Kate Stanton Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
116 Reviews

Write A Review

Home away from home

5 on July 23, 2014

Forget 5 star hotels and motels. You have to give this one a go. I stayed there for 7 days and it was faultless. Hosts were two mature ladies who were the perfect hosts. Tell your family and friends, you won't regret it. Watch out for the breakfast, never the same twice and Michelin award standard.


Our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn

5 on June 02, 2014

My wife and I loved staying here for our anniversary, we are so glad we came across it online! Wine and cheese in the afternoon, wonderful breakfasts each morning...we were definitely taken care of. The property is peaceful and immaculate, with great views up the coastline from the backyard patio. All the details, big and small, were covered. Top-notch all the way, we highly recommend!


Weekend with my very pregnant daughter!

4.6 on June 02, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Perfect Weekend Away

5 on May 30, 2014

This is the best B&B we have stayed at. The innkeeper, Liz, was absolutely the nicest, friendliest innkeeper we have met in our 25 years of B&B getaway weekends. We felt like we were visiting dear friends and were pampered as such. The Nantucket room is lovely, very comfortable with thick soft towels and cozy throws. The electric fireplace makes it romantic. The breakfasts were outstanding and generous. I am definitely looking forward to a return visit.


A peaceful, lovely B&B

5 on February 25, 2014

Two nights at the Kate Stanton Inn was relaxing and truly refreshed my spirit! The Nantucket Suite is spacious with a light airy decor and a comfortable bed. The hosts create a good balance of hospitality and conversation with an awareness of your privacy. Breakfast is served to you at the table with delicious results! The sweet dog and cats create a homelike atmosphere that's welcome for animal lovers. A must stay for anyone who enjoys the comforts of a B&B.


Peaceful Stay

5 on February 25, 2014

It was so different to enjoy a welcome committee upon arrival! Liz & Carol have every base covered from personalized toiletries to a book and DVD collection at your disposal. Having wine in the evening by their fireplace was especially relaxing. Staying here was 100% better than staying at the much larger hotel where my Company seminar was held. Thank you ladies for your hospitality, french toast and enjoyable conversations! Heather


Best experience at a B&B ever!

5 on November 16, 2013

Beautiful home in perfect location to access San Diego area, meticulously clean, exceptionally gracious hosts who warmly welcome you to share their home. Nantucket Room is decorated in crisp blue and white, bed and linens are plush and inviting. There is an in-room electric fireplace to warm you as well as a ceiling fan and french doors that open to private patio to cool you. We loved the full sized bathroom with window seat and large glass enclosed shower. We cherished our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn - so very comfortable! Returning each night after touring San Diego area all day truly felt like stepping into a peaceful and nurturing oasis. Liz and Carol are "one-of-a-kind" on the scale of B&B innkeepers. They greet you warmly and sincerely, prepare and provide a plentiful and tasty breakfast with careful and thoughtful attention to any dietary needs, offer yummy and healthy snacks accompanied with wine in the afternoon (to which they welcomed our daughter whom we were visiting), and even sent us off to the airport with a wonderful bagged meal to eat at departure!! Liz and Carol trumped all previous experiences we have had at a B&B, and coming from the New England area where B&B's are plentiful, this is saying a lot. We would return to the Kate Stanton Inn without question - it's perfect! -Denise and Steve, Boston area


It just can't be any better!

5 on November 12, 2013

As a repeat visitor, the Kate Stanton Inn is the finest Bed and Breakfast I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. If I am anywhere near (even if it's not so close) this location, I won't stay anywhere else. Liz and Carol are the very best hosts. Exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated, wonderful food. I will certainly be back. Warren and Malia Gilbert, AZ


Great Place!

5 on September 16, 2013

Though we were gone more than we were there, I would absolutely recommend the Kate Stanton Inn to visitors to Encinitas. I would also stay there again. Everything was absolutely wonderful. Didn't think I'd like sharing a bathroom, but even that was seamless.


The perfect place for the perfect weekend

4.6 on August 26, 2013

Food.....outstanding Liz and Carol.....outstanding Charming great room......outstanding Breakfast conversations.....outstanding Are you picking up a pattern here?


Wonderful Encinitas B&B

5 on August 25, 2013

As a native of San Diego, I was looking for a quaint and cozy weekend near the beach and away from the big hotels. We got that and much, much more! Liz made my husband and I feel at home with incredible breakfasts every morning and a glass of wine at sunset on the deck. Terrific accommodations and we will definitely be back!!!


Wonderful!!!

4.6 on July 26, 2013

What a gem. So clean and lovely. We have also made two new friends.


Perfect spot to explore San Diego area

4.8 on July 23, 2013

Wonderful spot for East Coasters exploring San Diego. You can walk to the beach or enjoy quick drive into Encinitas/Leucadia for shopping/cinema/restaurants. Take the Coaster train into San Diego (skip the traffic) and discover the great Balboa Park and Old Town areas. Hostesses Liz and Carol are warm and hospitable--they have created an oasis for travellers. The rooms are immaculate and so comfy--the bed was a dream. Our private deck in the Nantucket suite was perfect for early coffee or stargazing. Breakfast was tasty and filling--and Liz truly wants to know what your preferences are. We frequent B&Bs and put this in one of the top spots.


The Kate Stanton Inn: A Review

5 on July 20, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful three-day experience at the Kate Stanton Inn. From the moment we arrived we felt very much at home in this beautiful southern California home. Liz and Carol are warm and gracious hostesses who made our 50th. Wedding anniversary an extra-special occasion. We will always be grateful for the kindness we experienced during our visit. Over the years we have stayed at many B&Bs throughout western and northern Europe but non can compare with the Encinitas inn. The comfort, cleanliness, hospitality, and food are exceptional so much so that no detail is overlooked--for example, dietary considerations are made for those with special needs. We are pleased to give The Kate Stanton Inn our highest endorsement and we can't wait for a return visit to this southern California gem! Jean and Bryan Thompson, Grosse Pointe Park, MI.


Amazing and Restful Sanctuary

5 on July 14, 2013

I came here after a fertility cycle to rest. Liz and Carol provided the perfect nourishing atmosphere at the Inn to help me decompress after a stressful time and to regain my energy for the next phase in my life. Their positive attitudes, engaging conversation, magnificent breakfasts, meditative patio, and impeccable rooms contributed to an amazingly healing three days. I will definitely return and (hopefully) with my little one(s).


What a lucky find!

5 on July 07, 2013

Highly recommended! Flying into the McLellan-Palomar Airport, we were looking for lodging in Encinitas. It was a stroke of luck to find the Kate Stanton Inn. We felt welcome and comfortable... and pampered. Having done my share of travel, I hope to find clean accommodations. This is my top priority, and this was met and exceeded. All other aspects, the friendly atmosphere, the adorable ambience, the delicious food...all were more than I could have hoped for or imagined.


Feels like home

5 on June 30, 2013

Short and simple: Liz and Carol open up their beautiful home with kind, open arms. Perfect attention to detail, great conversations, all under a clean, homey atmosphere.


Time out of mind in this coastal retreat...

4.6 on June 23, 2013

Easy to believe you're in the upscale lap of understated Eastern Seaboard luxury while rolling in crisp white sheets, gazing at the periwinkle walls and white wains-coated details of the Nantucket Room... until you enter the casual elegance of the adobe style spiral staircase and saltillo tiles that grace the expansive great room in truest California Mission style. Breakfast, service and hospitality were equally impressive. This place is a winner.


