Recent Reviews in Batavia, Ohio

WONDERFUL RETREAT!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on June 28, 2016

Choose to stay here to get a rest while playing in a golf tournament. Turned into a much needed semi vacation with family and friends. The B&B is very peaceful and has great history. Carole , Tom and Marley were more than accommodating and gracious! Decided on the dinners made by Carole as well and 4 star food and service!! We enjoyed the pool and a fabulous massage! Carole handled all our details and our schedules and all went perfectly!! Will be back as I am in round two in the finals!! already rebooked the INN!!

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like home at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

3.6 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Just like home, warm and inviting and great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly a retreat! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Carole and Tom are so welcoming and hospitable. This was our second time here (we were here last year for our anniversary) and it was like we had just left. The pool was perfect for the hot day and the little treasure snacks are fun to find throughout the house. The breakfasts are just wonderful. Carole's love for cooking really shines through. Thank you for another great memory. Till next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Not your normal B&B, Carole and Tom make it family. This was our second stay, it was out of the park awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to stay! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

I stumbled upon this B&B when booking a nearly 2 week business trip in Batavia, OH -- just outside Cincinnati. I was a little concerned about how I would like staying there . . . especially for business. Those concerns were quickly alleviated when I arrived and met my hosts . . . Tom and Carole are absolutely wonderful! They made me feel very comfortable and were extremely accommodating to my needs. I stayed in the Guest Cottage, which is next to the pool. It's an adorable room and was very comfortable (it was originally built as the smokehouse). Due to the necessary early arrival at my client each day, I unfortunately did not get to enjoy Carole's breakfasts during the week. However, she ensured I had fresh fruit, yogurt, breakfast bars and hot tea in my room each day, as well as the water bottles that were in the fridge in my room. She also is a wonderful baker and kindly provided her tasty treats for me to enjoy throughout the week. I was very excited to be able to enjoy Carole's culinary expertise over the weekend, when she made terrific breakfasts! Carole also shared with me the history of this great home and, interestly enough, they have many artifacts from the original owners - including family photos passed along with the house and the artwork of the original owner's daughter! Extremely interesting! In addition, they have a wonderful dog named Marley, who has a sweet temperament. For me this was the greatest gift. Being away from home for work for nearly two weeks is difficult . . . I miss my home and my own pets . . . but Marley greeted me each day and was definitely a bright spot in a long business trip. Indeed, it felt like my home away from home. Finally, on the last day there I learned that Tom & Carole also have a little candle shop in town. I love candles, so I went to check it out and found some cute items to buy. If you like candles, be sure to ask them about this. The 1861 Inn is a 'must visit' when in the Cincinnati area!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

This is our 4th visit staying with Carole and Tom and it won't be our last. They greet us like old friends and are very accommodating with my husband's food allergies. A beautiful home with gorgeous rooms surrounded with serene landscaping, a wonderful place for that special occasion!

View more reviews for this inn


Who would have thought! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2016

When looking for a B&B who would have thought there would be a little known treasure in Batavia, Ohio. My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's over the last 15 years from Kentucky to Virginia to Maine and found The 1861 Inn to be one of the best overall experiences we've had. The beautifully appointed home offered all the amenities for a quiet, relaxing stay. We recommend you opt for the evening dinner, the food was prepared and served to perfection by your gracious hosts;Tom and Carol. We highly recommend The 1861 Inn and will be returning to enjoy another relaxing visit.

View more reviews for this inn


What a treasure! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2016

FANTASTIC service! These people have certainly earned one of the spots for being among the "Top Ten Bed and Breakfasts in Cincinnati". Carol and Tom offered nothing but the best in everything; from the breathtaking views of the grounds outside, to the priceless home furnishings inside..all of which entailed some fascinating history! Delicious food, great hospitality, and even a friendly dog, to add, made this experience well worth every penny! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Unmatched Experience at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2016

