Sweetfield Manor Historic Inn and B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
59 Reviews

Write A Review

A great place to stay!

4.0 on March 02, 2012

We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for George, Annie and their lovely staff. Thoroughly recommended! Colin and Susan, Hertfordshire, England


THE Place to Stay in Barbados!!

5 on February 19, 2012

We just stayed at Sweetfield Manor in St. Michael in Barbados for 3 nights after a cruise on Windstar. We had not been to Barbados since our honeymoon there 25 years ago. Barbados has prospered since then and is a great place to vacation. Anyone who goes to Barbados and doesn't stay at Sweetfield Manor is missing out on a really special vacation...couples that is. You wouldn't want to take kids under 16 to this place. Anni and George have made this plantation home into a lovely, welcoming home-away-from-home that is decorated impeccably with the most perfect touches everywhere. Anni's 3-course perfect, visually beautiful (have you ever taken pictures of your breakfast before?) breakfasts send you off for your day with a full tummy. George helps you plan your itinerary and your dinners and makes dinner reservations effortlessly. Their cab driver, Rodney, takes you anywhere with good cheer. The unusual, beautiful pool is a treat. You are not on the beach but you're nearby and there's a bus stop just outside the gates of the place. Don't hesitate to book Sweetfield Manor now; it's an experience!


Paradise!

5 on January 21, 2012

Our first trip to Barbados with nothing but a website to go by, and we ended up in this Heavenly place! Our hosts, Captain George and Anne made the arrangements to transport us from the airport and made two travel-weary strangers feel like we were visiting good friends. His advice on sites to see and great restaurants has helped immensely. The breakfasts have been incredible! We planned to spend the 2 nights before our cruise here, but we were so delighted, we decided to return at the end of the cruise for another 3 nights. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive, with a large deck overlooking a lovely "lagoon" pool and beautiful gardens.


Rustic Luxury

5 on October 19, 2011

Oct. 19/2011 Sweetfield Manor in a word - Fabulous. My wife and I just spent 6 wonderful days with the Captain. Anni was away, however, George is the consumate host, a colourful storeyteller, and marvellous Chef ( his breakfasts are to die for ). Breadfast under the mahogany trees was very romantic. The grounds, the pool, and the sunsets all added up to a wonderful week. The regular appearance of "Big Daddy" was a no-cost bonus. Would definitely like to go back. Joy and Allan Toronto, Canada


Sweetfield Manor outstanding!

5 on March 13, 2011

My wife and i wanted a get-away-from-it-all vacation and found Sweetfield Manor in Barbados to be just perfect. Ann's breakfasts were fabulous, our room was cozy, and Capt. George's advice was always spot on. We'd go back in a heartbeat.


Tremendous stay

4.8 on March 06, 2011

I'll start by repeating what I told George and Ann Clarke as I checked out: I have stayed in 20 or so B&Bs around the world and met many great people....and the Clarkes are the nicest folks I have ever stayed with. That's not a slam on anyone else by any means, just a huge compliment to them. The breakfasts were delicious and creative, the staff was great and the Clarkes worked hard to make my first trip to Barbados memorable. George hooked me up with a friend of his for an island tour when I indicated that the other possibility offered was too expensive for a solo traveler. That tour was amazing! I'm sure they can't promise that specific tour for everybody, but that's just one example of how much the Clarkes work with you. The B&B is beautiful and peaceful. They had great advice and great knowledge. Just a wonderful experience overall.


Relaxation

4.0 on September 18, 2010

I recently had to overnight in Barbados and do not like regular hotels...a quick Google search found the Sweetfield Manor...what a place!...relaxing!...Old Caribbean the way it should be...Reminds me a bit of Graycliffe's in Nassau..I took a midnight swim in the grotto just for the experience...wonderfull...I'll be back, but with a companion next time.


Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed and Breakfast: Lovely old, rambling mansion on a hill set amongst wonderful gardens.

5 on June 24, 2010

My wife and I have recently returned from a 1two week trip around Barbados which kicked of with a three day stay at the marvellous Sweetfield Manor. The hosts are immediately friends and the moment you arrive and enjoy a Rum Punch on the veranda you feel completely at home. The breakfasts are out of this world and enjoyed in a lovely garden environment surrounded by tall trees, birds and monkeys. Unlike almost all other accommodation in Barbados which remains firmly fixed to the “beach experience,” Sweetfield is a lovely old, rambling wooden mansion on a hill set amongst wonderful gardens and trees and the swimming pool reflects this, set out as though a natural stream and small lagoon. We hope to return to Barbados in December and if are lucky enough to do so will certainly make sure that Sweetfield Manor is included as part of our stay!


