Recent Reviews in Bastrop, Texas

Perfect little getaway! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2016

My daughter and I stayed with Linda, at Katy House, for a girl's night in Smithville. It was amazing! The combination of old charm and character, mixed with beautiful furniture and decor made this the perfect place for us. Our room (the Bluebonnet) was clean, comfortable and SO charming! Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Linda was so accommodating and gracious, but super friendly and down-to-Earth at the same time. You don't feel like you're a guest, but like you're a friend. Linda sat and chatted with us, gave us pointers on places to shop and eat and hugged us when we left. This is the only place we'll stay when visiting Smithville!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on May 10, 2016

This was an a amazing and much needed getaway location! Katy House was nestled in walking distance from Honeys, Back Door Cafe, Huebels Beir Garden and the Front Room (a very cool bar), and Bone distillery. It is also a short drive from Rohan Meadery. The ambiance is cozy and relaxing, and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. I love the front porch breeze and rocking chairs. I will definitely be going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great find! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

We loved our stay here last weekend. Pleasantly surprised at what a great little area Smithsville is and so very grateful the B and B was where we stayed instead of a hotel. We were there for Thunder on the Colorado and we have to say our time at the B and B was better than the event for us! We came with friends and we had the room with the balcony so both nights finished sitting on the balcony enjoying the lovely weather and ambiance. What a great host Stu was and we hope to meet Linds on our next trip there. We will definitely go back! Thank you !

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Katie house at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 26, 2016

My husband and I have stayed here twice, both times treated like family. Linda and Stewart are the best host's. I would highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast and enjoying the sweet town. You will be hooked.

View more reviews for this inn


Great service. Definitelly recommend it at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on April 11, 2016

Stu (owner) was super nice and helpful. Great place and walking distance to awesome restaurants. If you are doing the Austin Rattler, this place is only 7 minutes from Rocky Hill Ranch.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful surprise! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2016

Last minute plans and we were searching accomodations near Smithville. All the major hotel chains in nearby Bastrop were basically the same $ as the Katy House. We made reservations and the stay was as memorable as one can imagine. Linda and Stu were extremely knowledgeable about the history of Smithville. Breakfast was fabulous!! Made new friends and if in the area will stay at Katy House. I definitely recommend staying there!!

View more reviews for this inn


10th wedding anniversary trip at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

We stayed here as part of our 10th wedding anniversary trip. We were traveling by bicycle and the hosts were able to accommodate us. Not only was the house beautiful and the room comfortable, but we throughly enjoyed getting to know Linda and her family. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


THE way to R&R at THE best B&B everrrrr at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2016

In wanting to plan a girls getaway between Houston & Austin, took map and divinely pointed to Smithville, knowing absolutely nothing about the town. Well, from the get-go, we were so pleasantly impressed. Linda & Stu were the most pleasant & charming hosts we could have asked for.The Katy House is a perfect place to dust off the city & enter another, much slower & more pleasant time. They made us feel at home & instantly the relaxation mode kicked in. The rooms are all of different decor & our room especially, The Texas Special, was particularly charming, with a lovely veranda. My friend & I shared a glass of wine & caught up on our lives while looking out towards downtown, a whole block away. Walking definitely in order, as there have been over a dozen movies filmed here & oh my, let's not forget the tons of history. The railroad station & tracks just a block away....totally soothing to hear the trains coming thru. We will definitely return, and sooner rather than later.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B I have ever been to. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

My wife and I stayed at The Katy House and were amazed from the first moment that Linda greeted us at the door. She showed us to our private oasis in the back yard of the property (Katy Tower) and made sure that we had everything that we needed. Linda then wished my wife Happy Birthday and told us of some sites to see while we were in town. Later that evening, around 8pm we heard a knock on the door and when I went to open it no one was there, but to my surprise there was a vase with roses in it and 2 bottles of water. The next morning we awoke to the serenity of the birds chirping in the trees and the smell of fresh bread being baked in the main house. We went over and had a wonderful breakfast where we met Stu, Linda's husband and ate a great breakfast of locally sourced food. Our visit couldn't have gone any better and if you are ever anywhere close to Smithville, TX make sure that you stay at The Katy House and wnjoy Stu and Linda's amazing hospitality. We will definitely be back again! Chris and Jenn Conley Granbury, TX

View more reviews for this inn


Ron and Julie from Kansas City at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2016

My husband and I had a business trip in Smithville. I was so excited to find this wonderful bed and breakfast, the Katy House via searching the internet. The interior living space, guest rooms and adjoining restrooms have been completely renovated from the pictures on their website but keeping with the age, beauty and history of the house-absolutely beautiful! The highest quality bedding made for one of the best nights sleep we had in a very long time. In addition, the owners Linda and Stu made us feel right at home and a delicious breakfast was served each morning. You must make this part of your travel plans when you visit Smithville- you will not be disappointed ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!

