Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

a lovely inn

5 on August 21, 2014

We only had one night at the old thyme inn at Half Moon Bay. when we arrived rick showed us all around the beautiful place and made dinner suggestions. our lovely "oregeno room" which overlooked the garden was was very well appointed with sumptuous bedding, organic shampoo, bath salts etc. Wonderful original paintings adorn the walls. In the evening, there was wine & appetizers and we had a delightful chat with with Innkeeper Kathy and couple guests. later we walked down Main Street into the adorable little town which had Lots of interesting shops and eateries. after a very comfortable sleep we had to leave early to catch a flight so we missed breakfast but Rick did put out a couple of delicious muffins and apples.if we found ourselves in Half Moon Bay again we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the old thyme inn!


Something New for Us!

4.8 on August 06, 2014

We have never stayed at a B&B before, always VRBO or hotels. Some of the hotels we looked at did not get great reviews, but the Old Thyme B & B did! Rick and Kathy provide a very relaxing, comfortable home with a delicious breakfast as well. Enjoyed easy walks to downtown and received great directions and recommendations for dining from Rick. For the first time in months, we actually relaxed in the garden and read for 3 hours, then enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon. Thank you!


Great food, Awesome coffee, beautiful location

5 on July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 2nd wedding anniversary and we loved it. We stayed in the Rosemary room. Rick was a wonderful innkeeper and he and his wife are fabulous cooks! For breakfast the first morning, I had blueberry muffins, an apple baby, and a fruit cup. The second morning, it was lemon rosemary bread, bacon, toast, and a vegetable omelette. The coffee they serve is shipped straight from Maryland where their son roasts it. The coffee was heavenly. They french press it to serve it, which is my preferred brewing method. I am a coffee connoisseur, and it was FABULOUS. The room was adorable. It was not over the top with the florals, but very tasteful. There was a big double whirlpool bathtub which I really enjoyed, it was like having my private jacuzzi. There were lavender bath items to use which smelled lovely. There was also a bountiful wine reception with crackers and cheese every evening. The outside of the inn is beautiful. There are flowers and herbs everywhere. In the back there is a little garden with tables and chairs to enjoy. I got dinner to go and ate outside in the garden with a bottle of wine. This is a beautiful little B&B in a beautiful little town right by the beach. I highly recommend staying here.


A Short Get-Away

5 on October 07, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. It was an anniversary celebration get-away for us. We love only an hour and quarter away, but felt that we were longer away. And thanks for having such interesting other guests -- we were the only Americans there. Howard & Debbie Hall


A delight!

4.4 on April 15, 2013

I would have been very happy to stay longer than the 3 nights I was booked in for. The rooms are cosy, clean and attractive, the ambience of the house is comfortable, and there is a lovely garden you can sit in to have that early morning coffee or wine and cheese in the late afternoon. I appreciated the fridge with bottled water for guest use. The Innkeepers have local information well organised and are helpful fonts of information as well as excellent breakfast cooks! To top it off Half Moon Bay is a delight.


relaxing

4.6 on February 21, 2013

It was just like I imagined..relaxing and cozy. Thank you


Great room, greatbservice

4.4 on August 17, 2012

Had a lovely stay. The room wasnt huge, but definately big enough for the two of us with two large suitcases. Ammenities were nice, and the supplied breakfast was very nice. I would definately stay there again, and would recommend it our friends.


Delightful and serene

4.8 on April 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt at home! The house is beautiful and our room was immaculate. Clean and cozy. The fountains were perfectly romantic and serene. The 2 person whirlpool tub was so relaxing and my skin has never felt better after using the bath salts! Breakfast was home cooked and delicious!!!


Simply a Gem

4.6 on March 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this B&B for a wonderful weekend at Half Moon Bay. The host was wonderfully friendly and kind without being intrusive (always a possibility when staying at someone's home!). The B&B itself is nicely partitioned such that the innkeeper's quarters are separated entirely from a great living room reserved for guests, which features the breakfast table and a continuous pleasant soft music in the background. The rooms themselves (we stayed in the Oregano room) are incredibly luxurious and pleasant. Overall, a wonderful stay. Shame about the price though, though I suppose that's what you pay for visiting such a scenic beach town!


