Beacon Inn at Sidney Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
119 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely B&B

4.0 on September 16, 2014

We had a lovely one night stay at the Beacon Inn - an unexpected find! Welcoming. Charming. Best bed during the whole of our one week stay in the area! The afternoon sherry was a much appreciated touch.


Great place to stay in Sidney

4.0 on September 13, 2014

This is a classy and comfortable choice, quite different from other alternatives. Breakfast is at 2 times, so not drop in when you are ready, but is very nice. They used to bring a pot of tea or coffee to the table - now it is self serve, so I would prefer to have it on the table.


Anniversary getaway.

5 on September 11, 2014

Fabulous 3 night stay at the Beacon Inn in Sidney BC. Rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts each morning were scrumptious. Highly recommend Beacon in for the stay, food and helpfulness of the staff.


Great Get away

4.4 on September 07, 2014

Great B&B in charming Sidney BC. Only minor disappointment was uninspired gluten free meal offering.


Lovely setting but vey poor breakfast

3.4 on September 05, 2014

Very nice ambience, location, and staff. Unfortunately the breafast was far below what what would expect from this type and price of establishment advertiseing as a bed and breakfast. If one is not concerned about the price book the room and eat elswhere.


Pleasant overnight stay at Beacon Inn

4.2 on August 18, 2014

Beacon Inn has an historical aura but is actually relatively new and beautifully decorated. We just had one night there---waiting for a ferry departure the next day---but found it very well located for exploring Sidney on foot. The hosts were very helpful with suggestions of places to go and where to eat. We would certainly stay there again.


In Town For a Wedding

3.6 on August 15, 2014

Overall we give this bed and breakfast a 9 out of 10. An ice machine for our drinks would have been nice. The only issue we had is that the last day we had breakfast we were asked to move to a different table, even though the other people arrived later than us. We suspect that the people were friends of the Owner.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. I would like to take a moment to address your concern regarding being asked to move to a different table. Please know this is a very uncommon request, however there are 2 possible scenarios where this might occur - the first being when 2 guests select to sit at large table that has been pre-set for a group of 4 or more guests that are expected for that sitting, when there are tables for two available. Secondly, if the table they have chosen had just been vacated and not yet cleared, reset and ready, they might on a busy morning be asked if they would mind moving to one that was ready for breakfast service. Please be assured, we would never ask guests to move to another table to accommodate a friend of the inn, or the owner, as all our valued guests are treated equally and with the highest regard. Thank you again for your comments.


Beautiful stay

4.8 on August 13, 2014

My new husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding, on recommendation from a friend. We both loved it! The Inn is quaint and romantic. I have special dietary requirements and they were very accommodating for breakfast! The room was a bit smaller than I'd expected, but that's me being extremely picky! It was perfect for us (the bathroom was huge, with a great big tub and separate shower) and we were close to the water in the morning for a walk in the sun. I will definitely be back here and would recommend it to anyone!


80th Birthday Celebration

5 on August 12, 2014

We brought our family up to celebrate our Mother's 80th Birthday. From 18 to 80 years old...The Beacon Inn was over and beyond our expectations. Can't wait to go back!


We had a wonderful stay!! Everyone was courteous, and extremely. The food was great, and the room was terrific. Thanks for everything!!

5 on August 11, 2014

I tried this before, and I guess it didn't take. We had a great stay. The people were very courteous and friendly, and the food was great. The room was wonderful. We would definitely return!!


Beacon Inn

4.6 on August 10, 2014

This is a lovely restored inn in downtown Sidney. Our room was comfortable, clean and had an excellent bed. A number of our friends stayed the same time and all felt this was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.


Excellent B&B

5 on August 08, 2014

Great B&B. Stayed in Lopez Island Room, which was very nice. Would stay here again


Beautify and Charming

4.4 on August 06, 2014

This is a lovely B&B with quaint and comfortable furnishings. Great location being a short walk to downtown Sidney yet quiet.


Fantastic Summer's Night Stay

4.4 on July 31, 2014

Had the opportunity to stay a night at the Beacon Inn and wished we could have stayed longer. The accommodations, breakfast and location were perfect. We're definitely going to return.


Overnight Stay at Beacon Inn

3.0 on July 22, 2014

On checkin Sandy was super friendly & oriented us around the Inn. She showed us to our lovely room & then gave us advice on restaurant options. Sidney is a quaint little place & the Inn is walking distance to the harbour & downtown areas. Sidney has an outdoor market on Thursday evenings. We had a lovely time at the Inn & around Sidney. Wonderful stay at Beacon Inn at Sidney!


