Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Berkshire, Massachusetts

A magical experience at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on December 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the most magical weekend away at the Birchwood Inn. The warmth and care that the owner Ellen puts into all she does is evident from the moment you check in. Our room was spotless and the most beautiful open fireplace was a perfect compliment to the freezing weather. Breakfast was truly worth 'the best in New England' title and we will definitely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Enchanting! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on October 31, 2014

This is a beautiful inn, very well managed. Ellen, the Inkeepper, is adorable and did everything in her power to make us comfortable -- even served afternoon tea for us when we arrived! Breakfast was prepared with love and care and the hot dish was quite out of the ordinary and delicious! The freshly baked bread too! No dinner served, but a wide choice of restaurants not far away. We only stayed for one night as the third-floor bedroom was too much for us to handle. The bathroom in the room we had was private, but across the hall, not ensuite. And, it is never too much to remind anyone thinking of staying here that these historic houses will not have elevators and you will have to drag your suitcase upstairs! So pack light and enjoy your stay!

View more reviews for this inn


no complaints at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We weren't "blown away" by anything, but fhave no complaints either. We chose one of the cheaper rooms up on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable and clean, but we lacked space to put our luggage and toiletries. Ellen was sweet and accommodating, but the real treasure was her assistant Dave who brought liveliness, great local knowledge and good conversation to our morning meal!

View more reviews for this inn


A Charming Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on October 24, 2014

A wonderful inn with outstanding service and great food

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B ever! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2014

This was an excellent stay for me and my mom. Everthing was so carefully selected and planned. We loved sitting on the porch and in the garden. And the food... waking up to the smells of freshly baked bread and the delicious gourmet breakfast... Enjoyed every minute of our stay... Thank you Ellen!

View more reviews for this inn


A true Gem at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on September 30, 2014

Birchwood Inn is set in such a beautiful location. The owner is so pleasant and a wonderful cook. Her staff were gracious and humble. I loved my stay there and would definitely go back. It was peaceful, pleasant, serene, beautiful, restful, yummy, and all things you wish in a country B+B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to unwind at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2014

I would highly recommend the Birchwood Inn. It is a beautiful, well maintained inn in a delightful part of the country. The innkeeper is absolutely delightful. We were traveling with our golden and were so very pleased that we could stay in such a nice inn with our pet... for only an additional $25.00. The breakfast was amazing. We will definitely return if we are ever fortunate enough to find ourselves in this part of the country again. Linda from Chapel HIll, NC

View more reviews for this inn


a breakfast to remember at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the elegant and very comfortable Birchwood Inn! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Ellen is a gracious Innkeeper, and the baked sweets in the afternoon/evening were all too delicious. Breakfasts were culinary delights, and so uniquely prepared. We felt indulged and at home at the same time.

View more reviews for this inn


Birchwood Inn -- WONDERFUL in all ways ! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2013

The Birchwood Inn is wonderful in all ways. The rooms are very nice and very clean, there is a wonderful and large "common area", the front porch with its wicker furniture is real special, the breakfasts are fantastic, and the location is terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend at Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on July 27, 2013

Charming decor, wonderful staff, ideal location, superior breakfast. Elizabeth and Russell Schutt

View more reviews for this inn


Went for Tanglewood, will return for The Birchwood at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on April 07, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend at The Birchwood Inn last summer while attending the Pops at Tanglewood. It was such a delightful stay that we'll come back another time to enjoy the comfortable room, warm hospitality, scrumptious breakfasts and the long walks in the state park across the road (to help keep calories in check). Also near to lots of other neat things in Lenox and the Berkshires. Great stay, Ellen! Many thanks.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy New Years Eve Getaway at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on January 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere snowy and picturesque for New Year's Eve. We lucked out. The Birchwood Inn had a last minute cancellation, which we jumped on immediately. We were thrilled that they allowed us to bring our dog too. On arrival, the assistant innkeeper greeted us cheerfully and took us for a quick tour of the public spaces, which included a beautiful library with a huge, crackling fireplace, the adorable breakfast dining area, and the guest kitchen area where we were hit by fantastic aromas wafting in from the innkeeper's kitchen as she was preparing special treats for the afternoon tea hour. Our room was well decorated and very clean (especially given this is a pet-friendly hotel) and we were happy to see the private Vermont gas stove and thoughtful placement of a cute dog bed and water bowl right beside it. Because it was New Year's Eve, the afternoon tea was actually a wine and cheese hour instead and there were endless bottles of wine served with a generous cheese platter, delicious potato latkes and little spinach pies. Yummy! We chatted with the other guests (which included couples of all generations who were looking for a romantic getaway like ourselves) and even made a few new friends. Dinner and drinks where an easy walk or drive to in town. The next morning we had an amazing 3-course homemade breakfast in front of yet another fireplace. It was amazing! Sadly, we had to pack up and head home after that, but we are looking forward to making a tradition out of our stay at The Birchwood Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2012

