Recent Reviews in Batavia, Ohio

Wonderfully Charming B&B I'd Rate 5 Stars at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Wonderful B&B we found online during our weekend stay in the Cinci area. Batavia really is close to many things in the area - we visited The Ark Encounter in Kentucky, as well as a winery, Jungle Jim's, and Ikea. The Innkeepers are so welcoming, accommodating, and hospitable. The history of this property is so interesting, and the property is impeccable. We opted for Friday evening Dinner, which was truly a culinary delight. Breakfast Saturday morning was the same. Food is EXCELLENT here!!! Their resident dog, Marley, is quite the character and we love dogs, so he was quite welcomed by us!! They are so knowledgeable of the area, offering tips and places to visit. We so enjoyed our brief visit in the "Smokehouse" or "Poolhouse" accommodation. Definitely worth the trip!!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the 1861 Inn. Tom and Carole are wonderful hosts and the food Carole prepares is phenomenal! We especially loved our morning conversations with them. The location is just beautiful too. Quiet and perfect for relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on August 21, 2016

We stayed 2 nights at the inn for our anniversary. Tom and Carole are amazing hosts. We stayed in the cottage which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfasts were heavenly! Tom & Carole entertained us by telling the history of the house and giving us a tour. They are so friendly and welcoming that you feel you have made new friends. Had a wonderful time and want to go back so we can try one of the rooms in the house!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on August 17, 2016

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights while vacationing in the area. Loved the history, location, gourmet breakfast and especially the wonderful conversation with Tom and Carole. Oh, and can't forget Marley!!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully renovated historic home that makes you feel welcome at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Location perfect - near the city, not in it, but with easy access to good golf and Jungle Jims. The house is nicely decorated in the period,spotlessly clean and not overly cluttered. The breakfast was outstanding and Carole and Tom are perfect hosts - very pleasant and easy to talk to but still give you lots of privacy. Loved the private pool at the end of a very warm day.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Alternative for Business Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Had a business trip to the area and decided to go somewhere other than a Courtyard Marriott. Carole and Tom were gracious hosts. Tom delivered a beer to the pool while I worked. The setting was so much better than a typical chain hotel. Crickets all night. Had a great run in the morning and then a beautiful and delicious breakfast. Marley, the Inn spaniel was also a gracious and loving host. I highly recommend you go out of your way to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


You Must Go!!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

We are leery to select B&B's when traveling because we travel mostly for work. Work long days and sometimes nights and are dog tired when we get to our room. We chose 1861 Inn on this trip because it was close to our jobsite and seemed like a perfect place to rest. Boy were we right!!!!! This Inn is the best we have ever stayed in and feel like we made some new friends in Tom and Carole. They are simply the perfect hosts. And their dog Marley....he is so special! We were privileged to get to meet their sweet grandson Henry as well. The breakfasts were out of this world and we are already talking about when we will be back in the area so we can stay again!! Loved this place!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Very relaxing! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the 1861 Inn. Carole and Tom made us feel right at home and served us a delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay with them again! The porch swing was very welcoming and I enjoyed soaking in the tub!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time, Will Stay Again! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

For our 6 year anniversary my husband and I wanted to do something different for our anniversary so we decided to choose and Bed and Breakfast. After a lot of looking we decided to visit the 1861 Inn, however we were a little nervous since we had never been to one. Once we arrived and met Carole we instantly knew we made the right choice. The 1861 Inn is a beautiful historic home that is full of character and love! We felt right at home as soon as we walked in. Carole and Tom are both amazing hosts and they went out of their way to make us feel at home, including helping with recommendations for dinner. We were able to enjoy a relaxing evening in the hot tub as well. We also had an amazing breakfast before we left the next morning. They truly made us feel welcome every moment we were there. An extra perk of the bed and breakfast was Marley!! The Inns four-legged canine. Marley was the sweetest dog! He would come running at you wanting pet and loved attention. I loved being able to see Marley! My husband and I both would love to visit the Inn again and I would recommended anyone that wanted a quiet relaxing evening to visit the 1861 Inn. It truly made our anniversary special!

