Recent Reviews in Brunswick, Georgia

My Darien visit at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on February 16, 2015

Joanne is a wonderful host. We met such sweet people at breakfast every morning. We enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at Waterfront again.

View more reviews for this inn


cool place at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on March 14, 2013

We stayed with Joann twice withib a month and we loved the Inn and the innkeeper. Spacious rooms, quiet, clean, modern,and located , literally, within a stones throw of a watering hole and seafood restaurant. Lovely deck, but too cold to use in February. Among the best, and we have stayed at more than 50 B&Bs over the years.

View more reviews for this inn


What's not to love at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2013

This was pure magic. Well appointed rooms opened to a balcony that overlooked the water and Darien's magic. The rooms are clean and upscale and you have a bed and breakfast feel with the added plus of your own beautiful space. The owner Joann makes you feel welcomed and as familiar as you care to be. Amazing pancakes may await you in the morning with the best coffee around!!!! After a great meal at Skippers we walked 'home" and slept in the best bed offered outside of our own. We did not want to leave. This is a great stop off point on the way to Florida from the north and not out of your way. Do it !!!!!!! I have traveled the world, live in Cape May, NJ and this is one of those spots you do not want to miss. Tell Joann Susan says Hello!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation Getaway Plus! at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2013

We drove up from Tampa Bay, specifically for a 2 night relaxation getaway - about a 5 1/2 hr. drive, but well worth the trip. The room was lovely and plenty spacious, bed was extremely comfy, back porch inviting (including a fun happy hour with neighbors from adjoining rooms on New Year's Eve). Loved the location for walking across the parking lot to Skipper's for oysters and football during the day, and the wine shop/wine bar & other restaurants in the evenings. We explored the river in kayaks for a couple of hours during the morning (peaceful once we passed I-95) and witnessed nature in abundance, including a bald eagle sighting! JoAnn's breakfasts were delicious, and she was a pleasant and gracious hostess. Definitely worth the trip for a couple of days of peace & quiet, even great for an overnight stay while traveling up & down I-95. Not your usual high rise hotel - lots of ambiance and character.

View more reviews for this inn


What a Treat!! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 22, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at WatersHill with my brother and sister-in-law on our last visit to Savannah and the Golden Isles. Mathew and Jack were a delight and the accomodations were "5 Star". We felt like we have known these gentlemen for years and it was like stepping back in time to share the beautiful home they have so painsteakingly renovated. We heard delightful stories of the town and the people who live in theis picture post card community. We look forward to our next stay at WatersHill.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2012

We spent two relaxing nights at the Darien Waterfront Inn. Although Darien itself is not the quaint, historic town we had anticipated, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Darien does offer the colonial King George Fort for exploration, and delicious local shrimp for feasting. Kayaking through the marshes is available as are other boating excursions to local areas. Savannah is just an hour away and we spent a day wandering there. JoAnn, owner of the inn, couldn't have been more accommodating or welcoming. Her breakfasts were delicious and served in a casual, family atmosphere. Our room was cute, clean, and featured a microwave and mini-fridge. The bed had lovely linens and was very comfortable. The porch overlooking the river and marshes was perfect for reading with a glass of wine. No hustle, bustle, or distracting stimulation. When I left my jacket and favorite pillow behind, JoAnn mailed them back to me. She went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasure. If you are looking for a relaxing, casual, and unpretentious place to unwind, the Darien Waterfront Inn is a great option.

View more reviews for this inn


Boating Adventure SCORE at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on September 15, 2012

Last October (2011), 6 of us boarded our deck boat in Beaufort SC and headed for Florida. We knew we were going to need to stay in hotels and inns along the way, but we had no set agenda, no advance reservations, because we had no idea how far we would make it from one day the the next. We stumbled across Darien Waterfront Inn and what a find! Joanne was so accomodating! Rooms were beautiful. Beds were comfy! The town was a quaint find as well. We made it a point to stop again on our way back home. I'm writing this review almost a year later because I'm researching another adventure. Last year we only made it to Fernandina Beach, and this time I want to get to southern FL. SO... this time we're going to trailer our boat to Darien and start and end our trip from there. I can't even imagine a better place to spend our first and last night!

View more reviews for this inn


Called to provide southern comfort! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2012

On arrival, we felt as though we'd been greeted by an old friend. We made ourselves right at home and found everything we needed. Our room was comfortable and very well furnished down to the thick fluffy towels in the bath. Brreakfast was great, and we wished we could've continued the conversation with our hosts a few more hours! If you want real southern hospitality, Jack and Matt know how to dish it out with their homemade cinnamon rolls. Both are sweet and warm!

