Get a free $60 gift card with a $300 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Bedford, Virginia

Definitely the best place to stay ... You won't find this in a hotel at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

Thank you Ellen and John for letting us stay in your lovely bed and Breakfast. My husband and I are still talking about what a wonderful place it is and what a great time we had. We highly recommend it and hope to return in the fall next year. The view of the mountains from the back porch, especially early in the morning and late in the evening is beautiful and so relaxing. The rooms are all so pretty and very clean. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Room and it had everything we needed, including our own private bathroom. Ellen prepares delicious breakfasts and my husband said he might need a nap after such a huge, delicious meal. She is literally a wealth of information about the historical area. John shared many entertaining adventures about his experiences with his bees, the goats and his greenhouse. We felt right at home and felt like we had known them for years. We highly recommend Vanquility Acres to anyone who is going to be in this area and looking for an exceptional but very affordable place to stay. The Sewells, Lafayette, Louisiana.

View more reviews for this inn


"Ellen has thought of everything!" at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

Why stay in a “never-knowing-what-you’re-going-to-get” hotel when you can experience the wonderful accommodations of Ellen & John’s Vanquility Acres Inn? As part of a recent vacation, we wanted to tour Bedford’s D-Day Memorial. For an overnight stay, we liked what we saw on the Vanquility Acres Inn website. We chose the extremely comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated Blue Ridge Room. Ellen has thought of everything!! Her personal attention to detail matches how she “would want to be treated” herself. The bedroom and private bathroom are immaculately clean, with lots of conveniences. Before it got dark, we took a stroll around the quiet and peaceful neighborhood, enjoying the beautiful view of the mountains. For breakfast the next morning, we devoured Ellen's scrumptious homemade breakfast. On the dining room table, we discovered a bottle of John’s outstanding fruit-flavored honey, which came from his own bees in the backyard. During our meal, we enjoyed fun and interesting conversations with other guests and Ellen. If you have any special dietary needs, you only need to let Ellen know in advance. After enjoying more delightful conversation with Ellen, we packed up to leave for our day of touring. We both left the Inn feeling like we’d found a brother and sister, and would love to have stayed longer. Later that afternoon, we drove to Bedford’s Liberty Station restaurant for a tasty lunch. The restored historic railroad-station-turned-restaurant was highly recommended by Ellen and other locals. We already have recommended Vanquility Acres Inn to co-workers, family, friends, and neighbors. After such a positive experience, we both agree that when in the Bedford area, we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. -Debbie & Ronnie (Ashland, Va.)

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2013

A great place to really relax and foray out occasionally to the lovely small town of Bedford, to the Blue Ridge Mts. just a few miles away, and to some significant historical sites. Great food, beautiful view from our room. We loved the Nubian goats. Ellen was an excellent host to us.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a relaxing experience with genuine southern hospitality! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2013

We loved it! Our 3rd trip there and certainly won't be our last. Ellen and John provide such a relaxing atmosphere with fantastic views. The beds are comfy, the breakfast is better! Our daughter loves playing with the goats and chickens. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Vanquility Acres Inn B&B at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2012

A welcoming and very comfortable B&B in a beautiful part of Virginia. A lovely view and excelent breakfasts.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Fall Getaway! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2012

We have been here three times so far and each time is special in a different way.It is awesome here in Spring also.Ellen and Tom have a gift of hospitality that is manifested by warm greetings,funny and entertaining real life stories,mouth-watering big breakfasts and kindness to guests and others they know.The location is perfect-hidden away it seems in the mountains yet close to many attractons and downtown Bedford.We always want to stay months!The rooms are so clean and beautiful and,well,you will have to come and see the rest for yourself!! Mark and Terry from Portsmouth,Va.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2012

We could not have chosen a nicer place to stay while visiting the D Day memorial in Bedford Va. The garden suite was well appointed, very clean and offered a wonderful view. John and Ellen shared our interests in bee keeping, canning and soap making. ( Be sure to get some of Ellen's homemade goat milk soap and John's honey.) A hardy, healthy breakfast was served with a fine sampling of Ellen's jams, jellies, preserves and honey. They would prepare whatever you wanted. We really had a wonderful two day stay. Absolutely recommend these guys. John and Ann from Waterloo, SC

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we needed! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2012