View more reviews for this inn


You Couldn't Ask for Better at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2016

This was mine and my husband's first time at a fed and breakfast and we'll never go back to hotels again if we can help it. Carole and Tom are the most wonderful hosts. They're friendly, welcoming, accommodating and gently care about the people who stay at their Inn. Carole is an amazing chef and makes something different every morning. She doesn't even get upset when you forget to tell her about your hair stands food allergy AFTER she's cooked breakfast. Tom is funny and is a great guide for the historical facts of the property. Their dog Marley is also pretty amazing and if you're lucky you'll get to meet their handsome grandson too. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone and everyone. This will be the place I stay every time I come to Ohio. Outstanding! Exceeded all I'd my expectations and I'm pretty picky!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2016

Thanks..............for a real good time.

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL RETREAT!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on June 28, 2016

Choose to stay here to get a rest while playing in a golf tournament. Turned into a much needed semi vacation with family and friends. The B&B is very peaceful and has great history. Carole , Tom and Marley were more than accommodating and gracious! Decided on the dinners made by Carole as well and 4 star food and service!! We enjoyed the pool and a fabulous massage! Carole handled all our details and our schedules and all went perfectly!! Will be back as I am in round two in the finals!! already rebooked the INN!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2016

Thank you!..............For a real good time!

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like home at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

3.6 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Just like home, warm and inviting and great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly a retreat! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Carole and Tom are so welcoming and hospitable. This was our second time here (we were here last year for our anniversary) and it was like we had just left. The pool was perfect for the hot day and the little treasure snacks are fun to find throughout the house. The breakfasts are just wonderful. Carole's love for cooking really shines through. Thank you for another great memory. Till next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Not your normal B&B, Carole and Tom make it family. This was our second stay, it was out of the park awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to stay! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

I stumbled upon this B&B when booking a nearly 2 week business trip in Batavia, OH -- just outside Cincinnati. I was a little concerned about how I would like staying there . . . especially for business. Those concerns were quickly alleviated when I arrived and met my hosts . . . Tom and Carole are absolutely wonderful! They made me feel very comfortable and were extremely accommodating to my needs. I stayed in the Guest Cottage, which is next to the pool. It's an adorable room and was very comfortable (it was originally built as the smokehouse). Due to the necessary early arrival at my client each day, I unfortunately did not get to enjoy Carole's breakfasts during the week. However, she ensured I had fresh fruit, yogurt, breakfast bars and hot tea in my room each day, as well as the water bottles that were in the fridge in my room. She also is a wonderful baker and kindly provided her tasty treats for me to enjoy throughout the week. I was very excited to be able to enjoy Carole's culinary expertise over the weekend, when she made terrific breakfasts! Carole also shared with me the history of this great home and, interestly enough, they have many artifacts from the original owners - including family photos passed along with the house and the artwork of the original owner's daughter! Extremely interesting! In addition, they have a wonderful dog named Marley, who has a sweet temperament. For me this was the greatest gift. Being away from home for work for nearly two weeks is difficult . . . I miss my home and my own pets . . . but Marley greeted me each day and was definitely a bright spot in a long business trip. Indeed, it felt like my home away from home. Finally, on the last day there I learned that Tom & Carole also have a little candle shop in town. I love candles, so I went to check it out and found some cute items to buy. If you like candles, be sure to ask them about this. The 1861 Inn is a 'must visit' when in the Cincinnati area!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

This is our 4th visit staying with Carole and Tom and it won't be our last. They greet us like old friends and are very accommodating with my husband's food allergies. A beautiful home with gorgeous rooms surrounded with serene landscaping, a wonderful place for that special occasion!

View more reviews for this inn


Who would have thought! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2016

When looking for a B&B who would have thought there would be a little known treasure in Batavia, Ohio. My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's over the last 15 years from Kentucky to Virginia to Maine and found The 1861 Inn to be one of the best overall experiences we've had. The beautifully appointed home offered all the amenities for a quiet, relaxing stay. We recommend you opt for the evening dinner, the food was prepared and served to perfection by your gracious hosts;Tom and Carol. We highly recommend The 1861 Inn and will be returning to enjoy another relaxing visit.