An Idyllic Stay

5 on June 04, 2013

Liz and Carol have created an idyllic spot for travellers, giving them the gift of home. We were so comfortable and so well taken care of, complete with water and snacks to take with us for the day, and well-stocked goody bags for the plane. Liz's breakfasts are glorious, ample, delicious, served with great aplomb, witty remarks, and beautifully designed place settings. We looked forward to coming home after our days out, and relaxing around the kitchen counter with wine, beer, tea, and talking about anything and everything. I am so glad that we found this inn!


Perfection

4.6 on June 02, 2013

Our stay, actually my in-laws stayed at the Inn, us at another, and I was jealous. Liz and Carol are top shelf. Professional, personable, warm, fun, intelligent, the list goes on. My father-in-law needed extra help and it was as if Liz and Carol were family. I can't say enough about the character of these two women. They are a Blessing. The Rileys


A Little Cape Cod (hacienda style) in Encinitas

5 on May 29, 2013

Dear B&B Travelers, The Kate Stanton Inn is a great price/performance find. It on a cul-de-sac a rise overlooking the Encinitas pamet. The grounds are pleasant without door seating for reading or picnicking. The interior of the hacienda is familial and the rooms are comfortable, pleasant, and clean. The best-for-last the inn-keepers are great, pleasant, smart, and caring. If that is not enough, their breakfasts are great. Regards, John


Wonderful Encinitas Retreat

4.8 on May 09, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Nantucket room and enjoyed every minute. When we arrived Liz had cookies and lemonade for us. Our room was immaculate, spacious and quiet. Each night when we came "home" the fireplace was going, and we had water and mints by our bed. Breakfast was delicious and different each day. I actually went two of the days without lunch because I wasn't hungry! It was a pleasure to spend time visiting with Liz and Carol. We figured out this was the sixteenth Bed and Breakfast we've stayed in during our 18+ years of marriage and the Kate Stanton Inn definitely ranks at the top! We would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a cozy place to stay in the San Diego area.


March 13,14, 2013

5 on March 20, 2013

The hosts, Liz and Carol are wonderful people and made my wife and I feel very much at home and welcome. The bedroom was very nice and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding and the hosts let us select the time that we wanted to eat. Also, located in a nice quiet neighborhood, close to access to Interstate 5 and other arteries for ease of travel during the day. Would stay there again and certainly will recommend the Kate Stanton Inn to our friends.


Lovely, calm, relaxing

5 on March 09, 2013

We stayed two nights. The decor of the entire house is beautiful, pleasant, and reminds me of an elegant beach cottage style. Very light and airy. The bed was very comfortable, the shower excellent, everything very clean and tidy. Our hosts Liz and Carol took very good care of us and were personable. They pay attention to detail: little things like a bathroom amenities basket, water at bedside, bed turned down, mint on nightstand, and bathrobes in the closets, all made us feel pampered. The breakfast both days was delicious and varied. If I am traveling to that area again, I will definitely book a room at the Kate Stanton Inn.


Fantastic bed & breakfast

5 on February 21, 2013

I traveled with my wife and 1yr old and we had a very enjoyable time. Liz was very accommodating with our needs and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Everything was really top notch. The rooms are excellent, the breakfast was great, and it was a very friendly environment.


Kate Stanton Inn in Encinitas, CA

4.6 on January 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Nantucket Room, which was located on the main floor of a lovely home in Encinitas, CA. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and very clean. We were provided with toothpast, toothbrushes, cream and body wash toiletries. Liz and Carol were very gracious hosts, offering us tips on where to eat (they had menus of local restaurants), providing turndown service, delicious snacks and a gourmet breakfast.


A Treasure

5 on January 18, 2013

My wife and I stay with Liz and Carol back in October. We were there on an exploration of the area as we had decided to relocate to Carlsbad. When we were heading over we were running a little behind and called Liz to let here know. She was extremely understanding and reminded us to take our time and enjoy the trip. We did. When we arrived it was one of the nicest experiences I have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast, or anywhere. We were greeted with and nice glass of wine, cheese and conversation. Our housemates from Switzerland arrived soon after us and joined in on the fun. We had such a great time we completely blew off heading into town and hung out with Liz, Carol and the other guests. The next morning was another day of the same wonderful hospitality. Breakfast was an absolute joy. We followed that by running all over town and beyond. We were scheduled to head back home that afternoon, but decided we wanted one more night of The Kate Stanton Inn. It was worth it! Thanks Liz and Carol.


We loved it!

5 on December 05, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. When we returned at night lit candles and a fire in the fireplace welcomed us. Our daughters, five and almost three, especially enjoyed the talks with Carol in the mornings plus the fresh blueberries and raspberries. It was a delight.


Nothing short of fabulous!

5 on November 21, 2012

We LOVED our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn! Actually, you can't say anything that has not already been said. It's just wonderful! Liz and Carol were so welcoming and truly cared about us. This little Inn is more than the combination of a 5 Star+ Hotel and a loving home.


A Home Away from Home

4.6 on November 03, 2012

Carol and Liz greeted me with warmth and good cheer as if I were a long-lost friend. I have never been given such personal attention in a B& B; I felt a member of an extended family. The views of the ocean and lagoon from the patio are beautiful; the decor throughout the house is tasteful and comfortable. Everything is spotlessly clean. Robes are even provided.


Private home away from home!

5 on November 01, 2012

This was our first experience with a B&B, when we drove up and saw it was a house in a residential area we wondered what we had gotten in for! After walking in and being greeted by Liz with a batch of fresh from the oven cookies and homemade lemonade we were pleasantly surprised. The house was cozy and comfortable; the backyard was secluded and very relaxing. In the afternoons we would sit outside with a plate of cheese, yummy crackers and fresh fruit with a crisp glass of wine! The best way to sum up our experience was it resembled the wonderfully warm, safe nurturing feeling of coming home from college for a weekend.


PERSONAL RETREAT HAVEN

5 on September 28, 2012

I went for a Personal Retreat weekend and it was just amazing. Liz & Carol are so kind, professional and fun. I was so pampered, I loved it!! My room was spotless, sunny, spacious and the common areas where very nice. The breakfast (mostly organic) is delicious and Liz will make you just what you crave and need for your stay! Casual gatherings in the afternoon are accompanied by home made snacks a glass (or two) of wine. They have a great terrace with ocean view and the beach amenities are there for your use while you are at the Inn. I will be back!


GREAT location!

4.2 on September 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Kate Stanton Inn while we were in on business so that we could be close to all of our favorite places! Ponto Beach, La Costa Farms Farmers Market, Studio Barre, Batiquitos Lagoon, and Encinitas and the 101. Liz and Carol were incredibly gracious hosts and accommodated our every need. The food they served us was super fresh, beautifully presented and they always had a glass of chilled wine ready for us with cheese and crackers when we came home from our many adventures! We cannot wait to return to visit our new friends, Liz and Carol! Beverly Moss


Awesome B&B

5 on September 17, 2012

Stayed with Liz and Carol on a business trip recently. Typically I go the standard "hotel" route, but their home was recommended to me by my parents who had recently visited. Carol and Liz were amazing innkeepers. Their home was charming and clean. They welcomed me withopen arms and went way above and beyond a typical B&B. The bed was very comfortable, the home was immaculate and most importantly, they were delightful. Food was delicious and they were very flexible. Highly recommended.


The best B&B experience ever!!

