Harmony Ridge Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

above and beyond

5 on July 31, 2016

It would not be possible. To express in words, How impressed I was with everything in this establishment. This is not your everyday B&B. I did not know anybody when I arrived. After five minutes I felt like I was at a family reunion. This place is a must due on everyone's list.


Harmonious Wonderland in Gardens and Forest

5 on July 09, 2014

I have been to many bed and breakfasts, and I believe this one is a rare jewell! Jamie was an amazing host as he was always available to answer questions about places to see and how to get there. The overall atmosphere of the Lodge is very relaxing. You can swing on the hammock or meander through the many colorful and fanciful gardens. The best part of my day was enjoying an early morning hike on the Scotts Flatt Trail followed by a rewarding breakfast. Debbie lays out a nice spread of fresh fruit, waffles, yogurt, and hot coffee. Each day was a variety of choices that were fresh and delicious. My room and the main lodge itself was impeccably decorated and inviting, especially if you wanted to just sit quietly perusing the large book collection. The many secret spots on the property provided solitude and space for reflection. But if you want to to kick it up a bit, try a game of horse shoes in the forest. While you are there, check out the wonderful metal dragon sculptures and many other artistic pieces on site. You can feel the positive energy emanating from Harmony Ridge Lodge in Nevada City.


harmony in Nevada City

4.8 on July 06, 2014

Don & Janice Rowell


Terrific place!

5 on June 03, 2014

We loved it! Beautiful grounds, quiet comfort, spacious rooms, super private, yummy breakfast. A true gem on the outskirts of Nevada City. Hiking right from lodge, rivers and lakes close by. A definite must.


Perfect!

5 on March 16, 2014

My dog and I stayed here for a few nights and it was heaven! It was so quiet and peaceful, and after a great night's sleep I woke up to a DEEElicious complimentary breakfast. There are lots of trails around for walking and hiking, and beautiful gardens on the grounds. Last but not least, the staff was friendly, courteous, and responsive to all of my needs. I would recommend this lodge to anyone.


Loved Harmony Lodge's Harmony!

4.8 on November 30, 2013

I recently took my mom and dog to the best kept secret outside of Nevada City-Harmony Ridge Lodge! We came from a city about an hour and a half away, but felt like we had traveled to some ideal place in a magical forest. My mom and I relaxed while we looked out onto a beautiful scene, while my dog was free to roam to her heart’s content in a safe environment filled with trees, plants, and the excitement of new places to explore. Everyone there was so nice and welcoming! We shared breakfast with new friends in the A.M. and wine in the evening while our four legged family members played (and shared treats!) with their new friends as well! We will go back…often! So glad we are now in on the “secret!”


Harmony Ridge Lodge

3.8 on August 11, 2013

Grounds were beautiful and full of flowers, fruit and bird life. Very comfortable trails through the forest and natural setting. The room we stayed in, called the woodpecker room, had no woodpecker (or bird) motif and that was a bit of a surprise, but there were woodpeckers in the forest, so what he heck! Room was clean and comfy. We like that it was dog friendly, and any dog we did see was well behaved. Plus, no dog excrement to be seen, so hopefully dog owners are cleaning up after their dogs and not leaving that to the management. Breakfast was delicious and set for our vegetarian requests. Owners are friendly, fun and have lots of suggestions for fun in the area.


Great place to stay for pet lovers!

3.4 on February 04, 2013

this was the most pet friendly bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at! The staff was not intrusive and was very friendly. We enjoyed the grounds and trails on the property. The included breakfast was delicious and homemade. The room decor was a little random, the water pressure in the shower was weak and we could hear everything that was happening in the rooms next to us, but overall, we really enjoyed our stay. we would recommend it to anyone, but especially to people traveling with their dogs.


Perfect Wedding

5 on November 03, 2011

We recently got married at Harmony Ridge Lodge and it was perfect. Our entire wedding party was able to stay at the Lodge creating a very intimate and memorable weekend. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast can't be beat. We had the freedom of choosing our own decorations, flowers, catering, music, etc so we were able to customize our wedding to exactly our style as well as control our costs with Harmony Ridge Lodge providing the perfect venue for a beautiful wedding. We can't wait to go back and spend some time there with just the two of us. We highly recommend holding any event at Harmony Ridge Lodge, especially a wedding!


