Recent Reviews in Battle Lake, Minnesota

wonderful, peaceful getaway! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2016

We just stayed for 1 night, but had a lovely time.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

Xanadu is a wonderful, relaxing B&B! Everything is so friendly and comfortable that you feel like you're visiting family! We stayed in the Master Bedroom, and it was very nice. We almost wished the weather was cooler so we could light up the beautiful fireplace in the room and sit in front of it in the comfortable wicker glider-for-two! There are windows on 3 sides and a ceiling fan, so cross ventilation kept the room very comfortable. The bed was great! We slept very well, and awakened in the morning to the peaceful sound of birdsong! Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts and we felt very welcome and relaxed. Snacks are out 24-hours a day, so if you feel like a slice of that yummy pumpkin bar for a midnight snack, you can do that! Breakfasts are out of this world! Filling and delicious! There are lots of activities available, from paddle boats to fishing boats, skiing and swimming. We sat out by the lakefront and watched the wildlife. So relaxing and peaceful. Wished we could stay longer! We will next time!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

Fabulous Stay! You can't get any better than the beautiful setting of Xanadu Island, the outstanding meals and decadent goodies are plentiful and amazing, Margie and Bubba are the best of hosts and make you feel welcome and at home from arrival to departure. Top notch all around.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

Xanadu is a wonderful place to stay. We were disappointed that we didn't book for longer! We know better now! The house is just beautiful, and has a very comfortable, homey feel. This feeling is magnified by the proprietors, Bubba and Margie, who are so friendly and welcoming that you feel like you are staying with family! There's plenty to do, lots of water sports equipment available, and the water is crystal clear. The breakfasts were nothing short of spectacular! Delicious and very filling -- we didn't need to eat lunch! Snacks are available 24 hours a day, so if you feel like a slice of the yummy pumpkin bars at midnight, go for it! We stayed in the Master Bedroom, which was as comfortable as it was beautiful! The bed is so comfy, and the morning so peaceful (waking up to the birdsongs is divine!) that you almost want to sleep in, but don't -- you don't want to miss a minute of the day! Just an outstanding experience! I am looking forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2016

We were greeted by name, shown around and given free rein of the beautiful property. Margie and Bubba are very kind and gracious hosts. The food was plentiful and excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on May 25, 2016

I loved staying here

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully relaxing! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2015

My wife and I went to Xanadu on our honeymoon. Margie and Bubba completely outdid themselves. The place is beautiful to begin with, cozy, serene, quiet, and a perfect getaway. That would've been enough, but then you couple it with Margie and Bubba's warm, welcoming personalities and it feels like you're visiting Gramma's house. I cannot recommend this place enough. It sets a standard that few other B&B's can touch.

View more reviews for this inn


Natural setting at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on September 03, 2015

We keep coming back for the birds, the wild flowers and the great hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful setting at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2015

My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Xanadu Island. It is a beautiful spot with lots of available outdoor activities. The lodge has an interesting history and it was fun to see how it has changed through the years and yet still kept its original charm. Our room (Lakeside) had an amazing view of the lake. We have stayed at many B & B's through the years, but we both felt that Margie and Bubba were the most welcoming hosts we have met. They went out of their way to visit with everyone and make sure you were comfortable and had everything you needed. We would definitely like to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Cottage stay at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on June 21, 2015

We stayed in the Maids cabin for 2 nights. The Innkeepers were very nice and answered property questions and told the history when asked but left us alone when we wanted to be alone. Loved being on the lake and complimentary use of the boats.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on May 28, 2015

We chose this location as a overnight stop on the way to our destination. The offer to take advantage of their extra night gave us the pleasure of a mini getaway. Now we will see Xanadu as a destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2015

We loved staying overnight at Xanadu on our way to Fargo. Margie and Bubba made us feel very welcomed immediately by greeting us with fresh baked cookies. It is a gorgeous house built in the 1920's but with beautiful modern updataes.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend get away at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

Xanadu far exceded our expectations. We have been to numerous bed and breakfasts, Xanadu is nicest we have been to. The setting is quiet and picturesque. They have boats and canoes to use, good fishing on Elbow Lake. Breakfast alone was a reason to stay. Don't know who is the better cook and all guests were asked about likes and dislikes. What really set Xanadu apart from others was the conversations with the owners. They really enjoy socializing with all of the guest, whether at breakfast or in front of the 100 year old fire place. We plan to make this anniversary tradition.

View more reviews for this inn


A time for us! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2014

Wonderful, romantic and worth it!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2014

Zanadu is like a " little piece of heaven" Fell in love with it on first visit and come back twice a year. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The owners Bubba and Margie go above and beyond every visit. You can use the boats,beach,canoes with no extra fees.We love the fishing. The breakfasts are awesome and. fill you up all day. Margie always asks if you have allergies or restrictions and modify. There are trials,state parks lots to do. I highly recommend going here! Kay and Jim Clemmer.

