Rio Villa Beach Resort Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
101 Reviews

Write A Review

Montreal TNT Tri Team

3.8 on July 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Rio Villa and Karen was soooooooo helpful!!!


Excellent place to spend a few relaxing days

4.0 on July 26, 2014

We picked this place because we wanted to stay on the Russian River near the coast for a two night getaway. We were really pleased with our stay there. The new owner, Karen (and Owen) was extremely gracious and helpful. We arrived a few minutes before normal check-in time and our room was not ready (the previous guest departed late) so Karen brought us several glasses of wine and suggested we sit on the patio or lawn and relax. The room was somewhat dated in terms of decor, but was very delightful and charming. Everything was very clean and extremely well maintained. We had suite #5, a two room suite with a bedroom and living room. The bathroom was very small, but well equipped,and clean. Even though the facility is close to the main road, to our surprise it was very quiet in the room. The grounds are very pleasant, with a large lawn (with chairs) overlooking the Russian River. Several large patio areas are adjacent to the buildings and also overlook the river. There is access to the Monte Rio public beach and water equipment rental facility. The continental breakfast is fairly limited in choices, but was very delicious. This is a great place to go to for a peaceful and relaxing getaway. This was our first time here, but is now on our list of favorite places. We will definitely be back! Thank you Karen and Owen.


Very special place!

4.6 on July 17, 2014

We have been staying at the Rio Villa for many years and it always continues to surprise us with its intimacy and facilities. There are lots of places to stay in this area and we have tried most of them. But Rio Villa is different. It's location, access to the river, grounds, views and facilities set it apart from every other place. We were a bit worried this summer when we heard that there were going to be new owners but after being there and experiencing the almost seamless handover, we are more excited about what lies ahead. Thank you to everyone for making our annual respite as joyful as always.


Room # 3 at Rio Villa

4.2 on June 06, 2014

This is our favorite place to stay! We get out here 1-2 times a year and stay for 2 nights when we play golf and I would not stay anywhere else. Yes, the rooms may be dated and the bathroom small but we enjoy our one bedroom cottage. To us it's very homey. The grounds are lovely and quiet and we always enjoy a glass of wine sitting by the water in the love seat rocking back and forth. The view is beautiful and though simple but adequate, we always enjoy the breakfast. Ron is so friendly and talkative. He visits with us while we eat and recommends places for us to have dinner. His suggestions are always wonderful! We hope to get back there in October. Dale and Gina - Martinez Ca


Great location on the River near the Coast

4.0 on June 01, 2014

Ron is a great guy and runs a fine establishment. Yard, patio, grills, outside kitchen, dog friendly. On the River next to the beach. Sit back, relax and have fun.


Great Getaway!

3.8 on May 28, 2014

Perfect spot for enjoying the Russian River experience without the bustle of Guerneville but with all the amenities. Great people too. Will definitely be back.


Beautiful relaxing Resort

4.4 on May 07, 2014

I picked this place by searching for B&B's in Sonoma county. Looking for something relaxing to treat my girlfriend to after her first 200k bike ride.I was not disappointed with anything! We stayed in the Deluxe River view balcony room. We hung out in the comfy chairs after enjoying the jacuzzi bath. Had breakfast on the balcony & walked down to the river. I will plan on spending more time here soon!


Fantastic time at the Rio with my family

4.6 on April 21, 2014

This is the best deal in the area. clean rooms, Great people running the place and being on the river was really nice to sit out and have our morning coffee! I have stayed here before but the folks that are now running the place have it in great shape and they are so nice and helpful. Supper time playing golf at the Northwood's and spending time with my wife and 31 year old son was priceless!!


MONTE RIO GETAWAY

5 on April 18, 2014

When we visit the Monte Rio area, we always stay at the Rio Vista Beach Resort.


Peaceful repose at Rio Villa Beach Resort

5 on April 02, 2014

The rooms have all of the amenities, very comfortable and clean and really close to the Ocean. Reasonable rates and very friendly service. The Villa has beautifully kept grounds with a place to relax with a glass of wine, or have a family bbq, right on the Russian River. We will definitely stay again!


Great resort by the river!

