Recent Reviews in Burlington, Vermont

Great B&B near Burlington VT at Inn At Buck Hollow Farm (Fairfax, Vermont)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2016

The Inn at Buck Hollow Farm offers a nice night's stay in a beautiful area of Vermont that is nearby plenty of activities. The owners are very hospitable and great resources for things to do and places to eat. We drove to Smuggler's Notch (35 mins) and at the Family Table in Jeffersonville (30 mins drive). The setting is picturesque. We stayed in late June. The walking trail was a bit overgrown and waterlogged, but I took a walk on the road in the morning that was fine. The Breakfast was super! Pool and hot tub are available too. Wifi worked well. Stayed June 2016

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Boutique B&B (Burlington, Vermont)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2016

We absolutely loved staying at Made Inn Vermont. Linda and the rest of her staff were amazingly helpful and attentive. They went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. The breakfast exceeded our expectations! We were full and happy the entire weekend! The inn went above and beyond with little touches that really added to the experience. This is like no other bed and breakfast you will ever go to! Just a short walk to downtown and to lake Champlain. We will definitely be visiting again! Thanks Linda! Shayna and Steve

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2016

I've always been hesitant about staying in a B&B, but Heart of the Village Inn vastly exceeded all of my expectations in the best way possible. From the friendly proprietors, to the modern and eclectic decor, to the whimsically plated and delicious breakfast, I could not have happier with my stay. It's also walking distance to the Shelburne Museum, which was what drew me to the area in the first place. I can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place, Great People at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

Rose and Anatoly run a wonderful inn. My wife and I have stayed there twice so far and we definitely will be staying there again in the future. It is very obvious that they are passionate about what they are doing. You will not be disapointed with your experience here!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2016

I stayed there with my girlfriend for her birthday weekend. Anatoly and Rose were very accomadating. The room was clean and spacious The breakfasts were amazing. They even had a little birthday cake for my girlfriend on her birthday. I highly reccomend this cozy bed and breakfast in shelburne. They gave us great ideas on where to go in the area and were friendly and I just can't say enough good things about our trip there

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Well Kept at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast (Burlington, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed our stay here very much- this is a 5 minute walk to downtown Burlington which is also a huge plus. Very well kept, everyone was extremely nice and accommodating and the breakfast burrito was the best I've ever had. Another plus was given the fact this is on a main rd and directly across from a frat house we we're worried about noise but we couldn't have been more wrong. This is one of quieter B&B's we've stayed at- exceptional sound proofing in both the interior and exterior walls. We both got a great night sleep! Highly Recommended! Our stay was in the Fisher room.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend at the Lang House at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast (Burlington, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on March 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay in the Van Ness room. The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. Small surprising touches like fresh baked cookies left in the room were a treat. The breakfast options were plentiful and delicious and they do a great job with dietary restrictions substitutions. The sun room area has board games and magazines you can borrow. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Lang House Great House! at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast (Burlington, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on February 25, 2016

We stayed at the lang house for a one night getaway to Burlington, Vermont. It was the first bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The garden room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean and we hope to be able to stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful VT Inn at Stone Hill Inn (Stowe, Vermont)

4.2 reviewed on February 19, 2016

Don't take my rating for Rooms and Value as a negative. The room was terrific but I wanted to highlight that the truly special aspects of the Inn include attentive service, cleanliness and the creative & tasty breakfasts. Well done, we'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


This is a great B&B at Stone Hill Inn (Stowe, Vermont)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2016

My wife and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts every year for the last 4 years in the New England states. The Stone Hill Inn is by far the best one we have stayed in. George, Linda and there staff are very friendly and personable. Linda's cooking has both exceptional taste and amazing variety. We highly recommend a stay at the Stone Hill Inn if you are going to be staying in Stowe.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend away at Stone Hill Inn (Stowe, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on February 12, 2016

Needed a weekend away with a fireplace and jacuzzi in the room with a delicious homemade breakfast each morning and that's exactly what we got! A bit pricey but for a luxury hotel it was a worthwhile experience. Linda and George were very attentive and sweet and the place was clean and close to everything, quiet and they even went out of their way to have gluten free options available.

