The Inn on First Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
120 Reviews

Write A Review

Adorable, Fun Place to Stay

5 on June 04, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was a great choice. The rooms were adorable and clean. Jim and Jamie were fantastic. The breakfasts really made it outstanding for us. The creativity every morning was amazing. The complimentary cookies and port each day were a super touch as well.


Excellent!!!

5 on December 11, 2012

Oh my where do I start...Jaime and Jim went over and beyond for us! The food A+! The location perfect walking distance to everything downtown! Ample safe parking! Clean room, love the fireplace, whirlpool jetted tub, great conversation I can go on and on!! Jaime even picked up and delivered a cake for us just to help us out! Now that's service! We even had to check out super early and were going to miss breakfast so Jim made us a nice healthy to-go breakfast. I totally recommend this inn to everyone! You won't regret it.


Decisions Made Easy

5 on April 16, 2012

I am a person who has a difficult time making decisions when given a myriad of choices as inevitably there are when visiting any popular location. This of course includes the fine inns, culinary excellence, and extensive wineries of the Napa Valley. Jamie and Jim of The Inn On First have taken the stress and complexity out of the selection process. It goes without saying (just read the reviews!) that they have the B&B world down-pat, it's all true as far as my partner and I are concerned, but the best part for me is that we can, even on a moment's notice contact Jamie and Jim, and they will demystify the decision-making process by making suggestions and then by making the reservations for us. They even provide a listing in their guestroom books of restaurants that they have personally test-driven, rating them as excellent, great, and "so-so" which is invaluable to me. We have visited different restaurants and wineries each time we have stayed at The Inn on First, and without hesitation rate all that they have recommended as five-star experiences...and needless to say The Inn itself is a five-star plus! So if you are into making things simple and taking the stress out of decision-making I highly recommend that you entrust Jamie and Jim at The Inn On First to make your entire Napa visit a "get-out-of-your-head and into-your-heart" reality. We'll be back for sure, Paula and Barbara


Great B & B Getaway

4.0 on December 31, 2011

What a relaxing few days. The room was beautiful, the food amazing and the hospitality unmatched.We showed up on Christmas day in the afternoon and Jamie was still able to get us a dinner reservation at The Farm, no small feat with so many places closed for the holiday. All of his recommendations for wineries and dining were spot on, and our first trip to Napa turned out perfectly. PS - Best breakfasts! Homemade spaetzl was amazing and I kept sneaking down for more cookies and brownies in the afternoon !


Jewel of a B&B

4.0 on December 14, 2011

My husband and I went to The Inn On First on the recommendation of our daughter and son-in-law who spent a week there last year in celebration of their 5th wedding anniversary. We found the inn to be simply charming. It is clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We found it to be joyful to come home to after every outing, always with fire burning in the fireplace and pleasant, soft music playing in the background. The inn keepers are equally delightful. Jim is a terrific and creative cook. Jaime is the tasteful and creative decorator. Both hosts are gracious and most helpful to their guests. That goes all the way from making sensible rules that help to insure the enjoyment of all of their guests to making recommendations about sightseeing, restaurants, etc., giving directions and making dinner reservations. We definitely give this B&B 5 stars!


Second Time Around

4.8 on November 29, 2011

The Inn is beautiful. The rooms are excellent. Jim's breakfast dishes are easy the best breakfast I've ever had. Jamie setup all of our dinner and wine tour reservations, which for the 4 of us was a challenge. This was our second time to stay at the Inn and without a doubt it gets better each time we go. Jim and Jamie are the best host. as if you were visiting family. We were worried about staying in the main house due to noise we have experienced at other B&B's, it was NOT an issue. The location to downtown napa is awesome.


Awesome, Awesome, Awesome

4.8 on November 28, 2011

Awesome stay, personalized service. A must stay if you are heading to Napa.


The Most Amazing Bed and Breakfast in Napa Valley CA

5 on November 21, 2011

Jim and Jamie are the most amazing and hospitable people you will meet in Napa Valley, CA. We found them both to be very informative about the Napa Valley area, so if you don't know what to do just ask and they will plan an awesome day of fun filled adventure. Great for dogs, so if you travel with your animal family you WILL want to stay here. Don't worry about breakfast there is a gourmet meal each morning with something new everyday, not just your everyday pancakes and eggs await you. If you are ever in Napa Valley and are looking for a great place to stay The Inn on First is the only place. My husband, myself, and our dog family will be back. Thanks Jim and Jamie for making our first trip to Napa Valley "a trip to remember".


Fabulous getaway

5 on November 21, 2011

The house is beautiful from the moment you walk in. There is a nice sitting room with complimentary port and snacks with a super cozy fireplace. Made us feel welcome from the moemnt we got there. Our room was nice and secluded. Even though the Inn was fully booked while we were there we felt very alone in our room which was great. The breakfast each morning was amazing and they accommodated diet restrictions without complaint. The churros and scones were ridiculously good! Jamie was very personable and gave us great tips on how to spend our time in Napa. We loved our trip and would definitely go back next time we are in Napa!


Wonderful B&B; Great Hosts

5 on October 18, 2011

I knew we would like this B&B within minutes after I made the reservation, because about 5 minutes thereafter, I received a confirmation email with advice and recommendations as well as another email asking about breakfast preferences, etc. Any innkeeper with that much attention to detail certainly has his work cut out for him, and we weren't disappointed in the least. We were in room #5, a beautiful room in the main house. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the linens were great quality, and we both slept very well both nights we were there. The bathroom was immaculate and included a great jacuzzi tub and fireplace. I had been in touch with Jamie via email a few weeks prior to the trip and he had provided some great tips on which vineyards to visit. Once we decided on them, Jamie set up the appointments with them. All we had to do once we got to Napa was have Jamie show us where to go and we were all set. They even provided loaner picnic boxes and water bottles. After a long day of driving around and visiting wineries, there was nothing like coming back and having one of Jim's delicious cookies. The breakfasts were phenomenal - I still can't stop thinking about his amazing Hawaiian pancakes. I can't recommend this B&B enough.


Our 1st B & B Stay!

5 on October 17, 2011

This was our 1st trip to Napa, our 1st, stay at a B & B. We had an amazing time. The Inn was very welcoming, & the smells of fresh baked cookies greeted us, as did a friendly Jim! Our room was perfect (the pictures don't do it justice). Jamie was SO helpful with making dinner reservations, vineyard suggestions, directions! Jim's breakfast was fabulous! You two have set the bar VERY HIGH for all upcoming B & B's that we visit! Thanks for making our stay so special!


Stop the web search...you found it!!

5 on October 06, 2011

Lots of web searching and then I found The Inn on First for a 25th anniversary, 5 day vacation. Warm cookie smells and Jim greeting us at the door set the stage for the rest of our visit. Clean rooms and "Beekind" lotions and soaps added to the comfy room. Each morning breakfast was a surprise of Chef Jim's creation. I purchased one of his cookbooks to try out the recipes! Walked to dinner and lunch three nights. Jim and Jamie were there to help us plan our days and make advance reservations for harvest season. I'll be back...


Our 3-night Stay

4.8 on September 30, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Inn on First. Jamie is very personable and an excellent source of information regarding all things 'Napa Valley'. Jim cooked 3 excellent gourmet breakfasts and is in the process of publishing a book of his recipes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Jim and Jamie.


Simply Amazing

5 on September 23, 2011

Jim and Jamie could not have been more hospitable during our stay. The Inn is gorgeous, sporting a really fresh and modern decor. We stayed in room #4 of the main mansion. You can tell that every aspect of the rooms were thoughtfully chosen. We were greeted with a split of sparkling wine and Jim's amazing homemade truffles. The bedding was wonderful, and the jetted tub a great amenity. Breakfast was delightful, with a delicious breakfast pot pie...truly inventive. Jamie took the time to sit and chat and we couldn't have felt more welcomed!


