ZenYard Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
151 Reviews

Write A Review

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

5 on January 21, 2014

We usually try and frequent B&B's when we are out of town. Love supporting the small business owner !!! Dale and Eddie were wonderful hosts with an amazing establishment. Our room, The Flagstaff, was perfect for my husband and I. It was located in the back of the property, which made it very quiet and secluded, perfect for our business/romantic getaway. The beds were wonderful and cozy. The shower was big and beautiful. We were surprised to NOT find a TV in our room, but as it turned out, it was a very pleasant surprise !! Highly recommend and we will return when we are in Phoenix again.


great time we really enjoyed ourselves

4.8 on January 17, 2014

Our second time staying at ZenYard was great. We were pleased to visit the Butterfly Experince as recommended very knowledgible staff. It was nice to meet the other couples also staying there.


Delightful and great value. Felt like home.

5 on November 01, 2013

I stayed at Zen Garden by myself for 5 days during a medical convention. It was like being at home. Easy access in and out at any time. Always a protected parking spot to leave my rental car. Lovely, quiet, clean and comfortable room. Very gentle, quiet, nature inspired decor and garden and almost a spiritual quietude experience. Sherri was sweet and left a little baked treat in my room every evening, breakfast was delicious and healthy and home made. I just loved it and would stay there again. I highly recommend it .


LA bonne adresse de B & B dans la région de PHOENIX, Az

5 on October 29, 2013

Préférant, de temps en temps, un B and B à l'hôtel (les contacts humains y sont plus qualitatifs), mon épouse a réservé deux nuitées dans ce charmant endroit. La réponse à la réservation est rapide, l'accueil est convivial, les chambres sont décorées avec goût, le petit déjeûner est excellent. Le quartier est calme.La piscine (eau légèrement salée) et le jacuzzi vous permettent de goûter à une détente complète. Il y a toujours moyen de trouver un endroit paisible pour lire. Eddie, Dale et Cherrie font l'impossible pour vous permettre de passer un séjour reposant et relaxant. Ils sont d'excellent conseil pour les lieux à visiter où ceux où l'on peut se restaurer à un prix correct. Pour preuve de notre satisfaction, nous avons demandé à y séjourner avant notre retour en Europe. Nous y avons été accueillis avec la même gentillesse. Merci à vous.


A place of restoration

4.0 on October 17, 2013

We only were able to enjoy one day and night at the Zen Garden but it was just what was needed. We floated in the saltwater pool, lay in the sun and listened to the soothing sounds of many songbirds, had a chat with our friendly and wonderful host, and walked to dinner down the road. Up early to catch a flight and had a nice, basic and tasty breakfast to send us on our way. The bed was okay, the shower fabulous. I will definitely return.


Wonderful introduction to Arizona!!!

4.4 on October 07, 2013

What an absolutely deligthful and heartwarming way to arrive late, and late at night, in a new city! Our hosts welcomed us as if we were the guests they'd long been eagerly awaiting. Can't praise this calming and comforting oasis highly enough.


Buried Treasure

4.6 on October 03, 2013

It is amazing to discover a guesthouse , one that is so secluded that it is difficult to believe that it is in Central Phoenix. Here there's quiet, privacy, restful rooms built around a pool frequented by an amazing number of hummingbirds (no charge). And Mom never fixed you a breakfast like this.


Great Place!

5 on September 18, 2013

I am very delinquent in writing this review. We stayed here Thanksgiving 2012, and it was so perfect. I'm looking for a place for our next visit and only now realized that I forgot to post my review. Shame on me, because this was a really great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone. (Shhhh.... this is a great place to avoid family drama if you are visiting family in Phx for the holidays!) Dale and Eddie are warm and welcoming and we loved visiting with them -- and especially loved the laughter. The food was delicious. The casita was a nice home-away-from-home -- very private with all of the comforts you need, including a little kitchen with a cute corner window, and a private hot tub on the patio. We would definitely stay here again, without considering going anywhere else. Easy decision! Love it!


An oasis in the desert!

5 on September 01, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing, private, and quaint experience...stay at ZenYard!! It is close to great restaurants, airport, and central Phx. Dale and Eddie make you feel most welcome without being intrusive on your privacy. We enjoyed using the pool! The cereal bar, coffee and tea selections and warm scones were the perfect way to start our day.


Great place!

4.4 on August 28, 2013

A really cozy, relaxing place. The owners are nice but unobtrusive. Room was clean & spacious. A big plus for the gluten-free scones for breakfast! Would stay again for sure.


This place is the very definition of B&B...

4.6 on August 24, 2013

Bodacious & Beautiful!!! I don't usually leave reviews...But although its been 4 months since I stayed here for a night with my gal...I just had to. This place is that good.!! Dale & Eddie were awesome hosts...Right from the time waiting up for us for a late check in .......to waking up extra early in the morning just to cook us breakfast before our early flight departure. That fresh blueberry oatmeal was just fabulous. The guest room itself was modern & minimalist. Very relaxing indeed, especially with the additional touch of having a zen music on the radio :) Great outdoor fire pit to lounge and relax outside the room. The salt water pool and cabana was fantastic. Infact we were having some much fun in the pool we missed our dinner reservation. Overall an amazing experience!! Great hosts!! Makes me think why spend a mediocre night in a regular run of the mill hotel for the same price when this fabulous place exist right in the middle of Phoenix. Definitely recommended!!...Will be back here the next time I'm in Phoenix.


My Stay at the Cowboy Casita

5 on August 23, 2013

This was a wonderful stay at the Cowboy Casita, the food was great and room was very nice and decorated.