5 on March 26, 2014

When we arrived, we were greeted with very friendly service! I really loved the place, very quaint and you can't beat the location. Its great for a weekend getaway or for a summer vacation (and we plan to come back during the summer). The breakfast was delicious too! The only slight downside is that the walls are pretty thin. We could hear the person in the room next to us snoring but was not a big deal.


Great Weekend

4.6 on March 15, 2014

Charming Rooms, amazing grounds, owners/hosts could not be nicer.


One of my favorites

4.6 on March 12, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to the Rio for 8 or 9 years now. We love it for many reasons, I’ll start with the inn keeper Ron. He’s as friendly and helpful as anyone you’ll ever meet. We love the location right next to the Russian river. You’re very close to local wineries, and 10-15 minutes from the coast. It’s beautifully landscaped, take a chair on the lawn and watch the river roll by. Maybe our favorite feature is the outdoor patio with a fireplace. With surrounding tables and bbq’s , it’s a great place to hang out with a glass of wine in the evening and meet some fellow travelers. There is a covered outdoor area with a bar, sink and tables for eating your dinner. They do host weddings here, and for a group of 100 and under this would be a great spot. They serve a decent breakfast with bagels, cereal and muffin type things. Or other restaurants are just minutes away. Get up early with a cup of coffee and watch the fog roll up the river, just beautiful. If you visit in the summer they rent canoes right next door, very convenient. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. You can’t go wrong staying here!


Nice People

3.4 on February 24, 2014

I've visited Rio Villa Beach Resort at least 4 times previously. The best and most winning feature of this property are the owners. You couldn't receive better service and they could not be more kind. They look out for you and make recommendations for the other amenities in the area. The only downside is that for about $125 per night, I feel the rooms need to be updated. You can keep the cozy and shabby chic feel with new televisions and bedding. Overall it was a nice stay.


Wonderful Time

5 on February 20, 2014

Very cute quaint rooms, very clean and helpful staff. Will go back again!


Always peaceful and relaxing

4.2 on February 10, 2014

We love it so much we brought our mother this time to share in the experience. She too is hooked. Rio Villa Resort is a favorite. We love the evening when the lights shine on the Russian River and the early morning in January in the swing with a nice hot cup of coffee. Cannot say enough about our stay and the area.


Great place for a last minute getaway!

3.8 on January 22, 2014

We booked a same day reservation for one night in January without any trouble. The room was simple, clean and had everything we needed (except hair conditioner). It was very dog and kid friendly and the host was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are attached with an exterior entrance. Looks like it'd be even better in the Summer. Great location, nice river views. Hard to get much closer to the river.


Nice Russian River motel for a winter visit

4.0 on January 09, 2014

We spent two nights at the Rio Villa Beach Resort over Christmas. We stayed in Room #7 which was a modest, relatively small, clean and simply furnished motel-style room with a comfortable king bed and two very nice easy chairs for reading. There were very few other guests and it was wonderfully quiet (which we wanted.) The "continental breakfast" was very simple but had all the basics (coffee, tea, cold cereals, instant oatmeal packages, a couple of breads selection, bagels and a fresh banana and/or poppy seed loaf.) The service was very good, very responsive and non-intrusive. We spent the two days bicycling and this was a good base to head out from (many of the nicer bicycling roads are easily accessible directly from Monte Rio.) The gardens and decks were lovely though closed down for the winter. I wouldn't want to stay here in the summer (way, way too noisy - they even have ear plugs in the rooms because of the noise) but it was just fine for a winter visit to the Russian River area with a good price, adequate clean room and quiet surroundings. This is a motel located directly on the main highway, and while the rooms sit back a bit, they would experience the noise of heavy traffic in busier months. It is also 4 miles from Guerneville, which is perfect if you want something quieter. This is a fine motel for off-season visiting and we will stay here again.


Our favorite getaway

4.4 on December 30, 2013

We have stayed at Rio Villa many times over the last ten years and consider it a home-away-from-home. Ron is a gracious host, the location is ideal, and the ambience is delightful


wonderful weekend

4.2 on December 25, 2013

Very clean nicely located place to stay.


