Washington Square Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
120 Reviews

Write A Review

Great experience

5 on August 09, 2016

This is a beautiful house and we really enjoyed our stay.


Bed and breakfast vibe in SF

4.4 on August 05, 2016

Rooms are small...at least mine was ... But clean, quiet, and comfortable. Nice happy hour with wine and cheese. And a decent but not fancy breakfast. Good value for San Francisco. Great location in North Beach. Never rented a car...just walked everywhere


A favorite

4.8 on July 30, 2016

Our second visit at the inn just as good as first great location and value Nancy and steve


Met our expectations and would reco to a friend but..

4.0 on July 29, 2016

1) We slept well. Nice room, comfy bed and a decent bathroom. 2) Breakfast was good and you can custom order to your room or the common table. 3) Wine hour and morning breakfast were nice to meet other guests and chat it up 4) Parking is about 2 blocks away 5) The park across the street was very lovely. Lots of Tai Chi going on all day. 6) HOT SUMMER - they have no AC but this wasn't a problem in July this year because it was cool at nights. 7) Our room had ZERO view. We were looking into some weird little court with a tree. Not much to see but it wasn't bad either. 8) Forget it if you are handicap or walking impaired.


It was a nice place

3.6 on July 07, 2016

First off, I'd like to say that it's a nice area and we enjoyed our two days there. The service was very good and they had nightly wine and cheese hour that we took advantage of. The only downsides for us where the room was pretty small and there was no a/c. San Francisco stays cool but it was a little toasty for us in the beginning because we had walked a while before coming to our room. There was a fan in the room so that was good but we had to keep the windows open for a while.


Washington Square Inn

3.8 on June 29, 2016

We love the location of this hotel. The staff is friendly. The only issue we had with the hotel is that the ceiling fan in our room was controlled by the room next to us. We would turn the fan on low and they would turn it on high. Somehow the remote or wires were crossed. This was annoying and kept me up for hours during the night. We complained to front desk who told us to turn off the fan at the light switch. Didn't really solve the issue for the next person who stayed in our room.


Great stay, great location!

4.0 on June 28, 2016

As soon as we arrived it was 'happy hour', very welcoming lobby for breakfast, drinks or just relaxing. Really liked our room, beautiful furnishings. The location was great for exploring all of the sites San Francisco has to offer.


Washington Square Inn

3.4 on June 12, 2016

The receptionists at Washington Square Inn were very helpful and polite. Their precise suggestions regarding public transportation were appreciated. The room was spotless. The afternoon brunch had a good variety of food and beverages - everything was delicious. Highly recommend this B & B.


Feel Like A Local!

4.6 on June 04, 2016

This little gem is right in the heart of North Beach is close to great restaurants --both Italian and Chinese. The staff is exceptional - friendly and efficient. Keep your window open and wake to the sounds of the neighborhood waking up. Love it.


Great service

4.4 on May 31, 2016

This was the second time I have stayed at the Washington Square Inn and once again I wasn't disappointed. Lovely boutique hotel, friendly staff and great location. If you prefer more personalized attention and quaint rooms, this is your place.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review!. I am glad to hear this is your second time with us and that you were satisfy with your stay. We always try to make our guest feel comfortable and leave happy. We hope to see you again!


Charming b&b

4.0 on May 21, 2016

Attractive hotel, vero nice surroundings. Breakfast was very good. Room had a view toward the Goit tower. The room was small but very cry clean and comfortable. I would go another time.


Great location and impressive B&B

4.6 on May 21, 2016

Our third time here, just love it. Wonderful service, delicious breakfast, impressive and generous happy hour....excellent location for walking to many choices of Italian restaurants. Easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39.


San Francisco!

5 on May 11, 2016

Would def go again! This is a nice place to stay and centrally located for walking to near by places.


Nice location, quiet

4.8 on May 05, 2016

Wonderful stay here.


The uktimate vacation

5 on May 01, 2016

Loved the inn was Cosby clean and homey. Would def recommend


A lovely little hotel

3.8 on May 01, 2016

This is a more moderately priced option for people who prefer a boutique hotel. It has a charming atmosphere and is located in an interesting part of SF. We've stayed twice and certainly will again - service is friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms are indeed small, but tend to make up for it by being cleverly appointed or having a charming view.


Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Telegraph Hill area

4.0 on April 07, 2016

My family and I weren't disappointed after our all too brief stay at the Washington Square Inn. Having already visited this particular area within San Francisco, we knew where we wanted to stay and this place perfectly met our needs. The rooms all have bags of character, and the place is very friendly. The rooms vary considerably in terms of views / size / lighting etc - so be sure to check what you require for your stay. The afternoon cheese and wine and comprehensive breakfasts are a nice touch. I would most definitely consider staying here again when in San Francisco. Matt (UK)


Washington Square Inn Stay

3.8 on April 03, 2016

Very Clean. Courteous staff. Comfortable rooms. Situated in heart of North Beach, San Francisco. Just across from Washington Square Park and Saints Peter & Paul church--a very pretty setting. Enjoyable stay.


