Laurel-Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Convenient and comfortable

4.0 on September 12, 2013

We stayed two nights and wish it could be much longer. Totally comfortable, super spacious, great location and well supplied with everything. We didn't have parking problems, even though parking on the street with special permission card. If you have a lot of luggage, it's a little challenging since the B&B is on the 2nd and 3rd floors.


Perfect Place To Stay!

4.6 on September 05, 2013

My family and I were visiting my daughter and wanted a place near her apartment... Laurel Inn was perfect! Close to everything we needed and wanted to see, it was spacious with two floors, two bathrooms, a full kitchen, and enough beds/sofa beds for all of us. John and Lucy were so welcoming, even upon our very late arrival. I would absolutely recommend Laurel Inn to anyone visiting L.A.!


Simply great...

5 on July 31, 2013

...this cute B&B. Lucy and John gave us a warm welcome. They have been very friendly and easy-going hosts. At first sight you could think of the kitchen as to be shared but you have this big room just for you. All rooms are located in a separate guesthouse with a private entrance. We spent all nights very comfortable and always felt secure and safe in this nice environment of Beverly Hills. In the evening we enjoyed the view rom the roof top terrace. We will definitely be back for a longer stay. Thanks a lot! JF


What a great place to stay in LA

5 on March 18, 2013

Location is fantastic, accommodations are spacious and welcoming, price is great, John and Lucy are very gracious and helpful hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to return.


Great Place

3.6 on November 25, 2012

Comfortable bed, cozy house and good location.. Did walk to a few places from the house, otherwise rented a car to get around the city. Would definitely stay here again!


Great find!

4.2 on August 09, 2012

We stayed with John and Lucy for 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. They are wonderful hosts. We didn't rent a car (but do recommend it, as it made it a little difficult to explore LA), so John and Lucy even took us for a tour of the Hollywood strip themselves! The space is so large, in a great location and has wonderful views. All the great things others say about this place is true. Don't waste your money on fancy hotels nearby, this place is definitely a better option for the price. Plus, you get the bonus of meeting these wonderful people!


A true gem!

4.4 on July 16, 2012

Laurel-Inn is a true gem! Perfect location close to the main Hollywood attractions and peaceful and luxuriously spacious, private guest house with top notch facilities. What else could one wish for? Stayed for two nights in July 2012 and felt very much at home. Hosts John and Lucy are welcoming and warm-hearted. Wish we could have stayed longer at Laurel-Inn. We can sincerely recommend this B&B.


Home Away

4.8 on June 02, 2012

Seriously! This place is the best! you get your own little guest house in the heart of west hollywood. It was perfect. I couldn't have asked for better hosts and princess as well as the new kitties were such gems. I will definitely be a returning guest.


A rare and precious find!

5 on March 27, 2012

I have never stayed at a place where I felt more at home. This is essentially a guest house with a private entrance in a residential neighborhood. The price was very reasonable considering the many amenities and the quality of the accommodations! Parking is included in the price. It's quiet and removed from the noise and traffic, but very conveniently located to Hollywood and downtown L.A. And, you have a spectacular deck which gives you a scenic view of the area. Everything was immaculate. I was treated like family. I would stay there again in a hearbeat. Thank you John and Lucy!


Brilliant!

4.0 on January 15, 2012

A very high quality establishment with friendly hosts at a very reasonable price. As cat lovers from way back we enjoyed meeting "Princess"


Perfect place to stay for the Sunset Strip

4.0 on November 18, 2011

I spent a few days out in Hollywood for two shows, one at the House of Blues and one at the Golden Key. This place was perfect for walking to both clubs and not having to deal with traffic or driving in that area. My stay couldn't have been better.


Great stay!

3.4 on July 02, 2011

My partner and I stayed here early June, it was the perfect home away from home we needed after staying in Hostels for a month. John and Lucy are lovely people and made us feel more than welcome. Laurell Inn is comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Good value for money; especially when drinking wine on the private rooftop with view! The location is fantastic, especially if visiting for Pride. Close enough to the action, yet not stuck in the craziness! We'd definately stay here again and recommend to others. K & N


Hollywood gem!

4.0 on May 11, 2011

From the moment of arriving we knew immediately we were on to a winner. John & Lucy (& Princess) were incredibly friendly and made us feel right at home. The house itself exceeded all possible expectations, from size, cleanliness, location, view, and the list goes on. Great cooking facilities and the bar was an added bonus. The neighbourhood feels safe and the location was perfect for walking to bars and shops which in itself is special in LA seeing as you usually need to use your car to get anywhere. Routes to the beach and other sights are also easily accessable. Free parking right outside the front door made things very easy. All we can say is that we had an incredible stay and we can't wait to visit John & Lucy again.


welcoming home from home

4.6 on February 23, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in February. It is far better than a hotel, no nasty surprises in what we found or in costs and my partner and I were overwhelmed with John and Lucy's hospitality and simultaneous respect for our privacy. The ample space of the rooms and sizeable wardrobe meant we could easily spread our luggage out without feeling like we were living out of our suitcases. The large bed was comfy and it was a pleasantly pin-drop quiet night's sleep every night, not even the sound of traffic! That said a 5-10 minute walk up santa-Monica will land you at Barney's Beanary, which John rightly recommended. An IHOP and various independent burger joints are all close by, but our best find was 'Baby Blue's BBQ' which has a great bar selection, and astounding food (Beef Brisket a must!) The weekdays were relatively quiet, but the Saturday atmosphere in the local cafes were a real glimpse of the real L.A. lifestyle. Hollywood is a fairly long walk, but a bus funs from Fairfax into the tourist areas and from Hollywood Blv we were able to catch the metro train to Universal Studios with ease. (taxi back was about $30 by the way) John suggested getting a 'super shuttle' to LAX airport which was a transit that picked us up on time from front door with a few other people for under £30. Anyway back to the Laurel inn...! I would recommend this to travellers like young couples and people up for new experiences who want a bit of everything from their travels. We did not use the kitchen, but it was clean and well stocked. Shower could have been a little more powerful, but was hot and constant temperature. I hope to return if I am visiting again, Lucy makes some great biscotti biscuits!