View more reviews for this inn


Quick trip at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2015

My husband and I made a quick trip to Smithville and stayed on,y 1 night at Katy House. Linda and Stu were outstanding with their hospitality. Stu went over and above in accommodating my husbands football frenzie..... Had the tv tuned to the game when we arrived. It was so comfy cozy that it was like visiting the home of your very best friend. I definitely want to go back when we can stay a little longer

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Place in small town Smithville at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2015

Clean cozy and great owners!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm at Pecan Street Inn (Bastrop, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on November 16, 2015

First of all I'd like to thank the owners Bill & Shawn for being so kind and letting us feel like part of their family. This beautiful old house was built in 1903 and was just gorgeous. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The breakfasts were extremely tasty (hat's off to Bill for being so kind to this vegetarian)!!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay and it's in the perfect town for a weekend getaway. There is a lot to see and do in Bastrop and all the people we met during our stay were extremely friendly. If you are looking for a home away from home then this is the place to go. I'd give the owners 5 stars on hospitality and I can't wait to go visit them again!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B I've ever been at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2015

It's such a great place, the rooms take you back to the 1900s but with a touch of modernity (free WIFI, cable TV + BluRay player). The perfect place to relax from the city and enjoy home made casserole. As a plus, you can find great BBQ, and whiskey at walking distance. If you ever come to the Austin area please take a look at this place, you won't regret it!

View more reviews for this inn


Uplifting Oasis! at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2015

Blaise and Bess are delightful hosts--just the right amount of attentive. Great location--close but not in the middle of the action. Sipping morning coffee in the shady backyard oasis listening to the fountain--perfection!

View more reviews for this inn


Great little getaway! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2015

This was a cute boutique style bed and breakfast where the breakfast is served in the main house. The owners were out of town and Bruce the previous owner was there to prepare breakfast. He was FANTASTIC!! We had two of the most delicious breakfasts that I've had in a long while! I even got recipes to bring home to make. The room was clean and precious. The ONLY thing I could say is maybe have small coffee pots in the room or self serve in the main house because we are early risers and need coffee before 8! But other than that it was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at it's Finest at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2015

Thank you, Stu and Linda for making our stay the most pleasant experience ever. Your home is incredibly beautiful and your hospitality was top notch. Thank you for making us feel so welcomed and at home. We love the ambiance and the close-knit feel Smithville has to offer. We will be back for certain :) Bryan and I recommend this place to anyone who is ready to treat themselves to a little piece of Heaven on Earth. Enjoy! God Bless, Nicki

View more reviews for this inn


Katy House B&B was great at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on August 24, 2015

thanks

View more reviews for this inn


Beyond Expectations at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2015

If you are ever in the Smithville, Austin, Bastrop, LaGrange, Round Top area, you should try out the Katy House Bed and Breakfast in Smithville, TX. I can't say enough about this place. I called late Sunday afternoon looking for a place to stay in Smithville when my Nana passed away. Linda was worried about what to cook for me and I told her I didn't need the "whole Bed and Breakfast" experience. I told her I was on a meal plan and just needed a place to stay to be "on call" for my family when they needed things done and to have WIFI so I could work in between. Linda insisted on cooking my breakfast each morning according to my meal plan, I jogged in the mornings and had a beautiful front porch and porch off my room to cool off afterwards, I had the tranquility of a beautiful home in Smithville while reflecting on my Nana's life and when we were looking for a place to host our gathering after the funeral, Linda and Stu offered the home for our gathering. Even better, as my siblings arrived to Smithville, they stayed in the house with me as well as well as their mother (my stepmother). It was so wonderful to be together. I was there Sunday through Wednesday and Wednesday morning, Linda and Stu made an amazing breakfast for the 13 of us. What a wonderful experience to be with my siblings the morning of the funeral and later in the day gather with the rest of the family and my Nana's friends. My friend Debbie always tells me "it's a God thing" when these things happen and I truly believe this was a God thing. Linda told me if I had called 15 minutes later on Sunday, that she would have been in Austin and I wouldn't have had a place to stay. Thank you Linda and Stu. I'm spreading the word, that this is the place to stay if you want to be pampered, relaxed and experience the "Bed and Breakfast experience". I told them I didn't need it, but they still gave it to me and so much more!