Perfect experience

5 on September 22, 2011

This is my second time staying here and will not be my last. Jim and Jamie are so warm and welcoming. The room was perfect and included complimentary champagne and truffles. There are homemade cookies available in the afternoon as well as port. The breakfast is always inventive and delicious. They are able to offer advice on wineries and restaurants which are always great recommendations.


Wonderful

5 on September 19, 2011

Too many words would be a disservice. Everything about TIOF is wonderful. The accommodations, your hosts, the food, everything. Just wonderful! This was my first experience at a B&B. Certainly my future vacations will include far fewer places with the name of a chain over the front door


Could not have made a better choice!

4.6 on September 18, 2011

This was our first trip back to the Wine Country in about 25 years, and many of the Inns we had stayed at previously were no longer around, so we took a chance on The Inn on First, what an excellent choice. Our room was comfortable with all of the necessities, air conditioning, wireless Internet, coffee service and luxurious bedding. While the breakfasts were excellent, the real gem were the innkeepers, Jamie and Jim. In addition to maintaining an excellent guest experience at the Inn, where they excelled was in helping each of their guests plan their days based upon their own unique desires. In our case we were looking for moderately priced wines, which were unlikely to receive wide distribution in the Midwest. They set us up with a half dozen spots, including a private tasting with a small (1,000 case a year) wine maker who had come to the Valley in 1975 and who we could share observations on how the area had changed over the years. If you are looking for a comfortable stay in the Wine Country and an opportunity to schedule a day tailored to your specific desires, we highly recommend the Inn on First in Napa.


What a Gem

4.0 on September 16, 2011

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I was impressed. Jim and Jaime were wonderful chefs/hosts. Our room was wonderful. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable, we took full advantage of our inroom hot tub (and even though it wasn't cold out), we had to turn on the fireplace just to get the ambiance. There was also a collection of CD's that we could use with a variety of music. The garden setting was very calm and relaxing. The outdoor furniture was clean and I wasn't worried about sitting down and having a bunch of spider webs all over me (or even worse, a spider crawl up my arm). Our breakfast was amazing. We were served outdoors in the garden and once again, I was so relaxed, I wanted to sit there forever. I can't say enough about the breakfast. Jim is a fantastic chef. They treated our dog Cody like a king (just like we do) and I can't imagine going back to Napa and not staying here again. Oh yeah, the homemade chocolate truffles in our room when we arrived was a sweet surprise.


An absolute treat

5 on August 18, 2011

Booked this place last minute, as there were few places left in the area (besides the average 'hotel', which wasn't going to suffice for a romantic getaway b&b). I have no idea how there was a room left in this facility, given the absolutely terrific value of it coupled with raving reviews. The innkeepers, Jim and Jamie, are wonderfully personable (not to mention around, which some innkeepers are not). The food was creative and unbelievably delicious. Really unexpected to dine with exquisite and delicious food, owing to a culinary expert being one of the innkeepers. On return trips to Napa, I have little interest in seeking out any other b&b. Would gladly stay again. And will recommend to others with high marks.


Very fine B&B in the heart of Napa Town

4.0 on August 12, 2011

Everything we heard about this lovely little B&B was true. It’s in a fantastic location, which allows easy access into town and onto the freeway. We stayed in the Vintage Reserve room (Garden suites behind the mansion house).It was very specious, well appointed and perfect for a romantic and relaxing few nights. The walk in shower, his and her sinks and (most importantly) the Jacuzzi bathtub were great. There was plenty of space to stretch out, relax and unwind after a long day of wine tasting. The picnic basket (complete with plates, glasses, etc) in the room was very handy in deed. Jim and Jamie were fantastic hosts and gave us the full down load of local knowledge and it was great getting to know them. They made us feel like friends and guests. Oh, and the breakfasts were to die for…interesting, tasty and very filling. If we are ever back in Napa we’ll be staying here again – the only thing we would change is the length of our stay…two nights was just not enough!


Should be on top of your short list of places to stay in NAPA

4.8 on August 02, 2011

It really all starts with hosts Jim and Jamie. Making your stay unique, special, memorable seems to be their top priority. Not only do they provide a perfect environment and services to make the most of your stay at their inn, they provide expert advice on what else to do in NAPA valley - based on your unique interests. They make suggestions and the reservations for wine tasting, dining and other activities. And as I listened to their conversations with other guests, I realized that their recommendations were all different - customized to the special interests of each couple. Breakfasts were gourmet, and different every day. We felt as if Jim and Jamie were our hosts not only for our stay at the The Inn On First, but for our whole NAPA vacation.


Great placed to stay in Napa

5 on July 19, 2011

Jaime and Jim outdo themselves in many ways at the Inn on First! The food is amazing. I want to go back for many reasons - one being to try more of Jim's famous breakfast dishes! The 2 we had were so yummy and everything is homemade too! The rooms we stayed in - room 9 - was very comfortable and had everything we could have needed. The Linens were great. The room very clean and the bed very comfortable. The fireplace was an added bonus with the jacuzzi tub. And our room had lots of windows for fresh air too! Can't wait to come back! Thanks for a great first time Bed & Breakfast experience!


Fantastic Getaway

4.8 on July 09, 2011

This was our first time to a Bed and Breakfast, and it was better than I expected. Our innkeepers were very hospitable and were helpful in planning our day in Napa, and we were given some coupons for free wine tasting. The inn had a beautiful garden and the breakfast was great. Our spacious room, which was located in another house behind the main house was nicely decorated and we had our own private patio with a little fountain. The only problem we had was that the bed squeeked when my husband would move. I would definitely return here again and recommend it to all my friends. This was better than staying at a hotel and we definitely got our money's worth.


A piece of heaven in Napa

4.6 on May 23, 2011

Fantastis breakfast Jamie out did himself with all the resrictions that I have.the house is fantastic love the no smoking and no tv policy's.the location is the best the gardens are beautifull the room was very clean and the bathroom has every thing you need from soft towels to fluffie bathroops. Will come back as soon as I can Marja Tepper,innkeeper in the Berkshires


Fabulous experience – two guys that really get it!

5 on May 17, 2011

I’ve stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts around the world, but no other as good as this one. From innovative, gourmet breakfasts to a lovely setting, everything adds to those extra touches that make for an excellent experience. Breakfast on the patio is a great; the cookies lefty out as snack, and the candy left in the room each day are only some examples of the excellent service and attention to detail. We plan to return in the near future!


First rate in all respects

4.8 on May 08, 2011

Jamie and Jim are great hosts. Their property is beautiful, they do everything possible to make your stay one to remember and Jim is an amazingly creative chef. Breakfast is an experience every morning--Jim is constantly trying to come up with new creations and each and every one is amazing. Jamie is extraordinary in his kindness and his willingness to help you plan your day. I recommend Inn on First without qualification. Randy Ratner, Dallas, TX


What a lovely experience!

5 on March 25, 2011

Upon arrival my boyfriend and I where exhausted and were really looking forward to staying at The Inn on First. When we came inside I was so relieved to see such a beautiful place. We were welcomed by Jamie and then shortly after Jim. We let Jim know that I had a gluten allergy so he welcomed me with gluten free cookies and also assured me that our breakfast will also be gluten free. He was very enthusiastic and accommodating about making sure I was eating gluten free food. Though everything that was served to me it was still fantastic! Breakfast was Jim's famous eggs with goat cheese quiche. It had a nice spicy bite to it that made all the flavor so much more wonderful. He also made me a small cinnamon pastry that was out of this world delicious! Jim did a wonderful job accommodating my allergy but still making it taste good! Not only did they recommend the best places to go but they are so well known that we were given free tasting at the wine tasting rooms. The restaurants that they recommended were only recommended if they had tried it and enjoyed it. We went to Oentri, a small Italian place in the middle of downtown and it was also amazing. Overall, the experience was amazing. I will definitely be back!


