Stevenswood Spa & Resort Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Services3.9
  • Value3.5
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay

4.6 on October 13, 2012

We had stayed years ago. The renovations done since then were very nicely done. We had a nice large room upstairs, with distant ocean views. There is a nice trail across the street (highway) that goes to the ocean so be sure to explore. Servicewise, the waiter at breakfast seemed a little standoffish, while the afternoon/evening front desk person (with handlebar moustache) was outstanding! When we came back in the evenings, he was always there to open the door and greet us with a smile. He is a treasure! I did not get a chance to do the spa, wine tasting or dinner. On your last night, they slip a note to offer you to extend your stay one night for $99, which was nice but unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of it. All in all a very pleasant stay, good value if you are able to get a good rate or voucher.


Demanding Guest, Great Inn

4.6 on May 31, 2012

I'm not easy to please , but Stevenswood gets an exceptional rating in every regard: Hotel staff satisfied all our requests eagerly and completely. The remarkable "concierge," Nelson, arranged a fantastic still-hot meal for us, even tho' we checked in late. NO room service charge was added. Our first-rate breakfast waiter, Josh, called up to our room to take my order. So, instead of missing breakfast, I had a very good omelet. Room: comfortable and well-appointed. Excellent nights' sleep in a great king bed. Beautiful view: gorgeous grounds. A "distant-partial" ocean view, exactly as described on the inn website. Dinner in the restaurant: delicious. (How to read my opinion: Am a patron of 2 of SF's finest, Michelin-stared restaurants, so I'm familiar w/ the best.) To improve: 1. Provide some bright reading light in the rooms. 2. Change your website breakfast menu to reflect only current offerings. 3.Improve accounting procedures. Automatically provide bill for review on check-out, note reasons for possible additional charge and a way to settle any disputes. 4. PLEASE abandon your mandatory online reservation system for "prepaid" stays. it does NOT work. Two caveats to fellow travelers: 1. With a pre-paid package, READ the fine print. Trouble booking online? Book on the phone, or not at all. 2. Sensitive to noise, avoid Pullen Suite. Nice, but slight hum audible from resto ventilation. 3. Problems: Tell staff. They'll do their best to help. GO! A fine place to relax and enjoy yourselves. 4.5 stars.


Beautiful location but still needs a bit of work

3.6 on November 16, 2011

I visited Stevenswood with my husband for our anniversary. The property is quite pretty and within walking distance from Van Damme State Park as well as a short walk to the bluffs. The prices are on par for lodging in this area; we paid ~$270/night (which was with a discount from B&B) but for these prices we did expect a more seamless experience. Check-in was fine and we were given a tour of the property and made dinner reservations. Dinner was outstanding. Worth every penny. The room itself was adequate, but the decor was a bit odd; modern/80s style? The bed was wonderfully plush, yet the bathroom sink was a dome with no where to put toothbrushes or other toiletries. Oddly, there was a list of prices on the dresser that not only included food in the minifridge but also prices for the bathroom, hangers and towels, as if they needed to point out not to steal them! The alarm clock in our room was set ahead an extra half hour from the correct time, and cleaning had also not turned off the alarm setting from the last guest. There was a nice view, but because our room overlooked the main entrance to the restaurant we had to keep the blinds shut the entire time for privacy. Again, these were all little things, but for a "resort", I do have higher expectations. The room did come with a "free" breakfast, which was delicious although we had to wait nearly 15 minutes to be seated (even though there were multiple tables open), and at the end they presented us with a bill for $55 at the end of our meal, indicating that our breakfasts were valued at $25 which we were expected to tip on accordingly. While I almost always tip 20%, pancakes and coffee were not exactly a $25 meal, and being expected to pay a $10 tip for our "free" breakfast was a little annoying. Overall, no big problems, and while we enjoyed our stay, the service needs to improve to match their price tags.


Room needs some updating. Great breakfast.

3.2 on October 07, 2011

Stayed in one of the less expensive rooms, which face the parking lot, as I discovered when I checked in. Overall, the room was a little bit worn and the housekeeping a bit spotty. Our bed was small, the blanket had a hole in it, toiletries were missing the day we arrived, and housekeeping forgot to replace the log in the fireplace on our second day. However, the general atmosphere of the hotel is fairly cozy and pleasant, the location is good, and the breakfast included with the room price was fantastic. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but probably would have been better if we had been facing the back of the hotel rather than the parking lot and main walkway. The breakfast was well above average.