View more reviews for this inn


Will go back again and again at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2014

Beautiful place for a quite get away. I would recommend going in the fall or spring if you really want a quite weekend as they do rent cabins out to families but we were there earlier September and it was perfect for just a few moments of peace.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, relaxing Xanadu at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Xanadu. Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts. We had a chance to take the canoe out on beautiful, clear Elbow Lake before breakfast one morning. We enjoyed the loons and the peacefulness on the water. The history of the property is very interesting as well. The breakfasts were awesome and end with dessert!! We would highly recommend Xanadu to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique B&B at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2014

We had a lovely time. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. The scenery was inspiring.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite B&B at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2014

Bubba and Margie have what it takes to provide their guests an outstanding experience at their lovely B&B. We recently returned from our third visit to Xanadu Island and will return next year. And, did I mention the wonderful breakfasts and snacks?! Superb!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Celebration at Xanadu! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Xanadu B&B. Margie and Bubba were fantastic hosts! The rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast amazing. It was fun get to meet the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Xanadu is magical! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2014

As one enters the property the lane narrows to as if to squeeze out any weights of the office or home. Relaxation personified!

View more reviews for this inn


Take the time to stay at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2014

Our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful experience. We will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Not sure another B & B can beat Xanadu! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2014

Our stay was absolutely amazing! Bubba and Margie by far are the best hosts we have ever had the pleasure staying with. They make you feel as at home as you can possibly be, like they have known you forever. The food was delicious, enough to make you want to miss lunch all together. The house and Island are breath taking. Battle Lake has so much history in it's small town, I never knew and I'm glad we got a chance to figure it out! I now understand why Xanadu Island has so many returning guests. We will be adding to that list! Thank You Bubba and Margie for welcoming us into your home and onto your beautiful island! Angie and Matt- Andover, MN

View more reviews for this inn


the perfect getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2014

Absolutely just a beautiful place to stay

View more reviews for this inn


Everything was great - except... at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on August 18, 2014

I liked everything about our stay except that the water smelled like fish. It wasn't romantic to take a jacuzzi in a hot tub full of water that made me smell like a trout. I know it was on a peninsula and was surrounded by a lake, which was AWESOME. But the water smelling and tasting like lake water was pretty gross. I don't know if they can use some sort of filtration device or something - but everything else was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to kick back and relax at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on August 17, 2014

The owners, Margie and Bubba were wonderful and the breakfast's are delicious. It's a peaceful location, loved hearing the loons in the early morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Place at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 16, 2014

Peaceful, serene, hospitable, kind, tons to do, excellent food, gracious hosts... Cannot wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


The truth of Xanadu Island at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Meeting people like Margie and Bubba makes a person's life better. You are more than just dollar sign and occupant of the room. You are treated as a member of the family. They go above and beyond any type of service from a hotel and make it your home away from home. We could rave on and on but we will just say you can never go wrong with visiting Xanadu Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Gem at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2014

This is a gem. A must stay if you are in the area. The rooms are large & very comfortable. The breakfast was great as well.

View more reviews for this inn


.the most romantic and relaxing place on earth at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2014

We drove there and didn't know what to expect, when you get off the tar road you drive on gravel for a 1/4 of a mile, and then down a narrow path beside a corn field, then into the woods, the road narrows and curves along and then you come out, and up, and the house is in front of you, kind of quaint, until you walk in the front door, huge living room, wood and windows, very beautiful, very comfortable, the view from the deck, and the magnificent oaks, and the lake.Margie comes out and welcomes us, and shows us around, then in comes Buba, nice fella, we had the most fun and felt like we had come home from a long trip, we talked , and felt like we were family, we will go back and stay longer next time, we stayed in the fireplace room, huge windows that opened up towards a view of the lake, and the other window a view of the bay on the other side of the island, a massive stone fireplace, with have of a log for a mantel, the bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed many hours there, we sat and sipped wine cheese, and crackers out on the deck, that we brought with, and we accidentally dropped a cracker and low and behold here's this chipmunk comes right up to us and snatches that cracker and eats it in front of us, all the sounds of the lake were prevalent there, the loons, and the ducks, and herons, when you go you will have to check out the two person hammock, what fun, in the morning I woke to the best cup of coffee I've had in a long time and me and zona polished off two carafes before breakfast, and then we ate like royalty, anyway it felt that and who doesn't want their get away to feel that way, I've, we've never felt so welcomed at any place where we have stayed like we did when we stayed at Xanadu Bed & Breakfast, and Resort, It will always have a special place in our memories, and we will return to make many more.John & Zona.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}