Perfect Birthday

4.6 on June 26, 2014

From the moment we arrived Denise made us feel at home and helped us relax after a long day of driving. We have been to this Inn several times before but not for 2 years and each stay has been consistently excellent. She remembered us when we submitted an online reservation and gave us a surprise upgrade because it was a birthday celebration. Great breakfast to start the day. Thanks for making a Birthday so memorable!


Timeless Elegance

5 on June 23, 2014

The Beacon Inn in Sidney is a step back in time, and a stop that should not be missed when visiting Vancouver Island. The staff and amenities are amazing. The bed was very comfortable, the room as beautiful as anything in a decor magazine, and the breakfast was something to look forward to in the morning. The ambience is such that I felt at home, and comfortable in the sitting room sipping sherry or chatting with other guests. No detail in decor or comfort has been overlooked and no request is too small. Guests here are made to feel very welcome, and for someone travelling alone, this made it special. I will return again to this wonderful Inn, a place to relax, unwind and be pampered.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review our property for the benefit of other travellers. Your kind words and detailed comments about your stay are much appreciated by myself and all of our staff! We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sidney!


Unparalleled

5 on June 07, 2014

I have stayed at the Beacon Inn in Sidney, BC several times over the past many years, and each time is as wonderful as the last! The service is friendly and accommodating, the food delicious, and the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. The breakfast room is both cozy and elegant. Each time I stay there, I feel as though I have been on a restorative retreat! I hope and plan to stay at the Beacon Inn again in the near future!


had an enjoyable time very friendly staff and town

5 on April 14, 2014

the best compliment is to say that we would come back....yes


New Years Eve in Sidney

5 on January 04, 2014

We booked the Timebenders (my favourite band) for New Years Eve this year. Because we live in Victoria I felt a sleepover was also necessary! We had stayed here before and liked it so here we came again. On arrival we were upgraded to a better room which was an unexpected treat. We lolled about our lovely room with a bottle of wine then walked to our dance and home. Took 10 minutes. Breakfast was deliciously served in a lovely dining room. I'm thinking this might become my end of the year tradition!


Quality and ambiance

4.6 on January 02, 2014

The Beacon Inn has beautifully designed Arts & Craft styled architectural features and furnishings. Crown mouldings, graceful banisters, genteel breakfast area - all for a surprisingly reasonable rate! The location is a short walk from the beach or interesting artisan shops. All in all, a great B&B in Sidney!


Lovely getaway in Sidney

5 on December 11, 2013

On a very, very cold night in Sidney, we had a warm and cozy room. And we came home convinced that we needed that fireplace! The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely.


WOW, What a pleasant Surprise

4.6 on November 08, 2013

What a wonderful place. Laurie is amazing. Great breakfast. Home made jam!! Very clean. Can't wait to get back for a longer stay.


Extremely satisfied repeat guest

5 on October 08, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon Inn a few years back and looked forward to revisiting it again this summer. It's so comforting to be able to count on an establishment to continue to provide their guests with restful accommodations, delicious breakfasts and of course, wonderful, friendly and professional staff. The location in Sidney is ideal and very central. We enjoyed a truly refreshing stay and look forward to our next visit at the Beacon Inn.


Exquisite

5 on September 29, 2013

The Beacon Inn was absolutely impeccable.The attention to detail really is apparent in this beautifully appointed B&B.We appreciated the dining room having small individual tables since we do not always want to be extremely sociable at 9 am. The location is great for those who want to walk to shops and restaurants but still enjoy a very quiet and relaxing setting. We were so impressed by the Beacon Inn at Sidney that we will be staying here our next trip to the Victoria area. The short drive to Victoria is so beautiful and coming back to this "little jewel" after a day of sightseeing and shopping was a real pleasure.


Pleased with our stay!

5 on September 28, 2013

Everything was perfect including the innkeeper's accommodating changes in our travel plans.


Gracious

5 on September 22, 2013

Everything about our stay was more than expected - unique in this day and age. We tend to anticipate more than we receive. This property blessed us at every turn ! Comfortable rooms, gracious service and so much more !!! Please treat yourselves and book soon ! You will not be disappointed but surprised .


The Epitome of Charming

4.8 on September 18, 2013

Our second stay was as wonderful as the first one. We can't wait to return. No children allowed. One block from the center of town with all of its many bookstores and coffee houses. Sherry is served at 5 pm. Coffee, tea, fruit, and snacks are always available. The gourmet breakfast was delicious, but not over the top (hence four stars). We take the ferry from Anacortes. Walk-on, no car needed. The B&B is three blocks from the ferry terminal. If you read reviews to find an excellent place, you just found it.


