The Ballard Inn & Restaurant Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely stay at the Ballard!

4.0 on August 24, 2011

This place provided the perfect romantic weekend getaway in Santa Barbara wine country. The service was great, the bed was super comfortable, we loved our room (the Gaviota) - one of the smaller ones but it had a balcony which we loved. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from it all - no TV, no phones, very private, but still just a short drive from Solvang and Los Olivos and walking distance to a few wineries. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny!


weekend break

4.8 on August 13, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights upon recommendation from a friend..The minute i walked in through the doors i felt instant relaxation..The staff were incredibly helpful. Our room was lovely and bright and airy with immensely comfortable beds. The CD they played at turn down was such a nice touch. I loved chilling out on the veranda in the rocking chairs with a glass of wine.The hors d'oeurves hour was a nice surprise, great food and good wine..Breakfast was delicious as was dinner, great quality food served in proper portions which allowed you to sample all courses. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice quiet break


Amazing experience

5 on July 21, 2011

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. I have to say that the facility and the staff were beyond our expectations. I have an executive sales position and as such have a difficult time letting go and relaxing. This was the most relaxing vacation that I've ever had.


I love this place!

5 on July 21, 2011

I have stay at many lovely B&B's but none compare to the Ballard Inn. Not only is it lovely, but the location, service and the food are amazing. The owners and staff are as nice as can be and he is a very talented chef. I highly recommend a stay or two or more at the Ballard Inn. You will love it!


great stay in Ballard

4.4 on July 08, 2011

The service was wonderful at the Ballard Inn. There was very close attention to detail. The staff were so accommodating and friendly at every turn. The Ballard Inn restaurant is wonderful, definitely worth a try wether or not you are staying at the Inn. The location is great too right in the center of the Santa Ynez valley only 5 minutes from Los Olivos, Solvang and Santa Ynez. We will definitely be back for another stay at the Ballard Inn.


Romantic but...

3.6 on July 05, 2011

Excellent facility as expected- rooms and cleanliness top notch. Service eager and friendly but could use a way to have help at the front desk on a more timely basis. Breakfast a very saisfactory experience; dinner did not measure up to reputation.


Whitfields

4.2 on June 29, 2011

Each visit is wonderful. The staff are super accommodating, service oriented, helpful and enthusiastic. The dining is SUPERB. Our dinners are to die for. Kudos to the chef and staff. My only recommendation is to replace the pillows; too hard and flat. See you soon we hope!


Ballard Inn

2.8 on June 28, 2011

Nicely located near Los Olivos and some very good restaurants. At $300/night, not a good value.


fantastic b & b

4.6 on June 27, 2011

We have stayed two times now at Ballard and were very happy both times, the food is fantastic and the service is always beyond accomodating. The city of Ballard is charming and wonderful for morning walks before you start the day of wine tasting. The rooms are all comfortable and very private feeling, I would HIGHLY recomend this inn. I will never stay anywhere else in the area!


A lovely, relaxing getaway!

3.8 on June 22, 2011

A perfect location to get away from it all with a great bed in a quiet room, a huge wrap around porch to sit and chat with our friends, and a dining experience that is as good as it gets. Also, the wineries nearby are just a great bonus to the whole experience.


Amazing

4.6 on June 22, 2011

This is a story book get away. The Ballard Inn is a must stay place. Great rooms, happy and friendly staff, and a 4 Star restaurant. A slice of heaven.


Ballard Inn, Ballard, Sta Monica CA

4.6 on June 21, 2011

Exceptional quality and ambience in the heart of Santa Ynez wine area. One of the best B&B's we have stayed in in the USA, with great rooms, fantastic staff and service, plus the unusual feature for a B&B of a first class restaurant in the hotel. Highly recommended.


Love it!

5 on June 07, 2011

The staff was awesome, really felt welcomed. The food quality was great.


Refresh and Relax

3.8 on June 07, 2011

Very nice quite large room was an enjoyable experience will add it to my must return list. M.


fairly expensive but good quality hotel

3.2 on June 02, 2011

comfortable stay but pricey compared to other accomodation


A lovely night in the country

4.4 on May 31, 2011

The staff work very hard and succeed in proving comfort and friendliness.