Oasis

3.8 on May 17, 2010

My wife and I arrived after a long flight from Zurich, Switzerland via Frankfurt, Germany in Bridgetown. We were rather exhausted after 20 hours up-and-about and looking forward to a bed. The charming and open reception by Annie with George's rum punch, the tour of the impressive and beautifully restored house and the whole "ensemble" of house, garden, swimming pool and warm atmosphere made us feel at home and surprisingly relaxed. Since we were the only guests at that time and Annie had left for dining outside we decided to take a moonlit swim in the truly original pool. Unforgettable. The breakfast the next day was served by two attentive assistants while Annie presided in the kitchen. It turned out to be an early morning full three course dinner which for European stomachs could be somewhat much. But.....as it was so good we finished it all. Unfortunately, we had to leave that day again to sail back to Europe. We'll be back. Marianne and Ronald de Heer of Switzerland


Memories of Sweetfield

4.6 on March 28, 2010

The moment that you drive through the iron gates and down the tree-lined driveway into Sweetfield Manor you know that you are in for a very special experience. Captain Clark (George) greets you at the entry, makes sure that your bags are taken care of, and sits you down at the verandah bar to recover from your voyage with a refreshing rum punch before showing you to your room and giving you a tour of the manor house and its grounds. As George or Ann lead you up the grand staircase to your room you can't help but feel that you are going back in time to a more genteel period of history, a feeling that is reinforced as you enter your large and tastefully decorated and furnished "chambre". Late in the afternoons around the cocktail hour George and Ann make themselves available to insure that the conversation flows, that information about activities on the island, places to dine, swim, or tour are imparted to the quests. At 8:15 in the morning George rings the bell that notifies all guests that breakfast will be served in 15 minutes... and you do not want to miss breakfast. Breakfast is served either at the large dining room table or at a table set in the front court yard, depending on the number of guests. Every day three courses; every day each course is different; but every day everything served is exceptional and of 5 star quality. George and Ann are the best hosts one could wish for and there is nothing that they will not do to make sure that your stay at Sweetfield in particular and in Barbados in general is memorable. They could not do more to make you feel that their home is your home. And the people you meet at Sweetfield come from all over the world and add another interesting and usually congenial dimension to your stay. My wife and I stayed for 4 nights before a cruise and one night after it. We will be back! Paul and Chris, Toronto, Canada.


Do yourself a favor and stay here.

5 on March 23, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at SFM; what can we say? It was perfect. We changed rooms once for scheduling purposes, so we got to stay in both the Captains Quarters and the Bananaquit. Both were great for different reasons: CQ was huge, light and airy; the BQ was private and cozy. Both great. George and Annie are the perfect hosts. They really helped us discover the best of Barbados with restaurant recommendations and sight-seeing advice. We wouldn't have had as great a time without their guidance. Annie's b'fasts are not to be missed (unless you are counting calories) and George does in fact make the best coffee in the world. Bottom line: great location; private but not isolated; comfortable rooms, with lovely public areas; delightful hosts who are happy to help or stay out of your way. We'd recommend it to our family and friends in a minute. Susan and Steve H., Charleston, SC.


Nirvana in Bridgetown

5 on March 20, 2010

George arranged for a driver to meet us at the airport and then he and Annie met us with topped up rum punches at the door. Wow. This was our sign-in to one of the nicest weeks ever at a B&B. Annie provides consistently innovative and delicious breakfast and tops off most afternoons with delectable munchies to help cut the powerful punches prepared by George. We spend many an amiable afternoon and evening chatting with fellow travelers on the veranda overlooking the city and ocean. The pool was conveniently close to our room and we were given an added treat of watching monkeys race across the back of the propoerty. All in all we have no hesitation in recommending this property. Carl and Jeannine Schiermeyer Long Beach, California


a delightful place to stay

5 on February 27, 2010

I am so glad that i decided to stay at Sweetfield Manor...it is a very comfortable ,elegant house... and i was given a marvelous welcome.. i felt that i was staying at the Barbados home of very old friends..and the breakfasts are quite wonderful..very special indeed...there a lots of comfortable places to relax and read a book ..or just enjoy the marvelous Barbados weather..i look forward to returning