Wonderful inn

4.6 on February 11, 2011

Did not use dining facilities so the food rating is really n/a. Parking was made very easy. The view from the balconies is 1st class. Sunrise and sunset. WiFi works well. TV selection very good. A great get away.


Laurel Inn is as Good as it Gets

4.6 on January 10, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend at the Laurel Inn after much on-line review checking and shopping. We were more than impressed and pleased with the apartment, location & owners. It's quiet, private, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed John and Lucy's stories & dining suggestions without being intrusive. They were very respectful of us and our privacy. The 2 story apartment was perfect for us although we rarely used the living room and kitchen because we ate every meal out. All we used was the coffee maker. Our first night in town John suggested Hamburger Marys around the corner which we took him up on and had a great burger after a long day of travel. Service was excellent as was the fun and whimsical decor. We will return to The Laurel Inn if we ever make it back to the Los Angeles area without even looking for another place to stay. Thanks to John and Lucy for knowing how to host out of towners the way you do!


Feels Like Home

4.4 on June 24, 2010

I loved my stay at Laurel Inn. Great hosts who took the time to show me around, plenty of space and all the amenities you could wish for!


This should be rated #1

5 on April 07, 2010

Well appointed, extremely comfortable, lovely owners ... there are only positives about the Laurel Inn! I would not hesitate to come back here again and again - I would comfortably live here without a question! There is only one occupancy available which is in a separate dwelling out the back of the owners house. There are 2 flights of stairs within the apartment and a third if you want to reach the roof top. The ground floor is the entrance, the 2nd floor has a bathroom, bar, lounge area, stereo system, dining room (with large dining table), kitchen (full fridge/freezer, gas stove top & oven, cupboard, sink, cooking utensils & equipment), oh and a dishwasher. The 3rd floor is the bedroom with an extremely comfortable king size bed, large walk in robe, another bathroom with a bath, lounge area and writing desk, tv with DVD player & pay TV/cable, 2 balconies. The breakfast is individually packed cereal (milk will be also be in the fridge) or frozen breakfast burritos (very yum!!!) - or you could take a quick walk to one of the local grocery stores and fix yourself breakfast, lunch & dinner! (We left some vegemite behind for you!!) We are independant travellers so all of this suited us just fine. The owners were only too willing and available to help out if needed, and they are just wonderful! If you have a car, you can park it (with the owners town parking permit) on the street out front of their house. Santa Monica Boulevard is just a short walk away - here you will find an array of cafes, bars, bus transport, grocery store, bottle shop, laudromat ... Took us about 40 minutes to walk to the stars on Hollywood Boulevard. About 20 minutes to drive to the airport during peak hour. You just can't go wrong - we felt safe & secure here, and even walking around the neighborhood at night. The unit really is a great find - you'd be mad if you passed it up. Happy to be contacted if you need reassurance or have further questions. Enjoy!


Number 1 B&B/Self-Contained Apartment

5 on April 01, 2010

This fully self-contained, private access apartment is probably the best we could have ever hoped to find. Very comfortable interiors, bed, very clean. Wonderful and charming hosts, close attractions and amenities, quiet and safe area. So comfortable we don't want to leave. Thanks for having us!


Beautiful Place

4.8 on March 30, 2010

Beautiful place, beautiful people. It's a home away from home in Paradise. Great view, you can see the Hollywood Sign from the roof. It's a dream home and stay.


Wonderful place all around

4.2 on September 22, 2009

Can't beat this home away from home experience from the facility itself to the gracious hosts! The two floors with two bathrooms, a full kitchen (part of the downstairs greatroom area) and a well stocked bar with the "honor system" for paying for what you drink make this B&B a unique experience. The roof access with breathtaking views of the sunset are icing on the cake. John and Lucy are lovely people who will make you feel like part of the family. The breakfast is actually cereal or frozen fare, but I bet if you asked John or Lucy for something else, they would provide it--we didn't as we are not really breakfast eaters. The only difficulty in singing the praises here is that I worry that once others hear of it, it won't be available when I come back in town!


Laurel-Inn

4.2 on September 03, 2009

This was our first visit to a B&B. This was actually a guest house. The property was very clean and new. It had a great view of Hollywood. The couple who own it are very nice.


Private Surroundings, Warm Hosts

4.2 on August 20, 2009

Few B&B's have full working kitchens. This one does, which gives you the option of dining in or at any of the many eateries in the neighborhood. The hosts include frozen breakfast items, so if you're accustomed to a host-prepared breakfast you should discuss your options with them ahead of time. The Laurel Inn is well suited to an extended stay because it is a fully equipped furnished apartment, and because John and Lucy are warm, caring hosts who will go the extra mile for their guests. A home away from home.


Par Excellance

5 on May 11, 2009

Great place near everthing stupendous views, side and roof patios, for quiet breakfast. I will come back anytime we am in town


Laurel-Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2137007077
  • Fax 1-3236563411

Visit Website »

View details

Top