Such a warm welcome from Ellen at this delightful, quiet and interesting inn. Each day, a different freshly made breakfast, and warm apple cider and cookies by the fireplace in the library each afternoon. Very personal and imaginative cooking by the small dedicated team.. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was very quiet, warm and comfortable; the inn manages to be both homely and elegant. Lenox is a delightful town, and the Inn is a great place to stay. Many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Stay at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on August 27, 2012

The inn was quaint, clean and restful. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would have been nice if they added a little extra for anniversary - bottle of wine, or flowers, etc.

View more reviews for this inn


A Welcoming Respite. at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on May 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a recent weekend at this inn. From the warm welcome, the comfortable accommodations, the delicious breakfasts, the friendly and knowledgeable innkeeper/assistant innkeeper, we left with the hope of a future return visit. Thank you for your hospitality Birchwood Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


A Delightful and Delicious Stay at the Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn in March. The Post which is in the Carriage House was steps away from the Main House was warm and inviting and had all the amenities of a spa. A welcome plate of sweets were in the sitting area awaiting our arrival. At Teatime we were treated to tea and warm homemade cookies. The Birchwood is a wonderful relaxing home away from home because of the Innkeeper Ellen Gutman Chenaux. She personally and attentively takes care of the fine details. Ellen prepared the most delicious breakfast consisting of pear compote, fresh blueberry muffins and french toast with strawberries. The Birchwood Inn truly creates a wonderful, relaxing and true New England stay. The Birchwood is worth the visit if just for the breakfasts and of course to meet Ellen and her dogs Parker and Quinn.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas in Lenox at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2012

When I dream of Christmas, I recall Dickens. The warm fuzzies start to flow, but that's inside of a story. If I want to feel it for real, the Berkshires come to mind. When I want the best of the Berkshires, Lenox comes to mind. And, when I want the best of Lenox, the Birchwood Inn stands out at the top of the list. Food, fun, and fireplaces abound. What better way to celebrate the Holidays. This was our first year. It will not be our last. Cheers.

View more reviews for this inn


The Ultimate in B&Bs at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 04, 2011

The Birchwood Inn is magic! the Inn is magnificent - an official landmark. decorated beautifully. The staff and quality service they provide their quests is excellent. The owner and innkeeper are warm, friendly and will take care of every detail to ensure your stay is nothing short of fantastic. The food is devine - 5 star caliber. The rooms are immaculate - many with fireplaces. They are conveniently located to Tanglewood, museums, shops, restaurants and parks. Birchwood Inn has it all - and gets it right. You will never want to leave, it's truly a slice of heaven. Thanks Ellen, David, Rebecca, Piper & Quinn

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Bed and Breakfast experience at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2011

Absolutely nothing derogatory to say about this place; the inn itself is old and has narrow staircases, some "creaking" at night - but all-in-all, the rooms were gorgeous, perfectly clean, the innkeepers were very helpful and insightful, it was so, so, quiet - even though lots of guests were there, one just couldn't hear them (the place was built in the 1700's). The rooms were all very large. The food was perfect, they accounted for any dietary issues. You could walk to fabulous restaurants and a hiking/mountain preserve right across the street. AND we saw a bear on our hike there, which was pretty exciting (it was little and ran from us). Also the inn is at the center of lots of things to do in this part of Massachusetts. Couldn't recommend it more!

