Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Bastrop, Texas

Katy Tower was Perfect at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on December 08, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Haty House over the weekend. Stewart, Charlotte, and Linda were the best hosts you could ask for. The entire visit was warm and welcoming. I would recommend the Katy House to anyone staying in Smithville.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on November 30, 2014

Wonderful, nostalgic Thanksgiving weekend. So much history and small town charm. Katy house is warm and welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Katy House - the perfect get away at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2014

We picked the Katy House by chance, but what a fortunate selection it was. The room was great, the bed was comfortable, the footed tub was awesome! The hosts were wonderful, the other guests were even great to visit with. The breakfasts were great and the evening cookies were just about perfect. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


My First Great Stay at B&B ! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2014

I stayed at Katy's B&B this past weekend because my husband had a race. This was my first stay at a B&B and it was great. The room I stayed in was called the Blue Bonnet it was clean & cozy had a lot of charm. I love older homes and its Historic/antique feel. Bruce & Sally were amazing host and did I mention love Sally's cooking! Thanks for the great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful time in Smithville. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on October 21, 2014

We had a very restful and relaxing time at the Katy House. Good food and good company. Hope to stay again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Memorable Experience at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2014

Mrs. Sally and Mr. Bruce are fantastic hosts and exceptional people. I absolutely enjoyed my stay and can't wait to go back. An impromptu road trip lead us to the Katy House and made for a memorable experience. Thank you Mrs. Katy and Mr. Bruce for your hospitality. See you soon!

View more reviews for this inn


katy house at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on October 08, 2014

great place, they just never cleaned the rooms; empty trash or make beds.the people and food are great

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to hang your hat! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on September 15, 2014

Bruce and Sally are personable, knowledgeable and engaging. They create a delicious breakfast and eat with you and other guests. The conversation is engaging and enjoyable. In short, they are salt of the earth folks who are really good at what they do. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2014

It was our first time to stay at a B&B. The Blalock's were outstanding hosts. They made us feel welcomed and right at home. Breakfast was really a delicious treat. We enjoyed our stay and our visits with the Blalock's and the other guests. We would highly recommend a stay at the Katy House B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Get-a-way! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 lovely days in Smithville, TX at Bruce and Sallie Blalock's wonderful Bed and Breakfast. They are terrific hosts and the delicious breakfasts are outstanding. We also enjoyed all the railroad memorabilia and great conversations over breakfast. We highly recommend this wonderful place and hope to go again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B & B in Texas at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on July 30, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in bed and breakfasts throughout the state of Texas. We enjoy the solitude and the "home away from home" feeling that you get from them. We stayed at the Gateway on our 12th wedding anniversary in July. I have to say that the Gateway was the best bed and breakfast we have stayed at thus far. From the beginning with Blaise welcoming us right away, I knew it was going to be a good experience. The hospitality is superb, like none of the other places we have been to. The initial room that we chose was upstairs in the main house. Blaise offered us the studio that is separate from the house. It offered more privacy and a more romantic atmosphere for me and my husband. We were given fantastic suggestions for dinner in the surrounding neighborhood and downtown. Now, let me get to the breakfasts. I was blown away by how much attention to detail was put into breakfast for us. Every morning before the main breakfast, we were greeted with delicious "fresh" fruit bowls that were unbelievably good. All of the ingredients for breakfast were from farmers' markets and were fresh every morning. On the final morning, we had venison sausage and French toast for breakfast. It was cooked to perfection. It was so delicious, I had a second helping! I would definitely recommend this b & b to all of my friends and anyone else who is visiting the Austin area for a weekend or anytime! When we go back, I will definitely take a cooking class from Bess. Can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight stay in Austin at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on June 28, 2014

The location is wonderful, just off I-35 and near entertainment and restaurants. My husband and I stayed overnight in The Loft, and found the accommodations welcoming and comfortable. The bed had a Tempurpedic topper, assuring a good night's sleep. Beware the stairs leading to the lofted bed, they are a bit narrow, but if you're able bodied, they shouldn't present a problem. The proprietor was attentive, but not intrusive, and she made us the most wonderful breakfast, served on our private little patio outside our room. My husband and I would most certainly consider staying here the next time we visit Austin.

