Give the gift of a getaway!

Recent Reviews in Batavia, Ohio

lifestyle of the loved and cared for at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

The 1861 Inn has everything you need. It could not have been more comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were decadent and made ready for any us anytime we wanted them. The owners were delightful. The house and the grounds were amazing. We stayed from Thursday through Sunday, July 16-20 2015 and truly hope we will have another opportunity to stay at the 1861 Inn. The Barr's Winter Park , FL

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding In Every Way at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

The 1861 Inn was the perfect place to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. Carole and Tom have put a lot of thought and effort into making their beautiful home a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. They’re the real deal - hosts who truly have it in their hearts to serve their guests and make them comfortable. We’ve never felt more appreciated at any place we’ve ever stayed before. As we were settling in, Tom offered to bring us a beer or a glass of wine. We mentioned our dinner preferences and they recommended an outstanding restaurant that turned out to be just what we had in mind. In the evening, we took advantage of the outdoor jacuzzi and the romantic setting. We stayed in Jenny’s Retreat, and it was everything we hoped for when we booked our reservation. The room was lovely and very well appointed. We even had our own screened in porch. The bed was so comfortable that we ended up sleeping like a couple of babies. In the morning, Tom brought coffee right to our room. Shortly afterwards, we went to the Dining Room where Carole served up a breakfast that was off the charts. She made from scratch, gourmet fare that included, among other things, a stack of Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with fresh blueberries. She even gave us the recipe before we left. Looking at it after we got home confirmed what we knew at breakfast: our pancakes weren't quick or easy to make. That’s an illustration of how Carole and Tom do things, and how they blessed our stay at the 1861 Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Our 'Second' Honeymoon Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2015

We had a 'second' honeymoon getaway weekend at the 1861 Inn in November 2014, and loved it! Very romantic, quiet, and our room was beautiful. It was exactly the sort of relaxing weekend we needed. Carole and Tom made great recommendations for dinner, and we had a nice time checking out the shops in a nearby town. Breakfast was delicious, and the conversation with our hosts was even better! We can't wait to go back to see how big baby Henry is!

View more reviews for this inn


Midwest Regatta Weekend at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on May 19, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn. Immediately greeted by all with graciousness and hospitality. They accommodated our daughter's early breakfast, packed a 'to go' breakfast for my wife and made us feel welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay with Carole and Tom! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on May 16, 2015

Had a wonderful stay at 1861 Inn for my husband's birthday on May 6. Tom and Carole were wonder hosts and their dog, Marley, was a hoot! From the time we arrived, we we given a historic tour of the premises and catered to. We stayed in Jenny's room which was very nice and clean. The private balcony was screened in and overlooked the pool area. I can't say enough about this gem, except that we had a marvelous time! Will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


25th Anniversary Getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on May 01, 2015

This was our first stay at 1861 Inn and we had a wonderful time. My husband and I have stayed at several different B/B's and it's neat to see how unique each one is. We were met out in the driveway, by both Tom and Carol. Such a great couple! Tom gave us a tour of the B/B and told us the historic part of it. He brought coffee up to our room each morning. Because it was our Anniversary we had a nice treat in our room that Carol had made. Carol is an awesome cook and each breakfast was delicious! I even was able to get a couple recipes. :) Thank you Tom and Carol for being such great hosts and for helping us celebrate our 25th Anniversary and making our stay so Memorable!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Night at 1861 Inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2015

My husband and I stayed in the cottage during our stay at 1861. Carol and Tom are wonderful hosts - because my husband and I have an old home, they took us for a "tour" around the house to show us the wonderful and historical elements of the house. Carol is a wonderful cook - the breakfast was very delicious. Tom was kind enough to deliver some coffee to us as we got ready. My husband loved the specially crafted mugs that we purchased two of them! And of course, if you're missing your dog, Marley is always game for a nice a belly scratch! We definitely would stay at the 1861 Inn again if we ever travel back/through Cincinnati.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.2 reviewed on April 21, 2015

We quite enjoyed our stay at the 1861 Inn. The rooms were beautiful (we used all three) and the breakfast was awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite inn! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on April 12, 2015

This was a repeat visit for us. The inn is delightful! The house, the rooms, the gourmet breakfast, the hosts, their friendly dog, the location, and the history. We will continue to return and we live hundreds of miles away.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on March 18, 2015

This was a truly charming B&B. Carole and Tom were very welcoming and really went out of their way to try to make our stay comfortable. The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious. We stayed in the guest cottage, which was a little on the small side but still wonderful - since it's in the property's old smokehouse, we expected it to be a little small, so no real complaint there. They made very good use of that space and we were quite comfortable. There is a dog on the premises, so if you're allergic you'll have issues, but we love dogs so no problem there. Can't really think of anything bad to say about the place - it was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely wonderful stay! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2015

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed! The room was huge and quite frankly I could have planted myself in that claw foot tub! The inn keepers are very friendly and knowledgable about the history of the property, and the breakfast was fantastic. The inn is close enough to Cincinnati to see and do what you want, but far enough out to be peaceful and quiet with really nice scenery. If you have never been here you absolutely should! We will definitely be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Once again OUTSTANDING! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2015