Noise

4.2 on March 12, 2016

We loved the Washington Square Inn—wonderful location. The only problem was noise, both from the street and from the people walking across the rooms upstairs. Luckily, I had a white noise app on my iPad, which helped.


Great stay at the Washington Square Inn

4.2 on March 11, 2016

Great location, value and service. Will definitely stay again.


Not Really a Bed & Breakfast

3.0 on March 10, 2016

Shower was in poor shape and appeared to have mold in the grout seams. Shower head was broken and request to repair was ignored. Breakfast was very skimpy, fruit cup was more like a fruit thimble.


Very nice stay

4.0 on March 09, 2016

We are repeat visitors to this wonderful b&b. The location is superb and everyone is so friendly. We were a little disappointed that our window faced the alley, since all pics show a street view. The bed was so comfortable and we slept great. There was a very generous happy hour onsite and breakfast was either in room or downstairs.


Pleasant and clean rooms in a great location

4.4 on March 07, 2016

Very nice facilities, especially if you get one of the mid-level rooms. Note: the neighborhood is a bit noisy and you will sleep better if you make sure you close all the windows, including the bathroom window (if any). The breakfast pastries/cereal were a nice touch.


Great stay at the Washington Square Inn

4.6 on March 01, 2016

The Washington Square Inn is a great and affordable place to stay in San Francisco. The service was wonderful and the location can't be beat.


Great Location

4.0 on March 01, 2016

Washington Square Inn was a lovely spot to stay and very convenient. Easy walk to lots of dining—and to Beach Blanket Babylon. We even walked to the wharf.


Shhhh!!!!

4.0 on February 27, 2016

I want Washington Square Inn to be just successful enough to keep prices where they are, but not so busy that I can't get a room two or three times a year that I visit San Francisco. This place has a wonderful boutique B&B feel to it. Having the bathroom across the hall from the bedroom was no problem at all, kind of quaint. Excellent value, really the best I've found on the peninsula. And the location is primo! Right on the northern edge of Little Italy and Chinatown, and a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. This is my SF home!


Lovely B&B

5 on February 24, 2016

We spent two nights in Room 7- one of the suites. The room had a wonderful view from the bay window. We had plenty of space and the bed was very comfortable. The afternoon wine and cheese were very nice, and the breakfast was good as well. The location is perfect. The staff was helpful and polite.


Valentines Day!

5 on February 18, 2016

Our stay at the Washington Square Inn was awesome. Reasonable rates, comfortable room, helpful staff, and very good afternoon hor d'oeuvres and breakfast.


A delightful place on the square in North Beach

4.2 on February 17, 2016

We were in the city for just the night, unfortunately it was for a relative's funeral and not a more joyous occasion. Adrian, the clerk that greeted us, was quite courteous, kind and had a great spirit about him. Our room was well appointed for an older inn and the service there was timely and the included breakfast was fair in comparison to what you can get in and around North Beach. All in all, if we want to stay in SF near all the nightlife, then we shall be returning to the Washington Square Inn.


Classy spot where North Beach, Chinatown and Financial District meet

3.8 on February 04, 2016

We stayed in a King suite, nice, clean and quiet with a European vibe. Terrific restaurants and bars all around, world famous City Lights Books a couple of blocks away, walking distance to the wharf, Chinatown and much more. Not inexpensive, but if it fits your budget its definitely worth a look!


Great location / neighborhood!

4.2 on January 27, 2016

We enjoyed our two night stay. The bed was very comfortable. We loved the neighborhood. Try Mama's for lunch on the opposite corner -- a great experience in casual food and fun.. Parking garage was quite convenient.


Definitely will be back

5 on January 16, 2016

Wonderful warm and cozy place to stay in a great location


Favorite place to stay in San Francisco

4.8 on January 13, 2016

We have been staying her for over 20 years. The attention to detail, the personal attention, and the fabulous location has made this our only choice in San Francisco!


I'm very Happy

3.4 on December 16, 2015

Great part of town, very comfortable, very professional and friendly service. Thanks

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn . We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your kind review. Carina Ponce Manager


Wonderful!

4.6 on December 08, 2015

Elegant yet relaxed in the midst of the most happening area of the city.


Great place to stay in San Fran

4.4 on November 06, 2015

My husband and I ended our honeymoon to wine country with 2 nights in San Fran. North Beach was a great neighborhood with bars and restaurants in walking distance and certain sights close by as well. Washington Square was very quaint and secure. Rooms were nice. Outside noise can be a little loud in the morning (what with bakeries nearby) however that's to be expected in a city. Front desk was very accommodating, allowing us to check in a little early and also arranged for a town car to the airport at 6 AM. Would recommend to others looking for a good value in a great, quieter portion of the city. Low score for dining as I have to enter something but we did not eat at the hotel.


