The Cub Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
163 Reviews

Write A Review

Friendly home away from home

4.8 on October 13, 2014

Wonderful experience, the hosts are warm and friendly, we felt like family.


Our Stay at the Cub Inn

5 on October 04, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at the Cub Inn and look forward to returning. Joe, Charleen, the family pets and the other guests were absolutely charming. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! We will definitely return and hopefully next time with our adult sons. Dennis and Loretta


Like staying with a friend

5 on October 03, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Cub Inn.. The house and room were lovely, the owner is very friendly and the communal breakfast was a great way to start the morning!


Lovely log cabin accomadation

4.8 on September 01, 2014

Our host Joe was very welcoming and we soon settled into our very nice en suite room.Great breakfast with home cooking and good coffee.Interesting place to stay and very highly recommended bed and breakfast.


Great Value

4.8 on September 01, 2014

If you are looking to stay near Yosemite, this is a great value. Our room (Clara's) was clean and comfortable. Joe (Our Host) cooked a wonderful breakfast and the house is lovely. You can't go wrong and it is less expensive than staying in the park.


Wonderful stay!

4.8 on August 27, 2014

Without a doubt the cutest place and welcoming of our entire vacation. The manager is very interesting and kind: we waited till late in the morning, during an awesome breakfast gave us all infocentre necessary for a perfect visit to the park. The awakening with deer leaves you speechless and the cats and the dog are wonderful. Thanks


Marvelous hosts, with generous hospitality.

4.2 on August 12, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Cub Inn during the warmest days of summer 2014. Joe and Char are casual, very generous, and engaging hosts; their knowledge of the area and Yosemite proved valuable and accurate. The pets, both domestic and wild, add to the ambience and family-like feel of the stay. The local deer seem to enjoy the hospitality of our hosts as well; we were treated to several visits of charming mule deer families while having morning coffee on the deck! I have only one caution, if one is allergic to cats, perhaps a different venue would suit you better; the cats are everywhere, and though discouraged from entering guest rooms, the cat allergens are hard to avoid.


Excellent hospitality

4.6 on August 11, 2014

We had a great experience with Cub Inn. Amazin Breakfast !


Very good stay

5 on July 30, 2014

The house was cozy and the service was outstanding. Joe stayed up to wait for us when we had to take a long detour and arrived very late. The only thing to note is that there are cats and a dog in the house that was not mentioned anywhere on the website - may be a surprise for someone who is allergic. But otherwise everything is great.

Innkeeper Response
Hello. Thanks for your review of The Cub Inn B&B. We always try to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and the reviews really help us to improve our offerings. I was happy to accommodate your late arrival due to the El Portal Fire in Yosemite and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us; we enjoyed meeting and getting to know you too. Regarding the Dog and Cats not being listed on our website, I included an entire paragraph about our pets and other creatures that live up here in the forest, specifically for the purpose of informing anyone with severe allergies to be very aware of what they'll find here and in the local environment: http://www.thecubinn.com/index.htm is the location of that paragraph, on our Home Page. We want everyone who stays here to have a great experience and, even if it means staying somewhere else, we want everyone to have a great experience while in the Sierra Nevada Mountains and Yosemite National Park. thanks again for your review and comments. Joe Riley, Innkeeper


Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful

4.8 on July 27, 2014

Stayed 3 days in July At The Cub Inn B&B in Char's Room - What a great experience. From the beginning, the hosts were cordial and very friendly. We were given a great recommendation for dinner (The PML Grill Restaurant) and enjoyed late evening wine and cheese with other guests and our hosts. Char's Room is spacious and well appointed. While there are 4 kitties in the house (and Cubby, the dog) we found the ground floor location pleasant with no liter odor. The QS bed was firm with a modern pillow-top and very comfortable. Char's Room has the only "antique" in the house, a 100 year old claw-foot bathtub. Mornings are greeted with deer, right at our doorstep, what a treat! I knew from previous reviews that Joe's breakfasts were legendary but our breakfast was even better - eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, strawberries ---- the works. Needless to say, we'll be back. Can't wait.


NIce Folks, however...

3.0 on July 24, 2014

The Folks at Cub Inn are super nice. My sister ended up sleeping on floor because the bed was so uncomfortable The hallway and entrance to Char's room smell like cat urine. The breakfast was set at 8 am with no flexibility, not my idea of a vacation.


"Mi casa es su casa."

3.8 on July 17, 2014

My family, friend and I recently stayed a couple of nights at the Cub Inn B&B and enjoyed our stay there. The rooms and breakfast met our expectations, which were high. What we didn't expect was the extras that Joe provided us without an extra charge. As we were going on a 6 hour hike on the Panorama Trail, Joe made sure we left with full stomachs with a hearty breakfast and provided us with fruit and the makings for sandwiches to take with us on the hike. We didn't expect that and it was much appreciated. We also appreciated the opportunity to wash some of our soiled clothes from that day, again without nickel and diming us. That too was appreciated. The hot water felt great in the showers. The beds were comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. Joe was very friendly and is quite knowledgeable about many things. An easy person to converse with and listen to. We gladly recommend staying at the Cub Inn.


If I Could Give 6 Stars...

5 on July 02, 2014

I would. Simply outstanding. If you like log cabins with a home-type atmosphere, you will enjoy the Cub Inn. The room was very comfortable, the log and slate shower simply amazing. We were greeted the next morning by deer in the yard. The innkeepers Joe and Charlene are as friendly and helpful as you will meet. In our one night stay we met guests from Canada, New Zealand and Span. Joe's breakfasts are great but his stories are even better.


Top Notch B&B

4.6 on July 01, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay, and I normally prefer a hotel, but this was a terrific alternative. Beautiful new home located in a natural wooded setting complete with tame deer grazing on the property. Joe Riley, the proprietor was very friendly and helpful, giving us very good tips on how to make the most of our trip to Yosemite. The location was very good too. Only 24 miles from the entrance to the Park. Our room was named "Pam" and it was very clean and spacious.


Enjoyable vacation

5 on June 30, 2014

We only spent one night at the Cub Inn, but it was very memorable. Char and Joe are superb hosts. Cohost Cubby, the Bull Terrier, and her cat buddies provided gentle entertainment. The wild "pet" deer were also a plus. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Each one had a huge beautiful bathroom. Our fellow guests included a German couple and an English couple. They are less than an hour from Yosemite. Great accommodations and company topped off by Joe's secret Crepe recipe for breakfast. We highly recommend the Cub Inn. Jim and Barb Blaine Springfield MO


Beautiful location, service could be improved

3.0 on June 24, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Cub Inn. The house is beautiful and the location is really great for people that love nature. They offer a tasty complimentary breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs and pancakes. Only negative point was that the breakfast hours are not flexible. If you want to leave early to visit the National Park this could be a problem. For 150$ a night you could expect a little bit more service. The owner was quite nice and you feel very welcome but his wife seemed not to interested in the guests - she did not say hello or talk to us at all when she passed by.


Great location, accomodation and host

4.6 on June 16, 2014

From the drive through Yesomite inlcuding the stunning views and weather to arriing at this cute and amazing log house the whole stay was perfect. Upon arrival we were greeting by the friendly Joe, Char, Cubby the dog and a couple of cats! After a hot shower following our 9 hour drive from Vegas, Joe provided us with a few recommendations for dinner - we ended up going ot the local golf course which was only a few minutes away (amazing food and views!). Breakfast in the morning was a family affair with all 7 guests ad Joe sat around the table for home made crepes with all the trimmings!! If you are looking for a family run B&B with the most stunning views and friendly hosts then this is the place....we would highly reccommend. Thanks you again. Adam and Nicola.


