Recent Reviews in Buxton, North Carolina

Fantastic place to stay! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 22, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, and it won't be our last!!!! Jed and Virginia and wonderful hosts, warm and welcoming! We feel at home there, the food is awesome, great variety. Our room was fantastic, comfortable and very nicely decorated. They've thought of lots of extras, beach towels, sun screen, bicycles, fresh cookies each day! Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


We will be back! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2014

These 2 ladies had never been to the outer banks and had no idea what to expect. We needed an early check in and called ahead requesting one if possible. Not only did the host accommodate, but called to inform us the room was ready while we were still on the road. A beautiful room with very gracious hosts awaited with access to everything we would need to use. As well as several ideas for sight seeing. The food was wonderful! Coffee/tea/snacks (those cookies to die for). All the staff were wonderful in addition to our hosts, Virginia and Jed. This place is a Diamond among CZ's and we highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfy, Friendly, Great Breakfast at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2012

Virginia and Jed manage this place wonderfully. Special place, great breakfast, easy.. no fuss.. gorgeous.. right out of Southern Living.. Chic beach though. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Anniversary!! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary at the Bed and Breakfast, it was our first experience staying in one. We had an amazing time our room (andrew) was beautiful we really enjoyed sitting on the deck in the afternoon looking out at the ocean, and having homemade cookies and pastry's for an afternoon snack. Virginia and Jed made our stay even more special, and seeing the 2 work so well together in the morning getting breakfast together was very nice to see, and while preparing they will visit and help give ideas on what to do that day. Our last day there with their help got us to go see the wild horses (jeep tour) it was amazing. My husband and I love lighthouses and we saw pretty much all of them in the area. We are hoping to go back again this Spring (2012) I have health issues and have since been put on full disability, and at the same time our oldest daughter is planning to get married in August (2012) So we will see if we can make the trip. If not this coming year hopefully the following one. Hopefully when we do make our trip back Jed and Virginia will still be working there. Jennifer & Stephen

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for the memories! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on September 21, 2011

Virginia and Jed were the best innkeeper/hosts. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, your new friends in Scottdale, PA.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2011

We loved our stay at the Cape Hatteras Bed & Breakfast! This was our first time staying in a B&B, and it was a perfect setting to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Emily room, which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic! The breakfast menu had so many delicious options, and we wish we could have stayed longer to try everything on the menu. We also enjoyed the afternoon tea and snacks! The B&B's location is perfect - a quick walk to the beach, a bike ride from the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and a quiet location for fun and relaxation! Jed and Virginia were amazing hosts, and offered great suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the Outer Banks! We will definitely be visiting next summer!

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place to stay at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 01, 2011

Rooms were clean and comfortable, innkeepers were friendly and inviting, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Close to a nice clean beach!

View more reviews for this inn


I can hardly wait to go back there! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2011

The Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast is a serious find of an inn on the Outer Banks in North Carolina. Run by a young couple, Jed and Virginia, who are only in their third month as innkeepers, the B&B is a former beach motel located in Buxton. When we first drove up, we were a bit concerned because it still does have that beach motel look to it. Once we saw our room, however, we were completely won over. The room was large with a king-sized bed, a bathroom with a shower, a small fridge and freezer, and a great balcony on which to sit. The room is spotlessly clean; Virginia assured us that they wash the comforters and all covers between guests, which is something that not all hotels or inns do. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night, which was lovely. The beach was a 3 minute walk down the street and the main drag was another 3 minutes the other direction. The main area alloted to guests was well-appointed and neat, with games, books, and a large TV. Breakfast was a choice of four items: yogurt, granola, and fruit; a standard eggs, meat, and grits southern breakfast; the quiche of the day; or whatever their special of the day was. The first morning I enjoyed two crepes with apples and brie, in an sweet apple cider reduction. The coffee and juice were great, and during the day they put out treats for the guests that were excellent as well. The only small issue we had was the wifi was inaccessible from our room, so we had to move to the common room to use our netbook. That being said, it's been common in almost all of the inns we've stayed at so far this trip. Overall, the value, cleanliness, and location were all excellent. I don't often with to come back to a place I've visited, simply because there are so many other places I want to see, but I would not hesitate to come back here and would, in fact, stay longer next time. Thank you Jed and Virginia for a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in July 2011 and had a great food, great service, and overall a great time. Wouldn't change anything. THANKS, Fernando

View more reviews for this inn


July 4th 2011 Stay at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 08, 2011

We arrived on July 1, greeted by Virginia and yes, tasty cookies. A quick tour of the B&B and then to our rooms. The B&B conveys everything you see in the pics, except for the wonderful hospitality of Jed and Virgina. One of the other major strengths is the convenience of the oceanfront. Need a quick getaway? This is the place for you!