4.8 on September 12, 2012

This was our 1st visit to Kate Stanton Inn. I called Liz, the innkeeper directly when I was looking for availability for our trip. Starting with this call, it was clear that Liz was a highly engaging person, ready to accommodate almost any need related to our trip to the san diego area. The trip coincided with our wedding anniversary, without any prompting, Liz was immediately planning to buy some special bottles of wine to celebrate the event. Remarkably, she was doing this at her own expense. Prior to our arrival, we had a number of contacts dedicated to providing us with the best possible vacation stay with her. We traveled with a couple who are long-time friends and we decided to take the 2 bedrooms with shared bath for the 4 of us. Each room was wonderfully appointed, had a great bed, and closet and drawer space beyond our need. This was the 1st B&B that I've been to where the breakfast is totally scheduled around the needs of the guests. The quality of breakfast was extraordinary with each day providing a new creation of the most fresh and tasty ingredients possible. Each afternoon wine and cheese was made available to us in the most gracious manner on the outside patio with a view of the ocean. Liz and her partner, Carol, attended to all the details that make for a luxurious vacation. As direct evidence of our high regard, we have already referred our son to this inn who is traveling on business. The experience at this B&B was memorable and we look forward to returning in the near future.


The Best B&B Ever!

5 on September 05, 2012

We have stayed at bed and breakfasts across North America and nothing holds a candle to the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Carroll are incredible, generous, warm-hearted and welcoming innkeepers - and the accommodations, food and ambience are just fantastic. We can't recommend this inn enough. It is by far the best B&B we have found to date. Lynne & Dan


Like a Home away from Home

5 on August 27, 2012

My experience with Liz Clarke and the Kate Stanton Inn in Leucadia, outside San Diego was 1st class all the way. From making arrangements, to the house itself down to the smallest details like a fresh toothbrush & toothpaste to a glass of wine with the innkeeper before bed. I would give Kate Stanton Inn my highest recommendation for anyone coming to the area. It's luxurious accommodations with the friendliest service at value prices. 5 Stars all the way. Doug F., Chicago, IL


A Memorable Stay

5 on August 14, 2012

In the late afternoon on a sunny day in Encinitas (aren't the days all sunny in the San Diego area?) we found ourselves relaxing on the patio at the Kate Stanton Inn enjoying the view of the Pacific Ocean stretching before us to the horizon and, by casting our gaze a bit to the right, the deep blue waters of Batiquitos Lagoon below, all the while sipping wine (or another beverage if you prefer) and tasting the fruit, cheeses and other snacks the innkeeper, Liz Clarke, had spread before us. It was quite a wonderful start to our three-day stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. In fact, our total experience of the Kate Stanton Inn made it one of the most pleasantly memorable of the many B&Bs we've visited. Liz Clarke's connection to the inn goes back over thirty years as she now lives her dream of being an innkeeper. When you meet Liz you understand why she is perfect for this calling and loves it so much. She truly enjoys meeting her guests and serving their needs while allowing them all the space and privacy they desire. In our case, our conversations with her became a special part of our stay that we looked forward to each day. When we stay at a B&B we consider breakfast to be the first item on our agenda for that day, as significant as the other things we have planned for the day. We look forward both to the breakfast the innkeeper serves and the conversations that occur among the guests. On both counts we were more than fulfilled. The guests were interesting and the conversations lively, and the breakfasts Liz, who is a wonderful cook, served were varied, generous and delicious. The inn itself is spotless and the rooms reflect Liz' homage to both her beloved grandmother (Kate Stanton) and her New England roots. We feel we have made a friend in Liz and found the place where we will stay whenever our travels take us to the San Diego area. Judy and Don


Cozy stop over

4.8 on August 07, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kate Stanton just 1 night. We were very happy with our accommodations and were blown away by warm, welcoming atmosphere we experienced. Our hostess, Liz welcomed us like family and treated us as such during our entire stay. We enjoyed the company of the other couple staying there had had a wonderful evening of wine and conversation. The breakfast the next morning was amazing as well! We were only upset by the fact that we were passing through and could not stay longer! We hope to visit again! Jay and Olivia


Fantastic Inn and Wonderful Hosts

5 on August 05, 2012

We have just spent three wonderful nights at The Kate Stanton Inn, from the moment of our arrival to our departure we have never felt more welcome and well looked after by anyone. Liz and Carol know how to welcome you into their home and make you feel like you are a friend not just another guest. Liz makes wonderful breakfasts every morning and can tailor the menu to your individual requirement, Carol looks after your room and ensures that you have everything you could possibly require whilst you stay with them. The rooms are as good as any four star hotel, but better still you get the lovely personal touches like the flame-less candles lit in your room at turn down and the fire on. Our son was delighted when we arrived home one evening to find a basket of books for him, by his bed. We look forward to returning to their beautiful home soon.


A wonderful place to stay

5 on August 02, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at B&B's all over the world and must say that our visit to the Kate Stanton Inn made it one of our favorites and most memorable. The "Outstanding" ratings we have given for all the categories are not an exaggeration but reflect the very real emphasis that the owners place on the comfort of their guests. The room we stayed in was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The breakfasts served by our host, Liz, were top notch as was the company of the other guests we met and conversed with as we dined. Liz is a gracious and charming host. I'll sum it up by saying "we'll be back".


Camp Liz

5 on August 01, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Kate Stanton Inn (Camp Liz) and had a delightful time. Very nice B&B with charming ambiance and awesomebreakfasts. Liz was very helpful and accomodating and we plan to return and stay here when we visit San Diego again.


Weekend Heaven

5 on July 31, 2012

The weekend at the Kate Stanton Inn was absolutely wonderful. Liz, the Innkeeper is delightful and was a joy to share time and conversation with. The home itself is airy, comfortable, very clean, nicely decorated, and gives you a very relaxed feeling. The breakfasts were amazing and Liz is a wonderful cook. It is a place that really caters to their guests in so many ways. The wine, the fruit, the patio, and being close to the beach was wonderful. We will definately be back to visit and stay at the the Kate Stanton Inn and share our time with Liz and who is now a part of our lives. Thank you for sharing your home with the rest of the world to enjoy... Warm Regards, Kari and Keith Figgins


Great bed and breakfast with even better company!

5 on July 25, 2012

This was our families first time at a bed and breakfast and all I can tell you is that it won't be our last. I want to thank Liz and Carol for all of thier hospitality. I enjoyed waking up to a five star breakfast every morning. We did not have the same kind of breakfast once while there. They really invited our one year old into thier home putting moms mind at ease that he was not distrubing other guests. He even got a separate bedroom from us making our stay that much more enjoyable. Liz and Carol accomodated our every need. I just can't say enough positive things!!! If you in the San Diego area give this place a try. You will not be disappointed.


Perfect

5 on July 21, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Carol are lovely and are genuinely interested in their guests well-being. This place is a gem. Can't wait to return. It was so relaxing. I especially enjoyed running by the beach and the wonderful breakfasts. Please don't forget us. Warren and Paige Arizona


Ah - a wonderful respite to fill up your soul!

5 on July 16, 2012

My husband and I are locals - we live in East County San Diego where it is extremely hot in the summertime. My husband found this lovely gem for a quick get-a-away near the ocean. We were greeted by two wonderful innkeepers, Liz and Carol. They instantly make you feel welcome and at home. I felt like I was back home in New England. The rooms were all New England but the house had touches of San Diego. We stayed in "Kate's Cottage" and didn't want to leave the comfy bed and cool breezes. After visiting the beach, we took a short nap, had a glass of wine and chocolates and went out for pizza. We couldn't wait to relax in the bed and read. The following morning, we walked for four miles and returned to a gourmet, home-cooked breakfast. It was difficult to leave as you felt like you were leaving some of your family behind! We thank Liz and Carol for the warm hospitality!


A great vacation!

