IPANEMA BEACH Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

A little home in Ipanema

5 on March 10, 2014

Best location in Ipanema. The apartment is very clean and charmingly furbished. It has a great terrace with a Jacuzzi. Both rooms have a/c and private bathrooms. A very small dog also lives there. Marc is the kindest host, he will provide you with tips and basically everything you need in Rio. The tours with Rita are also very remarkable and fun. We stayed with Marc and then left Rio for ten days and then returned to his place, and it was like coming home. We would only stay at Marcs on our next trip to Rio.


Like staying at a friend´s place!

4.8 on February 16, 2014

Marc is a great host, most helpful and attentive. His penthouse flat has a fantastic location just a block from Ipanema beach, close to all restaurants and bars the area has to offer. Your host makes sure you know how to behave in Rio, where to go and where not. He sure made us feel at home in the big city immediately, and find out what the beach and neighbourhood was about. We were happy we were also helped arranging transportation from the airport to Ipanema on arrival. Really recommend this place - thanks for having us!


Excellent bed and breakfast

5 on December 26, 2013

Nous avons séjourné chez Marc pendant 5 jours fin septembre 2013 et nous avons adoré. L'appartement est super, au calme, spacieux, doté d'une très belle déco design et colorée et d'une terrasse avec jacuzzi sur laquelle nous prenions notre petit déjeuner copieux et complet (pain, jambon, fromage, fruits frais coupés, jus d'orange pressé, thé, café etc...). Marc est un hôte génial, nous avions l'impression d'être chez des amis de longue date, il connait très bien Rio et vous donne de très bons conseils sur les lieux à visiter ou les endroits branchés pour sortir et bien manger. L'appartement est impeccable, les chambres très propres et bien équipées. Il est aussi très bien placé, à 30 m de la plage et 100 m du métro et des bus dans un quartier chic et branché où tout y est, boutiques, restaurants, cafés etc...on se sent en sécurité et on n'a qu'une envie REVENIR !!!! Marc, Un grand Merci !!


Outstanding Location & Host!

5 on December 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed for a week during Nov/Dec this year & were so pleasantly surprised with everything Marcos & his top floor apartment had to offer. Beach bums rejoice, the apartment is perfectly located a block away from the beach. Bedrooms & bathrooms are comfortably spacious & clean and each has air conditioning & cable TV. The shared living rooms, terrace and dining room were colorfully decorated with furnishings from Senegal, France & Brazil - all was just so lovely! Many restaurants and bars nearby. Access to buses from all areas. The popular Sunday Hippie Market is just 1 ½ blocks away (fresh food market during the week). The real gem here however is the host, Marcos. He made our stay in Rio feel like we were visiting old friends. He's so welcoming and gracious. He told us of the many places we should visit and the precautions we should take when partying the night away in Rio (be wary of "good-night Cinderella") but thankfully we always felt safe and never encountered any problems. Marcos was so helpful to us when we wanted to go to Lapa to dance - he even joined us! Almost like our own personal guide but again, he felt like a friend more than anything! We enjoyed dancing together & hanging out at the beach. BTW, he knows ALL the right people at the beach! The best little beach stand (Miriam's) to get your Caipirinha's and beach chairs & umbrellas. Bahiana, a lovely local woman sells amazing little warm empanada style sandwiches. He made a very generous breakfast each morning which consisted of fresh Portuguese bread rolls & various marmalades, ham & cheese, as well as yogurt & assorted fresh fruits daily. We enjoyed his company & the personal attention during our week long vacation. Looking forward to spending New Years Eve in Rio in the next couple of years and know that booking a stay with Marcos at Ipanema Beach will be the first step in planning that vacation! Thank you Marcos! xo Gilda & friends


BEST experience!

5 on April 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here together (both twenty-something women) and had a wonderful experience. Before coming to Rio my family was concerned about our safety as two women traveling, but this was the perfect place. The neighborhood is extremely safe. Additionally, the owner was so helpful in giving us advise on where to go to be safe. I felt like someone was looking out for me. He also was so welcoming! I did not feel uncomfortable at all coming and going.


Secured and perfect for single woman

5 on April 14, 2013

I was alone in Rio for business and stayed several weeks at Marcos's place. I felt secured and well advised by Marcos. He is discreet, generous, meticulous and always in a good mood. The place is as charming and clean as in the pictures. The breakfast is delicious. It is so perfect that we can only be in respect of the place and its host Marcos.


Simply perfect

4.2 on January 07, 2013

The time we spent at Marco's place was better than we could ever imagine. The room was bright and clean and the apartment is what you might call a bijou. Marc was a perfect host and always helped out when we had a question. We highly recommend Marc's place to anyone who wants to go to Rio.