Okay stay, not terrible but had better.

2.6 on March 15, 2012

We were one of two couples staying at the inn so can't chalk it up to busyness. Just kept getting the impression we were putting them out somehow. Room was comfortable, a little worn. Kitchen was behind locked doors which turned out to be annoying. When we arrived a 1/2 hr early before check in, we were told to come back later. Innkeeper fussed at us about lack of information he had gotten from online reservation service. C'mon it was their local B&B website, not Hotwire. Breakfasts were tasty but on the small side. Three pieces of bacon cut in half and we each had 3 halves so a piece and a half each. Two pieces of toast cut in quarters and we each had 3 or 4 quarters of toast with eggs. Same pumpkin bread both days that I suspect came out of the freezer. Second day was much better when she was cooking, apple puff pancakes, yumm! The married innkeepers did a handoff so we only saw one on each day. We really just got the impression they were tired of being innkeepers. It was an expensive stay, especially when you don't feel so welcome. On a bright note, got a great tip from the Mr. to visit FILOLI. Would have missed it without his help.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Old Thyme Inn. We're sorry you left with a less than stellar opinion of us and of our service. We thought it might be helpful to explain why some things here happen the way they do. Our kitchen door is locked because the kitchen is part of our home and we lock it for security when we're not in the kitchen. We always leave a sign on the kitchen door telling guests how we can be reached. We close the Inn for cleaning and maintenance between the hours of 11am and 3pm. Like most retail establishments, if you arrive 1/2 hour before published opening time, we’re closed. You made your reservation, not through our "local B&B website" (no such thing, actually), rather though a company which acts as a conduit for Hotwire and Expedia reservations. I was “fussing” when you arrived because those sites only give us name, room selection, and date of arrival -- no contact information -- so we cannot email or phone our guests to tell them about things like checkin time. Many of our guests leave food on their plate, saying they are not big breakfast eaters. They want a delicious repast that gives them energy to have fun, rather than a heavy meal that leaves them feeling like they need a nap. Here’s what we serve: specialty-grade coffee, home-baked coffee cakes or muffins (from scratch -- no mixes used here), fresh orange juice, and a main course prepared with free range organic eggs, accompanied by bacon or apple and smoked-chicken sausage (no pork) and toasted home-baked bread. You observed that the married Innkeepers were not both present every day. That helps keep us "married Innkeepers". We're sorry that this left you with the impression that we are tired. We start preparing breakfast about 7AM and finish cleaning up after wine and cheese service about 7:30PM. Our business is open 7 days a week, 363 days a year, so every few days one of us takes a morning or an afternoon off. Call it a mental health break.


Magically Pleasant

4.6 on June 26, 2011

I have stayed in B&B facilities in a good many countries. I have enjoyed in particular those where you feel a welcome guest in a home with a real sense of family. Even better are those which impart the local culture, but there are few in California with a sense of permanence and place that I would recommend to friends from abroad. The Old Thyme Inn, built in 1898 in historic Half Moon Bay, is its own destination. This is a quiet place where accommodation is not an afterthought but a purpose. Everywhere you look, it is obvious, this place was developed with decades of dedication, a continuous and abiding love of work, hospitality without intrusion, and kindness without fawning. From the coffee to the soap, from the herb garden to the dining music, from the table books to the depth of local information, from the beds to the plentiful artwork, there is an attention to detail here that makes it an outstanding accommodation, each feature thoughtfully executed for its specific purpose, not to impress but to please. Do enjoy your stay there. We really did.


very nice B&B.

3.6 on June 12, 2011

The room was charming, the bed was very comfortable. The room was tidy but not particularly clean. The breakfast was outstanding!!


