Get a free $60 gift card with a $300 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Bangor, Maine

Enchanting! at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Truman Room, which was lovely and very comfortable. We will definitely return in the future. Breakfast was excellent, and we met several new friends there. The gardens are beautiful and lovingly cared for. A surprisingly gorgeous place to stay. Many thanks to our wonderful British host and innkeeper Mark Stephens.

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm & Atmosphere at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 02, 2014

Walking in was instantly comfortable, and made us feel like we had taken a step back in time. The rooms and common areas are all furnished with antiques, and added to the old world feel. You could simply sense the history of the town and the building itself, which used to be a stage coach stop. Rooms are very clean. Hosts are very personable, welcoming, attentive, and helpful in providing local history and suggesting places to check out. They are very accessible if you need them, yet discrete so that you feel you have privacy and can really unwind. We were arriving late, so loved the flexibility to do this, and that fact that they have a seamless system for checking in at will, no matter when you arrive, as well as flexible breakfast times. They have a well organized approach to their whole service. Nice touches were chocolates on the bed and a welcome letter to orient us to the B&B and town. Loved that they own an antique store on the lower level where we could browse and shop (and a discount for guests!). We will go back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic And Centrally Located at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on July 18, 2014

If you'd like decent accommodations but wish to avoid hotels, this makes a great choice. Best of all? Mark takes it upon himself to ensure solid WiFi bandwidth and selection of DVDs for in-room viewing. The drawing room on the first floor is lovely, too.

View more reviews for this inn


Just the right place to stay. at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2014

Beautiful from beginning to end. Surroundings, the décor, the history, the rooms, the people just every thing goes together to make this a great stay. The gardens and patios make it very nice to be there. Our first time, and we are going back next year. Mark Stephens is the best,. Very friendly, down to earth, and goes out of his way to take care of you and make you comfortable. While you are there, stroll the town and have lunch at the General Store.

View more reviews for this inn


The Brewster Inn in Dexter at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 29, 2014

Recently my wife and I stayed two nights at The Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine. Our host Mark Stephens was very cordial and did provide us a very comfortable stay. We would highly recommend this business for a comfortable stay while in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Friendly at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 14, 2014

My family and I stayed here when we visited friends. Mark put us in the Game Room. We enjoyed looking at all the books and playing chess. The king size bed was comfortable and my daughter loved sleeping in the 3/4 bed in the alcove. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was refreshing with plenty of water pressure. The inn is charming and well kept. The garden is beautiful. When we arrived at the Inn we felt welcomed. We enjoyed talking to Mark and the other guests at breakfast. We are looking forward to returning to the Brewster Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Perect at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on March 03, 2014

My husband and I decided at the very last minute to take off for an overnight get away and were fortunate enough to come across the Brewster Inn’s website. Mark, the Innkeeper, called us to confirm our reservation within about 20 minutes of booking it online. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Mark and felt very welcome immediately in our beautiful surroundings. The pictures on the website are all very beautiful, and we were pleasantly surprised to see it in real life - the photos cannot capture the history, the beauty and the love that obviously went into the beautiful mansion’s restoration and continued maintenance. The Inn’s foyer and living room are incredible, with beautiful attention to detail. Gorgeous hardwood floors, fireplace, large windows (with window seats) - lovely antiques and knick knacks in glass fronted cabinets, even a piano, not to mention furniture that makes you want to curl up with a good book! Very warm and inviting. The Honeymoon Suite is perfection, in a word. Not only is it private and quiet, it is beautifully furnished with everything you may want or need, it is spotlessly clean, from floor to ceiling. The bath is wonderful, a giant two person Jacuzzi with a separate shower, all surrounded in wood paneling, floors and ceiling. There are wonderful whimsical statues, urns and bowls on all of the beautiful built in bookcases lining the walls, with a great collection of books and a terrific sofa set in front of a gas fireplace - oh and more window seats! The bed and pillows are so soft and comfortable, we slept like rocks and didn’t want to go home! The breakfast we had was wonderful, and so filling we didn’t need lunch. I can’t thank you enough for a great stay, Mark. We will be back, and we will recommend your place to all of our friends. -Christine and Andy Condon, Saco, Maine

View more reviews for this inn


We loved the Brewster Inn at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 23, 2014