We'll be back!

4.2 on May 31, 2011

A lovely B&B in a charming setting - what a great way to spend a birthday!


Best B&B We Ever Stayed At!

4.8 on May 31, 2011

Some friends recommended this B&B and we are so glad they did! Everything about this place was over-the-top wondeful. From the minute you pull up, you fall in love with the charming exterior and grounds. Your breakfast, included with your meal, is a gourmet treat which changes every day, along with fresh fruit and other goodies. The chef is awesome! There are cookies on your pillow every night and turn-down service before bed. And one of the best perks was the coffee bar, open 24/7, and the fantastic "happy hour" where you can drink wine and parkate of a great appetizer spread, better than we have ever seen, while you socialize with the other guests. Or you can just go sit on the porch in one of the many rocking chairs and enjoy the view. The rooms are gorgeous and cozy. Most of all, every staff person we talked to was friendly, happy, and helpful. The staff here were by far the most consistently nice and helpful bunch we have ever run into in our travels. We hated to leave! Thanks for making our visit so extra-special.


Ballard Inn is the best/great location

4.8 on May 26, 2011

This was our 7th stay at Ballard Inn. Service and rooms are great. Location is convenient to wineries, Los Olivios and Solvang.


Best B&B Ever!

5 on May 25, 2011

Our stay at the Ballard Inn was relaxing, the breakfast was outstanding, the staff treated us like we were their only guests, and we truly enjoyed every second of our stay. Key details were: comfortable bed/room; wine tasting, hors d'oeuvres late in the afternoon, then just walking downstairs to a fabulous meal prepared by Chef Budi. FABULOUS!


The Best-Ever Place

5 on May 25, 2011

The dining was unbelievable...loved the chef, who was wine tasting with us earlier in the afternoon. Our room was romantic...our time with you all was heavenly!


Great Getaway

4.8 on May 18, 2011

A wonderful oasis in the middle of Ballard, a small community! Very pleasant ambiance, nice decor, wonderful amenities and an exceptionally well-trained staff.


Perfect Getaway

4.0 on May 16, 2011

Quiet, relaxing, nice, helpful staff. HIghly recommend it to others


Ruined by snoring.

3.2 on May 04, 2011

The Inn is a beautiful building with nice grounds. And we loved the breakfast in the morning. But, for the price of our room, I was disappointed when we tried to go to sleep and could clearly hear the occupants on either side of us. On one side, we had a couple arguing and on the other side was very loud snoring! Unbelievably, the person actually sounded like he was in our room.


Fantastic Celebratory Weekend

4.6 on April 27, 2011

The Ballard Inn & Restaurant is wonderful. We took my mother there to celebrate her birthday and nothing could be better! The staff was exceptional and attentive. The food was to die for and the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. Thank you for a perfect weekend.


Anniversary at the Ballard

4.6 on April 26, 2011

One-stop luxury which made for a perfect 32nd anniversary celebration.


Ballard inn just superb!

5 on April 22, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Ballard Inn. It is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in! Superb food, excellent service, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable accommodations. We can't wait to return!


Charming and friendly inn

4.0 on April 18, 2011

The Ballard Inn is an utter delight. Breakfast was a treat and the dinner was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and provided vouchers to visit several wineries.


Santa Inez Valley in March

5 on April 13, 2011

This is a great B&B. Good food, good wine, great place to meet other travelers, very comfortable accommodations. Plenty of activities in the area - golf, wine tasting, Solvang. Cape Cod repeat guest.


Best B&B

5 on April 13, 2011

Everything about our stay here was wonderful. Very nice staff, great restaurant, charming, spacious room, great wine tasting! Will definitely return.


Excellent escape

4.0 on March 28, 2011

We slipped away from LA for the night. After battling terrible traffic, it was so nice to settle in and juSt relax. We arrived a few minutes late for the happy hour, but they made up a special plate just for us, along with a couple glasses of red. We also decided last minute to cancel our reservation elsewhere and just eat at the inn. Great choice. Excellent food and service. And the breakfast was also amazing. We will be back.


