Recent Reviews in Bedford, Virginia

The Carriage House Inn at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Kathy and Mike have everything "just so." They add so many touches to create elegance and comfort. We enjoyed our time in the Carriage House! Jim & JoEllen

View more reviews for this inn


Only the best! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2016

Our stay could not have been better. Ellen and John only want the best for their patrons. They are very friendly, know the area well and share all their knowledge, serve great breakfasts, and have a wonderful home and property. The mountain view is amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Very nice stay and extra touches. Would recommend assistance be offered w/ luggage.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic charm and a hidden gem at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 22, 2016

It was the first BnB for my wife and I and we're both very happy to have chosen Mike and Kathy to be our hosts. The house has a rustic charm to it that clearly showcased the owners' passion for preserving the rich history of the building while bringing it up to date on modern amenities like wifi and central air. It is nestled atop Daniel's Hill in historic Lynchburg and downtown is just a walk away. The 4-course breakfast was a good balance of fresh and savory. We stayed in the Mary Watts room it was perfect for our weekend getaway. Should we be in the area again, we'd love a pit stop at the Carriage House!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

I was at Carriage House Inn B&B for a little over a week and it was outstanding in every way. Mike and Kathy go out of their way to make guests feel welcomed. The rooms are spotless, the sheets are amazing, and the breakfast is out of this world delicious! If you are in Lynchburg, stay here, you won't regret it!

View more reviews for this inn


Kreider Stay at THe Carriage House at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2016

Mike and Kathy are very cordial innkeepers. As with any new place that you stay, you never quite know what to expect, but they exceeded our expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on November 29, 2015

Great place to get away if you are looking for a short weekend trip, and you want to just relax and unwind. The room I stayed in was the Blue Ridge room, which was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very friendly. I would definitely come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hosts, Great Breakfast, and Great Accommodations at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on November 12, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn over Columbus Day Weekend and had a wonderful stay. Our room was in the actual Carriage House which shares a parlor and kitchenette with another room. Accommodations were very spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. The owners are really great. They contacted us in advance and went out of their way to prepare information and insights about the local area and specific activities we were interested in. The breakfast was fantastic with unique recipes you can find on the Inn's website. Great visit. We would definitely stay at this B&B again!

View more reviews for this inn


Anders' Weekend Stay at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2015

Atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful with a beautiful view of the lake. Loved watching the goats in pasture. Breakfast was delicious and served family style. This is a prefect place for a relaxing getaway. I look forward to returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Home to Visit at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2015

The Carriage House Inn is beautiful and a lovely place to visit. Great hosts and plenty of privacy.

View more reviews for this inn


A Step back in Time at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 15, 2015

From the moment we arrived, Kathy and Mike offered a gracious style and warmth that consistently impressed up throughout our weekend stay. Flexible, engaging, thoughtful, and supportive, they modeled the style of innkeeper in an extraordinary fashion. Ask to see the storybook of the restoration. If you are a history or architecture buff, it will delight you and is just one of the many reasons the Carriage House exceeds expectations. Loved the group breakfast--guaranteed both a tasty and intellectually interesting start to the day!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful B&B in Bedford at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on June 07, 2015

This is a beautiful country setting with the pond and Peaks of Otter in the background. The Nubian goats are entertaining to watch and pet. Plenty of wildlife to see as well. Close to anything you want to do or see. Ellen and John are great hosts and the breakfast was very good with a variety of eats each morning. We would certainly stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


CAbi Ladies stay at Vanquility and LOVE it! at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2015

My mother and I booked a stay at this darling property and it exceeded our expectations. We had a lovely host and hostess - so entertaining... and they welcomed us like family. The food was home cooked with love and we enjoyed our meals with other travelers. Took home their honey and blackberry jam - which is getting super low - so be back to visit again in September! Lisa McPartland from California

View more reviews for this inn


Superb B&B at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2015

Our recent 7-night stay at the Carriage House Inn B&B was a first-rate experience. We came to the Lynchburg area to experience the 150th anniversary of the end of the Civil War at the nearby National Historical Park at Appomattox Court House and do some genealogy research in Chatham. The hosts, Kathy and Mike, were welcoming, and informative about the area. Their dedication to restoring the house has made it a jewel with a rich past history. The breakfasts were a real treat, not only presented beautifully, but delicious also. I would definitely recommend The Carriage House Inn B&B as the place to stay if traveling to Lynchburg. Seattle, WA travelers - Sharon and Art

View more reviews for this inn


The best B & B experience ever! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 15, 2015

My husband and I stayed at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast during the week of the Appomattox Sesquicentennial events. I have to say both Kathy and Mike were gracious hosts and their home is exquisite. The four course breakfasts were delicious and they were always available to answer questions about Lynchburg and environs. I will recommend their B&B to anyone traveling to that part of Virginia.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and Breakfast Bliss at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2015