My first stay at the Beacon Inn

4.6 on September 17, 2013

We reviewed several B&B's before booking, price, location and gorgeous interior made it easy to chose the Beacon Inn! We travel a lot and I see details that make or break a place. I will return here, with my partner next time, if only for the soaker tub. Breakfast was well prepared and served with a chat and 11 am checkout was appreciated. Nice to have safe parking behind the building, and even this close to the airport my room was very quiet and cosy. Well done! Judith


Northwest tour

5 on September 14, 2013

Lovely stay. Great location to stay and catch a ferry the next day.


Very pleasant stay

3.8 on September 08, 2013

We just spent one night for our honeymoon at the Beacon Inn and were given a complimentary upgrade. It was very classy, extremely clean, amazing central location to downtown Sidney lots of shops and sites to see and super convenient for getting to the airport. The added touch of the Sherry by the fireplace was really nice and the breakfast was top notch too. Thank you!


Very pleasant experience

4.0 on September 07, 2013

We booked Beacon Inn because they accept gift cards.....and we're certainly glad they do. What a pleaseant experience. Nicely located, extremely clean and comfortable, exceptional staff, and a great breakfast. A wonderful gift indeed.


Peace and Comfort

4.6 on September 04, 2013

centrally located, beautifully appointed.....quiet and private......divine bed with European feather coverlet.....loved it and will stay again next trip..............:)


Delighted Aussie Travellers Aug 2013

5 on August 30, 2013

The Beacon Inn was an amazing B&B. Without exception the best value & service. Detail to attention surpassed our expectations. We would recommend this to anyone staying in Sidney BC. Immaculate presentation. Thankyou.


Spotless

4.4 on August 29, 2013

VERY clean facilities. Would return absolutely.


Wonderful Ambiance

4.0 on August 24, 2013

I loved this place, so beautiful, the room was romantic and super clean. Would stay here again, especially for the price.


convenient, pleasant

4.8 on August 20, 2013

We stayed twice at the Beacon Inn at Sidney, on the first night and last nights of our trip, as we were flying in and out of Victoria International Airport. The B&B is very convenient for this purpose being 10 minutes from the airport. Breakfast on our first morning was great - on our last night, we had to leave at 5am to catch our flight, so we were provided with a packed breakfast which was, understandably, not as great as the first breakfast. When we got to the airport, we discovered that none of the food places open until 5:30am, so the packed breakfast provided by the Inn was greatly appreciated.


Sidney trip

3.8 on August 13, 2013

HI; We stayed on the 2nd floor and could hear the people above us. Snoring and talking. When we come again, I will insist that we have a room on the third floor. For breakfast I would suggest fresh fruit, nuts, seeds and yogurt, and cut up vegetables self serve. Hot gluten free cereal and freshly prepared omelets, fried, or poached eggs. More people are becoming vegetarians and vegans. Fresh organic food is the way to go. Thank you and good luck.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Although we appreciate your suggestions for breakfast menus, after years of serving our complimentary "set-menu" breakfasts, we have developed a rotating menu that best suits the majority of our guests. For those guests with food restrictions (vegan, dairy-free, gluten-free, no eggs, etc.), we offer a simplified alternate breakfast which includes such items as gluten-free cereal, fruit and vegan muffins. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back at a future date.


Wonderful getaway

4.2 on August 07, 2013

We chose this great inn for an anniversary getaway. The service was friendly and welcoming. They upgraded our room for an additional small fee. It was a gorgeous room with lots of details. We left for a walk shortly after arriving, and came back to a rose petal turn down and chocolates on our bed. They had even re-folded the toilet paper to a point! There were also baked goods, apples, water and ice downstairs for the taking. The only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast. Although the cook was very friendly and hospitable, there wasn't any choice in the small, two-course meal. The starter was sliced banana with toasted coconut (not a taste that we enjoy!) and the main course was french toast that was basically a soggy, undercooked slab of bread. Overall, we would come back in a heartbeat, but would plan on eating breakfast elsewhere.


Very well appointed rooms

4.4 on August 05, 2013

A very nice B&B. Close to the township of Sidney and to the water. The rooms were spacious and yet at the same time cozy. The food was excellent even the snacks available in the dining room for a late night treat! We would certainly stay there again.


Charming & personable place

4.6 on August 01, 2013

A charming and personable place to lay your head! Very friendly staff, great breakfast!