Perfection.

5 on March 19, 2011

My husband and I read many reviews in preparation for our honeymoon, and chose The Inn on First by those reviews alone. We were 100% please with every part of our experience there. The hosts were lovely and accomodating (not to mention, super nice guys) and the room was warm and luxurious. The bed was like a giant cloud of loveliness, and we often had a hard time making ourselves leave the comfort of the inn. The giant heart-shaped tub in our suite didn't hurt, either. Each guest is greeted with homemade truffles and a bottle of sparking wine, and Jim bakes his amazing chocolate-chip cookies all day long. We had never been to Napa, and Jim & Jamie were the perfect guides for us in our travels. They made appointments for us, told us what was worth the money and what was not, and helped us to find what we would enjoy the most. I am not much of a breakfast person, but Jim's breakfasts made me lick my plate every morning. This is not a well-written review, due to my honeymoon hangover, but please know that we recommend this inn to anyone and everyone. Do it. You will be a happy, happy camper.


First Time B&B at the Inn On First

4.0 on March 14, 2011

What more perfect of a place to try a B&B for the first time than in Napa? The only answer to that question would be the Inn on First IN Napa! My wife and I felt a comfortable welcome from the moment they answered the door. The place was well kept and spacious. Pleasant music selections playing quietly throughout the quiet, cozy layout filled with the perfect amount of decor to make you feel like your at home and not shopping in an antique shop like I pictured most B&Bs to look like inside. Jim, one of the innkeepers makes you feel like he genuinely loves the company he keeps. Even when engaged in a conversation with another couple, he constantly kept eye contact with my wife and I to include us into the conversation. We honestly felt that he takes pleasure in seeing complete strangers interact with each other in the tastefully furnished common areas he and his partner, Jamie, created for their guests. However there are also enough areas for comp,eye privacy as well. We couldn't ask for a better room to stay in. It was immaculate. It smelled nice, and it was also equipped with a fireplace and hot tub to boot. Ask Jim for recommendations. He honestly loves the Napa valley and strives for everyone to share the same enthusiasm the locals do as he will steer you towards the heart and soul of what it has to offer. He made wine tasting reservations for us, and even offered to make restaurant reservations as well. Hands down a great first experience! We can't wait to come back again. Jon and JoAnn


Wow! Perfect way to celebrate 10 years!

5 on March 07, 2011

So many wonderful things.... the amazing breakfasts, the spot-on recommendations and calls to private wineries for tours, and the comfortable rooms, cozy bathrobes, elegant spa bath, and fun conversations with the hosts. The Inn is a little more than a short walk to the downtown area, but still in a great location. We definitely plan on returning.... and sampling yet another amazing breakfast creation by Jim :)


the In on First is Amazing

5 on February 27, 2011

Jim and Jamie are wonderful hosts and the Inn is lovely and memorable...thank you for a great stay...


There is no better in Napa

4.0 on February 14, 2011

My wife and I visited The Inn on First for a weekend getaway to Napa. The inn was so charming and the hosts/owners, Jamie and Jim, could not have been any more hospitable. The inn is within walking distance from town and the rooms have that traditional B&B feeling with a more stylish touch than you usually find. The breakfasts that Jim made were out of this world and Jamie is the perfect host. We can't wait to return.


Amazing service and hospitality

5 on January 15, 2011

This is one of the best B & B's we visited on our trip. Jim and Jamie are the ultimate welcoming hosts and did absolutely everything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. Our room was huge and immaculately clean. Breakfast in the dining room was fantastic and it was great to meet all the other guests from the US and around the world. Jim and Jamie's recommendations for wineries and restaurants were spot on. We have no hesitation in recommending Inn on First to anyone visiting Napa.


Great attention to details; wonderful hosts; heart of Napa

5 on November 13, 2010

This beautiful Inn on a residential street in Napa has everything you need for a night, or a week or two. The hosts, Jamie and Jim, know all there is to know about Napa. The place is beautifully appointed. The downstairs is yours--for a glass of port, some cookies, tea or coffee, to leaf through brochures or cookbooks about Napa, or just to relax in comfortable chairs. The rooms (each of which you can see on their website) are spotless and spacious, with nice touches--a nightlight in a magazine basket, a lantern for night walking, a jacuzzi tub, a huge shower, a working fireplace, wine and free truffles, a fridge with free cold, delicious, unusual sodas (kumquat!), a picnic backpack, pleasant amenities, and a bed that feels so good you want to stay in it. There are lovely outdoors places to sit and sip your coffee or wine, or just look at the gardens and enjoy the birdsong. Very quiet, esp. for being right in Napa. Following Jim's advice, we walked downtown and found a new Napa--from the Oxbow Market (a mini-Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market) to several restaurants and wine bars to a stroll along the river. Dinner at Oenotri--our reason for going to Napa--was superior, and within walking distance. We chose The Inn on First because they accept dogs--and dogs are very welcome, with amenities of their own--and we feel we lucked out because we had such a good experience altogether. Breakfast was delicious, with things like cereals and yogurt and mini-pastries laid out with your kind of coffee, followed by a hot breakfast, such as pancakes with grilled pineapple and marscapone butter. There are many inns to choose from in Napa, but I doubt they can be as pleasant as Jim and Jamie make the Inn on First.


FABULOUS!

5 on October 23, 2010

We could not have been happier. The Inn on First is beautiful and a great location. We walked to restaurants. But the best part is the inn keepers - Jaime and Jim. They both love what they do and take it very seriously. Jaime is the quintenssental host making sure everyone is happy. He knows everything about the greater Napa area and makes great recommendations. Jm is the chef and you will never have a better breakfast. We hightly recommend the Inn on First.


A First Class Experience

5 on September 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the first class service, accommodations, food and customer service provided by Jim Gunther and Jamie Cherry. The Inn is very convenient to Napa City amenities and the Napa Valley wineries. Jim, Jamie and their staff were excellent hosts and became friends that we hope to see again. This is a five star B&B and is worth the experience if you want to visit Napa.


Best Place in Napa!

5 on September 13, 2010

Service, facilities and meals were outstanding. Planning next trip back. Ideal location. Hospitality was awesome and the food presentation was to die for.


Amazing!

5 on August 15, 2010

Stayed with Jim and Jamie for our honeymoon and it was spectacular. Jim and Jamie are warm and friendly, immediately making you feel like you are at home. The honeymoon package was amazing and there were personal touches in the room just for us. My wife and I loved breakfast, wondering each morning what amazing meal Jim would make that morning (every one was spectacular). Jim and Jamie sat down with us, asked us about our likes and dislikes in wine and then made suggestions accordingly. They would schedule appointments for tastings when necessary and have such a rapport with a number of smaller exciting wine makers that when you walk in and mention them you were treated like a V.I.P. We are already planning to return for our anniversary!!! We can say enough about the beautiful rooms or the innkeepers! Can't wait to see you next year!


The inn on First is a wonderful experience

4.0 on August 06, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Inn on First and it was a terrific experience. The physical facilities were very nice and the location is convenient for downtown Napa and the rest of Napa Valley. As good as these aspects were, the most extraordinary part of the stay was the special hospitality of the innkeepers, Jim and Jamie. They are amazing hosts, providing invaluable advice on restaurants, wineries and other attractions and making reservations and arrangements to access special wineries. Each day commences with a remarkable gourmet breakfast prepared by Jim. A special part of the stay was the interaction with the most interesting and diverse guests. Jim and Jamie's friendliness and enthusiasm infect all who stay there. This was without doubt the best bed and breakfast we have experienced.


Perfect Stay at a Excellent BnB

5 on July 27, 2010

Thank you so much Jamie n Jim for a fabulous stay at the Inn. Our entire stay was just as I had hoped for based on the excellent reviews I had read. The setting, the house, the room, the breakfast, the amenities, the garden...were all A+. We truly appreciate how warm and knowledgeable you both were in your recommendations for wineries and places to eat. Your customer service was excellent and such a nice treat. All this made our stay at your bnb truly memorable. We hope to repeat such a positive experience soon.