My husband and I arrived late for our reservation, so Mike and Kathy gave us a free upgrade to the Stable Master Suite. It is really a one bedroom apartment with a spacious living room, large bedroom, small kitchenette, and a glorious bathroom. So more about the bathroom; it has a large footed tub and an oversized shower. Both were just wonderful because of their size and cleanliness. The bed was firm and for most people would be very comfortable. We really enjoyed the privacy and space we had when staying in this room. We spent two nights in the Stable Master Suite and then moved to the RT Watts room. We made the change for three major reasons. First, it is the room I initially booked. Second, I really wanted to stay in the mansion because of the historic significance. Third, I have major back issues and the RT Watts room has a Select Comfort bed. The RT Watts room is just lovely with a private bath. The claw foot tub can be used only for showers because of how it had to be plumbed. The bed was great for my back, because I could adjust it to the firmness I needed. I really loved staying in this room, because the bed was good for me and it was in the mansion. The breakfasts were really superb. Even though I have some pretty annoying food restrictions, they were able to make fantastic tasty breakfasts for the both of us. We had a difficult time finishing our breakfasts and found that lunch was really not necessary. Mike and Kathy also have great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area. We ate at three of the restaurants they recommend, walked and biked the trails, and visited some of the local universities. We had a lovely visit and recommend The Carriage House to anyone who enjoys a fantastic b & b.

View more reviews for this inn


A Little Haven on the Hill at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 07, 2015

What a delight to meet B & B owners Michael and Kathy of The Carriage House Inn. Yes Lynchburg, like so many of our old industrial towns is re-making the face of the downtown. But from the hospitality extended by Kathy & Michael, and the people volunteering and working in Lynchburg's historical sites, shops and restaurants, they demonstrated they are glad you came by for a visit and appreciate your business. We stayed in the Carriage House, next to the main house, for two nights and loved the privacy, yet access to the main house and our walks to downtown. The property, main house, and rooms are clean and comfortable. And your auto sits right next to the house in a old iron gated, fenced property. What can we say? Try it you will enjoy! George & Jenny Young, Chantilly, VA

View more reviews for this inn


The place to stay in Lynchburg at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2015

We just spent three lovely days at the Carriage House. Both Kathy and Mike were fabulous host and the breakfasts were outstanding. Our family stayed in the Carriage House which was like having your own private suite. The weather was great and the outdoor activities of the hiking and biking trails nearby allows you to enjoy Virginia’s beautiful outdoors. With Civil War sites like Appomattox just a 25 minute drive brings history to your back door. I would highly recommend staying at the Carriage House if you are looking for a 5 Star experience. Clearly, Kathy and Mike know how to run a B&B for their guest. Outstanding!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best annivarsary since the first one! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on March 06, 2015

We found Carriage House by accident while searching the web for a place to spend a quiet weekend on our anniversary. I chose the Inn because I wanted the authentic feel of the original claw foot tub, and porcelain sinks in the 1870's bathroom, as well as the furnishings throughout the home. Mike and Kathy have preserved something special here. They have very lovingly restored this treasure but kept the heart and soul of the era in which it was built. The home was great, but the Inn keepers truly made this an unforgettable experience. they know the history of the home and every detail. The food was not your typical egg and bacon breakfast, and the attentiveness was refreshing. We went in blind...but had the most relaxing and memorable weekend we have had in many years. We will definately return. This may become our yearly anniversary weekend! Sheila D of Roanoke, VA.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2015

Thanks for the hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect getaway at Carriage House! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2015

I savored every minute of my stay at Carriage House Inn B&B -- I toured all of the rooms, impeccably decorated and very clean. A sleep number bed was my first -- I felt like a kid finding my "number". The sheets are to die for - so delicious. Speaking of delicious, the Bedsworth's choreograph a beautiful, nutritional breakfast that will not disappoint. You won't need lunch believe me! I'm going back soon for R&R. I cannot wait!

View more reviews for this inn


Lynchburg getaway at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 02, 2015

This historic inn has been lovingly restored and is so much fun to sleep in ! The beds were sleep number and the sheets so soft we ordered a set for our own bed ! The breakfast was delicious and the owners and quite flexible and friendly. You must stay here if you visit Lynchburg!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay in a beautiful home. at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2014

Carriage House B&B has been lovingly restored by Kathy and Mike with attention to every little detail. Comfortable and quiet with the most beautiful and tasty breakfast ever. Looking forward to our next stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Not just a bed and breakfast but a place of Love! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2014

