Hemingway's By the Sea Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent place to stay close to all the emenities the hostess was very attentive and helpful with regards to the attractions that were surrounding us

4.6 on September 13, 2014

We stayed at Hemmingways for the 5 day duration of our time in Victoria . We would definitely recommend staying and we would stay there again if we go back to Victoria Ted and Margaret Ontario Canada


exceptional decor

5 on August 12, 2014

The proprietor is exceptional at making one feel welcome and making sure all is well.


Extraordinary service and amazing location

4.4 on July 26, 2014

I stayed at Hemingway's for one night and the owner was amazingly respectful and accommodating. We had to arrive a little late for check in and were worried that we might lose our spot. Ilona was very reasonable about this and had no issue with it. Upon arrival, we were offered tea and biscuits. Ilona ensured that we knew of all the wonderful things to do around Victoria and all the little gems around the city. In the morning, she served us breakfast that went above and beyond our expectations. This was a wonderful experience for us and we highly recommend Hemingway's by the Sea.


Return to Hemingway's

4.0 on May 28, 2014

Three years ago, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here, so booked in, again. Ilona remains the friendly, very personable and helpful hostess. Our room was delightful, our sleep sound, and the breakfasts wonderful. We highly recommend it to others. The neighbourhood street views of home gardens are enjoyable, and a short walk down the street brings you to a beautiful park and sea shore.


Great place to stay in Victoria, BC

5 on March 27, 2014

This Bed and Breakfest was perfect for our 3 day stay. Ilona was a very attentive hostess and wonderful cook. We did not leave without breakfast prepared for us. She was wonderful with our 11 month and 4 year old boys as well. I would highly recumbent this place to anyone wishing to stay in a nice quiet spot in Victoria, BC.


Hemmingway's

4.8 on July 15, 2013

The innkeeper was great. She provided us with maps and points of Interest. Some were off the beaten path and not mentioned in the tourbooks. She showed us where to park for free in town and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Ilona and her staff are wonderful! Thank you for everything.


Welcoming Hostess

4.6 on July 07, 2013

Ilona went out of her way to make us feel welcome! As soon as we arrived, and we arrived early, she made us tea. Then, she spent about 20 minutes showing us on a map of Victoria some things we might want to see during our visit. She was great! - Jim & Diane, California


Wonderful stay

4.8 on July 01, 2013

I spent three nights in June 2013 at Hemingway's by the Sea. I was traveling with my elderly mother and had difficulty finding a B & B in the Victoria area where we could have our own apartment with separate entrance. We had two good-sized bedrooms and shared the bathroom. Iona was a gracious, helpful hostess. We gave us a number of tips for restaurants and other sightseeing activities. The full, home-cooked breakfasts were delicious. The house is a short drive from downtown Victoria and within five minutes for walks along the Harbour and a local brew pub on the water. I would recommend this accommodation!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on June 05, 2013

This is a fantastic little bed and breakfast. The rooms are very nice, buy the hostess is what really makes it worthwhile. She's very friendly and helpful, and does everything she can to make your stay as perfect as it can be.


Lovely days in Victoria

4.2 on June 03, 2013

On May, 30, 3013, three friends traveled to Victoria for a short get-a-way, and we happened on this lovely Inn tucked away in a quiet neighbood 10 minutes from the bustling downtown. We got a warm reception -- Ilona served us tea and sweets in her spacious greatroom by the fireplace and joined us for conversation. We stayed in the Hemmingway Suite and found it elegant, clean and spacious. The furnishings are upscale and the bathroom features a huge tub for relaxing. In the morning, we were treated to a full breakfast, beautifully prepared and served. If you want the full VIctoria Bed and Breakfast experience, you won't go wrong at Hemingway's By the Sea.


Beautiful Retreat in Victoria, BC

5 on May 01, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Hemmingway's By the Sea. The home is very large and has several seating areas for comfort, as well as the large suite we reserved. The owner is very charming and suggested many local sites for us to see as we had never been in that area before. She made our trip outstanding. Our suite was well appointed and the bedding very comfortable. The owner prepared very delicious gourmet breakfasts. This B&B was a terrific experience, a vacation in itself. We would stay longer next time. . GD and CA Roberts, Palmer, AK


A quiet resting place

4.4 on October 12, 2012

This hideway was just what we needed. We needed some quiet time and some rest and that was accomplished. We also enjoyed our hostess and the helpful hints about seeing Victoria and its attractions. We would love to return.


