Recent Reviews in Bloomington, Illinois

Great historical mansion stay. at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Wonderful staff, had great stay here. Would love to come back. No real dining here, it's a bed and breakfast, tho the breakfast was great!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Weekend at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 05, 2016

My only complaint is, I would have liked more "seating" in the bedroom - only one small chair for reading.

View more reviews for this inn


Return Guests at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on June 29, 2016

I took my wife here for the last night of our honeymoon. We stopped here the week we were engaged, a year ago. Not too busy. Very romantic place and not far from home.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic! at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

Wonderful, laidback inn. Myrna and Joe are warm, welcoming hosts. We could have sat on the porch all day. Thanks guys!

View more reviews for this inn


It's whats inside that counts. at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on May 27, 2016

I can't remember word for word what I was telling my boyfriend as we pulled up to the mansion, but it was something along the lines of, "i'm so sorry babe, is this the place? where are we? it doesn't look like the pictures. is it open? we can't stay if it's haunted." The outside yard needed some major TLC and the exterior of the mansion as well. the neighborhood itself looked rundown. But, with that being said, my mind changed when we walked through the door. I absolutely loved the inside. It had character and charm, creeky stairs, beautiful rugs and wood, and plenty of space. Our room was beautiful, too. Everything was very clean and they gave us chocolate truffles! we were lucky enough to have the mansion to ourselves so there were no issues with noise or other guests. We went out for dinner about 15 minutes out and had the best steak and service of our lives at Baxters. We only got to stay the evening and had to dash out very early in the am so we missed breakfast, but the hostess was kind enough to send us off with some parfaits to go. we would definitely go back if we were driving through the area again.. but I'd make it a point to go when there was some better weather and foliage to help create a more colorful setting.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

Wonderful B&B, the owners were very nice & friendly

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden treasure at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on May 10, 2016

We stayed in the Julia Vrooman suite for our 33rd anniversary celebration. This place is a hidden gem located in central Illinois. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area for graduations or business. The home is beautiful, a reminder of times past. The whole experience was wonderful and we can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2016

What a great room in such a charming town. Loved it!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Vroom Mansion was wonderful. Looking for an excuse to go back! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved Vrooman mansion! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on April 03, 2016

We so enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and tasteful. The mansion is so fun to look around and browse through the many historical books that fill you in on the history.The hosts were outstanding... very friendly and informative. The food was beyond anything we have had before in a bed and breakfast. That Lorie knows how to cook! We will definitely come again. Thank you for wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay and amazing food! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on March 21, 2016

Vrooman Mansion was a fascinating and superb stay. The meal was a second to none experience.

View more reviews for this inn


outstanding at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2016

My only suggestion is that the bedrooms need some real opaque drapes. THe lace curtains leave one feeling a bit exposed at night. Also the electrical outlets are few and far between (as is appropriate for an old house, but if you are planning on charging a lot of devices in your room this could be a problem--we did not find it an issue.)

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

Such a great place to stay. They were so inviting and the food is amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL B & B at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2016

We came into town for a concert and to visit our college hometown (Normal). We absolutely LOVED Vrooman and would definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Seeing the old in today's world at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2016

Very well kept place. Really neat seeing how things were way back. The details they used many years ago are amazing. The staff, well not enough could be said. So polite. Extremely helpful. Just down right good people.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding weekend at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on January 13, 2016

Vrooman Mansion is a hidden gem in Central Illinois. The rooms are wonderfully historic, and the staff is exceptional. Kudos to Pam and Dana for maintaining such a wonderful place to stay.The Breakfast is fabulous,and the music (ala Brian) was a classy and appreciated touch. I strongly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Inn and great owners! at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2015

My husband and I adore your home and how well you have kept it. Breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed our conversation with you regarding your knowledge of the home and town. We hope to visit again! We highly recommend your inn to everyone passing through Illinois!

View more reviews for this inn


Our great escape escapade at Vrooman at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 29, 2015

Wonderful B and B to spend a weekend or a night. Gracious inn keepers and friendly owners greeted us personally. Tastefully decorated rooms for any season, delicious home made breakfast. Loved wandering the mansion and looking at the decor. great value for money, highly recommend it

View more reviews for this inn


First timer at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on November 24, 2015

Breakfast was wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Vrooman at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on November 15, 2015

Our stay was great. Brian greeted us and gave us a tour of the whole place. He gave us ideas of where to stop for dinner on our way to a concert. He was very pleasant and welcoming. All of the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent!

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight Stay at Market Street Inn at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2015

The building is beautiful and tastefully decorated. Rooms were nice and I enjoyed the private bath in the room. Breakfast was good. I will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


I WAS WOW'D at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on November 07, 2015

This place is beautiful. I had lived in Bloomington and i have probably passed this place 1000 times, but had no idea of what a gem this place was. I felt like i was taking a trip back into time. Customer service was awesome and th e morning breakfast was delicious. However while i am all about keeping the nostalgia of the rooms and building intact, i do think somethings about it could stand some modernization. I was not a fan of shared bathrooms and i do feel that the rooms could use a tv at the very least. Also be aware that the house is very squeaky,even the smallest steps sound Jurassic. Even with those MINOR concerns (minus the shared bathrooms) this is a beautiful bnb. One of the most aesthetically pleasing bnbs I've ever stayed at.

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect stay at Vrooman Mansion! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2015

A stay at the Vrooman Mansion takes your back in time! The mansion has been restored in meticulous detail and the wonderful staff pampers and spoils the guests. Breakfasts are a gourmet treat, and I was able to invite a friend to join me. Vrooman sets the bar very high for a B&B experience and I look forward to staying With you again sometime!

View more reviews for this inn


Will be returning! at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2015

We stayed in the Lilac room and it was very nice. The whirlpool tub is large enough for two. The electric fireplace was nice. If you want a romantic getaway, then I would definitely go there. I loved social hour and breakfast was absolutely delicious. We will be trying to stay in another room soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent accomodations and food at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on October 26, 2015

I had a wonderful time at Market Street Inn. Myrna and Joe are wonderful hosts. I w recommend this place to anyone visiting the Taylorville area.

View more reviews for this inn


great stay at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2015

The third times the charm as they say! Again a lovely experience as ISU family weekend arrived. Always something new to notice in the rooms and breakfast was amazing as usual. Everyone should try it at least once

View more reviews for this inn


An antique lovers dream at Market Street Inn Bed and Breakfast (Taylorville, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2015

This little town is full of beautiful old homes. It was a treat to stay in one. The woodwork, furnishings and hosts are warm and inviting.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful retreat! at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2015

Just returned from my lovely tonight stay at the Vrooman mansion. Came into central Illinois with my high school senior so that we could visit to Illinois Weslyan University. I didn't realize that my daughter would end up staying at Illinois Weslyan the entire weekend and so I was alone at the Vrooman mansion. It ended up being a step back in time, as a history lover and an avid reader,I treasured every minute of it. The mansion is very clean and the rooms well appointed, great bath products, beautiful robes, and the breakfasts were absolutely incredible. I highly recommend this bed-and-breakfast to anyone looking for something special.

View more reviews for this inn


Title at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on September 10, 2015

Washroom was shared and had antiquated leaking flush box toilet that required water to be shut off at the valve or the toilet would run all night, to use the facility you had to turn on valve wait for flush box to fill flush and when complete shut off the valve. Quite cumbersome and annoying.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming at Vrooman Mansion (Bloomington, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2015

We had a very warm welcome and delightful stay in this gorgeous and charming mansion. Loved it. Thank you! Guy, Rose, Daisy and Tallulah Nicholls

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}