Finally spent a night at the Rio Villa Beach Resort

5 on December 11, 2013

I have driven by the Rio Villa literally hundreds of times and not once have I ever stayed there. I finally booked a weekend night with them the weekend before Thanksgiving and was thoroughly impressed! Upon check-in, Ron was extremely friendly and welcoming. The place looks kinda like a roadside motel, but the room was very clean, warm, and comfortable. We've stayed in the area many times before and some places are very dated, but not the case with Rio Villa, the room was very modern. Ron was extremely accommodating and wanted to make sure that my wife and newborn son were comfortable and taken care of. The facilities were excellent; they're right on the river and everything was very well maintained. We were very happy to find this local gem and look forward to our next visit! Darin (We didn't use there dining facilities; I'm not sure they had one. But the website required a review so...)


RioVilla 2013

4.6 on November 13, 2013

This Rio Villa is a very cozy, clean place, close to the ocean, close to shops, close to good eating, we have stayed here many times over the past 20 years and its always been a really great experience, Very relaxing and romantic


Rio Villa

5 on November 10, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Rio Villa. The owners were wonderful and attentive. We would definitely go back again!


Friends Wedding weekend

3.8 on November 03, 2013

Peaceful place to relax and gather with friends- awesome outside fire place


Tranquil and dog friendly

4.4 on October 27, 2013

This is our favorite hideaway. Very beautiful, tranquil and the Innkeepers are wonderful. Our dog loves staying here as she gets to play Frisbee and swim all she wants. A++++++


relaxing weekend

3.6 on September 23, 2013

Our second weekend getaway at Rio Villa. We love the garden and beach, and friendly service. Had a very relaxing weekend. We'll be back. Thank you!


Relax and Enjoy it!

3.8 on September 16, 2013

This is a great place if you want to get away from teh city (or the UK!) and relax in a quieter part of the world. Still lots to do nearby and Ron and his staff are very helpful. Try this place, enjoy the river and the movie collection, visit the wineries and trees, get yourself back in balance. Aldeiy Alderson


Girls Get Away

3.4 on September 10, 2013

While my husband was camping on Angel Island my BFF & I took the time to do a GGA! We booked room 10 the 2 bdrm, and we were both very pleased with the room amenities. We loved the location as we had a lovely view from our balcony of the garden & river. We brought our own inflatable kayaks which we launched right there at our private beach. We felt very safe leaving our bag of towels & stuff there while we kayaked up river. Ron was very helpful in allowing us to store the kayaks on the lawns overnight, so we could easily go out the next morning for another few hours. We bought a few items for dinner to barbecue and had a great time cooking on the patio, drinking wine and sitting by the outdoor fireplace while have fun conversations with a lovely couple we met who were visiting from Portland. this was my first time staying at Rio Villa, but it won't be the last. I am trying to plan a trip with my husband soon. DRT


Great Place!

5 on September 05, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay on the river, this is it. The rooms are rustic and not at all fancy - and they aren't trying to be. So as long as you understand that going into it, you will love this place. Great river access, beautiful setting, friendly innkeepers. This is a great place to kick it old school. I'd definitely go again. (I rated the rooms a five star only because it isn't fair to judge them against five star resorts- they are not trying to be that- this is an old fashioned river resort- but they are clean. I rated the dining five star, but there really is not dining but there is no "n/a" category.)


Rio Villa Beach Resort

4.2 on August 23, 2013

My husband and I chose this location as a base to do some road bike trips around the Sonoma area for several days. It was well located. Ron, our host, did a great job making sure our needs were looked after. He recommended many wonderful restaurants around the area. We had a great stay. No hesitation recommending this location.


Second stay here, we're making it a summer habit!

4.4 on August 17, 2013

It's a great location, has an accessible beach and is right next to the Monte Rio public beach where you can rent kayaks etc. Lots of tables, public areas to eat out and socialize. A great place for families or groups of friends.


Room 8

3.4 on July 31, 2013

The property is gorgeous, I really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and looking out to the river. The room had everything we could need, we enjoyed our stay very much.


A slice of heaven on the river

3.4 on July 16, 2013

Our stay was wonderful at the Rio Villa on the river. The rooms have been remodeled since our last stay some time back. Comfortable with updated bathrooms and the normal amenities--microwave & fridge in room was nice. We really didn't want to leave the premises. The rolling lawn and gardens are a wonderful way to spend a few days in the hot summer. Very friendly place.


