Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Batavia, Ohio

Wonderful experience keeps us coming back! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2014

We have stayed with Carole and Tom several times over the past few years and each time we have found the accommodations to be consistently high quality. The innkeepers are gracious and friendly, the food is careflly prepared, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The Inn has an historic charm that adds to the total experience.

View more reviews for this inn


hidden gem east of cincinnati at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 28, 2014

we were looking for a "rural bnb experience" before our 2nd child arrived. we were not interested in traveling far, and delighted to find 1861 Inn in old Batavia. It couldn't have been more appropriate for what we wanted...7 acres, beautiful old estate, quiet, cozy, and friendly. Tom and Carole were great. The were professional, experienced inn-keepers. They were accommodating with small things that kept my wife comfortable during late pregnancy, the food was outstanding, and their joy about operating the bnb was infectious. We will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful retreat at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at 1861 Inn. Carole and Tom were delightful hosts and the room (Riverside Room) was very cozy and relaxing. The soaking tub is the biggest I've ever used and the shower doubles as a steam room. Carole also made us a 4 course meal. The shrimp and grits were very tasty and the endless wine made it a very lovely evening in. We would like to come back in the summer to take advantage of the pool and hot tub! Allergy note: My husband and I both suffer from allergy (dust and dog) but did not have trouble even in this old house. Everything was kept very clean. If you have a dog allergy, just let the owners know in advance. We did not mention it but did not have any trouble.

View more reviews for this inn


A WONDERFUL BREAK at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2014

My friend and I decided to stay at a Bed and Breakfast to break up our travels back home from our vacation. Carole and Tom were very kind, even when we came in a lot later than expected. The room was wonderful. The bed very comfortable and breakfast the next morning was excellent. I am certainly planning a return trip some day.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous weekend at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2014

We were looking for a B & B in the Cinci area and ended up at 1861 Inn. Tom and Carole were exceptionally friendly, very attentive, and made sure that we were settled comfortably. They provided dinning options (that were excellent) and directions to various places around town. The breakfasts on both days were plentiful and excellent. The setting was quiet and secluded, yet easy to get to and convenient to the area and Cincinnati. The room and bed was comfortable and we had access to other parts of the Inn. I would definitely recommend 1861 Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Relaxing at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on October 14, 2014

My wife and I had a very relaxing stay. Nice retreat away from home to enjoy the quiet, the food and the peaceful ambience.

View more reviews for this inn


Falll getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2014

We had our fall getaway at the 1861 Inn this year and it was wonderful. The food was outstanding and I ate way too much but it was worth every bite. We wanted all the recipes. We were greeted our first night by Marley the dog and sat in the library which was filled with interesting books, with a glass of wine and great conversation with the innkeepers, Tom and Carol. The rooms were relaxing, the bed very, very comfortable. The chocolate left out for us were a real treat. All the rooms of the Inn were covered with so many antiques and other items of interest. We wanted to stay another day just to look at everything. Tom gave us excellent ideas of places to eat dinner and explore. He also told us the interesting history of the Inn itself. We look forward to coming here again. The grounds were beautiful with all the flowers and trees in the fall, so we would love to see it in the spring and/or summer too. Definitely a place to check out if you are every in the area or need a getaway from all the hassles of the everyday world.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely wonderful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here so much we didn't want to leave. Every aspect of our stay from the location, to the rooms, to the food was outstanding. The location of the 1861 Inn is both beautiful and convenient, you can get to Cincinnati in 15-20 minutes and there are several very cool small towns even closer. The owners were so nice and welcoming, they made you feel like you were part of their family. They know the houses' history and the history of the surrounding area inside and out. The house itself is great, both very historic and very comfortable. The food was delicious, completely different every day so each breakfast was an unique experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on October 07, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the 1861 Inn our wedding night. We had a wonderful time! Tom was very flexible with our arrival and departure time. The the Inn was lovely, the food was excellent! We enjoyed our host and his affectionate dog Marley. We would gladly stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


