy the company of fellow travelers. Rhonda's exquisite breakfast menu is just the start to a day that is always memorable, whether you're planning to hike in Yosemite, antique shop in Sonora, explore a nearby lake, or perhaps enjoy a local theater performance. We are so fortunate to celebrate birthdays, engagements, and anniversaries at The Inn On Knowles Hill. Our family considers this inn to truly be our very favorite "home away from home"


Outstanding Inn. Don't miss it

5 on August 28, 2012

Beautifully restored masterpiece in picturesque town in historic gold rush town. Comfortable, inviting and peaceful. The beds are outstanding. Breakfast is always special and delicious. The hard part is leaving.


"Magnificent Place"

5 on August 12, 2012

Our recent visit at the Inn at Knowles Hill was sudden yet beautiful and I can only say great things about the Inn at Knowles Hill...this B&B is a perfect place to spend a quiet and relaxing vacation, i just love everything about it! rooms are very well maintained w/ a very nice view of the garden and overlooking Sonora! I also love the quietness and peacefulness of the location plus the hosts,Fred and Rhonda are just amazing and very accommodating! I'm glad my boyfriend brought me there:)


We will come back!

5 on August 11, 2012

We loved the Inn on Knowles hill so much that my fiance and I are thinking about having our wedding there! The owners are amazing and the food was wonderful.


Fantastic Stay at Knowles Hill

5 on August 05, 2012

We just finished an absolutely fantastic stay at The Inn on Knowles Hill. I have never seen a hotel, B&B or resort receive such amazing reviews online (not a single review below outstanding, 5/5, etc) and after staying there this weekend can honestly say it deserves every one them. From the service, to the atmosphere, to the breakfast and the warmth from the owners, this is the kind of place you don't see too often anymore. Sure, you can stay at a fancier hotel or resort, but the combination of the comfort of this place with the attention from Rhonda, Fred and the rest of the family/team make this place shine.


Wonderful B&B in Sonora, California

5 on July 25, 2012

We just returned from a trip to the California gold fields. The highlight of the trip was our stay at the Inn at Knowles Hill. The owners have beautifully restored an elegant 1928 home on a hill overlooking Sonora. Not only are the house and grounds spectacular but Rhonda serves a gourmet breakfast on period china and silver. We watched Fred meticulously work on restoring a 1913 Rolls. An afternoon tea with homemade cookies awaited our arrival. This B & B is not to be missed!


The Rolls Royce of B&Bs in the heart of the Gold Country.

5 on June 27, 2012

If you seeking the ultimate Gold Country luxury experience, the Inn On The Knoll would be your primary destination. Located in California’s Gold Country near Yosemite National Park overlooking historic Sonora, the Inn is a fully restored mansion with an exclusive 360-degree panoramic view overlooking picturesque Sonora nestled in the surrounding mountains and hills. The knoll boasts the most welcoming sunrises, exceptionally relaxing sunsets and peaceful cool starry nights. When you arrive at the Inn, the attention to detail intrigues your senses. The grounds, gardens and large deep front porch welcomes you back to a time and experience of the Gold Rush Gold Barron. Every room in the Inn is not only architecturally exquisite. Every detail of the interior decor supersedes expectation. The rooms and baths pamper with an abundance of appointments. You will want to come back to experience each of the rooms again and again. The Inn Keepers make you feel right at home. In the world of 1920’s Rolls Royce restorations, Fred Busses is a renowned name. His lovely wife Rhonda is truly gifted in many areas. You could not have a more gracious host and hostess to purvey your Gold Country luxury experience. To enjoy a meal in the dining room is something to truly behold. The exquisite antiques and art makes for a distinctive memorable old world atmosphere. But when the cuisine arrives, the auras of your heightened senses are affixed upon a truly culinary delight that will not escape your memory. I could go on and describe all the pampering amenities, but I will leave this review for now, and let you experience them for yourself. Indulge, explore, take in, and relax at the Inn On The Knoll. Then you too will be writing a review like this one.


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast!

5 on April 04, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Inn on Knowles Hill. I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. The hosts were very hospitable and the Inn was gorgeous with so much history surrounding it. Highly recommended!