View more reviews for this inn


A Vermont Gem that would be a Gem Anywhere! at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Boutique B&B (Burlington, Vermont)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2016

What a wonderful place to stay. Linda, the proprietor, is an absolute joy. She went out of her way to make sure my stay was fantabulous, and it was. Her breakfasts exceeded my every expectation, and were some of the best I've had anywhere. Loved the special Vermont foods and beverages. And a special shout out to all the classic records and record players. I really enjoyed playing the Moody Blues. It was a business trip - but sure seemed like a vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little location! at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast (Burlington, Vermont)

4.0 reviewed on January 31, 2016

We recently stayed at the Lang house on main in Burlington a week ago and we really enjoyed it as this was our first bed and breakfast experience. I have to rave about the service, everyone was very kind and helpful. The food was incredible! I had the same thing for breakfast both mornings because it was that good. We stayed here with another couple and I do have to mention that my husband had to kill a rather large bug in their room (Captains Lyon) the first night, but other then that everything seemed sanitary and we didn't have any issues in our room at all. Do not want to sway anyone from staying here because it was excellent, but I had to give my honest opinion as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Lang House Stay January 11th at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast (Burlington, Vermont)

3.4 reviewed on January 20, 2016

Julianna was absolutely fantastic with recommendations of what to do while we were in Burlington. The room was charming but I do wish the bathroom had been a bit more than a 3/4 bath with a shower pan. However, staff and location were both wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Heart of the Village! at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I had warm and relaxing stay at Heart of the Village Inn at the center of Shelburne. Our hosts Rose and Anatoli were extremely accommodating and looked after our every need. The room was specious, clean, and comfortable and had a clever and safe way for guests to access the house and the rooms securely. Breakfast each morning was well rounded and incredibly delicious, make sure you try the breakfast cigars! There were many excellent options on the menu but the smoked salmon eggs Benedict was so good we could not resist getting it again the second morning of our stay. The Inn is situated in the middle of the quaint town of Shelburne with plenty of small shops and tourist attractions including great dining, a winery, and Shelburne farms and museum. It is a convienient location for people visiting Burlington as well as it is a short ten minute drive into town but you are away from all the hustle and bustle. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and we plan to make this a staple to our trips to Vermont!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and cozy bed and breakfast at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.2 reviewed on January 15, 2016

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to stay in the Burlington area for a trip to Vermont between Christmas and New Year's, and we came across this bed and breakfast while doing research online. Rather than stay in a conventional hotel, we were looking for something charming and inviting, and Heart of the Village satisfied our requirements. The inn is situated in the center of Shelburne village, a twenty minute drive from downtown Burlington and close to local attractions like the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, the Shelburne Museum, and Shelburne Farms. It's also within driving distance of ski resorts like Stowe. The building itself is a late 19th century house handsomely furnished with a blend of modern and vintage furniture and full of personality; our room had a comfortable queen bed and a genuine chestnut armoire. Parking is conveniently located beside the building in a private lot, though it might be tight for larger vehicles. As for the hosts, Rose and Anatoly were wonderful. They added the warm touch that's so important in a quality bed and breakfast. For instance, our room had complimentary chocolates every day from a local chocolatier and vouchers for glasses of wine from a local winery. Helpful and courteous throughout our stay, they really shined during the breakfast service, when they frequently interacted with guests, especially those whose first morning it was staying with them. The quality of the breakfasts was very high, with plenty of good options to choose from (they have you select a breakfast the night before so that it's ready for you when you come down in the morning). We always left full and happy and ready for the day. We were very happy with our stay at Heart of the Inn and would consider staying there again on a return trip to Vermont.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgivig visit at Bryn Meadow Farm B&B (Charlotte, Vermont)

3.6 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Our stay over the Thanksgiving holiday was just perfect for our needs. We have family very close to the B & B so we did not dine at Bryn Meadow but Libby & Chris were very willing to cook for us which we declined but they did convince me to relax and have some coffee cake with them one morning and it was delicious. The farm is truly a sustainable environment as we were greeted by Libby shortly after she processed a turkey for one of their neighbors. We had a view of the turkeys and sheep from our bedroom window and although we did hear the rooster in the morning, we were able to fall right back to sleep in the comfortable bedroom. The room and bathroom were both clean and fresh towels were provided every day! The owners two dogs and cat were very friendly and although I am allergic to cats, I did not suffer at all during our three night stay. It was a laid-back Vermont farm experience with very kind hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


This is no ordinary BnB!!!! at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2015

Everything regarding our 4 day stay was excellent! Breakfast was amazing every day, the Inn was warm and charming as were Anatoly and Rose. We felt like we were guests in their home. We will definitely plan another stay in the future!! Linda & Kyle

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay!! at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2015

What. Can. I. Say. First time staying at a B&B and I loved every minute. Innkeepers, Rose and Anatoly, are fantastic. Couldn't have asked for a better experience, well except to move in! Perfect location and tasteful updates make this a great experience. Oh, and breakfast was AMAZING! The bed was SOOO comfortable. Thanks for everything guys!