Visit Wine Country

5 on July 12, 2010

We had a beautiful romantic stay at "The Inn on First"! The attention to detail was perfect. The breakfast meal was very good and the service was awesome! The location to downtown Napa was convenient. Could walk to many restaurants and shops. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a stay in the Napa Valley.


Our favorite wine country B&B

4.8 on July 12, 2010

We've stayed at The Inn on First twice this year (2010). The accomodations are wonderful, and Jim and Jamie have done an exceptional job paying attention to the details that make The Inn on First a great place for wine country travelers. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and romantic. Breakfast is amazing and we've never had the same meal twice! Jim and Jamie know the area well and always have recommendations for dining and wining. My wife and I work hard, so when we have time for a getway weekend we want to have an experience that is truly relaxing, enjoyable, memorable. We will always stay at The Inn on First whenever our travels take us to the Napa area.


Best choice!

5 on July 06, 2010

Loved: the friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff, tasty, creative, and filling breakfast, and clean, quiet, and beautiful room (Heritage Estate)!


great B&B in Napa Valley

5 on June 17, 2010

Thank you Jim & Jamie for a wonderful night in Napa at The Inn on First. We felt at home from the moment we entered The Inn on First. Guests were engaged in conversation and laughter, which is attributed to your kindness and warmth. Your hospitality and amenities were superb. The bathrobes, the Jacuzzi, the sparkling wine, and the truffles were just a few of the things we took advantage of, and you offered so much more! We awoke to an unbelievable breakfast, anchored by one of Jim’s special creations, pancakes with chocolate filling covered in strawberries. This was our first visit to Napa Valley, and we can’t wait to go back. And when we do come back, you can bet we’ll be staying at The Inn on First.


Perfection

5 on June 16, 2010

Stayed with my girlfriend for a three day getaway to Napa. Blown away by the comfort and warmth of the Inn. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very cozy. What really won us over were all the details. Complementary bottle of champagne in our room, a culinary chef preparing you an amazing breakfast each morning, and amazing Inn keepers offering to help in any way possible. We will definitely be returning and honestly couldn't have asked for anything more from our stay. Very impressed with The Inn on First.


simply the best

5 on April 28, 2010

outstanding service from the minute I made the reservation to the day we left. I would go back tomorrow if I could.


Relaxing & Romantic!

5 on April 13, 2010

My husband and I came to Napa for a little relaxation and romance and that is exactly what we found at The Inn on First. Our room had NO TV (which we loved!) but did have a two person jacuzzi tub with a fireplace. Jim and Jamie were perfect hosts. Jim's breakfasts were a work of art and always a surprise. We will definitely be back!


The Best Bed and Breakfast in Napa!

5 on March 23, 2010

Inn on First is one of the most unique and friendly places I stayed in my lifetime. We were greeted and personally walked to our room, and offered cookies and port to welcome us in. The room was perfectly appointed with a heart shaped hot-tub as we were spending valentines day weekend at the Inn. There was Bubbly in the fridge and robes to relax. The next morning we shared conversations with our neighbors at a perfectly and delicious custom breakfast. We loved our time there and look forward to coming back every year. Thanks!


You won't be disappointed!

5 on February 23, 2010

We had a wonderful stay this weekend. I must say we've stayed at many B&B's but this was by far our favorite. It takes a lot for my husband to be impressed but when I met him at the Inn Sat night he could not stop raving about how great this place was. The recommendation for dinner was superb and our breakfast Sun morning was delicious. Not to mention the divine truffles. Cloud and Maddie (our dogs) were in heaven too with their fluffy beds and lots of good smells in the courtyard. Jim and Jamie have it down with incredible hospitality, knowledge of the region and restaurants, and gourmet food of their own. Thank you for a lovely stay and making our short getaway truly a "get" away from our chaotic life (no TV rocks)!


Best B&B All Around

5 on February 16, 2010

I brought my girlfriend up for Valentines Day and proposed to her in a hot air balloon and I will say that staying at The Inn on First made it that much more perfect! The room was gorgeous. Jim and Jamie were so nice and personable. They make an amazing breakfast too. They are the type of people that you can sit down with and have a great conversation. I would highly suggest to stay here, I know you would have such a memorable time.


Hidden Gem

5 on January 18, 2010

I think one word best describes this B&B: Superb! First of all, I personally manage 3 South Lake Tahoe homes so I know how hard it is have well-maintained properties and how difficult it is in satisfying guests. Jamie and Jim do an excellent job! We chose to stay here because we didn't want to stay at a hotel or those rip off spa facilities. We prefer the warm home and a home cooked breakfast over the fancy hotel chains. When we first arrived, Jamie greeted us with a friendly smile and explained how the B&B worked. The pictures on yelp are 100% accurate. The house is clean and beautiful! We originally booked the Meritage room and our friends booked the First Crush but Jamie emailed us and told us there were cancellations on the two larger rooms at the B&B: Vintage Reserve & Noble Vineyard. We decided to go ahead and upgrade to the larger rooms. It was very easy to reserve the rooms and Jamie was very quick with replies. When we checked into the rooms, we were definitely impressed. I had the Noble Vineyard and it was just amazing! The room was clean and smelled pleasant! The home-made truffles were delicious! The hot tub was a plus too. The morning breakfast was delicious!!! Jim is an amazing cook! We had home-made chile rellenos stuffed with home-made sausage, eggs and cheese served with a side of salsa and alvacado cream. It was delicious! The cold buffet was a nice touch also! Everything was made from scratch and it beats any continental breakfast I've had at any Hyatt or Westin chain. Overall, our experience there was fantastic! We will definitely be returning very soon and I will spread the word to friends and family. Thanks again guys!


The whole shebang!

5 on December 30, 2009

The Inn on First exceeded all my expectations! It was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and the Inn Keepers, Jim & Jamie made it an amazing experience for us. From room cleanliness to restaurant reservations, all our needs were attended to. The Inn on First is beautiful, indulgent and truly captures the romantic feel of the wine country experience. It's everything you could hope for from a B&B and more!


Outstanding Inn and Outstanding Innkeepers

5 on November 26, 2009

My wife and I had the most wonderful stay at the Inn on First. It was our first trip to Napa and while we've stayed at many B&Bs, none of them hold a candle to this one. The experience starts with the inn itself, as well as the grounds surrounding it. The main building is very welcoming and has a general lounge area with a fireplace, which I, my wife and our friends enjoyed at the end of an evening or two, as we sipped our complimentary Port. The grounds around the buildings are so well landscaped and quaint and would have been great to have enjoyed during breakfast had it been a few degrees warmer. The rooms were beautifully decorated with every possible amenity. However, the most important part of our experience were the owners, Jamie and Jim. They made our stay so enjoyable. The food was unbelievable. Each breakfast was so different and creative. As a frequent business traveler who has eaten all over the world, trust me when I say you will not find these breakfast items on a menu elsewhere - they were truly outstanding and a perfect start to every day - just the right amount of food. And, it was so enjoyable to meet the other guests, from all over the world, who stayed at the Inn. In exchanging stories each morning, every single person raved about what great recommendations that Jamie and Jim had given them for their wine tours, bike riding excursions or restaurant reservations. Jamie and Jim and The Inn on First made this one of our most memorable and enjoyable vacations ever.


best everything!

5 on November 17, 2009

I have already told everyone I know about this wonderful place, and I just left a couple days ago. Every detail was amazing, including the best breakfast!


Inn on First is a Real GEM!!