I am a pretty picky traveler and it takes a lot to impress me. From the moment we approached the Inn’s sign on the side of the road, to the picturesque ride up the drive to the main home, to the stunning grounds, painstakingly cared for and meticulously decorated home, unmatched service from Tom and Carole, and the lengths to which the hosts and property go to ensure your stay is absolutely perfect…this is an unparalleled experience. The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been choosing to stay at the Inn for more than one night! The breakfast was delicious and Tom and Carole both ensure you have everything you need from wine upon arrival, complimentary snacks at all times, to fresh coffee delivered to your door in the morning. We stayed in Jenny's Retreat where the original hardwood floors are breathtaking and the bed was perhaps one of the most comfortable I've slept in. A plate of mouthwatering brownies were delivered to our room at some point while we were out for dinner! The private porch was a lovely addition for our morning coffee listening to the birds chirp and looking out over the pool below. I could go on… Overall, highly recommended. Thank you Tom and Carole for living and breathing hospitality like we have never seen before. This is now our new ‘go-to’ place! Thank you for a lovely night spent in your beautiful Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our meals were beautifully presented and delicious. The history of the house is fascinating, and the innkeepers are warm and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Great House, Friendly People, Beautiful Dog, and Very Tasty Vegan Food at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2016

My wife and I chose the 1861 Inn instead of a hotel/motel when we visited Batavia for two nights. Because we would not have time for breakfast the second morning, due to us having to catch a 7:15 A.M. flight, Carole prepared a light lunch for us on our arrival. The next day we had a very early morning appointment and couldn't fit in breakfast, but again Carole accommodated us and served a late breakfast upon our return. Both meals were excellent in taste and presentation. And, just as important to us, she prepared our dishes vegan to suit our life style. Our stay was great and so much more pleasant than if we had chosen a hotel or motel. The Cottrills are friendly and intent on pleasing their guests. Their house is charming with interesting history, and Marley, the beautiful dog, is a real treat.

View more reviews for this inn


Very satisfied! Wonderful stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

My wife and I spent one night at 1861 for our 3rd wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Carol and Tom were very hospitable with great service and the Penn house was very beautiful. I enjoyed hearing some of the history of the home. It was well decorated and very clean, we left feeling refreshed and relaxed!

View more reviews for this inn


What a find! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2015

There I was, on Friday evening of our anniversary weekend, trying to come up with a decent "Plan B." Our initial wish for a weekend get away to a cottage in the woods had fallen through due to other commitments. I was trying to figure out which of these nearer options wouldn't feel like "settling for less." Carole, Tom and Marley came through for us. What a wonderful old home, gracious and friendly hosts, and fabulous breakfast. We loved hearing the history of the place on our arrival, relaxed by the fire in our room before retiring for the night, and had a breakfast that was way beyond expectations. The little touches abounded, and the entire experience made us realize that this should have been our Plan A all along!

View more reviews for this inn


great place and very nice people in Carol and Tom at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2015

great place and very nice people in Carol and Tom

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful get a way for our anniversary. at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Took my wife to 1861 Inn for a surprise night's stay. Carol and Tom were wonderful in sharing the house with us, the history and all. We stayed in the small cozy quest house out by the pool and enjoyed all aspects of it. Very comfortable and a real delight for me and my wife. The breakfast was great and company of Carol and Tom was equally great. The value for all things was well worth it. Looking forward to spending some more time there.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to visit in Ohio at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2015

Carol, Tom and Marley (their dog) are lovely hosts and cook an incredible breakfast. The house holds a beautiful history and has been loved throughout the years. Enjoy!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2015

The hospitality was awesome. We had their dinner and it was wonderful. We plan to return

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful in every way! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2015

Carole and Tom provided an exceptional experience in every way. The rooms.....comfortable and well done. The breakfasts.....delicious, varied, and plentiful. The library.....relaxing. The grounds....picturesque and pleasant. 1861 Inn is a delight. we'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like going home at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2015

This is our absolute favorite B & B. Carole & Tom make us feel like family. Love to go as often as we can.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely magical at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2015

This is a solid 10. We found this beautiful and friendly inn to be absolutely magical. The ambiance, the antiques and setting were beyond words. The kindness and generosity of the owners, Carol and Tom made our time here relaxing and welcoming. Their generosity of time in relating the history of their home added to the great and memory-making weekend. The excellent and creative breakfast started the day and the relaxing time sitting on the porch in the evening completed our day.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy birthday weekend getaway! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2015

