Fireside Lodge Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.2
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Onsite Dining3.5

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Great little getaway place

4.4 on September 14, 2015

This place was so cute. And it exceeded my expectations. The only thing I noticed off was that the floor didn't feel clean. But that did not stop me from enjoying my time there. We had room 3 which is the spa studio and it was perfect for my husband and I.

Birthday girls weekend

4.2 on May 07, 2015

There was no onsite dining so that catagory does not apply.

romantic getaway

5 on April 30, 2015

This was a romantic getaway for us and it couldn't be better. I was very tired when checking in and the lady at the desk was wonderful, understanding, and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I really appreciated the microwave, the sink near by, and all the supplies. The deep tub was so relaxing and we had plenty of towels. The weather was not friendly and we were happy relaxing in our room. Parking was great and it's a family friendly place. I was concerned about the price but we left happy, we will be back.

Better than I expected!

4.4 on April 19, 2015

After reading the reviews we were not sure what to expect but stayed the weekend for our anniversary. We rented a jacuzzi room with another private patio with a jacuuzi. We stayed in room #7 aka the drippy bear room. The room was clean, quiet and had everything we could have wanted including a refrigerator and stove. We never used it but it was there in case we wanted it. It also had 2 bathrooms & 2 fireplaces. I went out to the patio when we arrived to fire up the jacuuzi and was happily surprised that they had it already hot and ready to go for us. We never even used our car the entire weekend. It's about a block from the village so we walked everywhere we wanted to go. We never ate at the Fireside so I am not sure if it was good or not but there is every kind of restaurant you could ever want within walking distance. (Everything from high end steak houses and Italian to pizza and Jack in the Box). We did not have our kids with us but if we had there is a bowling alley, ice skating, laser tag and mini golf right across the street. Keep in mind this is not a fancy hotel or anything but for the price you get what you pay for. I will definitely recommend this place. Thank you Fireside for a peaceful, relaxing weekend. The Smith's

Loved it!

5 on February 25, 2015

It was great! The room, the view of the lake, we loved it!

great value

4.4 on February 24, 2015

great location, great value... will be back for sure

A Nice Suprise

3.6 on January 08, 2015

This review is of one of the hotel rooms they have a few other room options that can accommodate larger groups. The two of us stayed in one of the lower hotel rooms for a three night stay. The rooms are small but comfortable and cozy. Building is an older building and walls and floors are a bit thin so there is a bit of a noise issue of hearing people walking around and footsteps above room. But this was a very minor issue to us. room was equipped with a microwave, small fridge coffee maker a gas wall heater and a gas fireplace. The front desk was very helpful and very friendly. This is a small operation here so on occasion you may see a sign on the reception door saying be back in 10 min. The continental breakfast in the mornings and the microwave popcorn in the rooms was a nice added touch.

2bed room

2.4 on January 01, 2015

My stay was just ok. Lots of creaking walls and ceilings made my sleep uncomfortable

First and not our last

5 on November 13, 2014

Loved this place it had it all, best of all was waking up with a cup of coffe that they supply in room, a fire and the best view of the lake, I'm sure there is probably better but for the weekend I thought I was in paradise, can't wait to go back. Go check this place out you won't be disappointed.

October Big Bear Stay

3.4 on October 22, 2014

We stayed in room 212 and a few items in the bathrooms need to be taken care of. They are.. Toilet seat was loose as well as faucets.

Feb 2014

3.8 on February 23, 2014

Great place

A pleasant mountain surprise!

4.0 on February 06, 2014

We were looking for a one night stay at the last minute and our usual lodging choices were booked. We found the Fireside Lodge through friends performing at the Cave that night and took a chance. We were blown away by the room size and amenities for the reasonable cost! We will be back, count on it!


5 on February 28, 2013


was not a bed and breakfast. just a hotel with a contentail breakfast.

3.2 on October 07, 2012

room was nice and clean. Had every thing in it but was really small. Not bad if just for a fast getaway for two. The fridg did not work and was not a bed and breakfast. Staff was nice and helpfull and grounds were clean.

