Recent Reviews in Berkshire, Massachusetts

Very nice stay - we enjoyed ourselves immensely at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2016

Debbie and Tom are new to running a B&B (they just took over the Birchwood two months ago) but all indications from our visit are that they will do very well. The accommodations and service were excellent and the breakfasts upheld the well-deserved Birchwood reputation. Thanks so much! Ron and Gail

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2016

We are repeat visitors to the Birchwood Inn over the past 20 years. The new innkeepers are very nice and gracious hosts. We will be back again!

View more reviews for this inn


A Goldmine for Travelers with Pets! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on August 31, 2016

The Birchwood Inn dating from 1766 is charming and offers very attractive rooms and a warm inviting breakfast room with sweet offerings and non-alcoholic beverages provided well into the evening hours. The grounds are beautifully kept and the inn is walking distance to the town. YOUR PETS ARE TREATED ALMOST AS WELL AS YOU WILL BE. I consider this property to be a real find and therefore will be returning for the fall foliage!

View more reviews for this inn


late August at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on August 27, 2016

transition in ownership seems to have been done well--new owners are accommodating--have maintained the Inn well--respect returning guests--will be returning

View more reviews for this inn


Long-term Guests at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.0 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Four weekday nights built around two Tanglewood concerts, two museum visits and a house tour

View more reviews for this inn


Go here for delicious breakfasts! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on August 20, 2016

The highlight of my stay at the Inn was the breakfasts! Yum! Fruit course (e.g. a blueberry crumble) followed by a main course (such as a piece of quiche, nicely presented). Breakfasts include juice, coffee or tea, a choice of several breads.

View more reviews for this inn


Mixed Bag at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.4 reviewed on August 19, 2016

Room was a disappointment for the price. Has a lovely dining room and sitting room and the breakfast was good but not as good as other B&B's we have been.

View more reviews for this inn


And a fabulous time was had by all... at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Inn. The proprietors were lovely people, the breakfast was scrumptious and the location was perfect. Loved the little touch of having tea in the afternoon. Will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


music lover at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on August 04, 2016

wonderful hosts; wonderful accommodations

View more reviews for this inn


Babymoon at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2016

We had a great time...the atmosphere, the food, the room.. it was amazing!! We will be coming back soon !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, Warm, and Delicious. at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on March 20, 2016

We had the wonderful Birchwood Inn to ourselves for the first week of March when most local inns close. Becca was an attentive host, ensuring tea or coffee was ready whenever we wanted, baking something tasty every afternoon. Her breakfasts were delicious. I could live in the library. We'll be back. Note: the review page wouldn't allow me to select Outstanding or I would have.

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have been nicer at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2016

Ellen, the Innkeep at Birchwood and her staff are lovely people and very helpful. The big public room is everything one could want in a welcoming cozy place to retire to with a book in hand - or simply wander and see what you pick up.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Stay at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Becca was great. Great food. Great library. Great everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B that keeps us coming back year after year at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2016

We have been coming annually to the Birchwood Inn for 14 years. Ellen, a warm and wonderful cook and host, has become a friend. The location and cozy atmosphere of this B&B simply can't be beat. Ellen's breakfast is outstanding. Don't miss this gem in Lenox.

View more reviews for this inn


the best breakfast anywhere at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2016

We always love the Birchwood Inn. Ellen is a gracious hostess and her breakfasts are elaborate works of art and yumminess. Each breakfast includes two freshly made bread and muffins, a marvelous fruit-based appetizer and a delicious main course. The fire places in the rooms and the magnificent library make you never want to leave the inn. It's our favorite place all through the year.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorites place at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on December 24, 2015

We've been coming to the Birchwood Inn since 2002. We will continue to go. It offers the best breakfast imaginable: every day there are two fresh breads, a marvelous fruit-creation appetizer, and a spectacular entree. The food is always creative, beautiful and incredibly delicious. The inn comes with huge library with a large inviting fireplace. There is enormous variety in the rooms, but if you go upscale you will find spaciousness, another wood burning fireplace, and luxurious bath. If you go with the more economic rooms, you can idle inn the library and at tea-time enjoy home-made cookies. Lenox is the most beautiful town in the Berkshires. Go and pamper yourselves! We could not. think of a better place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

View more reviews for this inn


Special Anniversary at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on December 22, 2015

We spent the weekend at the Birchwood Inn for our anniversary. This was our first stay and we would definitely return. The inn was wonderful, the breakfast was one of the best we've had after years of visiting inns. The staff at the inn could not have been nicer and more helpful and the area offered a lot. It was a quick getaway and very special.