Truly unique experience

5 on January 31, 2010

My wife and I had an amazing week in Barbados in large part due to our wonderful hosts and accommodations at Sweetfield Manor. George and Anne have a beautiful place and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Hummingbird Nook and enjoyed a very comfortable bed in our room, a nice deck with a hanging bed, and easy access to their gorgeous pool. We often started the day by enjoying coffee or tea and watching the monkeys play in trees next door. Anne’s breakfasts were spectacular; if you could find something comparable on Barbados it would easily cost you $30-50 per person. They are truly gourmet and full of flavor, so don’t plan on losing weight if you’re like me and like to eat. (But I’m pretty sure she’ll accommodate those with special dietary concerns if need be.) George set up a rental car for us and my wife drove since she had practice with right-hand-drive (it was tough for me to wrap my mind around at first). George and Anne gave us many ideas of beaches and places to check out, many off the beaten path. And if you plan on going out for dinner after the day’s adventure, let George or Anne know in the morning so they can make you reservations. They’ll likely get you a good table since they know many of the proprietors. I’ve stayed at dozens of all-inclusive beach resorts throughout Mexico and the Caribbean, but I much prefer having the freedom to go and do what I want when I want. Sweetfield Manor provided us a nice, comfortable place from which to begin our daily exploration of the island and a welcoming place to come home to at the end of the day. I was definitely a unique vacation experience, one I plan on enjoying again in the future.


Sweetfield Manor is an absolute oasis!

4.4 on January 18, 2010

Due to an error by Expedia, Ann had no knowledge of our 8am arrival, nor any record of our reservation... it is this type of situation when people usually show their true colours! Well, we found out very quickly that Ann and George are the real deal! This is what hospitality is all about... and we could not be more grateful. Ann never missed a beat as she quickly welcomed us in, and assured us that everything would be fine. We were immediately offered a much needed cold drink, and given our choice of rooms. The inn itself is absolutely gorgeous and beautifully decorated. We stayed outside the main house, and our room had island charm with all of the luxury. Within an hour of our arrival, George had arranged for a driver and a private tour of the island, which turned out to be excellent. Our hosts arranged the reservations for a romantic dinner as well as the driver to take us there, but unfortunately I had to cancel due to a migraine. While I kept apologizing profusely, both assured me it was not a problem, and Ann jumped up to offer me a drink or anything else I might need... she even went to the trouble of bringing a cooler of ice to our room in case I should need it. We have been fortunate enough to travel all over the world, and I can tell you that Sweetfield Manor is in the top five B&B's we have ever stayed in. Yes, the accommodations were great, the pool is so romantic, and Ann's breakfast was outstanding...but that is not what makes this B&B so memorable... it is the magical atmosphere that Ann and George have created. It was such a pleasure to meet both of them, and they both went above and beyond what we expected! Even in our last few minutes at Sweetfield, Ann took care of us by making sure we had a hot cup of soup and crackers before we left for the airport. How thoughtful is that?!? If you are looking for a truly exceptional experience while visiting Barbados, you must stay at Sweetfield Manor! Laurie and Doug Toronto, Canada


Wonderful, relaxing B&B

5 on January 16, 2010

We stayed at the Sweetfield Manor B&B the day before heading out on a Caribbean cruise. George and Annie were wonderful hosts and have done a fabulous renovation of their beautiful estate. The setting and the backyard pool were very relaxing and the breakfast was wonderful. They have a dedicated taxi driver, Clayton, who is extremely reliable -- arrange to have him pick you up from the airport. Very nice way to kick off our vacation.


A real gem of a place, excellent hospitality

5 on January 11, 2010

We stayed at Sweetfield Manor before joining our Royal Clipper cruise and then again prior to flying back to London. A lot of thought and care has been put into the property and it has a warm, homely atmosphere that de-stresses you the moment you arrive. George and Ann are great hosts and clearly enjoy having guests staying with them. Many larger hotels could learn a lot from the Clarkes on how great personal service should be delivered. We whole heartedly recommend the Manor, and the breakfasts in particular, were outstanding.


The best place I've ever stayed

5 on January 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sweetfield Manor for a couple of days and we wished we could stayed forever. The estate is very nicely located at the outskirts of Bridgetown, near Browne Beach. It has very spacious, and tastefully decorated rooms with a great, state of the art bathroom. The Manor invites to hang around in the gorgeous gardens, the tropical pool or the veranda (the latter ideally with one of Capt'n George's great Rum Punches). The hosts are just phantastic. We immediately felt at home and had good and entertaining conversations. And then were Annie's worth to die for gourmet breakfasts... I haven't had such great breakfasts before! All in all, this is the place you want to be when coming to Barbados!


Do not look any further - this is it!!!