Great place to for airport and ferry departures or just to relax

4.6 on July 10, 2013

The room was huge. Clean, bright and quiet. The bed was outstanding.The manager was extremely helpful with information as well as arranging taxis etc. The place felt "warm"


Great place for family holiday

4.4 on June 16, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Beacon Inn at Sidney twice. On both occasions we had fantastic experience. The Inn Keeper is frioendly and helpful, rooms are clean and welcoming, the location is ideal, breakfast is sumptuous. Gabriel Rugalema, Freetown, Sierra Leone


An experience worth twice what was paid

4.6 on May 25, 2013

The room was fabulous, both clean and well decorated. It felt very luxurious. The breakfasts were amazing and exceeded expectations by a mile. We will definitely stay here again. Both the staff members went out of their way to make sure we had a totally enjoyable stay. Thank you both so much.


Beacon Inn 18 May 2013

4.2 on May 21, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here. Just as great as the first. We highly recommend a visit to Sidney and a stay at this Innn


A Great Find !

5 on May 07, 2013

Quaint, quiet, lovely location just blocks from Sidney's waterfront and downtown. ( A great spot from which to cycle the Lochside Trail.) Staff was welcoming, friendly and most accommodating. The room was "first class". We'll be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for giving others considering a visit to the area some valuable feedback! See you next visit!


Sydney B&B Time

4.4 on April 27, 2013

We enjoyed our cozy romantic stay at Beacon Inn where we were made to feel at home and treated to wonderful breakfast, snacks and sherry in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.


Wonderful Respite

5 on March 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely room, great breakfast, just the right amount of friendliness without being obtrusive.


Great stay

4.2 on March 14, 2013

Minor but I believe important to mention - my wife has allergies and these were indicated on our initial booking and addressed when we arrived. However when breakfast time came we were told that they had run out of certain foods she could have and then she was brought food that she couldn't eat.


Love this B&B

5 on March 06, 2013

Everyone at the Beacon Inn was outstanding. It was the first time my husband and I stayed at a B&B and we loved it. Thank you to all the staff at Beacon Inn for a great stay. We will be back. Thanks for the breakfast to go bag the day we left. Sherri Hornickell/Wilbur and Jeff Wilbur


Love this place!

5 on March 05, 2013

This is the most beautiful and welcoming B&B we have ever been in.


Lovely night for visitors from Alberta

4.4 on February 27, 2013

The service was very friendly and informative. The breakfast was excellent quality and relaxed. The room was spotless, very comfortable and attractive. The location just off Beacon was convenient and the restaurant recommendation was spot on for our tastes.


Top notch

4.8 on February 03, 2013

Excellent little hotel. Very accommodating and friendly.


Just what we were looking for

4.0 on January 15, 2013

Excellent service and relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely consider staying here again!


An oasis of a stay in Sidney

5 on January 12, 2013

I needed a place to spend the night between landing at the airport and taking the ferry to Friday Harbor, and found a room at this high-quality B&B. I was amazed by the attentive care of the friendly staff tending this beautiful B&B. The room and bedroom (great tub, and shower) were clean and styled, the bed was turned down in the evening. There was sherry by the fire, and the host answered all of my questions. The next morning I enjoyed a delicious breakfast made by a skilled, interesting, and friendly chef and host. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and look forward to returning the next time I am in Sidney.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on January 04, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights at the Beacon Inn. We were offered a complimentary upgrade to a larger room on the 2nd floor which was nice. The room was warm and inviting. The bathroom was spotless. The breakfasts cooked by Gay were delicious and hearty. We would definitely return.


Winter Wedding

4.6 on December 26, 2012

A lovely place to stay and share the lovely facilities with friends:)


Outstanding

5 on October 31, 2012

Took my wife here for 2 night getaway, while i worked. She loved it. Super convenient for walking around Sidney. Clean, spacious, super quiet, romantic.


Our day on Vancouver Island

4.8 on October 25, 2012

We recently spent two days and one night on Vancouver Island with another couple. We got to the island on BC Ferries from Tsawwassen to Schwartz Bay (which I highly recommend). We were welcomed with open arms and a carafe of sherry was waiting for us when we got settled. . Our rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated (not over done as other B&B's we stayed in. We had a fireplace and an air conditioner in our room to keep it to the temperature we desired. The cooked breakfast was very ample., although not entirely to our liking, it could have a local specialty. Coffee was served in the lobby in the morning and all guests had access to a refrigerator in the Lobby. The B&B was close to Buchart Gardens, a 55 acre garden not to be missed! We would definitely stay there again if we ever go back


Could not be improved!!!

5 on October 23, 2012

We stayed at the inn in early October. A warm welcome from Warren as we checked in and advice on restaurants each of the three nights set the tone. The breakfast is way beyond outstanding -- something different every day from Gay and all with a touch of real class. Beautiful presentation AND taste. The location is perfect for going into Vancouver but we also very much enjoyed the strolling opportunities in the town. We'd love to return.


