PURPLE DOOR INN Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

A Wonderful Getaway in the Beautiful Nature of Sonoma County

4.6 on April 21, 2014

Our staying here proved to be the best present for my husband's 31st birthday. The location is of unbelievable beauty and the room exceeded our expectations. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Looking forward to our next special celebration at the Purple Door Inn.


IT'S A WINNER!

5 on December 18, 2013

Guest cottage on beautiful sequoia grove property. Amazing attention to every detail - Like being a guest in someone's home. Delicious breakfast w/gravenstein apple juice made right here on the property- A most enjoyable stay.


Beautiful spot

4.6 on August 13, 2013

Sweet little Inn with a gurgling fountain outdoor with frog sounds and all. In Redwoods, very welcoming Innkeepers.


Beautiful Scenery

5 on August 09, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Purple Door Inn tremendously. Owners Dave and Linda are very gracious hosts. They are very good cooks too. The ranch is beautiful with all the flowers.


Enjoyed our stay

3.4 on July 29, 2013

Very happy to have stayed here while attending a wedding in the wine country. I am looking forward to returning there and enjoying the relaxing environment of the place.


We Love The Purple Door Inn!

5 on June 16, 2013

Everything was perfect, comfortable bed, wonderful hosts David and Linda, beautiful room and surroundings. We will be back!


Our best B&B experience yet!

5 on February 24, 2013

We definitely would recommend Purple Door Inn. Linda and David were lovely hosts, and made us feel at home while giving us privacy. The room and setting are amazing!


Lovely place, lovely innkeepers

4.8 on October 15, 2012

Spent two nights at the Purple Door and wish we had booked an extra night or two. The settting is so peaceful So cool that pumpkins were ready to be harvested from their patch. Sea of orange and white surrounding our cabin. Short drive to Occidental which is a cool funky town. About an hour and 15 minute drive to downtown SF on an early Sunday morning. Never tasted such delicious apple juice. Would definitely return.


The Perfect Spot!

5 on October 08, 2012

The Purple Door Inn is the perfect spot if you are looking for peace. Quiet, a lovely deck for relaxation. Great restaurants nearby. Absolutely no hassle!


Perfect Place to Unwind

5 on October 04, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely bed & breakfast. The surroundings are beautiful, serene, quiet. It's truly the perfect place to unwind and get away.


Great Find!

4.4 on September 24, 2012

Beautiful place, lovely room, great garden, and friendly warm hosts! Definite recommendation to friends and family. Enjoyed it so much!


Great Way to Start Our Honeymoon

4.8 on August 04, 2012

We visited this place on the very first night of our honeymoon -- came straight from the reception! Our hosts, Linda & Dave, were very gracious & accommodating, and their property is absolutely gorgeous. They have some friendly animals, but that was not a problem for us. We would definitely come back!


A Hidden Gem!

3.4 on June 27, 2012

This is a one-bedroom homestay on three acres and surrounded by apple orchards, a few long (windy country road) miles from Sebastopol. Dave and Linda are a pleasant balance of allowing privacy and being attentive. The family pets, Luna (cat) and Bella (dog) are likewise - friendly without being pushy. The room is spacious, with a comfortable bed and large, bright bathroom. There is limited clothing storage – a few hangers and most of the cabinet drawers are full of linens. The comfortable bed - truly, it was enchanted! The linens were silky, high quality and the mattress a comforting cocoon, making our stay very restful. One improvement would be a reading lamp for each side of the bed. The property is a delightful place to roam in the morning with a cup of tea, plucking a blackberry or strawberry here, observing a California quail or hummingbird there. Breakfasts were simple fare - coffee and tea, pastries from a nearby bakery, apple juice from the family-owned Apple a Day company, and fresh fruit - much of it picked fresh that morning. No complaints, but I would have loved more apple products from the family orchards - apple granola, homemade apple fritter or cobbler would be anice touch. Any criticisms are borne out of Dave and Linda's newness to innkeeping. We stayed four nights and while no housekeeping service was needed, the single wastepaper basket in the bathroom was inadequate. The heat controls for the room are located next door, in the art studio. We arrived late the first night to a chilly spell and would have appreciated the control (the bathroom had in-floor heating. We never could get it to work, but the weather warmed so it wasn't critical). We would also have appreciated a microwave and small refrigerator in the room - there are so many good restaurants nearby that leftovers are inevitable. Accommodations at the Purple Door Inn are reasonable and comfortable, all in all, a very good value. We would stay here again.


Enjoyed staying here

5 on June 23, 2012

David and Linda are terrific as are their friendly dogs. Enjoyed the stay, enjoyed the breakfast. A freshly heated pastry, fresh fruit, ultra-fresh-squeeze apple juice. If you're in the area, stay at Purple Door Inn!


Purple Door Inn is perfect!

5 on June 19, 2012

Spent a long weekend here--it is located in the heart of everything redwood--near Occidental and Sebastopol, redwood forests, etc. Great birding, including on the property. Very quiet and clean. Modest--one room with a bathroom--and disconnected from main house, which is nice. No refrigerator or way to make tea, etc., but otherwise perfect. The people are lovely, and the setting is too.


The Purple Door

4.4 on October 23, 2011

Peaceful, friendly setting. Beautiful surroundings. Owners knowledgeable about the area -- gave good suggestions for restaurants.


Quality price, quality sleep

4.8 on August 08, 2011

The Purple Door Inn is a very lovely place with beautiful gardens. The innkeepers were attentive, kind, and there when you needed them. The room was impeccably clean. I was able to get a quality night's sleep in the very welcoming room.


Lovely room, amazing value

5 on July 27, 2011

Enjoyed the private tranquil room. Great bathroom/shower and option of tasty apple juice made one lot over (very fresh). Comfy room, lovely yard


Great value!

4.4 on June 07, 2011

Great location amongst the redwoods and 5 minutes from Occidental. David & Linda were very friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable, giving us a good night's sleep. Breakfast was simply homemade and very satisfying.


PURPLE DOOR INN

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $120
  • Reviews (19) 4.7
  • Rooms 1

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078749070

View details

Top