...a home away from home where we could unwind before and after a large family event close by. The rooms are lovely. The food and service excellent. The views outstanding. There are so many things to do in Bedford County, besides visiting family, we were amazed. Thanks to our hosts for making us feel so comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Second Wonderful Stay! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2012

Our recent two night stay in June 2012 at this lovey B & B was as enjoyable and relaxing as our previous visit in August 2011. As during our first stay, owner & Innkeeper Ellen Everett's breakfasts were delicious with her very special seasonal selections. We highly recommend Vanquility Inn B & B to anyone visiting the Bedford VA area. Rod & Karen

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2012

Me and a friend visited Vanquiality Acres Inn for a second time and I must say, again we were impressed. The view, the cleanliness, the rooms, hospitality and breakfast was wonderful. Ellen and John have created with love a beautiful, peaceful place. You definitely get what you came for and more! From goats to bees and chickens, you can purchase Honey, gifts, etc... I highly recommend stay here, you come as a guest and leave as a friend. A tip worth giving, especially when you enjoy a good night's rest! Thank you, Satisfied guests :)

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2012

We cannot say enough about our stay at this wonderful B&B. We went there for an anniversary weekend and were not disappointed. We stayed in a spacious but cozy room with a private bath, fireplace and our own private entrance. The views were beautiful, the food absolutely delicious and the hosts were very hospitable and charming. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

View more reviews for this inn


A great Birthday get away...... at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.8 reviewed on March 15, 2012

Have spent my last 9 birthday's with my hubby at Vanquility Acres Inn...John and Ellen have become great friends and we feel like part of their family... The View from the house is amazing and the vanquility suite is like being right at home !!!

View more reviews for this inn


So comfortable! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.2 reviewed on February 17, 2012

Vanquility was very comfortable and the breakfast was hearty and delicious. Ellen and John are gracious guests ready anytime to chat. The view is beautiful and it is only a very short drive from Bedford and Peaks of Otter. We will certainly stay with them again!

View more reviews for this inn


homey, comfortable and delightful at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.6 reviewed on January 03, 2012

Thank you for making our stay with you so enjoyable! We will definitely come back because "we arrived as strangers, but felt like friends when we left". We will gladly recommend it to friends and family. Hope to see you again soon! jncd, Charlotte, NC

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxations and more! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2011

Ellen and John were wonderful hosts and our breakfast was awesome! Homemade jellies and apple butter! YUMMY! Sheets and pillows were soft and comfy like being at home! The view was outstanding and relaxing. We can't wait to go back again!!

View more reviews for this inn


A great find ... Thank you Internet at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2011

We were so lucky to happen upon Ellen, John & the goats. Wonderful setting & outstanding breakfasts. Best of the best. We would be sure to return next time we are in the area... J & B from NJ

View more reviews for this inn


You won't be disappointed at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2011

We highly recommend Vanquility Acres. The Everetts were friendly and hospitable innkeepers. Although we arrived late in the evening, Ellen greeted us warmly and gave us a full tour. We had the entire downstairs suite, which included a kitchenette, bathroom, hot tub, access to an outdoor patio, and multiple beds (perfect for a family or group). The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. Ellen had stocked the kitchen with little extras such as hot chocolate, coffee, tea, popcorn, mints, etc. Breakfast was a delicious spread of apple cinnamon french toast, sausage, eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, juice. Outside, Vanquility Acres has a beautiful view of a backyard pond, as well as the stunning Peaks of Otter in the distance. And if you get up early enough, you can see the flock of goats running across the bridge to pasture. Highly recommend Vanquility Acres. You won't be disappointed

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Vanquility Inn Bed and Breakfast" at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.2 reviewed on September 29, 2011

Ellen and John are wonderful hosts and made us feel like family members and right at home. Great hospitality. The view from the back is amazing -- with Otters Peaks feeling like they are right in front of you. Enjoyed watching John lead the goats over the bridge. Really enjoyed fishing in the pond! Many interesting things to see and do in the area. This was a beautiful place to relax and enjoy

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights. Our room was superb with a gorgeous view of the pond and very comfortable. Ellen and John are very gracious hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would recommend Vanquility Acres Inn to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Experience at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.0 reviewed on September 26, 2011