Above Expectations

3.8 on November 05, 2015

Was pleasantly surprised by quality and variety of breakfasts' served as well as the nightly wine and snacks. Good job and much more quite sleeping that I would have guessed staying on such a busy/great street!!


A weekend away

4.2 on November 03, 2015

Great little spot in San Francisco's North Beach area. Wake up to the smell of Mama's on the corner or come down and watch Ti Chi in the park. A great experience.


wonderful

4.6 on November 01, 2015

Deb Williams


Wonderful Inn, Fabulous Location

4.6 on October 19, 2015

This is charming and located in the center of vibrant North Beach! You can get to so much in just a short walk!


The real San Francicso in North Beach

4.6 on October 12, 2015

Room 14 with a lovely bathroom across the hall is a charming, quiet space. The room is on Filbert Street with a side street view. Breakfast at a communal table was a fun way to start the day!


Elegant, Comfortable Stay

5 on October 01, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend before I went to a large conference. This gem is tucked away in a fantastic neighborhood with great food, and close proximity to some beautiful views (Coit Tower) and the pier (a few miles away). The park across the way screens movies on Saturday nights during summer, and always has some fun, interesting community activities going away. The stay itself was a breath of fresh air from the hustle of the city, with delicious breakfast and a quiet, comfortable, and beautiful environment. I wish my stay had been longer! I will definitely be back for a getaway here, and cannot wait for my return! Thank you to the wonderful staff here as well, they TRULY make the place an outstanding bed and breakfast.


The real North beach in the real San Fancisco

5 on September 30, 2015

After an absence of many years, I returned to San Francisco and the Washington Square Inn to attend a wedding at St. Peter's and Paul's. The Inn is just as I remembered it, charming, comfortable and authentic. A wonderful place to say in a wonderful city.


Secret Inn in North Beach

4.4 on September 26, 2015

This a special place in North Beach, so don't tell anybody how great it is. We don't want the WSI to become too popular. We have stayed several times over the years, and out last visit was the best yet. Thanks to Shabir and the other members of the staff for great service, and making our visit that much more wonderful. I expect that we will return many more times. It is our Inn of choice for SF.


Brilliant location

3.0 on September 15, 2015

Just a quick overnight stop but close to some great restaurants and bars


Good location

3.0 on September 04, 2015

The Washington Square Inn is located conveniently, but the rooms are a bit small. I didn't realize this when I booked, but we made due. There is also no air conditioning (as an East Coast resident, I didn't realize it really wasn't needed, but was shocked upon arrival). It is very private, if you want it, which we chose, but you are more than welcome to interact with other guests. Nice stay.


girls vacation

5 on August 14, 2015

My daughter and I stayed here during our vacation. The hotel was within walking distance to almost all of the sites we wanted to see. Great location. Parking was difficult in San Francisco but they have a parking garage you can park at only it is not included in the cost of the room. It was an additional $32 a day. That was the only downfall


great location

3.4 on August 11, 2015

room was quaint. location superior. breakfast options satisfying. room clean and comfortable. staff friendly and helpful.


Charming place to stay

4.2 on August 01, 2015

I found the place lovely. It has charm and atmosphere. The room (#7) was large with a bay window. It had a nice view of the church gracing Washington Square. The bed was very comfortable.


Very nice B&B in heart of North Beach SF

4.4 on June 09, 2015

A very nice B&B right on Washington Square in the heart of the North Beach/Little Italy section of San Francisco. Rooms were nice, but compact. Service was excellent and the breakfast had some very nice fresh pastries along with fruit, yogurt, granola etc.. The biggest advantage is the area. Tons of excellent restaurants within a few blocks, central to a lot of SF and nice places for a walk or run in the morning.


Romantic getaway

3.8 on June 04, 2015

Unique beautiful B&B in wonderful location. Room and amenities were great. After wine/appetizers wonderful after adventuring in the city. Breakfast in bed delightful.


Delightful Lodgings

5 on May 30, 2015

The Washington Square Inn never fails to deliver on value, location, and service. This was the second time we have stayed at the inn. Both times the experience has been great. The inn is located in the Italian section of San Francisco. The area is home to great restaurants and fabulous bakeries. Our room was well appointed and quiet. The afternoon wine with appetizers and breakfast were outstanding. The inn staff went out of their way to be of service. The guests of the inn are interesting and the afternoon wine was an excellent opportunity for interaction. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the inn. The Washington Square Inn is our first choice for lodging in San Francisco.


Great Accommodations in the heart of North Beach

5 on May 25, 2015

WQI, has been my go to bed and breakfast for my last 3 visits to North Beach over the last year or so. The location is perfect for coming and going around San Francisco. I have family in the area but love my own space. The staff is very professional but friendly and are eager to answer any questions or needs you might have at your arrival or during your stay. WSI has a old world charm comfort and the lobby has a sitting area and dining area that you can use easily and comfortably as well. The rooms are as listed and have been exactly what I needed and wanted. The beds are comfortable and the Inn at night is quiet so you can have a great night's rest for your days in the city. I would recommend this Inn for anyone wanting a bit more of an experience than just a room. You are treated to breakfast, appetizers and wine in the evenings if you desire. Pick the room you want by the description as its very accurate. Have a great stay at Washington Square Inn.