Heaven on Earth

5 on October 09, 2011

As we drove up to the lodge, I knew that I was in a perfect spot of beauty, serenity, and ethereal surroundings. The lush landscape takes you back to a time of simplicity and quiet. Recommendations and ads cannot do Harmony justice. You have to see it to believe it.


Great Family 4th of July Reunion

5 on October 04, 2011

Nestled in the Sierra Nat'l Forrest, Harmony Ridge Lodge is a gem. The gardens, orchard and tranquil grounds are the perfect spot for a retreat, workshop, family reunion or wedding. Our family spent over a week here, enjoying the walks on the trails, the barbeques with local, garden fresh produce and organic chickens, swimming at Scott's Flat Lake and the South Yuba River and sleeping under the stars at night. For anyone who enjoys good shopping and eating, nearby Nevada City, a charming gold mining town is delightful. The rooms at HR Lodge are over the top. Not only are they beautifully appointed but they are clean and tranquil. I loved our morning breakfasts in the dining room, where local artists' works are displayed. The food was wonderful and the staff was warm and welcoming. HR Lodge is a lodge for all seasons. I can see myself returning in the fall for the foliage and in the winter for cross country skiing. You will not be disappointed. Some of our best photos of the summer were taken in the glorious gardens on the premises. Make it your next stop. Karen


Wonderful family reunion site

5 on September 22, 2011

We recently spent the Labor Day weekend at the beautiful Harmony Ridge Lodge for a large family reunion (24 people +). What a relaxing and gorgeous inn! The gardens were bursting with flowers, the rooms were beautifully appointed and the breakfasts were delectable. We arrived from Texas and it was a cool and inviting respite from heat and a hectic life! The owners and the manager, Debra, were delightful and truly dedicated to making our stay memorable.


Yoga Retreat/Meditation Center

5 on September 19, 2011

I have been holding a very special summer yoga/meditation Yuba River hiking and swimming retreat at Harmony Ridge Lodge since 2007. The lodge provides great rooms, local farm, organic food and a terrific river hiking guide, Dave Skolak. I highly recommend this unique retreat venue to other teachers and groups.


The best place in the world to unplug from city life!

5 on August 15, 2011

What an outstanding experience. I enjoyed every part of my stay. The rooms are gorgeous, well appointed and clean. The food was delicious, the homemade waffles with fruit and creme fresh, wow. The grounds are well kept and beautiful, I can see why many people get married here. If you need an escape please choose this Lodge. I am going to make it a point to go a few times a year now.


I can't wait to go back! An outstanding experience, times 3!

5 on August 03, 2011

This year I was fortunate enough to participate in retreats that took place over three different weekends (in March, May and July) at the Lodge. This place is beyond beautiful…the huge Pine trees that surround the buildings, and the delightful gardens you are free to spend time in, not just for show! Then there are the luxurious and spacious rooms, so fresh and clean, with amazing attention to detail and appointed with such style and class! Each room seems to be a unique creation, with their own personality and much nicer than many of the finest hotels I have stayed at throughout the world. Not at all, what I expected for a mountain lodge! It is as if you are staying at an Artists’ home and in a sense, you are! The owners and staff treat Harmony Ridge Lodge as a creation of love, clearly putting their loving energy in everything they do, from the plush beds and pillows that you just sink into (I’ve never slept so comfortably), to the beautiful artwork that is everywhere, to the gardens and the lovely homemade breakfasts! The staff is also delightful to talk to, treating you more like an honored guest in their home. So often, facilities are about making money and that is fine, but, the Lodge is about creating experiences…this I think is what makes the difference between it and other retreat facilities…it is definitely an uplifting experience well beyond others! I will be back to further take in this nourishing space, maybe a family retreat is next, maybe just enjoying time with friends! Whatever reason I stay at Lodge, I know it will be hard to leave!


Best lodging in CA!