Paradise at The Cub Inn

5 on May 11, 2014

If there was a 6 star category this B & B belongs there. Proprietor Joe Riley accommodated our every desire. Joe provided a warm homey environment with easy, lively, enjoyable conversation. Every breakfast was a work of art. The cuisine reflected the reality that Joe clearly remembered evening chats in which we talked about our favorite foods. The Cub Inn is as close to the feeling of being in your own home as you'll ever find for you B & B aficionados. Yosemite Valley is one hour drive which is no small consideration when selecting this site. We're already planning our next visit.


Delightful stay

4.2 on May 06, 2014

Joe and Charlene made us feel like long time friends instead of guests. They graciously shared their home and served a most delicious breakfast including fresh squeezed orange juice. The home is charming.


Great Place & very nice people

4.6 on April 14, 2014

The place is near Yosemite and a great get away for vacation.


We loved it here!

5 on March 17, 2014

Joe and Char were such great innkeepers! We loved getting to know them and hearing Joe's stories about Vietnam. The house itself was spectacular and gorgeous. The rooms were very clean and cutely decorated. Breakfast was delicious! We will be coming back for sure!


Loved our romantic getaway in the pines...

5 on March 17, 2014

We stayed in Karla's room downstairs, enjoyed a luxurious bubble bath after a long day of touring the local sights, Joe and Char are just absolutely wonderful, make you feel like you are at a home away from home! We loved our time at the inn, cannot wait to stay again, will never stay anywhere else if we come out that way again, it was a WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, and Joe's breakfast is by far the best in town!


Super personal, feels like visiting friends, great memories

4.8 on March 13, 2014

This place is a bit hidden, which makes it all the more worth going to. The owners are super nice and have built a truly wonderful house in the midst of trees with a definite flair for aviation. If you are a pilot, you'll feel at home right away. Don't know yet when I'll be back in the area, but will definitely try to stay here again. Yosemite Valley is about an hours drive away, but unless you camp in the valley, there are not many options that get you closer anyway, and this is definitely nicer than the 'barracks' a bit closer to the park.


GREAT B&B near Yosemite

5 on February 19, 2014

The Cub Inn is a GREAT retreat and Joe Riley and Charleen Beam are wonderful hosts. The atmosphere is warm, welcoming and relaxing. A Home away from Home and the hustle of the city. We would recommend "The Cub Inn" to anyone!!!


Grand New Year stay

4.4 on January 18, 2014

Very relaxing and beautiful.


Great spot, extremely friendly and outgoing host

4.0 on January 13, 2014

Joe Riley is a warm and friendly host who makes a delicious breakfast. Be prepared to have your ear talked off :) The rooms are nice, either downstairs or upstairs form the main floor where the hosts live. Three cats and a bull terrier make for friendly companions.


December 2013

4.8 on January 02, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Cub Inn in December 2013. The innkeepers are fascinating, warm, and friendly, the accommodations are very comfortable and true to the photos, the inn is conveniently located to town and the Yosemite gate on 120, and the innkeeper's pets are a delight! Highly recommended for a casual, comfortable stay and you can definitely trust their recommendations for local dining options. We will be back!


You have breakfast with deers!

4.2 on December 04, 2013

Beautiful house in the woods. The owners are very kind and the breakfast was amazing.


Secluded Mountain Getaway

4.6 on December 04, 2013

"The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast is a quiet but magical retreat into the beautiful Sierras. We received a very warm welcome from Joe, the innkeeper, who treated us like family during our stay. The property is within 30-45 minute drive of Yosemite Valley floor, and just far enough from the valley to provide a peaceful space away from the crowds. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts, giant fireplace and most of all Joe's adorable bull terrier named Cubby. A wonderful place to escape and get some rest & relaxation!"


Our first night stopover into Yosemite

5 on December 04, 2013

Myself and my partner Paul had a one night stay at the wonderful Cub Inn, which was a great introduction to our travels through Yosemite and Death Valley. Joe and Cubby (the really friendly bull terrier) welcomed us, and later we met the equally accommodating Charleen. Very friendly atmosphere from the hosts, in a great woodland house, surrounded by inquisitive deer. We had Char's room on the ground floor which was perfect and comfortable. Joe lent us a flashlight and a stick to beat off the mountain lions on our way into town to get some grub (i suspect he was just trying to make out jaunt a little more adventurous - us English need some excitement in our lives). We got up for an early start but Joe persuaded us to stay for a very hearty breakfast of pancakes, egg, bacon, sausage and more. We're glad we did as it set us up for the day. A good homely retreat like this did seem a bit far and few between on our travels so definitely a great place to stay! Thanks Joe and Charleen!


Womderful Stay!

5 on December 03, 2013

Char and Joe truly make you feel welcome . The home is comfortable and charming. Large comfy rooms w/ really good beds and pillows. Swesome country breakfasts.Will go there again!


Definitely would come back.

4.8 on November 04, 2013

Highly recommended! Beautiful and clean cabin, with one of the best prices you can find in the area. Joe and Charleen are superb hosts.


Natural beauty and an Inn to enjoy

4.6 on October 21, 2013

Joe was a great host and very thoughtful and accomodating. Our stay was so comfortable and a retreat from our weariness about other traveling challenges. It felt like a home away from home in a fantastic log home with all the comforts and welcoming amenities. The setting and the home built for guests was just outstanding! Thanks Joe


Lovely log B&B

5 on October 19, 2013

We spent a very pleasant 2 nights at the Cub Inn. Joe was a fun and gracious host and prepared hardy breakfasts each morning. Getting to see deer from our bedroom window was a real treat!!!


Perfect!

5 on October 08, 2013

Just a delightful place ... nice folks, great dog. Wish we had stayed longer.


Suprising Cabin

4.6 on October 07, 2013

A huge hand made cabin. Everything is made by wood.


Best B and B experience!

5 on September 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nites in Sept. We enjoyed visiting with Joe and Char, great hosts. Breakfast was outstanding each morning! Joe gave us great tips on where to hike and visit in the park. GREAT EXPERIENCE, HIGHLY RECOMMEND,


The Cub Inn in September

3.8 on September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Cub Inn while visiting Yosemite.


A Fantastic Stay at the Cub Inn!

5 on August 21, 2013

This was our second stay in two months at this wonderful inn. The owners, Joe & Char are warm, friendly & such gracious hosts! They make you feel as though you have been life-time friends from the moment you first meet them. You truly feel at home in their incredible log home. Very clean, scenic & serene setting. We have recommended The Cub Inn highly to family & friends and are looking to our next stay. The Cub Inn & it's owners are a true testimony to what B&B lodging is all about!


very friendly

4.2 on August 21, 2013

We did not dine there, Joe, the owner was very nice with all of us, even with my 9 years old girl, he was smiling and his coffee is excellent


Lovely Accommodations

4.2 on August 08, 2013

We had a great time. Our room was very clean, roomy, and beautiful. Owners are helpful and welcoming while giving you your own space. Breakfasts were great and the location set in the trees is the perfect getaway. My only warning is that staying on the bottom floor you definitely hear people walking around in the evening and early mornings, so unless you are a deep sleep bring earplugs or reserve the upstairs room


The Cub Inn

4.6 on August 08, 2013

Joe always displays hospitality and genuine attention. He says Mi Casa is Su Casa and means it. Very flexible and tolerates late returns with grace. For a homefelt welcome highly recommended. Cheryle


Great B&B!

3.8 on August 05, 2013

Joe was a fantastic host and went out of his way to accommodate us and our 2 dogs that made the trip with us. Breakfast was great, Joe made sure everyone was well fed. We only stayed 1 night but will definitely keep them in mind the next time were headed to Yosemite.