Satisfied guests

4.8 on September 29, 2012

Teriffic staff and accomidations. Will use Beacon Inn as a base instead of Victoria on our next trip.


Hometown Hit

5 on September 09, 2012

This B&B is in our hometown and we have had the pleasure of staying on two separate occasions. This is great value and a beautiful accommodation. The staff in particular Warren (front desk) went above and beyond for our night. He surprised us with rose petals on the bed and a small gift to acknowledge my wife's birthday. We had previously met him from our honeymoon stay last year and this just makes staying close to home another reason why to do it. The personal touch was absolutely lovely. Thanks and we will be back. Thanks again, Clare & Dea-Anne


Great B&B

5 on September 02, 2012

This is a great B&B. Very clean and the staff are very nice. We will be back.


Unique, relaxing, a home feeling; yet very private,

5 on August 29, 2012

This property was wonderful. The staff was lovely and the way they accommodated us in making our reservation work was outstanding. I kept saying to our friends, "I feel like we are at home with staff to look after our every needs." It is close to the unique town of Sidney and we were able to walk to the ocean, sightseeing and restaurants. We will definitely be staying at the Beacon each time we are on the island. Thank you everyone at the Beacon Inn at Sidney. Monty and Karen


Relax and comfort

4.6 on August 20, 2012

Breakfast is wonderful. As breakfast time is 8:00 or 9:30, we can eat it very relaxingly.


Lovely, quiet inn.

4.8 on July 24, 2012

We needed a quiet place for one evening recently. The Beacon Inn was perfect. The breakfast was superb!


It was great all the way.

5 on July 24, 2012

I will certainly recommend your B & B


Very Nice Stay

4.6 on July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Beacon Inn and were very impressed with the decor, service and breakfast provided. We will definitely be back.


Quaint Inn

5 on July 22, 2012

Charming inn with all the amenities; great location. But the best part was Denise, the Innkeeper, and Gaye, the cook. Delicious breakfasts.


Lovely B&B

4.0 on July 17, 2012

We booked into the Beacon Inn after spending some time on Vancouver Island and before returning to Vancouver. It was a very good choice. Sydney is a lovely little town, and we will spend more time there the next time we come out. The room was lovely, and we were warmly welcomed and shown around. I enjoyed the jetted tub in the bathroom, but my husband said the lighting could have been better for shaving. All in all, a pleasant stay.


Uncommon attention to detail and comfort

4.6 on July 07, 2012

The staff is extraordinary and thoughtful, the rooms spacious and comfortable and yet cozy. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and hope to return many times. Within easy walking distance of the ferry, shopping, fine dining, the pier and more.


A pleasant stay in a very nice area.

4.6 on July 06, 2012

I booked this B&B, sight-unseen. We were pleased with the comfort and cleanliness, and the woman running it was very nice, as well. We were there on our honeymoon. I am not sure if they were even aware of that fact, but they upgraded us to the nicest room there, which was a pleasant surprise, also. In all, the stay was very enjoyable. They even accommodated my wife's soy and dairy allergies in regards to the wonderful breakfasts.


Would definitely return!

3.8 on June 28, 2012

A great location, beautifully decorated, kind and friendly folks!


Tops in our book.

5 on June 25, 2012

Just came back from the Inn and we were delighted. Great service and the Orcas Island Room was perfect for us. Highly recommend. D&L


A wonderful weekend with my best friend!

5 on May 27, 2012

Stayed at the Beacon Inn due to discovering it by a clever Living Social trip package. Incredible service and room - the breakfasts are to die for. My best friend and I had such a great time, we'd like to return every year. I highly recommend staying at the Beacon Inn at Sidney.


We will stay again

4.2 on May 13, 2012

Charming inn, friendly welcoming staff. Very clean and quiet, Comfortable bed.


Lovely, Lovely, Lovely!

5 on April 28, 2012

Absolutely loved EVERYTHING! Warren our host was a true joy to deal with, he went above and beyond for us. I would highly recommend the Beacon Inn to anyone.


Nice B & B - Beacon Inn Sidney BC

3.0 on April 23, 2012

This was my third stay at this nice B & B. I'll be back again. Very quiet.


Best ever!

5 on March 24, 2012

Had my third stay at the Inn and there will be many more. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful hospitality. The tea tray placed in my mothers room was a wonderful extra touch. Sandra Miller Okotoks, AB


Never expected this much comfort!

