Recent Reviews in Bonham, Texas

Fabulous Innkeeper at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on July 12, 2016

I think what makes this place a great place to stay is the owners/innkeepers hospitality. She's a gem! So friendly. Nicest place in Bonham, TX to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A breath of fresh air at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Incredible stay there one night away and bottom. It's so close to downtown that you can walk and visit antique stores or go downtown. The service was amazing, the food was great and the house was spectacular. It was a wonderful night away for me and my wife. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing relaxation at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2016

The room was comfortable and cool. Breakfast was amazing and the visitation with the other guest at the breakfast table was inspiring. What a wonderful time.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic! at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 21, 2016

My husband and his friend booked a skydive in nearby Whitewright, TX. I was looking for a place to stay that was close to Whitewright, since we live over 2 hours away. Granny Lou's looked so charming and romantic online, I just had to book it! All four of us stayed here (DH, me, and our two friends) and we had the BEST time! The Red River room was so Victorian looking and so comfortable - and the bathroom was huge! Jenniffer was so attentive and accommodating and friendly! I felt like I had made a new friend by the time we left. The wine, cheese, snacks, and homemade cookies were amazing. Although I was unable to eat breakfast due to a migraine (which I get frequently - no fault of Jenn's - lol), my companions said breakfast was delicious. I find myself looking for excuses to go back to this area and stay here again! Hopefully, we will be able to stay longer and explore the local antique shops downtown. I highly recommend Granny Lou's!

View more reviews for this inn


Guest at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

We love staying at Granny Lou's. Jen Self is a wonderful, gracious innkeeper who we've come to love. We feel like she's s part of our family and the cottage we stay in is perfect for us.

View more reviews for this inn


A truly wonderful experience at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 14, 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hosts were fantastic and we were greeted with fresh baked cookies. Our third floor suite was beautiful and we really enjoyed the private balcony and the tub. When they say it's big enough for two, they're not kidding. Karen even went out of her way to accommodate a request I had. I would highly recommend giving it a try.

View more reviews for this inn


OMG! Amazing! at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2016

This was a 1st time in a bed and breakfast for both of us. Upon entering the house, Karen greeted us and showed us to our room, the Carleton Suite which is the entire 3rd floor. Our room was cozy, and had a nice sitting area and private balcony. The Jacuzzi tub was amazing! Since it was big enough for 2, we spent most of our time in the tub relaxing together. The window over the tub made it nice to lie back and look at the sky and have natural lighting during the day. And there were battery operated candles and a dimmer switch for night time to make the scene more romantic. Our dinner was AMAZING!!! Everything was homemade and absolutely wonderful! I enjoyed Steve's violin/fiddle playing throughout dinner.The candle lit dinner in a dining room with a fire place was just the perfect Valentine's Day dinner date and we both enjoyed it, and each other's company so much. I loved the sheets, blankets, and feather pillows on the bed, but the bed itself was a little uncomfortable for me. It was nice to have extra room since we are used to sleeping on a queen size bed. Breakfast was top notch! Once again, all made from scratch and fresh squeezed orange! I honestly would live here just for Karen's cooking! After breakfast we had massages with Karen. She did a wonderful job and we both felt very relaxed afterwards. Upon departure, Karen bagged up some cookies for us to take home - even though they only made it about 5 minutes into our drive! I would love to come back and visit again in the spring time when the garden is in bloom and come back to enjoy some amazing food! Thank you Karen and Steve for a wonderful and peaceful relaxing weekend! Claire DeMar & Tyrel Murray, Cedar Hill, TX.

View more reviews for this inn


review at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2016

great time. great service

View more reviews for this inn


Great House to Visit at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2016

Great House to get away from your daily routine. My wife and I spent Dec. 31, 2015 and Jan. 1, 2015. We enjoyed our stay. Staying at the Carleton House was like going back in time. The room was great. The breakfast was very good. Great conversation with the other guest during breakfast. We enjoyed looking at all the antiques and pictures in the house. We had dinner on the 31st at the house. The dinner was great. Karen and Steve were great host. We plan on going back for another stay.