As repeat guest, we have always enjoyed Tom and Carol. They are the best hosts. We have stayed a several B&B's but Tom and Carol are hands down the best. Then there is Marley. He gets excited when guests arrive and then just melts to the floor when you start petting him. As always, breakfast was amazing. Planning on a return visit in the spring and summer. If you are reading this review and you've never been, it needs to be added to your to do list. You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Valentines Day Weekend at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2015

Tom and Carole are so welcoming! Rooms were amazing! Breakfast was delicious! Can only say 2 negative things about the 1861 Inn: 1) Only one night is not enough time to spend there and 2) we couldn't bring Marley home with us. We will definitely be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


You owe it to yourself at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2015

The 1861 Inn is the epitome of what a B&B experience should be. I was in the Cincinnati area for business and decided to ‘break the mold’ and try something different from staying in a typical road warrior hotel. Innkeepers Tom and Carole were incredibly gracious and detailed the long history of the pre Civil War property. After a brief tour of the home, I relaxed and enjoyed a fine Kentucky bourbon in the Inn’s cozy study while conversing about the various artworks in the house. If you are lucky, their loving spaniel Marley may stroll into the study to say hello. Ask to see the water closet just off the study, as it includes dozens of photos of dogs they have know, or possibly even a photo of your dog if you choose to send them one. I slept in Jenny’s Room, which includes a private screened porch with a wonderful view of the pool and wooded back yard. Unfortunately it was too cool in February to fully enjoy the porch, but I will definitely return in the Spring with my girlfriend, when the grounds begin to green. The bed in Jenny’s room was warm and one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The mornings breakfast was something you will never experience in a Marriott, etc., hotel as I was delighted with a warm fruit compote, and an amazing breakfast soufflé. Give yourself time to enjoy the breakfast, and a second, or third cup of coffee.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2015

My husband and I planned a getaway after ten years and four kids. We were not disappointed. Carole and Tom were fantastic, warm, welcoming hosts who completely put us at ease. The food was delectable, the lodging comfortable, clean and sumptuous; and the overall stay was a relaxing delight. We felt so spoiled when we got back home to reality, we found ourselves wishing for Carole and Tom! Highly recommend!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience keeps us coming back! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2014

We have stayed with Carole and Tom several times over the past few years and each time we have found the accommodations to be consistently high quality. The innkeepers are gracious and friendly, the food is careflly prepared, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The Inn has an historic charm that adds to the total experience.

View more reviews for this inn


hidden gem east of cincinnati at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 28, 2014

we were looking for a "rural bnb experience" before our 2nd child arrived. we were not interested in traveling far, and delighted to find 1861 Inn in old Batavia. It couldn't have been more appropriate for what we wanted...7 acres, beautiful old estate, quiet, cozy, and friendly. Tom and Carole were great. The were professional, experienced inn-keepers. They were accommodating with small things that kept my wife comfortable during late pregnancy, the food was outstanding, and their joy about operating the bnb was infectious. We will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful retreat at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at 1861 Inn. Carole and Tom were delightful hosts and the room (Riverside Room) was very cozy and relaxing. The soaking tub is the biggest I've ever used and the shower doubles as a steam room. Carole also made us a 4 course meal. The shrimp and grits were very tasty and the endless wine made it a very lovely evening in. We would like to come back in the summer to take advantage of the pool and hot tub! Allergy note: My husband and I both suffer from allergy (dust and dog) but did not have trouble even in this old house. Everything was kept very clean. If you have a dog allergy, just let the owners know in advance. We did not mention it but did not have any trouble.

View more reviews for this inn


A WONDERFUL BREAK at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2014

My friend and I decided to stay at a Bed and Breakfast to break up our travels back home from our vacation. Carole and Tom were very kind, even when we came in a lot later than expected. The room was wonderful. The bed very comfortable and breakfast the next morning was excellent. I am certainly planning a return trip some day.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous weekend at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2014

We were looking for a B & B in the Cinci area and ended up at 1861 Inn. Tom and Carole were exceptionally friendly, very attentive, and made sure that we were settled comfortably. They provided dinning options (that were excellent) and directions to various places around town. The breakfasts on both days were plentiful and excellent. The setting was quiet and secluded, yet easy to get to and convenient to the area and Cincinnati. The room and bed was comfortable and we had access to other parts of the Inn. I would definitely recommend 1861 Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Relaxing at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on October 14, 2014

My wife and I had a very relaxing stay. Nice retreat away from home to enjoy the quiet, the food and the peaceful ambience.