Great location B&B in downtown San Francisco

4.8 on May 20, 2015

Location in Little Italy was perfect. Walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower and restaurants and bars. City Park across street and St. Peter and Paul Church also; We've been to San Fran 4 times and this was the best location yet. B&B very nice. Clean and comfortable. Wine and snacks in evening, good. Very hospitable. Thanks for a nice stay.


Elegance at the park in San Fran

5 on May 17, 2015

Antique filled room in a property across from the park and in the North Beach section of San Fran. The afternoon wine and snacks and the breakfast were wonderful. Many of the folks we met were repeat customers and we will be too. Almost all the guests were from other countries which made for fascinating discussions at breakfast.


Great spot

4.0 on May 16, 2015

The manager, Diana, was exceptional! No request was too much trouble and was always met with a smile! Wine and snacks in the evening was a pleasant surprise and there was coffee on all day. The location was great. Overall, a wonderful experience.


Washington Square Inn

4.0 on May 13, 2015

I gifted someone an overnight stay for her birthday--good call! She was so happy to have a bed & breakfast experience in the middle of SF.


Disppointed

3.6 on May 07, 2015

I was very disappointed in one aspect of my stay. My reservation said Room 12 - I was put in Room 14 and the TV did not work so the manager moved me to Room 15. I told her I would pack up in morning if they had to move me...well they moved me back to 14 and the TV still was not fixed. I was there alone and I want a working TV especially when I am paying almost $500 for two nights.


Two Day Stay

4.6 on April 16, 2015

We didn't know what to expect when we booked our stay. The room looked small in the picture and the bathroom was across the hall. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The room was cozy, clean, and quiet; and the hall bathroom was not a problem at all. We were a little disappointed with the continental breakfast, but it was nice that they delivered it to the room for us. We would definitely stay again


A perfect base for exploring San Francisco

4.8 on April 03, 2015

The Washington Square Inn is on the quiet side (away from Columbus Avenue) of Washington Square Park. It's walking distance to the Ferry Building, downtown, Chinatown, the Fisherman's Wharf area, and -- just up the step hill behind the Inn -- the Coit Tower. The immediate setting is North Beach, the Little Italy of San Francisco. The Inn itself is lovely -- the service is attentive and friendly, the feeling is gracious and cozy, and there is a feeling of quiet and peacefulness to the establishment.


my second of many stays

4.0 on March 23, 2015

I have had two very pleasant stays (one for 6 nights and another for 4 nights) at the Washington Square Inn in SF and I plan to stay there very often in the future. I love the location. The inn is very clean and the service is very good. I would say it met or exceeded my expectations. The only disappointment is that I still do not have a frequent sleeper passport card. On both of my visits, the desk clerk was either unaware of the program or unable to provide me with a card when I requested one. I will be back, but I wish I was enrolled in your program. Please feel free to contact me.


Fri Mar 13 and Sunday Mar 15

4.4 on March 19, 2015

We checked in on Friday, our room had a stale cigarette smell. We requested a different room, one was not available but they did have an ozone machine. After the treatment the room was great! We really appreciated this service. We returned on Sunday, and were surprised by an upgrade to our favorite room! We love the loction of this Inn and the service has always been amazing.


Location, Breakfast in Bed and Spotless!

5 on March 16, 2015

I was very impressed with this inn. Small, intimate and superb. I had room 12 with bath across the hall which was nice size for a city bathroom! You could have continental breakfast either in your room or downstairs in the lobby; we chose our room. Breakfast was prompt, fresh and tasty! Location was perfect, ten minute walk t tourist attractions at the wharf and right at Washington Square where there is a lovely park. Close to several bus lines and great Italian dining. Room was spotless and cleaned nicely each day. Front desk staff was great. It is small so there is no computer lounge or gym if you need that. But for us, this was a perfect fit. Highly recommend!


Great Location

3.4 on March 10, 2015

A nice boutique hotel. But not exceptional.


Quick Getaway

4.0 on March 02, 2015

We booked this room last minute. The room was small but very nice. The location was excellent. We book rooms in SF all the time and we were extremely pleased with the location. For people coming in for a vacation this place couldn't be located in a better location. In the middle of many attractions and many great places to eat.


A Superior City Stay

4.6 on March 02, 2015

Our recent visit to San Francisco centered in North Beach. Close to Italian restaurants, entertainment, City Lights Books, buses, Chinatown....Washington Square enabled a lovely visit! We'd recommend a stay anytime and would certainly return. It was evident other guests had stayed there, which is testament to the Inn's quality.


One of our favorites

3.4 on February 10, 2015

We enjoy the location and convenience!