Will definitely go back again

4.2 on September 03, 2012

I strongly recommend Hemingway's by the sea B&B where we were surprised by the high quality of the bedrooms and the great savour of the breakfast. The location is also very good and it is easy to go and visit Victoria avoiding cars traffic. The outstanding welcome of Ilona make the stay there so warmfull.


Ww felt comfortable

3.0 on July 18, 2012

For Victoria it was definitely ok and you are in 5 minutes downtown. Breakfast was a little bit poor. Also ok for the group yet nothing for big breakfasters


Hemmingway B & B

5 on July 17, 2012

Ilona was wonderful. She made us feel very comfortable and gave us some great ideas about where to go in Victoria. We would definitely stay there again.


Great stay

4.4 on July 16, 2012

Ilona was the perfect hostess. Her place is beautiful and she made us feel right at home. And the breakfasts she provided were outstanding!


Planned on one night and stayed 3

5 on July 16, 2012

One of the most wonderfulvacation experiences. Everythingwas faboulous. Ilona is an incredible host and makes you feel right at home


Excellent experience

4.6 on July 15, 2012

My experience at Hemmingway’s By the Sea was comfortable, warm and restful. Our hostess provided us with a large clean suite, tastefully decorated in period style and a large balcony. The view was breathtaking of the sea, large trees and a beautiful garden. Ilona provided us with Interesting historical facts of the house and adjoining buildings. We had an abundant, healthy breakfast in the elegant dining room. The food, china, crystal and cotton embroidered napkins made the experience feel as if we were in 19th century England. Our hostess was generous, thoughtful and a pleasure to be with. She exhibited an excellent example of customer service and professionalism in the hospitality business. For a quiet, clean and comfortable stay I highly recommend this delightful Inn. Louise, Grande Prairie, Alberta


Nice Get Away

3.2 on June 27, 2012

Nice get away to Victoria. Friendly inn-keeper with good food. Main Victoria sites close by. B&B is in a residential quiet neighborhood. If you visit, bring some DVDs (did not find any although room had a DVD player)


Hemingway' by the sea B&B .

5 on March 23, 2012

I will never forgot a wonderfull service of Hemingway' by the sea B&B and like to visit again whenever I next trip to Vancouver Island.


Best B & B in Victoria

5 on October 03, 2011

My wife and I can't say enough great things about Ilona and her Hemingway's by the Sea. It is quiet and convienent to downtown. Breakfasts were always great! Just too much really good food. Ilona is a wonderful hostess and has a great following. We were astonished by the guests from Holland and the Netherlands. How do people find her place? Great word of mouth is how. Every B&B we visited in the last 25 years could learn from her hospitality. Randy McLaughlin Grand Prairie, TX.


Great honeymoon spot!

4.6 on August 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for the first two nights of our honeymoon and loved it. Illona, the innkeeper, was very kind and helpful. She directed us to all the site seeing spots in Victoria. She even took a few minutes in the morning to draw us a map because we really wanted to go to the beach. The room was extremely clean and the food was delicious. Illona even made extra for my husband who is a big eater! Our room was cleaned every day. We stayed in the hemmingway suite which was very nice. We had a fridge and microwave in our room and our own private belcony. We would stay at this B&B again on our next visit to Victoria!


My Great Escape

4.0 on August 19, 2011

Ilona was gracious and very accomodating. The Inn is full of interesting lore and energy. I found the breakfasts to be delightful.