5 on January 09, 2010

Sweetfield Manor was the best place we ever stayed at - anywhere! No nore, no less. Annie (an ex Vogue cover model!) and Capt'n George (from an old Barbados family) are the perfect hosts - friendly, warm, attentive. Before Sweetfield Manor we have never had a home made multi-course gourmet breakfast. The pool in the middle of lush tropical gardens and the spacious, clean room, the huge, modern bathroom, and the very comfortable bed are unforgettable. A 12 on a scale of 1 -10.


review of Sweetfield manor

5 on December 24, 2009

I just came back from a 10 day trip to the Caribbean. During this trip I stayed 2 nights at a B&B named The Sweetfield Manor on the island of Barbados. The B&B is owned and operated by a couple named Ann and George Clark. The B&B is actually a fully restored mansion overlooking the town of Kingston. It is tastefully redecorated, the breakfasts are a gourmet delight, BUT the unsaid bonus are Ann and George themselves. Being GLBT is not an issue at all with them. They are spontaneously very accommodating, enjoy their guests immensely, and are more than willing to go the distance beyond what is called for to make your stay at their home comfortable. My only regret about my last trip is not having had the time to spend more time at The Sweetfield Manor. The Manor can easily be found on Google. If any questions feel free to contact myself. Paul Mittelstadt


Home away from home

5 on December 13, 2009

One dreams of finding such a lovely spot, and our dream came true. We stayed at Sweetfield at either end of a fantastic Honeymoon sailing trip and loved it so much we would not think of staying anywhere else during future trips to Barbados. Located upon a ridge overlooking the town below and the sea beyond, this beautifully restored collection of colonial-era buildings preserves all the historical magic and intimate charm of the time while offerring superb comfort and amenities. The gardens are wonderfully organic with a diverse range of trees and plants, green monkeys appear from time to time for a cautious visit, birds sip nectar from abundant flowers and when it gets a bit warm, the lovely pool cools skin and soul. From the first telephone conversation with Captain Clarke, we felt welcome and taken care of. This feeling was ever-present at Sweetfield, from Anni's delicious gourmet breakfast creations (three courses of tongue-teasing excellence) to George´s unforgettable signature RumPunch garnished with fresh-ground nutmeg (no pink goopy stuff here: a real treat!) to the soft conversation and wonderful stories shared by our hosts. Our first night was spent in the spacious and relaxing Island room and our last night was wrapped in the seductive Bananaquit Room: a lovingly-appointed private space converted from the original servant´s quarters in a separate building complete with porch overlooking garden and sea, best enjoyed from the suspended outdoor lounge-bed. We really miss Sweetfield and still think of George and Anni daily. It was like spending time with long-lost friends and our goodbye felt more like "See you later" than "Thanks for choosing Sweetield". Simply put, this was the perfect place for us, with the perfect setting and the perfect hosts. Nothing but the smooth, sweet side of life among real people willing to share their treasure. Visit Sweetfield Manor and you will never forget it.


Five star comfort and gourmet food, with no pretensions

5 on November 27, 2009

Sweetfield Manor is an oasis of calm just outside of Bridgetown in Barbados. It's set in an old colonial house with gorgeous grounds and a lovely view down to the ocean. It's run by Annie and George, and a huge amount of their love and time has clearly been invested. To start with, the decor is wonderful - the house is a mixture of airy verandas, high-ceilinged rooms, antique furniture, and oodles of elegance. The rooms are spotless, enormous, with four-poster beds, and more closet space than I have at home. There should be some photos attached to this review of the rooms. We stayed in the Mignonette Room and it was glorious. At Sweetfield, the best policy when offered food is to say "Yes" first and count calories later. The deserts are sumptuous, and the rum punch has plenty of kick to it (the fresh grated nutmeg on top makes it a drink to savour). Up until now I hadn't really considered that breakfast could run to two or three courses, but it invariably does at Sweetfield. Where else could you have lemon ricotta pancakes, fresh homemade bread, and grilled pineapple topped with eggs wrapped in panchetta in the same meal? This bed and breakfast is a jewel and we will certainly be coming back. Welcome to Barbados.


perfect

5 on November 22, 2009

we needed an overnight in barbados to rest and recuperate. we got just what we needed, pool, grounds, caring hosts, and fantastic breakfast. my daughter and her family had stayed here at easter and said we couldn't leave the caribbean without seeing it. she was absolutely right!


The Best B&B in Barbados!

