Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Batavia, Ohio

Low-key Retreat at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2014

Very convenient location- easy access to Main St. Batavia as well as Rt.32 for Eastgate area. We heard zero road noise at night, and that alone was worth the money. It was just a bonus to have no obnoxious travelers' children running the halls like we have experienced in too many commercial hotels. The hospitality and breakfast selections were exceptional. Overall, a pleasant, restful experience for our party. For space considerations, however, we recommend the suites in the main house.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Wonderful Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2014

We're new to Ohio and we're not familiar with lodging in and around Cincinnati. I searched the internet for options and something about the 1861 Inn caught my attention. I kept coming back to it after reviewing other properties. It was a perfect choice. Tom and Carole were wonderful and so very kind in every way. They recommended a terrific restaurant in a charming setting--a perfect start my wife's birthday celebration weekend. The inn is beautiful and we really enjoyed the serenity of the private porch overlooking the pool and forest behind it. The breakfasts were delicious and their company added so much to the experience. Tom & Carole's spaniel Marley was also a hit with both of us. He's a sweet boy and also great company. We also loved the relaxing, rural feel of the area and particularly on their beautiful property. Yet Cincinnati riverfront venues were only 25-30 minutes away. We very highly recommend the 1861 Inn. You'll be extremely happy with your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B nestled close to everything in Cincinnati at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

This charming B&B offered everything one might dream of in an accommodation. It was beautiful, restful, relaxing, and the food was AMAZING! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

The 1861 Inn is one I would choose again for a vacation stop. It was extremely clean, with delicious breakfasts offered to its guests. The rooms were very spacious and the bath area had lots of space to "park" your personal items. The atmosphere, as well as the owners, were very welcoming. If you choose the 1861 Inn B&B, you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Surprise at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

We were b&b rookies and were so pleasantly surprised and pleased with our experience. Carole and Tom were most gracious hosts and the inn itself is a historical marvel--with all the comforts of a modern home. There was something interesting around every corner. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Country Inn near the City at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

What a wonderful place stay! The accommodations are comfortable and the dining is gourmet. The house is full of rich history, but the innkeepers have brought in their own personal touches. My favorite memories are the wonderful breakfasts and the front porch swing. The breakfasts were a great surprise every day and they were served with personal attention and service. The front porch swing was a step back in time, when things moved more slowly. Especially the morning shade, it is a special place to "hang out". And don't forget you are near Cincinnati with all of the entertainment and dining th Queen City has to offer.

View more reviews for this inn


Rescued Us in a Pinch at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

The 1861 Inn was a wonderful place to stay in Southern Ohio. My wife and I were in a pinch during a recent trip to Indiana and Ohio. We were due to arrive in Southern Ohio on Sunday, and we received a call on Saturday from the owner of our previously booked Bed and Breakfast notifying us that they needed to cancel our reservation due to extenuating maintenance on the room. With less than 24 hours to locate a new place to stay, we went to B&B.com and found the 1861 Inn. In finding the 1861 Inn, we found a lovely B&B to rest at during our two days in Southern Ohio. We enjoyed the privacy that we had out in the pool house, while still having the feel of a B&B. The owners of the B&B were extremely accommodating and had great recommendations for places to eat and sights to see while we were in that area. The 1861 Inn provided to be a great surprise on our trip, and it is a place that we plan to return to the next time we are in the Cincinnati area.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on July 07, 2014

loved this inn and innkeepers were delightful - very relaxed atmosphere, breakfasts were delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Food and Beaurtiful Relaxing Setting at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on July 03, 2014

Fabulous beautiful B&B. Tom and Carol are such kind warm hosts . You will enjoy amazing food and a beautiful get away at the 1861 Inn. Tom and Carol also preserve and share interesting history from the Civil war period of this original home. A wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

We spent the night at the 1861 Inn in the Pool Cottage to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. This was our first stay at a B&B and we will definitely return. Tom and Carole were so kind and welcoming. The cottage was cozy and perfect for our little getaway. Our favorite part of our stay was the pool/hot tub! Everything was clean and comfortable. We loved the "Sweet Dreams" surprise that we found on our bedside table before bedtime. We loved visiting with Marley and hearing Tom's stories about the house. Carole was warm and welcoming right from the start. The 1861 is a perfect place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Me and my wife were very happy with this entire package at the 1861 Inn. Our room was great, the service was great, the other guest were a pleasure to talk to. We highly recommend the 1861 Inn if you are looking for a very relaxing and enjoyable getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2014