Vanquility Acres was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. It was a geat experience. From the moment we arrived, Ellen and John made us feel completely at home. Our room was beautifully decorated and met all our needs. The breakfasts were wonderful. We had something completely different and delicious each of the 3 mornings we were there. Ellen's cinnamon raisin bread was great, and we had fresh fruit and juices every morning. The egg dishes were new to us, and each was a great new experience. Their view out the back of their home was the Peaks of Otter and a pond on their property from which another guest caught fish. Ellen and John provided directions to places of interest and recommendations and menus for places to have lunch and dinner.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet and Serene at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2011

This was our first visit to Vanquility Acres B&B. We were pleasantly surprised. The mountain views are outstanding! Our room was very spacious and clean. Ellen and John provided welcome tips for site-seeing and restaurants. Ellen is a great cook! The location is close to Bedford and the Blue Ridge Parkway yet far enough to enjoy quite evenings while gazing at the stars. Vanquility's slogan is so true..."we arrived as guests and left as friends"!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at Vanquility Acres Inn B&B at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful two nights and days at Vanquility. Ellen and John are very charming and gracious. Ellen fixed great breakfasts. They recommended great places for dining and winery recommendations. We loved sitting out on the deck and petting the goats and seeing the rooster and chickens. The view of the Peaks of Otter above their lake was awesome. We feel like we have made two new friends and look forward to visiting again in the future. The Bakers

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Place at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2011

What a wonderful place to save. This was our first experience of staying at a B&B and we were more than pleasantly surprised. John and Ellen are wonderful hosts and made us feel like family members and right at home. The view from the back is amazing -- with Otters Peaks feeling like they are right in fron of you. John's work with the goats is unbelieveable and this is especially true when he leads them across the bridge over the pond. Fresh eggs from their hens are the hallmark of their breakfasts that are served at 8:30, giving plenty of time to visit downtown Bedford, the wineries, or hike in the mountains. This is definitely an A+ lodging and we would stay there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top quality B&B at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed at. The hospitality, service, food, location, views, accommodations - everything was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Weekend at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2011

Stayed at Vanquility Acres for our anniversary weekend. Rooms were clean and quiet. Great view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Great breakfast each morning. Great hospitality. Excellent Bread and Breakfast for families.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.2 reviewed on July 05, 2011

We recently stayed here for 2 nights in June. Our room was very clean and spacious. The location was excellent, and we were made to feel at home. The breakfasts were amazing, and we didn't have to worry about eating lunch. Ellen (the owner) is very friendly, and I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic Welcome at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.2 reviewed on June 13, 2011

My wife June and I were on a mini-vacation. We wandered down the Blue-ridge Pkwy and finally made it to the little town of BEDFORD VA. where we then made our way to Vanquility Acres. We were welcomed by Ellen, who made us feel at home right away. She showed us our room, which was really a most pleasant surprise. It was a good size, with a sitting room that overlooked a pond and a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mtns. The town of BEDFORD was a short drive, with many fine shops. Most importantly is the D-DAY MEMORIAL is located in the middle, which I was not aware of. We had a great 2-day stay, scrumptious meals, great talks with Ellen, John"EXCELLENT

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Vanquility Inn Bed and Breakfast at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

3.8 reviewed on May 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Ellen and John were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Everything in the home was neat and clean and very warm and cozy. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which has it's own sunroom attached and it overlooked the pond and mountains, it was very nice. If we decide to visit Bedford, VA again, this is most likely where we would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Peace & Provision at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.8 reviewed on May 22, 2011

We recently stayed here during Liberty University graduation weekend. We were looking for a place that would be away from the crowds of Lynchburg and also provide a clean home-like environment to visit with our family during the festivities. Vanquility Acres was a wonderful surprise. The accommodations were beautiful, homey, and spacious. Everything we could have ever needed was provided right down to lighters for the many candles. The grounds were beautiful and my daughter enjoyed going across the lake to see the many goats kept by the innkeepers. This was a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the company of family. We did not opt for meals as we spent much time in Lynchburg; therefore, we are not able to rate the dining. I would definitely return to this place if given the opportunity!

View more reviews for this inn


Vanquility Inn - family stay at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, VA)

4.8 reviewed on May 09, 2011

Beautiful location, excellent restaurant a few minutes down the road, friendly family atmosphere. I would highly recommend for families as a base in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (4.77)
Top
}