Great Stay - Great Value

4.2 on October 06, 2011

Stevenswood was idyllic setting. Wonderful setting. Loved the staff and Mark Anthony, the cat of the Inn. Rooms are so comfy and spacious. The mattress is fabulous! They have Bravo TV! Wow! Food is fantastic. I did not want to leave and cannot wait to return.


Fun in Mendocino

3.2 on October 02, 2011

The Stevenswood Resort is a very nice place to stay in Mendocino, a sleepy little coastal town about 125 miles north of San Francisco.


Groupon Offer

4.4 on September 26, 2011

Liked the wine tasting that featured some of the wines in the dining room. We purchased many that were from boutique wineries. Dining room was excellent-reasonably price3d for such gourmet food. We were in the Vitners house across the street. This new area needs improvement.The phones in the room did not work so we could not call the front desk. There was no info in the room about hotel services. Even though it was close, we would have preferred walking (not safe) to driving. Toilet seat in spa needs to be replaced.(too worn)


We were treated like royalty.

5 on June 15, 2011

In May 2011 a friend and I planned a vacation to drive the Pacific Coast Highway to see the gorgeous scenery. We flew into San Francisco, drove north and our first night was spent at Stevenswood Spa Resort. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped in the door. Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We had a great dining experience at dinner with delicious food and even a personal visit from the chef. He even offered us complimentary dessert but we were too full from the wonderful dinner to partake. The breakfast was gourmet and truly delicious. We enjoyed walking the grounds. This 6 acres is covered by tall trees and beautiful flower gardens, all the makings of a peaceful, natural setting. Next trip we will know to book two or three days at this marvelous, peaceful getaway.


Royalty for the Weekend

4.8 on June 12, 2011

The beds were heaven to sleep on, the spa made my daughter and I feel like pampered princesses (or a princess and a queen?) and the food was so good we wanted to kidnap the chef, especially the breakfast chef. Nelson was so good-natured and helpful, Connie was like a serene breath of fresh air. We had absolutely no complaints, except that it rained the whole time we were there, but they couldn't help the weather! I will be back many more times.


Nice place, but a little pricey, and no kid-friendly breakfast options

3.6 on June 08, 2011

Room was big, and pretty nice, but our sink was chipped and it leaked as well. The place felt a little worn; could use a minor redecoration. Bed was super-comfortable, and the grounds were very nice. We had a 5-year-old and they accommodated him reasonably well, however at breakfast (included for $25 per person) there were really no appealing options for him. Everything was a bit too "fancy" for a child's tastes. That said, we enjoyed the food, and the service was good. Next time we're in Mendo, we'll probably look around and see what else is there.


Awesome getaway

4.6 on February 14, 2011

I had a great time. My daughter gave me a birthday gift and it was the best gift. I will always treasure this day. The service, food, massage, everthing was excellent. Beautiful drive. Friendly people and the wine tasting just made my day. I highly recommend this place as a getaway.


Overall I would not recommend this place

1.6 on October 31, 2010

Overall I would not recommend this place. I got a gift card but felt that I was overcharged because of it. The bed was comfy but that was pretty much the only part that impressed me. The espresso machine had no espresso, the room had a broken window, a broken hearth, and a sub-par bathroom that needed some maintenance. I was told that I would receive some information in the mail before my stay, and it never came. I was also promised that I would receive a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, which never arrived. We also were not offered the complimentary breakfast everyone else has commented about. I brought all of these points up to the Stevenswood staff and they did not appear to be concerned.


Quiet sanctuary

4.0 on July 19, 2010

We were pleased with all that Stevenswood had to offer, from its convenient location just a few minutes south of Mendocino to the tasty food in their dining room. It's incredibly easy to immediately relax in the serenity of the forest, and it's just as easy to hop in the car and to be in Mendocino within minutes. The dining was top notch, and we enjoyed a variety of gourmet breakfast selections as well as memorable appetizers, entrees, and desserts at dinnertime. We've made a note to visit their spa on our next visit!


Stevenswood Spa & Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $189 - $489
  • Reviews (13) 4.0
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 17079372810
  • Fax 1-7079371237
  • Toll free 1-8004212810
Top