Washington Square Inn

3.8 on February 04, 2015

Location is wonderful.walking and dining our way through North Beach is always a treat.


Sensational Motel

4.6 on January 19, 2015

This was a beautiful motel. Very friendly staff and very helpful. The food and service was great. Very clean. Close to the bus stop and restaurants. Only 15 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf. Fantastic place to stay. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay from Australia wonderful. Can't wait to come back again. Regards Cassandra


New year's in SF

4.2 on January 17, 2015

Great little inn. Room was very tiny but had everything needed. Staff were helpful, service great. Nice touches included continental communal breakfast and complimentary wine and cheese hour each evening.


My favorite place in SF

5 on January 13, 2015

I have stayed here a number of times for business trips and each time I have been thoroughly impressed by the staff, cleanliness and overall experience with Washington Square Inn. Each room I have had the pleasure of visiting is unique and beautiful. The breakfast is delicious and the wine happy hour is always appreciated. I will be returning again and again and will always recommend this B&B.


A Home Away from Home

4.0 on January 10, 2015

We loved our week at Washington Square Inn! It was a great location and very comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast with fellow travelers and watching the Tai Chi workout in the park across the street. We would definitely recommend WSI and would stay again if we would ever be lucky enough to return to the wonderful city of San Francisco.


Our Favorite Vacation!!!

5 on December 23, 2014

The staff at this Inn make all the difference in the world!!! They are very professional and attentive!!! We have been coming here every year for 18 years and will continue!


Great place to stay

4.6 on December 22, 2014

This is the first time I've ever written a review for a hotel. I've stayed on hundreds of hotels and this is BY FAR the best place yet. In fact, I can't wait for my next visit. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and quiet and I enjoyed the breakfast conversations with some seismologists from New Zealand. I rated the room at a 3 solely for the fact that it took me almost 10 minutes to find a place to plug in my phone charger. Eventually I found a power strip beneath the dresser. If they fasten that to the wall somewhere visible they'd get 5 stars across the board. If you're in SFO and looking for a great place to stay, you can't go wrong with the Washington Square Inn.


Wonderful week at the WSI

5 on December 21, 2014

We always stay at the WSI. Great service, excellent breakfast and afternoon happy hour, and great location.


Excellent service and delicious breakfast!

3.8 on December 18, 2014

We stayed there only one night but the service was absolutely wonderful. Staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast in our room.


Location, Location, Location

3.6 on December 13, 2014

Stayed here for a bit less than a week while attending a conference at the Moscone Convention Center. Public transport between hotel and meeting was simple and frequent. Area holds many good restaurants, though none really stood out. The hotel is comfortable and welcoming, though you will have to negotiate stairs. Also be very careful entering the lobby, there is a cunning step positioned perfectly to "trip" the unwary.


Wonderful long weekend

4.6 on December 12, 2014

We love staying at the Washington square inn. It is close to the water and the neighborhood is fun and interesting.


A find in North Beach

4.4 on November 29, 2014

We were looking for a location with easy access to SF venues. We parked our car and walked or took the bus the rest of the weekend, museums, theater, Coit tower. Perfect location!


Our Favorite Place for... years

4.2 on November 25, 2014

This is our favorite place to stay in SF. Great staff and cozy rooms. The park across the street provides a welcome retreat from all the busy stuff happening in the city.


Location, Location

3.6 on November 18, 2014

Very nice hotel in a wonderful location. The breakfast service was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for couples. The antiques were beautiful. and we had a nice view of the Coit Tower. We walked to almost everything and the restaurants in the neighborhood were fantastic.


PERFECT LOCATION !!

4.6 on November 17, 2014

First time in San Fran Was not sure where to stay Love to stay in B and B's or Inn's well this was such a great choice, We come from the East coast so the location was outstanding close to everything can walk to everything you want to see!!! The Inn was just Perfect every eve they had Wine and Cheese and the Breakfast was just perfect too your chose to be in your room or with others nice touch... The rooms are so nice pretty views, the staff are warm and welcoming, thank you for a nice stay xo


An Oasis in San Francisco's Best Neighborhood

4.0 on November 16, 2014

Very comfy bed; very quiet room; great to have breakfast ready and waiting in the morning, as well as coffee, tea, and water available all day. Only made it back once for the wine and hors d'oeuvres at 5:00, but it was wonderful! And the location couldn't have been better - beautiful, quintessential neighborhood of San Francisco, convenient to everything. We're already looking forward to our next visit!


Perfect location, quiet sleep

3.0 on November 14, 2014

I stay at this inn several times a year because the location is ideal. My ratings reflect the fact that I expect it to be the same as previous stays. If the definition of the ratings wasn't about expectations, my ratings would be higher. The rooms are comfortable and clean but small, the service is OK, value (for the cheaper rooms) is outstanding, and the breakfast and wine and cheese are great.