View more reviews for this inn


Make a detour to stay here!! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on May 08, 2012

Charming place and equally charming proprietors. Delicious breakfast. The only reason I didnt give 5 stars for the room is because there is precious little space for luggage and outlets are a bit hard to find, but WORTH it as the rooms are gorgeous, fun and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


A fabulous. place and warm, welcoming innkeepers at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2012

This was the second time my husband and I stayed here. Again, we had a terrific time! Jack and Matthew are superb hosts. It feels like visiting friends - everyone is made to feel so welcome. The breakfast is super-yummy! Yesterday we had delicious biscuits and gravy (they made sure my gravy was vegetarian too). This morning before leaving for home, we had a delightful egg and grit souffle'. I think there must be a secret recipe for this tasty dish! The house is beautiful but not stuffy. Be sure to ask to see the "secret powder room". We will definitely be back to Brunswick and to this fabulous B & B! Thanks Jack and Matthew! Loretta and Peter, Murphysboro, Illinois

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on January 10, 2012

Sometimes if you look hard enough you just find the perfect place. Twice a year I travel through Darien Georgia and for the last two years I have had the pleasure of staying at the Darien Waterfront Inn. What a delightful place. If you are looking for the Ritz, this isn't it. But if you want small town southern hospitality, that comes with great waterfront views, clean rooms with a personaility, and an innkeeper that strieves to make you feel welcome, this is the place. One of the highlights of the inn is to arrive early enough to have you 5:00 oclock adult berverage as you relax on the spacious veranda overlooking the water as the shrimp boats come in to the dock. JoAnn ensures that the aroma of fresh brewed coffee greets you in the morning along with either fresh baked breads, fresh fruit, or a delicious quiche straight out of the oven. Dinner is a pleasant two minute stroll to the waterfront where you can enjoy delicious local fare.

View more reviews for this inn


A Low Country Jewel at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2011

We have stayed with Jo Ann multiple times going back to her opening. The Darien area is a jewel of the low country with a people and a heritage that puts you back in a simpler time. The Inn's deck is huge and overlooks a river. The deck is shadowed by Spanish moss covered trees that make it the perfect place to enjoy a nap, a good book, good conversation, or a cool drink. Each room is differently decorated but all are wonderful and immaculately clean. The Continental breakfast is second only to the great time you'll have talking with Jo Ann and the other guests. Nearby restaurants and the wine bar are great as well. The Darien Waterfront Inn is a bed and breakfast where you will feel at home but pampered, welcome at anytime, but never pressured to fit a schedule. We'll see you there.

View more reviews for this inn


A georgia Gem In Darien at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2011

The Darien river Inn is a great place to stay in a super friendly georgia Coastal town . It combines the privacy of a motel with the breakfast and socializing of a BnB. JoAnne puts out a grewat breakfast every day and joins in the conversation woth lots of local info and advice .DWI is walking distance from the friendliest wine bar in existence , The Darien River Inn fine dining at modest prices, Skippers FishCamp which in addition to super local shrimp makes the best crabcake I have ever eaten or made. The sunrise and sunset photographic ops are numerous as well as wildlife photo ops. Savannah and Brunswick are cloes enough for god day trips but if you like good fishng , water tours and wild lile spectating Darien will keep you busy

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you Jack and Matthew at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

4.2 reviewed on October 26, 2011

Jack and Matthew made our stay in their beautiful home a time to remember. They paid attention to even the smallest detail in their home and worked hard to make us comfortable and welcomed. This is the 7th B & B that we have stayed in and right at the top of our list or great B & B's. We feel not only did we enjoy our stay but made friends as well. Charlotte & Richard, Homosassa, Florida

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected treat at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on October 24, 2011

Our stay at the Darien Waterfront Inn was planned as a break from city touring- Savannak and Charlestown. We selected it b/c it was near the ferry to Sapelo. It unexpectedly turned into the best part of our vacation. We rented bikes in Jekyll Island, took a guided kayak trip and visited the Fort . We could walk to restaurants from the Inn and had a lovely view of the river. The room was tastefully done-all in keeping with the theme of the sea. The hospitality of the owners in turn was reflected by the friendly behavior of our fellow guests. An interesting day on Sapelo made the visit a real winner!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B I have ever been too! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2011

I travel a lot and I usually stay in B&B's. This was by far my favorite! I had a great room with a large clawfoot tub. If you like victorian charm with some great finishes this is the place. Luxury, I felt like a princess! Jack and Mathew were very warm and welcoming. Such fun stories they have! It was a treat. They know the area very well. Good breakfast. It was fun to sit with them and eat. I stayed in the Elliott Wynell Room and it is outstanding. Brenda from Colorado. Love you guys!

View more reviews for this inn


A Pleasant Surprise. at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on June 05, 2011

Nestled amoung a rebuilding town sits the Darien Waterfront Inn. Don't let the outside fool you as the charm of this Inn rests in the large, comforable, clean rooms and the hospitality showered upon us by the Innkeeper JoAnn. She provided us with good food to start the day and offered advice on eating options and attractions for the day. Make sure you end the day with a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the river.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Location for Ending our Trip at The McKinnon House (Brunswick, Georgia)

3.2 reviewed on May 12, 2011

The glass of wine and warm greeting of Innkeepers Jo and Paul Miller was a welcome ending to our days drive. The decor and room was outstanding. The McKinnon House is a gem in the out-of-the-way treats Brunswick has in store for folks who like to take the roads less traveled.