Hidden Gem - Fantastic Retreat in Phoenix

5 on August 15, 2013

I have stayed at Zen Yard twice and both experiences have been absolutely superb. The overall ambiance is peaceful, tranquil, beautiful. There are many wonderful touches and the hosts, Eddie and Dale, are always available to help with anything. I am already looking forward to my next chance to stay here. The value? What can I say....almost unbelievable! I would stake a claim that this is on par with any very high dollar accommodation in the area. Actually more than par. If you like water, you will love their salt water pool - such a joy to swim without chlorine! Words fail me. This place is awesome.


Peaceful respite

5 on August 14, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at ZenYard Guest House. The hosts could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this is one of the best! I highly recommend this property to both business and leisure travelers.


Like being home--only no responsibility!

4.6 on July 08, 2013

Eddie and Dale were marvelous hosts. Their guest house is comfortable and unpretentious. We enjoyed the pool and the little deck off of our room. Everyone was friendly. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend it as a great value in Phoenix.


Comfy and Quiet!

5 on June 10, 2013

My room was perfect! Very quiet location , great bed, luxurious shower and good AC! The owners went above and beyond in helping make my stay relaxing and fun, and I was visiting on business ! The pool is serene and wonderful dining is five minutes away. Thanks Zenyard! You have another "will return" guest !


Very friendly and a relaxing atmosphere

5 on June 02, 2013

ZenYard was a perfect place for us to stay. We (8) as a family, were attending our granddaughter's graduation from Medical School. Eddie and Dale were most welcoming and gracious. The breakfasts, they served, were plentiful and delicious. I would highly recommend Zen Yard. Rachel


Great place to stay

4.8 on May 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights here while on a business trip. We stayed in the smallest room that shares a bath. The facility is great, but the best part of the ZenYard Guest House is the owners. They are very personable and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and evening activities. They accommodated my early start time in the mornings and cooked a wonderful breakfast. In the evenings we enjoyed sitting in the common area or swimming in the pool. We really enjoyed our visit and would go back.


First time at ZenYard

5 on May 23, 2013

Everything you could want in a Bed & Breakfast. The salt water pool was fabulous the day we were there. The keyless rooms and site were easy to use and one less thing to keep track of. I liked the fact that Eddie texted the day of arrival to ask about our arrival time. There will definitely be another visit.


Perfect Stay

5 on May 20, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during my business trip. I love staying at B&B's instead of hotels and this was a perfect one! I had a lot of work to do on my computer, and this place was so quiet and peaceful - allowed me to get everything done. Eddie and Dale were perfect hosts and even recommended an awesome Italian place for dinner. The only regret is I didn't pack my swimsuit! Their pool was so inviting. The place was clean, tidy, and had everything that you would want. HIGHLY recommend this for anyone traveling through.


A very nice stay

4.2 on May 07, 2013

The hosts were nice enough to stay up late when I arrived. The room was wonderful, and the outside pool area was incredibly beautiful. I would definitely stay here again, the price was equivalent to staying in a cheap motel but the experience was far better.


just like a spa in the center of the city

5 on April 16, 2013

We loved staying at Zen Yard. It was like being at a little spa in the center of the city. It was very calm and relaxing, and conveniently located. The breakfast was superb. Eddie and Dale were very helpful with travel suggestions. I would definitely stay at Zen Yard again should we return to Phoenix. We have been travelling around Arizona for a week now and there hasn't been anyplace like it. We just loved the ambience.


Our 4th Stay at Zenyard

4.6 on April 14, 2013

My husband and I just love staying at the Zenyard. It is like staying with friends, only even better. The grounds are perfectly relaxing and a great place to hang out. The jasmine was in bloom, and it smelled great. Breakfast is made to order and very good. Eddie and Dale are outstanding hosts, very warm and welcoming. We will be back!


I'll be going back!

4.4 on April 09, 2013

My second stay at ZenYard, it's like home away from home. Welcoming, accommodating, comfortable, centrally located... I'll be back, and look forward to it.


Anniversary Weekend at the ZenYard

4.0 on March 27, 2013

The ZenYard is centrally located near great restaurants and activities. The grounds were peaceful and welcoming. The owners are gems!!!...Made us feel at home from the get go. A must stop shop if you are staying in Phoenix!


best deal in phoenix

4.6 on March 26, 2013

We have been at Zenyard for the 4th time. It is not hip, it is not new, but it always feels like coming home. dale and eddie are wonderful hosts, the neighborhood is great and you can get to each place within a short drive (camelback mountain, squaw peak, scottsdale, papagopark, airport). there are some restaurants in walking distance. the pool area is nice, the hot tubs are great to use in the evening. we will be back!


Perfect End of our trip

4.6 on March 24, 2013

We finished our trip at this b&b. Well it was perfect and both owners were the perfect hosts and very friendly. we enjoyed the time very much. The breakfast was fresh and really tasteful. If we will come back to Phoenix we will definitely stay here again. We can recommend this place to everyone.


Perfect

4.8 on March 22, 2013

This is the kind of inn you will want to spend your whole trip at. The outside quarters are gorgeous. The pool is a really nice salt water pool. The owners are gracious and sweet and the breakfast is amazing. We paid for a late departure just so we could hang out there as long as possible. Highly recommend.


An Oasis in Phoenix

5 on March 20, 2013

The owners of the ZenYard Guest House, Eddie and Dale, have created a lovely, relaxed, and secluded space right in the middle of Phoenix. If you want to "get away from it all", yet still be in an urban setting, this is the place for you. I can't wait to go back.


One of the Best

4.6 on February 25, 2013

Outstanding service, great breakfast, awesome environment. Most of all, terrific value! We'll be back...


Amazing Experience!

5 on February 23, 2013

We had such an incredible time! The service was amazing and the place is so beautiful and peaceful. Would HIGHLY recommend!


Great Stay at the Zen Yard

4.6 on February 17, 2013

Great place to stay in Phoenix - good location, welcoming hosts, attractive grounds with lots of private courtyards, great breakfast. We stayed in the Jerome Room, which has its own entrance and is separated from the main house. Full story with pictures at http://thetravelgal.blogspot.com/2013/02/zen-yard-guest-house-phoenix-arizona.html Highly recommended.