5 on July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed one week while visiting our daughter who resides in Encinitas. The accommodations were perfect: delicious breakfasts and wonderful endearing hosts. The inn is ideally located to all the great places we visited. I arrived exhausted and left renewed. The inn will certainly be our home on the west coast.


Teresa and Collin's Great Graduation Adventure

5 on June 18, 2012

I had a wonderful time at the Kate Stanton Inn. I was a first timer as a Bed & Breakfast guest, and all my fears were put to rest. We relaxed, talked, ate some wonderful pastries, drank coffee and I even got to take the household dog for a walk! It was a relaxing way to spend an otherwise busy weekend. A+ to the Kate Stanton Inn!


The Only Place to Stay in Encinitas!

5 on June 17, 2012

We have never had a better stay away from home in all our travels. Lizzie and Carol became like family - so warm, welcoming, and fun! The house itself was immaculate but relaxed, a combination of a California beach house and a Cape Cod cottage. The room we had (the Nantucket) was open, airy, and with its own backyard terrace. The in-suite bathroom was beautiful and clean. And the breakfasts!!! No words. Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, french toast, uncured bacon, real oatmeal, croissants.... I could go on and on. Finally, the location was ideal - tucked into a quiet neighborhood but right off Highway 101 with all the restaurants and shops, close to Interstate 5 for fast travel, and 5 min away from the beach. We just left and are going back in 4 weeks!


The best B & B experience I've ever had!

5 on June 10, 2012

From the first contact by phone making my reservation, to the time I left, I felt completely welcomed. Liz and Carol have a beautiful space, and they went above an beyond to make sure that I felt at home, had what I needed. The room was beautifully appointed, very clean, and quiet. Liz makes awesome breakfasts -- and caters to every dietary need. I am so glad that I found them and I will definitely go back. Wonderful experience. M.S., Columbus, OH


A Wonderful Escape from the Daily Grind

5 on May 28, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his 50th birthday this past weekend by retreating to the lovely and peaceful Kate Stanton Inn. The hostesses, Liz and Carol, are kind, gracious ladies who've created a retreat that is simple, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. It was close to the action in Encinitas as well as to the beach, yet removed enough for us to relax in the evenings. We can't wait for our next visit and hope we can help persuade others to give this deserving B&B a try.


The inn was much more than a B&B

5 on May 13, 2012

Bobby and I went for my birthday and Liz and Carol could not have made us feel more like family. We loved our room and just the comfort of nice people and great conversation. We are planning a new trip soon. Thanks again Cappy Sanders


Five Star Kate Stanton Inn

5 on April 30, 2012

If I won $1000 to review a bed and breakfast inn, I would spend every last dollar and more at the Kate Stanton Inn! We arrived at 10 PM, hours late, to be met by Liz and Carol in their bathrobes. We sat up talking for well over and hour. Our room was cozy and elegant with exquisite attention to detail (turkish towels embroidered, lovely soaps and bottles of water, chocolates on our pillow, etc.) A beach chair and coffee-to-go were waiting for me in the morning and breakfast was ready on the patio when we returned. Breakfast! I haven't had breakfast like this in years. Berry Crip. hot blueberry muffins laden with berries, creme fraiche, scrambled eggs with cheese, crisp bacon, organic cream for the hot coffee, freshly squeezed juice, croissants and brioche, delicious. The best part of all - our hosts, lovely and charming! We're already talking about our next visit!


Superb hosts, incredible cuisine, pristine accommodations

5 on April 27, 2012

Kate Stanton Inn was one of the loveliest, freshest B&B's ever. Can't imagine any hotel or other B&B offering such superb service, pristine cleanliness, and thoroughly hospitable accommodations. Not one detail was spared. From knock-out breakfast to providing gift wrap...no, wrapping the gift FOR us, Liz and Carol were outstanding. If our impeccable Pottery Barn styled guest room had a tub along with its spacious shower, I would have never left!!! The quiet location was EXACTLY what we needed.


"Escape from the rat race"

5 on April 21, 2012

We were looking for a place close to home to celebrate 22 years of marital bliss, and to get away. We found the inn on the Internet, and decided to go for it. Our weekend was fantastic. We spent alot of time just relaxing in the living room and in our own room. The weather was rainy, so we stayed at the inn, warm and cozy near our personal fireplace. The food was fantastic, and our inn keepers are two of the kindest people on the planet. We recommend you stay here.


Unsurpassed Hospitality

5 on March 19, 2012

Carol and Liz treated us like VIP relatives. Our Nantucket room was a cosy, calming oasis. The Inn has views of water on 2 sides, fruit trees and plantings compliment the yard. The breakfasts were feasts of abundant treasured family recipes . We were offered wine and nibbles when we arrived home. We were given maps and recommendations for local attractions and restaurants that were exactly what we were looking for. We regretted having to relocate downtown for the business part of our trip. The Inn is convenient to the highway.


We found the perfect place!

5 on January 20, 2012

If, like us, you want a warm, personal experience when you travel, the Kate Stanton Inn is the ideal destination in the San Diego area. Located in Encinitas, with its beaches and the Botanical Garden nearby, the inn is an island of tranquility where your every need has been anticipated by Liz and Carol, the charming innkeepers. Their attention to the big picture is reflected in an artistic renovation of the house, with its great room and fireplace, opening arches, saltillo tile floors, and beautiful furnishings. Liz's breakfasts will fuel a day's sightseeing (no need for lunch), and a late afternoon glass of wine by the fire makes for cosy conversation with the hostesses and other guests. We were very comfortable in our lovely bedroom and appreciated the thoughtful extras: a basket of toiletries should we have forgotten anything, a treat on our pillows at bedtime, and fresh water on the nighttables. Kai was a special treat. She is the gentlest of dogs and makes friends immediately. When you want her attention, she's right there. When you don't, she finds a sunny spot to lie down and won't hold it against you. In the end, it is Carol and Liz who made our stay truly exceptional. We entered their home as strangers and left as friends. Anne and Jan, Tucson, AZ


Great holiday getaway

4.0 on January 11, 2012

Liz and Carol are wonderful hosts! The inn has a very relaxing feel, and the area is full of fun things to do in addition to the beach. The bed in the Nantucket room is the most comfortable in the world! We really enjoyed our stay!


What a wonderful world.

5 on November 14, 2011

Liz and Carol made our one year anniversary celebration very special. We enjoyed our great room, wonderful breakfast but especially enjoyed sitting by the fireplace and just chatting over a glass of vino. All of the extra TLC like the turn down service, the chocolate and cookie treats and the view of the ocean was spectacular. We will return sometime next year as our visit to San Diego was a treat!! Gracias Lizzy and Carol. PS: We miss Kai!!


Great!

5 on October 05, 2011

Liz and Carol treated us like good friends. Liz picked us up and returned us to the train station. We look forward to seeing them again.


Grandmother would be proud.

5 on September 25, 2011

This inn, named after one of the innkeeper's grandmother, is exquisite in every regard. The breakfasts are gourmet quallity, the accomodations and location are above and beyond as well as the attention to the most minute detail. But what makes this inn so special is the warmth and genuineness of the two innkeepers, Liz and Carol. From the moment we were greeted at the door by their dog Kai, we felt we had become part of a family. We highly recommend this inn and are looking for an excuse to go back as soon as possible.


An incredible anniversary get-away

5 on September 24, 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay with innkeepers Liz and Carol for our anniversary. The room/house was immaculate, the food was delicious and the hospitality was overwhelmingly welcoming. I can't give enough compliments to them both and am grateful we had the opportunity to visit their inn. They treated us like loved family, yet gave us complete privacy and comfort.--Thank you both for everything!


Like coming home.