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

3.8 on February 25, 2012

Loved staying here for my boyfriend's birthday. The room was very clean and the hot tub inside was great.

I expected a lot more....

2.2 on February 19, 2012

For a $200+ per night cabin I expected a little more than we got. The ''cabin' was clean and tidy, but in serious need of a little upgrading. The TV was probably 15+ years old, the VHS players of similar vintages. The coffee maker barely needed any coffee added for a full flavor cup. There were (empty) soap dispensers in the showers and the towels, while adequate to dry, were rough and ancient. Add to that the thin walls and the general 'slightly run-down' appearance of everywhere and the general experience is not really a $200 one. The rules and regulations are somewhat draconian, over breakfast my wife was asked if we had a pet. This seemed like an odd question, until we realized that this would incur a rather large charge. We think that she was asked as I carried a bundle of jackets that included a rather large fleece to the car prior to breakfast. Apparently having a pet in the room constitutes a large additional charge. So do many, many other things. Oh and we had problems with the keys not working three times in 24 hours. It was a useful, but expensive place to stay.

Great Big Bear getaway

4.0 on October 27, 2011

The Fireside Lodge is the perfect cozy little place to stay up at Big Bear. With a friendly staff, cozy rooms and fireplaces on timers, you can't beat the deals they offer!

Enjoyed our stay and massage

3.4 on October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Fireside Lodge and had massages at the nearby Bear Creek Lodge (owned by same company). We greatly enjoyed both. The only thing I would change is the stiffness of the mattress - would've slept better on a more cushier one.

Had a great time!

5 on October 17, 2011

We rented cabin 18 (it is a two bedroom and one bath private cabin) and it was clean and comfortable. Perfect for our quick weekend get a way. The staff was above and beyond courteous and made us feel at home. Not to mention they made some special accommodations for us (parking wise) because they were able to. I would definitely go back and stay there again! The friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere couldn't be beat! Jaqueline - thank you so much for all your information on the surrounding area - we had a blast!

Great Big Bear getaway

4.0 on October 06, 2011

This place combines the quaint comforts you'd want in a place like Big Bear, with an ideal location between the Village and the Lake. The fireplace w/ timer makes it a cozy/convenient stay, and the staff in the past few years has always been friendly and helpful, personalizing it that much more.

Amazing overnight stay!

3.8 on September 05, 2011

Went with my boyfriend for just 2 days & one night. The hotel was super cute and only one street away from the lake. Also within a 5 minute walk to the village. Excellent location!! We chose room #27 because it had a great private balcony which has a view of the lake. The room was quaint and perfect for a weekend getaway. The bed was a king size bed and very comfortable. I would definately choose this hotel for my next visit again.

it's okay

2.8 on February 11, 2011

Nice room but very small. For a small room high priced. Nice smiling people. Wonderful breakfast

Overnight trip

4.0 on January 19, 2011

It was a cute little place to stay at after a long day on the slopes. The spa in the room was awesome but we had expected a suite to be bigger than the room we stayed in was.

Ski Week

3.0 on January 19, 2011

Very clean and cozy room. Nicely decorated with a view of the lake. Front desk receptionist was very friendly and we liked the dog. Too bad it wasn't an actual B&B. There was no breakfast and the front desk didn't even open until 8:00 a.m. and we were well on the road to get on the slopes. The coffee in the room could not possibly meet anyone's expectations.

clean rooms friendly staff

5 on November 14, 2010

I took my family to Big Bear for a weekend getway, we have stayed and sevreal different Lodges over the years, we found Fireside to be very clean as well as the staff were friendly and helpful we will return soon Rusty,

Fireside Lodge


  • Nightly Rate $59 - $379
  • Reviews (25) 4.0
  • Rooms 33

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9098662253
  • Fax 1-9098668113
  • Toll free 1-8008312253

Visit Website »

View details