View more reviews for this inn


A Porch Full of Memories at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 03, 2011

From the moment my husband and I walked into the Birchwood Inn everything from the aroma of cookies to the genuine smiles of the staff, and the wags of the resident dogs said,"Welcome". Morning began with a cup of coffee on a front porch reminiscent of childhood. Guest gathered there both in the morning and in the afternoon for high tea exchanging daily activities and places of interest. If you want a place of fine comfort, delicious food and ultimate relaxation this is the Inn for you. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View more reviews for this inn


Birchwood Inn at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on August 20, 2010

We had a wonderful two days at this inn. The location is perfect and what a terrific place to unwind. Hope to be back again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B anywhere at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2010

We have stayed at B&B's worldwide and many times at the Birchwood. You won't have a better breakfast anywhere. The breakfast changes daily and always includes home-baked bread with muffins, cake, or pastry, a fruit course, sometimes warm, and one of innkeeper Ellen's incredible inventive main dishes. During a recent weeknd visit we had an amazing fritata served with delicious turkey sausage and peach upside down French toast served with ham. We have stayed in most of the Inn's 11 rooms. Some are quite luxurious and large with a fireplace (some wood-burning), others smaller and cozy, but all beautifully decorated and immaculate. Ellen and her assistant innkeeper David are always friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. With so many things to do in the immediate area and the perfect B&B as home base, vacations don't get any better than this.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm Hospitable B and B in good location at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2010

Nice place to stay in historic home-pretty setting-close to Tanglewood and Stockbridge. Innkeeper is very sweet and helpful. Little dissapointed in breakfasts compared to prior b and b stays-room was simple for the price-nothing elegant- but baked goods-cookies and brownies were superb. Was a relaxing setting.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful getaway at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2010

Highly recommend this lovely inn. The innkeepers are like none other, the food outstanding and the rooms comfortable and charming.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Best at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2009

What a relief this Inn was, after the B&B we stayed in last year in Lenox. I can't believe we will find a better one, so we will stop looking. I know we won't find better food. The large library, Ellen's hospitality, large clean room, was as much as one should expect at any B & B. And finally, the most helpful David showed us the "secret" back road, that is adjacent to the inn, and brings one out directly to the entrance to Tanglewood, and avoids downtown traffic.

View more reviews for this inn


Just Perfect! at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2009

The Birchwood Inn has everything one could ask for: rooms that invite rest and relaxation- not just pretty but with great beds and the softest linens; exceptional breakfasts featuring freshly baked pastries and fruit-featured as well as more traditional entrees, and very good coffee; a most congenial staff and innkeeper as well as two happy dogs who make guests even happier. This is a special place.

View more reviews for this inn


25th Anniversary at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2009

My wife and I of 25 years spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Dana room which was quite spacious and comfortable. The Inn is walking distance to town and a short drive to Tanglewood. The Inn keepers/staff were helpful and made our stay pleasurable. We love dogs and enjoyed their company. The breakfast was wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay at the Birchwood Inn again.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Weekend in Lenox at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2009

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed-and-Breakfast in the US – all of our previous stays were in Europe. We now understand the enchantment many have with B&Bs in the US – and especially Ellen’s Birchwood Inn in Lenox, MA. The Birchwood Inn is a charming home with brightly and lively colored rooms – We stayed in the Goodwin Room. The inn is located just at the edge of Lenox – close enough for a short walk to anything in town. This includes the Shakespeare and Company campus – try the introductory show and workshop – it’s great fun! – we acted in Romeo and Juliet!!! We stayed in the early Spring; the weather was just warming, but the inn always had a warm and inviting spirit – a spirit that starts with Ellen’s charm and attentiveness to every need and detail. The spirit continues with Ellen’s assistant, David, and her wonderful dogs, Quinn and Piper; don’t be surprised if Quinn comes over and gently rests her head on your lap while you are relaxing. All of Ellen’s meals were wonderful; but her cinnamon buns for breakfast were “fantastic”!!! My wife’s only regret is that Ellen does not include her recipe for them in her cook book. All I can say is that my wife and I look forward to our next visit with Ellen.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Best B&B's at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2009

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn and were absolutely delighted to be there. The Innkeeper/Owner and the Asst. Innkeeper could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The "public rooms" at the Inn were warm, inviting and spacious. Breakfast was first-class. A definite must-visit if in the Berkshires. Will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Romantic Winter Getaway at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2009

We stayed over Valentine's weekend and everything was perfect. Ellen, the innkeeper, and her staff go out of their way to make every detail perfect. The wood burning fireplace in our room proided the most romantic and lovely touch. Going to sleep by a real fire in a wonderful king size bed was just the best. Breakfasts were ample and scrumtious. And the best part, for those who know B&B's, is that we could sit alone at a table for two in front of the fire place in the breakfast room. It was great and we will go back. I have absolutely not a single negative.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Birchwood Inn (4.70)
Top
}