5 on September 22, 2011

I can not begin to describe how wonderful my experience was here. The Kate Stanton Inn was the first place I arrived upon a rough move from the East Coast to California by myself. Liz and Carol instantly adopted me putting in the extra effort to make me feel welcome to California. With in a few hours I felt like I was home. There is no better place to stay in California!


Exquisite!!!!!

5 on September 13, 2011

BEST B&B I have ever stayed at, in 30 years!!! LOVED the TLC and all the attention to detail. Stayed in the Nantucket Room and I never wanted to leave it! I felt more than "right at home." The breakfasts and the wine and cheese each evening was just an example of the attention! Love Liz and Carol and I will most certainly be back!!!!


Made Our Trip!

5 on September 10, 2011

My husband and I were so thrilled to find a B&B open to families. We love the intimacy of B&B’s but unfortunately not many are willing to accept children, let alone a 9 month old! We could not have imagined a better place to stay than the Kate Stanton Inn. One word to sum up our experience is perfect! We stayed here 5 days and by the end of the trip we felt as those we were leaving family. Liz and Carol went OUT of their way to make us feel special and at home. The extra special attention to our son and his needs was incredible. Would visit Encinitas again just to stay here and visit with new friends! The Kate Stanton Inn definitely made our trip!!!


Kate Stanton's spirit lives on at the Inn

5 on September 02, 2011

This is my second visit to the area and am so glad I turned my back on the commercial residences and tried a B & B instead, urged by my son in the interests of safety and care. Well, I found all that and more here. The accommodations are elegant, thoughtful, practical, quiet, and aesthetically pleasing in every way. Innkeepers Liz and Carol couldn't be more responsive, expert, caring, and kind, providing tips of all sorts to area activities and sights. The breakfasts were hot, plentiful, varied, healthful, and gourmet; coffee was ready when I opened my eyes. Had I gotten back before 10 pm each day I would have shared tea, but I was always welcomed "home," spending a few minutes to share my wins and my day with anyone who was still lingering in the comfortable common rooms. I had keys to come and go as I pleased. Fellow residents were interesting to talk to. The spirit of the grand tradition of Inns pervaded. When Hurricane Irene forced cancellation of my flight, Liz said of course you'll be our guest and catch your early flight the next day; Carol got me up at 4:30 am, had coffee ready for me , and handed me a breakfast bag as I left. I hesitate to celebrate this wonderful place as it deserves because I want to be sure my room is available when I go back next time, which I will -- soon!


A tremendous visit

5 on August 28, 2011

We stayed 8/24-8/27 and could not have made a better choice. Liz even notified us in advance that there would be annoying road work and we could cancel. No way, that would have been a dreadful decision. Tremendous food, spotless, close to the ocean, and companionable visits over a wee dram. I would recommend this Inn to anyone heading to the SAN area. Have never been in a better B & B & hope to stay many times in the future. Absolutely ZERO defects.


Love, Love Love the Kate Stanton Inn!!

5 on August 24, 2011

Innkeepers Liz and Carol pull out the stops when it comes to hospitality, comfort and friendly service! Our room was meticulously clean, the bed comfy and the bathroom equipped with amenities galore. We were greeted on our arrival with yummy cookies fresh from the oven and a cold drink to soothe throats parched from a long drive through the desert. Liz is an amazing cook and breakfast was delicious and different each day. We even got to choose what time breakfast was served! Carol kept our room beautifully and turn down service with candles, fresh water and treats greeted us each night. We were made to feel like we were part of the family and were sad to have to leave. The experience at the Kate Stanton Inn is one you don't want to miss if you are visiting San Diego!


A few words about the Kate Stanton Inn

4.0 on August 17, 2011

Liz Clarke and her staff are amazing people. Although we arrived late, we were greeted warmly and made to feel special. The following morning, we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast of fresh fruit, French Toast with bacon, and fresh juice and coffee. We ate outside on the patio and noticed how beautiful the gardens were, and we had a nice view of the ocean, also. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water and soft, fluffy towels for us to use. They have a friendly dog and two cats, so be advised if you are not animal lovers. I had asked for pink roses to be placed in our room, and Liz came through in a big way, as they were beautiful and fragrant. I would recommend the Kate Stanton Inn to anyone who is looking for a great b&b experience.


feel like you are a local

5 on August 16, 2011

Spent a weekend at the Inn and have nothing but great things to say. The room was quiet, clean and luxuriously appointed. The daily breakfast was better than can you find in town. And the warmth and help of Liz the innkeeper was among the best I've experienced at a B&B. The inn is nestled in a residential hill and is super convenient to the local attractions. Recommend having a evening cocktail on the back porch with a calming view of the ocean.


Perfect getaway

4.4 on August 09, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Carol are extraordinary hosts - kind, friendly, interesting - and they greatly spoiled us. The inn is in a quiet neighborhood, and has a lovely view of the ocean from the outdoor table. Breakfast was delicious, the bed was very comfortable, and getting to the beach/restaurants/shops was very easy. We had to leave very, very early Monday morning to catch our flight...Liz made us breakfast to go the night before, and Carol woke up to send us off (at 4am no less!) We look forward to returning to the inn, and seeing Liz, Carol and Kai again. Thank you both so much!!


A B&B that's better than home.

4.6 on August 07, 2011

We had a great time. I'm hoping for another occasion to visit!


Extraordinary in Encinitas

4.6 on August 01, 2011

The Inn was memorable in every way. Hospitable, neat, and stylish. We were greeted with warmth and interest. Breakfast was other-worldly. The lemon curd -- good on anything and everything -- was fantastic. This will be our only base when we return to Encinitas later this year.


Outstanding

5 on July 31, 2011

My son and I had a brief but wonderful time here and in this sweet little town!


Great place!

5 on July 20, 2011

My wife and 1.5yr old daughter stayed at the Kate Stanton Inn last weekend. We were very please with the cleanliness of our room and the coziness of the house. Inn keepers Liz and Carol made us feel right at home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious (thank Liz) and what another reviewer said about everything being so clean it sparkles (thanks Carol) is true. Highly recommend!


I would recommend staying here to anyone!

5 on July 18, 2011

Upon arriving at The Kate Stanton Inn, I immediately felt at home. The beautiful house is a fusion between a spanish and beach style cottage that is bright and welcoming. My fiancee and I took a vacation to California and had the pleasure of staying in the Nantucket room, which was wonderfully appointed. Liz and Carol, the inn keepers, are what makes a stay at the Kate Stanton Inn truly special. They go out of their way to make guests feel welcomed and no little detail is missed from providing a wonderful morning breakfast to having a relaxing evening glass of wine in the back garden while sharing stories and laughs! We have stayed at many B&B's across the country and this one is top of my list. I would recommend staying at the Kate Stanton Inn to anyone!


Feel Pampered at Kate Stanton Inn

5 on July 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the bedroom with bath for 6 days and 5 nights. The room was so spacious and had its own private patio. Liz and Carol were so thoughtful and took into consideration we were early birds and even had coffee ready at 6am! We loved their special attention to detail and fresh flowers at the table. We looked foward to coming "home" after long days taking in the sights and beach so we could sit and relax with a glass of wine and discuss what we had seen. Liz even printed out a more scenic route to one of our destinations which was awesome. I can't say enough good things about this in home bed and breakfast. It is very close to everything and Liz has the best tips on places to eat. We already want to go back and see our new friends!