4.0 on March 15, 2012

My wife and I flew into Victoria International and took a cab to the Inn. We were exhausted. We checked in at 6 pm, were shown to our room and within 15 mins we were sound asleep. We woke up starving at midnight and we both remembered the fellow who checked us in, telling us of the free coffee, tea and snacks available 24/7 in the breakfast room. My wife quickly disappeared for a few minutes and was back with some scrumptious lemon fingers and green tea. We slept another 5 hours, got up, showered and enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast called Croc Madam before our departure for Saltspring Island.. What a welcome! What a stay! What a sleep! We'll be back many, many times!


Beacon Inn at Sidney

3.8 on March 07, 2012

This was our second stay at the Inn and will definitely stay here an another time. We have always enjoyed the hospitality. The rooms are elegant and the bed very comfortable! A definite "Return To" Inn


A wonderful Lodging

5 on March 06, 2012

A wonderful caring home away from home. The physical facilities are only out weighed by the service. A wonderful oasis.


We will be back

4.0 on March 03, 2012

Extremely comfortable bed. Charming atmosphere and very friendly staff.


Delightful and luxurious B&B!

4.6 on February 29, 2012

We found this B&B in the Dine around Town/Stay around Town promotions for Victoria, BC. The Inn is a very easy drive or bus ride into Victoria., but is in lovely Sidney where you have all that you need, shopping, dining, places to visit, sea shore etc.. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, and the jetted tub in our bathroom was so relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and healthy, and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating, friendly, and willing to make our stay wonderful. We'd feel confident in recommending the Beacon Inn in Sidney to anyone and plan to send our daughter and husband here for their wedding anniversary!


Delightful surprise

4.0 on December 20, 2011

Everything, from location to staff attention, to room facilities, were of the highest quality. We will definitely stay at The Beacon Inn at Sidney whenever we can.


Wonderful experience and great service!

4.4 on December 18, 2011

We only stayed in this inn for one night but enjoyed our brief stay so much that it will be our first choice for our future overnight stays in Sidney. The management and staff are certainly to be commended.


We will never stay anywhere else in Victoria, even the Empress!

5 on December 10, 2011

What a lovely surprise. Everything down to the smallest detail was enjoyed, but especially the freshly baked Snickerdoodles.Perfect!


Excellent B&B

4.0 on December 09, 2011

Our stay was awesome. The room was exceptional, cosy and inviting, the bed extremely comfortable, and the staff were exceptional. She went out of her way to not only make our stay extraordinary but offered to make reservations for us, put sherry in our room and made a breakfast to go as we had to leave early to the airport. We will definately be repeat customers here - we loved it!


JUST LOVED THE PLACE

4.8 on December 03, 2011

We had booked for 2 nights and stayed for 6! It was too bad the weather was not great. We loved the location close to the down town and to the ocean for our long walks. Dale and Marie were great hostesses. Breakfasts were fantastic. Loved the poached pears. The rooms were were comfortable and well appointed. Each day we enjoyed an apple from the basket on the table, Think they were Ambrosia.


Heritage House

4.4 on November 16, 2011

An ideal place to stay when flying from Victoria. Beautiful room ,Comfortable bed. We were fortunate to have a bedroom on ground floor so only had to carry bags up steps to front door. Breakfast cooked by charming chef-- Gay. It was described as a quiche and served in a ramekin. It would have been nicer without spinach and if it had been cooked for a few minutes longer.We would have been just as happy with a poached egg and toast.

Innkeeper Response
I'd like to thank the reviewer for taking the time to comment on their recent stay and in particular about their breakfast. Our popular "Mini-Quiches" as we like to call them (sometimes referred to as Soufflés), are one of our popular signature dishes. Typically our quiches are made with sundried tomatoes, crumbled bacon, chives, sharp cheddar, dill (occasionally spinach) and eggs - then in the centre, we add a good dollop of cream cheese, to give each quiche a lovely creamy texture inside. I wonder if this could have been confused with the quiche requiring a bit more cooking time. Poached Eggs and "Eggs Benny" are also dishes we serve on a regular rotation and are popular with guests as well. We hope to have the opportunity to host the reviewer on another trip to Sidney when catching a flight, or at anytime… and you never know, poached eggs might just be on the menu!


Very nice B&B with luxury rooms & wonderful food!

4.4 on October 27, 2011

When we arrived at the Beacon Inn, the B&B automatically upgraded our room. The room was so nice, with a big jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable bed with a feather comforter. The breakfast was outstanding. Each breakfast started with an "appetizer" - yogurt parfait on the first day and poached pears on the second. The breakfast was healthy and gourmet. Also, there were homemade cookies and snacks available throughout the day. A very cozy and warm experience all around!


Simply wonderful

3.4 on September 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beacon Inn this summer. Very lovely location, easy access to downtown, and very beautiful building. We loved our room it was fantastic. Overall we would come back and stay again.