Would Stay Here Again

3.6 on August 15, 2011

Hemigways is located in the Esquimalt area and a very short walk to the ocean. We arrived prior to the check-in time and warmly greeted by Ilona with cake and tea. We stayed in the Kenya room - first room to the left at the top of the stairs. We could see the ocean from our window and Ilona had explained to us prior to booking that the B&B is not oceanside. This was my husband's second stay in a B&B and he thought the room was a fairly good size. The room also had a mini fridge, so that was nice to keep our drinks cool. Room also came with a table, 2 chairs, TV, cable and internet connection. Bathroom was straight across the hall from the bedroom and was for our exclusive use. Hubby would have preferred to have an in-suite bathroom, but it really wasn't an issue for our stay. I just reminded him that we weren't staying in a hotel - it is someone's home. Ilona provided us with bottles of water on our first excustion and we re-filled them every morning. She also provided maps on how to get to our destinations in the quickest time possible. She recommended a few things to do and see and was a gracious and friendly hostess. The breakfasts were excellent. There were 3 nicely set tabled areas and on some of the mornings, all 3 were in full use with the guests. Breakfast is set for 9:00am, however Ilona was flexible when some of the guests came down a little early for breakfast. She also has a nice patio area to sit and take your coffee before breakfast. Over the course of our stay we ate toast, raisin toast, scrambled eggs, pancakes, crepes, french toast, rice pudding, hard boiled eggs, and an assortment of fresh fruit. When I explained that I didn't like pancakes, Ilona immediately said she would make me some eggs or something else that I may like. I declined and told her the toast was good enough, but she worried that I would still be hungry :-) Really a lovely woman. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return to this B&B


Great B & B Experience

4.6 on August 11, 2011

What a find! We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Victoria, BC.


Dissapointed in the Breakfast

3.2 on July 22, 2011

Very nice Innkeeper. The room was beautiful. From other reviews I was expecting a view, but there was no view. I thought it was expensive for the location and the breakfast. The photo's of the breakfasts are misleading.


Family Vacation

4.2 on July 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the hostess Ilona was above and beyond with her hospitality and she was gracious to our two children. The beds were very comfortable and the suite was clean and tidy.


Enjoyed Hemingway's By the Sea

3.4 on May 30, 2011

The ower, Ilona, has interesting stories of her husband's travels around the world emulating Ernest Heminway. The B&B has artifacts from around the world. We hope you enjoy Hemingway's; we did. Henry & Linda


B and Breview Victoria, BC

4.0 on February 08, 2011

Inn keeper very kind however there are no microwaves as advertised in any of the rooms and only one room has a kitchenette, the advertisement states they all do. Inn keeper pushes an ACAIberrry product and sends it to yoru E-Mail and talks about it incessantly. Innkeeper starts stereophonic music at 9:30 AM so forget about sleeping in. Towels feel like they have never seen a dryer sheet in their life. Rugs in room with only real fireplace and there is only one is over 10 years in age. No ottoman for feet as in picture, DVD was broken and had to be rplaced as was coffee maker. Nice person, no common customer comes first business sense and false advertisement on microwave in room is a big no , no to this B and B veteran.


A wonderful one night stay

4.2 on October 04, 2010

We stayed in the Serengetti room which was a large suite and very comfortable. Our hostess was delightful and served whatever we desired for breakfast. An easy drive into Victoria and a short walk to view the ocean.


Nice place to stay

5 on August 23, 2010

Ilona is the sweetest person I've ever met. She takes an interest in her guests and she made sure to recomend the perfect things for me to do. I ended up having a great time Kayaking because of her recomendation.


hospitality beyond compare

5 on July 04, 2009

revision - should have been all five for outstanding! This is one B&B you should add to your list of favorites!


hospitality beyond compare

4.0 on June 22, 2009

The hospitality we received was wonderful. Our hostess, Ilona, if she has the time, can be engaged in delightful conversation about her friend's trips with Ernest Hemingway, from which this B&B gets its name. Ilona gives excellent tips about travelling the island as well as Victoria. The B&B is close to a pleasant walk along the ocean, to a marina, and to a bus stop, but a good walker might enjoy walking into town. The walk will take them past a replica of Anne Hathaway's house, the delightful English Inn & Resort, formerly the Olde English Inn, and delightful homes with beautiful gardens. The weather is usually within a comfortable range year round, so the walk along the ocean could be enjoyed most days of the year by anyone who truly enjoys the outdoors in any kind of weather.


A Wonderful Surprise

5 on December 11, 2008

We called at the last minute and were cheerfully accomodated. Ilona gave us great advice on the best beach hikes on the drive north to explore the coastline. The home is fascinating, full of wonderful things collected from all over the world. The international couples we met there in the evening were enjoyable. Ilona's breakfast was so much more than we had expected, or ever received at any other B&B. Breakfast alone would be a great reason to stay at Hemmingway's by the Sea. We left feeling like family and will definitely return there to stay on our next visit. SC, California


Hemingway's By the Sea

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 99 - $CAD 195
  • Reviews (34) 4.4
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2503840862
  • Fax 1-2503848113
  • Toll free 1-8773840862

Visit Website »

View details

Top