Great on all counts.

4.4 on February 12, 2013

I have stayed at ZenYard on two occasions, and highly recommend this fabulous retreat. Great service, comfortable lodgings, and great location. Great breakfast too. I'll be back!


Zen Yard - a desert oasis!

4.6 on February 11, 2013

A warm and welcoming respite on a quiet side street with clean, cozy rooms. Lounge in comfortable common rooms or in inviting, shaded side yards complete with a swimming pool, hot tubs and fountains. The real majic of Zen Yard is the hospitality of the proprietors, Eddie and Dale, a fount of local lore and practical advice. Breakfasts are a highlight (try the fried oatmeal, even if you can't stand oatmeal!). Despite thin bedroom walls that might be an issue in the morning for light sleepers, and one of the shared bathrooms in need of renovation, I give Zen Yard two enthusiastic thumbs up.!


Great place to sty

5 on January 24, 2013

The ZenYard Guest House is always very accomodating and pleasant to stay.


Very welcoming, great stay

4.4 on January 22, 2013

This is a great place if you want to get away and still get some interaction. Dale and Eddie are terrific innkeepers. Food is exceptional and personal attention is great without being uncomfortable.


Lovely place to stay

5 on January 07, 2013

Eddie and Dale are very accommodating and friendly hosts. This is my favorite B and B whenever I stay in Phoenix and I would certainly recommend Zenyard. Thank you for your hospitality, Crane and Sharon


Awesome B&B

5 on January 02, 2013

This bed and breakfast was simply fabulous in all ways. Our stay at the ZenYard Guest House has remained with us as one of the memorable parts of a very special visit. Dale and Eddie were gracious, warm and inviting hosts and we felt immediately comfortable in their beautiful space. They were extremely attentive, gave us helpful information for navigating the city and its environs, made massage appointments for us (which were on site and great!) and prepared delicious, healthy breakfasts. We stayed in the Jerome Room which was just perfect. The only minor issue was the fact that the shower, not having a door, made the bathroom floor a bit wet - you can tell we're grasping at straws for something constructive to offer! If our travels bring us back to Phoenix, we will look no further than ZenYard for a place to stay and will hope to have a few more days to simply relax at their pool and in the hot tub.


Enjoyed our stay

4.2 on December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our hosts, Dale and Eddie. They were gracious and seemed to genuinely enjoy spending time with the guests. Breakfast was tasty. The only drawback was no TV even in the main living room, and the wifi was spotty. This would be a good place to visit in spring or fall when you could enjoy the outside seating and pools/fountains.


Amazing Place!

4.6 on December 19, 2012

What a lovely find! Eddie and Dale were incredibly welcoming and I enjoyed getting to chat with them at breakfast. Sadly we got caught with rainy weather so we didn't get to take advantage of the pool or hot tub. The house was impeccably clean and had everything a forgetful traveler would need (shampoos, q-tips, hairdryer). The only draw back was that the walls were a little thin and you can hear your neighbors getting bustling around in the bathroom in the morning. Still, it was a beautiful place and I will definitely be visiting again!


MUCH ZEN HERE~

5 on December 06, 2012

Charming property, equally charming hosts and the breakfasts were spectacular! Felt at home from the get-go and the hot-tub was very therapeutic~Having the fire-place lit during our 1st morning breakfast service was so lovely and the dining suggestions from Eddie and Dale were "on spot". This is the place to go to chill out and get your ZEN back! Highly recommend~Namaste


Beautiful relaxing place

4.2 on November 13, 2012

Eddie & Dale are great hosts. They make you feel at home and enjoy you coming back. Their solar heated pool and the hot tubs helped me relax every day after work. Definitly I'll be back there as soon as I'll be in Phoenix again. Thanks a lot you guys.


Great place to stay!

4.8 on November 09, 2012

For those who want to escape the numbing sameness of chain hotels, this is a paradise. Beautiful rooms, great food, personal atmosphere. We'll be back.


oasis in phoenix

5 on November 08, 2012

loved my stay at the zenyard! i felt perfectly at home and the hosts were great to talk to. my room was super cute and i wished i could have stayed for much longer but i was just passing through. looking forward to staying there again!


Best I've stayed in

5 on October 17, 2012

From the outside, you'd never guess the delightful experience that awaits you within. Both Eddie and Dale are wonderful hosts (friendly, interesting and extremely helpful) and their wonderful energy flows throughout the place. It was peaceful, stylish and filled with lovely little touches that lifted the entire experience to above the ordinary. If I ever come back to Phoenix, I'll DEFINITELY stay here.


Fantastic Stay!

5 on October 12, 2012

From the moment I walked through the beautiful gate I was greeted and treated as an old friend. I will return, and also share my experience with everyone I know going to Phoenix. Eddie and Dale are fantastic hosts with truly a Zen ~ Yard!


THE BEST

5 on October 02, 2012

It was a great stay. You might consider using a different cab company for your guest referrals to cabs. I loved my room and the overall delightful outdoors environment, including the pool, statuary, and grapefruit trees. Thank you Dale and Eddie for a memorable stay. Cathy


AZ 2012

5 on September 15, 2012

Eddie & Dale are consummate hosts...we felt like we were visiting old friends...highly recommended when in Phoenix...we will DEFINITELY stay again...Bobby & Tommy


Phoenix getaway

5 on September 11, 2012

We've stayed twice in the Jerome room, and have really enjoyed both stays. The breakfast was wonderful, and the room serene and inviting - my husband rarely sleeps well when away from home, but he did at the Zenyard!


Awesome night at the Zen Yard house

5 on September 07, 2012

I needed a quick room for a last minute buisness trip. I was late getting in 830pm was met by a gentleman that showed me my room gave me the breakfast menu for morning and treated me like he was my personal assistant. I was able to completely relax finish some buisness and have a great nights rest. I did a quick swim in the morning had breakfast and was on my way. My only regret was I couldn't stay a week. Great oasis in the desert!