View more reviews for this inn


Love it! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Stu and Linda make you feel like part of the family and point you in the right direction to have fun in Smithville.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful all around! at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2015

Beautiful place, attentive hosts, stylish room, and great location! The breakfasts were amazing and perfect on our private porch overlooking the pool. Overall, a really memorable getaway. Thank you Gateway Guesthouse!

View more reviews for this inn


Genuine Southern Hospitality at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2015

Our stay at the Katy House was amazing! The atmosphere, rooms, decor and food are as authentic as they get! Stu and Linda were amazing hosts...we felt like we were family being welcomed home. We will absolutely be staying at the Katy House again.

View more reviews for this inn


Gracious Hosts at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on June 08, 2015

Linda and Stu are now owners of the Katy House and they were the perfect hosts at this B&B. A charming couple who are quick to engage visitors and offer a very comfortable stay - the Katy House will continue to be my first choice when I visit Smithville again. I found several new venues downtown that add to the ambience of this quaint town - including Old World Bakery, Back Door Cafe and The Front Room Wine Bar.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing stay at Katy House B&B! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2015

Linda is amazing! We stayed in the conductor suite, which gave my 2 kids (7 & 10) plenty of space. The room was clean, bed was a cloud of softness and comfort. The gated courtyard was a great place for our dog to run around in and she loved meeting Linda's 2 adorable pugs. The house is so pretty, the breakfast (choc chip pumpkin muffins, scrambled eggs and bacon) were so good. Bring your bikes and explore the small town! The B&B has a list of 80 things to do in Smithville - so fun!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Weekend! at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2015

We spent a weekend at the Gateway Guesthouse in May 2015 and had a brilliant weekend. The guesthouse is situated in the Travis Heights area, which is a short walk to South Congress and downtown. The neighbourhood is full of quirky and interesting old homes, and the Gateway falls firmly into that category. We had the Master retreat, and loved having our own balcony. Blaise and Bess were great hosts and anticipated our needs 100% by 1) greeting us with a glass of wine on arrival 2) giving us yummy breakfasts 3) having dogs for us to pet 4) giving us a comprehensive list of places to get good food and craft beer, and 5) waiting up for us the first night to ensure we could follow the simple night time door instructions. All of above, coupled with the warmth of our welcome and the other guests resulted in a fun, comfortable and very enjoyable stay, which we would be happy to repeat anytime and to recommend to anyone who is reading this because they are considering the Gateway guest house.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2015

Location, location, location. So near downtown Austin, yet not in downtown. A respite in walkable neighborhoods. Pampered with attention from the hostesses, scrumptious breakfasts on the patio and, due to rain, the dining room. The Studio inspired by the artist formerly known as or presently remembered as Prince a delight in black, white, and purple, the bathroom tiled in monochromatic splendor. Rescued dogs are friendly but not overly so, the perfect mix of gregarious and reserved. Serene common areas and an accomplished chef who prepares a mean gluten-free pancake: seconds are invited but nearly demanded, the coffee delicious. You'll not go wrong with a weekend here.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on June 01, 2015

Our first time to visit historical Smithville, TX and will not be our last. The Katy House Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations. The home has character with a lot of charm and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious!!! When we arrived we were greeted with a smile. Delicious food, great wine & spirits, and antique shopping are a short one block walk. Time to hold hands and begin a romantic evening with no agenda, no stress, and no gotta be's hanging over you. The next day included antique shopping, lunch at the Comfort Cafe, a short drive to Bone Spirits Distillery for a tasting of the locally made premium vodka, gin, moonshine and whiskey. I was not a fan of the last three UNTIL I tasted them here! You have to try a Shine Margarita before leaving. There is so much more to see but we had to return home to the Houston area. We are excited about our next visit to Katy House B&B in the very near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Katy House! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2015

We loved our stay at Katy House B&B! We were in The Texas Special. The house and room were gorgeous and spotless; the bed super comfortable. And be sure not to leave too early and miss breakfast. We have never had a better B&B breakfast! We felt right at home and plan to extend our stay next time. We feel that we have known Linda for ages, yet were only there for less than 24 hours. Outstanding Hospitality! Highly Recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming & Rustic at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

2.8 reviewed on May 17, 2015

Lovely quant area and sleepy little town. B&B very charming and private in relaxed atmosphere. Not many places to dine in evenings but lovely for walks on beautiful streets with old southern town feel. Just what we needed, time to relax. Friendliness of the people in this town was outstanding. Lots of other towns very close by to explore. Texas is beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming little hideaway. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2015

We stayed there on our wedding weekend as our wedding was down the road. The owners were very accommodating, so sincere and sweet! We absolutely cherished our times there and the breakfast was wonderful! We will definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}