View more reviews for this inn


Made INN Vermont! Great Stay! at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Boutique B&B (Burlington, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on November 15, 2015

MadeINNVermont WOW! The coolest, coziest, sweetest, warmest, hotest place to stay on the East Coast! It was my second time staying at Made Inn Vermont and it was really a great experience. This little BnB is full of art and electric eclectic joy! The first time I was there I chatted to some guests on the way out. "Oh we're going to see the Pixies.." What? the greatest band of it's time- who are these cool people staying here? Anyway I'm gushing- great stay, great food, Linda is a hoot! and the service is top notch! -d

View more reviews for this inn


Heart of the Village - little gem at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on November 01, 2015

We were greeted at the door by Anatoly - so nice to be personally greeted and taken in to the inn and made to feel right at home. We then met Rose, who took us up to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend the Heart of the Village - don't think you will be disappointed. We did not have breakfast as had to leave early, but I could smell all the yummy things being prepared for the guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommended at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2015

A lovely inn in a picturesque town, with innkeepers committed to pleasing their guests. Delicious breakfasts, and the most comfortable bed we've experienced in a long time.

View more reviews for this inn


Would Return at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2015

I made reservations here for a get away 1st anniversary trip for my wife and I. I emailed the inn keepers, Rose and Anatoly, and got a very quick response. Rose was able to be very accommodating for a few requests I made to surprise my wife. The room was awesome. We stayed in the carriage house Webb suite. The bed was very comfortable. The room smelled like new carpet and was immaculately clean. The bathroom was ample size for a Victorian house and was also clean. Breakfast at the Inn is chosen by you the night before on their menu. I recommend the salmon Benedict. The best thing was the Vermont Cigars, bacon wrapped sausage links with secret seasonings. Everything we had at our two breakfasts was delicious. Anatoly is a great cook. Rose does a great job hosting and is very accommodating with whatever you need or want. The two inn keepers are very knowledgeable about local restaurants, bars, wines, beers and anything you are looking to do. Just don't be afraid to ask for ideas. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Breakfast at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2015

My wife and i spent 3 nights here in early October. The new owners are truly pulling out all the stops to make a stay here memorable. Our king room was spacious and had one of the most comfortable beds we have had the pleasure of sleeping on. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years and I can honestly say that breakfast here was the BEST we have ever had. Don't miss the Vermont cigars. There is much to see and do nearby. The Shelburne Museum in town is a must for art and American history lovers. The inn was able to provide us with a discount to there as well as to a local winery.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay! at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the inn. Our hosts were wonderfully interesting people, great cooks, and so very helpful as we planned the last minute details of our trip. Suggestions for the Shelbourne Museum and the French restaurant within walking distance were both hits. We stayed in the Shelburne Room, the newer room close to the front of the property. In response to a previous comment about street noise, if we listened closely, we could hear the street traffic, but it did not affect our sleep. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom large and immaculate. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again if we return to Vermont. Thank you Rose and Anatoly!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B and great people! at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.4 reviewed on October 16, 2015

We looked at a number of B&B's in the Shelburne area and my wife said she really liked the pictures of Heart of the Village Inn. When we arrived, it was even nicer than the pictures and we were greeted by Rose and Anatoly like we were old friends. Our room was a corner room up stairs and was nicely decorated and cozy. We walked around and found a few nice shops and restaurants to try that Rose had suggested. Rose and Anatoly were polite and friendly and made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was ready and tasty! Anatoly is a great cook! We hope to get up there again in the near future... You won't be sorry if you stay with them.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay here. at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2015