Two night honeymoon stay at the Cub Inn

5 on August 05, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Cub Inn for our honeymoon. We were visiting Yosemite for the first time and wanted to stay somewhere close to the park. We were blown away by the Cub Inn. For starters, it's a beautiful log home tucked into the hillside in the outskirts of Groveland. We stayed in Lauren's room, one of two rooms upstairs. The room was immaculate, very large, and very comfortable. We basically had a quiet little suite all to ourselves, with a huge bathroom, complete with a large slate-tiled shower, a sitting area in our room, and a comfortable queen bed. The house was cool (central A/C) despite the temps closing in on 100 degrees outside. Joe and Charlene made us feel comfortable right from the start. They don't really have an "owners quarters" in the house, so their kitchen and living room is the one we used. They were warm and sweet, gave great local restaurant recommendations and were very knowledgeable about Yosemite (places to go, hikes to take, etc). Joe cooked a dynamite breakfast every morning. There were multiple cats and one dog in the house. My husband and I are both allergic to cats but had no problem during our stay. The cats were kept out of the bedrooms and the house had hardwood floors. The dog was an absolute sweetheart. This might not be the B&B for you if you are opposed to animals, but we loved having the dog to come home to at night, and the cats didn't bother us at all. This was the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at, and if we are lucky enough to return to Yosemite sometime soon, we'll definitely be staying at the Cub Inn.


One night only.

4.0 on August 03, 2013

We only stayed 1 night as we were on a road trip in California. We arrived late afternoon after a day in Yosemite, the door was open and we were greeted by Joe and Cubby (the dog). We were made to feel at home straight away and shown to our room, which was upstairs and very spacious as there was 3 of us. Joe recommended The Grill to eat at which was at the golf club 5 mins away. When we came back we met up with other travellers and were offered wine and nibbles and had a good chat. Breakfast was superb with fresh fruit, eggs,bacon, biscuits and gravy, juice, tea or coffee, and we all ate around the big table in the kitchen. We thoroughly recommend The Cub Inn and wish we had longer in this beautiful town of Groveland.


Very cozy Place

4.0 on July 29, 2013

Wyatt & Lauren


Lovely B&B with access to Yosemite

4.2 on July 27, 2013

I really enjoyed the two night stay at The Cub B&B. Joe and Char were very welcoming, offering wine and ice-cream each evening when I got home from Yosemite. I really enjoyed the cats and dog too - this is the not the place for people who are not pet lovers!


Natural B&B

5 on July 25, 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay. Mr. Riley was a precious guide for Yosemite. Deers every morning at my door.We hope that one day we will go back.


Family Reunion

5 on July 18, 2013

We utilized The Cub Inn as a substitute for our home while hosting a family reunion. The owners and staff went above and beyond to accommodate everyone and their needs. They were compassionate and joyful with their interactions with even the most difficult of family needs. We highly recommend them for an enjoyable experience of a weekend stay (near Yosemite) or hosting a group gathering. We will be using them again in the future. By-the-way, the porch furniture has been upgraded from the photo to be a comfortable and more cozy sit for a nice afternoon conversation and cool beverage on a hot day.


AWESOME!

5 on July 13, 2013

The Cub Inn is the perfect location for a visit to Yosemite. And Char and Joe are the BEST hosts anywhere! At the end of a long, wonderful day at Yosemite, what could be better than hanging out under the stars on their deck!! Can't wait to re-visit! Jim & Gail Lomonaco.


Great place!

5 on July 12, 2013

Absolutely a great B&B. Phenomenal breakfast. Rooms cleaner than clean, the house is a masterpiece.


Their Home becomes your home

5 on July 09, 2013

Great Log Cabin, Joe & Char's Home becomes your home when you stay.......Highly recommend staying their. The town of Groveland is very quaint.......Gotta go have a drink at the Iron Door just to see the ceiling. You will know what I mean when you see it............


Cub Inn-- Best B&B for pilots!

5 on July 07, 2013

The Riley's have a lovely place. Hospitality is first rate. Both are pilots and love hosting other pilots and their families. Joe was CH-47 pilot in Vietnam War and has a lot of great stories.


A truly lovely stay

5 on July 06, 2013

My parents and I stayed with Joe and Charlene at the Cub's Inn for our three day visit to Yosemite. Upon arrival, we were truly wowed by the beautiful log cabin, the decors, and the friendlies little bully dog and his cat companions. The room Charlene showed us to was a beautiful spot with quilted covers she made herself. It was spacious for a room for three; everything was clean and tidy, and very comfy. Instead of laying breakfast out on the table for the guests, Joe let us know that he would be hosting breakfast every morning at 8AM. We ate at the table while chatting up with other guests. Joe cooked from the open kitchen, sharing many stories and tips about the park. It was such a lovely time that really brought everyone together. And the breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Highly recommend for Yosemite trips to come. I would go again :)


The Cub Inn and Joe are AMAZING!

5 on July 05, 2013

The Cub Inn is a phenomenal place to stay. The house is beautiful, the owners are incredibly friendly, everything is clean and comfortable, and nothing beats a home-cooked breakfast! Plus, Cubby the bull terrier and the four cats are great cuddly additions too. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while exploring Yosemite!


Fantastic weekend!

4.8 on July 04, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Cub Inn. We had a fantastic time! Joe made a huge breakfast both days of our stay which powered us for our long hike in the national park. We really enjoyed our trip.


Awesome!

4.8 on July 03, 2013

Amy and I had a great time staying at the Cub Inn. Was a beautiful place and exactly what we were looking for. Will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.


Log house B & B

4.2 on June 16, 2013

Lovely log house with friendly pets and host. The home had a collection of unique pieces on display or as furniture.


Eat at Joe's!

5 on June 10, 2013

Joe's breakfasts were the icing on the cake for a very enjoyable 4-day stay at their charming and comfortable home. Their hospitality and the wooded seclusion made for a great visit to the Yosemite area. Joe's local knowledge kept us from missing some great sites that we might not have seen otherwise.


Feels like staying with your uncle in his vacation house

5 on May 30, 2013

For Joe the innkeeper, the Cub inn is a labor of love; a post retirement gig. This makes chatting with him a lot of fun. He constantly gives you tips on how to plan your vacation in Yosemite. He is exceptionally accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was awesome. We plan to stay with Joe when we go back again to Yosemite


On our way to Yosemite

4.8 on May 28, 2013

We looked at B&B's close to Yosemite so we could enjoy the park without a lot of driving on the days of our adventure. We could not have picked a finer place to stay! It is tucked back in the quiet woods off of Hywy 120 about 25 miles from Yosemite. Five bedrooms, very clean, giant day room / kitchen / eating area. Library, wrap around balcony for kicking back. Joe, our host, knows what he is doing. He puts out a hearty breakfast, checks that you have good shoes for the park, suntan lotion, insect spray, instructions for anyway you want to tackle the valley, and a variety of hats to keep from getting sunburned. Joe is a Vet. and gives veterans a discount and a "welcome home". We've been enjoying B&B's for over 30 years and this is one of the best! Wes & Nancy Tang


Loved our stay!

5 on May 15, 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect and the company was even better!! We truly felt like we were staying with family but enjoyed the food, comfort, privacy and scenery of Joe and Char's home !


Joe, Charleen and pets.

4.6 on May 02, 2013

You would be hard pressed to meet a nicer couple. It is true what other reviews have said about this place and Joe Charleen. You start as friends, and you leave as family. The breakfast meals are a treat. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. And if you like pets, there are cats and 1 dog.


quatre nuits en cube inn

4.4 on April 08, 2013

l'endroit ou il fallait être. la gentilesse,les chambres, les petits déjeuners consequents, les chevreuils sans peurs, la proximité de yosemite mais également d'anciens villages de chercheurs d'or, et enfin les conseils, nous ont permis de passer un séjour plein de découvertes et d'emerveillement grand merci et à très vite


Spring 2013 visit

5 on March 29, 2013

Joe & Char made us right at home.


Like a visit with family you actually like!!