View more reviews for this inn


great location! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 30, 2011

Great location - Buxton is so much nicer than the more populated areas near Nags Head and Kitty Hawk, lovely breakfast (Virginia's hash browns are superb!) and the chance to have bbq on the back deck - we truly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are just fine and very spacious. I can truly recommend this one!

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT EXPECTATIONS!! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2011

What an absolutely wonderful experience from beginning to end. Virginia and Jed greeted us at check in with mouth-watering homemade chocolate cookies. They were both so very nice and answered all of our questions about the area, such as shopping, fishing, restaurants etc. The rooms were neat, clean and very comfortable. The best part were the magnificent breakfast foods prepared by Chef Virginia. Blueberry waffles that melted in your mouth with crisp bacon and lots of other choices on the menu each day. Virginia and Jed were wonderful hosts and will keep my business every time I visit the OBX for business or vacation. OOPPS, almost forgot to mention the fact that the ocean is just a stones throw away with beautiful, uncrowded clean beaches. See you guys again before the summer is over. Thanks for your hospitality. A.B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Birthday Getaway at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2011

I can't even begin to tell you how warm and welcoming Jed and Virginia are!! The Inn is so very comfortable and so close to the beach!! Virginia's breakfasts are awesome! They start the wonderful days off deliciously. This is a definite do again. In fact after years of coming to OBX, Buxton and this B&B may be our homebase.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Anniversary at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 18, 2011

A HUGE thank you goes out to Jed & Virginia. We had an awesome anniversary, and wonderful return to Buxton. It was Jed & Virginia's first weekend and they did a wonderful job. The breakfasts were great and hospitality and service even better. This was our first stay at a B&B and it will not be our last at this establishment. Thanks again to Jed & Virginia. (Keith & Cathy)

View more reviews for this inn


What a great stay... at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 11, 2011

Jed and Virginia made us feel like we were visiting old friends! Breakfast in the mornings were a treat, and access to the beach was a nice short walk. The deck was perfect for relaxing on, and the common area was great to watch the ball game and play some scrabble. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Anniversity at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 20, 2011

This was our first visit to the coast and might i say that Jed and Virginia did a outstanding job. We both felt like we were at home the area was beautiful and our breakfast was supurb. If you have a chance to go to the coast this place is a must to stay at. Thanks to Jed and Virginia

View more reviews for this inn


We will be back! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on April 19, 2011

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary in Buxton. We chose the CHBB on a hunch. We we were not disappointed. Tom was amazing. He made sure everything went a perfectly as possible. Even to the point of calling our cell when we were late arriving(my fault for trying to take a short cut across a fog covered,rain slicked winding mountain road,following a rental truck doing 20 mph)to make sure we were safe. Cathy's breakfasts were fantastic and the conversations with the other guests were a treat. We will be back next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Flexible and welcoming at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 28, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the B&B, and especially appreciate Cathy's flexibility in helping us solve our reservation snafu! Food and company over breakfast was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection by the beach at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2010

My husband and I were simply having a weekend away from the stresses of life (including our grown children) and Cathy did an amazing job of making us feel right at home. The atmosphere was friendly, the cuisine was excellent, and the company of Cathy and the other guests could not have been more pleasant. As far as we're concerned, this is the only place we will stay on future trips to the Outer Banks. Becki and Grady Ashford

View more reviews for this inn


The Silver Lining at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2010

We had initially made reservations on Ocracoke, but the ferries were not working! Cathy had one last room in her inn. Talk about a silver lining - her hospitality was exceptional. Breakfast at the inn was delightful - both because it was delicious and because of the friendly breakfast conversation with other guests. The beach is close by and there are beach chairs, bikes and so forth for guests to borrow. We super enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


:) at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2010

Thank you Cathy for a wonderful stay at Cape Hatteras B & B. Breakfast was outstanding. Hospitality was wonderful. Our stay was a college graduation gift for my daughter, Krystie. Thank you for making it a memorable one for Krystie and I. Mary S.

