Casa De Caballo Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

A wonderful stay outside the city

4.4 on May 02, 2013

Jerry & Vonnie were very welcoming and helpful. The "Little House" was outfitted beautifully and was very comfortable. The setting, looking toward the Catalina Mountains, was wonderful and being away from the city while still being close to shopping and restaurants was very convenient. The ranch backs up to state land and offers easy hiking and fine bird watching. What better way to start a morning than laughing at the Quail & chicks running around the ranch house. For breakfast we could choose from a well stocked pantry or request special items to prepare in our kitchen. Overall it was a great stay and we have some fine memories.


Wonderful place to stay!!

5 on March 25, 2013

If you like to hike, ride horses, love the outdoors or just plain relax, this is the place for you! We stayed for almost a week and will be back for more. Vonnie and Jerry are wonderful hosts. They were so gracious and helpful. Vonnie made arrangements for us to join a bird walking tour at our request, very enjoyable (one of the many highlights of our stay) She also gave directions, even escorted us to the trail head for a beautiful hike... right adjacent to their property. (after driving all the way for Illinois it was nice not to have to get back in the car right away :) Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We loved sitting on the patio and watching all the birds, hummingbirds, and wildlife. So much fun!!


What a find!

5 on March 06, 2013

We stayed at Casa De Caballo for two weeks in February. It was surprising to find a horse ranch located in the middle of a beautiful suburb! We were so comfortable in the casita and really loved seeing all the wildlife right there on the property -- loads of bunnies, quail and other birds, and of course the horses that live there. Jerry & Vonnie are delightful hosts and very accommodating! They made several good suggestions for activities in the area to match our interests (hiking, etc) and even drove us to one of the locations. There are some good walks and hikes available right from the ranch. We'd love to go back again next year!


spectacular hosts and location

5 on February 25, 2013

Great location many close by trails for mtn biking,hiking or horseback riding.Private and considered it a slice of heaven in safe community. Vonnie and Jerry are great hosts,couldn't of asked for more ... well only to have stayed longer:-)


Arizona Getaway

5 on February 23, 2013

Jerry & Vonnie are the nicest people you could meet. They took great care of my family during our recent stay - from legos for my son to play with to letting him sit up on a horse! We appreciated being able to cook some of our meals in the kitchenette and on the grill. Casa De Caballo is very clean and nicely furnished. You can't go wrong staying there!


Quiet, out of the bustle

4.6 on February 16, 2013

A delightful respite after long days of business. The kitchenette and breakfast supplies were perfect for my meal needs. The hosts were welcoming and accommodated my special requests with ease. A definite "yes" for a return visit.


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on January 12, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B, very relaxing and quiet. We hiked, saw beautiful sunrises and sunsets and enjoyed watching the horses. The casita had everything a person could think of or want and to top it all off, our hosts were delightful. We liked it so much that we stayed two days on our return trip. We look forward to staying there again on our next trip west.


Beautiful property, excellent value

4.8 on January 02, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Casa de Caballo during a "girls trip" weekend and our first time in Arizona. The space was perfect -- clean and nicely furnished. We were just far enough away from it all to relax, but also close enough to drive to downtown Tucson, Tombstone, etc. to do our daily sightseeing. Jerry and Vonnie went above and beyond as hosts. I received a call from Vonnie after booking our stay, she confirmed what we like to eat and had great breakfast foods waiting upon our arrival.


Discover the Treasure

5 on December 08, 2012

Casa de Caballo is a gem worth discovering. Tucked away at the base of the Santa Catalina's, the views are majestic! The accommodations are comfortable, safe and comforting. Vonnie and Jerry's hospitality is truly icing on the cake! We will find our way back to their door at least three long weekends before the year ends, including a special Holiday stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet respite alone, a romantic weekend with your special someone, a launching point for hiking, horseback riding, cycling, touring the Sonoran Desert, or shopping for your special piece of desert, this is a wonderful accommodation to launch from! Thank you Vonnie & Jerry. Alice and Frederic, San Jose, CA


Best 3 days in Tucson

5 on November 02, 2012

My husband and I had the greatest 3 days in Tucson. The hosts were unbelievably helpful beyond expectation. The casita was perfect with a lovely fruit bowl waiting for us and a stocked frig with goodies and snacks. The casita was very clean and comfortable. All your necessary amenities were there and it was decorated lovely. We went on several rides with our own horses and Vonnie took us on an amazing ride one day. Our hosts gave us so much information on what to see and where to go. We scheduled a visit to the Karchner caverns ( a muxt) then continued down to Tomestone. This would not have been possible for us without Jerry and Vonnie taking care of our dog for the day! We will be back soon to discover the Catalina Mountains with Vonnie in the Spring. We cannot say enough great things about our stay..Positive in every way.. Warm Regards, Art and Tootie Prescott Az.


Quiet, peaceful 3 days/nights

4.8 on October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly! Having had a very stressful last 6 months, this was a welcome respite. I had a wonderful trail ride with Vonnie and rode my first gaited horse. The Kauffman's were very accommodating to our vegan and organic food lifestyle which was much appreciated. Also, no barking dogs, wonderful night skies full of stars (even saw 2 falling "stars"). Didn't want to go home. Bed very comfortable too. Also Greek restaurant down the road a great dining experience and friendly people in the gift shop in that same plaza. We hope to return in the future.


I was proud to be the first guest at Casa De Caballo!

4.6 on October 07, 2012

My stay at Casa De Caballo was meant to be. There, I found the peace and relaxation I was searching for. I went on a solitary retreat, leaving husband at home, to spend time alone thinking, relaxing, connnecting to nature and strengthening my soul. Jerry and Vonnie immediately made me feel at home. They were very observant to my needs and were there to assist in anyway or to give me space as I seeked solitude. The casita is nestled in a valley surrounded by the mountains and hills. Such a beautiful location. The casita is a perfect size with an area for the bed and side tables and a living room area with chairs, desk and television. The kitchenette had everything I needed. Vonnie made an incredible dinner for me the first night I arrived. Before I arrived, they made sure I had the breakfast items I requested. The patio area is beautiful and peaceful with many hummingbirds. They give the utmost care to their horses. It was beautiful and inspiring. I also enjoyed the jack rabbits, quail, road runner, lizards and many birds on the property. At night, I heard a rustling and tried to get a glimpse of what may have been a javelina! I recommend staying here if you are interested in horses or not, if you come alone or with another and if you want to feel at home, see the beauty of the desert and find a deep peace. This is the place and I hope to return again. Next time, I will bring my husband! He would love to go jeeping and ride the ATV's. It will be more of an adventure. But, the peace and tranquility I felt during my solitary retreat was so very good for the soul! Vonnie and Jerry were gracious and kind and enhanced my experience tremendously .Thank you Vonnie and Jerry and I hope you do well with your new casita!!! Stacie, Wentsville Missouri


Casa De Caballo

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $70
  • Reviews (12) 4.8
  • Rooms 1

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5208182439

Visit Website »

View details

Top