4.8 on January 25, 2013

From the moment you open te door you feel like you stepped into your favorite uncles beautiful mountain top cabin. Joe and Char greet you with open arms and huge smiles and bring you in and welcome you in as one of there own family!!! From questions on the best spots in Yosemite, to a gut busting good ole traditional, fresh made breakfast every morning, these two have it down pat!!! I've enjoyed there hospitality twice now and will be returning for years to come!!!


Great place, great hosts

4.4 on January 24, 2013

Well, what can I say, the place exceeded my expectations in all respects, and I am typically a tough customer. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone, especially if you have some time to spare on those long winter evenings. It's about a 30 minutes drive from Yosemite's entrance gate, but what you get here is a personal touch you won't find in any of the park lodges. Be prepared to spend some time with the hosts as they are a lovely couple and they like to share their stories with you. We even got treated to wine and cheese on one of the nights, and that's in addition to a gigantic breakfast each morning. One piece of warning: they have several pets, so if you're allergic to cats or dogs make sue to take your pills with you.


Enter as strangers, leave as friends..........

4.2 on January 21, 2013

Joe and Char were the perfect hosts. We entered as strangers and left as friends. My husband and I got married in Yosemite 10 years ago and we wanted to return to celebrate our anniversary, and this was a wonderful place to do just that. Joe and Char go out of their way to make sure their guests feel warm and welcome. There was always a cheese tray and a bottle of wine awaiting our return at the end of the day. Joe is a master in the kitchen makes the best waffles I have ever tasted. Seriously! They do have cats and a dog (wonderful creature cubby is!) so please know this if you have allergies, however just a note to consider; my husband has the worst cat allergies known to man and he was not bothered one time by any of these cats, so thats says a lot about The mornings will find you gazing at the family of deer that come up - as if to say hello. Joe and Char prefer to run their inn as though you are guests in their home. The common area is their living room, which I found lovely. I enjoyed a morning lingering Char while I crocheted - it felt like I was lingering in her 'lovely living room' with a cup of tea. That's the way they like it and that is the biggest part of the Cub Inn's charm in my opinion. We cannot wait to go back and visit our 'new friends, even our new 'furry ones'.


Love the J3Cub and The Cub Inn in beautiful Groveland, gateway to Yosemite

5 on December 08, 2012

Our friends, Suzie and Wayne and Jan and Tom, from Washington state recently stayed two to four days at your lovely B&B. They were very impressed with your hospitality, friendly critters, engaged conversations, beautiful rooms and woodsy surroundings and just a wonderful experience. Thank you so much for hosting our out-of-town guests and making them feel so welcome. Your log cabin B&B is very impressive, especially knowing how much love and labor you both put into it. Thank you and enjoy your beautiful log cabin, with many more new guests to meet and new experiences to come. Janet & Charlie Black J3Cub Lovers and Groveland Part-time residents


Country getaway

5 on October 29, 2012

We were not disappointed. Joe and Char at The Cub Inn are great hosts. From their warm greeting to their abundant hospitality we were well cared for. Thank you.


a great find!

4.2 on October 01, 2012

A brilliant place to stay and very handy for Yosemite. Joe was a fantastic host, really enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the park and local attractions.


Great stay!

4.0 on September 22, 2012

The setting of the B&B is beautiful and Joe and Charleen were wonderful hosts. The rooms were large and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. My wife and I heartily recommend this B&B.


Great place to stay

4.2 on September 13, 2012

Together with our son and daughter we stayed at this beautiful Inn for three days this past July. We had a lovely time. Joe, the innkeeper, made us feel welcome and at home. Every morning, we gathered around the big table in the living area for his excellent breakfasts and some entertaining conversation. The early risers amongst us had already enjoyed a coffee outside on the deck by then, observing the many deer that showed up for reasons only known to Joe (maybe the watermelon leftovers had something to do with it... ). The room upstairs was spacious and cosy, though a bit hot. The room downstairs was not as beautiful but much cooler! We noticed that the window downstairs could do with a good splash but on the whole the B&B was kept nice and clean. The family cats are friendly and lovable. The dog was downright funny! The drive to Yosemity is a little over an hour which didn't bother us. We would love to come back some time!


Cub Inn Rocks!

5 on September 06, 2012

I had decided, on the spur of the moment, to take a little trip. Googled "Inns in Groveland, CA" and the Cub Inn showed up as the second listing. What an amazing trip I had -- and most ly due to the warmth, hospitality, and just plan old fun I had with Char & Joe. You could not ask for a better place with comfort AND good value!


Lucky to have found you

4.0 on September 06, 2012

Beautiful retreat with fantastic hosts who could not be more welcoming or accommodating. Be prepared to make friends with the dog and cats too ;-)


Nice location and friendly host

4.0 on August 23, 2012

Stayed one night. Clean room, comfortable bed. Awesome breakfast with never ending pancakes, plenty of eggs, strawberries, sausage, watermelon, oj, tea. Plus wake up to wildlife, (deer). Very nice host, accommodating, sincere, and memorable. Would stay here again.


The Cub Inn B&B - Awesome!

4.8 on August 23, 2012

We absolutely LOVED this place! Not only were the inn keepers lovely people but the B&B itself offered a very "homelike" feel and it was breathtakingly beautiful. We stayed in the Lauren's Room and the bathroom was awesome! We'd definitely stay there again!


Home away from home at The Cub Inn

3.8 on August 22, 2012

Married couple - in 30's. The rooms were beautiful and big - we were in Lauren's Room, but saw 2 of the other rooms and all were equally spacious and nicely decorated. The beds were big, sheets crisp and clean. The bathroom was spotless and had a great shower and nice products also. It would have been nice to have a fridge and a kettle to ourselves in our room, but this is being very picky! The service from Joe was exceptional. He went out of his way to make sure we had a good time and had everything we needed. His breakfast was wonderful - eggs, bacon, beans, sausages, toast, waffles, strawberries, watermelon, coffee, juice - you name it, he'll find it for you! Fills you up nicely before a long walk in the National Park. The lovely long dining table meant for great conversation over breakfast with new friends - be careful though, you could easily get stuck there discussing the ways of the world and miss the park entirely. The Inn has been designed beautifully and we enjoyed being surrounded by wood, impressed by the huge fireplace and floor to ceiling windows that bring the outdoors in. Groveland is very quaint and The Cub Inn a reasonable distance to the park entrance, about 30 mins. We will certainly be returning.


A weekend in PARADISE

4.6 on August 19, 2012

This was the perfect little getaway place, nestled away in the woods of Groveland, right outside the entrance to Yosemite on route 120. You can enjoy the deer that religiously come through the property to forage and if that doesn't brighten up your morning, the smell of bacon lofting through the house will. We had a wonderful local dinner at the Charlotte, which is five mins away from the Cub Inn door. Local wines and a local specials dinner list make this my new favorite getaway. I can not say enough good things about The Cub Inn... You have to see for yourself!


Yosemite

3.4 on August 10, 2012

Our stay was fine, but we were disconcerted by the cats on/near the counter tops. If you don't love animals, this is not your spot.


Incredible experience at the Cub Inn!!!

5 on July 30, 2012

We realy felt at home; it is a cozy and beautiful place!!! Deers every morning outside of our window; excelent breakfast and great hosts!!! I had the opportunity to meet and share with other guests. I strongly recommend it!!!


Nature - Simple - Clean - Welcoming

3.4 on July 21, 2012

Nice B&B and welcoming people. We were welcome to roam around the house (actually encouraged) and stay in the kitchen/living room area as if it was our house. Open the fridge, take a drink etc ... Also, it was nice to refresh ourselves with a drink when we got there, and the host did prepare a plate of cheese, crackers at that time, just like if we were her family coming over. We had a room downstairs, it was clean and modern (brand new and good taste), with no luxury necessarily, but that is what we like. We've met some other tenants, it was nice. We didn't mind but know that there is roaster that likes to sing, however it wasn't there in the morning. Cats/Dog and deer on premise. Place in the middle of the wood, just a 1/4 mile from the main drag to Yosemite. Breakfast good and simple (pancakes, eggs, bacon, juice ...), and abundant (no limit). A breakfast just like you would do if you would receive some friends over. One item to watch out. We said that we were going to leave early, but we left 1 hour after we said mostly due to breakfast cook telling cool stories instead of cooking :-) .... hey, that was fine, that's what vacation is about. We would go back there. To me, what I liked the most was that it was simple but nice and warm welcome, truly meant. We liked it a lot.