5 on September 21, 2009

The Inn on First is Wonderful, with the best gourmet breakfasts, welcoming staff and warm, comfortable, beautiful rooms. Jim's breakfasts are too die for and dining in the garden is a slice of heaven. Jamie can make any arrangements for fine dining and wine tasting that you can imagine. The staff are wonderful and accomodating. Go and stay - you'll be very happy.


Top notch!

4.6 on August 24, 2009

My partner and I had a fantastic stay! The room was picture perfect. The whirlpool tub was very relaxing after a long day of winery tours. Breakfast was simply AMAZING! The hospitality of the owners was very warm and inviting. They provided great advice for our winery tours. Their service was top notch! We wish we could have stayed longer and we look forward to going back again soon!


Great hosts and fabulous place to stay!

5 on August 16, 2009

Our experience was great from the beginning. The Innkeepers pride themselves on customer service. We were travelling from the East Coast and had never been to Napa Valley. After doing a lot of research, we decided to book two nights here. I’m so happy we did. The innkeepers offered restaurant suggestions, wine tours, and other things to do in the area. They were very knowledgeable about Napa and were more then willing to help us have the best experience possible. They also booked the reservations for us. They were very personable, friendly, and wanted to ensure we were enjoying our stay. The common areas of the inn were decorated beautifully, but weren’t stuffy or overdone. They were comfortable and made you feel as though you were in your own living room. Each room at the Inn is different and offers it’s own unique décor. Our room had a king bed, jacuzzi tub, stand up shower, and double sinks. The innkeepers provide complimentary champagne, sodas, water, and homemade snacks when you arrive. My personal favorite were the chocolate truffles. The grounds of the inn are also amazing. There is a garden area that each room overlooks where breakfast is served each morning during the warmer months. The flowers are gorgeous and there are several patio tables set-up to talk with the other guests. The breakfast alone is one of the reasons we decided to stay here. Breakfast starts with fruits, homemade granola and muffins, coffee and orange juice. The second course is a gourmet style breakfast. There are also cookies and tea available during the day, as well as dessert wines. Overall, we had a really great time at the Inn on First. I highly recommend it!


The best first B&B experience anyone can ask for

5 on August 10, 2009

It's a shame that I'm limited to only 2000 characters to write this review (since my review I wrote on yelp.com for this place was super long and detailed). All I can say is I already could tell even though this was my first and only bed and breakfast I've been to so far this was THE place to be this weekend for the romantic getaway I planned for. As you will be able to see on the 360 degree viewing feature on their website ALL of the rooms look classy yet updated, clean, and come with a hot tub (which in addition to their breakfast photos) was a major decision factor for us to be here. Jim (one of the inn keepers/resident chef professionally trained) definitely did not disappoint when it came for me to enjoy the real thing (breakfast) and you could tell that Jaime really knows how to make your experience unforgettable with all the details.


Love at First Sight

5 on May 28, 2009

After being wined and dined by Jim and Jamie, there is no other option for a place to stay in Napa. The reviews don't lie! They have 5 stars across the board for a reason. Everything was so pretty, clean, well-designed, green, relaxing and delicious. Including the fabulous, gracious, welcoming and attentive hosts. There is no doubt that, god-willing, we will be going back.


Fantastic time in Napa!

5 on May 28, 2009

The Inn on First was just fantastic! We wanted to get away for a long weekend and decided to go to Napa to tour wineries, in particular sparkling wines. Jim, Jamie, and Mercedes helps us out with just about everything. The Inn is in a great location to downtown Napa and the valley. Jim's breakfasts every morning were incredible especially the "fresh off the tree" cherry fritters and scones! We were able to get into some really good restaurants (Bottega and Angele!) and also tour some phenomenal wineries, definitely check out Schramsberg (thanks to Jamie and Mercedes for getting us reservations)! We loved it! and would recommend it to all. We'll be back for sure! Thanks Jim, Jamie, & Mercedes for a great time in Napa!


Fantastic inn, helpful innkeepers

4.8 on May 10, 2009

A wonderful inn, much better than their decent website conveys. Convenient location in downtown Napa. The grounds are beautiful with ample seating to enjoy an outdoor breakfast or spend a pleasant afternoon chatting with friends. A lovely home, with spacious rooms and top flight amenities. Fantastic breakfasts. The innkeepers are gracious, friendly and informative. Every detail is meticulously attended to. We had a great time, felt welcomed and hope to return soon.


the most personal and friendly inn

4.4 on May 05, 2009

It was a wonderful experience for us to have the pleasure staying at Inn on the First in Napa during our honeymoon. Jim and Jamie were so friendly and warm welcoming. The interior decor throughout the whole house is gorgeous and comfortable. Jim made wonderful breakfast while we were there. All the guests loved the food and enjoyed lovely breakfast chats. It was such a warm and friendly place Jim and Jamie offered to us. It makes our honeymoon memorable!


Attention to Every Detail

5 on April 28, 2009

Every detail gets the attention of owners Jim Gunther and Jamies Cherry, making our stay at THe Inn on First exceed our expectations. The rooms are lovely; a perfect blend of cozy and luxurious. Breakfast are delicious and there are home made afternoon truffles waiting for each guest! Jim and Jamie create a customized experience, providing guidance, direction and support for day trips, wine tours, dining and sight seeing. They follow through, and really know the best resources in the area to meet the needs of the guests , whether it's an indulgence or budget conscious. Even the guests are an interesting mix, making for a warm and friendly breakfast experience. We hated to leave and are eager to return.


Perfect Weekend!

5 on April 20, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality as well as the food was incredible. The hosts arranged for a limo tour for our party which made our trip wonderful. We also received suggestions on additional places to eat which were all great recommendations. We will definitely stay here again when we return.


What a great place!

5 on April 19, 2009

My husband and I only stayed here for one night but we had wished we could've stayed longer! Our room was wonderful! I loved the huge shower! The jacuzzi tub was great too. Jim, Jamie and Mercedes were wonderful people! Our breakfast was fantastic! We will definitely come back. We've already told our friends and family about this wonderful place!!


An exceptional stay

5 on March 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time at The Inn on First. We were only there for one night, but the room was lovely (and the jacuzzi tub was fabulous!). It's surprising just how much was in the Budding Vine - the space was used expertly to make it feel like a much bigger room. Jamie and Jim were also very hospitable and helped us with suggestions for wineries (the winery passes were great as well!) and dinner. An unforgettable stay!


Perfect from start to finish.....

5 on March 16, 2009

Our 8th anniversary couldn't have been any better, thanks to Jim and Jamie. Our reservation process and surprises planned, all worked out perfectly. The room Noble Vineyard "Rocked" it was more than we expected. My husband was ANTI-Bed & Breakfast until his stay at The Inn on First. He would go back tomorrow if he could and has already recommended to his friends and co-workers. All of our dinner reservations were perfect, except the OUTSTANDING in-room massages led us to be sooo relaxed we slept right through one of them-Ubuntu. Not necessarily a bad thing I guess right? We ate at Angele....YUMMMMY, ZuZu tasty tappas, and Ubuntu-we slept through dinner but made it for lunch the next day.....SO FRESH AND AWESOME VEGITARIAN~ We had a surprise hot air balloon ride that was amazing from Balloons Above The Valley that I planned for my husband, the Inn on First arranged it, but kept it quiet til' the end. We recommend if you do the balloon ride to still have breakfast at the Inn, as it is just as we imagined it to be.....delectable!!!! Breakfast was part of our draw to this particular Inn, and it was more than we anticipated. The help that we had planning our wineries was invaluable, they picked the most perfect places for us to vist as to not waste a bit of our time. Plus the tasting passes were a treat as well. It was relaxed from start to finish, easy to reserve....check in...out, the attention to detail was soo helpful, we would not have gotten this elsewhere. The homemade crackers, chocolate truffles, in room wine was such a nice touch, the water stock was helpful, the in room movies were a nice touch but we didn't use them, loved the cookies available to us 24 hours a day The Inn on First is "THE PLACE TO STAY IN NAPA", we would go back again and again...Thank you Jim and Jamie for opening your beautiful home and Inn as it is truly a magical place on earth


Truly Wonderful Inn

5 on March 16, 2009

If you are looking for a place to make your trip to Napa special, this is the place. Attention to detail was incredible, the owners were so helpful and friendly. And of course the breakfast was fantastic.