My sister and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the beautiful 1861 Inn. The house is cozy and full of warmth. Our room was comfortable and had its own private balcony overlooking the pool. We spent the evening hours on the balcony enjoying the gentle breeze and watching all the fireflies lighting up the sky. Tom and Carole are kind, fun to talk to and are very accommodating. Breakfast was delicious. If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly stay at the 1861 Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Cottage at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2014

The hosts as well as being friendly and knowledgeable about the property's history also have impeccable taste. This is very attractive and clean inn with an interesting history. Carole is an excellent chef and we enjoyed our breakfast in the pretty dining room with the other quests. We liked the cottage where we stayed. It is poolside and has a small shower with the sink in the sleeping room. There is also a small room which has chairs and a sofa. The cottage's only disadvantage could be the proximity to the pool if it was being used and you are a light sleeper. We heard the pool recirculation pump vibration late at night.

View more reviews for this inn


fun little getaway outside of Cinci, would definitely go back! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on June 16, 2014

Tom and Carole are quite nice. Marley is such a loving pup! Breakfast was pretty good as well. Would highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Gluten free accomodation and fantastic hospitatlity at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2014

First off, let me begin with how hospitable Carole and Tom are - the B&B owners. My partner and I were blown away by all the tiny details that made our stay comfortable and special. Everything was very clean. This B&B is in the perfect location to get to area attractions and yet it feels secluded enough for the purpose of "getting away from it all". Their good-spirited dog, Marley, enjoys making new friends and was a delight. I informed Carole, when making my reservation, that I have Celiac and needed gluten-free accommodations. When I arrived she mentioned she has a couple good friends with Celiac and is very familiar with it - for breakfast she made gluten-free biscuits, a fruit and yogurt dish (my favorite!!!), and an egg/sausage/hash brown bake. All of which were gluten free! Everyone has breakfast together and we all enjoyed the gluten-free breakfast together...I really appreciated that. Her tea and coffee is also gluten-free. I would suggest bringing any gluten-free cookies or dessert if you would want, as she didn't have any, though for longer stays she might provide some. They are also very close to Jungle Jims, which offers a huge gluten free section if you need something. Carole and Tom take an interest in their guests and I really appreciated their efforts to get to know us. We will be going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Everything Outstanding!!! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

My wife and I loved everything about the 1861 Inn! Our balcony room was superb. We sat out on the screened-in balcony and enjoyed the birds chirping and leaves in the trees rustling. Very peaceful. Tom and Carole were the perfect hosts. Upon arrival, Tom gave us the grand tour of the wonderful home and all of its history. At the last minute I requested a birthday package for my wife and Carole delivered! Fantastic cake, truffles, and a bottle if champagne. Wonderful surprise for my wife. Tom and Carole cooked up a splendid breakfast in the morning. Wonderful service and wonderful company as well. Don't hesitate to book a night or two at the 1861 Inn. You'll love it!!! Tom and Janice West Chester Ohio

View more reviews for this inn


The Best Getaway In Ohio at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2014

My wife Chrystal and I first stayed at The 1861 Inn in September-2013. We had a great weekend and did not want to leave. The 1861 offers a very relaxing atmosphere, top notch service, and spotless clean rooms. The owners Carole and Tom go above and beyond to make your stay a great experience. Chrystal and I returned and stayed in May-2014 and our stay was wonderful. The atmosphere, cleanliness, service, and hospitality shown by Carole and Tom is second to none. The 1861 Inn is definitely our "go to" place, and when we checked out I made a reservation for July because we can't wait to go back! Sincerely, Chrystal And Chad Zimmerman

View more reviews for this inn


A Memorable Memorial Day! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2014

My husband and I sought a three day retreat to replenish our souls. The 1861 Inn, located in Batavia, Ohio, exceeded our expectations! Owners Tom and Carole provided a warm welcome as well as a brief overview of the beautifully appointed home's rich history. They then listened to our needs and guided us to area events, sights, and restaurants to meet those needs. It was a true treat to find Carole's delicious, homemade brownies on the night stand. And falling asleep in our spotless, well- maintained room was effortless on the luxurious featherbed. Breakfasts were a delightful experience, especially the baked goods and flavorful recipes. But the highlight was when Carole prepared a gourmet dinner for my husband and I. The multi-course meal, prepared with our input, was exquisite! The couple was sensitive to our need for privacy but we absolutely enjoyed our conversations with them. We are already planning our second visit to the 1861 Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


A Step Back in Time at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.2 reviewed on May 15, 2014

My husband and I stay exclusively in B&B's, whenever possible. We do our "homework" before ever making a reservation. We have been very fortunate in our experiences. This Inn and it's Innkeepers did not disappoint! Wonderful old, well maintained home with a lot of history. Very hospitable hosts who obviously enjoy meeting people and treating them as guests! Carole is masterful in the kitchen...the dinner she prepared for us and breakfast the following morning were excellent! I look forward to purchasing her soon to be published cookbook! We would definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful, local getaway at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2014