Amazing! I love this place!

5 on April 03, 2012

The attention to detail is unsurpassed with this fully restored mansion on the hill! To be expected from a family who is famous the world over for Rolls-Royce restorations, I suppose! Simply amazing when you gaze over the surroundings from the lush landscape of the 360 degree view overlooking Sonora...and the history...if these walls could talk! Having stayed in three of the rooms, I plan on staying in the Herbert Hoover room next; all so very beautiful. No better hosts to be found...no better food to be had. This IS the place. This IS the mansion on the hill. Five-star in every respect.


Bed and Breakfast Doesn't Get Much Better

5 on April 03, 2012

My wife and I have visited this site twice now. The rooms are totally awesome. The service is better than five star (I hope that they can keep this up; I know it must exhausting). Staying here is a pleasure not to mention the fact that we slept peaceful and well and the accommodations and environment superb. Treat yourself to an excellent experience. I can't imagine anyone walking away from this place with a negative comment, unless someone is prone to be impossible to please. Avinoam and Dina Israel, traveling through the USA


Memorable and relaxing weekend!

5 on April 02, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Inn on Knowles Hill! The view from the front yard, overlooking the cozy city of Sonora, was beautiful. We slept comfortably in the plush bed, and loved the decorations and the way this old home has been restored. The house is huge, but it felt like a home away from home. The caretakers were incredibly friendly and were full of suggestions of local attractions to take in. Sonora restaurants were within walking distance, and we were able to spend a day hiking around in Yosemite. It was a memorable and relaxing weekend!


EXCEPTIONAL!

5 on April 02, 2012

We have stayed at numerous B&B's but none can compare to the Inn at Knowles Hill! The attention to detail in the restoration of this property is unsurpassed...from the amazing panoramic view of Sonora & the meticulously groomed gardens to the impeccably decorated interior to the gourmet fare at every meal…is exceeded only by the loving hospitality of the proprietors, Fred & Rhonda Buess. The Inn is conveniently located near charming downtown Sonora & the surrounding vineyards & wineries...a wonderful place to spend the weekend or the week! We highly recommend & will most definitely return! Thank you so much Buess family for fond memories of our visit. Karen Bixby


Knowles Hill is the BEST!

5 on April 02, 2012

I have stayed at the Inn on Knowles Hill a number of times, and found the ambience and decor perfectly satisfying and comfortable. The hosts, Fred and Rhonda, are knowledgeable of historical places of interest around Sonora, as well as many of the area's restaurants and other attractions. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast, and plan on returning in the near future.


A Special Place, The Inn on Knowles Hill

5 on April 01, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the beautiful Knowles Hill Inn. This B & B has all the comforts of home. Each room is dressed to the nines. The food is fabulous. The wonderful and friendly atmosphere puts a lasting impression on all who visit here. We are looking forward to another visit to Fred and Rhonda's beautiful Knowles Inn. So happy to find this jewel in Sonora CA!!


Love this Place!

5 on April 01, 2012

All I can say is I love this place. I have been there several times in the passed to years, the staff is wonderful, the service is exceelent, and the food will knock your socks off!


1920's GRANDEUR RESTORED

5 on April 01, 2012

a friend recommended we stay at the inn on knowles hill. my husband and i knew nothing about sonora or the inn on knowles hill, but what a blessing and delight our experience turned out to be. the architectural detail, the craftsmanship, the elegance, the gardens, the attention to details and the respectful restoration was such a WOW factor. the innkeepers, fred and rhonda buess are such warm and personable hosts. rhonda's cooking and food presentation are of a 'celebrity chef' quality. fred is a virtual historian/tour guide who can probably answer any question you might have. now, let me tell you about the room(s). lush cotton bed linens; thick turkish towels and bath mats; soft, comfy bathrobes. high rise beds and the old fashioned bathtubs that are long enough and deep enough to soak in added to the 'grand luxury' experience. i recommend the inn on knowles hill to all my family and friends and anyone who wants a truly grand experience.


Knowles Hill

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (209) 352-4333

Visit Website »

View details

Top