Best place to stay in Rio

4.8 on December 31, 2012

A perfect place to stay...clean, comfortable, with a wonderful engaging host fluent in many languages including English...could not have asked for a better experience!


Perfect option for couples visiting Rio!

4.6 on December 10, 2012

We really enjoyed staying with Marc at his bed & breakfast in November 2012. His Ipanema apartment was a perfect location, very safe, lots of nice boutiques, cool restaurants, near the Favela elevator, Ipanema & Copacobana beaches, close to the Sunday Hippie market, and next door to a Devassa brewhouse cafe! (fantastic Brazillian craft beer) His place is on the top floor of a secured building with a doorman. The place is decorated very nicely, lots of sunlight, the bedrooms are a good size, and each have a private bathroom. The breakfast was perfect, served with the delicious local fruit in season. I've visited Rio once before staying at the Orla Copacabana. While the Orla was decent and across the street from Copacobana Beach, I realized that Ipanema was a much better place for Americans or other non-natives to stay. Also, the rooms at Marc's place were much nicer, and the neighborhood was safer with more things to do. Marc was also extremely helpful with his local knowledge and recommendations of things to do. He speaks many languages, which makes things easier as well! Among the things we did per his recommendations was visit the Lapa district on Saturday night, where they close off the streets and each bar/restaurant offers live music. We found one playing live Bossa Nova music and serving $2 beers, it was great! Will recommend Marc's place to all my friends visiting Rio, thaks Marc for a very memorable stay! Cheers! -Tom & Tracey from Los Angeles, California.


The best output of Rio+20!

4.8 on June 25, 2012

Marcos manages his B&B is an exceptionnally kind and caring way, while being discrete and professional. The breakfast is an absolute must, with fresh fruit on the terrace! A superb venue, and a warm atmosphere at all time. Probably the best place to stay in Ipanema...


excellent place for couple or lonely travelers

4.8 on April 14, 2012

hi this is place is perfectly located and is very cozy.Marco is really helpful and eager to give you insights about rio. excellent flat,with partial ocean view. i strongly recommend this place for couples or lonely travelers! you won't regret .


Truly Outstanding Vacation Experience

5 on January 03, 2012

I stayed with Marc before my cruise in December for 2 nights. What an absolutely wonderful stay I had! Like staying with dear friends. Always the wonderful host, Marc greeted me warmly and showed me around what immediately felt like home! The rooms are exactly as depicted - clean, bright, airy and comfortable. So much fantastic information and assistance. I was a little ragged from the 20 hours in transit and wanted to have a little "spa" time...Marc found me an amazing place to have a perfect 2 hour treatment just around the corner. It was pouring rain and he insisted on walking me there. I found my way home easily and waiting for me was a frantic call from my friends who were supposed to be staying at the Marriott but had their reservations cancelled.....Marc immediately took them in - no problem since the second room was available. What fun we all had. After dinner Marc met us for drinks and we went to the grocery store to shop for breakfast together. After a refreshing and comfortable nights sleep....breakfast was waiting for me on the terrace with Marc's birds to keep me company!!! What a spread. After a day on the beach - Marc helped us get to the Samba show - we had some issues with the tour operator and Marc sprang to action....making sure we got there on time!! I hope that one day I will be lucky enough to get back to Rio and I will be sure to stay with Marc again. Rio would not be the same without his truly generous hospitality. Thank you Marc - for everything!!! Do NOT hesitate to stay here....location can't be better and it feels like you are so welcome ..... like family!! Cindi


Recommended!!

5 on September 13, 2011

Rio is a great city and Marc’s B&B is the place to stay. The location is perfect, close to the beach, restaurants, bars and shopping. The apartment is clean, modern, secure, and beautiful with a lot of space. Good Wi-fi and AC. The hospitality was wonderful. If I go back to Rio, I will not be looking for any other place. Thanks Marc.


sejour noel dec 2010

4.0 on January 06, 2011

merci merci à Marc et Bernard POUR LEUR ACCUEIL, belle chambre et le jacuzzi top sur la terrasse en plein RIO on se sentait chez nous le savoir de Bernard sur L AMERIQUE LATINE et le dynamisme de Marc nous on fait passer un séjour des meilleurs BRAVO à tous les 2 et MEILLEURS VOEUX VALERIE


Outstanding Bed & Breakfast

5 on December 27, 2010

I spent three days here in Rio and I would highly recommend staying here. The hospitality was wonderful. Thank you very much Marc. The apartment was beautiful, spacious, and very clean. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would definitely stay here again! The B&B has excellent location only one step from the beach in lovely Ipanema. The area is very safe with more on offer then any other area in Rio.