Rio villas rocks!!!

4.6 on July 15, 2013

My family and I have been staying at the real villas for four years and keep finding ourselves coming back due to Ron's friendliness,the premier location and beautifully Grounds. The property is perfectly set-up for family fun both on land and in the water. the river is very accessible for my four-year-old son and there's ample private seating for all B&B guests. The location of the DMV is also key. Close to the Monte Reel beach, stores, restaurants etc. We will be back!!!


Wonderful spot overlooking the river

5 on June 29, 2013

After a very long day of traveling in the fog it was wonderful to be greeted by Ron and shown to our charming room overlooking the river with an electric fireplace that added a very nice touch. The continental breakfast the next morning was very good, fresh and had a number of choices. We were made to feel very welcome and will certainly return again when possible.


Our home away from home

4.4 on April 29, 2013

love to stay at this place - often do - always take new people to introduce the wonderfulness of the Rio Villa Resort


What a Pleasure!

5 on April 26, 2013

This is truly a unique place to stay on the Russian River. The owners Ron and Bruce, have created such a peaceful and relaxing little utopia, and provide excellent service and accommodations. We spent 4 nights 5 days in the Family Garden Studio, using the kitchen to prepare many meals which we ate just outside the room, while overlooking the river and the beautiful grounds. The place is perfectly located just 15 minutes from Goat Rock Beach, kayaking with Water Treks in Jenner, dining up the coast, or just minutes from dining in Guerneville and Occidental. After our bike rides, I took the perfect nap under their willow tree down on the river, to the sound of trickling fountains. The spa bathtub in the room was the perfect way to end the day. We're looking forward to our next stay! Thanks Ron and Bruce!


Well Done

4.0 on April 08, 2013

What a fantastic place. From the friendly staff, to the beautiful, well maintained grounds, this made for a delightful stay. Can't wait to come back again.


Relaxing and unexpected!

4.2 on April 01, 2013

would definitely come back again


Rio Villa Beach Resort

5 on November 27, 2012

Absolutely wonderful getaway. Charming, clean and the owners are very hospitable.


Our slice of Heaven on Earth

4.8 on November 07, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at the Rio Villa Beach Resort. Ron always treats us like family and it has become a second home when we wish to escape from the hustle and bustle of San Francisco. The rooms are very comfortable and the view overlooking the Russian River against the Redwood is beyond description. Some nights we just love sitting on our balcony, sipping wine and staring up at all the stars. To us the Rio Villa Beach Resort is Heaven on Earth.


Awesome Weekend

4.8 on November 07, 2012

Last minute get a way received a discount on both nights. It is very peaceful there. Can't hear other guests. Got room #12 which is a suite. Lots of room, kitchenette, eating area. Picnic tables and chairs right outside the door. Very private. The grounds are beautiful and there is more seating all around with the river right there. Ron is very sweet. We will definitely be back.


Great place in a beautiful spot!

4.8 on October 27, 2012

Rio Villa is just a great place to stay. Clean, friendly, and relaxed, it is located in a beautiful setting and takes advantage of its great location with a great outdoor area of gardens, tables, BBQ area, and a private beach along the river. This was one of my favorite places I've ever stayed, and I can say with confidence that you won't find a better value for the money, nor a more relaxing atmosphere. For evening dining options, the nearby highly rated Village Inn is open several days a week, otherwise it may be necessary to travel a few miles upriver or over to Occidental. Fern's grocery just down the street does sandwiches and pizza slices, or Bartlett's across the river has a more comprehensive grocery supply as well as a deli. Just up the road towards Guernwood, the Northwood resort has a restaurant and bar, which seems to be popular with the locals. All in all, my visit was an excellent experience, and I highly recommend staying here (just as long as they have room for me next time I'm in the area).


October 3-5 2012

4.6 on October 09, 2012

Beautiful property, relaxing atmosphere and very helpful hosts! Thanks


Beautiful Property

4.4 on October 08, 2012

This is a homey spot on the river with a great view. We enjoyed our large comfortable room with a full kitchen. We will definitely be coming back.


My Russian River Jazz Festival Stay

3.8 on October 07, 2012

The proprietors were so nice. Had a great time. would definitely stay there again.