This lovely Inn is a great place in the heart of Shelburne. Anatoly and Rose are cheerful, gracious and generous with their helpfulness. One tiny mixed blessing is the busy location at the central crossroads of the village, but staying in the carriage house puts one back from the street. Close your windows and there is no problem with noise. Benefit is that you can walk everywhere! A great stay, thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and comfortable at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

4.6 reviewed on October 12, 2015

The inn owners were very inviting and friendly. They have taken a lot of care in rennovating the site. The breakfast was excellent. Our stay was pleasant and relaxing. I would recommend reserving a room in the carriage house as the inn is on a busy highway, and the rooms in the carriage house have less road noise.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2015

My favorite B&B on our New England road trip. The Innkeepers have an eye for detail, creating a plush almost spa like atmosphere. Both were warm and engaging. Breakfast was delicious. Definitely would come back.

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely experience at Heart of the Village Inn (Shelburne, Vermont)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2015

From the minute we drove up, we felt welcome. Rose came out to greet us and was lovely. The home is a lovely Victorian and Rose and Anatoly are wonderful hosts. The B&B is located right on the main street with wonderful porches and gardens. Our breakfast was top notch, beautifully displayed and delicious. Anatoly is lots of fun and Rose is so friendly.My husband and I highly recommend the Heart of the Village Inn. It is clear that this couple is working very hard to make every guest"s stay special.

View more reviews for this inn


About Burlington

The city of Burlington, Vermont, is a vibrant destination known for its progressive values, college town atmosphere and breathtaking fall foliage. Travelers eager to stay in Vermont for their next getaway will have a variety of accommodation options to choose from, including hotel alternatives like charming inns, quiet guest houses and welcoming bed and breakfasts in Burlington. Many of these properties are on spacious grounds, giving guests the chance to enjoy the magnificent scenery, mingle over a full breakfast each morning or even stay on working farms bursting with life.

Outdoor Activities

Burlington is known for its many outdoor activities. A popular way to spend time in Burlington is by renting a bike and exploring the nearly 8-mile bike path that runs through the city and connects to the nearby city of Colchester. Those with a love of hiking can trek up to the top of Mount Philo, or those in search of a bigger challenge can tackle the hike up to Camel''s Hump. Though the hike may be tough, the rewards include stunning views over the Champlain Valley below. You might also want to try Nordic skiing during the winter, or you could venture just outside of Burlington for downhill skiing opportunities.

Museums

Burlington has a strong heritage, a rich history and a college-town atmosphere. Thus, it''s no surprise that the city boasts a staggering number of world-class museums to choose from.

Fleming Museum of Art

This museum, which is located on the University of Vermont Burlington campus, is a collection of more than 25,000 pieces of art and anthropological pieces. Some of the most fascinating and impressive pieces on display include Native American textiles that are 1,200 years old, Aboriginal paintings from Australia, 19th-century African sculptures and even tomb figures from the Tang Dynasty.

Ethan Allen Homestead

Visitors to this historic landmark can see the former home of Ethan Allen, a hero of the Revolutionary War. There is also an adjacent museum explaining more about Vermont''s role in the American Revolution.

ECHO: Leahy Center for Lake Champlain

This science-focused museum might ostensibly be for kids, but it is a fun activity for adults as well. You''ll find animals, virtual reality exhibits and displays reflecting the ecosystem of Lake Champlain.

Food and Drink

Burlington has a thriving food scene, and you''ll find everything from authentic Thai cuisine to artisan cheeses at farm-to-fork eateries. The pedestrian mall on Church Street is a top spot for finding independent eateries as well as street vendors selling favorites ranging from gourmet hot dogs to vegan pastries. Burlington also offers a growing craft beer and microbrewery scene, so finding locally brewed ales on tap is easy to do. Some breweries in the area even offer tours to curious visitors, and many tours conclude with a delicious tasting.

Weather in Burlington, Vermont

Burlington boasts four distinct seasons, which means that the landscape is constantly changing and providing new and beautiful views. Summers are warm and humid, boasting average high temperatures of 79 degrees Fahrenheit. Between December and March, snow is common, and temperatures can reach average lows of -12 degrees Fahrenheit.

Best Time of Year to Visit Burlington

There is truly no bad time of year to visit Burlington. Summers are sunny and warm, winters are ideal for snow-covered views and spring boasts beautiful flowers. However, autumn is the most popular time of year thanks to the stunning colors of the fall foliage in Burlington, Vermont, and throughout New England.

Top
}