Now This is What Every B&B Should Aspire to

5 on July 12, 2011

From the moment my mom and I arrived at the Kate Staton Inn, we knew we were going to have a wonderful time. Liz and Carol are such warm and welcoming people that I felt like I was staying at a good friend's house. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy. In fact, before I even arrived we emailed back and forth to discuss food preferences, etc., so she knew what to cook for us. The inn itself is incredibly beautiful, with a mixture of Spanish and Beach Cottage style elements, and an airy, comfortable atmosphere. Liz is a great cook and for breakfast we had yummy chocolate croissants (I told her my mom liked chocolate), eggs florentine, mango chicken sausage, and yogurt with granola and berries. We had a great time. I'm already looking forward to returning, but this time with my husband.


Great vacation

5 on July 08, 2011

Beautiful inn and rooms. Clean and bright, like you're staying at a relative's house. That's how it felt, especially since the staff are so passionate about their work. Great location by the beach, close to restaurants. Stay at the Kate Stanton Inn, you will be glad you did!


Oustanding stay at Kate Stanton Inn

4.8 on July 03, 2011

Our stay at Kate Stanton Inn was exceptional. Acknowledging that we were staying to attend a local wedding, the innkeepers Liz and Carol went out of their way to work the daily schedule around our socialising. We were made to feel welcome enough to request coffee at 6 am before heading to the beach, a late brunch after a pre-wedding party, and entertained our guests for a light breakfast with little prior arrangement.


Wonderful Place to Get Away!!

4.8 on July 01, 2011

The Kate Stanton Inn is a wonderful place to stay! Liz and Carol are gracious hosts - very warm and welcoming - we felt right at home!! We stayed in the Nantucket room - the bed was one of the most comfortable anywhere, and the room has everything you might need, but still feels airy and uncluttered. Liz's breakfasts were delicious, and she was happy to accomodate my gluten-free needs. We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and would heartily recommend this gem to friends! Debbie & John Escondido, CA


The Best Bed and Breakfast!

5 on June 29, 2011

We have stayed in quite a few b and b's, so I feel qualified to say that the Kate Stanton Inn is definitely one of the best we've ever visited. Liz and Carol are wonderful hosts. Their attention to detail is amazing--we even had chocolate on our pillows at night and carafes of water on our bedside tables. This inn just sparkled. We will defnitely be going back.


THE VERY BEST EVER

5 on June 23, 2011

Canada - My husband and I stayed at the Kate Stanton Inn from June 8th to the 11th. We have stayed at many B & B's over the last few years and enjoyed most of them. We will never find another one that compares to The Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Carol went far beyond any expectations we had. Their home was so welcoming, they were so much fun. We shared many stories and laughs. Our room was beautiful and we wanted for nothing. The breakfasts were over the top. If we could we would rate this a 10 star. The Best


Loved It!!

4.6 on June 21, 2011

Such a quaint little place to stay near the beach. The set-up wasn't quite as we expected in being part of the home of the innkeepers, but once we sat down to wine & cheese the 1st evening, we were sold. Service was excellent, food was delicious and great location. Liz & Carol are extremely welcoming - we hope to return again


The One and Only

5 on May 23, 2011

I'm from Russia, and I traveled a lot. If I can choose, I always stay at the small family-owned hotels, inns or B&Bs. My friend and I spent a day at Kate Stanton Inn and had a GREAT experience! Liz totally accommodated our schedule (we arrived in the morning), and the most delightful breakfast was already waiting for us. I'm a vegetarian, so there was no meat. Poached eggs with vegetables, organic vanilla yogurt with sliced fresh Granny Smith apples, and cranberry pomegranate juice were out-of-this-world! When making a reservation, I mentioned to Liz that I was a chocoholic. Well, the most delicious chocolate croissants were waiting for me for breakfast. It's very impressive that Liz is so attentive to details, and she listens to what her guests are saying. We had breakfast in the lovely backyard which is very peaceful and quiet. Everything is impeccable about the Inn and the Innkeepers. We stayed in the Martha's Vineyard Room on the first floor. Very cozy, comfy, neat, and sparkling clean. We planned on visiting the Meditation Gardens in Encinitas, and Liz printed out information and directions for us. That was really helpful! THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH LIZ AND CAROL! SPASIBO! (it means "Thank You!" in Russian). I'll definitely be back! Olga :-)


This is THE place to stay - A FIVE DIAMANDS CLASSIFICATION

5 on April 09, 2011

We are living in Montreal (Canada) and we're travelling a lot around the world and it is our second stay at Kate Stanton Inn. Even on our first stay, we felt we were part of their family. Everything is PERFECT at Kate Stanton Inn. Not only the rooms but all the house is immaculate inside and outside. The decoration is done with good taste, it is calm, fresh, relaxing everything is so perfect. For our 2nd visit we reserved months and months in advance to make sure we would be able to stay with them. The breakfast is so delicious and prepared with love with the best ingredients. You wont regret it beleive me. C'est encore avec regret que nous les avons laissé mais ce n'est qu'un au revoir car nous y retournerons s'est certain ! C'est vraiment un gite 5 Diamands. Merci et encore Merci vous êtes formidables ! Ginette et Marcel !


Home away from Home

5 on March 29, 2011

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Kate Stanton Inn for 10 days. The house is beautiful, our room was immaculate, small details everywhere showed the warmth and care of the Innkeepers, and breakfast was a daily feast. From the minute we walked in, we felt at home. It was as if we were going back to visit family. Liz and Carol are so warm, kind and thoughtful that everyday we looked forward to going "home" to see them. After being there for 10 days, they became part of our lives and we talk about our days at Kate Stanton all the time. We hope to be back there soon.


A home away from home...but better!

5 on March 27, 2011

Kate Stanton Inn was amazing. Liz and Carol were exceptional hosts who made sure I felt cared for and comfortable my entire stay. I enjoyed it so much I am returning for a weekend with my husband for our anniversary.


Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

5 on March 21, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs all over the world and we think the Kate Stanton Inn is by far the best. The B&B is very clean, charming, and wonderfully located for beaches and tourist attractions in San Diego. Moreover, the innkeepers, Liz and Carol, truly and genuinely care for their guests. It is shown through their personal touches (chocolate covered strawberries for Valentine’s Day), enlightening conversations, gourmet breakfasts (they accommodated our special diets) and thoughtful hospitality (we love peppermint patties and were give two big ones on our pillows at night). We stayed at Kate Stanton Inn for four nights and we felt like we were part of an extended family, along with the other two guests. It takes special people to leave that impression on others during a short period of time. It was hard to leave, but we will be back!


40th Anniversary Gift

4.6 on February 23, 2011

Liz and Carol are two jewels. We have stayed at several B&B's, but never felt that we were apart of a family when there. They shared and listened making us feel comfortable during our stay. We had special dietary needs and they went beyond the norm to accommodate us! The house is beautiful, but the hostesses are what makes your stay special! if you want to feel that you are a welcome guest that is also a member of their extended family, this will more than foot your bill. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you Liz and Carol. You made our 40th anniversary gift truly special!


Extraordinary service

4.8 on January 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Martha's Vinyard room on 12/29-12/30, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The genuine hospitality of Liz and Carol combined with immaculate and charming decor made us hurry back to the inn each evening. Since the larger rooms were already booked, I was a little nervous when I read that we would have to 'share' a bathroom, but it was non-issue. Within an hour of arriving, we felt like we were welcome guests in a delightful little family, complete with well-mannered pets. Cheese and wine and conversation in the evenings, a delicious breakfast waiting in the morning. Recommendations and driving instructions to places of interest, by proprietors who have lived in the area for years. This is what you come to a B&B for, and the Kate Stanton Inn delivers. Did I mention that it was immaculate? I wish I could give it 6 stars for cleanliness.