Great place by the river

4.6 on September 04, 2012

This is a wonderful place right next to the River. The gardens are just beautiful and my son had such a great time playing in the river and our family relaxing in the lovely outdoors. The owners are very gracious and helpful. The room was well equip with a frig, coffee maker, tv's, video players, etc... My only suggestion would be more sound-proofing between the rooms. We could hear our neighbors talking too well.


Did'nt want to leave!!

4.2 on August 20, 2012

This august I reserved two nights at the Rio Villa. I reserved #7 balcony room. It's wonderfully cozy for a couple and was very pleased with it. This is an older property with pride in the ownership. The grounds are beautiful with the guests outdoor enjoyment fully assured. The room was very clean, loved that! We kayaked down the lazy russian river which is the front yard of this inn. A short walk down a path leads you to the rentals. A special thanks to Ron for a memorable stay. Going back next summer and bringing family. Thank you, Kathleen and Michael


Charming & Beautiful resort!

4.4 on August 12, 2012

I love coming to Rio Villa whether it be with my two daughters or just with my husband. The private lawn beach w/andirondeck chairs and a picnic table great for relaxing while watching the river float past or going for a swim. I personally love that you can walk thru a private lawn area to the public beach and rent kayaks, canoes & floatys. The owners are so nice & helpful and they keep the property amazingly lush with flowering plants and the huge willow tree that is at the edge of the river. Amazing price for a small two bedroom considering the calm you'll feel as you leave what I call my "Emerald Dream." This is a place to connect with nature.


fantastic, right on the river!!

4.4 on August 08, 2012

A great find-small number of rooms, great service and beautiful property.


A Pleasant Stay

4.0 on August 04, 2012

The location and the quality of the grounds made the Rio Villa Beach Resort exceptional. The bedroom and bath are small but we knew that from reading reviews before we arrived. We made our reservation late and the better room were already booked. The quiet and serenity promoted by the inn keepers was appreciated.


Relaxing with a view.

5 on July 30, 2012

This resort is in a beautiful location. I especially loved the patio area and fireplace that we used at night to chat and drink wine. The private lawn area and picnic table was also a wonderful bonus.


Rio Villa Rules

5 on July 25, 2012

We just stayed at Rio Villa for our 7th annual trip, and love this place, and can recommend without hesitation this spot for anyone looking for a beautiful, clean and relaxing spot for their Russian River travels. The gardens are beautiful, nice easy access to the river, and very accommodating for families.


Very nice

4.4 on July 08, 2012

Good place to stay. Short drive to the ocean and redwoods. Very scenic. Only bad was the cell reception only because of the slow and often spotty wifi at the room


Wonderful place to stay

3.6 on May 23, 2012

The room was very comfortable & quiet. The service was outstanding . The reesort property was beautifully landscaped & had wonderful ammenties such as a swing, firepit, beautiful view, beach, lawn & landscaping.


1 night stay

3.6 on May 18, 2012

breakfast could have been more interesting and varied. only a bowl of grapes for fruit, and a small selection of bread.


This is truly our little secret "heaven on earth!

4.8 on May 13, 2012

When we wish to escape form the city for a weekend this Inn is a hidden gem along a one of the most scenic drives from the city. Our stress is literally swept by sheer beauty of the Redwoods against the nearby Russian River. Ron, the Inn Keeper, always warmly welcomes us back with his beaming smile and hosptiality. Waking up with a delicious cup of coffee on the deck watching the fog in the tree tops rolls past along the river makes one's cares seem so far away. It's truly our little secret "heaven on earth"!


NORTHERN HIDAWAY

5 on May 06, 2012

Fabulous place..need some me time or family time..this is the place. nice grounds, the rooms are wonderful, the wine tasting in the area is a blast The is a gret wine shop across the street if you do not want to do anything but R and R Sophie Cellers is the place to go. Folks, it does not get much better then the Rio Villa Beach Resort...in my book...who needs Napa when you have the Russian River area to explore.


Our new favorite getaway!

4.4 on May 02, 2012

Thank you Ron for a wonderful stay. Yuo are an excellent host. It was our 10th anniversary and we felt like we were in someone's home. The view is fantastic, your garden is beautiful and there are a lot of quiet places to sit and enjoy. We even came back one evening to find a fire in the pit for us to enjoy. Excellent coffee and continental breakfast in the morning and very good nearby reastaurants. We will be back soon!