View more reviews for this inn


An Unexpected Stay at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on February 26, 2011

We traveled from Colorado to Savannah to see friends and then to explore the GA coast. We took the back road south(17) from Savannah and found Darien and stopped for lunch. The Darien Waterfront Inn was recommended by our waitress and our 1 night stay turned into 5! The innkeeper, JoAnn was great, gave us so many ideas of things to do and see. The porch outside our room was perfect, gorgeous view and just a terrific place to relax. We spent our days exploring the area from Harris Neck Nature Reserve to Sapelo and Jekyll Islands and even an eco-tour along the Darien River. And...amazing seafood all around, especially at Skipper's, and only steps from our river view porch! Darien is a great little town and the Darien Waterfront Inn is the perfect place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Eve at WatersHill at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on January 16, 2011

Thanks Jack and Mathew for opening your B&B to us on Christmas Eve as we were passing through. Sooo glad I found you online. Your place is awesome, actually over the top wonderful. Thanks for the to-go bags of breakfast goodies. Yummy!

View more reviews for this inn


Right on the water! at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2010

We shot down the ICW from Oriental, NC, on our way to St. Augustine, FL, in our friend's powerboat, and Darien was a convenient, quiet stop a little south of Savannah. The Darien Waterfront Inn is within a putting shot of the town dock with an unnassuming exterior that belies the hospitality and design of the interior. Wonderful rooms, a great breakfast, and a lovely, pleasant host in JoAnn. We had a great time during our visit. There is a wonderful restaurant right across the parking lot on the dock. Darien is one of those pleasant hideaways for the thundering heard of sailors that go back and forth on the ICW on their boats. Great place to stop for the night.

View more reviews for this inn


The Acorn at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on October 11, 2010

The "blind hog that found the acorn" must have felt the same the same exuberance that I, and my fellow water borne travelers experienced when we found the Darien Waterfront Inn after tying up in Darien. Centrally located in a beautiful and quiet town, it provides access to historic tabby structures and ruins, the Inn is partially constructed of tabby, fine dining, and a relaxing waterfront vista, and, as MacArthur said, "I shall return".

View more reviews for this inn


Relax and Escape or Paddle and Pedal at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2010

What a great stay! This inn is comfortable and homey with an innkeeper who couldn't possibly be any nicer or more accommodating. The location is absolutely perfect for viewing wildlife, kayaking and biking. The area is also steeped in history. If you enjoy kicking back and letting your worries drift away, this is the place for you. We have made this our go-to destination, and couldn't recommend it more highly if you want a relaxing stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and charming/great area at Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on October 05, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. I've never paddled in a place like that, it was spectacular! You have a wonderful resource out your back door! We really enjoyed the day on the water with you! It definitely was a highlight to our trip!

View more reviews for this inn


The ultimate bed and breakfast experience. at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2010

Mathew and Jack are wonderful hosts. The moment you get into the house, you feel like you are visiting old friends. The house is simply spectacular, and the rooms are very cozy. The breakfast was excellent, not only the food but also the ambience. One of the best B&B (if not the best) we have stayed in. Excellent value for your money. A real B&B experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend stay at The McKinnon House (Brunswick, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on July 28, 2010

The host Jo was very gracious and accommodating. Our stay was what we know southern hospitality is all about. We had a relaxed and wonderful weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B and B Innkeepers at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on September 12, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are traveling North. The value is much better than a motel. But more importantly the hosts are great. In addition Brunswick is a charming city with good restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


WatersHill B&B - Simply the BEST!! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2009

We have enjoyed several long weekends at WatersHill and have come to think of it as "our home away from home". It is a beautiful home, furnished exquisitely while retaining lots of "fun" surprises, lots of art, and great comfort. Jack and Mathew see to their guests' every need and are very friendly and interesting! Breakfast is always a memorable experience and the grounds are beautiful. We have stayed in many B&B's, even owned and operated one for four years, and highly recommend WatersHill. You won't find a warmer welcome or nicer accommodations anywhere! Additionally, Jack is absolutely hilarious and will have you holding your sides from laughter! Hope you will all make it a point to visit this lovely inn. Ken and Linda South Carolina

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely the best! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2009

Our honeymoon stay was even better than we anticipated. Jack and Matthew were great hosts who were always accomodating even for a picky eater and vegetarian. In addition, Jack graciously provided interesting stories about the inn and the MANY beautiful items on display. We definitely plan to be back for our anniversary. Thanks guys!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts make a great vacation! at WatersHill Bed & Breakfast (Brunswick, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2009

My wife and I went to Brunswick for the first time even though we have lived in the general area for over 30 years. What a great place and great people! Relaxing and we were really made to feel at home and welcome. It was one of the most relaxing and fun vacations that we have had in a long time. The accommodations far exceeded our expectations as did the friendliness of ours hosts. Everything was top notch!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}