Cobble House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

B&B at its best.

4.8 on March 31, 2016

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy a natural setting while being pampered by our hosts. Our room was so large we could have moved in half of our possessions! Breakfast was delicious and so prettily presented. The location meant we could lunch at Merridale Cidery and have dinner at Unsworth Winery, both star locations to visit.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Cobble House. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and your visit to the region!


Lovely stay

5 on March 10, 2016

We had a lovely stay in Cobble House - thank you very much Ingrid for welcoming us and making us wonderful breakfasts!


Outstanding B&B

4.6 on October 09, 2015

Cobble House Bed and Breakfast has to be the best B&B we have ever booked into. The setting is sublime, our room, The Hummingbird, looked over the rear of the property and was alive with wildlife, the room was immaculate, comfortable and spacious as were all the gust areas. Breakfast was an experience not to be missed, each day was different and inventive (we were there for a week), I thought about staying there for ever! Our host, Ingrid, was attentive to any dietary ends and a mine of information with regards local attractions and details of the surrounding areas, which was invaluable, as we were looking for an area to relocate to. Needless to say we will be returning to sample Ingrid's breakfasts again in the near future. PS Check out her collection of napkin rings, a new one each day!


Tranquil and enjoyable stay at Cobble House

5 on September 07, 2015

It was my second visit to the Cobble House, and I again found what I was looking for - clean, welcoming, and peaceful property and a great host, Ingrid, who makes you feel like at home. It is a gem of a location and yet you are close to anything you may want to do to enjoy your day on the island. Ingrid was very helpful and available to answer any question we had and made our stay very pleasant. I hope to return soon.


Exceptional B&B

5 on July 22, 2015

We stayed in the Hummingbird Room of the Cobble House Bed & Breakfast. The king bed was comfortable and the spacious room had a seating area and a large window to view the picturesque yard. The window coverings were excellent to provide darkness for sleeping. The ensuite was beautiful and well stocked with towels and bath products. The breakfasts were well beyond what we expected and absolutely delectable. Our kind and friendly hosts made our stay very enjoyable. I would have liked to have stayed longer as it was very restful. I highly recommend this B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all that we provide for our guests. It's always a good thing when people would like to stay longer! We appreciate all the reviews that our guests have provided!


HEAVEN ON EARTH!!!

5 on June 04, 2015

Ingrid & Simon are OUTSTANDING hosts. This place is: PARADISE!!! Aires Mario da Cruz [Retired Air Craft Pilot] from Calgary, Alberta. Bernardete Gomes da Cruz ... House Wife.


Bed and Breakfast Excellence

5 on March 04, 2015

The Cobble House Bed and Breakfast is a gem. The food is outstanding and the hosts, Ingrid and Simon are friendly, interesting and gracious. Our only concern with giving this property a great review is they will be booked when we want to stay again. The rooms are clean, the linen is crisp and the beds are exceedingly comfortable. Breakfast was gourmet, abundant and filling. Ingrid went out of her way to prepare just-out-of-the-oven gluten-free muffins and scones to accommodate a Celiac member of our group. Truly above and beyond our expectations! The setting is idyllic, relaxing and quiet. Better than a home away from home.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet your family and to have you as our guests!


Cobble Houe Humingbird Room

4.6 on September 08, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cobble HIll B&b on August 2nd and 3rd, 2014. Neither of us had much experiance in the B&B arena so we did not know what to expect. We were plesantly surprised. The room we occupied, the Hummingbird room, was very nice, exceptionaly clean and quite. We are not ones to spend a great deal of thime in our room but the time we did spend there was pleasant. Brekfast was at nine and was much better then any Hotel brekfast we have ever had. We discovered staying at a B&B gives you an opportunity to talk to a local, in this case Ingrid the owner, who gave us the run down on what to do and see. A custome in many a Canadian home, including Cobblle House, is to take ones shoes off before entering. Thus on my next visit I will bring a pair of slippers. The location of the facility was serene and scenic. We would definatly stay at the Cobble House again.


My First Bed and Breakfast-a Wonderful Experience

5 on September 07, 2014

My daughter and I had the opportunity to stay at the Cobble House for one night. Ingrid made us feel like family with great hospitality. Her home is lovely and spacious and the breakfast was delicious. She served a great scone for breakfast and shared the recipe with me. I have not made the scones, but it will be hard to make mine as good. This was my first bed and breakfast and now I am convincing my husband to give "bed and breakfast" a try. If I return to the area, I will definitely try to stay here again. Thank you, Ingrid


Excellent base for exploring the Cowichan Valley

4.4 on August 19, 2014

Delicious breakfast, room was spotless, very friendly owners, excellent location for touring the surrounding area.


Very nice and quiet

4.4 on August 18, 2014

Quiet place with exactly right balance in personal contact and when left alone!


peaceful B&B

4.2 on August 14, 2014

very quiet, clean home, we enjoyed a large room and delicious breakfast. Would love to return again


Great stay!!

5 on August 12, 2014

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary here and loved every minute of it. The rooms were so spacious and private. The breakfast was mind blowing!! We were ready to move in! During the day we visited a few of the wineries and had some great meals at the local restaurants. We recommended this lovely B&B to our family and friends. Loved the gardens!


Cobble House stay

5 on August 04, 2014

We could not have asked for a nicer place to call "home" on our vacation; gracious hosts, comfy room with all amenities, gourmet breakfasts (even to accommodating our dietary issues, graciously!), helpful guidance for our "island wanderings" and a peaceful location. Super!