"I've Had Better"

2.8 on November 13, 2014

We were very excited to have found this inn. The location was perfect and the staff very friendly. However, once in the rooms, it kind of lost it's lustre. The pillows were a joke (almost flat) and the bathroom was dirty; the vents were disgusting (think furry coating) and the tub could have used a good bleaching. The breakfast was not what I've experienced in other B&Bs, especially for the cost. We only ate there the first morning out of three. We were definitely paying for location.


david and Beckye

4.0 on November 12, 2014

Outstanding. Could not make fifth dot turn on


One short night

4.6 on November 07, 2014

Great place and in best location to best see SFAX.


Stayed Oct2-6

3.6 on October 21, 2014

We loved the location of Washington Square inn. Friendly & helpful staff. The only negative aspect of our stay was that we were in the ground floor room. There is a restaurant next door and lots of street conversation directly outside of the window late into the night. The room is also next to the lobby with inherent internal noise. We would stay there again but in a room off the street.


We love this place,

5 on October 15, 2014

Just spent four nights at the WSI. The inn was awesome. Looked just like the pictures on the website! The breakfast was very nice and they served very nice wine and snacks in the early evening. The staff was friendly, helpful and always cleaning. The location in North Beach was great and accessible to everywhere. Lots of restaurants near by and we loved watching all the morning exercisers in the park across the street. We will definitely stay at the WSI again.


Fabulous location in North Beach

3.2 on October 13, 2014

Wonderful wine reception in evening, lovely breakfast delivered to my room by adorable server, nice ambiance throughout property, across from Wa Sq Park, clean "Petite Queen" room, lush very comfortable bed with many pillows, quiet despite overlooking busy Filbert St., security locks so, as a woman alone, I felt safe, flat screen TV, hairdryer, fluffy Turkish towels. On the downside: no elevator so two steep flights of stairs were not fun (there is one room available on ground floor), and my private bathroom, although prettily decorated, was down the hall and rather inconvenient. $255 was expensive. Not sure I'd stay again.


Nice B&B good value, great location

4.0 on October 08, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel. Our only real issue was that although we had a private bath it was not in our room (across the hall). This info was in our confirmation but somewhat hidden. We also hit an unusual warm spell and we had no A/C and there were no screens on the windows, This said we would definitely go back and recommend to others.


Terrific introduction to San Fran!

4.8 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at the WSI!!!! Our room was on a corner and it was fabulous! We will definitely be back!


Room # 16

5 on August 30, 2014

The hotel was quiet, intimate, and elegant. The only drawback was that the room (# 16) was much too warm. It was warm (though hardly hot) outside, but the room was consistently much too warm.


Great Location!

3.8 on August 19, 2014

So much more fun than staying down near the convention center or the Wharf! Beautiful rooms, friendly, helpful staff, great breakfasts and happy hour. Short few blocks to Coit Tower. What's not to like?


Nice place but tiny room

2.8 on August 13, 2014

The inn is well located, cosy, with a nice breakfast but our room (#4) was too small. Impossible to practically dispose our luggage. Also, I don't like to have the basin in the room. The first night was disturbed by the very noisy garbage truck, which stayed in the area of our window from 5 am until about 6:30. Bad luck..


thank you

3.8 on August 12, 2014

The best neighborhood in SF. I brought my friend to North Beach for a night. She is from New Orleans and felt right at home at WSI. It's lovely, parking in their garage was easy and less expensive than most, and the staff was sweet and helpful. Rooms were beautiful. A real slice of pre-tech SF.


Washington Square Inn Review

3.4 on August 11, 2014

our only issue was trying to park and check in. the square was very busy and there was road work going on. We had to double park to come in and get the ticket/directions to the garage. it was a bit stressful


Location, location,location

3.0 on August 03, 2014

Small room , but we knew what we were getting into


Stay at Washington Square inn

4.0 on July 29, 2014

We had a great time and met some really nice folks. There is a lot to do all within walking distance! Great dining near by.


Lovely inn in the heart of the city

4.4 on July 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night at the Washington Square Inn. The staff were all friendly, the inn itself was beautiful, it was right on Washington Square which was a great location. The continental breakfast was very nice, and included the best blueberry scone (served warm) that I've ever had. I had only two complaints. The first is that, arriving at dinnertime, there was nowhere to park, even for 30 seconds, to unload our luggage. There were three valet parking spots out front for the restaurant next door and the valets wouldn't let us park there even for a minute to unload our stuff, so we had to park in the garage a couple of blocks away and schlep our suitcases from there. Second, the room was super tiny, probably the smallest room we have ever stayed in, anywhere. You could hardly turn around in it. There was no air conditioning but that wasn't a problem since it doesn't tend to get that warm in San Francisco, even in July. The room had charm, though, even though it was tiny! I did see that there are larger rooms available,.


Book in advance because you shouldn't stay anywhere else

4.8 on July 22, 2014

She's a beauty! My room was small, but I expected that from the description. It was impeccably furnished, comfortable bed, nice windows with a view of the nearby chapel on the park. The staff was incredibly friendly, and always there to help. Oh, and parking really was a breeze, in case you arrive with a car. I really won't stay anywhere else now that I know about this place.