First time B&B-ers at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2014

Last weekend was my girlfriend's birthday and, as part of the weekend I planned, I booked the guest house at the 1861 Inn. First of all, the place is gorgeous inside and out, being a Civil War era property nestled in the woods. And we couldn't say enough about Tom and Carole, the innkeepers--they're absolutely fantastic, outgoing, and attentive. Carole brought wine out to the guest house while we made dinner reservations (at a place Tom suggested) and got ready to go out, and Tom brought us coffees on a tray the next morning at 8:30 sharp, exactly when he said he would do so. Oh, and about that dinner suggestion--Tom nailed it. The place was a fifteen minute drive away on a quaint, village street and our meals were out of this world. We had a few minor gripes: the bed was a tad hard for our taste, the fireplace in the guest house hadn't been made ready for the winter yet and wasn't usable, and the guest house bathroom was a little small. However, it had been 80 degrees the week before, so we can't blame them for the fireplace issue, and the bathroom size is simply a limitation set by the structure of the historic guest house, so it's not really the innkeepers' fault at all. And anyway, the overall experience was so much more than anything we would take off marks for. To shorten the review: Carole's breakfast was delicious, the history Tom shared about the house and its previous residents, as well as the architecture and even the furniture was fascinating, and they even had a recommendation and tips for an upcoming trip we have planned for Toronto! We feel spoiled that this was our first time at a B&B, because Tom & Carole at the 1861 just shined in every respect, and this at a budget price that, looking back, seems almost criminally low compared to hotels where I've stayed in the past.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed in a B&B but the first for 1861 Inn. I have to say that it was more delightful that the other B&B. Breakfast was wonderful! If you went away hungry, it was your own fault. Carole and Tom were very friendly and went out of their way to include us in their activities. I definitely would recommend it to anyone and I am looking forward to returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B&B at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

This was our first stay ever at a B&B. It was a superb experience. 1861 is in a great location. It is far enough out of Cincinnati to be able to enjoy the country side, yet close enough to go into town for events or business or entertainment. Tom and Carole are great, relaxed hosts, but both have that quiet competence that ensures your stay is great. Whenever you go into your room, look around quickly for the surprise snack. There is usually one there!

View more reviews for this inn


Repeat Customers for a Reason at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to The 1861 Inn and we will certain return should we come through the area again. We spent 3 nights at the inn this visit and slept like babies each night . .I really want to know how come these beds seem more comfy than my tempur-pedic at home. Maybe I should've taken a peek! Our room was very spacious and we loved that openness. Coffee is awesome, breakfasts are delicious and more than filling. No one is rushed and we find it interesting to chat with other guests. Tom and Carole are very relaxed yet attentive hosts. We felt from the get go that our comfort is their priority. The grounds are beautiful and you should allow yourself to be drawn to one of two porches to catch up on reading or work.. . . or swing. I find myself caught up in the history of this inn as the owners have added more photos and information on staircase walls. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Heartily recommend 1861 Inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 22, 2014

I try always to stay at a B&B when traveling and so feel confident to say that 1861 Inn combines authenticity with top-notch modern conveniences. The decor is fitting with a home built mid-19th century with the exception of the bathrooms, which have been modernized with the highest quality materials. Everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Tom and Carol are wonderful hosts and Tom's directions are better than Google maps. I encourage a stay at 1861 Inn to sip coffee on the porch, enjoy the grounds and relax in Tom and Carol's expansive hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back!!!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 16, 2014

We had an amazing stay right from the beginning! Carole and Tom really know how to make you feel like family right from the beginning. The food was amazing, the property was gorgeous, the accommodations were cozy and many sites close by. We cannot wait to book our next trip out there, it was well worth the 5hrs drive.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 05, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the 1861 Inn during our recent visit to the Kentucky/Cincinnati area...Although it was a bit out of the way, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I just wish we'd had more time to spend. Tom was very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A nice touch was a pot of tea delivered to our bedroom door in the morning. Our room was homey, comfortable and decorated very nicely. I so very much wanted to bathe in that tub!! Thank you very much for your hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent food, grounds, and POOL! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 04, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Pool House for two nights over labor day. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast food exceeded my expectations. Sitting areas are excellent - well designed, warm, and inviting. The pool is very well kept. Carol and Tom are exceedingly accommodating - Tom even brought coffee to our door in the morning. Highly recommend if you're going to be in the Cincy area, especially on the east side. Don't stay in a hotel. Stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing with great hospitality at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on August 26, 2014

we booked all the rooms for one nite so my family could stay and travel together. we have a special need son and , Carole and and Tom were very helpful to us in this area as well as with our stay. we loved the house and grounds, the way it is located away from the road sort of semi secluded. we love the history behind these old homes and our host are very knowledgeable about their properties.. truely you will only be a stranger for a short time when we left to go home we felt like family. would definitly return

View more reviews for this inn


SOOOO Relaxing at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2014

What a great, relaxing time. Beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, and outstanding food!! Thanks so much for a fantastic get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Low-key Retreat at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2014