My weekend at Kate Stanton Inn

5 on December 15, 2010

A weekend at the Kate Stanton Inn was a great way to start the holiday season. It was so tastefully decorated inside and out. The fireplace in my room made it so cozy. Add to that, a book to read, a throw for added comfort and chocolate on my pillow. I enjoyed the blueberry bran muffin with lemon curd and coffee early in the morning in a Kate Stanton robe (just my size). I look forward to returning as Liz and Carol (the innkeepers) were delightful.


Outstanding Four Day Stay for a Friend's Wedding

5 on October 13, 2010

Our four day stay at the Kate Stanton Inn was wonderful in every single way. No attention to detail was left undone. Liz and Carol are gracious hostesses in addition to being fabulous cooks. Our room was restful, the patio a great spot to attack must do work on vacation, and the hospitality so very genuine and pleasing. My husband not necessarily big on the B&B idea kept thinking the next day, "I wonder what Carol and Lizzie are doing now." Ann and Bill


Wie daheim - für unterwegs

5 on October 06, 2010

Unsere vierköpfige Familie aus der Schweiz verlebte drei unvergessliche Tage im Kate Stanton Inn. Liz und Carol sind liebenswürdige und aufmerksame Gastgeberinnen - wir fühlten uns in jeder Beziehung willkommen und sehr aufmerksam betreut. Wir können dieses B&B allen, die Wert auf ein gepflegtes, persönliches und gastfreundliches Haus legen, die ein persönliches Daheim für unterwegs suchen, wärmstens empfehlen. Wir haben im Kate Stanton Inn neue Freunde gefunden. We will come again, Liz and Carol. Thank you for your hospitality Susann, Jürg, Annina und Catherina Bosshard-Kälin


THE Best place to stay

5 on September 10, 2010

I was in the San Diego area for work staying at the W in downtown. My boyfriend was meeting me in CA. We like to stay and little B & B's. I found the Kate Stanton Inn on-line and it by far exceeded our expectations!! It was better than the W! I travel for work quite a bit and I am not found of hotels and would prefer to be home. We did not want to leave.... The hospitality is the best and the breakfast.......soooo yummy:) Wine and cheese, water and chocolate on the nightstand. Liz and Carol cant be beat! We will be back. Thanks ladies you are running a 5 star B & b:)


A truly memorable and wonderful stay!

5 on August 29, 2010

A truly memorable stay! Liz and Carol, you are such wonderful hostesses! We are deeply touched by your hospitality and your genuine kindness! Everything was just so perfect and taken care of down to the smallest detail. This whole house including our room and the lovely bathroom are so tastefully decorated, with such a loving care. The same loving care both of you give to your guests. Cozy, clean and comfortable, but more important, this house is such a welcoming place. We have spent less than four days here and we feel as we have always known you, and your house felt just like home away from home. We'll be remembering those delicious breakfasts of yours, Liz! We're looking forward to our next visit and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Olgica and Hans


Hospitality at it's best!

4.8 on August 24, 2010

We stayed at the Kate Stanton for our anniversary and were impressed with the innkeepers- Liz and Carol, the friendliness of all staying there, the cleanliness of the rooms/inn and the gourmet breakfast! The Inn exudes a relaxing atmosphere, given it's views of the ocean and afternoon wine and cheese! We will be returning next year and encourage those who want a lovely, comfortable Inn with gracious hostesses to also spend a night or two at the Kate Stanton Inn


A Wonderful Sanctuary!!

5 on August 23, 2010

My stay at the Kate Stanton Inn was nothing short of perfect! Liz and Carol (the innkeepers) go so far out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything that you need. They are generous, kind souls who quickly become like friends. The house itself is so beautiful, and Liz and Carol immediately made me feel that the house was my own for the 3 days I was there. The food that they provide you is nothing short of amazing - wine with cheese and crackers, or fresh baked berry cobbler in the morning with all the fixings. The Inn had everything that I could have needed - beach chairs, boogie boards, a bike, etc. And the room I stayed in (Martha's Vineyard was lovely, with an extremely comfy bed to watch DVD's in from their movie library). The Inn is located in a serene spot over looking the ocean. In the mornings I would take a walk down to the beach after breakfast. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this place, and I hope to be able to make it back to the Kate Stanton Inn soon!


Lovely B&B

4.6 on August 21, 2010

The ladies who run the inn are lovely and fun to chat with. The rooms and commons areas are impeccably decorated, the evening wine and breakfast delicious, and the location convenient. A great value! I would definitely return.


Awesome!

5 on August 10, 2010

Liz and Carol are gracious, kind, and generous. My stay there felt like a visit with friends.


The best B&B ever

5 on July 13, 2010

I can’t pass up the chance to rave about The Kate Stanton Inn and more importantly, Liz and Carol. This was our first foray into B&B lodging and we were very nervous about the whole thing. Liz and Carol could not have made us feel more comfortable or more welcome. We were traveling with two small children (3 & 1 1/2) and they went out of their way to make sure the kids had a comfy place to sleep, toys, books and even their favorite food and snacks. The home is exquisite and the location cannot be beat. More than anything though, Liz and Carol are just the nicest, most generous and thoughtful people. They not only made us feel welcome, they made us feel like family. Aside from the lodging, I also hosted my sister's bridal shower there and it was top notch. Liz and Carol (and Liz's daughter KC) took care of all the details - from the delicious food and specialty mimosas, to the floral arrangements, decorations and even provided live music, which was such a nice surprise. Guests raved about the food for days afterwards. The home is perfect for entertaining - there are plenty of places to sit inside and out and the setting is ideal for catching up, mingling and even opening gifts. They literally left no stone unturned - having gardeners come in just prior to the shower to make sure the landscaping was perfect. Because I live out of town, I was looking for a place that was like a home for a shower, rather than a generic restaurant or bar. The location and the event exceeded all of my expectations, which is difficult to do because I am very particular when it comes to hosting an event. I would not have changed a thing. Liz said I could be involved as little or as much as I wanted, and it was so nice to actually be able to enjoy my sister's shower and leave mostly everything into the extraordinarily capable hands of Liz, Carol and KC. Overall, if you are looking for a place to stay or a place to host a party or gathering, I could not recommend The Kate Stanton Inn more.


Graciousness and personalized attention

5 on June 05, 2010

Graciousness and personalized attention by the innkeepers distinguish Liz and Carol and put them in a category above what we have experienced in other excellent B and B's. From a personal call prior to our visit inquiring about special requests, kind provision of delicious vegetarian foods for breakfast and snacks, lending us great bikes to explore the coast, fresh oranges from the citrus trees, portable beach chairs, and much more. Not pretentious or cutesy, but comfortable, beautifully decorated and a very sweet place to stay. Peggy and Marty. Charlottesville VA


Motherly Touch

4.8 on April 22, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Carol were very gracious and generous hosts and the food was fantastic. If you are homesick and need a motherly touch Liz and Carol will take the best care of you. My only wish is that the price allowed us to go more frequently.


loved our stay

4.8 on March 15, 2010

wow...we had a great time...liz and carol are great...our room was adorable,spotless,perfect~!!! We felt so welcomed and cared for...go,go,go..


A Wonderful Place To Stay!

4.8 on February 14, 2010

We cannot give enough compliments about our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. The home is clean, beautiful, charming and Liz & Carol (the Inn Keepers) were such a pleasure to visit with (along with Robert and Kai!). The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and we even received cute heartshaped cupcakes for Valentine's Day! We went for a relaxing birthday/valentine's weekend and that is exactly what we got. For a friendly, relaxing, beautiful getaway the Kate Stanton Inn is definately the place. The fact that the beach is just a couple blocks away is just a bonus. Thanks again Liz & Carol, your hospitality was very much appreciated.