Good Location

3.2 on July 10, 2014

I rented a room for four days over Fourth of July weekend. I chose this hotel because of it's good Trip Advisor ratings, and especially because it was convenient to my son's apartment. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast - either at the communal dining table or delivered to your door. Although I did not partake due to breakfasts with family, it looked like a wonderful amenity. Also, there was a really nice spread of cheeses and snacks with wine in the afternoon. Again, I didn't partake because of my schedule, put it was a great perk. The service was good - helpful people at the desk, and my room was always cleaned and straightened by the time I returned in the evenings. My only complaint would be the size of the room itself. I was by myself, but if I were to return with my husband I would have to upgrade the room. I had a queen room that was essentially on the street. It was a bit noisy in the evenings - you could hear conversations of people passing by. That didn't really bother me, but it might bother other guests. The shower was quite small (I was glad I didn't need to shave my legs!), and the sink was in the bedroom rather than the bathroom. All that being said, the room was comfortable for one person. The location is fabulous. There are shoppes and cafes around Washing Square, and it is very easy to catch a bus within a few minutes from the hotel. I felt safe coming and going at different times of the day and evening. I would definitely stay again - most likely with my husband - so, in a larger room.


Wonderful !

4.8 on June 25, 2014

Washington Square Inn is our preferred place to stay while visiting San Francisco. The Inn is quiet, relaxing and the staff very personable. The evening wine social is very nice and the breakfast is great. We highly recommend Washington Square Inn as a wonderful place to stay !


June 19, 2014

4.4 on June 25, 2014

The Washington Square Inn is charming. The staff was very friendly and informative. The breakfast was excellent. The only issue I had - and it would not prevent me from staying there again - is that the water in the shower never got more than lukewarm. I did let it run for awhile (and I turned it in the correct direction after double-checking with the Front Desk). I was in Room 15 and perhaps it is just an issue with that room. Otherwise, I loved my experience there and would definitely book a room there again.


Small room but good fun

3.2 on June 01, 2014

Loved the convenience----so many restaurants close by. Our room was so small we could hardly move but the happy hour each afternoon was extremely generous and a great opportunity to meet other guests. Would definitely stay there again.


Romantic Washington Square Inn!

4.6 on May 28, 2014

We had one night, our first away alone without our children age 6.5 and 4. It was amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms had an old world charm and peace and quiet that belied the urban setting. We dined, walked, drank, relaxed, and had a lovely, calm place to take refuge at the end of the evening. Super romantic getaway!


Wahington Square with dinner next door

4.6 on May 07, 2014

Beautiful quiet place with a great restaurant next door.


Great Hotel in a Wonderful Location with Amazing Service

4.8 on May 05, 2014

The Washington Square Inn is a wonderful little hotel in a terrific location. It's right in the heart of North Beach, directly on Washington Square Park. (If you're not familiar with the area, North Beach is the Little Italy of SF and is also near Chinatown. You can walk from this hotel to lots of great restaurants.) Although it's in a lively neighborhood, inside the hotel it's nice and quiet. There are some very quiet rooms on the inner courtyard--if quiet is your thing, ask for one of these. Although I don't recommend Room 16 because it is near a loud fan. Room 5 is lovely and quiet. I like the rooms on Filbert Street because they are filled with natural light. There is street noise but it's pleasant, mostly people talking and some cars but not a lot of traffic, then at night it's pretty quiet (for an urban area). All the little things are right--the windows open, and easily, the shutters are in good shape, the furniture is gorgeous (mostly antiques and lovely old pieces), the linens are lovely, the pillows are good, etc. The couch in the lobby is comfortable. Everything is perfect here, the management is clearly on top of things. The hotel puts on a very nice wine-and-cheese spread in the evening -- they don't scrimp, it's nice wine and plenty to eat. And breakfast is good, too. Delivered to your room or you can eat in the common room, as you prefer. I love walking around the City, and this is a great base for that. You can walk up to Coit Tower, down the Filbert steps to the Ferry Buillding, over to Union Square, through Chinatown, etc. Finally, the service here is astonishingly great. Every single person is friendly and professional. They go way out of their way to make you feel at home. Great rooms, great location, and great service, and extras like the wine and cheese and lovely warm croissants in the morning, make the Washington Square Inn a truly great value.


Very satisfactory stay

3.0 on April 28, 2014

Great location , excellent ambience , good breakfast, and wine - tasting was added treat .


Great location

3.8 on January 26, 2014

My husband was concerned about the small room and the fact that our bathroom was across the hall. However, after a couple of wonderful days in San Francisco with us staying right in the middle of everything, he was loving it!


Can't wait to come back!