5 on July 12, 2010

I recently stayed at Harmony Ridge Logde and was wonderfully surprised. You pull into this magnificent winding driveway that takes you to a wonderful lodge (with amazing views, wonderful breakfast and an adorable dog named Monarch). Then travel further into a beatiful retreat where the rooms have outside sitting patios that look onto the forest and beautiful gardens you can get lost in. The rooms are amazing with high comfortable beds and beautiful antiques. You feel like you're in another world when visiting. I travel often and stay at B&B's all the time. This is on the TOP OF MY LIST. If you visit, make sure to pet Monarch and tell him Jill said hi! We will definitely be back. Thanks Jamie and Bob for a great stay.


Absolutely the best place to stay in Nevada City

5 on April 03, 2010

The Harmony Ridge Lodge is a wonderful, peaceful lodge. The owners (Bob & Jaime) and the managers (DeAnna & Billy) are wonderful, kind people who bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. The breakfasts are fantastic. The rooms are tastefully decorated; upscale, but comfortable. The location is peaceful and up the hill from Nevada City. There's no TV or phone in the room to distract you, so you can de-stress here. The 4 fenced acres of pine trees are perfect for people and dogs. Our Golden Retriever loves it and so do we! We highly recommend the Harmony Ridge Lodge.


Serene getaway

5 on March 06, 2010

Everything about the Harmony Ridge Lodge was inviting and warm. The grounds were beautifully decorated and kept. In addition to the native cedar and pine trees, the Japanese maples, rock gardens and statuary enhance the peaceful setting. The hosts were extremely accommodating and welcoming. The rooms and the main lodge were tastefully decorated, The bed was plush and comfortable. The oversize bathtub was a treat big enough for two. And the breakfast....we ate the most amazing waffles with bacon. The coffee was outstanding. There were many items to choose from. We would highly recommend Harmony Ridge to anyone desiring a serene respite.


Beautiful retreat center and inn

5 on February 21, 2010

Beautiful retreat center and inn. I was up this weekend to stay with my husband and ten month old for a getaway and also to check out the facilities for a belly dance retreat I am planning. The facilities are gorgeous and peaceful, the energy is very healing. Billy and deanna are gracious hosts and did an wonderful job. We will back and I highly reccomend as a retreat center or b&b.


The Best Secret Ever!

5 on February 15, 2010

I was sold on this place when I visited their website and saw the wonderful pictures. It just looked fun! We emailed and got a room for a lower than expected cost for the two night minimum. When I called I learned that an astrology discussion and Valentine's dinner were on the schedule for the night of our arrival. We ended up having a dinner that was absolutely incredible with equally good wine. We lingered for a long while beyond the homemade deserts and shared a bottle of port wine which one of the other guests had brought. The staff was exceptional and we have already referred a friend who is looking for a wedding site in the fall. If you can, imagine the most beautiful cabin in the Tahoe National Forest, but it's even better than that! Every detail was perfect including great coffee, tea, OJ, cereals, bagels, & fruits. A cozy fireplace, books like I've never seen anywhere, beautiful grounds loaded with special places to relax or play. Comfortable furniture like you see in the special magazines and books throughout the B&B. I can honestly say this is the best experience we have ever had with a B&B. We can't wait to return later in the year as the seasons change.


Fabulous place to stay and enjoy the scenery

5 on February 03, 2010

Having this kind of quality and luxury nestled in an oasis of nature was a real treat for us. Harmony Ridge Lodge makes it difficult to want to stay anywhere else and we are looking forward to going back for a longer stay in the very near future. Our hosts (human and canine, of the Golden variety) were all you could ask for in terms of rolling out the red carpet and making us feel welcome and like family. Our needs were addressed even before we asked. What a wonderful place to stay