When I made a reservation at the Brewster Inn, i did it because the inn looked lovely from the pictures and because of the many positive reviews. My husband and I travel to New England every couple of years to enjoy the snow and wander around Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire. When I found this place, my husband questioned why on earth we would want to go up to Dexter where there was little to do in the winter. I told him I liked the inn pictures and he rolled his eyes. That got me a little worried, but when we arrived, our worries were put to rest. Mark has done an incredible job of refurbishing this inn. You can tell that there has been so much work done. For example, the living room. The painting detail is amazing and his taste is quite lovely. He continues to have things done and seems like he is always working on improving. Our room was the game room, and I highly recommend it. We looked at the other rooms and though all are lovely, ours was the biggest and the most spectacular. It is all covered in wood paneling, including a complex ceiling done in stunning wood design. The huge kind bed was comfortable and he had feather pillows, which we love. There were three luggage racks and lots of places to put things. The fireplace was a wonderful touch. Mark is more than willing to give help when needed. If you ask a question, be ready for a rather lengthy response - brevity is not his strong suit, but he is a gracious and caring host and we will definitely return to this lovely in. We did very little but drive around and look at the lakes and read and knit and cuddle, but other will find much to do during their days if pure relaxation is not your goal.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 13, 2014

This B & B is such a Treasure and full of History . We spent the Christmas Holiday at The Brewster Inn and had booked the Truman Room . Everything exceeded our Expectations and we could not have thought of anything else that would have improved our Stay . We will be sure to come back for another Visit and want to commend Innkeeper Mark Stephens for making everybody feel at Home while being away from Home . To anybody who is looking for an authentic historic clean friendly and beautifully restored B & B this is the Place to visit , you will not be disappointed !

View more reviews for this inn


Our Visit to the Coast of Bretagne at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2013

Exquisite appointments and far better than home (any of them)!

View more reviews for this inn


1st Time at B&B & loved it at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2013

Great stay, love the antiques in every room, owners wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous B&B at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 25, 2013

Ann and Ray, our hosts, made our stay most welcoming and enjoyable. We felt like we were old friends come to visit. Ann's breakfasts were to die for! Can't wait to come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Inn Keeper Ever! at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2013

Mark was the most helpful Inn Keeper I have ever met. He helped me plan my itinerary, called me back at home with other suggestions and checking to see if I had gotten my reservations for activities in place. When we arrived the Inn was big and beautiful, our room very spacious, a hot delicious breakfast and a hard working Mark to make sure we had directions, suggestions and any help needed for our days plans. Couldn't ask for more - I was so impressed.

View more reviews for this inn


Intriguing history at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on October 13, 2013

The accommodations were terrific, and Our hostess Ann was helpful and efficient. We enjoyed Winterport's winery (their cranberry wine, and warm mulled apple wine was out of this world! And the pizza place across the road provided healthy and tasty fare.

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster Inn - terrific Bed & Breakfast Experience at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 11, 2013

Vacationing in the New England area, the Brewster Inn was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. The experience far exceeded our expectations. Mark was a terrific host, for beginners. Our room was a combination of a luxury suite and museum. The walls were tastefully decorated with all sorts of items of interest, that provided a quaint look into the history of the home and the area in which we were visiting. The best part was having Mark as a resource to direct our daily activities. He steered us into site seeing and hiking that we would have never found on our own. We twice visited the Vittles Restaurant which he recommended and enjoyed two meals there, the dining highlight of our two week vacation. Should we ever have the opportunity to visit that region again, we would use the Brewster Inn as our base location and adventure out daily from there, taking full advantage of Mark’s considerable knowledge of the area, sites and other points of interest. A tremendous debt of gratitude to Mark for all of his guidance and suggestions!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable stay at an historic B&B. at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on September 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night at the Brewster Inn. Mark was very welcoming and informative. There is a lot of history at this Inn and we enjoyed hearing about it. The gardens are beautiful and I would definitely stay there again, should I pass through Maine again.

View more reviews for this inn


A Delight at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2013

The Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine, is a delightful gem of a B & B. The proprietor, Mark, was very accommodating and helpful. My mother, daughter and I made the long trip from Franconia, New Hampshire, to Dexter in order to take a moose safari. Since we planned to arrive in the afternoon, about an hour before our safari, Mark made sure we were checked in, coordinated with our guide, he gave us directions to our guide's business, and made sure that we were able to find a good place to eat when we were finished with the safari and back in Dexter (which was about 8pm and we wouldn't have had a clue where to begin finding a place for dinner at that hour). The day was somewhat rushed but Mark made everything a lot easier for us. Breakfast consisted of a hot egg dish, fruit, breads and cereal, with tea and coffee available about an hour before breakfast (thank you Mark!!). Our rooms were comfortable, well-appointed and clean. The inn offers a handicapped accessible entrance and room (which I mention because it's the first I've ever seen in a B & B, and was one of the two we booked for the night). We had a lovely stay, although it was too short. We would highly recommend The Brewster Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent for many reasons at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on September 04, 2013