5 on November 12, 2009

I heard about Sweetfield Manor from a friend of mine that stayed there on a business trip. When he heard that I was planning a trip to Barbados with my wife, he absolutely insisted that I book a room at Sweetfield. This was not the first time we stayed in a B&B; however, I must say that this was the best. From the moment we walked into the front door, Ann and George greeted us as if we where members of their family. George took our bags and handed us his delicious home made rum punch which was perfect after a long flight. The place was amazing and we felt as if we just stepped into the pages of, DREAM HOMES MAGAZINE. We stayed in, The Bananaquit Room which was as close to the pool as you can get. The pool looked like a tropical lagoon complete with a beautiful waterfall which made for incredible pictures. Ann is a gourmet cook and her breakfast every morning did not disappoint. The crepes were out of this world and I must say that they where better than any I ever had in France! Both Ann and George are very knowledgeable of the island and they even put together an incredible island tour for us and recommended a catamaran cruise that just made our vacation perfect. Sweetfield Manor is simply as good as it gets when it comes to Caribbean B&Bs…it has all the bells and whistles. We can’t wait to go back and try one of the other themed rooms.


Already planning my next stay!

5 on August 23, 2009

George and Ann took vacationing to a whole new level. Everything from the decor to the very last lemon-ricotta pancake were amazing. To say the least, the bar is now at a new level.


Breathtaking beauty, Southern hospitality, and mouthwatering food

5 on August 17, 2009

My fiance' and I recently visited Sweetfield Manor for a 2 week vacation and we were absolutely blown away from the moment we arrived. From the warm welcome upon arrival, to the amazing beauty of the rooms, plantation, and pool -we felt as if we were in our own paradise wonderland. Additionally, Ann and George's (or "Mop and Pop" as we came to know them) intimate knowledge of the islands' geography, activities, and hotspots made our stay that much more enjoyable. Every breakfast we had was fresh, delicious, and unique. We would highly recommend Sweetfield Manor to those looking for a Caribbean home away from home. Matt and Elizabeth from Florida


Best Gem in the Caribbean/Barbados

5 on August 15, 2009

Sweetfield Manor Barbados is a true gem in the Caribbean. With lots of charm and history, I felt like I was talking a walk back in time. The house is wonderfully decorated and the grounds are lush are colorful. Anni and George make you feel so welcome, and you never want to leave the table after the Gourment Breakfast. I can't wait to go back.


Beyond Comfortable

5 on August 10, 2009

Despite Barabdos' hot hot days I found myself more than comfortable. There were not only plenty of shady get aways on the property, but cold refreshments like the Strawberry and basil iced tea Annie makes - Mmmm! Not to mention the beautiful, unbelievable pool. Being all the way from New England I was not used to seeing so many hummingbirds but they were just everywhere and you could get right up close. Oh, and how could I forget to mention the amazing, 5 star food Annie whips up. Totally worth the trip - my husband and I are even considering renewing our vows there- perfect spot for a wedding! But I will definitely be back either way!


Look no further!

5 on July 24, 2009

What a welcome! We arrived after a long flight from London with our three children to be greeted like long lost friends. George made us delicious rum punches while Ann invited the children into her kitchen to find refreshing lemonade. The home-made zuchinni bread was just right and the lagoon pool, surrounded by colourful tropical plants, birds and monkeys, was exactly what we all needed. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and we fell into our beds feeling like we had indeed arrived in paradise. Ann and George have created a dream and they looked after us with great kindness and generosity. They are the loveliest hosts you could hope for and our only complaint was that we had to leave after only one night!


How Sweet It Is!

5 on July 02, 2009

I've traveled the world, but I've never encountered such warm hospitality, incredible food and magnificent accommodations as Sweetfield Manor. Owners Ann and George Clarke certainly make you feel at home. Make sure you try the Key Lime Pie (my personal favorite) and enjoy the views from the Monkey Observation deck! There's no place like Sweetfield Manor!


Excellent

5 on July 02, 2009

Excellent hospitality. Highly recommended.


Sweetfiled Manor

5 on May 11, 2009

The owners make you feel like family from the time you step into the manor.We were greeted with a home made rum punch by George who then took us on a tour of the facility,showing us the amenities.Breakfast is something to look forward to at Sweetfieldas either George or Anne takes your taste buds on a journeyyou trully enjoy.


Exceptional B&B

5 on March 19, 2009

Definitely an exceptional B&B. George and Ann have created utopia. Lovely rooms, beautiful grounds - Ann's gourmet creations, alone, are worth the trip. Assessible to all island venues.