View more reviews for this inn


"Perfect in every way" at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2010

We just got back from our honeymoon and stayed here 4 nights....it was wonderful! Every part of the trip was perfect. Cathy the innkeeper was so helpful and sweet, her granddaughter was as well. The breakfasts were amazing. We could not have picked a better spot. We will be back for sure!! Thank you for helping us have the perfect start to our new life together!

View more reviews for this inn


quick getaway at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 14, 2010

A friend and I decided last minute to book here and we are so glad we did. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and within walking distance to the beach. Cathy was extremely nice, helpful and full of knowledge. We look forward to returning in the Fall.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful vacations at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2010

Have stayed with Cathy for several years and she is such as wondereful host. The breakfast meal is always something to look forward to every morning and the very best coffee. Our daughter is grown and married now ,but we have gone there ever year since she was 7 and she is now 22. Great location and amenities. Love it there.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll Be Back! at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 02, 2009

We just returned from 2 nights at the OBX and this was my first visit and my fiance's second or third - our first time to this B&B. We absolutely loved it! Cathy is wonderful, the breakfasts were fantastic and beautifully presented (we had pancakes w/strawberry syrup the first a.m. and Mexican omelets the second) Juice, coffee, pumpkin bread, blueberry bread) and enjoyed our conversations with fellow tourists and Cathy. Our room was great - we stayed in Andrew, which is on the 2nd floor and right as you walk out you have access to the common area entrance of the main house. The large beautiful deck was also right outside our door and we enjoyed sitting outside while the sun was setting. We didn't spend much time in the common area of the house as we were doing alot of sightseeing but it is a lovely room with a parrot and plenty of room to relax. We definitely plan to return to this B&B as it is so convenient to everything you would want to see in this area (Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Buxton Woods a short distance by car, and the beach is just a short walk away) We recommend this B&B without any doubt! Thanks for the hospitality Cathy! See you again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay away at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

1.4 reviewed on September 04, 2009

This place was a huge disappointment for myself and family. Check in is at 4 pm and to make matters worse, when we arrived at 4:05 the owner was already showing our room to potential guests! I was shocked. Also, she lets her cats walk freely in the common areas without thought as to whether people have cat allergies (my husband)! Also, one of the cats took a swipe at my 4 yr old. The room was horrible-very unsanitary. There were dead roaches and the toilet was dirty. To make matters worse, the air con was old and very loud. I would not recommend this place.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice romantic getaway at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 04, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in August. Upon arrival we were greeted promptly and warmly by our innkeeper. We were shown to our room which was decorated nicely in keeping with a beach setting. There was a little bit of a musty smell to the room which we attributed to the humidity and probability that guests come into the rooms still wet from a dip in the ocean. The bathroom was very clean and had a large shower. The bed was quite firm which was great for my bad back but my fiancee didn't find it so comfortable. There are nice extras on the exterior. Kathy has water sprayers installed by the steps for you to wash your feet before you enter the room. There are two outdoor showers with both HOT and cold water to rinse off the sea water upon you return from the beach. She has beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys, coolers and bikes that you can use for free. There is a nice deck on the second level that is perfect for watching a setting sun. The beach is a short walk from the B & B and is nice and neat. Kathy has a wonderful community/day room with games, TV and a large bird that the kids would love. She is a wealth of information and can tell you the good restaurants and the ones to avoid. Breakfast is a treat. She has 2 juice choices, coffee and milk available. The breakfast is prepared to not only tantalize your taste buds but also to be visually appealing. The morning conversation with other guests can be quite productive in that you can get ideas about places to visit that you may not have thought about. Kathy has a lot of repeat customers we found. A word about the wireless internet. The transmitter is on the third floor. We were on the first floor at the end of the building and the signal was very weak. I simply took my laptop to the second floor community room and had a great signal and fast connection. Overall, the stay was wonderful and I will keep the Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast in mind when we go back to OBX.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Place at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 28, 2009

This is a great place to stay in a lovely beach area. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on August 20, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Enjoyed the meals and the charming innkeeper. She was like a grandmother to us all!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (Buxton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2009

Enjoyed my visit. Clean room and excellent breakfast! I will return to this wonderful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast (4.41)
Top
}