Loved it!

4.0 on September 13, 2011

We stayed at Beacon Inn at Sidney in August 2011. It was beautiful. The bed and linens were so soft and comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and new. They have a very nice breakfast room and coffee in the morning. The Inn was quiet and a great place to stay. The location to Beaon Ave is perfect and everything is handy. Thanks for a great stay and the free upgrade!


great unless you must catch an early flight

3.4 on September 09, 2011

a lovely Edwardian style inn built in 2000 with modern finishes, the area's only Canada Select 5 Star accommodation. Communication was done via email, perfect and timely. Rate was fair for my choice of room on third floor, no elevator at $166 with all taxes. Location is just outside the commercial area of Sidney and it is easy to find. They offer an evening sherry in the lobby along with tea and coffee station, lemon water and snacks in the dining room. The rooms are stunning in decor with a high bed, flat screen TV, free Wifi, electric FP, windows that open for a breeze, portable air exchanger and a large bath with spa soaking tub, glass shower and full array of Nourish bath products. I am certain that their gourmet breakfast was just that, but my flight to Seattle left at 9 am and I had to return a rental car. They offer two seatings at 8:00 am and 9:15 am neither of which I could enjoy given my schedule. I was pleased to take their Grab N Go from the fridge, described as scrumptious. But it consisted of only an apple, a tiny piece of cheese, a chocolate candy, a tiny raisin muffin and a juice box. I was disappointed since part of the price of a room includes breakfast and this was less than comparable. The kitchen did not even offer a styro or other take-away cup for coffee.


Beacon Inn

4.0 on September 08, 2011

Only stayed for one night. Room was very nice, very clean, breakfast was wonderful. Only downfall was airplanes overhead were extremely loud. Did not bother me to sleep, but did start again quite early in the morning. Not a place for quiet sleeping in! But I think the entire town of Sidney will have the same problem.


Beacon Inn

2.8 on September 06, 2011

For such new construction- was surprised the showers were the small, angle, corner unit type. The breakfast was not much- compared to all my other B&B experiences. It was good- just not as substantial. On the whole, it was a nice, clean, quiet place. Great location, nice decor, friendly staff. Probably would stay again.


Outstanding stay at the Beacon

5 on August 24, 2011

My wife and I had an extremely good experience at the Beacon. We stayed in a first floor room and found everything about the Inn to terrific


Felt like a Princess

5 on August 19, 2011

Curb appeal; being greeted immediately by a friendly lady; in awe of our room, I felt like a princess. Our whole experience was wonderful and I would definately stay there again.


Sidney vacation

4.0 on August 18, 2011

The service was very good and all staff members were very helpful. The bed was very comfortable! Very pleased overall and would not hesitate to recommend to others and we would definitely come back again.


Very Pleasant Stay

3.6 on August 10, 2011

Staff eager to provide tourism information, friendly and welcoming.


Honeymoon Visit

4.6 on August 04, 2011

We stayed at the Beacon Inn on the 1st two nights of our honeymoon trip to BC - what a wonderful start! The Inn is spotlessly clean, the Innkeepers were friendly and welcoming; easy walk to the harbour, dining & shopping in Sidney. We loved it and would definitely come back!


My July 25, 2011 Stay

4.8 on July 31, 2011

The Beacon Inn was a wonderful place to stay in Sidney. The rooms were beautifully decorated with great bathrooms. I stayed in the Lopez room, and everything was spotlessly clean with luxurious linens, towels and robes. It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast in the lovely breakfast room the next morning was delicious and filling. The front desk staff, Warren and Denise, were so helpful and kind. I greatly enjoyed my stay.


Great hospitality and location

3.8 on July 30, 2011

Everything was excellent except breakfast staff overlooked a dietary allergy.


Stay at the Beacon Inn at Sidney

4.2 on July 08, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable. All of the employees were courteous and helpful.


Peaceful getaway spot

3.2 on June 26, 2011

Quiet and peaceful accomodations within walking distance of all that Sidney has to offer. Clean, comfortable and well serviced.


RELAXING WEEKEND GETAWAY!

3.8 on June 09, 2011

Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay. When we arrived, we were surprised with an upgrade to the Lopez Island room. Very nice! The service we received was great. Our room was spotless. We will definitely book another stay. The Beacon Inn definitely contributed to help make our weekend getaway in Sidney a truly relaxing experience. Sharon


A fine day in May...

4.2 on June 04, 2011

The folks at the Beacon Inn have created a charming and beautiful hideaway, with cozy rooms, a relaxing atmosphere, and attentive service. When asked, they accommodated my early check-in request with pleasure, and made our stay a relaxing and restorative one. If you wish a unique experience for the same price as you would pay at a standard hotel, treat yourself to the Beacon Inn! We will be returning...