Absolute perfection

5 on April 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the inn for one night on our LA-San Francisco road trip, and I can't rave enough about it. Old Thyme Inn is your quintessential B&B--lovely, welcoming hosts; gorgeous, over-stuffed beds; fresh, delicious breakfasts; and everything else you could hope for in a B&B. If we're ever back on that part of the coast, I guarantee we'll be making a return visit. What an absolute pleasure. We liked it so much that we didn't even go out for dinner--brought some sushi back to the room and luxuriated in the relaxing atmosphere :)


Wonderful weekend

4.6 on February 26, 2011

Old Thyme Inn is superbly managed and run. Nice location on HMB's main drag. A great B&B (close to S.F. too!) Excellent breakfasts!! Recommend highly - very charming place. We could hear the guests shuffling above us from our first floor room late at night - only negative.


Stay in September 2010

4.0 on February 23, 2011

We stopped in at the Old Thyme in for two nights during our road trip in Northern California. We were very pleased with our stay and the courtesy of our hosts. Rooms were as asvertised and very comfortable. The location was quiet and close to the restaurants. Our hostss has compiled a big book of menus so we could make informed choices on where to dine. They also provided some insights based upon their experiences. A very confortable and appealing inn - we will stay there again! Mike & Deb from SCV


Very nice. Quiet.

4.0 on February 22, 2011

Very nice. Quiet. It was our first B&B experience and I think we'll do it again. Great location for enjoying Half Moon Bay.


Nice place

3.6 on February 13, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to this B and B and we would go again, it was very nice.


Very nice!

4.2 on January 27, 2011

This is a very nice little bed and breakfast in Half Moon Bay. If you're looking for a nice getaway over a weekend, this guest house is conveniently located in Main street. It was very clean, quiet and overall very enjoyable.


Honeymoon in Half Moon

4.6 on January 08, 2011

Our honeymoon at the Old Thyme Inn was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was delicious every morning, and the room we stayed in was so cozy and romantic. We would definitely recommend staying at this Inn. The only issue we ran into was that our toilet was having problems flushing when we first arrived, but the problem was quickly amended.


Old Thyme Inn

1.8 on December 08, 2010

This is a charming inn right downtown in Half Moon Bay. I liked being close to shops and restaurants and Old Thyme is a great location for those who like to walk the town. The room was charming at first glance, however, the carpet was soiled and in need of cleaning or replacement. I had notified the inn that my sister and I had planned a special trip to celebrate our mother's 89th birthday. I was very unhappy to see that they had not prepared for the three of us. We had to ask for additional towels and robe. They also provided us a rollaway bed that was very uncomfortable. The mattress was lumpy and needed to be replaced. For the price of $275 for a room, I expect quality accommodations.

Innkeeper Response
Hello Guests from December 2010, First, thank you for the kind words about our convenient downtown location and the Inn's charm. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We were especially concerned that the Thyme Room, when you arrived, may not have met our stringent standards for cleanliness. When we reviewed your comments with our staff, they pointed out that about a week before your visit a rust spot appeared in a very obvious place on the rug. Somebody apparently placed something wet and made of iron in that spot, and it made a stain that we have not been able to remove. And believe me, our staff knows a lot of tricks for removing stains. Other than that, the rug in that room appeared to be clean. Just to make sure, we steam cleaned that rug the week following your visit. We performed a very unscientific test on the roll-away bed --we lay down upon it and asked ourselves if we'd like to sleep on it. As a result, a new bed is on order and should be here any day. Thanks for pointing that out to us as well. We remember that you made mention when booking of your mother's birthday and the special treat that you and your sister planned for her at Old Thyme Inn. Clearly, we were not performing to our usual standards the afternoon of your arrival, and we suspect that our oversight may have been responsible for a less than stellar visit by you and your family. As a result of your comments, we have implemented a program focusing on special requests such as yours, so that they don't get lost in the cracks, as this one appears to have. Special requests and additional guests in a room now are highlighted on the reservation checkin card as well on our desk calendar and our staff housekeeping report. Please accept once again our sincere apology, and we hope that someday you'll consider coming to visit us again. Until next thyme... Rick & Kathy


Beautiful Inn

4.6 on December 05, 2010

We only spent one night but had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful, and the bath and shower were luxurious. We got to have breakfast in our room and it was delicious. I would definitely stay again.


A wonderful place to stay

3.6 on October 21, 2010

We especially appreciated the gardens and the gracious host!