Cobble Hill Tranquility

4.0 on May 18, 2014

Warm welcome, delicious breakfast, big clean room with a comfortable bed.


Third visit

5 on October 31, 2013

We first stayed at Cobble House because of its proximity to alumni events at nearby Shawnigan Lake School. We couldn't have chosen better. Ingrid and Simon Vermegan are incomparable hosts. The house itself is located in a forested area with deer frequenting the property. The guest rooms are beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable. Ingrid's breakfasts are exceptional in quality and quantity. We booked this stay nearly six months in advance to be sure we would get a room.


Enjoyed our stay

4.8 on September 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Heron room while visiting the area for a wedding. Myself, my wife and 2 children aged 7 and 5, found the room spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The house itself is very nice and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We all loved the breakfasts. Its very well placed for getting to Shawnigan Lake, Cowichan Bay and the Island Highway.We'd definitely stay here again.


Lovely Place to Stay

4.2 on September 02, 2013

A lovely place to stay and wonderful people to meet and they did their best to make us comfortable and served a great breakfast.


Comfy, friendly, beautiful location

5 on December 09, 2012

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed for 2 nights in November while there for our daughter's school activities. It is a great location, central to many things in the area, and a beautiful property. Our hosts were very accommodating, helpful, warm and welcoming.


Needs some updating in rooms and bath to bring it out of the early 90's

4.0 on June 05, 2012

The house itself is very large as is the room but the bathroom is very small. There is no internet or television which should be made clear. The grounds are not as large as they appear and because the living room is also the living room for the home of the B & B operators you don't feel inclined to us it. It is situated more like a remote lodge then a B & B but without the size. The addition of the Cidery coupon was a plus and I commend them on the combination package. All and all the package was a very good deal but without it, I don't think I would of paid full rate.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our B&B and the Living Social package you enjoyed with us. Our guests' input is always valuable to us, so I am sorry to hear that your stay was not all you expected. I would like to correct a couple of your comments if I may. While there is indeed no television in the guest rooms, there is TV in the common area, and we definitely have Wi-Fi in the house. Of course a small Bed & Breakfast is also the home of the innkeepers so common area IS shared, but we made the rooms spacious so that our guests also have a comfortable private sitting area in their rooms, and we are usually busy in the evening anyway so not likely to be using the living area. One of the reasons for doing the Living Social package is to be able to earn some extra funds to be re-invested into the B&B, although updating on our guest area has occurred on a regular basis over the years. In fact, our bathroom counters and cabinets were replaced just last year. Decor is of course to some extend always a matter of taste. Thank you very much for your feedback.


Lovely B&B

5 on November 10, 2011

Cobble House B&B is in a secluded setting - very quiet and tranquil. The house is beautiful. We stayed in the Heron Suite which is a large room with two comfortable chairs for reading. Ingrid and Simon are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are excellent. We will definitely return when we next visit the area.


one of the best

4.6 on September 30, 2011

lovely house in beautiful situation. very spacious room which was spotlessly clean breakfast was delicious wish we could have stayed longer


Amazing Breakfast

4.8 on August 17, 2011

The accomodations were fanatastic, and the breakfast in the morning was amazing. Ingrid is a great cook.


Relaxing in July

4.2 on July 24, 2011

A wonderful, quiet B&B. Able to sit and relax on the deck and enjoy the visits of the deer and their young to the surrounding yard and forest.


Cobble House Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on July 20, 2011

Absolutely spotless. Quiet surroundings. Excellent food. Ingrid was very friendly and provided above what we expected. We would stay there again and we would recommend Cobble House to others. I liked the fact that this was away from the city and all of the hustle and bustle. Very peaceful atmosphere, yet close to many things on the island.


Vancouver Island Wine Area

3.4 on July 16, 2011

I enjoyed a two night stay at Cobble House, the hosts were very gracious and kind. On arrival I found that I had left important medication at the previous B&B Ingrid did everything possible to assist and despite the drama made me feel most welcome. Unfortunately I was unable to do justice to the lovely breakfasts but would recommend Cobble House to those wishing to visit the Wine Area but maintain a presence not too far from Victoria.


Cobble House Review

5 on June 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights and everything about our experience was perfect


Countryside hospitality

4.8 on June 17, 2011

Were very well looked after on our six day stay. Felt like coming home each day. Good starts with a hearty breakfast with surprises.


A lovely relaxing B and B in rural setting...

4.0 on May 28, 2011

The welcome was warm, water hot, bed comfortable, view fantastic and breakfast fabulous..


Country Paradise

4.4 on May 22, 2011

Ingrid was very helpful and prepared excellent breakfasts. Beautiful antiques and furnishings. Quiet and peaceful local. Great place to stay at very reasonable rate. John


Visit

4.0 on April 24, 2011

Very welcoming couple, Ingrid and Simon, who provided us with all sorts of useful info on things to do in the area


Cobble House Bed & Breakfast

5 on April 14, 2011

Cobble House is a wonderful oasis of comfort and relaxation offering beautiful rooms, pleasant views, and excellent breakfasts.


Exceptional B&B Experience

4.6 on March 14, 2011

This place was all we expected and more. The rooms was well appointed with a beautiful view and the breakfasts were world class! We are already planning our next visit!


Cobble House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 130 - $CAD 140
  • Reviews (33) 4.6
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2507432672
  • Toll free 1-8667432672

Visit Website »

View details

Top