Great place to stay

3.6 on April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the Russian River. The room and grounds are immaculately maintained. Great patio with an outdoor fireplace, lovely garden areas. There is obviously a lot of personal love invested in this B&B. Ronnie was so helpful. We would come back and stay here again in an instant.


Great

5 on April 25, 2012

I think the bed and the pillows should be changed or new ones purchase more often for a more firm and fluffy feel.


Wonderful for couples or families

5 on April 23, 2012

I highly recommend the low key and personal Rio Villa Beach Resort, which afforded us a wonderful long Easter Weekend. Beautiful setting, clean rooms, nice staff. I rated "dining" 5 star because we had a nice and clean kitchenette. We were very satisfied.


Where locals meet locals!

4.0 on April 17, 2012

It was at the end of the low season, so the place and the area were quiet, but intimacy - a wonderful place to spend a spring-break week end. I am from the Bay Area and guess what! - other guests are from the Bay Area, too. The place is about one-hour drive from San Francisco. The owner is very pleasant to know. The place is clean and well-equipped. The little town, Monte Rio, is lovely and close to the ocean, the scenic highway, the Armstrong Redwood Park, to name a few. Very convenient. I recommend the place for a budget stay on a budget trip.


Darling little resort!

4.0 on February 23, 2012

Clean, bright and comfy! beautiful grounds and nice view of the Russian River. We will go back!


We love Rio Villa!

4.0 on January 23, 2012

The room was lovely, very clean, very private.The private balcony overlooking the river and gardens was even better, the two person jacuzzi tub didn't hurt either! So romantic! Our room had a little sink, microwave, fridge and cupboards full of everything you need for a picnic on the balcony. We brought wine from Napa-luckily there were wine glasses and a wine bottle opener in our room. Really convenient!


Great getaway, clean and comfortable

3.8 on January 04, 2012

I've stayed here off and on for almost 20 years, and the current owners have really fixed it up nicely. Not the Ritz, but I sleep better here than I do at the Ritz. It's basically a set of paired cabins (which does increase noise levels at times), with comfortable beds, good heated water pressure, and a decent common area right on the river. The road can. E a little noisy but that's about the worst of it. Walking distance to a couple convenience stores and Monte Rio "downtown" it's a home away from home. The continental breakfast is a little beyond basic and a nice start to the morning. Checkout is 11, you'll wish it were noon so you can relax a little more before heading on with your day. Overall, a nice getaway destination, especially compared with some of the other motels in the area that are much less clean and maintained.


Great stay!!

4.2 on December 11, 2011

We had good times at Rio ville,the rooms were good and comfy and beyond expectations for the price paid..


a gem

5 on December 11, 2011

a great site to venture out to the entire russian river area...


Great spot!!!

4.6 on December 10, 2011

Truly outstanding hospitality in a wonderful location on the Russian River!


Lovely & clean room

4.2 on November 27, 2011

Our room was in a corner, away from the road, and very quiet. The view from the room towards the river was very green & lovely. The large, two person, jacuzzi tub was wonderfully relaxing.


Great staff. Very quiet and relaxing. Great views of Russian River

4.0 on November 02, 2011

We recommend river view balcony rooms. Lots to do in the area, or do nothing...depends on you.


Rio Villa Beach Resort

4.0 on October 20, 2011

We stayed in October & ended up staying the ONLY 3 days it has rained in months. The rooms were actually nicer than what I expected from their website. We stayed inside a lot because of the rain but the grounds were really nice as well. The owner told us drives to take & helped us to find restaurants in the area as well. Great time, of course it stopped raining the day we left, but we had a relaxing stay.


Would return any time

4.6 on September 29, 2011

Landscaping and river views provide an immediate feeling of relaxation. We were there mid-week after Labor Day for an extra uncrowded atmosphere. Appreciate the opportunity to stay for just one night, but we will return and stay longer when possible.


A nice, relaxing place

3.6 on September 13, 2011

This was a great place to gather with friends. Rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The highlight is the beautifully landscaped back yard, which is on the river. It had plenty of room to gather, and a nice fireplace. The only negatives: the walls are thin, so take your ear plugs if you're a light sleeper; also, the manager was a bit grumpy, but it may have been a busy weekend for him.