Heaven in Barbados

5 on March 17, 2009

We found heaven at the Sweetfield Manor. We were booked for a cruise on Sunday but decided to arrive in Barbados a few days earlier to catch the sights. It was the best decision we have every made. We arrived late Friday night at Barbados airport with a friendly cab driver named Clayton carrying a sign welcoming us. The drive from the airport was not that far and we arrived at Sweetfield Manor greeted by two of the most beautiful, warm and friendly smiles I have ever seen. Ann and George welcomed us in and had a scrumptious late night snack waiting for us and a tall glass of George's world famous Rum Punch. After a wonderful evening of chit chat we expired to our elegant rooms. Each room was exceptionally large and decorated with different themes that added to the charm. In the morning a fresh pot of coffee and juice awaited us regardless of the hour because Ann and George are very accommodating. The day began with a mouth-watering five course gourment breakfast that Kept us content the whole day feeling we had died and gone to heaven. Nothing could be that good on earth. We spent part of the day looking at the sights but ended the day early to hang out at the pool. The pool looked like a tropical oasis. It was surrounded by beautiful vegetation from the island and actually took your breath away by its beauty. We enjoyed the day relaxing in the sun onlooking Bridgetown and the beautiful blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Ann also surprised us with one of her fabulous treats, it was similar to an Almond Joy bar but it melted in your mouth and had us craving more. We were enchanted by the beauty and captivated by the view. This is what a vacation is all about. If you go to Barados in search for a serene vacation, tranquility, and a piece of heaven, this is your place. Why go to a hotel and be just a number when you can be pampered by friendly people and spoiled by gourment food.


Beautiful Relaxing Sweetfield

5 on March 11, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sweetfield Manor Inn for four nights in March and had a wonderful experience. Both George and Anne were more than accommodating and made our stay a memorable experience. We woke up everyday to a gourmet breakfast that was so filling we really didn't need to eat again til dinner that night. The Inn is decorated beautifully, and has a gorgeous view of the ocean. I will definitely be returning to Sweetfield in the near future.


Serene! Rare! Enchanting!

5 on March 11, 2009

The Sweetfield Manor, truly is a piece of paradise and tranquility. The entire time we were there, we felt very relaxed and at home. This is what a vacation is all about. The manor is one-of-a-kind! Breathtaking views to the ocean, gorgeous sunsets, and the most beautifully detailed rooms. On top of being very charming and elegant, the innkeepers, Ann and George were the most amazing hosts the entire time. Very sweet and caring, always ensuring the guests satisfaction (which you will be 100% of the time!). They go above and beyond to make your experience at Sweetfield Manor one that is distinguishable and unforgettable. Ann and George's breakfast is delectable. Every morning we were treated to a luscious breakfast in new places, one morning in the beautiful garden! So romantic. Every dish should be featured on The Food Network, they were so tasteful and creative! Our entire experience at Sweetfield Manor has us craving more. We are eager to plan another stay as soon as possible. The manor and the innkeepers are so inviting and lovely.. I am sure that every guest will instantly be submerged in their signature paradise.


We will be back!

4.6 on March 10, 2009

We only got to stay for a day which was not long enough. Fabulous hospitality, food, drink, pool, and a view to dream about! We will be back! The Adairs


A pleasant retreat

4.2 on March 08, 2009

Ann's declicious pecan tarts and George's refreshing rum punch on their open-air veranda with spectacular view greeted us after a long hot day travelling. The Clarke's hospitality was exceptional. I felt like I was reuniting with longtime friends. The comfort of the bed and room with accessiblity to the bathroom/shower facilities was just like home! The rock pool nestled within beautiful manicured gardens was an added treat!


A Stay to Remember

5 on March 03, 2009

If you are going to Barbados for a night (before you catch a ship) or for a week this is the place to stay. It is up on a hill overlooking Bridgetown. You awake to the sound of roosters crowing, and monkeys playing in the hugh mahogany trees that surround the house. The rooms are large and beautiful, but the best is yet to come when you are treated to Ann Clarke's five course gourmet breakfast, served by her handsome and dashing husband George. The pool is heavenly, the rum punch served with fresh grated nutmeg from Grenada, and the crow's nest where you can watch the ships come in only add to the total experience you will get if you stay at Sweetfield. We cannot say enough about our time there and will definitely return. 10++++++++ John & Sharon Cowley


We felt immediately felt at home!

5 on February 26, 2009

My wife and I arrived almost at midnight from Miami and much to our surprise the Clarke's greeted us with welcome drinks and a late night snack -the most wonderful island soup I have ever tasted. What a nice way to take in weary travelers! We had a wonderful week in the Captain's Room and enjoyed seeing as much of the island as possible. We took the private island tour with one of the host's favorite cab drivers and saw everything we wanted to see. We ventured out everyday after the fantastic breakfasts and always found our way back to enjoy a last dip in the pool before dinner. We found the hosts to be absolutely the nicest innkeepers we have ever had the pleasure of staying with. We highly recommend Sweetfield Manor to any one looking for some originality instead of a hotel stay. It is a real gem like another reviewer said!