A Relaxing Escape in the Big City

4.8 on August 17, 2012

Really big cities like Phoenix are both stimulating and hectic. Zen Yard, with its subdued yet comfy rooms, sparkling salt-water pool and always helpful hosts, offers a special oasis right in the midst of Central Arizona. The services that Dale and Eddie offer, from massages to bicycles to afternoon snacks, turn an ordinary urban stay into an extrodinary adventure in relaxation. We always return home grateful for having stayed at Zen Yard.


Peaceful Sanctuary

5 on August 06, 2012

I recently spent 5 nights at Zen Yard - and I couldn't have been any happier. The entire experience was absolutely lovely. Comfortable, friendly, calm, with delicious full breakfasts and the amazing salt water pool!! Eddie and Dale are perfect hosts and have created a quality of welcome serenity, comfort and beauty. Not to be missed!


A must see!

4.6 on July 10, 2012

An amazing property...only wish we could have stayed longer!


Great Folks, Great Service!

5 on July 06, 2012

A few weeks ago we accidentally booked a Friday instead of a Saturday. We did not realize our mistake until Friday evening when the ZenYard contacted us to see when we were arriving! I was devastated that our anniversary weekend might be ruined because they were booked on Saturday, but ZenYard stepped up and took care of us. Within ten minutes they had found a nearby B&B that had an opening for us, and transferred our payment to the other place and did not charge us a dime! I am so pleased with their hospitality and look forward to staying with them in the future - if I can just get the dates right next time!! :-)


An elegant oasis

4.8 on July 05, 2012

The Zen Yard, with its gorgeous landscaping, quiet, secluded patios and serene decor gave us a welcome refuge from the heat, and from the bustle of the city. The hosts are charming, gracious and really good cooks.


The only problem was that our visit was too short!

5 on June 22, 2012

First of all, we liked the soap. That was, in part, because my boyfriend and I had just hiked the grand canyon and it was our first shower in days. But we also liked the soap because it seemed like they spent a few extra dollars on getting a nice kind. It smelled wonderful. Our host was very nice: he greeted us as we pulled up in our car and gave us great restaurant recommendations (we went to Ticoz Resto-bar and got some mind-bogglingly good blue corn enchiladas). He really made us feel at home and we felt like everything they had everything we needed--even Q-tips! Other nice amenities included a light right next to the bed for reading (with a dimmer) and gourmet tissues. The pool and the hot-tub were not only wonderful on our sore, tired muscles, but also very private. After all, they did have three different ones to choose from in different areas of the property. The bed was also fluffy and comfortable. And who doesn't like free, high quality teas? In general, the whole place was charming, and we liked it a lot. Our only regret is that we had to leave so early the next morning to catch our flight that we had to miss breakfast and weren't able to spend more time enjoying this gem of a bed and breakfast.


Oasis in the desert

4.2 on June 12, 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at ZenYard and would definitely like to return. The hosts were warm and kind. Food was perfect. Everything about our stay was wonderful. We especially loved the salt water pool, which was welcome after several days of grueling hiking in the Grand Canyon. ZenYard is a B&B unlike any other we have ever stayed in, but very nice and memorable. Thanks so much! We hope to have a chance to return again!


Oasis in the desert

5 on June 08, 2012

My husband and I were welcomed to ZenYard by Eddie and Dale like old friends. The location in a leafy suburb of Phoenix is lovely - tranquil and relaxed, but with plenty of restaurants near by. Our room was spacious, airy and nicely decorated, and the gardens were beautiful. Having the hot tub outside our room was a real bonus. Breakfast was yummy, fresh and healthy. On our last morning, we had to leave early and we were even given a packed breakfast to take with us. Eddie and Dale gave us plenty of tips for great places to eat, and we highly recommend the pizza at Spinato's (a short walk away). Thanks for a great stay - we'll defintely stay there again if we're in the area!


Delightful stay

4.4 on June 05, 2012

Very enjoyable B & B! Eddie and Dale are wonderful hosts, my room was lovely, and the POOL - simply heavenly!


Oasis in north Phoenix

5 on May 31, 2012

The ZenYard is located in a semi-residential area with great off street parking. The refreshing salt water pool is protected by a wall along the street, huge trees and shrubs on the West to protect from the sun and and a metal woven fence from the parking lot. Street noise was minimal and by noon, the pool was shaded. This the second thing that greeted us when we arrived. The first were hosts, Pete and Dale who were friendly and very gracious. We had the Jerome room and it was nicely appointed with a queen bed, fridge, microwave and a fancy sink in the bath with a double headed shower. Breakfast each morning was fantastic with choices of fresh fruit, bagels, scones and eggs made to order, including yummy omlettes. Would certainly stay here again.


Oasis

5 on May 15, 2012

We made reservations at the Zen Yard Guest House at the last minute. We were traveling from the Grand Canyon and needed a place to stay for the night. The location was recommended in our Moon tour book so we gave it a shot. We stayed in the Sedona Room which has a shared bath, something we were a bit concerned about. However, once we got there we had no concerns. The coutryards are beautiful and the Sedona Room opens onto the back patio and back hot tub. We left the door open all night, the breeze was so nice. The pool is wonderful - a great relaxation after all the hiking. Eddie & Dale were wonderful hosts. They showed us around when we arrived and chatted for a bit about the area. They recommended a fabulous restaurant for dinner. And breakfast in the morning is cooked on site and fresh when you are ready. My only regret is that we weren't able to stay more than one night.


A Home away from home and so very peaceful

5 on May 14, 2012

A stay at the ZenYard is absoluely a pleasure. You will not believe you are in Phoenix! It's more like a peaceful tropical isle. Every room has a private garden setting where you can have your morning coffee or breakfast. And the breakfast - just wonderful. Eddie and Dale are great hosts and it is clear they love what they do.