Rio Villa serenity

3.8 on September 12, 2011

We loved it. It was peaceful and quiet as we lounged on the swing and on the lawn chairs watching the river and wildlife. They have all the conveniences needed if you want to BBQ as well as a stove etc. in the common area. A fire pit for evening relaxation. My kind of place! The continental breakfast is fairly limited.


Dr. Judy and Andy's R&R in Monte Rio

3.8 on August 21, 2011

Thank you Ron for making our stay at Rio Villa feel like we were visiting family. The grounds are so charming and the location was perfect for canoeing, hiking in Armstrong Woods and walking on the Beach near Jenner. Our room (12) was rustic but served our needs. Loved the jacuzzi tub after grueling workouts. The full kitchen was wonderful so we didn't have to go out to dinner every night. It was a perfect destination for celebrating my daughter's completion of her Masters degree. Now she is ready to find a Job!


Rio Villas

3.0 on August 18, 2011

The grounds are exceptionally beautiful and serene. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The only thing I have negative to say is that the walls are extremely thin. We had an issue with a neighbor snoring. I thought it was just that our neighbor snored extremely loud, but when I got home an acquaintance of mine said she had stayed there too and loved it but commented that the walls were really thin and her neighbor snored!! I will say the owner/manager was willing to move us, offered a discount and brought us ear plugs. You can't ask for better service than that!


loved, loved my stay... warm, relaxing wonderfulstay

4.8 on August 14, 2011

great stay, owners were great and so accomodating. the room had eat-in kitchens, and safeway right down the road. I would recommend for just a relaxing, get-away-from the grind stay.


Love this place like chips love salsa

4.6 on August 12, 2011

Such a warm welcome! The innkeeper was very attentive and friendly, yet not pushy or invasive. A wonderful stay. Beautiful in every way. The beds do not look very comfortable at first glance, but they are! A great night's sleep in a fantastic location. We will recommend this place to others. And we will return.


Rio Villa resort a great place to get away

4.0 on July 24, 2011

Been comming here for 8 summers now and we love it. The grounds are well maintained the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and the view is breathtaking. Do yourself a favor and visit the Rio Villa beach resort, you won't be disappointed


Would not stay here again

2.8 on July 21, 2011

We stayed with three other families during the recent Vineman race. I thought the property was beautiful and a great place for the 6 kids we had between us to play and have a good time as well. However, because of the rude way we were told that the kids' screaming had to stop, I would not stay here again. Kids are kids and they were having a good time. 9 AM is a perfectly good time for kids to be out playing and talking in a parking lot and they were being supervised. Most people are also up at that hour. 9 PM is not too late for kids to be out playing and having fun on a big lawn in the summertime with their parents nearby. A nice evening after the Vineman race with friends, enjoying perfect weather on a beautiful property was ruined by us being told that our kids had to stop screaming. They were not. If you have kids, I wouldn't bring them here which is why I would not stay here again. Regarding, the cleanliness of the facility, the shades need to be wiped down, they are covered in dust.


Had a WONDERFUL time!!

5 on July 19, 2011

This is a darling spot on the Russian River!! Can't WAIT to go back!!


Civilized in the wilderness

4.0 on July 15, 2011

and should you drink everything before you get back from the wineries, there's a great wine & cheese shop across the road


Mid week getaway

3.4 on July 02, 2011

We stayed at Rio Villa for 2 nights mid week with our 2 years old daughter. The resort itself is fantastic; it's very cute and has everything you need at a beach resort. Unfortunately, we got screwed with the weather; even though it was mid summer we got rain most of the time, which is very unusual for the season. Still, we had one day of good weather which we could spend at the beach and enjoy the amenities. Some additional details: - the rooms are smaller than I imagined, but still very clean and cozy. I love that they have stacks of books everywhere. - the owner seems a bit cold at first, but that's cause he first of all takes care of business: check in, deposit, money, etc. But as we found out the next morning at breakfast, he's a real nice person, and he can give a lot of good tips about the surroundings. - their private beach isn't much of a beach; there's only a small area that's accessible to water. But it's a great place to sit back in beach chair (which they provide) and read or just relax. Next door though is a great public beach. Overall, I highly recommend this place.