View more reviews for this inn


Bluebonnet Room Wknd at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on May 19, 2014

Sallie met us upon our arrival, wonderful host! Chocolate chip cookies were baking, the smell of fresh baked bread permeated the house, very inviting. She took the time to tell us where everything was and escorted us to our Bluebonnet room making us feel very welcomed. Room was comfortable & cool (window unit/ceiling fan). Sallie was kind enough to make us reservations at the local "hot" spot on Main St. for dinner; even gave us a heads up about a group of diners that were getting there ahead of us, to get our order in prior to their arrival! More than enough for breakfast, great conversations & don't miss an evening sitting & swinging or rocking in the chairs on the front porch listening to the trains and enjoying a breeze! Thanks Sallie & Bruce for an enjoyable stay...

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Mother's Day at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

Did this as a surprise for my mom flying in from LA. I have to say, Sallie is very knowledgeable and helpful with providing the history of the town and a delicious spot to have a nice dinner! The breakfast, company and conversation was fantastic and we felt part of the family with how friendly everyone was. Will definitely have to go back. YAY!

View more reviews for this inn


Better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on May 06, 2014

The value is much better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South. I wish my red eye flight had allowed me to stay for Breakfast, but I had to leave at 2:a.m. so I expected to not eat, so can't really rate it. The German Chocolate cake was good. Very Southern Hospitality. Ceiling fans and air conditioner were great for hot flashes. and mini fridge was very helpful. Bruce was very knowlegeable about house history.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved the Katy House B&B at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2014

Sallie and Bruce are stellar...had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming House, Charming Hosts at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on April 22, 2014

Excellent hospitality. Convenient location in walking distance of downtown Smithville. French toast and jalapeno cheese grits were breakfast high points. Bruce and Sallie are warm and friendly. Getting to know them was the best part of our weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&& Ever at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2014

I came to unwind for a few days. From the moment I arrived I felt very welcome. Bess and Blaise are awesome and so attentive to my needs. One day I was relaxing by the pool and a glass of wine seem to magically appear at my side. It was perfect. I stayed in the master suite and I have never slept on a more comfortable bed. The breakfast each morning was a real treat. I'm usually not a breakfast person, but I could not wait to wake up each morning to see what Bess was preparing. The place is very clean. The 3 dogs that live there are the most friendly and well behaved dogs I have every seen. The location of the Gateway Guesthouse is within minutes of just about everything. I will definitely be back and can't wait to share my experience with my friends. Thank you Bess and Blaise for everything. Robin

View more reviews for this inn


Great everything! at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 02, 2014

Exceptional breakfasts; warm, charming and friendly; grounds and pool well kept and relaxing; great having a private deck; and I can't forget 3 wonderful, friendly, well behaved dogs! Great location! Easy walk to SOCO, Rainey St. and if you don't mind a little longer distance it is walkable to downtown. We would highly recommend staying at the Gateway Guesthouse.

View more reviews for this inn


A very special experience! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2014

We recently stayed at the Katy House B & B and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms are delightful and Sallie & Bruce most hospitable. We had friends visiting from Missouri and it was a real treat for them to see the wildflowers in the area and to stay in the Bluebonnet room with the gorgeous hand-painted tub.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts, beautiful house at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on March 24, 2014

The house is gorgeous, warm and welcoming. The hosts, Sallie and Bruce are incredibly charming and fun. I will be back for another stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredibly impressed with my first B&B stay! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on February 20, 2014

Bruce and Sallie are incredible hosts, and seem to be incredible people. I stayed in the Katy Tower and it was very well decorated. My stay was in mid-February, and the first night I stayed, it did get a little cool at night. It took me until my second night to figure out exactly how to work the two heaters. The whirlpool tub was great, and utilized both days! The only problem is that the clip to hang the shower head was broken, so showering was a bit of a task. Breakfast in the main house is absolutely NOT to be missed. Sallie and Bruce are incredible cooks. The egg bake was delightful, and the homemade bread which became toast was out of this world. There are usually two jam selections and I thoroughly enjoyed the Fredericksburg peach variety. The french toast was also amazing. The conversation during this family style breakfast is a great way to get to know the other guests, Sallie and Bruce, and a generally great start to your day!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful and relaxing experience! at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2014