Great hospitality from Jim and Jamie

5 on February 23, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on First a few weeks ago. Truthfully, I usually don't stay at B&Bs as I'm sort of shy about having to mingle with other guests at breakfast, etc. but was pleasantly suprised by the experience. Jim and Jamie's warmth and hospitality put me right at ease, not to mention their knowledge of the best wineries and restaurants. The room we had was Immaculate with a great in-room spa. They are also pet friendly!


Great place to stay!

5 on February 16, 2009

My husband and I love staying here. They have romantic rooms and great hospitality!


quite simply spectacular!

4.0 on February 10, 2009

The Inn on First was a truly exceptional experience. My husband and I stayed at The Inn on First for a much needed getaway. We were hoping to have a nice weekend away from the hectic lifestyle that goes along with having three teenagers! We could not have asked for a better weekend. Jim and Jamie were so welcoming and gracious. Their hospitality made us feel right at home. The inn is spotless and the food was delicious. They also recommended several wine tasting experiences that were not at the typical tourist spots. That, along with great restaurant recommendations, made our stay even better. We highly recommend The Inn on First and will definitely return.


The Nicest 3 Yr Anniversary EVER!

4.8 on February 06, 2009

The Inn at First is a very cozy romantic b&b. We have never stayed at a b&b before so I decieded it would be nice for my 3 year anniversary. The innkeeper Jim was AWESOME he made sure EVERYTHING was PERFECT! He was so helpful and pleasant. Mercedes is a doll she made our dinner reservations and even wrote "Happy Anniversary" on the note card with our reservation to personalize it. Jim is like one of those chefs you see on TV his food look exquisite. I am a little simple jane myself so i eat very basic and didnt care for the main entree.BUT Jim was so WARM and willing to please us and apoligized. He advised they will keep our info in their guest book and next time know what type of things we enjoy. SO PERSONAL is all I can say about the "Inn at First".Great location, Great Value.Went on low season BUT Def would go in the High Season! Thanks Again!!


Such a Wonderful Stay!

5 on January 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn with 2 of our friends to celebrate my husband' 40th b-day. Everything was so wonderful from the delicious breakfasts to the ambience throughout the hotel. The rooms were impeccable and we loved the fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Every night we went downstairs to the beautiful living room where we relaxed by playing cards. Jim gave us the best suggestions and our first trip to Napa really was top notch. As a former Concierge, I highly recommend the Inn on First!


Truly Exceptional

5 on December 29, 2008

Inn on First is truly exceptional. I thought I've stayed at pretty nice B&Bs, but Jim and Jamie's place surpassed my expectations of a B&B. My BF and I needed a weekend getaway, and the Inn hit the spot for us. When we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted with a warm, sincere, and casual welcome. The room we had, First Crush, was perfect - upstairs and with a view of First Street. Although it was not our own bedroom, somehow, we felt right at home. We loved the hot tub, comfy bed and pillows, and bathroom (humongous shower!). True, there's no T.V. so we came prepared - brought a laptop and enjoyed a couple movies over a glass of champagne. We only stayed for one night and it usually takes us a night or two to get used to a new environment, but we had a great and restful sleep at the Inn. And the complimentary items! Lots of them - chocolate, nuts & crackers, champagne, brownies & bon bons, and rhubarb soda (yes, rhubarb and it was tasty). Speaking of food, breakfast was amazing. Fruit salad (not your typical fruits but fresh blackberries, pineapples, nectarines, etc . . .), yogurt, scones, tea, best-tasting orange juice, coffee, and hot breakfast entree of day - pillowy pancakes filled with cream and chocolate ganache topped with macarpone. We're definitely going back to Napa . . . not for the wine tasting.... but to enjoy Inn on First again.


Outstanding!!!!!!

5 on November 24, 2008

The overall experience with Jim and Jamie is outstanding. From fantastic rooms, travel/winery planning, dining experience and personal attention, you could not ask for a better place to stay! Jim's cooking was unbeleivable and they were able to work with any special requests. The grounds and rooms were beautiful and though a little chilly, with their assistance, we were able to use the outside garden for dinner on short notice. Their service was impecable and their personalities enduring. We will consider no other B & B after our experience there!


wonderful experience

4.2 on October 08, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn On First for 2 nights. The experience was simply wonderful. Jamie's so knowledgeable and friendly - great tips on restaurants, wineries, hiking trails all about the valley and etc. Jim's gourmet breakfast is amazing. They are the perfect Innkeepers. The room was large and bed was sooo comfy. Inroom jacuzzi/hot tub. Pleasant and cozy garden. Can't say enough great things about this lovely B&B.


Excellent Napa Town B&B

4.4 on September 29, 2008

Great venue for a stay in oft-overlooked town of Napa. Innkeepers are friendly & knowledgeable about the local and area wineries, restaurants and other diversions and make you feel instantly at home. Terrific breakfasts and pleasant indoor and outdoor common areas to rest up between wining and dining.


Amazing Experinece

4.8 on September 23, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Inn on First in September 2008. Being our first stay at a B&B, we were a little hesitant. However, Jim & Jamie exceeded our expectations in every single way. Our room was amazing, and everything was carefully detailed, down to the toilet paper being folded beaitfully on our arrival. We enjoyed the complimentary champagne while sitting on the terrace outside the large double French doors on our arrival. The food was perfect - my boyfriend ate all the chocolate chip cookies left out for guests, even sneaking in after we got back from dinner to grab more! The double jacuzzi jet tub, the large open bathroom, the huge bed, the gas fireplace. Everything made this the most perfect location for our romantic weekend.


Stay There or Nowhere

5 on August 26, 2008

If gourmet breakfasts (including hot scones and muffins and entrees that wake up your taste buds), recommendations for restaurants that are perfect and the food amazing, the planning of wine tastings that are fabulous and make travelling in the valley easy, and rooms that include jacuzzis and homemade choclates don't grab you, then The Inn on First is not for you...... Stay there or nowhere!


We'll be back...

5 on August 26, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our second stay at The Inn on First. Jim and Jamie were as wonderful as we remembered from our first stay, and the addition of Mercedes provides yet more depth of knowledge about the surrounding area (restaurants, wineries, etc). If you didn't ask Jim or Jamie or Mercedes to help you, you may well have missed some of the best locations in the valley. We will definitely be back again, and recommend The Inn on First very highly.


there's nowhere else,stay here

5 on August 25, 2008

If gourmet breakfasts,featuring hot scones and muffins, and an entree who's invetiveness wakes you up, suggestions for dining that is creativeness extraordinair, and aid in setting up wine tastings that perfect is not enough of a hook, great rooms, with jacuzzis and homemade chocolates should seal the deal. There nowhere else, stay there.


Surprise Trip

5 on August 20, 2008

My Friend and I decided to surprise her husband and plan a couple trip to Napa. After hours of websurfing for the perfect B & B. We booked The Inn on First. It was the best decision! The rooms were wonderful! The house is immulate, but also inviting! And Jim and Jamie were wonderful! They helped us with our dinner reservations, gave us tips on which wineries to visit and were just great to be around. They took there time to speak with us and made us feel very pampered. This was our friends first time at a B & B and I couldn't have asked for anything more. If Jamie and Jim read this I want to say "Thank you!" and we'll be back! Do yourself a favor and stop websurfing this is the best Inn in Napa!


Loved The Inn On First!