Aesthetically comfortable, lovingly hosted

5 on January 17, 2010

The experience of the Kate Stanton Inn starts with the first phone call. I needed a real vacation of solitude and lollygagging and Lizzy assured me that this was the place. Upon arrival, I was greeted by 2 women who welcomed me to their sanctuary with a warmth unmatched. Gourmet pizza was generously offered and my bags wisked to my room. Lizzy and Carol have created a unique experience and dearly love to offer an aesthetically comfortable experience, lovingly prepared food, and a community experience if guests choose to partake. Quiet and the need for spaciousness are honored too. I felt pampered and was indulged in an exchange of friendship that I shall always treasure. I needed to laugh and we laughed. I needed solitude, and had all that I wanted. I needed sleep, directions, beach equipment, and refrigerator space – it was all there. The Inn is impeccably clean (that would be Carol’s attention to detail), the beds are like big fluffy clouds, and every night fresh water and chocolate was on my nightstand. I would return from my day of lollygagging and be invited for a meal, dessert, or offered their undivided attention to share my day. I returned to the KSI a month later for my daughter’s 13th birthday with her best friend. Carol and Lizzy love kids and created a dream-like experience for the girls. A pasta birthday dinner complete with balloons, expertly decorated cupcakes, all layed out with the china and crystal. The two girls were absolutely mesmerized and Mom (me) was feeling eternal gratefulness for such a gesture of the heart. New guests arrived just as we were preparing to eat and we heartily welcomed them to join us. That is just how it is at the Kate Stanton Inn. A few weeks later, we opened a package containing beautiful photos taken by Carol. Guests will not be disappointed and will appreciate the genuineness of this experience. I could write more, but why don’t you see for yourself what surprises await you.


Better than Home

5 on January 08, 2010

I stayed at the Kate Stanton Inn while attending some classes at the near by GIA school. There are many reasons why I will most likely be going back to stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz was a wonderful host along with Carol, and made me feel like I belonged in their home. The rooms I stayed in were beautiful and cozy. It was great to sit at the kitchen island and watch Liz cook up a storm. Which always tasted as good as it smelled! I also enjoyed having a glass of wine and warming up to the lit fireplace after a long day at school. It was so nice to sit and visit with both Liz and Carol. I feel as though I've made lifelong friends. They were both eager to help me out in any way and since I was traveling alone, the advice on where to go, helped a lot. There are many different shopping areas around their house and it overlooks the ocean. Staying at the Kate Stanton Inn was a blessing and I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone that would like a comfortable stay in southern California.


Being at home

5 on November 30, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kate Stanton Inn, it felt like we right at home and it was very nicely decorated. The breakfasts were the best and plentiful. The Inn Keeper very helpfull paying attention to every detail. An outstanding Inn and worth the drive down, quiet and secluded but San Diego is not far away.


Best Place Ever!

4.4 on November 11, 2009

I went to the kate Stanton Inn for my 13th birthday with my friend. We had so much fun and we had the best food! Not only do Lizzy and Carol cook fabullouse food and do their best to make your stay memorable, but they are great company. They immediatly become your friend and once you arrive they show you to your room and bring you water, they talk for a while and then leave you to unpack. In the morning they make you a fantastic breakfast where they keep you company along with their cats and dog, Kie. After breakfast, either inside the warmth of the house or outside with the view of the ocean, they send you on your way to have fun around California. After having a fun filled day you are welcomed back into their home where you can lay your head down on puffy pillows and dream under soft blankets. -Hannah Gardner :)


Wonderful stay!

5 on November 09, 2009

Kate Stanton Inn was a wonderful place to stay while visiting our daughter in San Diego. We stayed in the Nantucket Room which is large and comfortable and has a private patio. From the bedside water carafes to the fresh flowers, every detail is lovely - and no detail is forgotten. The breakfasts were delicious and Liz was gracious in letting our daughter enjoy breakfast with us each morning. She was very flexible on the time as well. We also enjoyed wine and cheese in the evenings and were invited to sit by the fire, use the large patio (with a view of the ocean), or take our wine to our room to relax. Liz and Carol could not have been more hospitable and helpful. They had information on things to do in the area, offered beach chairs, and supplied flash lights for our evening walks. It was great!


Charming, Romantic, Perfect Stay!

5 on October 25, 2009

Kate Stanton Inn is a charming and wonderfully romantic place to stay! My husband and I stayed there in July for his surprise birthday weekend. We were greeted by Liz and Carol and offered a cool, refreshing beverage. It was like we had known them forever and wished they were part of our family! We stayed in the Nantucket room, which I coveted. It was like we were transported to Martha's Vineyard! Gorgeously decorated down to every detail! Liz was so accommodating and helpful, she made arrangements for us to do a VIP tour at Stone Brewery (my husband's favorite!). She and Carol also served us a wonderful breakfast out on the patio the next day. The weather was cool and brisk, the sun shining, and the food was fantastic! Carol made a stunning strata for our breakfast which we loved! Our overall experience was simply wonderful! These ladies know what travelers want in a bed & breakfast, and we were extremely satisfied! If you're looking for a place that is special and will hold lasting memories for you, look no further than Kate Stanton! A gem!


What a WONDERFUL time!

4.6 on September 24, 2009

My family and I had such a wonderful time at the Kate Stanton Inn. We were traveling with our 5Mo old son and felt like we were staying with family. We were welcomed with open arms and felt very at ease. The inn is close to the coast and several surfing hot spots. We'll definitely be returning for our quick weekend surfing/relaxation trips!


Home Away from Home

5 on August 03, 2009

We stayed at the Kate Statnon Inn while visiting our family in SD. By the time we checked out we felt like we were leaving anthor piece of our family behind. Liz and Carol mad eus feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast time was flexable and our menu prefrences were respected. Liz is a fantasic cook. The room was clean and comfortable. The stay made me want to move back home.


A great home-base in North County

5 on August 02, 2009

This is a truly special place. Liz and Carol tend to every detail to make to make you feel both pampered and at home. They offer sightseeing or logistical tips, if you want them, but never intrude their ideas on what you “should” see or do. The rooms are beautifully appointed in peaceful sea-greens and blues, with huge fluffy towels, comfy duvets, and soft robes to wrap up in. Even better, they supply boogie-board and beach chair for making the most of the beautiful local beaches. I arrived a stranger, just passing through, but I’ll come back to a home base, with friends to share stories with.


Been there more than once!

4.6 on July 01, 2009

I am a Inn Keeper up North in Point Roberts but when I am in the San Diego area, Kate Stanton Inn is where I always stay. Close to the best & most beautiful beaches. The fun, lay-back town of Encinitas, and close to everything. Inn Keepers Liz & Carol are outstanding. They are truly there to make sure your stay is just what you need--be it alone time, or 'join the family' time. You can make sure all your desires are taken care of. When I come into town, I truly feel at home. "Make our home yours" they tell you when you arrive, and they mean it! Ann Christi


Amazing stay at Kate Stanton Inn

4.8 on June 25, 2009

My husband and I came to San Diego on a vacation and wanted something a bit more intimate than a typcial hotel room. Staying with Liz and Carol was like staying with friends! It was a gorgeous property and we loved the Nantucket room! Liz and Carol gave us tips on places to visit, shop and eat. This was the best vacation we have had in a long time and we are coming back next year to stay at Kate Stanton!


Kate Stanton Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $379
  • Reviews (116) 4.9
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7604739640

Visit Website »

View details

Top