AMAZING!

5 on February 05, 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights in January and could not find fault with it. This is a beautiful and spotlessly clean modern apartment located in an excellent central area. It is literally 50 yards from Ipanema Beach and adjacent to many lively restaurants & bars. The host Marc was excellent - friendly, kind & gave us an insiders guide to the real Rio. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The fresh breakfast served on the terrace was a great start to each day! If we return to Rio we will definitely be staying here again. I am confident that this accommodation beats many of the hotels in Rio and it provides complete privacy and excellent value for money. A true gem!


Fantastic accomodation in great location

5 on January 24, 2010

We are just back from a great stay with Marc in Ipanema. The location is perfect - just one block from the beach and one block from major shopping street. Great restaurants and bars are literally footsteps away - you honestly could not beat the location. Marc is a great host who did everything possible to ensure we had a great time during our first vacation in Rio. He recommended lots of places to visit which were not in the guidebook so as you get an insider view of the real Rio.His apartment is really well appointed, has great terraces and the rooms were great. Luisa made great breakfasts everyday and kept the apartment immaculate. To echo all the other reviews I would not hesitate in choosing a stay in this apartment - book today!! You will love it - 100% guaranteed!


GRACIAS MARC

4.4 on January 21, 2010

Para 2 Argentinos que viajaron bajo el intenso sol de Brasil, la recepción de Marc no puedo haber sido mejor, y no solamente el día en que llegamos sino durante nuestra estadia. Las imágenes que puedan observar de éste lugar son apenas una muestra de la calidad del mismo; los espacios, desde la terraza, pasando por el living, cocina y habitaciones son un recorrido confortable. Muchas gracias Marc, porque tu casa no hubiese sido completa sin tu amabilidad en todo momento. Nos volvimos a la Argentina empapados de olores, sonrisas, buenos momentos y alegría. Saludos! Eze y Sebastián


perfect

4.8 on January 13, 2010

i'm just back from Marc and bernard's place in ipanema, where we spent a fantastic new years eve, thanks to our hosts. We had the feeling we've been knowing them for ages, the apartment is just perfect, right in the heart of ipanema, it's clean, safe, friendly, relaxing like being home, well...maybe better! the breakfast is excellent, prepared with love by Luisa with mango, papaye, orange juice...in fact, i shoudn't write a report, it should be ipanema's best kept secret. Don't hesitate one second if you wanna book, you just can't find better! Philippe, Paris.


"Rio: Cidade maravilhosa"

5 on March 14, 2009

We stayed in Ipanema Beach B&B for three nights. Our stay was simply fantastic. Marc and Bernard are so friendly, so helpful...perfect hosts. The location is very good; everything you need is in the hood. If you plan an unforgettable stay in Rio I highly recommend this lovely B&B.


The Best Value For Money In Ipanema

5 on March 11, 2009

MARC & BERNARD have a fantastic penthouse apartment. It is located in the heart of Ipanema. The beach is less then 2 minutes away. As you come out of the apartment onto the street. You will notice lots of bars and restaurants in every direction. The best place stay weather you just want to realx or go out and party. I used taxis everyday during my stay in Rio. Taxis form the apartment to all the main sites in Rio are really cheap. The area is very safe with more on offer then any other area in Rio. I had first class service during my stay here. The rooms and the food are great. MARC & BERNARD showed me the real Rio. It was my best vacation ever and i will be going back there next year. I am a seasoned traveler and this place really ticked all the boxes for me. I knew i made the right choice as soon as i walked in the apartment. Give MARC & BERNARD a call you wont be sorry. Solly [Birmingham UK]


Best in Rio

5 on January 18, 2009

The best you can imagine in Rio de Janeiro. We stayed at Marc with my husband and my parents. Marc is an excellent host, he made our stay a dream come true. Marc and Bernard´s place has excellent location only one step from the beach in lovely Ipanema. The apartment is decorated with fine taste. The bedrooms are modern and confortable with private bathrooms. The living area is spacy with this huge terrace to have breakfast or dinner or just to lay down or have a cooling bath in the jaccuzi. Breakfast is great. Everything is great. For your happy stay in Rio you have to be at Marc´s place.


Highly Recommended!

4.8 on January 02, 2009

I spent a week here in Rio and I would highly recommend staying here. The hospitality was wonderful. Marc and Bernard are wonderful hosts, they are extremely nice and very helpful. You couldn't ask for a better location, and the apartment was beautiful, spacious, and very clean. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would definitely stay here again!


IPANEMA BEACH

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $120
  • Reviews (23) 4.8
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 33-614650999
Top