Amazing B&B in Phoenix

4.8 on May 08, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the ZenYard Guest House in Phoenix. The room was great, the facilities were amazing with a pool, several hot tubs, and a lovely common rooms, and the hosts were absolutely lovely and very accommodating. It was great value for what we received. We would absolutely stay there again if given the opportunity.


Better that that old cliche' resort!

5 on May 06, 2012

I was enchanted with the peacefulness and privacy of the ZenYard the moment I pulled into the property. Eddie and Dale immediately made us feel like family, and still gave us plenty of privacy. Our room was just our style - eclectic, colorful and fun. The bed was really comfy. Eddie and Dale were there to answer any questions, and make sure we were happy guests! Our breakfast was scrumptious - my husband loves eggs - and Eddie made this scrambled egg dish that sent my husband to heaven!! We are hoping to convince some of our friends to hang out with us some night there this summer - a home away from home get-away - without the "entitled" atmosphere we get at some of the areas resorts. Thanks Eddie and Dale!!!!


What a find!

5 on April 16, 2012

This inviting, serene compound put us in the perfect state of mind from the minute we walked through the gate. We stayed in the Sedona Room, keeping the french doors wide open and enjoying the sound of a gurgling fountain and (de facto) private outdoor sitting area and jacuzzi (there's a more public jacuzzi near the pool). A grapefruit tree and hummingbirds only added to the magical quality of this place. A couple of the rooms are in casitas, so you don't even realize that other guests are there until breakfast (which, as others have said, was fresh and delicious). Eddie and Dale are so easy-going and interesting, I felt as if we were visiting old friends. The reasonable price is the icing on the cake! A very special place, indeed.


Heaven!!!

4.0 on March 08, 2012

Magical and Unforgetable!!! There isn't a person I haven't told...I felt as though I was in Paradise. Thank you Dale and Eddie for sharing your heaven with me and my best friend!! Now soon to be husband:) The surroundings and warmth of your B&B was so incredible!! Soon you again very soon. Kimberly & Justin


Wonderful!

5 on February 29, 2012

We loved our stay at Zenyard. The room was comfortable and airy, and we could walk right out to a hot tub and porch. The hosts were warm and we enjoyed talking with them and the other guests. The food was incredible - fresh and delicious! We highly recommend!


Weekend At ZenYard

4.2 on February 23, 2012

This place was by far our favorite part of Phoenix! The atmosphere was so tranquil, and we loved having our own private hot tub! Dale and Eddie were so wonderful, and went out of their way to make all of us feel comfortable and relaxed. If we ever return to Phoenix, we will definitely stay here. The value is incredible, and we would absolutely recommend staying at ZenYard.


Mellow Experience -well worth a re-run!

4.8 on February 21, 2012

After a week-long business meeting I was ready for a mental health break--ZenYard was the perfect choice.Warm welcome, no hovering, peace, quiet, and all in a comfy low-key package. I'll definitely return! Diane


Great Phoenix B&B

4.2 on February 16, 2012

Great place. The hosts were warm and friendly, they really enjoy people and serving as hosts. The continental breakfast was substantial, enough to hold us until dinner. Great layout, nice rooms. If you're going to poenix, this is the place to be.


Great place to stay

4.6 on February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the ZenYard for 3 nights while in town for a wedding. We wanted a more personal place to stay than just a hotel/motel, and this was perfect. We would definitely stay there again. There are lots of nice areas to relax in - both inside and out, in sun and in shade. We stayed in the Cowboy Casita, which was large and comfortable. We were glad we had enough time to enjoy its hot tub and patio area while we were there. The main pool is beautiful, but we didn't get a chance to try it.


Great place!!!!!

4.8 on February 06, 2012

Dale and Eddie are great! They were very hospitable and helped with everything! The house is so peaceful and obvious detail has gone into its decorations - inside as well as outside. The patio area is amazing with wonderful plants and trees (including a huge grapefruit tree) and inviting furniture to sit and relax. I would definitely recommend this stay to anyone - esp if you enjoy a good pool and hot tub.


Zen Yard is an Oasis in Phoenix

4.0 on February 03, 2012

Zen Yard is a lovely hideaway tucked in a residential area just off of Central Avenue. As soon as you go through their gates, you enter a little world of patios and fountains, and you are greeted by two warm and friendly hosts. The rooms are clean and tastefully furnished in a contemporary style.Each room is located on the property in a way that ensures privacy and quiet. The common area is a comfortable living room where a healthy breakfast is served, and you can talk with other guests if you wish. The price is very reasonable, especially for Phoenix. I highly recommend this lodging for anyone who wants to have something other than a resort or chain hotel.


Fun Time

4.2 on January 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners were friendly and helpful. The location is great and the house itself, which is very spread out, is really neat--you'd never think you were in the middle of a city. We stayed in the apartment which had its own hot tub, sitting area (both inside and out), and kitchen. Our daughter stayed with us one night using the sleeper-sofa. I'd highly recommend the B&B to others.


ZenYard B&B Review

4.0 on January 15, 2012

I was in Phoenix for business travel and wanted an alternative to the conventional Hyatt/Hilton stay. I was pleased with the comfort of the room, Eddie and Dale's service, the great coffee in the morning. As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe. I would return to the ZenYard for future travel.


Outstanding B & B! Makes me want to come to Phoenix

4.0 on January 04, 2012

Booked our room to be near Phoenix Air port after vacation in Grand Canyon and Sedona. The place was so beautiful, and Eddy and Dale so lovely to us, it was hard to leave after just one evening. The design is wonderful, the Zenyard label is not misplaced for this mindful place of peace and contemplation. Would love to return to Phoenix just to spend some time regenerating from this wonderfully comfortable spot. David Hemingway, Missouri


Zenyard is a model for guest accommodations

5 on December 19, 2011

I love this place. Eddie and Dale are warm and inviting, but not intrusive. A comfy, cozy, safe place to stay that's convenient to all things Phoenix. A true reprieve during a hectic business trip. If only there was a stay of 'Zenyard-quality' at every destination... Karen


The Best Bed & Breakfast in the states...