During the weekend of October 24 and 25, I along with my companion were in town for an event at Lynchburg College and we were blessed to have had the opportunity to spend the night at the Carriage House Inn. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a spirit of love by Kathy and Michael. Their warmth and compassion towards each individual that entered the doorway was geniune and the level of professionalism surpassed that of a franchised hotel. The sleeing quarters were beautiful and authentically a journey back in time but was as comfortable as a 5 star hotel, especially the fresh baked chocolate cookies found in your room. The experience was like spending the night with family and friends. The mornings breakfast had the appearance of a upscaled bistro but the taste was that of a loving mothers creation. The fellowship with the other guests was a true joy to share in our experiences and backgrounds. I say all that to say, yes we will be back to our new home away from home real soon. May God continue to bless Kathy and Michael to continue operating this beautiful establishment. Kelli and Jason

View more reviews for this inn


The Stablemaster Suite at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage House in this suite for an anniversary weekend. The Stablemaster Suite is amazing - the pictures do not do it justice. The richness of the wood walls and the comfort of the California King bed...no words!!! Our hosts were gracious, breakfast was wonderful! We will definitely be back. It is a must stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Did not Disappoint at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2014

Kathy and Michael were caring, meticulous hosts who paid attention to every detail starting with the arrival details. Kathy stressed how important it was to follow the directions that she carefully provided (no risk of getting lost) and continued to care for us with a watchful eye during our entire stay. I was on business travel and my husband rode along in order to take advantage of nearby golf courses. When the weather forecast called for mostly rain during our stay, Kathy and Mike offered an upgrade to the Carriage House suite to provide elbow room in case my husband could not enjoy outdoor activities. We plan to be repeat guests.

View more reviews for this inn


19th-Century B&B near Historic Downtown Lynchburg, VA at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2014

Outstanding breakfast each morning, prepared using some ingredients from their own garden. House and rooms are a nice mix of modern and antique, maintaining the historic feel while providing all the comforts of home. Outdoor areas are relaxing, and great dining is within walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort, Value, Charm, and all the Fixin's at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2014

As most Texans are always "fixin' to go somewhere", this little gem of a B&B is not to be missed if you're heading to Virginia! The style, comfort, attention to detail, personality and charm of this B&B, as well as its personable and oft-time amusing owners, are typically not often seen in a B&B; but once you have experienced The Carriage House Inn, you will be a most discerning B&B connoisseur! This B&B has everything you could ever experience in a 5-star hotel stay, except in a smaller, more personal setting. Mike and Kathy are most gracious hosts. This Texan is fixin' to be back in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Memories made in heaven... at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2014

What a perfect bit if serendipity it was for us to come across the site for the Carriage House Inn B&B while searching for the perfect place to elope! My fiancé and I had looked online at hotels, inns, B&Bs and so many possible places in Virginia to stay. We were looking for a beautiful, relaxed setting in which to spend 5 days, during which, we would get married. We both agreed that the Carriage House had that special something. I’m not quite sure if I can put into words the wonderful time we spent there. It will forever remain one of the most beautiful and memorable times of my life, not the least of which was due to the innkeepers. To say that Kathy and Mike pay strict attention to detail is an understatement. I called and inquired about a local place where we could hold a tiny wedding ceremony. Kathy generously offered to let us get married there at the inn! She arranged for a cake, my bouquet, and a boutonniere, and more. She sent us a list of a few celebrants who could perform the ceremony for me to contact. She also sent us a list of local restaurants and made the reservations for each dinner. We chose the veranda on the front of the house as the background for the ceremony. Kathy and Mike arranged the furniture and décor for us. Mike actually took photos and a video of the event for us! Talk about going above and beyond!!! After the vows, they brought our champagne, flutes, and the cake to us, and then retired inside to let us to savor the moment. The work done by Kathy and Mike to bring the house to its previous glory is impeccable. Each and every room was a joy to discover. The breakfasts were exceptionally planned and prepared. We looked forward to them each morning. Days later upon checkout, they presented us with a most thoughtful and creative gift. Kathy had taken our empty champagne bottle and transformed it into a sweet little cheese tray as a memento of our wedding. We will forever be grateful for the experience Kathy and Mike helped us to create.

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely the best place to stay ... You won't find this in a hotel at Vanquility Acres Inn Bed & Breakfast (Bedford, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

Thank you Ellen and John for letting us stay in your lovely bed and Breakfast. My husband and I are still talking about what a wonderful place it is and what a great time we had. We highly recommend it and hope to return in the fall next year. The view of the mountains from the back porch, especially early in the morning and late in the evening is beautiful and so relaxing. The rooms are all so pretty and very clean. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Room and it had everything we needed, including our own private bathroom. Ellen prepares delicious breakfasts and my husband said he might need a nap after such a huge, delicious meal. She is literally a wealth of information about the historical area. John shared many entertaining adventures about his experiences with his bees, the goats and his greenhouse. We felt right at home and felt like we had known them for years. We highly recommend Vanquility Acres to anyone who is going to be in this area and looking for an exceptional but very affordable place to stay. The Sewells, Lafayette, Louisiana.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}