Recent Reviews in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Top notch at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 21, 2016

Just stayed here for two nights. Each breakfast was absolutely amazing. It was my second time staying here and I can't even explain how good the breakfasts are. The quality and variety of food is over the top. From the homemade granola to the main entree breakfast you will not be disappointed and probably won't need lunch! The grounds and rooms are spotless. Special attention to every little detail is obvious here.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

The Topside Inn is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Great in-town location, clean, comfortable rooms, nicely decorated and the view of the harbor is amazing, not to mention the wonderful breakfast. Mom and I had a wonderful stay. I will be returning!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Of The Best at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 14, 2016

This is a must stop in the area. The proprietor and staff couldn't have been more gracious. The rooms are perfect with everything you need and the breakfast was among the best we have ever experienced. The location is perfect and convenient. The seating area outside each room makes for a wonderful place to sit and have some wine and cheese after a day of sightseeing. We will definitely stay again when we are back in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Thistle Inn at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on June 11, 2016

Nice place to stay and blocks from harbor. I would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2016

If I could rate this place with 10 stars, I would! Everything about our stay was awesome and I was even able to have Shrimp & Grits up North! Mark and Buzz create wonderful breakfast meals each morning and their hospitality is superb!! I will highly recommend Topside to anyone traveling to ME!!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding dinner in restaurant. at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.2 reviewed on June 06, 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Boothbay Harbor at the Thistle Inn. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, We were a bit warm because the air-conditioning unit had not been installed; but overall it was a pleasant stay. The highlight was dinner at the Thistle Inn restaurant. My lobster in puff pastry, which was an appetizer, was delicious and satisfying, the cosmopolitan was delicious and my husband enjoyed his mussels.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Night on the Harbor at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 01, 2016

The inn keepers are super nice and helpful. They did a nice simple breakfast with puff pastry filled with ham and swiss. Beds and pillows are great but my favorite was the triangular tub and outside table and chairs reserved just for our room. Loved the bathroom which had been updated recently. Great location within walking distance to town and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Property was beautiful, walk down the hill to downtown, never need your car, hosts were great, breakfast was great, rooms were spotless, booked the room over the phone after speaking with the host, all questions and descriptions were 100% accurate. Definitely an inn to revisit.

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster House--a great place to stay. at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on May 30, 2016

What a delightful stay here. I wish we could have stayed longer. Kelleigh and Dave are great hosts. The menu was adapted to my daughter's gluten free diet and tasted wonderful. The muffins were an extra special treat--so light and flavorful even though they too were gluten free. Brewster House is located in an area that has other restaurants near by and you can easily walk to town from here. This B&B is definitely the most charming place we stayed on our tour of the northeast. I hope we can come back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite Place! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2016

We just returned from four nights at the Topside Inn and had another wonderful experience. I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed there, and each time, it is amazing. The service is top notch, the rooms are immaculate and well appointed with beautiful views, comfortable beds and chairs and lots of great amenities (bar ware, hairdryer, lots of plugs for charging, soft towels and more). The main building has 24/7 snacks, coffee/tea, water and cookies every afternoon. It's so nice they now serve wine, so you can relax with a glass on the porch and watch the boats roll into harbor. The breakfast is amazing! They are always trying new recipes, and the portions are huge! Great suggestions on local dining and experiences too.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend get away for four. at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on May 18, 2016

Saturday afternoon, four of us checked into the Thistle Inn for one night. We were very happy with happy hour in the lovely bar (made out of a boat) and the good service by the bartender. We had reservations in the onsite restaurant and we were disappointed. The restaurant was full and we were fortunate to have made reservation when we booked the room. We enjoyed the special burger, steak special, lobster( seafood) scampi, and fish and chips. We had a good night's rest and never were bothered b y the bar or restaurant noise (none in fact). We were there in the off season so there was not complimentary breakfast, but there was coffee in the breakfast room. We are staying there again 6/3 & 4 and we look forward to having another lovely visit and good food.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on May 18, 2016

Very kind, accommodating folks. Room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a family of four. The dining was outstanding. Would return in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay!! at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2016

We stayed there for the weekend, and had a great time. The restaurant was also great, especially the Happy Hour!