View more reviews for this inn


Falll getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2014

We had our fall getaway at the 1861 Inn this year and it was wonderful. The food was outstanding and I ate way too much but it was worth every bite. We wanted all the recipes. We were greeted our first night by Marley the dog and sat in the library which was filled with interesting books, with a glass of wine and great conversation with the innkeepers, Tom and Carol. The rooms were relaxing, the bed very, very comfortable. The chocolate left out for us were a real treat. All the rooms of the Inn were covered with so many antiques and other items of interest. We wanted to stay another day just to look at everything. Tom gave us excellent ideas of places to eat dinner and explore. He also told us the interesting history of the Inn itself. We look forward to coming here again. The grounds were beautiful with all the flowers and trees in the fall, so we would love to see it in the spring and/or summer too. Definitely a place to check out if you are every in the area or need a getaway from all the hassles of the everyday world.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely wonderful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here so much we didn't want to leave. Every aspect of our stay from the location, to the rooms, to the food was outstanding. The location of the 1861 Inn is both beautiful and convenient, you can get to Cincinnati in 15-20 minutes and there are several very cool small towns even closer. The owners were so nice and welcoming, they made you feel like you were part of their family. They know the houses' history and the history of the surrounding area inside and out. The house itself is great, both very historic and very comfortable. The food was delicious, completely different every day so each breakfast was an unique experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on October 07, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the 1861 Inn our wedding night. We had a wonderful time! Tom was very flexible with our arrival and departure time. The the Inn was lovely, the food was excellent! We enjoyed our host and his affectionate dog Marley. We would gladly stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


First time B&B-ers at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2014

Last weekend was my girlfriend's birthday and, as part of the weekend I planned, I booked the guest house at the 1861 Inn. First of all, the place is gorgeous inside and out, being a Civil War era property nestled in the woods. And we couldn't say enough about Tom and Carole, the innkeepers--they're absolutely fantastic, outgoing, and attentive. Carole brought wine out to the guest house while we made dinner reservations (at a place Tom suggested) and got ready to go out, and Tom brought us coffees on a tray the next morning at 8:30 sharp, exactly when he said he would do so. Oh, and about that dinner suggestion--Tom nailed it. The place was a fifteen minute drive away on a quaint, village street and our meals were out of this world. We had a few minor gripes: the bed was a tad hard for our taste, the fireplace in the guest house hadn't been made ready for the winter yet and wasn't usable, and the guest house bathroom was a little small. However, it had been 80 degrees the week before, so we can't blame them for the fireplace issue, and the bathroom size is simply a limitation set by the structure of the historic guest house, so it's not really the innkeepers' fault at all. And anyway, the overall experience was so much more than anything we would take off marks for. To shorten the review: Carole's breakfast was delicious, the history Tom shared about the house and its previous residents, as well as the architecture and even the furniture was fascinating, and they even had a recommendation and tips for an upcoming trip we have planned for Toronto! We feel spoiled that this was our first time at a B&B, because Tom & Carole at the 1861 just shined in every respect, and this at a budget price that, looking back, seems almost criminally low compared to hotels where I've stayed in the past.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed in a B&B but the first for 1861 Inn. I have to say that it was more delightful that the other B&B. Breakfast was wonderful! If you went away hungry, it was your own fault. Carole and Tom were very friendly and went out of their way to include us in their activities. I definitely would recommend it to anyone and I am looking forward to returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B&B at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

This was our first stay ever at a B&B. It was a superb experience. 1861 is in a great location. It is far enough out of Cincinnati to be able to enjoy the country side, yet close enough to go into town for events or business or entertainment. Tom and Carole are great, relaxed hosts, but both have that quiet competence that ensures your stay is great. Whenever you go into your room, look around quickly for the surprise snack. There is usually one there!

View more reviews for this inn


Repeat Customers for a Reason at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to The 1861 Inn and we will certain return should we come through the area again. We spent 3 nights at the inn this visit and slept like babies each night . .I really want to know how come these beds seem more comfy than my tempur-pedic at home. Maybe I should've taken a peek! Our room was very spacious and we loved that openness. Coffee is awesome, breakfasts are delicious and more than filling. No one is rushed and we find it interesting to chat with other guests. Tom and Carole are very relaxed yet attentive hosts. We felt from the get go that our comfort is their priority. The grounds are beautiful and you should allow yourself to be drawn to one of two porches to catch up on reading or work.. . . or swing. I find myself caught up in the history of this inn as the owners have added more photos and information on staircase walls. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Heartily recommend 1861 Inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 22, 2014

I try always to stay at a B&B when traveling and so feel confident to say that 1861 Inn combines authenticity with top-notch modern conveniences. The decor is fitting with a home built mid-19th century with the exception of the bathrooms, which have been modernized with the highest quality materials. Everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Tom and Carol are wonderful hosts and Tom's directions are better than Google maps. I encourage a stay at 1861 Inn to sip coffee on the porch, enjoy the grounds and relax in Tom and Carol's expansive hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back!!!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 16, 2014

We had an amazing stay right from the beginning! Carole and Tom really know how to make you feel like family right from the beginning. The food was amazing, the property was gorgeous, the accommodations were cozy and many sites close by. We cannot wait to book our next trip out there, it was well worth the 5hrs drive.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. 1861 Inn (4.80)
Top
}