Beautiful stay with super nice hosts

5 on July 16, 2012

Charleen and Jo, we thank you for a wonderful stay in your beautiful house. We slept like babies in the quiet surroundings. We loved it very much and will recommend everybody to spend a few nights in your house. Thank you !!!!! Claudia and Stefan


A great place to stay

4.6 on July 02, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent, the food great but most importantly our host Joe made the stay all the more interesting. I would recommend the Cub Inn to anyone and would certainly stay there again if in the area.


Lovely place to stay, fantastic hosts with an excellent breakfast!

4.4 on June 29, 2012

Joe and Charleen were very friendly and helpful hosts making us feel very welcome throughout our 2 night stay. The breakfasts were excellent, the best we had on our 3 week trip around California. Groveland is a very pleasant town and the Cub Inn is an excellent place to stay for anyone wishing to explore Yosemite.


Our stay at teThe Cub Inn

5 on June 27, 2012

We arrived on Friday to be greeted by Joe and Char. We hit it off and found out we had lots in common. Our room was spacious and our private bath too. Loved the quilts! The Inn was quiet for sleeping. The deer were out and around the Inn it seemed at all times. Breakfast was great and plentiful. Nice to chat with other guests. We really enjoyed ourselves. Art and Linda B.


We truly enjoyed our stay!

4.8 on June 24, 2012

The Host were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We would defaintely recommend this beautiful B&B.


Great springboard to Yosemite

4.4 on June 21, 2012

An excellent B&B close to Yosemite. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The breakfasts were hearty and well prepared. Joe is very friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful Discovery

5 on June 16, 2012

Delightful place, delightful people, congenial hosts and delicious breakfasts! The highlight of our stay was the appearance of the clan of deer (about 6 in number) who inhabited the yard with fearlessness and beauty and let us take picture after picture. We were also steered toward several really good places to eat our evening meals.


Cub Inn Groveland, CA

4.2 on June 11, 2012

Joe and Char were excellent hosts and we fell in love with their dog Cubbie.


One great B&B

5 on June 10, 2012

Outstanding B&B with outstanding innkeepers! We pulled into the Cub Inn late one evening after being stranded in a snow storm along the Tioga Pass Road for over two hours. Joe and Charleen welcomed us to their Inn, handed us glasses of wine and helped us order a pizza. After that we sat around their fireplace for the rest of the evening telling stories and reminiscing about the day's adventure. It was like being welcomed into the home of old friends. What else can I say about this wonderful B&B? Excellent accommodations, outstanding and ample breakfast accompanied by great conversations with our host and fellow guest. This one of the best B&B's my wife and I have stayed in both here and in Europe. You can't go wrong spending a few days at the Cub Inn!


I would highly recommend the Cub Inn!

4.6 on June 10, 2012

We had such a great time in Groveland, CA. There is so much to do, we will have to come back! and of course stay at The Cub Inn........it was the best.


Great stay, just like the pictures.

4.2 on June 04, 2012

Thouroughly enjoyed it. Nice, friendly, good quality cabin, very helpful. I highly recomend this B&B. Only item of note: I failed to notice the wirtten description on the website that indicated they have a dog and cats. I am allergic and had a rough time sleeping with asthma. Otherwise, awesome!


Spring Visit to Cub Inn

5 on June 03, 2012

Ideal B & B with access to Yosemite NP.


very welcoming

5 on May 25, 2012

We are repeat customers and were not disappointed in our return. Joe and Char are great to talk to, very courteous and considerate of their guests. We used their place as a base for day trips to Yosemite and Hetch Hetchy. We will be back and hungry for more of Joe's outstanding homemade sourdough bread!


Scenic location

3.8 on May 25, 2012

Owner is a wonderful host, very helpful and makes a tasty crepe!


Great Trip for Business and Pleasure

5 on May 23, 2012

Joe and Charlene are old friends and we have been promising a visit for several years. Their inn was fantastic as was their hospitality. One of our group had business in the area and Joe and Charlene went out of their way to accomodate his slightly diferent schedule and ours. My friend got his business completed while the rest of us really enjoyed the facility and the area.


It was like staying with friends!

5 on April 30, 2012

Joe and Char were excellent hosts. The breakfasts were hot and ready when we were, delicious and served at a huge plank wood table next to the beautiful kitchen. It seems the local deer were hungry at the same time as we were and ate carrots thrown from the deck! Joe and Char are very knowledgeable about the area and willing to share that information. Our time there was actually more than just an experience, it was a memory that we have raved about with friends.


The Magical Inn in the Forest

4.6 on April 28, 2012

The Cub Inn was one of the best places to stay we ever been to. It has a great location if you plan to visit Yosemite and is surrounded by aged trees and it feels magical. Our hosts was so kind and caring and we really miss them and their friendly pets. We'll definitely visit the Cub Inn again on our next trip to the Yosemite.


Like staying with longtime friends

5 on February 27, 2012

The Cub Inn's hosts, Joe and Char, could not have been more gracious and accommodating and their home is equally warm and welcoming. We had a great "mini-vacation," and the best recommendation we can give is that we will definitely be back the next time we head to Yosemite.


The Best B&B Ever!!

5 on February 07, 2012

This place makes you feel like you're home - and in a very good way. It's beautiful, comfortable and the Hosts, Joe and Charlene , are truly fantastic. We loved our stay!!


Cub Inn Review

3.0 on October 24, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 nights. Everything was as we expected. B-fast was great. Only surprise was cats and dogs. Not a problem for us, but others may want to know.


Beautiful getaway

5 on October 24, 2011

Wow! That was the first thought that entered my mind when I stepped into the Cub Inn and took in the open floor plan and the amazing view of the outdoors from the floor to ceiling windows in the living room. There is also a huge wrap around deck to enjoy the wooded scenery. The atmosphere at the Cub Inn is, "welcome to our home, sit down and relax". Joe and Char are the Inn's owner and were wonderful hosts and exceedingly helpful with suggestions on hiking trails and points of interest in Yosemite. Breakfast at the Inn is also a "family" affair. All the guests sit down together every morning, have breakfast and chat about what hikes we undertook the day before or plan to take that day. It was a nice way to get to know the other guests and enjoy the fantastic waffles, pancakes, biscuits and gravy or whatever delicious concoction Joe whips up that day. Overall, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to stay there again on our next trip to Yosemite. This B&B far exceeds any B&B experience we've had thus far.


Nice, perfecta estancia, gracias Joe

3.8 on October 16, 2011

Cercano a la entrada del parque, calida acogida, una buena cena con queso y vino. Un gran desayuno con gofres, revuelto, bacon, zumo, café o té, y fruta. Gracias!


Perfect Accomodation

4.8 on October 13, 2011

we stayed in Cub Inn for 2 nights in September 2011. Together with friends we bookes 2 rooms and we felt like home. It's really a nice house with very friendly hosts. I wish we will find a chance to come back at some point in time. Dining was not included, just breakfast.


Warm home, congenial hosts, lovely dog

4.6 on October 12, 2011

Charleen and Joe are lovely people, keep a beautiful and inviting home. Sitting by the fire, tossing carrots out to the local deer, playing with their adorable doggie or resting in the oh-so-comfortable bed - it was just a great place to stay. Convenient to Yosemite, great dining in Groveland. We'll be sure to go back again.


This is a great place to stay!