View more reviews for this inn


A Belated Review and a Charming Stay ! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on March 15, 2016

Sorry for taking so long to write you, but I wanted to tell the world that Brewster House was an amazing experience. Everything from the grounds to the food to the rooms was lovely. My wife, Flora, and I adored it. Scott is a great storyteller, and we took him up on a few of his recommendations, including a beautiful Maine beach where it seemed only the locals were daring enough to get wet ! (We splashed around but only got up to our ankles.). Mary is a sweetheart and a great cook. Each breakfast was unique, and the setting was quaint and comfortable. (Steal a scone or a baked good upon arrival; you won't regret it ! ) They really know the area well and played tour-guide for us as well. Our room was really well maintained, and in celebration of our honeymoon, Scott and Mary provided a nice gift basket that included some great spices and local oils. Man, speaking of food, I could go for a fresh fruit Pavolva ! The entire stay was charming, relaxing, and a great way to introduce us to Maine. We loved it. We hope to be back, even !

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely room, delicious food at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on February 01, 2016

Stayed two nights in the Sherman Zwicker room for my birthday. Lovely room! Very comfortable and was very large and spacey. Four poster bed and pleasant cottage furniture. The restaurant staff was super helpful and nice and the food was delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Just Perfect! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2016

This was our first B&B stay in our 10 day trip up the coast of Maine with me, my husband and 86 yr old mother. Everything about our stay here was ideal. Room comfortably accommodated the 3 of us with common areas adding to our pleasure. We enjoyed coffee in the fireplace area both mornings before breakfast, and enjoyed the porches, and lawn areas as well. Breakfasts were awesome - my mom even got their recipes. Cookies available 24/7 a nice touch. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Started our trip on a real high note. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter stay at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on January 06, 2016

We spent New Years Eve, our first visit to the inn. The rooms were reasonably comfortable and clean. There is no living room or comfortable place to sit and relax here, so you are basically in your room. There is a nice patio area outside that would be nice in the summer. We did Happy Hour at the bar and that was great, good selection of wine by the glass and cocktails at half price. Friendly service. We also did the prix fixe New Year's Eve dinner which was $65/person and really a disappointment. There was apparently a staff shortage as our waiter was rushed and not attentive. There were limited options on the menu, but they all sounded good. No substitutions were allowed. The combinations just didn't seem to work well together and it seemed like they were over reaching a little in the kitchen. No breakfast is included in the winter. There was a Kureg for coffee available. We used paper cups and got cups of water from the bathroom to get water to fill it. All in all, the inn is okay for the price. We likely will not return. The restaurant gets good reviews, so maybe they were just having an off night for New Years Eve, but it was a real disappointment for the price.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly place, amazing food! at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on January 01, 2016

The room was very comfortable, but what really impressed me was the food. The bar and dining room are casual and friendly, and everything I ate was delicious. Prices are reasonable too. If you visit Boothbay Harbor, have dinner here.

View more reviews for this inn


Good value at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.0 reviewed on December 15, 2015

We had dined at the Thistle Inn many times and the meals have always been very good. Never had a bad meal and love the atmosphere there. The room we had on the second floor, known as American Eagle room was spacious and comfortable. Our only complaint would be that it abuts the kitchen office and can be a bit noisy if you're early to bed say 9-10pm. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

View more reviews for this inn


First time in Boothbay Harbor at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on December 10, 2015

Great Location, Beautiful view. This was a different type of Bed and Breakfast for us since we didn't stay in the main house. The room was in a building close by more like a motel looking unit with 2 floors. We were in the middle on the lower floor. It was nice but a little noisy - the walls are thin. I would have preferred an end unit but having never been there before I wasn't sure what to expect. The owners were great and the food was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster House Weekend at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

My husband and I planned a weekend, one night getaway from our children. Mary adn Scott Gile at the Brewster House made it happen. The Inn is beautiful, clean, quiet, quaint and everything we could have hoped for. My husband had a few extra's ordered for my birthday...and the Giles' made it all happen. In the morning, after a delectable breakfast (bring your appetite please), I was given a slice of cake with an candle and a lovely Happy Birthday Rendition from our Innkeepers. Going the extra mile to make the weekend special, we plan to return again as Mary and Scott Gile run an outstanding B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful ending to a losing weekend... at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2015