Perfect in Every Way

5 on January 31, 2010

We absolutely loved the Harmony Ridge Lodge. Our family of four, including children aged 8 and 9, stayed for three nights in Room 1, which is a large second floor room with two queen beds and a sitting area. The room is much more beautiful than the pictures on the web indicate. The linens are luxurious -- towels new and fluffy, sheets and duvets of the best quality. Even the bathroom furnishings are beautiful. Having been fortunate enough to have lived at the Ritz Carlton in Pasadena (5 star property) for six months in 2006 following a house fire, we tend to compare (fairly or not) every place we stay to the Ritz's level of service and quality. Making us even more difficult critics, my husband has traveled to over 100 countries on business, staying only at the best hotels the world has to offer. We were not disappointed at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. The room was beautiful, decor and details exceptional throughout the property (outdoor sculptures, lovely light fixtures, high quality coffee table books everywhere, beautiful and interesting furnishings -- understated elegance). The breakfasts abundant, delicious and of the highest quality ingredients prepared with genuine care and pride. Innkeepers DeAnna and Billy are delightful, warm and welcoming. Our children loved visiting Deanna and Billy's Golden Retriever, Ben (the owners' Golden, Monarch, wasn't on the property this weekend), in the main house, eating Billy's delicious breakfasts and homemade cookies and being spoiled by his offerings of hot chocolate after playing in the snow. Our children didn't want to leave (nor did we), which says a lot given that before arriving they were bemoaning the fact that there would be no TV (they forgot all about TV once they were here!). There is nothing negative to be said. We hope to be back in the Spring!


Meditation Retreat at Harmony Ridge Lodge

4.8 on January 25, 2010

We recently held a 10-day silent meditation retreat at Harmony Ridge Lodge and couldn't be happier with the facility and staff. The Lodge and rooms are gorgeous. Debbie, DeAnna & Billy were always available to help yet never intrusive. We plan to come to Harmony Ridge Lodge for our retreat again next year. Catrinka Holland, Mountain Stream Meditation Retreat Mgr


AMAZING EXPERIENCE

5 on December 15, 2009

Our small group of 4 had such a wonderful time at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. The staff, the accommodations, the setting were all sublime. I was amazed at how beautiful and spacious the rooms were. For the price, I was greatly impressed. Consider yourself very lucky to stay there! We'll definitely be back!


Winter Wonderland

5 on December 13, 2009

"Breathtaking" is the word I use to describe my experience at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. The serene, snow-covered landscape and Christmas decor are so exquisite, they would have Mr. Grinch singing "Joy To the World" at the top of his lungs! The innkeepers, Billy and Deanna, are as warm and welcoming as the yule logs burning in the great room fireplace. I never experienced culinary ecstacy until I tasted one of Billy's breakfasts! His waffles are addicting!!! My room was simply amazing! Very large, beautifully decorated and so comfortable and relaxing, I never wanted to leave (except for a waffle). The "Winter Wonderland" hike through the woods with owner Bob and his dog, Monarch, was a Christmas gift I will always cherish. The beauty and serenity of the forrest filled my heart with peace and joy. Thank-you, Bob, Jamie, and Monarch, for sharing this magical place with me and my friends, Michael, Karen, and Bruce. We're already planning our return trip! Happy Holidays and best wishes for a Happy New Year!


Winter weekend

5 on November 25, 2009

We were so happy to spend two nights at Harmony Ridge Lodge in November. It was spectacular. When we arrived it had just snowed and the grounds were magical. The fall garden had flowers blooming and a few apples left on the trees. Our room was huge, comfy and beautifully decorated. We woke to sunlight pouring through the trees into our windows. The breakfasts were to die for, delicious, fresh, abundant, even the coffee was great. Billy is a fabulous cook. Every detail of our stay was perfect. We felt like family with Billy and Deanna after being there a only a few hours and the owners loved to stop and talk and share their bountiful knowledge and experience with us. There are several easy hiking trails nearby. We can't wait to come back and try every season. Kathleen and Cathy


A Hidden Gem You Must Find

5 on September 28, 2009

The Harmony Ridge Lodge was simply the best place my wife and I have stayed in. It's quiet serene setting is the perfect combination of relaxed activity. We both loved the direct access to walking and mtb trails. Then relaxing in the room or in the beautiful lodge was perfect. Do not miss this hidden gem just outside of Nevada City. We will be going back again and again.


SSTS 2009 Sierra Tour

5 on September 20, 2009

This weekend I traveled with our car club to Nevada City for our annual Fall trip. We stayed at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. What a wonderful experience. Deanna and Billy, the Innkeepers were so delightful and friendly. The food was excellent! And the rooms were fantastic. I did not expect my room to be so comfortable and welcoming. What a surprise. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the floors were slate and the beds were very comfortable. We had a jetted spa in the bathroom. Each room was decorated differently. Much thought was given for those who stay there. The owners, Jaime and Bob were very welcoming and easy to have conversation with. They told us the history of the property and all that they had to do to make this Lodge peaceful, calming and relaxing. If you want to get away for a weekend without all the outside distractions, then I would highly recommend you stay here at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. You will not be disappointed.