Wine country

3.4 on March 26, 2011

A beautiful, comfortable and friendly place to stay. The linens and pillows were wonderful and very comfy. Room was beautiful, atmosphere lovely. Thank you for the relaxing stay.


Very romantic. Great for b-day getaways

4.2 on March 25, 2011

I took my girlfriend for wine tasting on her b-but found so much more. The breakfast was one of the best Ive had and cheff Budy does an awesome job during dinner. The service was very good and the peacefulness of the place is great for some time alone with your loved one.


Wonderful weekend getaway!

4.6 on March 16, 2011

We will return to The Ballard Inn again and again. The staff is amazing and the food is unparalleled. We especially loved the afternoon wine and snacks. The only reason the room did not get the highest rating is because the mattress left a lot to be desired... but everything else was wonderful, down to the tiniest detail.


What a great experience

3.8 on March 02, 2011

I have visited this location many times and the quality of service and food has always amazed me. They made reservations for the best places and the staff were excellent. Location was perfect for our bike riding and wine tasting plans. Michael D


Wonderful Getaway

4.6 on March 02, 2011

Our stay was relaxing and peaceful with a delicious wine & appetizer hour and superb breakfast. We had an exquisite dinner at the restaurant as well. The staff was very helpful in choosing a wine-tasting to visit and other local attractions. We've already booked our anniversary stay next September!


Our 6th or 7th Stay & WONDERFUL as always!

4.8 on March 02, 2011

We absolutely love the Ballard Inn and have been coming here since March 2002. It's now been 2 days since we've been home and I miss it still. Just a wonderful experience, as always and the restaurant is superb. I typically order the fish because I had a dish a few years ago that was quite possibly the best fish dish I've ever had. Chef Budi impressed me this time with the Arctic Char...wow. One winery not to be missed during the stay...Demetria...the 2-mile drive in off Foxen Canyon Drive is absolutely beautiful. We could have stayed at the tasting room for hours!


Best Romantic Getaway

5 on February 28, 2011

The Ballard Inn is thee place to go for a romantic holiday. Wonderful rooms, Great restaurant and located in the heart of the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley, minutes from everything one would want to visit there. I keep coming back again and again for those special occasions.


Nice Start for Wine Tasting

3.2 on February 27, 2011

Have been to Ballard many times. Have tried different rooms and this time it was Alamo Pintado above Ballard st and a nice cozy room on second floor of main building. The prices are high to stay here but you do get free wine and snacks before dinner which is nice, a great breakfast each morning which is better than most bed and breakfasts. They have tea and coffee anytime near the fireplace in living room area. A great tasting cookie is on your bed when arriving back from dinner with turn down service and radio playing soft music. My only complaint was they do not have enough hot water for shower anytime I tried and that was frustrating for me when I pay that much. I might not come back as price is pretty high and there are other less expensive alternatives but it still remains a great stop along the wine tasting journey.


Outstanding

5 on February 22, 2011

The staff were friendly and happy. Service was excellent. The food was gourmet. Altogether an outstanding experience.


Beautiful and cozy

5 on February 09, 2011

This was my first time in this part of California.. what a delight! Thank you so much for all the hospitality. It is certainly the way to go when visiting this region.


Charming b & b

3.4 on January 28, 2011

Ballard Inn was just as charming as advertised. The room was comfortable and clean. Loved the fireplace in the room. Loved the chocolate cookies left on our bed at night. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.


Local Visitor's Review

3.6 on January 22, 2011

Everything was great. Very professional and accommodating staff. My only complaint is with the exterior lighting for my room. The door light remained illuminated until rather late and it is impossible to block out the light from the room as the shades do not fully cover the window panes and are not sufficiently heavy to fully darken the room.


"This is the B and B to start with in 2011"...