View more reviews for this inn


You didn't really stay in Bonham unless you stayed here at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2016

There's no better place to stay in probably all of Fannin County. Jen "Granny Lou" Self is a fantastic and friendly host who does her utmost to ensure that your stay in comfortable and relaxing. She knows a great deal about the history of this unique Victorian home and the town, too, plus what's good to know about the here and now, including places to check out and restaurants to eat at while in town. If you stay somewhere else, you are missing out on experiencing Bonham.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed it even MORE the second time around :) at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2015

The wife and I took her parents for a one night stay and they loved it. It was a sure bet since we have stayed there before and knew they would enjoy it as much as we do :) Karen and Steve are the best and most gracious hosts. Karen and Steve have recreated this home with the utmost attention to detail. We will see you soon Karen and Steve ;)

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed And Breakfast Inn at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2015

As always, we had a wonderful stay at Granny Lou's! Jen is the BEST innkeeper!

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

We've stayed here more than once. It's always nice, clean and friendly. Will stay here each time we are in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


enjoyable stay at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2015

Spent one night on a business trip and would do it again.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis on the north Texas prairie at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on September 05, 2015

This was our 3rd stay at Granny Lou's. It just gets better every time. The rooms are all unique and very comfortable, breakfast was filling and delicious and our host Jennifer Self was most gracious. Even though we weren't the only guest, it certainly felt like it. Coming in after our fist day out, cookies and wine greeted us. On night 2, Jennifer and 2 other guests were on the patio sipping wine and chatting. We joined in for a while. Jennifer is adding another guest cottage out back that looks to be most comfortable and accommodating. All in all, it was a great stay. I highly recommend Granny Lou's to anyone looking for a home like experience in Bohnham.

View more reviews for this inn


Quilt Hop Weekend at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2015

What better way to enjoy the Bonham Quilt Hop than to stay at a beautiful bed and breakfast to finish our trip? It was everything a large Victorian house should be and more, a wonderful combination of modern conveniences like central air conditioning and good windows with the old style and decorations of a house out of the past.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Stay! at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2015

We spent a night here Fourth of July weekend. Karen and Steve were the perfect hosts, and their house was the most authentically redone B&B we have ever stayed in! It really felt like we had entered a different century. Breakfast was perfect, and Karen even packed us delicious banana muffins for the road. It is definitely worth a trip to Bonham just to get to stay at this wonderful place!

View more reviews for this inn


loved Granny Lou's! at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2015

Jennifer was extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was awesome! Biscuits and gravy, egg and cheese cups, sausage, and refreshing yogurt with fresh blueberries equals yum!

View more reviews for this inn


Mothers Day visit. at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2015

My sister and I stayed at Granny Lou's for a few days while we visited our mother at her resting place in Dodd City Cemetary. We loved the accommodations. The innkeeper, Jennifer is a gracious host. She waited on us with homemade cookies, ice tea, coffee. In the afternoon she offered wine, cheese, fruit to all the guests staying in her home. It was like one big family. And she served a very delicious breakfast. We could have been more comfortable than being at home. When we left I felt as though I was leaving my sister. Thank you Jenn for helping my sister and me to get through our first Mothers Day without our sweet MaMa.

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasant suprise at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 13, 2015

When we pulled into Bonham and saw some of the community we were not expecting a lot but I have to say Karen and Steve are what make this trip. Be prepared for a trip back in time and wonderful tour of Carleton Heritage and rare finds. The owners are talented and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was superb and the ride around in the Model A was so fun! Definitely are great getaway!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Granny Lou's is a delight! at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2015

I could not have been happier with my stay at Granny Lou's. The house and furnishings are charming and my breakfasts were delicious. Granny Lou's is a delight and I will certainly be back! Sarah

View more reviews for this inn


A great surprise. at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on February 23, 2015

My wife and I had to find last minute accommodation in Bonham last week and we found Granny Lou's. What a great surprise. A warm welcome, wonderful staff and a too short stay! (Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the Innkeeper hospitality. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


This Place is Charming! at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 23, 2014