5 on October 12, 2011

This was the first time that my husband and I stayed in a B&B. I totally love this place. The rooms are beautiful and the innkeepers Joe and Charlee are very nice people. Also the food is delicious!!:) I totally recommend this B&B Another plus is only about 30 minutes far from Yosemite


Friendly in the forest

4.6 on October 11, 2011

Wonderful hosts and great atmosphere amongst the guests. We felt more at home here than anywhere else we stayed in California. The breakfasts are perfect to set you up for a day of hiking. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and if it doesn't make you want to start building a log cabin yourself as soon as you get home then I'll be amazed. Boring bits: they have cats (in case you are allergic!).


The Club Inn B & B

4.0 on October 11, 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay. The place was new, the food was great and the owners were a delight. We had deer greeting us in the morning outside our room window.


Our experience at The Cub Inn

3.6 on October 05, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cub Inn. We stayed for 5 nights. It was a good location to get to Yosemite.Joe and Charleen are great innkeepers. They made us feel very welcome. You don't go away hungry from breakfast. Joe makes a lot of good food. Joe and Charleen give great tips on Yosemite and the area around Groveland. The only thing I think that should be told to guest coming , is there are cats and a dog in the inn. We did not know this. We are animal lovers and it was not a problem for us.


Cub Inn B&B; Groveland CA

5 on October 02, 2011

Great B&B close to Yosemite National Park. Joe and Char are outstanding hosts who made us feel comfortable and at home away from home..."Cubbie", the resident Bull Terrier also made us feel quite welcome. Great advice on local attractions and eating establishments and what to do in Yosemite. We will definitely be back!


New friends

4.4 on September 28, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at the Cub Inn near Yosemite (about and hour drive from the Valley) with Joe and Char. They were wonderful hosts and we loved our visit and made many new friends including the resident dog, cats and occasional deer. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Joe made our breakfast each morning and it was nothing fancy but darn good eatin! Would go back in a minute!


Nice Location, Swell Hosts !

3.0 on September 26, 2011

An hour and a quarter from Yosemite Valley, it's hard to beat this B&B for accommodations and guest interactions. Unless you're good at driving the headlights & curves, don't plan to stay too late in Yosemite.


Very nice!

4.2 on September 24, 2011

We can highly recommend the Cub Inn. Our room was nice, and the inn-keepers were terrific! In a beautiful setting, and we definitely hope to return!


The Cub Inn was delightful

4.8 on September 19, 2011

Wonderful warm owners, cozy homey feel. Felt very welcome and was well taken care of! Nice comfortable room, Lovely setting as well. Close to all the action.


charming b&b

2.8 on September 15, 2011

awesome stay in the "middle of nowhere" surrounding with lovely animals !


A great place to stay!

5 on September 14, 2011

We stayed at the cub inn for only one night, we wish we could have stayed longer.


We loved this place!

4.4 on September 12, 2011

Joe and Charlene are wonderful hosts who truly want you to feel at home in their house. The house itself is gorgeous, new log construction that's absolutely stunning with beautiful soaring windows in the main room (living room, dining room and kitchen) surrounded on a three sides by a nice deck. The room we stayed in (Lauren's Room) was perfect, comfy bed and a lovely bathroom, very cosy! In the morning, we were greeted by families of deer wandering by. And, of course, their dog Cubby made the visit even more special. We would definitely go back!


cub inn

4.6 on September 11, 2011

we recently stayed one evening at the cub inn and are very sorry we couldnt stay longer. joe was wonderful, he made us feel at home, provided helpful local insight and was the perfect host. i have nothing negative to add. the drive from the valley is about 1.5 hours, and was longer than i expected, so keep this in mind.


amazing experience. Exceeded any expectations.

5 on September 09, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back to SF from our AMMAZZIINNG stay at the Cub Inn. Everything was absolutely perfect and completely exceeded our expectations. The house is a gorgeous, traditional log cabin with new remodeled guest rooms and a beautiful living room, kitchen, etc. The rates were just right...We stayed in a very cozy room downstairs, with a gorgeous remodeled bathroom and an awesome huge tub. Our bed was sooo nice! It was probably one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in at a hotel. Joe, the owner and his wife Char, are amazing hosts. They were extremely welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. We were pretty tired after coming back from hiking in Yosemite all day and Joe even offered to cook up some burgers for us. Also, if you are an animal lover, you will just love this place. They have a few cats, a puppy, and free ranging chickens and a family of deer outside. This was definitely the best Bed & Breakfast and yosemite/groveland area lodging experience we have ever had. I recommend the Cub inn to anyone looking to spend time in Yosemite or PML. I will definitely be coming back soon :)


The most enjoyable stay of all holiday

5 on September 05, 2011

In a spectacular location, a beautiful encounter with deers, a magnificent house with a cordial host and an awesome breakfast. Daniele


Great stay

4.0 on September 01, 2011

The innkeeper gave an excellent recomendation for dinner. Breakfast was awesome and the furnishings had a log cabin comfy feel. The inn was also easy to find and not far from Yosemite (120 entrance).


great place for a weekend get away

5 on August 31, 2011

I needed a place to stay for a short visit to Pine Mountain Lake; booked a room via The Cub Inn website. Jo picked me up at the airport (E45) where I had parked my aircraft; he is a very pleasant host just as enthusiastic about aviation as I am. The location is awesome, in a very quiet wooded area, great looking log cabin style house. Will definitely get there again for my next visit, highly recommended.


stay with friends

4.4 on August 30, 2011

unfortunately we spent only one night at the cub inn, but we felt like at home... a very beautiful home and the place is fantastic. joe is a great host.


A wonderful place to stay

4.8 on August 25, 2011

I had a great stay at the Cub Inn, the log cabin is a perfect environment for a Yosemite trip, the room was great with a clean bathroom, and the Inn Keeper Joe was so friendly and full of great information, he guided us throughout the entire Yosemite weekend. the INN is about 30 min to the Yosemite gate, 1 hour until you park and get out of your car.


Total Tranquility

5 on August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Cub Inn August of 2011 for two nights. The house itself is impressive....built in a forest lot- great natural log designed A frame home, plenty of room and the loft bedrooms upstairs are spacious, clean, private, well appointed with natural decor and very comfortable. The hosts Joe and Char were hospitable, easy going and they prepared delectable breakfasts along with entertaining company. The Inn itself is within a half hour of the gates to Yosemite so very convenient for visitors to the park. Would highly recommend this for your stay.


Great place to stay!

5 on August 11, 2011

Joe and Charlene are great hosts. It's a beautiful log cabin in a great location.


Weekend of 8/8

4.8 on August 10, 2011

The Log home was awesome. Right next to Pine Mountain in Groveland. All the rooms were very clean and Joe makes a delicious breakfast. Most of the other guests were from Europe which made for great conversation


Your stay with good friends.

4.6 on August 07, 2011

Staying at the Cub Inn is like staying with good friends - you are totally welcomed, given access to a great kitchen, and just feel like you are with good friends. To add to this, you have a chance to chat with folks from all over the world who are also staying at the Cub Inn and just enjoying leisurely breakfasts and sharing wine on the deck in the evenings.


Review of Cub Inn In Groveland, CA

4.0 on August 06, 2011

Spent two (2) nights at the Cub Inn. It met or exceeded all our expectations. We are true pet lovers, which will help if other guests are also, as there are 3 indoor cats and 1 indoor dog. All are well-behaved and adorable, but require tolerance of guests. The hosts are very friendly and accomodating and work hard to ensure a pleasurable stay. Breakfast is excellent and consists of more-than-plenty home cooked full-breakfast foods and fruit. Yosemite Park entrance is an easy drive and less than 30 minutes. Also provides additional dining and entertainment options. We would certainly recommend it.


Cun inn

4.6 on August 01, 2011

Great food, nice and homey! A surprisingly new log home with great decor. I especially loved watching the deer


Beautiful home and location. Great hosts!

