Recent Reviews in Balsam, North Carolina

Beautiful historic Inn at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.0 reviewed on July 23, 2014

We have visited Balsam Mountain Inn on multiple occasions. It's a relaxing, beautiful location. Great place to get away from it all - no tv, peace and quiet. Lots of areas inside and out to sit and read, work on a puzzle, enjoy a glass of wine. During our last visit, we enjoyed watching a young family out on the lawn one evening, catching lightning bugs.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't stay at this place at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

1.4 reviewed on January 05, 2013

Went to this place in January on a 2 night Groupon. What a mistake! The ceiling of the room had cracks in it, the bathroom sink was ancient with rust stains, there were stains on the towels and the bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in. I guess this is someone's idea of "rustic". The first morning they served pancakes which were ice cold. But the worst moment was the second night/morning. During the night, the heat to the entire building went off. The over night temperature was 22 degrees. There also was no hot water in the shower or sink. Upon check out the manager said the natural gas tank which supplies the boiler was empty. He blamed the problem on the gas delivery guy who forgot to deliver the gas. That may be true, but it is still the Inn's responsibility to monitor the gas supply in their tanks. I requested a partial refund for the second night and the manager refused. He had an attitude like "it was my problem". With the Groupon, this place was about $85 per night. The normal rate is an unbelievable $140 per night. Even with no problems, this place is way over priced and way over rated. If you want to stay in this area go to Asheville (30 miles away) where $140 will get you a really nice room including heat and hot water!

View more reviews for this inn


A nice stay. at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

3.6 reviewed on July 02, 2012

We had We had a nice stay at Balsam Mountain Inn to celebrate our anniversary. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is really good, the scenery is outstanding, the front porch is very inviting, the room was comfortable and charming. Loved the clawfoot tub. Only one problem, in my opinion..No Air Conditioning!!! Sweltering! If I came back in spring or fall I would not have one single complaint. I really don't think adding A/C would spoil the atmosphere a bit. The only reason I rated the room below average is because of the lack on A/C.

View more reviews for this inn


Victorian style with modern ammenities at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.8 reviewed on December 19, 2010

Balsam Mountain Inn is a jewel hidden away in a richly historic Western North Carolina Community near Waynesville, North Carolina. My wife and I stayed there during the second week of December to celebrate our anniversary and we experienced the charm and excellent hospitality of a quality B & B! The Inn’s rustic charm is accented by its period design and the rooms are appointed to enhance that experience. Despite the single digit outside temperature, the staff that Inn Keepers Kim & Sharon have acquired made us feel warm and attended to throughout our stay. Balsam Mountain Inn is an adventure in waiting. Rev. Paul J. Brown

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place - Step Back in Time! at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2010

I highly recommend this place if you are in need of relaxation. No TV, radio or clock in the rooms. Absolutely wonderful library, sitting areas, front porch with rockers to enjoy the gorgeous mountain views. They sell local artist items which are very reasonably priced. And the food served at the restaurant is outstanding. I will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Valentine weekend getaway! at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

3.4 reviewed on February 15, 2010

This was our first stay at the Balsam Mountain Inn. We came to the Inn because of the Songwriters-in-the Round concert. This was a wonderful Valentine’s weekend event! The evening included a delicious dinner buffet followed by almost 2 hours of acoustic performances by 3 incredible Nashville musicians!! For about $50/person for the concert and buffet it was an evening to remember!! The Inn is definitely a unique lodging experience, with turn of the century atmosphere and furnishings. We enjoyed our room but the bathroom was very small. Since this is a 100+year old hotel, the walls are very thin, which does not lend itself to sound proof rooms. But we loved the old world feel, no TV’s and solitude of this location. We came on a snowy weekend and the innkeeper was VERY helpful when our car became stuck in the snow. The restaurant food was very good (A-) and we would enjoy dining here again.

View more reviews for this inn


LOVED IT! at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2009

I just returned from my first stay. Loved the atmosphere and the food. I will be back and am already telling all my friends. What a great place for relaxation and excellent food and service. Charming, check out their website, that is where I found out about the inn. It is as good as it looks on the web.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect mountin retreat at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.2 reviewed on August 27, 2009

I stayed for just over two weeks in July. As part of a film crew I haven't stayed in any hotels or inns that were as perfect as this place. The staff had such an easy going attitude and truly showed what southern hospitality is all about. They were there with anything and everything I needed and wanted. The restaurant is a great place to eat a good meal and enjoy a glass of wine. The menu could use a few more options. But overall, it was a wonderful experience. I would recommend this place to anyone

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Place at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.8 reviewed on June 24, 2009

The best thing about this place is the historic charm and the great staff. There is also an excellent restaurant and breakfast is free. We have been coming for years, and have always been pleased. Wonderful any season. Many rooms and room types to choose from. If your looking for something out of the ordinary, try them, I think you will be pleased

View more reviews for this inn


Back in time at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2009

I loved the Balsam Mountain Inn. It was very relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant food was award winning and my daughter said the French Toast was the best she ever had in her life. I loved that each room was different and cozy.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth the splurge at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.6 reviewed on March 04, 2008

A bit pricey, but worth the splurge. Inn sits atop Balsam Mountain-- beautiful views and scenery no matter the time of year. This is a large inn with a variety of room types. Dinner available in the top-notch restaurant. Full-- and delicious-- breakfast included with your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


We walked in and said, "Wow!" at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

4.2 reviewed on November 05, 2007

We visited a week ago and were so pleased, especially with the public spaces. Our immediate reaction was to be so impressed at the welcoming atmosphere: friendly and helpful staff, comfortable conviviality of the guests, and an interior setting that encourages rest and enjoyment. We loved the living room, library, and sun porch restaurant especially. One downside is the noise level we experienced in our room. There may be quieter rooms, but noise coming up the stairs and from the guests on the floor above us really interrupted our rest. Next time we'll choose a room more carefully, but we will definitely go many times more. We're considering trying to have a family gathering for our next wedding anniversary with chilren and grandchildren.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Place to Relax at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2007

We found this historic end several years ago. Last winter we decided on the spur of the moment to visit right before the holidays. It was the perfect place to de-stress before a busy holiday season. We love the quiet atmosphere and the friendly staff. In addition, the meals are fabulous! We will be returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique inn for real rest! at Balsam Mountain Inn (Balsam, NC)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2007

This inn features a wide variety of accomodations. No tv or phones so you really can relax. Great place for a retreat. High in the mountains. Beautiful scenery. Cool even in summer. Wonderful restaurant for dinner. Good breakfast included in price. Very helpful staff and innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Balsam Mountain Inn (4.29)
Top
}