View more reviews for this inn


Fifth visit; perfect at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2015

Stopped on our way to a family reunion in VT. Our fifth visit, and it's just as wonderful each time! Ellen does a beautiful job with the inn, and her breakfasts are fabulous. Quinn and Charlie are no help at all, but ......they are dogs so that's okay! Can't wait to get back. And an added bonus is the great restaurants in Lenox and Nejaime's for wine, cheese and gourmet goodies.

View more reviews for this inn


Our second visit... at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2015

... was just as wonderful as our first. Wonderful old home with excellent breakfasts and evening snacks. Ellen is a wonderful host and chef. Excellent breads and pastries with all the trimmings. Just wished we lived closer.

View more reviews for this inn


Ellen never lets us down at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

This was our 8th visit to the Birchwood Inn and will not be our last. Ellen and her staff never fail to make us feel at home. we love you Ellen

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home "Delightful " at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on October 20, 2015

Ellen and her staff at The Birhwood Inn made our stay wonderful. The place is homey and charming. The homemade breakfast and goodies are superb! Our dog enjoyed her stay as well. We will definitely be staying again for our annual trip to see the foliage in The Berkshires.

View more reviews for this inn


Birchwood Inn Review Hallsteds at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on October 10, 2015

Wonderful food and great huge library room with tons of books.. Easy walk into town and its many fine restaurants located in a two block area. area.

View more reviews for this inn


Tanglewood Weekend at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on September 15, 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Birchwood Inn. The food was amazing and the people were so friendly. Thank you for a wonderful weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


A couple of nights in Lenox at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on August 12, 2015

We booked late and so received the only available room - in the garret (mansion - 3rd floor). It contained a comfortable bed and an ample bathroom but was not well lit. The shower was not very effective and the air conditioner of an old style and noisy. The public rooms were interesting, particularly the library of this 18th C house. Overall I would recommend a stay in this house but not in 'The Goodwin' room.

View more reviews for this inn


Memorial Day 2015 at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2015

as usual, The Birchwood made the weekend the best--beginning with the gourmet breakfasts and moving onto the at-home feeling when sitting on the huge front porch, reading. Ellen has her pulse on all local activities and her recommendations for our anniversary dinner were spot-on. We have never had a disappointing time at the Birchwood

View more reviews for this inn


Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on May 23, 2015

Beautiful inn and settings. Gracious, friendly innkeeper. Good breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to return! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on February 04, 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful relaxing weekend here. The innkeeper and assistant were wonderful and made us feel right at home. The food was absolutely amazing! We plan to. Make our weekend an annual event!

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas at the Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on January 12, 2015

The Birchwood Inn in Lenox, MA, is first rate: welcoming, peaceful, comfortable and helpful. Add to that sumptuous breakfasts and afternoon teas, made right at the Inn, and you have the ingredients for a very relaxing getaway. At Christmas the Inn is aglow with lights, tasteful decorations and a crackling fire in the hearth. Probably our most relaxing Christmas ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly Atmosphere at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on December 28, 2014

What a great way to spend our 47th anniversary. Breakfast each day was YUMMY. Our hostess went out of her way to accommodate my husband's food allergy.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of the Berkshires at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on December 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned with some family members to the Birchwood Inn for a 3 day pre-holiday get away. We typically time our visit for the summer months, but winter in the Berkshires is beautiful. The Inn was warm, welcoming and decorated beautifully. There is plenty to do - this trip included a visit to the Monet / Kelly exhibit at the Clarke Museum and good meals (highlight was Chez Nous), but we left ourselves time to sit in front of a lovely wood fire in the large living room (our bedrooms also boasted fireplaces) and to linger over delicious, multicourse breakfasts (our favorite was the lemon cloud pancakes). Ellen does a great job of making her guests feel pampered from the comfortable, well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms to lovely common areas indoors and out to scrumptious breakfasts to great tips on things to do and restaurants. We've stayed at other nice locations in the Berkshires, but have been going back to the Birchwood Inn for many years now because it is the finest B&B in a truly wonderful location.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Birchwood Inn (4.59)
Top
}