4.8 on July 25, 2011

We stayed at The Cub Inn in July, the hosts couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We will definitely go back! The Inn is conveniently located near Yosemite. The cats and dog were very friendly but our cat allergic son didn't have any problems during the stay.


Great Overnight Stay at The Cub Inn B&B

5 on July 20, 2011

We didn't have a reservation when we arrived in Groveland, but were recommended by The Charlotts Hotel to contact The Cub Inn B7B - they had one room available for my family - wonderful place to stay, truly stunning Log Home Architecture, great pets, all 4 cats and Cubbie the puppy, a great sleep in a comfortable bed and a fantastic breakfast the next morning - couldn't be more satisfied. We live in Sacramento and will be back to The Cub Inn soon. Thanks Joe and Charleen - we love you.


very pleasant visit

4.4 on July 18, 2011

A warm and friendly atmosphere. Host was eager to meet any needs we had. Food was outstanding. Potential guests with allergies, be aware there are house pets, cats and a dog, though the dog is typically outside when guests are present.


You can't go wrong staying here!

4.0 on July 11, 2011

Joe and Charleen were tremendous hosts. My wife and I stayed here for a short trip to Yosemite. We were not disappointed. The home is beautiful, the breakfast was outstanding and the sleeping accommodations were top-notch. Joe and Charleen are good at what they do. Enjoy!


Great little B&B about as close as you can get to Yosemite without being inside

4.4 on July 08, 2011

The owners did everything they could to please, their place is fantastic, and we had a great time. Just a heads up if you are allergic to cats or dogs to let them know beforehand so that they can limit your exposure and to bring claritin just in case (it shouldn't be a problem unless you are extremely allergic and claritin or others do not work for you).


Recent visit to Yosemite

3.6 on July 06, 2011

Joe is a gracious and attentive host. The facility and location of this property are very impressive. There are a number of cats in the house that have free run of the living areas.


Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat!

4.0 on June 23, 2011

This B&B is impeccable!!! Beautifully designed and furnished. And its centrally located too! Oh and Joe's breakfast alone is worthing coming back for. Needless to say, we throughly enjoyed our stay at the Cub Inn B&B and will definitely stay there during our next trip out to Yosemite.


The warm welcolm of The Cub Inn B&B

4.0 on June 17, 2011

We received a lovely warm welcome upon arrival as well as some useful information about our excursion into the beautiful Yosemite National Park located nearby. Breakfast the next morning was truly yummy & filling. It was a wonderful home from home for a brief time....thanks Jo & Charleen x


a beautiful log home

4.0 on June 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Cub Inn, and especially enjoyed meeting our host. The property is a log home, built to exacting standards and beautifully maintained.


Cub Inn

5 on June 09, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at The Cub Inn! The host and hostess are lovely. The B&B is both beautiful and cozy. Adorable animals are abundant. "Robert" their pseudo adopted deer visited often and just laid around the backyard. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The Cub Inn was a great place to visit while we were hiking Yosemite. Can't say enough great things about our experience. We'll be Back!


High cost not justified

2.2 on June 08, 2011

This B&B is an attractive open-concept log home and the host, Joe, is a really nice guy. However, the cost ($180/night) is considerably higher than other B&Bs we've stayed at, with no extras to justify the expense. If anything, the lack of attention to detail diminished our experience somewhat. Cleanliness was a bit slap-dash with some areas missed altogether; in the bathroom, some basic toiletry items were missing or weren't replaced when they ran out. The owners have several cats and a dog (not mentioned on their website), and the cats are permitted to jump on the kitchen counters - just not acceptable when one is preparing food for paying guests. The breakfast, served after everyone had gathered, was standard fare (eggs, bacon, pancakes) with no questions asked about food issues or preferences. There was a lack of good reading lamps in the bedroom and living room. The vibe is casual, which would be fine if the price didn't raise the bar on expectations. (By comparison, another B&B we stayed at a little closer to Yosemite cost $100 less per two-night stay than the Cub Inn and really pampered their guests: wines, teas, coffee and home baking were set out so you could help yourself anytime, with cheese and crackers offered on arrival; we were asked if there was anything we didn't eat and at what time we'd like to have breakfast, and the food was exceptional - they even gave us homemade cookies for the road. They had a hot tub; robes and everything you might need in the room, and the house was immaculate.)


McAllen's May Stay at The Cub Inn B & B

4.8 on June 04, 2011

Fabulous! Char and Joe are the best of hosts. The Inn is so lovely and comfortable. Beautifully built log home. Cubby the dog welcomes all and make it really feel like home. Breakfasts are delicious (thanks Joe!). Best yet, we feel we made new friends. Their recommendations for dining and how to navigate through Yosemite made our visit perfect. John & Kathy from Indiana Would highly recommend The Cub Inn.


Consider Cub Inn for a visit to Yosemite

4.4 on May 31, 2011

Had a great stay at the Cub Inn. Joe Riley was a great host and made great breakfasts all three days of our stay.


Great stay!!

4.0 on May 31, 2011

Had a great time! Place was clean & gorgeous, breakfast was great, inn-keepers were awesome. About 45 min outside of Yosemite, but was worth the drive not to be in the craziness of the lodges in Yosemite.


Excellent Hosts

3.4 on May 21, 2011

Grounds need some cleaning up; still looks like a construction site. Solid, intelligent hosts who are the best attraction the B&B offers.


40th Anniversary trip!

4.8 on May 15, 2011

Our thoughts were to stay several nights at the Ahwahnee hotel in Yosemite Valley...untill we saw the price! So we found the Cub Inn on the internet and made reservations. WONDERFUL location, made new friends with the Hosts (Joe and Charleen) and felt right at home in their gorgeous house. We will definitely return and highly recommend them!


Our first trip to Groveland

5 on May 12, 2011

Joe and Char were fabulous hosts in their beautiful log home. According to Joe rule 2 is "Mi casa su casa". My wife and I really felt it! Joe went out of his way to fix a gluten free breakfast for me. By the way, rule 1 is keep the outside doors closed so the house cats can't escape. Groveland is a cool little town with great access to Yosemite. We'll definitely be back.


Cub Inn Great Place to Stay

4.4 on April 26, 2011

We had a wonderful time but if you're allergic to cats it's not the place for you. By the end of our 1 night stay I was starting to feel my allergies go crazy. But Joe and Char were wonderful hosts! We enjoyed our stay very much!


nice home but some things to be aware of before you go...

2.6 on April 13, 2011

The owners were very hospitable and welcoming you into there home. It is a beautiful log cabin but be aware that Joe and Charlene live with three cats and a dog. The cats have full run of the home excluding your personal room. The kitchen counters, stove top and dining table are where they spend much of their time. I personally consider this unsanitary. My clothes were covered in cat hair when I left. If none of this is of concern to you then as everyone else has stated, beautiful home, friendly people, set away from town in a lovely setting.


Like staying as a guest in a friend's home.

4.0 on February 27, 2011

This was our first trip to the Yosemite area and loved our stay at the Cub Inn. Joe and Char were wonderful hosts and we felt like we weren't paying customers, but staying with a friend. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay at the Cub Inn! -Tori


Dave & Yolanda's Stay

4.4 on December 12, 2010

Great people Joe and Char..........The owners......Like family as soon as you meet them.......Will return there every time we are traveling in the area....Close to Yosemite.....Great little town........Dave Aiello


The Pleasure of your Company!

5 on October 20, 2010

We loved the Cub Inn! We spent 3 nights there in October, 2010. The upstairs bedroom was large and very, very comfortable. The bed and pillows were wonderful!! Joe Riley is a wonderful host and a terrific breakfast cook! It is an hour drive to the gates of Yosemite from Groveland, so there is that timing to be considered. We've traveled the world and love to stay in small inns and B&Bs. The Cub Inn met our rather demanding expectations and we can highly recommend it.