An amazing getaway!!

5 on September 10, 2009

I recently returned from my 2nd visit to the incredible Harmony Ridge Lodge. It is up there with the best places I have ever stayed at. The spacious rooms are so comfortable and beautifully designed, the grounds and the gardens are exquisite, and the owners, Jamie and Bob, and the staff, Deanna and Billy were so gracious and warm...and the greeter Monarch almost made me forget my own great dog! As much as I did not want to leave the Lodge, I enjoyed the hiking and swimming along the Yuba River very much. I am already planning my next visit from the East Coast to the relaxing and stress free Harmony Ridge Lodge.


A Magical Stay!

5 on August 08, 2009

A quiet respite amongst the trees. Great breakfasts, all specially prepared by Billy and Deanna; better than 100% service; they supplied me with what I needed before I even thought to ask; a place where people do what they love to do; it was magical, sleeping up in the trees, with crickets chirping, the fan's sound comforting you, and just being with friendly people.


Do not miss this incredible inn

5 on June 24, 2009

Beautiful, comfortable, spacious rooms; incredible grounds and facilities; and the gracious, warm, attentive ways of Deanna and Billy topped off an unforgettable stay. You must try Harmony Ridge Lodge. You will not regret it!


Amazing retreat in the Forest

5 on June 10, 2009

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the lodge. We met Bob and Jamie in the gardens and they shared gardening tips with me. The food was very good. I could tell that the innkeepers Billy and Deanna love what they do. We left feeling pampered and appreciated. It's not to be missed, and I highly recommend this get away.


A B&B where you can decompress

4.6 on May 31, 2009

I travel alot and am allways looking for a good B&B. Deanna upgraded my room to a jacuzzi and it was spotless. I checked in early and she recommended several places for lunch. There is internet access in main lodge to stay linked with work and family. Billy served the best breakfast. Everything was there plus a hot egg dish ,it was wonderfull and filling. this lodge is a repeat.


Romantic Retreat

4.8 on May 29, 2009

My partner and I recently had a lovely, relaxing and romantic interlude at the Lodge, our first time staying there, and it was a treasured time together. The setting in the gorgeous forest, the elegant rooms, a hot tub for two and the hospitality of the staff all made the experience quite sublime! We hope to return soon and enjoy more time away from the day to day hustle and bustle!


Wonderful Retreat

4.0 on March 17, 2009

Breathtaking scenery, beautifully decorated lodge and rooms, comfortable and spacious rooms, unparalleled attention from innkeepers. So relaxing(many rooms with soaking or whirlpool tubs!). Thank God, no TV. A real treasure to stay here.


Designer Style In The Mountains

4.0 on August 27, 2008

A Wonderful Rare Find Of Mountain Serenity And Environs And City Comforts And Design. The Lodge Feels Like You Would Have Designed It For Your Own Use. It's Really Stylish And Beautiful, And It's Obvious There Has Been A Lot Of Love Put Into It. The Grounds And Setting Are Stunning, The Rooms Are Very Spacious And Comfortable And The Service And Food Was Great As Well. It's Wonderful To Have All The Trails Closeby And Also You Can Be In Town In Only A Few Minutes, Or Go To The River. I Can't Wait To Go Return, It Was A Wonderful Experience.


Not to be missed in Nevada City!

5 on July 30, 2008

I've had the great fortune to escape to Harmony Ridge Lodge 3 times in the last 10 months, and I look forward to a return visit this fall! This Lodge is truly a gem - a great place to get away from it all to hike, swim in the Yuba River, read, sleep, relax....and if wining and dining are of interest - there's some great wineries nearby in just about every direction, and some tasty places to dine in Nevada City & Grass Valley. Although I don't have a dog of my own, I do appreciate being able to share the owners' dog when he's out and about on the beautiful grounds. Highly recommended for a solo getaway, romantic retreat, or time away with the girls!


Harmony Ridge Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $200
  • Reviews (37) 4.8
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5304780615

Visit Website »

View details

Top