We were greeted at the door by the innkeeper. The beautiful Victorion was cozy and very inviting. The bed was wonderful. The food was delicious. We will be going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2014

Oh my gosh! I stayed 3 nights and did not want to leave there. I would move in if I could! I have stayed in 100's of hotels and bed and breakfast and this is by far my favorite place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


OMG!!! This place has it all! at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

The Carleton House has everything you could possibly want...and more. Karen and Steve are the most gracious of hosts, and yes, Karen is a fabulous cook. We had a blast, and enjoyed some much needed laughs and fantastic music. Most of all, we were welcomed like family and treated like royalty. If you are an avid B&Ber, The Carleton House should be on your must-visit list. Absolutely awesome. -- Critter and The Kidd

View more reviews for this inn


Charming small town atmosphere at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

3.0 reviewed on October 13, 2014

Jenniffer is a beautiful busy lady. I chose the cottage because I knew our time of arrival was going to be very late at night and I didn't want to disturb other guests. Jenniffer was very accommodating and gracious considering we arrived at 1 a.m.. Later I found out she was also planning a wedding for the weekend, what energy she must have! The bathroom shower was too small for my hubby (he his a big man). There is a small refrigerator in the room which was great but it had not been cleaned out from the last visitor. Jenniffer took care of that immediately. Although I did not rate it outstanding I had a pleasant experience & would stay there again but in a larger room!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to relax at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

I stayed at Granny Lou's in late Aug. The inn keeper Jenn is warm and inviting. I wanted to treat my self to Granny Lou's instead of staying in a hotel. Boy am I glad that I did. I was welcomed with hugs and felt like I belonged there. The inn is beautiful, clean and really amazing. Great breakfast, and accommodating to everyone's needs. I am going to stay there again and again, it was a great experience. Cindy from Colorado

View more reviews for this inn


The Very Best Birthday Present! at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2014

I want to say so much about our stay! For my birthday, my husband & I decided to relax at a Bed & Breakfast without a long drive in the DFW area. We chose The Carleton House and it was the perfect choice. The house is a gem - the architectural details, the furnishings from the current owners families and several from the Carleton family all make for wonderful touring. The biggest treasures though are the owners/innkeepers Karen & Steve Halbrook. They sincerely love their house and what they do. Their attention to every detail made our stay extremely special from the tour & history of the house, Karen's superb gourmet cooking and Steve's music serenade. We enjoyed quiet time on the porch swing, looking through the house's history binder and I indulged in a wonderful soak in the long, deep claw-footed tub in Bernice's Room. My birthday dinner there was wonderful, breakfast the next morning equally great - the homemade apple turnover was amazing! - and the 'cookies-to-go' just topped off a truly beautiful time. I've already told friends about this gem. We hope to visit during the Christmas Tour and see the magic Karen & Steve create. Mike & I will certainly be back! June & Mike, Plano, Texas

View more reviews for this inn


Granny Lou's B & B at Granny Lou's B&B (Bonham, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2014

We had a great stay at Granny Lou's. We felt like we made some new friends in the innkeeper and chef there. The breakfast was way more than we expected...the works with bacon & sausage! We felt like they accommodated our wishes very well. The only downside, and this was minimal, there is some slight road noise in the front room as it's on a main street in Bonham. Not enough to really disturb, but if you like to sleep in, ask for a room on the back side of the house. And another great thing...checkout is 12:00 noon and we asked for breakfast at 11:00 am...no problem! So no need to scramble awake and get down to breakfast. They will ask you when you want it! Loved that! Plus the grounds, patio area and old barn are beautiful. We will definitely stay there again and are considering it for a family member's wedding venue. It's really set up for wedding parties as it has a 3 bedroom cottage and a one bedroom cottage also on the grounds.

View more reviews for this inn


Great time at The Carleton House (Bonham, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2014

The hospitality shown to us at The Carleton House was amazing. We had such a great time at this B&B. Loved sitting and talking to Kay & Steve. She is a great cook for sure. The breakfasts were out of this world. Never had such a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Carleton House (4.89)
  2. Granny Lou's B&B (4.73)
Top
}