4.4 on August 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Inn On First for 2 nights. It was a lovely B&B - spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Jamie was so knowledgeable and helpful - he gave us great tips on which of the 400 Napa vineyards to visit, as well as great restaurants in the vicinity. As for Jim's breakfasts - oh, they were absolutely delicious and "to die for"! Our only regret is that we could not stay longer to enjoy the superbly yummy breakfasts! The Inn is located just a couple of blocks from Napa town centre - very convenient, and just a 10-minute walk away. All in all, we had fun and great memories of Napa. Due to a last-minute change in plans, we had to leave 1 night earlier than originally reserved. Upon check-out, the innkeepers were not in, and we did not expect any refund as it was very last minute. However, to our very pleasant surprise, they sent us an email to inform that they were voluntarily giving us a partial refund because we could not stay the night. That was unexpected and very gracious of them! Thanks, Jim and Jamie! If we ever return to Napa, we'll definitely be back to stay with you guys!


The Perfect Get Away!

4.8 on August 05, 2008

The Inn on First was amazing. Our room was beautiful, impeccably clean and wonderfully quiet. It was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we were truly spoiled. Jim and Jamie were incredible. They helped plan tours and trips and made great restaurant suggestions, as well as making all of our reservations! The breakfasts were a culinary experience to remember. We will definitely recommend "The Inn on First" to our family and friends!


Loved the gardens

4.6 on August 03, 2008

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast, walking distance to all downtown Napa. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing and the food is exceptional. We enjoyed our stay in the "Sweet Reserve" room in the main house. It is the smallest in the Inn but cozy and romantic. We felt comfortable and welcomed by the Innkeepers.


Ahhhh........attention to every detail!

5 on June 21, 2008

Thank you to Theus (Goddess of the Inn), Jim and Jamie for making our stay so wonderful. Incantment (our room) was impeccably decorated, comfortable and inviting. The grounds were beautifully landscaped - we have great pictures of the passionfruit flowers to prove it! But the breakfasts.... ahhh.... the dutch pancakes were to die for, homemade granola, delicious coffee and wonderful hosts. What more could you want?


Loved This Place

5 on June 17, 2008

Jim and Jamie did a great job with out trip. We had a fantastic time up there. They have a lot of energy on making sure that their guests had a great time and are well informed of all the good spots up there. We went here for our two year anniversary. The food was excellent!


Best B&B Ever

4.0 on June 08, 2008

Our only experience in Wine country in the past has been with friends and their favorite spots. Needless to say we had been to a lot of commercial locations and thought that is what Napa was all about. Our stay at the Inn on First brought us to the correct way to enjoy the region. Jim and Jamie are super friendly and are willing to help on all matters, from a referral, to help planning your full day. Also had the greatest wines at small family owned wineries suggested by them. Our room was fantastic and cozy, very comfy and very well put together. If you are a city dweller and want to enjoy what Napa is really about definitely stay here and enjoy the warmth of these 2 hosts. Joaquin and Gina Velez


"Simply the Best"

5 on May 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed for our one year anniversary and brought our dog. Jim and Jaime were GREAT! We instantly felt at home with the warm welcome we received and cute gift bag for our dog. They not only went out of their way for us but our dog as well! They helped in making our first anniversary perfect:)


OUTSTANDING B&B

5 on March 21, 2008

This B&B is one of the finest I have ever stayed in! Jim and Jamie go out of their way to be sure you are enjoying your stay! The food is GREAT. Highly recommended


Wonderful Inn

5 on March 16, 2008

Comfortable and beautifully decorated! The food is outstanding and the Inn Keepers could not be more helpful or knowledgable about Napa, the wineries and the resturaunts. Great location, with easy access to the valley! We will be back!


Warm & Welcoming

4.0 on March 14, 2008

This trip was memorable, mainly because of our hosts' attentiveness, generosity, warmth, and sincerity. We'll never forget The Inn on First. We loved Jim's breakfast, especially the fluffy pancakes, killer homemade scones, and jam! Jamie was personable and went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. The room was uber comfy -- from the complimentary champagne, chocolates and bottled water, the cozy bed and charming fireplace, to the large shower and bathtub. And the ipod jack was a nice touch too! The room was always impeccably clean and we appreciated the eco-friendly options. The Inn has a modern touch that makes it stand out from other B&Bs. Jim and Jamie gave us excellent recommendations (picnic spots, restaurants, wineries) -- they are tapped into, and "in the know" of all things Napa Valley. Recommendations that stood out: The Martini House and Arger-Martucci winery. We can't stop talking about our amazing experience at The Inn on First. It was a welcome reprieve from the stressful bustle of NYC.


Hidden treasure

5 on March 08, 2008

My husband and I had a lovely time at the Inn on First. We loved our room and the warm welcome we received from Jim and Jamie ! They truly made our first visit to Napa a memorable one. Thanks again Jim and Jamie - We can't wait to see you next year !


Best B & B Ever

5 on March 05, 2008

My wife and I have stayed twice at The Inn on First. We have already booked our next visit and plan on visiting twice every year from now on. Jamie and Jim made both of our weekend trips very memorable. They genuinely care that you have the best time of your life. The rooms are great, the landscaping very enjoyable, the food outstanding, and their help in enjoying Napa in invaluable. It's the best place to stay in Napa.


PERFECT PLACE

4.0 on March 03, 2008

Everything, absolutely everything was perfect. From the first step into the beautiful home, a warm greeting from Jamie and Jim, a colorful cozy perfect bedroom. My husband and I live in Napa, we have stayed in several B&B's here, I truely can put this home at the top of our list. I loved EVERYTHING about the home and the innkeepers. Thanks Jim & Jamie, keep up the excellent service & thanks for sharing your home with everyone.


Fabulous

5 on March 01, 2008

What a gem! The owners were wonderful, the room was beautiful, the food amazing. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend The Inn on First!


Loved it

5 on February 25, 2008

Highly recommend the inn on first. Very nice inn keepers. Great breakfast. Nice room.


Would definitely recommend

4.8 on February 20, 2008

Essentially every aspect of this inn is top-notch, the attention to detail really shows. Nothing but good things to say about it.


The breakfast delicious, the hosts wonderful!

5 on February 20, 2008

It was our first stay at any Bed and Breakfast, Jim & Jamie were so welcoming and their place looked great. I picked it online because, compared to other B&B's I especially was drawn to the more contempery look of the rooms, not your typical "teddy bears and lace" some would say. I love how accommodating they were for pet owners too. Lots of gated area for dogs to be in the garden, doggie bath and doggie shampoo. The room was even nicer in person, the hot tub and fireplace, so relaxing. I can't say enough of the food, do not skimp on the cookies, granola, home made jelly, yummy scones actually everything they made was home-made. The breakfast, well was so good, I ate some of my boyfriend's. I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from the city for some quiet, yet luxurious rooms and great hosts.


Destination of Beauty

5 on February 13, 2008

Everything was amazing. Room was luxurious, Food was exquisite, Hosts were marvelous. There is no doubt that we will want to relive the experience again and again. Thank you.


The perfect oasis

4.0 on November 27, 2007

The Inn on First is a wonderful boutique bed and breakfast providing an elegant oasis just a short stroll from downtown Napa’s restaurants, shopping and tasting rooms. If you are looking for a romantic bed and breakfast or just a relaxing weekend the Inn of First is the perfect sanctuary to rebalance your mind, body and spirit. The proprietors, Jim and Jamie and warm knowledge individuals who spend time with each guest to make sure all of their travel needs are met—from securing last minute dinner restaurant reservations to arranging tasting appointments at Napa Valley’s best wineries. Their suggestions for dinner reservations as well as tasting rooms to visit were exceptional. One of the highlights of our stay was eating the incredible breakfasts Jim made each morning. His cooking is truly outstanding. The Inn of First is fantastic and I look forward to returning in the near future.