View more reviews for this inn


What a treasure! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2016

FANTASTIC service! These people have certainly earned one of the spots for being among the "Top Ten Bed and Breakfasts in Cincinnati". Carol and Tom offered nothing but the best in everything; from the breathtaking views of the grounds outside, to the priceless home furnishings inside..all of which entailed some fascinating history! Delicious food, great hospitality, and even a friendly dog, to add, made this experience well worth every penny! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Unmatched Experience at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2016

I am a pretty picky traveler and it takes a lot to impress me. From the moment we approached the Inn’s sign on the side of the road, to the picturesque ride up the drive to the main home, to the stunning grounds, painstakingly cared for and meticulously decorated home, unmatched service from Tom and Carole, and the lengths to which the hosts and property go to ensure your stay is absolutely perfect…this is an unparalleled experience. The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been choosing to stay at the Inn for more than one night! The breakfast was delicious and Tom and Carole both ensure you have everything you need from wine upon arrival, complimentary snacks at all times, to fresh coffee delivered to your door in the morning. We stayed in Jenny's Retreat where the original hardwood floors are breathtaking and the bed was perhaps one of the most comfortable I've slept in. A plate of mouthwatering brownies were delivered to our room at some point while we were out for dinner! The private porch was a lovely addition for our morning coffee listening to the birds chirp and looking out over the pool below. I could go on… Overall, highly recommended. Thank you Tom and Carole for living and breathing hospitality like we have never seen before. This is now our new ‘go-to’ place! Thank you for a lovely night spent in your beautiful Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our meals were beautifully presented and delicious. The history of the house is fascinating, and the innkeepers are warm and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Great House, Friendly People, Beautiful Dog, and Very Tasty Vegan Food at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2016

My wife and I chose the 1861 Inn instead of a hotel/motel when we visited Batavia for two nights. Because we would not have time for breakfast the second morning, due to us having to catch a 7:15 A.M. flight, Carole prepared a light lunch for us on our arrival. The next day we had a very early morning appointment and couldn't fit in breakfast, but again Carole accommodated us and served a late breakfast upon our return. Both meals were excellent in taste and presentation. And, just as important to us, she prepared our dishes vegan to suit our life style. Our stay was great and so much more pleasant than if we had chosen a hotel or motel. The Cottrills are friendly and intent on pleasing their guests. Their house is charming with interesting history, and Marley, the beautiful dog, is a real treat.

View more reviews for this inn


Very satisfied! Wonderful stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

My wife and I spent one night at 1861 for our 3rd wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Carol and Tom were very hospitable with great service and the Penn house was very beautiful. I enjoyed hearing some of the history of the home. It was well decorated and very clean, we left feeling refreshed and relaxed!

View more reviews for this inn


What a find! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2015

There I was, on Friday evening of our anniversary weekend, trying to come up with a decent "Plan B." Our initial wish for a weekend get away to a cottage in the woods had fallen through due to other commitments. I was trying to figure out which of these nearer options wouldn't feel like "settling for less." Carole, Tom and Marley came through for us. What a wonderful old home, gracious and friendly hosts, and fabulous breakfast. We loved hearing the history of the place on our arrival, relaxed by the fire in our room before retiring for the night, and had a breakfast that was way beyond expectations. The little touches abounded, and the entire experience made us realize that this should have been our Plan A all along!

View more reviews for this inn


great place and very nice people in Carol and Tom at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2015

great place and very nice people in Carol and Tom

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful get a way for our anniversary. at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Took my wife to 1861 Inn for a surprise night's stay. Carol and Tom were wonderful in sharing the house with us, the history and all. We stayed in the small cozy quest house out by the pool and enjoyed all aspects of it. Very comfortable and a real delight for me and my wife. The breakfast was great and company of Carol and Tom was equally great. The value for all things was well worth it. Looking forward to spending some more time there.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to visit in Ohio at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2015

Carol, Tom and Marley (their dog) are lovely hosts and cook an incredible breakfast. The house holds a beautiful history and has been loved throughout the years. Enjoy!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2015

The hospitality was awesome. We had their dinner and it was wonderful. We plan to return

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful in every way! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2015

Carole and Tom provided an exceptional experience in every way. The rooms.....comfortable and well done. The breakfasts.....delicious, varied, and plentiful. The library.....relaxing. The grounds....picturesque and pleasant. 1861 Inn is a delight. we'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. 1861 Inn (4.81)
Top
}