5 on December 07, 2011

I recently stayed at the Zenyard Guest House from 2 December - 5 December 2011 and can honestly say it was not long enough! I was reuniting with a long time friend in which we were reconnecting for the first time in 12 years. So I was very nervous about how the weekend would go. I can honestly say the atmosphere of Zenyard made our transition GREAT! Outside ~ there were a variety of seating areas, 3 Hot tubs, a salt water Heated 7 foot pool, a gas fire pit, hammocks, and beautiful plants and landscaping. The entrance was keyless, which had I asked we could have very well stayed at the Zenyard the evening we went to the Westin. With a 1 am arrival time I did not want to disturb them, but now I know! Inside ~ The décor was very elegant yet comfortable both in the room we stayed in as well as the common areas. All areas were Extremely clean! The common areas include; a living room space with a T.V. (no T.V's in the rooms which was a bonus for me!!); a dining area with a tea bar and a coffee bar; a computer with Wi-Fi; and free Wi-Fi throughout the house to include your room. The Room! Ahhh The room! We stayed in the Jerome Room which is very modern and Zen like. There were little details in the room that meant so much for example; a lighter (to light candles), a wine opener, cups, plates, a min frig partially stocked with items available for purchase, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower area. The Owners~ Eddie & Dale…. WOW should just about cover it. Extremely classy very personable people. They made great recommendations and gave good insight into the city life. I feel like in 4 days I got to know them and really enjoyed their company. Checking out was a sad day as I had to say goodbye to them… I will definetly stay here again when in Pheonix and Will recommend this place to all of my friends and Family… Thank You!


Truly Zen

4.6 on November 13, 2011

I loved this place! Truly zen.... feng shui.... everything was perfect.


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on November 04, 2011

I absolutely loved this urban guest house. The special touches in the room and common areas are too numerous to list, but I especially appreciated the availability of wine, coffee, tea, and more. The Jerome room was so comfortable, quiet, and relaxing and beautiful. Plan on visiting Phoenix again in April and would definitely stay here again.


One in a million

5 on October 16, 2011

Wonderful and relaxing A real home away from home.No way my stay could have been improved on.I am a B&B veteran and have been using them since graduating from Hostels (after college). I have stayed in many unique venues including a wind mill and a light house This ranked as one of the best and most interesting! Will be back next time in Phoenix


a perfect haven for your stay in phoenix

4.4 on September 29, 2011

this is a lovely place with much love for detail and great hosts! we loved the sedona room and our own little patio and hot tub. it instantly felt like home to us and we would always come back..;-) oh, and don't forget the beautiful and refreshing saltwater pool...that is a real bonus in the arizona heat.. Jess & Ralf from Germany


Go to the ZenYard - it is cool

5 on September 28, 2011

great place, friendly guys, excellent pool, cozy, good breakfast -advice anyone going to phoenix to stay there!!!


I'll Be Back!

4.4 on September 27, 2011

As a woman traveling alone, I was a little bit leery about trying the Zen Yard Guest House, but I was desperate to find an alternative to the typical sterile, soul killing accommodations I usually stay at when on business. Boy, was I in for a treat! The Zen Yard Guest House is a welcome surprise that surpasses its photographs in every respect. Pictures cannot capture the lovely sounds of its burbling fountains, the intoxicating scent of its row of moonflowers, or the oscillating pool lights that change from blue to purple then red, making an evening beside the pool at the Zen Yard Guest House the best place to be in Phoenix. I stayed in the Tucson Room, which will be my new go-to place whenever I am in the area. If you are a walker/jogger, like me, be sure to head west out of the parking lot and walk to Central Avenue, a mile or so away,where you will find a wonderful dirt path to follow while you ogle Architectural Digest homes. My only hesitation in writing this review is that I would like to keep this little gem a secret all for myself.


Romantic Phoenix Oasis

4.4 on September 01, 2011

This August of 2011, we stayed 3 days at the ZenYard in the "Cowboy Casita". It was a lovely cottage with: a fully equipped kitchen & dining area, cozy living room, good size bedroom (comfy sturdy bed & 2 spa robes) & a full bath. Outside of our private entrance we had our own hottub, BBQ & patio furniture. The entire facility is a private haven, eventhough it is centrally located to downtown Phoenix (& minutes away from Scottsdale. We also enjoyed the saltwater swimming pool & the continental breakfast in the Lobby. This oasis is many things to many people, healing, romance, staycation & sight-seeing. The price is the best for what you get & more. I know because, I checked every other B&B/hotel in the 50 mile radius. The inate ability that they show through their fungShui care & attentiveness to your every need/want is uncanny. I will be a frequent flyer at the ZenYard in the future, thanks to Eddie & Dale. Thank you, Fatimah Partowmah


Outstanding B&B! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

4.6 on August 30, 2011

Who knew there was this gem right in the Phoenix. It's a well kept, peaceful setting with a great pool/courtyard area. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and are outfitted with a great deal of ammenities. Stayed in 2 different rooms & our only less than stellar comment is the bathroom in the 2nd room needs updating. It was a very relaxing, fun stay at a very cool place. However...we have to say, what makes this B&B stand out (besides the above)...the owners. Accomodating, engaging, open minded and wonderful only begin the description we could give them and will be one of the many reasons we will be staying there again soon.


Really great place!

4.6 on July 30, 2011

We love this place. Eddie & Dale are great hosts. Pool is extra wonderful, and the hot tub outside the Cowboy Casita is great. Privacy is excellent, and the onsite massage was completely superior to any massage we've had. Great gateway in the middle of the city. Would return.