Rio Villa

3.8 on June 21, 2011

Everything needed is there. Well kept. Some pet friendly rooms. Pleasant service and greeting from Ron. Beautiful scenic grounds. Stay a while and relax. Love it. Great value. Affordable even if you're not rich. The River goes right by.


Don't miss this place!

4.0 on May 25, 2011

This property totally rocks! We had a group staying there and felt comfortable using all the facilites. The outdoor fireplace is amazing and plenty of wood was provided. The staff is accomodating and happy to help out.


Rio Villa Beach Resort - Quiet

3.6 on April 30, 2011

Went during the week. Ron is a great Innkeeper. Very clean, quiet, had a great time. Morning bagels, coffee, juice, etc. was a great perk. Will go back again for more days


overnight getaway

4.0 on April 28, 2011

I would like to say that Ron was a wonderful help. We wanted a last min massage and Ron told us about the West Sonoma Inn, right up the street. My partner and I recieved the best massage we've had to date. We also appreciated the attention to detail and the newly renovated rooms.. I highly recommend a stay here.


Peaceful place

4.6 on April 13, 2011

This place is so relaxing and amazing. My friends and family had a great time here.


SK's birthday.

3.8 on April 07, 2011

Very impressed overall, the rooms very clean and a wonderful setting by the river in back.


Great place to stay!

4.2 on March 20, 2011

They do not have a restaurant within the property but Ron was more then helpful with some great places to eat nearby. The view was amazing from the balcony and recommend everyone to stay here. You won't be disappointed!


Great Weekend....

3.8 on March 10, 2011

Right on the Russian River, hard to beat the beautiful grounds.


rustic resort

3.8 on March 06, 2011

The wooden building/rooms reminded me of the 50's-60's one found on the roadside. The single dblbed, room had a small bathroom and shower stall. Lovely backyard on river, fireplace for evening sitting outside. Charcoal grills to cook out. Nice cold breakfast good coffee. Definitely would stay again. Went with friends who have stay before. Stayed 3 nights. Nice people.


best place on the river

5 on February 18, 2011

This is the best place to stay on the river.We've been there twice & plan on staying there every visit in the future


Rollin' On Da River

5 on February 16, 2011

This is a quiet, happy place to spend a day or more. My wife and I spent a relaxing couple days here in February 2011. Ron, our innkeeper, was a joy to run into and took good care of us with advice, extra towels, and a nice continental breakfast. Our room was small, but well equipped and with a fridge, microwave, toaster, DVD/VCR, sink and dishes. How nice to have coffee in a real cup instead of foam or paper!


Very nice, we will return

4.0 on February 01, 2011

We were amazed at all of the little extras found in the room, even had a DVD player!


A Beautiful Night On the Russian River

3.2 on January 30, 2011

We arrived late but were met with an enthusiastic welcome. Ron directed us into town for dinner and gave us the school on Rio Villa. We were there for a spa day at Osmosis so didn't have alot of time to explore the resort. Would love to return when I could go down and sit in the swing chair by the river. That looked totally cool. I'm sure the prices in the summer are outrageous but it is a nice dream.


Weekend getaway

3.4 on January 24, 2011

One of our favorite places to "getaway" from the hectic routine. Off season is perfect for relaxing. Decent places nearby for dining, beach or stroll in the woods. We'll be back.


Rio Vista at Rio Village!

3.0 on November 15, 2010

What the great resort with fabulous view of the Russian River from the private beach!! It is peaceful and lovely place to stay at. The room is beautiful and the location is very convenient to Russian River and to the Sonoma Coastal beaches. We really enjoyed the staying and thanks very much Ron and Bruce for the awesome services!!


Lovely Gardens, Very Relaxing

3.2 on October 26, 2010

The rooms are pleasant and the gardens are lovely. The outdoor BBQ and dining area is fantastic. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.


Wonderful jewel

3.8 on September 14, 2010

Great location just outside of town. Close enough, but more private. Very clean, great grounds and private beach area. Very friendly host. We'll be back for a longer stay.


Rio Villa Beach Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $215
  • Reviews (101) 4.2
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078651143

Visit Website »

View details

Top