Commercial House is an antique shop on the ground floor with wonderful items. Upstairs is the B&B. Lovely rooms. Breakfast room great - delish breakfasts. Ray and Ann are perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Just what a B&B should be at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2013

First time staying in a B&B and this was the perfect place to start. Ann (property owner) was incredibly welcoming. B&B is located above antique shop and is furnished with antiques. They even have a reading room for guests use. Highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


A little piece of heaven at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 22, 2013

Going back in time for couple of hours, surrounded by beautiful things from a forgotten world. Clean and decent, a super breakfast for royals.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Old Winterport Commercial House. Whenever, I'm in the Bangor area. It's lovely, clean and quiet and the breakfast is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved It! at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2013

This bed and breakfast was very clean, the beds were super comfy and the service was above and beyond! I felt completely safe and had a great night's sleep. The prices of the rooms are very affordable, as there is a room priced for everyone. Enjoyed the charm and the story behind the inn as well. Would definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Interesting Property at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 14, 2013

Breakfast was outstanding. Mark works hard to provide a fine experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster Inn at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2013

The Brewster in is a wonderful place to stay. My Husband is from England, so it was wonderful to him to hear our host Mark's accent. The grounds are beautiful, the home is beautiful and our room...well it was just what we needed after a 5 day road trip. We stayed in the Game Room it was masive in size and comfort! Breakfast was great and he had the best coffee of the 4 B&B's we stayed at on our vacation. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind, this is the place. We are looking forward to a longer stay next year. Thank you Mark for your hospitality, Darren especially enjoyed the train in the conservatory. See you next year! Cheers Anna and Darren

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful innkeepers at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 27, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and furnished with lovely antiques. The beds are very comfortable. The innkeepers are the best. They changed the furniture in the room to accomodate our needs and were very helpful and friendly, suggesting places to eat and how to get to various sights. Winterport is a lovely town and is convenient to both the Bangor/Orono area and the coast. They offer a variety of goodies for breakfast including an omelet and muffins made with locally grown veggies and fruit.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on June 26, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights, but was really quiet and nice. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was delicious, but you had to get there early. Mark is very accomodating to every need. Can't wait to see the new front wall when it is repaired and full of flowers. the back gardens are very nice now, but will be even better next year. Hope to go back again as I have family in the area. Linda and Brian Young, Plainville, MA

View more reviews for this inn


Best Kept Secret in Maine! at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Brewster Inn for five nights in June 2013. Mark, the resident owner and Innkeeper, made us feel special from the moment we arrived. He even carried our luggage down to our rooms for us! The Brewster is quite lovely and historical. The main rooms are beautifully furnished. The gourmet breakfasts are served each day in the large dining room.The menu is different each morning. Everything was delicious. We had the opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests which is why we chose a B & B. The gardens are exquisite for a stroll or to sit down and relax. The beds and pillows gave us a superb night's rest each night. The rooms and the entire Inn are impeccably clean.The Brewster is quiet and peaceful. Mark goes out of his way to make sure his guests have a wonderful stay. He is delightful! He will suggest itineraries and restaurants which was important to us as first time visitors to this part of Maine. We thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay and hope to be able to return to The Brewster Inn. This is a five start out of five stars!

View more reviews for this inn


Very enjoyable at The Brewster Inn (Dexter, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on March 05, 2013

Mark was a great host for our one night stay. Was first time in a bed and breakfast. He made it comfortable. The rooms were very cozy!! The morning breakfast was very delicious. Also want to thank Bonnie for the taxi ride to and from our event that we attended. Which Mark also arranged with Bonnie. Was a great experience and recommend to all.

View more reviews for this inn


Old Winterport Commercial House at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 19, 2013

Most excellent all around -- Great hostess!

View more reviews for this inn


Grenier at Old Winterport Commercial House (Winterport, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2013

Ann was very courteous upon my arrival and helped me with all my needs. Room was very clean and well-kept. Thanks for a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Old Winterport Commercial House (4.63)
  2. The Brewster Inn (4.41)
Top
}