ZenYard Guest House is a Stay Again

5 on July 24, 2011

Upon arrival was a plus. Knew this was going to be a great stay. Eddie and Dale were a delight. Friendly and professional. Made us feel like we knew them for years. Gave wonderful suggestions where to and where not to dine. Dale bakes some mean morning breads to start our day. Be sure to take advantage of the Salt Water Pool, refreshing. Rooms are a nice size and beds very comfortable. We didn't use it, but the TV room and lounge was very homey. This would be a plus for your stay in Phoenix. Jerry & Bill


ZenYard Guest House

4.6 on June 30, 2011

Owners and manager were warm and kind and accommodating. A very peaceful environment. I recommend ZenYard highly.


A great place to stay

5 on May 30, 2011

This is a hidden gem--fantastic rooms, great food and wonderful hosts.


Such a wonderful relaxing Place to Stay

5 on May 18, 2011

This was such a wonderful place to stay and far exceeded our expectations. The food and beverages were fresh including a delightful fesh fruit salad in the AM. The place made us feel so relaxed and was very healing during our unexpected visit to Phoenix to attend a funeral. We had only wished we could have stayed longer. The owners were friendly, helpful and accomodating and our host Eric was the best. Eric really made all the difference too with his spirit and hospitality. We are going back to Phoenix just to stay there again


Location, Location, Location

4.4 on April 13, 2011

Make sure to give yourself enough time to enjoy both the nearby dining and nightlife in Phoenix, as well as the stylish and comfortable accommodations at this mid-city oasis. Midway in a drive across the desert, this was for me a perfect layover, made extra special by warm owners and a healthy morning breakfast.


Relaxing, clean, very friendly

4.4 on April 12, 2011

The hosts go out of their way to make the guests welcome, comfortable, relaxed. You really feel at "home". Great outdoors and indoors, attention to detail. A breakfast banana bread to kill for -- and lots of delicious teas, coffees, fresh juices. It is good value and we'll stay there next time we are in Phoenix for sure.


The perfect oasis in busy Phoenix!

4.6 on April 04, 2011

This is a wonderful find - lovely rooms, perfect hosts, and fantastic central location. I've stayed twice, once in January and once in March, and have reservations for May. I whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone who is considering a B&B in the Phoenix metro area. Make sure to schedule your massage at time of booking and receive a discount!


Not what we expected for a B&B

2.8 on March 31, 2011

Zenyard was a nice enough place to stay, the hosts were very nice, but it's really not a B&B or a B&B experience. So, we were disappointed because we were looking for that experience. It's in a residential area and there is currently construction of a school across the street, which is within feet of the pool, so that whole area is essentially off limits right now. The separate room in the back (the Cowboy Casita) was okay, but in need of updating, and not in the category of B&B's we've visited. The whole surroundings and yard felt more like someone's older track home that was trying to be zen-like. The breakfast was continental, so more like you'd expect at a hotel, and again, not like a B&B. I write this not to put the place down, but just to alert anyone reading the reviews that this is not a B&B experience, and if that's what you're looking for, you should look elsewhere. All in all, the place was "fine," but I would've preferred a traditional hotel to what we found here.


An oasis in Phoenix!

3.8 on March 30, 2011

Stayed at the Zenyard for Spring Training. Perfect! Eddie, Dale and David were wonderful hosts. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


I will be basing vacations around staying here!!!! awesome energy great guys!!

4.8 on March 17, 2011

I stayed at the Zenyard for three days , when I first arrived very late in the evening they were very excited to meet me and were gracious and welcoming, I felt right at home, they had a fantastic tea bar, which I immediately utilized, I was also six months pregnant at the time so it was my last vacation before having a lil tyke, so the tea was awesome and they had great variety and right away gave me a gift certificate for !) dollas for a cnearby restaurant and I went there right away and had a fantastic time I had a cobb salad with bleu cheese so memorable and elegant. I cant gush enough about this place I even asked them how much they would sell the place for.... go see for yourself its fantastic.


Peace and Comfort Right in the Big City

4.2 on March 17, 2011

What a welcoming and peaceful environment. The owners are very friendly and accomadating, the house is very comfortable and the pool and lounge area are outstanding. You couldn't ask for better accomadations and at a reasonable price. If I am ever back in the area I would only stay here!


A great stay

3.8 on March 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived late in the evening and were greeted the moment we got out of our car. We were helped carrying in our bags and taken on the tour. They were both friendly and made us feel welcome. The house is comfortable and has a great home feel to it. The only issue for us was the loud sound coming from the air conditioner at night. Other than that, we were entirely comfortable and at ease. Overall a great stay! I would highly recommend this place.


A fabulous introduction to Phoenix

4.6 on February 23, 2011

Everyone who goes to Phoenix for the first time should experience it though the welcoming doors of the ZenYard Guest house. Eddie was a most gracious host and though we didn't see much of Dale, we admired his hair from afar. Our room was great, the dining recommendation was perfection and the pool was beyond amazing. It really was like staying at a friends home only MUCH better. And of course, the tea bar rocks!!! We will be back!


Where's the "Breakfast" in the B&B?”