Full disclosure, Blaise and Bess are friends. The entire purpose of our trip was to escape the MN winter, visit Austin for the first time, and to see our old friends. We stayed in the loft. It was a great space decorated with items they found on their trips over the years. I've never experienced such a comfortable bed. Blaise and Bess gave us great suggestions for food and drinks and set up reservations for us for a few nights. While it was a little colder than normal for Austin, it was glorious compared to MN and perfect for evenings in the spa. While the rooms, grounds, and the dogs make for a wonderful experience, breakfast a la Bess is truly AMAZING!! I was so lucky to enjoy it four mornings in a row. I can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious Breakfast only surpassed by Hospitality at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on January 09, 2014

We stayed with a family of four (two adults and two teens) in the Conductor's Quarters. We returned to this B&B based on an excellent experience during a previous stay. I was pleased that the layout of this room replaced a wee table in the kitchenette with a twin bed because that meant more (sleeping) room for all and was a better utilization of the space for our family. The breakfast selection, quality, and quantity was as awesome as we remembered - juice, homemade grilled toast, filling and tasty egg dishes, top-quality bacon, etc. And to top their hospitality from last year, the hosts invited my parents who live in the area to join us for breakfast one morning; my parents were super-impressed. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and breakfast with a smile at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

I can't think of anything that would improve Katy House. I just wish we'd been staying more than one night. Sallie and Bruce were attentive and good company at breakfast. And what a beautiful home they have. What more can you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Gateway Guesthouse at Gateway Guesthouse (Austin, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on October 08, 2013

From Flattlands travel blog: www.marikaflatt.com/blog -- Like Lady Antebellum sings: “I don’t know why you don’t take me downtown, like you got anywhere better to be…” I had the pleasure of visiting Gateway Guesthouse, perched on a hill in the venerated Travis Heights neighborhood off East Riverside. This boutique B&B showcases a home built in 1919. Much of this historic home has been preserved but much has been modernized, too. Innkeepers Blaise & Bess have put some real heart and soul into this haven, like adding a pool with hot tub and adding freestanding suites out behind the main house. With three guestrooms on the second floor of the main house and three guest quarters out back, they often stay booked up on the weekends. I was able to see the Carriage House, which is a one-bedroom apartment-style space, with a kitchenette, small living room, bathroom and washer/dryer. This was ample space for two, crisp and clean and also boasted a private porch overlooking the pool. Speaking of the pool, the water feature provided a great afternoon backdrop, with the trickling of water; it was the perfect place to read a magazine while sipping on a glass of chardonnay. But, possibly the most impressive highlight of Gateway Guesthouse is Chef Bess’ delightful dishes. Former restaurateur, Chef Bess can whip up a breakfast to remember! We started out with a fresh fruit salad, followed by a puff pastry quiche with crispy potato hash browns. I can see what kept Chef Bess’ customers coming back to her restaurant (which was featured on “Diners, Drive ins & Dives”).

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Smithville! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on September 30, 2013

The inn is very nice and roomy. Breakfast was truly superb. Check in and out was easy. Not noisy, and very very clean. We found the room to be a little warmer than we liked but we cranked down the A/C and it was fine later.

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect stay. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2013

I was here for business in Smithville and was very pleased with my stay at the Katy House. Bruce and Sallie are super people and the breakfast was great! Great rooms, the house just is full of character and history. A wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


I luv Sallie and Bruce! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay so very much. Sallie and Bruce were great hosts and people. I am glad i had a chance to meet and talk with them as well as the other guests. I learned a lot! My dogs were also welcome and tolerated:) I will be going back on those weekends I have nothing to do and just want peace and great company.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt at home at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on September 04, 2013

Convient location. Enjoyed visiting with owners and other guest. Food was special. Owners had great recommendations for local dining and shopping. Enjoyed learning about the Katy RR and history of Smithville.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}