The Perfect Napa Experience

5 on November 24, 2007

The Inn on First is a perfect B&B to stop in for a night or to stay for a week. The inn keepers, Jim & Jamie, are the real hidden treasures in the Napa Valley region. Jamie provided thoughtful recommendations for us each morning in regards to our own travel plans. At breakfast he listened attentively to the needs of two different couples and one large group of four and provided customized recommendations for them as well. Jim & Jamie went above and beyond for all their guests in regards to booking restaurant reservations, spa accomodations and touring services. We all commented during breakfast time that they were an invaluable asset to making our trips to the Napa Valley unforgettable. We would highly recommend staying in the garden suites that have the jet spa bathtubs and access to the patio on the second story. The rooms are very spacious in the garden suites and it felt wonderful to have the patio doors open to let in fresh air while relaxing in the jet spa bathtubs. The peace & serenity of the outside garden area was perfect for reading by yourself or conversating with others. Your taste buds will thank you for treating them to the gourmet breakfast that Jim serves prior to you heading out for the day. The food (all organic products) is exceptional and we loved having access to homemade bakery goods all day long. The service is unquestionably the most accomodating and friendly we have encountered in our travels along the California coastline. We have since recommended the Inn on First to family members, friends & loved ones. Thank you to Jim & Jamie for being our standard of excellence for B&B's in Napa Valley region (and beyond).


Top Notch B&B

4.8 on November 03, 2007

The Inn on First is amazing! We chose this fine establishment because of the reviews written on TripAdvisor and similar travel sites, and we can honestly say this B&B lived up to every word and more! We stayed in First Crush located in the main house, and it was perfect. The attention to detail was impeccable as were the hosts. In fact, Jamie and Jim (the inn keepers) went out of their way to make our first visit to Napa a memorable one by helping plan our days, providing delicious breakfasts (and baked goods). On our last day, my wife and I had to get up at 6am to leave for the airport, and J&J packed us a bunch of goodies so we wouldn’t go hungry that morning. I definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.


Look no further!

5 on October 17, 2007

We only had two nights at the Inn On First after spending the first two nights of our mini break in San Fran, we left wishing we had spent the whole four nights with Jim and Jamie. Our room, the Meritage was simply fabulous, so peaceful and beautifully decorated. Jim and Jamie were perfect hosts, from recommendations of wineries and restaurants to their truly amazing hospitality, the breakfasts are exquisite!! The setting and the overall ambiance is just perfect, beautiful gardens and house is so very welcoming. We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay next time and anyone looking for a perfect retreat in Napa should look no further, this is the only place to stay! Thank you Jim and Jamie, memories are made of this. Mike and Jen


Thank you Jim and Jamie!

5 on October 09, 2007

Beautiful rooms - all with whirlpool tubs and a private bath. It was cozy and the innkeepers were more than willing to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. Wonderful breakfast. It was our first B&B and because of the wonderful room, I would be glad to do it again.


5-Star B&B

5 on September 29, 2007

The Inn on First, previously the Daughter's Inn, is a B&B you will not forget. Innkeepers Jim Gunther and Jamie Cherry are wonderful hosts. The rooms at the Inn are warm, the garden beautiful and Jim's breakfast creations are incredible. If you are planning a trip to the Napa Valley don't miss the opportunity to stay at The Inn on First.


Amazing

5 on September 22, 2007

Our stay was amazing at this B&B. We couldn't have asked for a better place. The innkeepers Jim and Jaime are great and know their stuff. The room was awesome and so clean. The food is absolutely wonderful. We will be back and would highly recommend this place for anyone.


Pure bliss

5 on September 15, 2007

Having travelled from the U.K. and visiting California for the first time (though not the first time to the US.)we chanced upon the Daughters Inn in August 2007. We must have a fairy godmother, because what we found was pure bliss. Jim & Jamie were the perfect hosts. We were in heaven. We stayed in the Canterbury Bell room, and words would fail to describe it adequately. The cleanliness, decor, serenity and food was fantastic. We have advised our friends here in the U.K. of what we consider to be one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in, and we have travelled to most continents. The two inn keepers must surely be contenders for the inn keeper of the decade award.We will return. Dave & Helen Hopkins


Daughter's Inn

5 on September 04, 2007

Our visit to the Daughter's Inn in Napa was fabulous! Jim and Jamie are such warm and gracious hosts. The Inn is beautiful, romantic, and cozy. Our stay in the Canterbury Bell Room was just perfect. The attention to detail is beyond compare - really and truly. Jim serves the YUMMIEST breakfasts and treats. Jamie's pink vest at breakfast is very fun. He should always wear it! A stay at the Daughter's Inn is lovely. You will not be disappointed.


Absolutely Fabulous

5 on August 24, 2007

We conducted a company officers' retreat at The Daughter's Inn. Jim and Jamie made sure that all of our business needs were accommodated and that we were comfortable in our rooms. They went the extra mile to make our stay not just productive, but relaxing and wonderful. We can't wait to go back!


Paradise in Napa

5 on August 22, 2007

August 2007 From the greeting on, our stay at the Inn was simply superb. The attention to detail in every aspect was top-notch. The Geranium room was exquisitely comfy and our hosts, Jim & Jamie, were so gracious and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast each morning was delectable and a great way to start the daily wine tasting jaunts. Thanks for a wonderful stay.


We loved everything!

5 on July 12, 2007

Everything was wonderful. The house was beautiful and our room was more than we could have asked for! Jim and Jamie helped us with planning and were just generally pleasant to be around. Breakfast was always delicious and unique. We would definitely love to return to the Daughter's Inn.


A Wonderful Inn

5 on July 11, 2007

Our stay at this Inn was just wonderful. The room was comfortable, clean, cheery. the full breakfasts were just yummy! Jamie and Jim, the innkeepers are the best. Friendly, helpful, made our visit all the better. I highly recommend this inn to anyone planning a visit to the Napa valley area.


Wonderful B&B in Napa

5 on July 10, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Daughter's Inn. Our room, Fuchsia, was large, warm and impecable. Jim's breakfasts in their lovely yard were delightful and their company charming. We'll definitely be back.


a great B&B

5 on July 08, 2007

the daughters inn was fantastic. my wife and i just celebrated our 1 year anniverary there, and had a great weekend. the room was clean and nice, the breakfasts tasty, and there was plenty of great advice about where to go in Napa. we will definetly be going back.


We will return!

5 on June 29, 2007

Jim and Jaime are exceptional hosts! The Best. They will go out of their way to accomodate and answers any questions. The room we stayed in was wonderful, clean, cozy, romantic. I wanted to stay longer. We will stay here again, and again. Thanks Jim and Jaime your were great!


Perfect Getaway

5 on June 19, 2007

My husband and I had the privelege to stay at the Daughter's Inn to celebrate our birthdays. We had never stayed at a B & B before, but can only say that we can't imagine staying anywhere better. Jim and Jamie were so kind, hospitable and knowledgeable. Their attention to detail was impeccable and made our first B & B experience a wonderful one. I can't wait to come back.


Comfort & excellence

5 on May 21, 2007

This Inn was the very best B&B I have ever stayed at. The attention, the details, the perfection were elegantly displayed, however the Beazley's were so warm I forgot it was a business. The hospitality was overwhelming - not because they wanted us to feel that way, but because that's the way it was.


Excellent B&B

5 on May 15, 2007

My wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary in the Napa Valley and were guest at the Daughters Inn. Be prepared for a experience of a lifetime. The straff is helpful,warm,and very knowledgeable of a persons needs. We are returning in Sept. this year and will be staying at the Daughters Inn. All we can say is "Wonderful"


Fabulous!

5 on April 16, 2007

I recommend this to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. The staff is so warm, welcoming, and helpful. A beautiful home with special attention to every detail. Great location.


The Inn on First

Details

  • Nightly Rate $199 - $425
  • Reviews (120) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7072531331

Visit Website »

View details

Top