Loved it!

4.6 on October 18, 2010

Loved The Cub Inn! Joe and Char are great people and very warm and inviting. We felt right at home and would stay here again in a heartbeat! Highly recommended. Also, close to Yosemite (about 35 minute drive)!


What a beautiful home!

4.2 on October 15, 2010

We had a greattime at the Cub Inn. Joe was a wonderful host (his wife was away and we did not get to meet her this time), and a great chef. Breakfast was very yummy. The Inn is a beautiful log house, absolutly incredible! We will definately be going back. It is only about an hour drive to Yosemite entrance.


Great time at The Cub Inn

4.2 on October 04, 2010

Staying at The Cub Inn was a wonderful experience! It was really more like popping in on friends or family than staying overnight at a b&b. Joe & Char's hospitality is fantastic. We stumbled in really late and a little frazzled after underestimating our drive time, and couldn't have been more graciously greeted. Of course, Joe and their other guests were still up by the fire sipping wine, laughing and visiting. We slept wonderfully in a very comfortable room and our bathroom had a totally cool log shower. We enjoyed scrumptious hearty breakfasts, fun conversations with Joe, Char & other guests, friendly pets, and lots of great advice on visiting Yosemite. We were really pleased with the proximity of The Cub Inn to the Big Oak Flat entrance of Yosemite. It's a quick and easy drive to this less-crowded gate. There's a nice little grocery right in town where we could grab whatever we needed before heading to the Park -- if Joe & Char hadn't already given or lent it to us -- then head right out 120. We hope we'll end up out at Yosemite again some day and we're hoping that Joe & Char are still sharing their beautiful home with guests, 'cuz we'd love to stay again! Thanks for everything, Joe & Char! --Paul and Jane, Pittsburgh


A perfect setting for Yosemite

5 on October 02, 2010

We hadn't been to Yosemite for decades, so staying at the Cub Inn was perfect in the fit...a beautiful log structure, gracious hosts and, for us, conversations that will long be remembered. The bed was very comfy and the surroundings top class.


A Wonderful Place

5 on September 27, 2010

This is a great Bed and Breakfast located close to Yosemite. My girlfriend and I needed a nice weekend getaway and this was absolutely the place to do it. We flew in and Joe met us at the airport, got us settled in at the Inn and let us borrow the Jeep to get around town. We went to the Iron Door Saloon and had dinner at The Grill (both highly recommended). Joe entertained us with wine, cheese and homemade bread while we fed a family of deer including a Doe, Fawn and Robert (a 6pt Buck) carrots from the deck. Waking up to the smell of coffee and maple syrup, we enjoyed a great breakfast before making the short drive into Yosemite. It was an amazing weekend and we'll definitely be back.


We'll stay here again

4.6 on August 01, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Joe and Charlene in June 2010. This was our first trip to Yosemite and, as one of the other reviews said, this location was perfect. Not too far from the park and reasonably priced. The entire house was clean and not just a surface clean but a complete clean. The bed was great. It was clean, plenty of blankets and very comfortable. The location itself is quiet, easy to get to and a reasonable drive into Yosemite. The only thing I could say about the rooms is that we could hear our neighbors at times but then we can hear our kids through our walls at home as well. The only other criticism I would have is the hot water. There is plenty of it and Joe explained how it works but I still got a blast of cold water one morning – operator error but still the hot water is just a little tricky. Be aware they have cats so if you have allergies to cats you need to know that. Joe and Charlene are fun people and their focus is making their guests comfortable and they do that very well. The evenings on the deck with Joe, Charlene, and the other guests were very enjoyable. The wine, the cheese, the stories all made for a great end of the day. We also got some great travel tips and must dos in the park. Finally the breakfast that Joe makes is simply great – plenty of food and well prepared and a great start to the day if you don’t overeat!!. Would we stay there again? We ABSOLUTLEY will and we plan to do exactly that.


Excellent Yosemite Bed & Breakfast

4.4 on July 14, 2010

In April, my wife and I began planning a weekend trip from Arizona to Yosemite for sightseeing, hiking and relaxation. Getting to Yosemite isn't a problem - finding good lodging is! We quickly found that lodging falls into three categories: 1. Extremely expensive (i.e. park lodges) or 2. Extremely far from the park or 3. Somewhat shady. Since The Cub Inn is fairly new, it took us some searching to find them but when we did, they blew all three of the categories above out of the water. They were affordable ($150/night), only a beautiful 45 minute drive into the valley and brand new! Upon arrival on our first evening, we planned on driving into the park for sunset. Those plans quickly changed as owners Joe and Charlene (and house dog Zoe) welcomed us with wine, beverages, cheese, fresh fruit and more - all free of charge! We ended up having so much fun we stayed on the front porch socializing until midnight before packing it in for the night. This is a wonderful place to stay if you're looking for peace and quiet away from the crowds of the Valley while still experiencing everything that the area has to offer. I've stayed at several B&Bs and this one takes the cake in terms of hospitality. Joe's breakfast is unreal, Charlene's stories are hilarious and they surely go out of their way to make you comfortable. They even helped us plan our days in the park, find the best parking, pick hiking trails and even offered to pack a free bag lunch for us to keep us full. All in all, a wonderful experience at The Cub Inn. I will definitely recommend it to anyone that I know heading to Yosemite who is looking for authentic B&B lodging


We can't express....

5 on August 19, 2009

...How we felt in The Cub with Joe and Charleene. The house is wonderful and Charleene and Joe are very very very special. We have been in a lot of Bed and Breakfast before and we have never felt like home, except here! The house is FANTASTIC! The rooms are so comfortoble. Everything is made with wood and stone! We completely agree with the reviews about Joe's breakfasts. They are sublime! But it is not the most important issue of the house. They have created a nice and peaceful atmosphere around the there and you can share and enjoy it. I remember the first day when we share with them and the other guests a nice talk with a cup of wine watching how Chaleene fed the deers. Joe's histories are so impressed and Charlene's kindness is wonderful. We also met fantastic people there. When you go to a special place, sure you meet special people there. We totally recommend The Cub!!!


A home away from home near Yosemite

4.8 on August 07, 2009

The Cub inn is a wonderful place to stay! We took advantage of the grand opening special (three nights for the price of two) while visiting Yosemite National Park and had a great time. Joe and Charleen are great hosts - they said to make ourselves at home and they totally meant it. The rooms were very comfortable, Joe's breakfasts were delicious and the conversations and stories we shared around the table and out on the deck while watching the deer wander through the yard in the evenings were really enjoyable. The beauty of the log home, combined with a number of unexpected treats such as homemade quacamole and a never-empty bowl of peanut M&Ms, are the kind of extra touches you'll never find in typical lodging. We live in Corvallis, Oregon and don't travel that direction very often, but if we were to spend time near Yosemite again we would not hesitate to stay at The Cub Inn again!


Could have died peacfully in my sleep at the cub inn, and my tomb stone would read, the cub inn killed me softly and happy as a peach

5 on June 26, 2009

Lindsy Clarice Manceaux is what they call me, I am from Lafayette, LA, and am now a resident of Groveland, A.K.A. Groovey Land, CA. I stayed at the cub inn with the love of my life, K.C Boggs, and had an absolutlely splendid time. The owners of the inn, Joe and Charleen Riley are not only delightful host and chefs, but are muse like, an inspiration to live life fully. K. C. and I, arrived unannounced one evening to check out Joe and CHar's luxurious log hideaway, and were received with several bottles of wine, champagne, cheese, terrific music and inspirational company. The rest was history. After only one evening at the CUb Inn Joe and Char, are now dear friends for life. Do yourself a favor, treat your mind body and soul to a night's stay at the cub inn. Oh, and the breakfast, accommodations, baths, and well all of it, Magnifico!


The Cub Inn B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $180
  • Reviews (163) 4.5
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2099620403

Visit Website »

View details

Top