We went to Maine to watch our daughter's team in a FH semi-final championship. Unfortunately they lost, but our stay at the Brewster House made it a wonderful ending to the weekend. The rooms were gorgeous and comfortable and our inn keepers, Scott and Mary, made sure that everything was perfect. The three-course breakfast was incredible. Still drooling over the lemon eggs! Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Brewster House at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 30, 2015

Had a great weekend at Brewster House during Pumpkinfest in Freeport. Mary and Scott are great hosts and their breakfasts were terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


This cozy B&B is absolutely amazing! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at the Topside Inn last week, and I have to say that this is the best B&B/Inn that I've ever stayed at. I wish I could have stayed much longer. The views from everywhere on the property is just stunning. The owners Mark and Buzz and their friend Tim were the most gracious hosts and very inviting to their guests, The breakfasts were so delicious, I felt like I was eating in a gourmet restaurant. I strongly recommend that you stay at the Topside Inn...you will be in heaven on earth!

View more reviews for this inn


Topside Inn, Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2015

Great B & B in Bar Harbor, Maine. Spectacular Views, especially at Sunset. Breakfast is Creative, Changes Daily, is Beautifully presented, and Delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Food in the Pub; Breakfast limited in time and scope at The Thistle Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on October 12, 2015

We has a recent stay at the Thistle Inn right at the end of the season. Reservation was easy to make, and check in simple. Location is great. Dinner in the restaurant was great. Food is fantastic. Breakfast was a little more limited than expected. It is only available from 8-9am (most other inns and b&bs where we stayed in NE offered it from 7-10am or even 7-11am). No one told us this; we enquired in the bar. The day the pastry chef cooked, no actual pastries were offered as an option. There's one sweet and one savory option, and the food was good, but not quite as sumptuous as advertised.

View more reviews for this inn


Topside has Class ! at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2015

My wife and I and another couple spent 2 nights here in the top rooms of the main house and it was awesome. Mark and Buzz run a 1st class B&B, are extremely helpful and friendly, and they served special breakfasts in courses. The place was impeccably clean and appointed very well - it was our favorite B&B of our 9 night trip on the coast in 4 B&Bs. Topside is classy !

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast at Coveside Bed and Breakfast (Georgetown, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Coveside for our honeymoon, and we really enjoyed our stay! The breakfasts prepared by Carolyn each day were definitely a highlight of our stay, everything was delicious. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms and shared spaces are comfortable and cozy. We would definitely recommend Coveside to a friend!

View more reviews for this inn


Leaf Peeping in Coastal Maine at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

My wife and I spent last weekend in NH and ME touring the coast and watching the colors turn. I'd done a quick look online to find the best inns on the coast, and Topside was one of them- it certainly lived up to its reputation! While we were only there for one night, we were very impressed by the contemporary look to the rooms and common areas, as well as the gourmet-style breakfast we were served (lobster eggs benedict? Wow!) The grounds are beautiful as is Boothbay Harbor- everything you need to see and experience is well within walking distance from the Inn. But the service is what set Topside apart from other inns we've stayed with. From the time that I booked a room back in June to the minute we walked out the door, Buzz and his team were exceptionally helpful and generous, sharing tips on how to structure our travel schedule to see as much as we can, ensuring we were comfortable despite coming in late, and staying in touch just the right about in the weeks leading up to our visit. If you're looking for a great B&B, we highly recommend Topside and Boothbay Harbor.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, Relaxing and Perfect at Topside Inn (Boothbay Harbor, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2015

My husband and I have been wanting to travel to Maine for years. Staying at the Topside Inn absolutely made the experience exceptional, perfect and beautiful in every way. The rooms, the atmosphere, the food, and the interaction with our gracious, warm hosts Buzz and Mark was 1-of-a-kind. We wished we could have extended our stay and already have plans to return. Love, love, love this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}