4.8 on January 08, 2011

If you have one or two days to stay in the wine country of Santa Inez Valley, The Ballard Inn is the place to spend it. We have stayed at the Ballard Inn twice. We love it...You feel as though you have been bathed in an "anxiety free oasis". Christine that is at the front desk, along with the other help that warmy welcome you, seem to be the same folks for years, they are so pleasant and approachable. They really want your stay to be perfect. You feel as though you are in someones beautiful warm home....The parlor for a late afternoon glass of wine, with cheeses, fruit, tasy goodies and fire, all complimentary makes for a special treat. You can take your wine out on to the delightful patio with rockers and over look the vines in the valley. We sat there and played a nice game of dice, while sipping and enjoying the food and wine. You need not make any plans to eat elsewhere, a better dinning experience you will not find. You will experience a delightful complimentary breakfast cooked to order the next morning. The owners are a delightful family, the Chef extrodinaire (owner), is great, food with flair you will not leave hungry but will savor the delishous dishes! You are close to multiple wineries, a getaway from L.A. like this is hard to beat. We feel like part of the Ballard Inn family and will continue to stay there and reccommend to our friends that want to experience something very special. We went late November, this time, celebrating our 30th anniversary, it was so special. What I like is the unpretencious atmosphere, dress up or down, but not to worry, jeans totally fine. Of course the Christmas decor added to the ambiance. You will not be disappointed at the Ballard Inn, a must in 2011.


"Cuddly like a miniature horse"

4.2 on January 02, 2011

Great location, close to miniature horse a must to see. Good place and area for a romantic getaway.


My stay at Ballard Inn

5 on December 30, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Ballard Inn, room is beautiful, clean and quiet. The Inn is very homey and we were treated wonderfully. The dinner we had was amazing with great service and delicious food with amazing desserts. The breakfast was also incredible. We will always be staying here not that we discovered this treasure.


A Destination for Food and Wine Lovers

4.8 on December 23, 2010

We often come here to celebrate an occasion, this time it was our 18th anniversary. Chef Budi is a gem and we are so fortuntate to have him and his unforgettable dining in Santa Barbara wine country. Service is great and the staff goes out of their way to accommodate every request. This is not what I would describe as a value-priced place if you're looking for bargains. But it's top quality in every aspect so you definitely get what you pay for and then some. I look forward to many future stays in this charming inn.


Ballard Inn

3.0 on November 29, 2010

Adorable inn and room. Very nice hosts. Isolated. Right on the street. The room and the dining are quite expensive so I expected quality and pretty much got what I expected. Practically no counter space in bathroom. Bedroom is cosy and very small.


November holiday

4.8 on November 16, 2010

Wonderful staff - very helpful. Beautiful and friendly atmosphere - very welcoming. Would stay there again and again.


Beautiful B&B

4.4 on November 16, 2010

Excellent location, calm, peaceful, and especially loved the gas log fireplace in the room. Highly recommend to everyone.


10-year anniversary

4.6 on November 16, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ballard Inn and Restaurant. We spent the first afternoon on the porch relaxing and reading, and both mornings the wakeup coffee was excellent, and the breakfast superb. Outstanding service at all times.


Beyond the Rainbow

5 on November 11, 2010

Looking for that "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" place, the perfect place where you're dreams and reality meet? Judy Garland should be walking the halls singing in full voice. The Ballard Inn is simply outstanding in every way: Great rooms & inn & staff & quite simply put, one of the very best meals I've had in several years . . . The Chef's an artist . . . All 10s David Shepard


Finest Kind

4.6 on October 18, 2010

The perfect place to stay in the Santa Ynez Valley. Very comfortable, amazing service and food. Highly recommended for anyone considering a few days in the valley.


The best B&B I've found

5 on June 02, 2010

The Ballard Inn is nicely located in Santa Barbera County wine country, thus making it my choice for staying in this area. The owner and chef truly makes this the best bed and breakfast I've ever discovered. Dinner is offered for a premium price, but do take the inn up on it. The lamb is outstanding!


Wonderfully Relaxing

4.8 on April 13, 2010

We had a great stay at the Ballard Inn...we only wish we could move in!


A great getaway.

5 on December 02, 2009

My wife and I brought our four year old son with us for a family photo. We stayed at the Inn and they were more that accommodating with our son and our time schedule. Needless to say, we got up the next morning and went next door for our family photos, that I must say are amazing. The Inn is really a spectacular place to stay and enjoy the valley.


The Ballard Inn & Restaurant

Details

  • Nightly Rate $245 - $315
  • Reviews (56) 4.4
  • Rooms 15

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8056887770
  • Fax 1-8056889560
  • Toll free 1-8006382466
Top