Beautiful place at great rates!

4.6 on May 15, 2011

Great place--I've stayed here twice! Really nice people, it's clean, fairly quiet, and beautiful! Much better deal and much better price and rooms than the luxury hotel across the street! Not musty (rare for BC!). Conveniently near Victoria airport, but planes stopped flying overhead around 11pm! Free parking too :) Not walking distance from any great restaurants, but Sidney doesn't have any that I've found! People can easily drive downtown for those though.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write them down for the benefit of other travelers! Next time you visit, we'd be delighted to point you towards some of our favorite local restaurants! Sidney really does have quite a number of good eateries to choose from (perhaps 20 or so), with everything from casual or pub-style fare, to fine dining, and you'll find that most are on the main street (or close to it), which is just 2 short blocks away from the Inn. We hope you will visit again soon and look forward to helping you in your search for that great local meal!


Comfortable, relaxed and convenient

3.8 on April 04, 2011

Excellent, well-appointed B&B convenient to Victoria Airport. 'Grab and Go' bag appreciated, as one of our party had a very early flight out. Comfortable, quiet room with all the facilities. Breakfast was disappointing, small portion, ham was tough, but service was excellent.


Another excellent experience

4.6 on March 28, 2011

This was my third stay in the the last year. Each experience has been better than the one before. I look forward to more stays in the future.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.2 on March 25, 2011

It was even nicer than the pictures. Friendly, accommodating Inn Keepers. Close to walk everywhere in town. Will definitely stay there again.


Highly Recommended for your stay in Sidney!!

5 on March 05, 2011

A really super place to stay and will be recommending to all of our family and friends to stay at while in Sidney! We look forward to going back.


Amazingly well kept, noisy fans and ok breakfast

3.6 on February 18, 2011

One of the cleanest establishments I have seen, looked brand new. We were in the upstairs suite which was lovely except for the loud hum and vibration in the floor that started at about 7am and lasted a couple of hours. I suspect it was from the fan in the bathroom below. Very central to Sidney shops and close to water. Breakfast was good but not a lot of it. Needed some muffins, toast or something else. Not sure i would go again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our property and put great effort into keeping it clean and well maintained for the benefit and enjoyment of our guests. We also appreciate you taking the time to bring to our attention the issue of a problem fan, as we were not previously aware the fan in the ceiling of the bathroom below had become a nuisance. We have taken immediate steps to resolve the vibration issue with the offending fan and we are confident that those staying in our suite in the future will enjoy a quiet and restful stay! As for breakfast not quite quelling your appetite – we would never want to see anyone going away feeling hungry, so we are truly sorry to hear this. In our 10 years of operation, we have found that typically our 2-course breakfast (tea/coffee, juice, starter and hot main course) leaves our guests feeling full and contented. Should anyone wish an additional bagel, English muffin, or even a bowl of cereal, they need only ask and we are more than happy to oblige, and as always, there would be no charge for this as breakfast is always complimentary. We hope to see you again at a future date!


Welcoming and Luxurious

4.0 on January 10, 2011

My husband and I chose the Beacon Inn at Sidney when we were planning our New Year's Eve get-a-way and our expectations were exceeded. From the moment we arrived to our departure we were treated like royalty. Our room was luxurious and the extra amenities added to the wonderful experience. Thank you so much to the staff who welcomed us and who prepared our lovely breakfast.


Review of our stay in the Orcas Room- Dec 19 2010 :)

5 on December 31, 2010

Once again you made for a memorable anniversary. We stay every year and are never disappointed! Everything was just perfect. Thanks again! -John and Christi Dunn


beacon inn stay

4.6 on December 23, 2010

We would go back any chance we can. Friendly people, great atmosphere ,possibly the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at.


Wonderful Sidney B&B

4.6 on October 15, 2010

We had a very early flight & missed breakfast but the hosts made us a "grab & go" breakfast bag that saved us.


Would definitely return

4.6 on October 05, 2010

Wonderful lodging, beautiful rooms, great service and superb location. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone travelling in the Victoria area.


Fabulous Time

5 on September 06, 2008

My wife and I had a lovely time at the Beacon Inn. The staff were very helpful and the room was great. We went whale watching and jumped into the jaczuzzi affterwards fantabulousa. Highly recomended Terry and Janie .Clydebank. Scotland


Beacon Inn at Sidney

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 139 - CAD 259
  • Reviews (119) 4.5
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2506553288
  • Toll free 1-8774205499

Visit Website »

View details

Top