Very convenient location- easy access to Main St. Batavia as well as Rt.32 for Eastgate area. We heard zero road noise at night, and that alone was worth the money. It was just a bonus to have no obnoxious travelers' children running the halls like we have experienced in too many commercial hotels. The hospitality and breakfast selections were exceptional. Overall, a pleasant, restful experience for our party. For space considerations, however, we recommend the suites in the main house.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Wonderful Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2014

We're new to Ohio and we're not familiar with lodging in and around Cincinnati. I searched the internet for options and something about the 1861 Inn caught my attention. I kept coming back to it after reviewing other properties. It was a perfect choice. Tom and Carole were wonderful and so very kind in every way. They recommended a terrific restaurant in a charming setting--a perfect start my wife's birthday celebration weekend. The inn is beautiful and we really enjoyed the serenity of the private porch overlooking the pool and forest behind it. The breakfasts were delicious and their company added so much to the experience. Tom & Carole's spaniel Marley was also a hit with both of us. He's a sweet boy and also great company. We also loved the relaxing, rural feel of the area and particularly on their beautiful property. Yet Cincinnati riverfront venues were only 25-30 minutes away. We very highly recommend the 1861 Inn. You'll be extremely happy with your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B nestled close to everything in Cincinnati at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

This charming B&B offered everything one might dream of in an accommodation. It was beautiful, restful, relaxing, and the food was AMAZING! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

The 1861 Inn is one I would choose again for a vacation stop. It was extremely clean, with delicious breakfasts offered to its guests. The rooms were very spacious and the bath area had lots of space to "park" your personal items. The atmosphere, as well as the owners, were very welcoming. If you choose the 1861 Inn B&B, you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Surprise at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

We were b&b rookies and were so pleasantly surprised and pleased with our experience. Carole and Tom were most gracious hosts and the inn itself is a historical marvel--with all the comforts of a modern home. There was something interesting around every corner. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Country Inn near the City at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

What a wonderful place stay! The accommodations are comfortable and the dining is gourmet. The house is full of rich history, but the innkeepers have brought in their own personal touches. My favorite memories are the wonderful breakfasts and the front porch swing. The breakfasts were a great surprise every day and they were served with personal attention and service. The front porch swing was a step back in time, when things moved more slowly. Especially the morning shade, it is a special place to "hang out". And don't forget you are near Cincinnati with all of the entertainment and dining th Queen City has to offer.

View more reviews for this inn


Rescued Us in a Pinch at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

The 1861 Inn was a wonderful place to stay in Southern Ohio. My wife and I were in a pinch during a recent trip to Indiana and Ohio. We were due to arrive in Southern Ohio on Sunday, and we received a call on Saturday from the owner of our previously booked Bed and Breakfast notifying us that they needed to cancel our reservation due to extenuating maintenance on the room. With less than 24 hours to locate a new place to stay, we went to B&B.com and found the 1861 Inn. In finding the 1861 Inn, we found a lovely B&B to rest at during our two days in Southern Ohio. We enjoyed the privacy that we had out in the pool house, while still having the feel of a B&B. The owners of the B&B were extremely accommodating and had great recommendations for places to eat and sights to see while we were in that area. The 1861 Inn provided to be a great surprise on our trip, and it is a place that we plan to return to the next time we are in the Cincinnati area.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on July 07, 2014

loved this inn and innkeepers were delightful - very relaxed atmosphere, breakfasts were delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Food and Beaurtiful Relaxing Setting at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on July 03, 2014

Fabulous beautiful B&B. Tom and Carol are such kind warm hosts . You will enjoy amazing food and a beautiful get away at the 1861 Inn. Tom and Carol also preserve and share interesting history from the Civil war period of this original home. A wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

We spent the night at the 1861 Inn in the Pool Cottage to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. This was our first stay at a B&B and we will definitely return. Tom and Carole were so kind and welcoming. The cottage was cozy and perfect for our little getaway. Our favorite part of our stay was the pool/hot tub! Everything was clean and comfortable. We loved the "Sweet Dreams" surprise that we found on our bedside table before bedtime. We loved visiting with Marley and hearing Tom's stories about the house. Carole was warm and welcoming right from the start. The 1861 is a perfect place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Me and my wife were very happy with this entire package at the 1861 Inn. Our room was great, the service was great, the other guest were a pleasure to talk to. We highly recommend the 1861 Inn if you are looking for a very relaxing and enjoyable getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. 1861 Inn (4.80)
Top
}