Amazing

5 on October 21, 2010

I had the most amazing weekend at the Old Thyme Inn. Rick and Kathy were so hospitable and made us feel so at home! They were so welcoming, the rooms were clean and well-kept, the bed was amazingly soft, and the food was so scrumptious. Thank you so much for an amazing stay!


A truly delightful get-away.

4.2 on October 18, 2010

It's all that you would expect from a B&B and more. Great view of the garden from the upstairs Oregano room. We were pampered with bath salts and herbal shampoo & conditioner and soaps. The personal service was outstanding. The innkeeper made sure that our champagne that we brought was chilled and set up in our room when we came back from dinner. The full breakfasts were scrumptious, with a sprig of fresh herb garnishing our plate. It was a great way to celebrate our anniversary.


Great place to stay

5 on October 03, 2010

The inkeepers are the best nice helpfull and know the area


Delightful place to stay; impeccable service

4.6 on October 01, 2010

This was our second trip to Half Moon Bay and I wish we would have stayed here the first time. The rooms are great, the garden is delightful, the location is perfect, and the breakfasts are fantastic. Can't wait to stay here again!


Thank you Janet!

5 on October 01, 2010

The Inn sitter, Janet, made me feel so welcome. Her attention to details, dinner recommendations and divine breakfast (at my schedule) made me feel so special. More kindness than I get at home in my busy household. I will return whenever I'm in Half Moon Bay. She earned a guest for life!


1st stay at a Bed & Breakfast...

4.8 on September 24, 2010

Our 1st stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we must say Old Thyme Inn was a perfect example. The atmosphere was wonderful, environment was beautiful, breakfast food was excellent, and the customer service was out of this world! It felt as if I was home and met some wonderful people. If you are not a social person, then a Bed & Breakfast is definitely not for you. We look forward to another stay with Old Thyme, and would not mind brining our 3 little ones if allowed?!


old time inn

4.0 on September 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay however short. Janet the innkeeper was very nice and helpful to us as new visitors to the area and reccommended an exceptional restuarant.


Simple, comfortable, and delightful

4.0 on August 30, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Old Thyme Inn. We stayed in the Garden room. We were so impressed at the accommodations; the tour given to us upon arrival, the cleanliness of the entire establishment, the kindness and helpfulness of the staff, the food, everything! We would definitely stay there again if the opportunity ever rises again.


A wonderful getaway!!

5 on August 30, 2010

A beautiful place to stay. A short walk to downtown. A long walk (or a short drive) to the ocean. Beautiful rooms and very comfortable beds. The breakfast was delicious. The innkeepers are very hospitable. Thank you for a wonderful getaway. We'll be back!! Paul and Nora


Wonderful b n b for a relaxing getaway

3.8 on July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the Old Thyme Inn and enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers met us upon arrival and showed us around the house and the gardens. The rooms were what we expected only because we had viewed the pictures prior to arrival; however, the bed was luxurious and we really enjoyed the double spa in our bathroom. The prize has to go to the breakfast. Filing, gourmet, and herbs from the garden are used in the dishes and as a garnish.


“Rare jewell! Exceeded our (very high) expectations”

5 on April 13, 2010

I have to admit I haven't always enjoyed our stays at certain B&Bs. I hate sharing a bathroom with strangers or staying in a "charming" (cramped) room in some “off-the-beaten-path” (far from anything) home. But I could literally move into Old Thyme Inn and be perfectly happy. The rooms are a delight, spacious and beautifully appointed. Each has a private bath. And the beds are so wonderful that when my wife and I got home from our first trip there, we searched far and wide to try to find some kind of bedding that could reproduce the sleeping experience we enjoyed at the Inn (we 've never found it). My only complaint is the food --- there's not enough of it. Breakfast is heavenly! Despite the many excellent restaurants within walking distance, we would gladly return to the Inn for lunch and dinner but they don't serve those meals. Perhaps that's why they call it a bed and breakfast... The Inn is located on one of the most charming Main Streets in America, only a few blocks from one of the most beautiful coastlines in the world. When you aren't poking among the many neat little shops on Main Street, you'll be strolling the bike path along the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, or along the beach directly below. The house is a beautiful, turn-of-the-century masterpiece lovingly maintained by the innkeepers. And while we're talking about them, they couldn't be nicer people or more solicitous of a guest’s comfort. Not to mention fascinating. She's a painter and he's a voice actor, among their other pursuits, and both must be skilled gardeners because the landscaping is gorgeous. Would we go back again? We have, many times, and will continue to do so. We are frequent travelers and Old Thyme Inn has earned our highest recommendation. • Liked — The Innkeepers; the rooms, the food, the location. • Disliked — Can't seem to find anything like it on the East Coast. Darn!