Paradise

4.2 on February 17, 2009

This is a truely great place to stay. Although not by the beach, it offers a fantastic, friendly and relaxing service. The rooms, decorated with style, are comfortable and very clean with air conditioning and big ceiling fans. The different breakfast every day was of outstanding quality. The manor and garden, including a beautiful natural pool, are very well kept and invite to relax. I can honestly recommend this place for a good time in Barbados.


paradise

5 on February 12, 2009

Outstanding in every way: food, service, hospitality. This is a place to come and relax. The best food and service I've experience at a B&B!


Charming

4.0 on February 06, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Sweetfield Manor. Our room was bright and cheery, breakfast was superb and drinks on the patio watching the monkeys play topped it off. We can’t wait to return. S & I, Fairfield CT


Wake up in Heaven!

5 on February 03, 2009

This was our second trip in two years and it is just amazing how this beautiful spot keeps getting better and better. The gardens are spectacular as are the views. Nothing compares to the pool and the lovely breezes coming through. Absolutely top quality beds and decor. The hosts are very attentive without being overbearing. The title reflects our arriving in the dark after a long flight from London and waking up IN HEAVEN to a gourmet breakfast.


Peace and Beauty

4.0 on January 24, 2009

This former plantation house has been renovated and decorated exquisitely. The surrounding gardens are lush and worthy of exploration. The highlight of the grounds is the pool. Monkeys really do come through the property at times, and friendly birds grace the windowsills. We were happy to sit on the covered porch or sunbathe in the garden. There is a view of the surrounding neighbourhood and the ocean. All of the rooms were beautifully furnished. Our room had a bathroom, which was very large and gorgeous. The air conditioning kept us perfectly cool at night. Our hosts were wonderful, and very interesting people. We were fortunate to be able to enjoy their stories of Barbados and other fascinating places from their lives. Breakfasts were lovingly planned, prepared, and beautifully presented. Most guests had rental vehicles, but we were happy to use the public transport, which was very convenient. Small vans pass by the entrance to Sweetfield and take passengers to Bridgetown. This is a great way to experience life in Barbados for the slightly adventurous. A short walk brings you to a regular bus stop and you can ride to a fabulous beach for $1.50 Barbados. We ventured into the neighbourhood at times and found the residents to be very quiet until the ice was broken, at which point they became very friendly and helpful with advice. Walking some roads can be difficult at first since they are very narrow and in some cases don’t have sidewalks, but the walk to the bus is smooth and easy. We had a lovely stay, we miss our hosts, and we’d love to return some day. M & J Toronto, Ontario CANADA


Try this pearl.

4.4 on January 24, 2009

If you had enough of accommodations trying to fit the needs of the masses, try this pearl of comfort and easiness! If you want to go away and find relaxation with hosts that become more friends then managers. If you want to create a vacation without stress and social obligation, go to Sweetfield Manor! With its panoramic ocean view and walking distance to Brown’s beach and close proximity to Bridgetown with all sorts of delicious Caribbean food & restaurants, jazz we thought it was a perfect location. At Sweetfield Manor you can relax your stressed soul by the pool, on the deck, there are plenty of rooms and places are available there for every mood. We flew in from Germany during a cold wintertime, and we found out, that we didn’t only change your clothes there, but we changed our way how to live life in a different, relaxed style. Our thanks go out to Ann and George (Captain) Clarke for the way they made us welcome. The breakfasts were so great and filling they lasted us for most of the day! This was a true vacation not just another stay at another hotel! We shall return.


What a find!

4.8 on January 21, 2009

We stumbled on this B&B on the web! We arrived VERY late (just before midnight due to a late plane) and were famished, all the restaurants were closed and the owners had a cup of soup and a snack waiting for us! What a welcome! The inn could not be more beautiful and we lovd everything about it. The breakfasts were to die for and we rented a car and easily found our way to everything. A very great way to see the real island and not just another resort!


Sweetfield Manor

5 on January 13, 2009

Excellent, welcoming stay. A real find! A place to spend some relaxing time and to come back to again and again!