4.8 on January 16, 2013

Stayed here in January 2012 for 4 nights. Daily breakfasts were fantastic, staff was very helpful, location was primo, and the nightly wine and cheese were great, too, though we mostly missed out on that by walking all over the city all day and night long. Cannot wait to go back. Will definitely stay here again. Super clean, and though our room was small, it was nicely appointed and we wanted for nothing.


Very Nice Stay in San Francisco

3.8 on October 05, 2011

This is a lovely but not pretentious inn in the perfect location for visiting San Francisco. Many nice cafes and restaurants within two or three blocks; safe and interesting streets for walking; convenient public transportation. Our room on the first floor was smallish as can be expected in an older inn, but very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had a great view of the park across the street where families and locals gathered. The staff was helpful, and the expanded continental breakfast was both delicious and beautifully served. Very nice place to come home to in the evening.


Would stay here again in a heartbeat

4.6 on July 28, 2011

Washington Square Inn is in North Beach, a neighborhood between Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown. Lots of restaurants, cafes, funky shops, and several buses to other parts of the city, it was really easy to get around but if you decided to just stay put, it was a great area to hang out in. I stayed in Room 15, the "tiny" room, and they don't lie, there's not a lot of room to maneuver, but there's a great use of space and it feels more cozy than cramped and, as advertised, I had views of SS Peter and Paul Church and Coit Tower from my bay window. The room was very clean and very comfortable. It's also at the end of the hallway so you don't get a lot of hallway noise. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is a really nice touch, and there's coffee and tea throughout the day. You can have your breakfast either in the lobby or brought to your room, which I appreciated. And service! A bumblebee had gotten trapped behind the plantation shutters and wouldn't leave through the other windows I opened so they came up to my room with a dishtowel, gently grabbed the bee and shooed it on its way. So humane, so awesome. I plan to make this an annual trip, I enjoyed myself so much.


Hidden gem

3.4 on November 28, 2009

A fantastic location, very helpful staff. Our room was on the small side and the bathroom was tiny so make sure you ask for a big room when you book but otherwise a delight! The wine and cheese nibbles in the evening are a really lovely touch. Would definitely go back


Great location, great people, great inn

5 on October 29, 2009

Everyone was so friendly and helpful; felt at home right away and truly hated to leave. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, no disappointments there or anywhere else in this lovely, lovely, and oh so clean Inn. This Inn will truly set the standards to which others are held. Thank you for a wonderful visit.


Washington Square Inn

4.2 on August 24, 2009

Bathroom needs ventilation. Hotel located in very convenient area. Small & personal. Plenty of coffee & tea available for free. Staff helpful. Would return.


Great Inn in the heart of North Beach

4.8 on February 03, 2009

I stayed at the Washington Square Inn in North Beach, San Francisco on Monday night, January 26th. I was in room 8, which has a nice view of the square and the church. My room was very comfortable and had a good usable desk, helpful for those who have to work while away. The bay window was a nice touch as it allowed me to sit and enjoy looking out over the park watching the people enjoying the warmth of the day. The room was immaculate and in excellent condition. It looked like it had been recently redone. The Innkeeper on duty, Shabir, was friendly and helpful and was available throughout the evening, hosting the wine and cheese hour and helping myself and the other guests with dinner recommendations, cabs, etc. If you want a quiet, out of the way B&B, this is not it. It is right in the heart of North Beach, one of the most active neighborhoods in the city. However, this part of San Francisco is also one of the more enjoyable parts. The cafes are lively and the multitude of restaurants and bistros are excellent. Mostly Italian fare, but you can find other foods as well. Being on the square, which was quiet at night, the Inn was not noisy, but I can see how at times you would be able to hear street noise. One of the best parts of the location is you don't have to bring a car at all (as a matter of fact parking is difficult in the neighborhood). The city is literally at your feet.


Good location

3.4 on October 09, 2008

Good Location, almost felt like home!


Exceptional Inn

4.6 on June 13, 2008

Classic City Inn in the best neighborhood in San Fran. The inn was quiet, sophisticated and beautifully furnished. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The other guest were interesting. A great find!


Sophisticated, cosmopolitan stay at Washington Square Inn

4.6 on December 18, 2007

I chose to stay at a smaller and more intimate property while on business in San Francisco rather than one of the large and well known hotels. I found the Washington Square Inn to be the perfect balance of sophistication, location, personal service and comfortable elegance. The hotel is located close to everything – I had great walks/runs to Coit Tower, Fisherman’s Warf, Chinatown, North Beach, the financial district and Nob Hill. I had great dining experiences within walking distance of the hotel including a funky coffee house as well as the famous Dimaggio’s and North Beach Restaurants. The hotel’s breakfast was very tasty and complete – the best croissants I’ve had outside of France. I had all the necessary amenities in my room to make my stay effective. I greatly appreciated the free, high speed wireless internet service. Overall: a productive and very enjoyable trip to San Francisco. Thanks Washington Square Inn!


Washington Square Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $209 - $409
  • Reviews (120) 4.2
  • Rooms 15
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (415) 981-4220

Visit Website »

View details

Top