Haddon House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Really lovely, relaxing stay

5 on December 01, 2011

We loved it. Just a really cozy, lovely comfortable place to stay. Our host went well out of his way for us and made us an amazing breakfast, despite my husband's gluten and egg allergies!


A hidden jewel in Burnaby, British Columbia

5 on September 04, 2011

Previous travelers having stayed at Haddon House had amply described their experiences to support and to confirm the charm & ambience of this B&B’s heritage setting; its immaculate interior, coziness and quality services. So when my wife & I arrived at the front steps after an arduous 12+ hour trans-Pacific flight, our weariness instantaneously melted away by the warm smiles of our host, Johannes, and by the welcoming liquid brown eyes of the house’s other equally significant hostess, Duchess. From that moment on, whenever we spoke about our sentiment associated with our 5-nights’ stay at Haddon House, my wife & I unescapably started with “How often …” Here are a few to share: • How often does a B&B host offers to carry guests’ baggages (very heavy ones due to our extended journey across Canada) to our room and insisted that it is part of services included? • How often does the host consistently offer “care” snack packs after each sumptuous breakfast to help us “tie over” until the next meal time? • How often do the host & hostess voluntarily offer to personally guide guests to a local well-known scenic spot for sight-seeing followed by treating us to an exquisite dinner with the sunset as the backdrop? • How often does the host extend an “invitation” to the guests’ local friend to join in and to savor the mouth-watering breakfast spread? Johannes & Marie-Louise have brought their B&B operation to a different height in terms of concierge service & quality excellence amongst its peers; one that is at least synonymous, if not far exceeding, those belonging to mass-market premium executive/club hospitability class. The entire vacation has been as much savory as Johannes’ signature dish of asparagus wrapped in black forest ham & crepe, drizzled with yummy Hollandaise sauce before serving piping hot. Few breakfast can get better than this to start off the day. Bravo! Philip & Maria, Singapore, 14-19 July 2011.


It doesn't get much better that this!

5 on August 20, 2011

We just finished a 1-week rental of the entire house. What a wonderful experience it was. The property is breathtaking and the hosts made an already wonderful family experience even better. We plan on returning for another week in 2012. Although we did not have the experience of the daily breakfasts, the hosts stocked our refrigerator with all of those delightful goodies. They thought of everything in the amenities provided - even better than our own home. We HIGHLY recommend this place and seriously doubt that you could find something better for the price and comfort.


Secret Hideaway

5 on August 01, 2011

We reside in Burnaby, but rented this place that was close to Deer Lake to see an outdoor concert which was within walking distance, had a nice dinner at the Hart House went to the concert, back to the Hart House for a nightcap and walked back to the B&B to our beautiful room. The next morning had the biggest breakfast you could ever imagine which was excellent, we will be going back.


Fantastic

5 on May 06, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Haddon House. In the three weeks since, we have not stopped talking about the warm hospitality of our host and charm of the house itself. The rooms in Haddon House are immaculate and combine modern comforts with original historical features. The house is conveniently located and easy to find from the highway if you have never visited Vancouver or Burnaby before. Mainly though, it is the extremely warm and professional manner of hosting that has endeared Haddon House to us (never mind the breakfast experience that is Johannes' cooking!!) and will bring us back for years to come. An altogether unforgettable stay, thank you Haddon House!!


Outstanding, delightful

4.8 on May 02, 2011

The Haddon House was an outstanding and delightful place to stay. Johannes was a wonderful host and breakfast was wonderful. We were the only guests the night we stayed and it was very quiet. Location was great, close enough to the Hwy to be able to get around easily. The walk to the lake was great, even in the rain and Johannes lent us an umbrella. The grounds were beautiful and we felt right at home. A very charming place with a delightful and hospitable inn keeper. Would definately stay again and wish we had been able to stay more than one night.


Absolutly the Best B & B

5 on March 18, 2011

I booked this B&B as I was attending a course in Burnaby and my husband was coming with me. This home is beautifully decorated and furnished, but even better the hosts are extremely hospitable and will help you in everyway possible. We immediatley felt and home when we checked in and they were very accommodating to my schedule as I needed to have my breakfast fairly early. This was not a problem and both days we were served an excellent breakfast. It not only had great taste it was also very beautifully presented. I have been telling everyone about this B&B it is beyond being the best it is the very best


Lovely B&B

4.8 on March 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Wonderful hospitality in a very quiet upscale neighbourhood. We were within walking distance of art galleries and the lovely Hart House restaurant. Public transportation was very convenient if you needed it. Johannes was our gourmet chef, our tour guide and our gracious host. Lunches were packed for our convenience. We were even escorted to the airport in lieu of our public transportation option.


Vancouver Vist

4.6 on March 01, 2011

The Haddon House was an excellent B&B. The owners were great and always had a smile for us when we arrived. Very quiet place to stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Vancouver BC.


Best B&B yet!

5 on December 16, 2010

Wonderful heritage home with great yard. Incredible breakfast. Lots of space and very well maintained. The host were very friendly and made us feel at home. This was the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Thanks


Just What I Needed!

4.4 on November 04, 2010

The atmosphere in this home in my two night stay was peaceful, relaxed, friendly and non-intrusive, yet I felt totally at ease in asking for anything I needed. Since I was the only guest at the time of my visit, the peace and quiet I so needed at that particular time might not have been quite so available had the other two suites been occupied. On the other hand, in another visit, I would most likely not require the amount of rest that I did this time. Having operated my own B & B for ten years on the west coast, I thought of making one or two minor suggestions, such as a shelf or small table beside the bathroom sink and mirror for women's makeup convenience. (I noticed space for this in the other suites.) A greatly appreciated feature for me was the little electric fireplace in my room, the VERY comfortable bed and the facilities for making my early morning coffee. My breakfasts were indeed outstanding, as was the fact that I was able to invite my own guests for one breakfast! I do hope an occasion arises for me to visit this beautiful heritage home again! -Kathie.


Wonderful hosts and beautiful home and garden setting

5 on October 29, 2010

Haddon House is located in Central Vancouver, easy to find with directions. Johannes & Marie Louise are wonderful hosts. We were pleasantly greeted by Johannes and shown to our tastefully decorated room which was on the upper floor of the home. There is a common area for the rooms with a wonderful library, computer for guest use, small fridge and facilities to make a hot drink. Some refreshments are provided. A full breakfast was served in the dining room, enabling us to converse with other guests. In the morning we met Marie Louise before she left for work. We are pretty particular where we stay and we look forward to a return visit to Hadden House.


Wonderful, Personal, Great Location

4.8 on April 26, 2009

We stayed here in early April 2009 and loved it. It's near a wonderful park we went to a few times, it's not too far from Vancouver and other attractions. The food was amazing. The first morning we had the signature breakfast (detailed on their site), which was wonderful. The second morning, we had something completely different, made from locally-made ingredients. In addition to the standard fruit, breads, cereal, and cheeses available. The rooms are very comfortable, the shower was wonderful. Would highly recommend this place.


Great B&B!

5 on April 13, 2008

Our trip to Vancouver was brilliant due to the helpfulness of our hosts. We had a great time throughly enjoying the comfort of our room with the great facilities, the breakfasts were excellent and the library a lovely place to sit and read. would highly recommend a stay at Haddon House.


Haddon House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 139 - CAD 199
  • Reviews (14) 4.9
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6045222363
  • Fax 1-6045222017
  • Mobile 1-6045059501
  • Toll free 1-8885222363

Visit Website »

View details

Top