We live 25 minutes from the 1861 Inn, yet we felt like we were 25 hours from home! This provided the perfect getaway weekend for us to enjoy the beautiful spring weather. The hospitality provided by Carole and Tom was fantastic and the breakfasts were true culinary pleasures. We hope to visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


COUNTRY RETREAT WITH 5 STAR CITY DINING! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2014

Carole and Tom made us feel welcome as soon as we walked in the door! They shared the history of the home with us, which my husband found particularly interesting! This was our very first stay at a bed and breakfast and we LOVED it!! We felt pampered and very relaxed. The rooms were sooooo very cozy and lovely... the grounds were lovely as well. I have to say, though, the food was over the top amazing!! I'm not sure what I was expecting, but Carole served the most scrumptious meals I may have ever had! Serioulsy, if you want to "splurge" a bit, include dinner in your stay...you'll be glad you did! Sincerely, Eileen

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely weekend stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the 1861 Inn and what a lovely time we had! Tom and Carole were such gracious hosts and the breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in Jenny's Retreat and thoroughly enjoyed coffee in the morning (delivered by Tom) and wine in the evening on our private screened porch. We've stayed at several B & B's and this was our favorite by far. I can't wait to bring my husband for a visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B, Absolutely Fabulous Inn keepers! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on April 28, 2014

Tom & Carole's 1861 Inn is delightful and charming. The room was perfect for our anniversary stay - especially the real fireplace! The following morning, over a grand breakfast, we were regaled with tales from the past relating to the Inn and the people that lived there. The hospitality and service was second to none. The breakfast was magnificent. We thoroughly enjoyed the time with our fellow guests over the scrumptious morning meal. As a usually timid and private couple - we were put at ease with Tom & Carole's easy conversations and impeccable manners. We spent our honeymoon 19 years ago at bed and breakfasts in Savannah, Georgia. Tom and Carole easily outperformed our fond memories of the Southern B&B's.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Place at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2014

Just spent a weekend in Cincinnati and stayed at the 1861. It was great!! Tom was a wonderful host and his Springer Spaniel "Marley" was a perfect gentleman. Located in a very quite suburb just a short drive to the city, this inn is both historic and very comfortable. We are definitely looking forward to our next trip to the 1861.

View more reviews for this inn


1861 Inn at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2014

The Inn was charming. Our room was very comfortable with a queen sized bed, claw footed soaking tub, steam shower and fireplace. Perfect for a chilly night. Tom and Carole were very gracious, giving us a tour and history of their historic home.

View more reviews for this inn


We love this place! at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2014

We randomly chose this B&B a little over 2 years ago. We are so happy that we did! We have returned several times since, and every time has provided us with the rest and relaxation that we have been seeking. Carole and Tom have made us feel like family. We've been to other B&B's, but have never found one that provides such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Oh yeah, the food is out of this world! We'll be back soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend Away at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on February 24, 2014

My husband and I came to celebrate our anniversary. It was a peaceful getaway. Carole and Tom are so pleasant and hospitable. The location is so very quiet. And the accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. Will definitely be coming again.

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute request at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on February 23, 2014

I needed a last minute location to stay due to an emergency weather event and Carole and Tom went out of their way to accommodate me. The overall experience was excellent, their hospitality outstanding, and the Inn top notch. I fully plan on stopping back with my wife under a more reasonable situation.

View more reviews for this inn


Divine hospitality at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 28, 2013

Our experience could not have been more wonderful. Tom and Carole took a very last minute reservation for a special occasion we were celebrating. They were able to accommodate my request to have a cheese and chocolate covered strawberry tray in the room to pair with a special bottle of wine we had. The room was very romantic with lots of candles and a fireplace. Since we were there a few days before Christmas we were able to enjoy all of the holiday décor, which was so charming! Our stay ended with a fantastic breakfast followed by a very interesting historical tour of the home. Carol even shared a recipe for the most fantastic scones we have ever eaten! Thanks so much for a wonderful experience, we hope to see you again in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


a very special birthday stay at 1861 Inn (Batavia, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2013

my husband and i stayed at the 1861 inn to celebrate my husband's birthday and we had a great time. everything about the inn was so very awsome. we live in the same area as the inn and thought we would try it and we are glad we did. we also plan on making our stay a regular thing, so we will be back thans so much to carol and tom for an excellent stay chris and terry scott batavia OH

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. 1861 Inn (4.80)
Top
}