Simply Overwhelming

5 on January 13, 2009

My 'significant other' and I spent two delightful weeks at Sweetfield Manor and loved every minute of it. The hosts - Ann and George - made us feel so welcome, we felt like friends within a very short time. We not only received any and all information we needed regarding swimming, beaches, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, etc., but we were also given a grand tour and several smaller ones. The food was simply scrumptious. I believe we never had the same breakfast twice - and the cakes! My friends thought he was in heaven (I do not eat cakes made with regular bread; Ann had baked brownies made with gluten-free flour, just to find out what it was like and to have something for me, too. What a find she is!). We had such good laughs, enjoyed the pool at every time of the day, sat in the shade of the palms and other trees, and always felt so very spoilt. Pity it is such a long flight from Germany or we'd go right back to this beautiful place and the wonderful hosts. Thank you, Ann and George, for making this vacation such a success!


Sweetfield Manor

5 on December 15, 2008

This Turn-of-the-Century mansion has been beautifully restored. Garden and grounds are private and well maintained. The innkeepers, George and Ann, are gracious and charming. I will return!


Barbados

4.6 on October 22, 2008

A piece of Heaven! Every detail was thought of and we enjoyed every minute! wonderful breakfasts, beautiful rooms, and wow! What a swimming pool!


Outstanding

5 on October 15, 2008

The best B&B we have ever stayed at - a must for everyone that travels


Sleep, swim, chat and relax...in a tourist free home

5 on June 24, 2007

Sweetfield Manor is a real 'find'! The former plantation home has loads of character and superb hosts. George & Annie make a great team and their home is very relaxing. It is only about five minutes from the beach by car, yet is a million miles away from the packaged tourist accommodations you can find in Barbados. We run a B & B in Woodstock Vermont and know a thing or two about what it takes to get the atmosphere right. This inn has everything you could wish for. A brilliant pool, large relaxing gardens, good quality beds (our king was made for sleeping on for hours...so we did!) and wonderful hosts who know the island, the restaurants and are interested in their customers history.


We can't wait to go back!

5 on April 20, 2007

This was our first time in Barbados and everything at Sweetfield Manor was perfect! The pool is so wonderful and we enjoyed watching the monkeys at play in the morning from the deck. We had a long journey from Germany and our room was very large peaceful place to rest and beautifully decorated. We also know the owners can speak German! We found Sweetfield to be close to everything and the owners had great tips on where we should go to see the best sights. The best part of every day was certainly the breakfast...most days we were still full and did not need any lunch! We can't wait to go back!


The Best Place To Stay

5 on March 08, 2007

We had a beautiful time. The house is terrific, the food fantastic. This a charming place to stay an we highly recommend it.


Touch of paradise

5 on February 25, 2007

"When I needed to get away and touch base in paradise I found myself at Sweetfield Manor. It gave me serenity, wonderful comfort and the impression of a world intact, with wonderful people, amazing breakfasts and an island of beauty I hadn't seen as yet even though I have traveled so much of the world. But Sweetfield Manor is more than a great location, luxury lodging and relaxing style. It is the unique and intimate atmosphere that makes all the difference. It is created and maintained with passion by Ann and George Clarke. Being back in Germany I still have not made up my mind what the Super bonus was, the Manor itself or the owners. I shall return, and if it’s only for Ann's wonderful cooking."


A Special Time! A Special Place!

5 on February 24, 2007

Having booked our stay for Sweetfield Manor from the U.K. we were delighted to find it was everything we hoped it would be and more. We stayed in the Mignonette Room and enjoyed the beautiful view and spacious comfort of this pretty room. The breakfasts were presented with tropical flare and the hosts did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. The highlight of our days were the swims in the rock pool at sunset with a glass of wine on hand...truly lovely! We highly recommend Sweetfield Manor to all! It is truly a taste of the elite Bajan life.


Brought in 2007 here!

5 on January 29, 2007

This was our first time in Barbados and we absolutely LOVED Sweetfield Manor. We were on the Island for a wedding and compared to the hotels the other guests stayed at, we certainly had the very best accomodations at the best value too. The Plantation home is so elegantly decorated and every attention to detail is observed. We loved the authenticity of the home and the hosts and had a very romantic and authentic visit to Barbados. We highly recommend this location (and the food was fabulous)! We stayed in the main house and had a very large room. We alos felt very welcome to relax in the whole house, the gardens and the pool. Our hosts gave us a full tour of the island and served us a wonderful dinner under the stars for our last night.


Wonderful getaway

5 on January 23, 2007

My husband I were married in Barbados. We stayed at Sweetfield Manor and really felt at home. The rooms are spacious and lovely. The view from the terrace is outstanding and the owners are very accomodating. We would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone who travels to Barbados.


Sweetfield Manor Historic Inn and B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $595
  • Reviews (59) 4.8
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2464298356
Top