Nancy Kibbey Young — 5 starWe stayed at the 1861 Inn last weekend for my birthday. My husband could not have picked a better place. It was peaceful and we enjoyed some much needed rest and relaxation. We spent hours by the pool reading and time in the pool swimming and floating. Tom and Carole were wonderful and welcoming and seemed to have thought of everything. The rooms were beautiful and cozy and had everything we needed. We loved hearing about the history of the inn and taking a tour. Breakfast both days was so beautiful to look at and a pleasure to eat. Marley, the resident springer spaniel is so well mannered and fun to play with. I looked forward to seeing him each day We are looking forward to a return trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary, our first time at a bed and breakfast. Wow! The house and grounds are so beautifully kept and you can see the love and hard work that Carole & Tom have put into every inch of it. We loved hearing all the rich history of the house and the keepsakes they have from way back are so interesting to see. The pool was fantastic - we spent so much time in there Tom told us we were going to get water logged! The inn will definitely be a new quick getaway for us. We stayed in Jenny's room which was lovely and had a private screened deck and private staircase to the pool. Oh, and how could I forget..... the breakfast was FANTASTIC. Thank you for everything Tom & Carole.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2015

Found through an online search and enjoyed everything about our visit. The food was excellent and the cottage was cozy and a very enjoyable place to stay. It was also very nice having a pool at our disposal and Tom and Carole were very good hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway 1861 Inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 01, 2015

Enjoyable every time we stay at 1861 Inn. Tom and Carole are attentive and engaging hosts. Excellent meals prepared by Carole. Great conversations with other guests. Various room choices depending on your tastes and needs.

View more reviews for this inn


That Special Somewhere at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

I was looking for somewhere special to take my husband to celebrate his birthday. The 1861 Inn intrigued me since my husband enjoys history and historical places. All the reviews I read were so positive and as it turns out they were also spot on!! Carole and Tom are a superb hostess and host duo. The 1861 Inn exceeded my expectations in every way. We would not hesitate to recommend the Inn and hope to go back again soon! Monica K.

View more reviews for this inn


1861 inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2015

Great hosts at a quiet location

View more reviews for this inn


First Anniversary Weekend at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2015

Let me start by saying that the 1861 Inn had some very large shoes to fill in our minds as we were married at another B&B last year that has since closed. We had been to this previous one 8 + times and adored the innkeepers. To put it mildly, we were blown away!!! Tom and Carole were the most gracious hosts and the Inn itself and the surroundings are just as spectacular! We stayed in the Guest Cottage and it was lovely, charming, cozy and the bed very comfortable. We spent all day lounging by the pool, hubby even dozed off a couple times on the raft!! Carole and Tom joined us in the evening poolside and we chatted for hours like long lost friends! The breakfasts were not only delicious, but the presentation was just as beautiful! Tom is a delightful storyteller and shared the history of the Inn one morning at breakfast. I would highly recommend the 1861 Inn; in fact we have already booked another weekend in August!!

View more reviews for this inn


lifestyle of the loved and cared for at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

The 1861 Inn has everything you need. It could not have been more comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were decadent and made ready for any us anytime we wanted them. The owners were delightful. The house and the grounds were amazing. We stayed from Thursday through Sunday, July 16-20 2015 and truly hope we will have another opportunity to stay at the 1861 Inn. The Barr's Winter Park , FL

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding In Every Way at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

The 1861 Inn was the perfect place to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. Carole and Tom have put a lot of thought and effort into making their beautiful home a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. They’re the real deal - hosts who truly have it in their hearts to serve their guests and make them comfortable. We’ve never felt more appreciated at any place we’ve ever stayed before. As we were settling in, Tom offered to bring us a beer or a glass of wine. We mentioned our dinner preferences and they recommended an outstanding restaurant that turned out to be just what we had in mind. In the evening, we took advantage of the outdoor jacuzzi and the romantic setting. We stayed in Jenny’s Retreat, and it was everything we hoped for when we booked our reservation. The room was lovely and very well appointed. We even had our own screened in porch. The bed was so comfortable that we ended up sleeping like a couple of babies. In the morning, Tom brought coffee right to our room. Shortly afterwards, we went to the Dining Room where Carole served up a breakfast that was off the charts. She made from scratch, gourmet fare that included, among other things, a stack of Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with fresh blueberries. She even gave us the recipe before we left. Looking at it after we got home confirmed what we knew at breakfast: our pancakes weren't quick or easy to make. That’s an illustration of how Carole and Tom do things, and how they blessed our stay at the 1861 Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Our 'Second' Honeymoon Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2015

We had a 'second' honeymoon getaway weekend at the 1861 Inn in November 2014, and loved it! Very romantic, quiet, and our room was beautiful. It was exactly the sort of relaxing weekend we needed. Carole and Tom made great recommendations for dinner, and we had a nice time checking out the shops in a nearby town. Breakfast was delicious, and the conversation with our hosts was even better! We can't wait to go back to see how big baby Henry is!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. 1861 Inn (4.81)
Top
}