Hospitality: Form Without Substance?

5 on March 27, 2010

"Hospitality". A quaint, almost old school notion. One, nevertheless, always hoped for, but seldom delivered. Officially defined as a noun, (“person", "place" or "thing”, right?), we all encounter it in endless advertising shouts. As a professional photographer, I travel with some frequency and have often found that particular “noun” to be just a “thing”. More like a 2D description of "possible future service”; it thrives in glossy brochures, but not often enough in our world. “Hospitality”, (the 3D/iMAX version!), would clearly be a Verb as it represents the delivery of commitments; a series of promises-in-motion, governing every minute of every guest’s stay. Well and truly delivered, it can so effectively set the stage for return visits...and those magic referrals. My Webster defines it as “…the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way”. I’ve had the good fortune of visiting the quaint seaside village of Half Moon Bay, CA., and staying at the charming Old Thyme Inn several times. Evident to me after my first meeting with Innkeepers, Rick & Kathy Ellis, Webster must have had folks just like those two pros in mind when he penned that definition. It precisely describes my every visit: Promises kept.


Old Tyme Inn-Outstanding

5 on October 14, 2008

this was our first time at a B&B and what an outstanding experience. From the beautiful rooms, to the gourmet breakfasts, to the lush garden, it will be hard to top this experience.


A frequent B&B visitor

3.0 on October 04, 2008

We've stayed at alot of B&B's so perhaps our expectations are very high. Old Thyme Inn was very nice but we maybe expected more. It was difficult to take a shower in a bathtub with a hand shower.


Best B&B In Half Moon Bay!

5 on September 05, 2008

This was our first trip to Half Moon Bay and we wanted to make it a perfect experience. After spending a great deal of time investigating all of the B&B’s and reading the reviews for the Half Moon Bay area, we decided on the Old Thyme Inn, and are we glad that we did! Kathy and Rick are exceptional hosts. We were greeted upon our arrival and shown all the niceties of this extraordinary Victorian Inn. We were shown to our room and a explanation of all the luxuries that it included. The room was over-the-top with every detail taken into consideration. Wine and cheese was graciously served in the parlor at 5:00pm. Rick was very happy to make us a reservation at one of the best restaurants in town (Pasta Moon) and offer any assistance that we needed. Breakfast was entirely homemade, extremely delicious and served in our room. While the Garden Room is the most expensive room available, it is well worth the price. With a private entrance, featherbed, French linens, and fresh flowers it is extremely romantic. I have stayed in many hotels in the US and Europe and even at the price of the Garden Room it fully exceeded any 5 star accommodations that I have experienced. You won’t be disappointed!


what a find

4.6 on June 01, 2008

Living in san fransisco its nice to have a place close to home like this....y girlfriend and I had a very romantic time here. The whirlpool tub, and fireplace in the room really added to the wonderful atmoshere that surrounds Half moon find....Old Thyme Inn is a great find!


Wonderful Experience for a First Timer

4.6 on April 03, 2008

I stayed here for two nights during a driving vacation. This was my first time at a b&b (have since stayed at one other) and REALLY enjoyed it.


Great place for a honeymoon

5 on July 08, 2007

I stayed there for my honeymoon and it was wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone without reservation.


Perfect!

5 on January 05, 2007

My husband stayed at the Old Thyme Inn and we absolutly loved it! It doesn't compare to other B&B's, I would go back (and plan to) in a heartbeat! Highly recommended!


Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $349
  • Reviews (41) 4.4
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6507261616
  • Fax 1-6507266394
  • Toll free 1-8007204277

Visit Website »

View details

Top