1.4 on February 09, 2011

This is our 3rd B&B experience so far. Michael and Co-Owner Eddie were nice and outgoing people. The location of this B&B was excellent to get to different areas. The reason why I prefer to stay at a B&B instead of a hotel is for the comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. The bed was above average. Breakfast was self-serve, which was the most disappointing thing but that was my fault for not reading the "Continental Breakfast" on the website. I could have stayed at the Sheraton Hotel if I wanted a self-serve breakfast. The only homemade items were hardboiled eggs and cut fresh fruits. The other items were pre-packaged oatmeal, cereal, instant breakfast in a can, and pastries from the grocery store. The pastries were okay...nothing special about it since I prefer whole grain/organic pastries. Sheraton Hotel would serve better breakfast than that...they got belgian waffles. The other disappointing thing was the bathroom (we stayed in Sedona Room) is shared with other guests (Tucson Room). I've not had to share a bathroom with other people at a B&B or hotel and the website gave the impression that the Sedona Room had it's own bathroom unless you happened to check out the photos of the Tucson Room and noticed the same bathroom photo. Also, the website stated that there's an "onsite computer". I got the impression that the computer would be in a common area, so we did not bring our own. So, we instead we had to ask the owner to borrow the computer. The B&B was not as spacious as we thought it would be, so we did not feel like we had a lot of privacy.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on February 07, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 8 yr anniversary recently, and I surprised him with an overnight stay at ZenYard in Phoenix. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and very private. The surroundings were beautiful and so peaceful. Eddie and Dale were wonderful hosts! We can't wait to get away and stay there again!!


A real gem to find.

3.8 on January 24, 2011

Eddie and Dale were very welcoming to my husband and I. They had thought of all the little things that make staying at a B&B so nice. Their outdoor areas were great too for relaxing in the evening. We will definitely go back!


Our stay at Zen Yard

4.2 on January 21, 2011

Zen Yard B&B is comfortable, relaxed and a wonderful respite from the crazy buzz of Phoenix.


ZenTastic.

5 on January 19, 2011

What an oasis tucked away in Phoenix. We enjoyed a beautiful stay with Eddie & Dale at ZenYard in January 2011. Conveniently located to many of the attractions we took in during the BCS National Championship Game. Their hospitality was welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much.


Love the ZenYard

5 on January 18, 2011

Staying at the ZenYard was like staying with friends, Eddie and Dale were wonderful hosts. The place is very inviting and comfortable, great beds, beautiful landscaping. I will most defiinitely stay again next time I am in Phoenix!


Love Love Love the Zen Yard.

5 on January 13, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in Phoenix. Dale and Eddie were super helpful! We were looking at a law school in the area and looking at apartments. They helped us with directions and information on the area of the apartments. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we really enjoyed the experinece. Thank you so much Dale and Eddie.


Welcome retreat

4.0 on December 31, 2010

Having reviewed TripAdvisor, we elected to try ZenYard. If you haven't had enough of the social uncertainty and buzziness of typical hotel/motel properties, one may not be ready for ZenYard. On the other hand if the wish is for a laid-back and unimposing retreat with generous private and quiet space to reflect, ZenYard is ready for you. The hosts are quite pleasant, the breakfast nutritious, and the location was central. We look forward to a repeat visit.


Good value but priceless service!

4.8 on December 20, 2010

Eddie, Dale and John create such a positive setting here it is hard to find fault; it's called a "guest house" so imagine our pleasant surprise when we saw our linens were freshened and I was made hot herbal tea with lemon and honey when I had a sore throat! We felt pampered and yet had privacy....the Holiday tree-topper was the coolest! Great work guys....nice to have an affordable place be so clean, gorgeous & have such lovely energy!


Great stay at ZenYard!

5 on December 16, 2010

I really enjoyed everything about ZenYard. As others have noted, Eddie & Dale are wonderful hosts. They have done so much with the buildings and the landscaping - creating a warm and relaxing environment that serves as a "home away from home." These rating are so subjective -- just know that if you stay there, you will feel welcomed, have a great room & access to other great spaces (indoors and out) and be offered delicious coffee/tea, fresh fruit, etc. My husband and I will be staying there again.


A Wonderful Reprieve in the Phoenix Area

5 on December 15, 2010

We had a lovely stay and were impressed with the recommendations for meals out and about as well... Really enjoyed soaking in the tub outside of our room, and even making ourselves a couple of meals in our own little kitchenette. This was an excellent getaway for relaxation down in the Valley of the Sun. Very cozy setting. Love the way the guys enclosed the solar-heated pool and the nice community areas, including by the fireplace! We will go back again.


Very Nice and clean place

3.4 on December 12, 2010

The room is very clean and the environment is excellent. A bit old fashion- but simple and clean.


WAY MORE than a guest house...

4.4 on December 11, 2010

where you are greeted as a long lost friend! Experienced professionals and multi-talented, the owners display a casual and playful nature . Eddie and Dale's passionate attention to this "Urban sanctuary with European flare" is evident down to the tiniest of details. ZenYard will have you short cutting your plans beyond the artistic gate. What awaits are extraordinary pleasures such as entertaining hummingbirds, an art nouveau-lit saltwater pool, grapefruits and tangelos for the picking when in season, the opportunity to linger with a book by the indoor OR outdoor fireplace, as well as relax in one of two garden hot tubs. For wine enthusiasts, ZenYard provides a variety of unique wines from around the world. The breakfast was adequate but could be expanded upon when given advanced notice in order to accommodate guests with special diets. Like I said, Zenyard is WAY MORE than a guest house, it's a destination all its own!


Cannot believe the price

5 on November 12, 2010

Love the facility. The owners were wonderful, friendly, and accommodating. I could not believe the price given the beautiful rooms and common areas.


Wonderful surprise

4.8 on November 07, 2010

The ZenYard Guest House was much more than I expected. The hosts were wonderful as was the extras that were scattered throughout the property. I have already told several friends about this B&B.


Unbelievably enjoyable stay

4.8 on November 07, 2010

My wife and I spent a night with Dale and Eddie on 11/3/10 and could not have enjoyed it more. They were warm, friendly, helpful hosts who have thought of every conceivable detail to make their guests' stays relaxing. The residential area is quiet and pleasant, yet very close to a wide array of restaurants and other services, and they are only about 15-20 minutes to the airport. We would stay there again without any hesitation.


Serene retreat

5 on October 28, 2010

The house is peaceful, comfortable, safe, immaculate, and tastefully done. The solar-heated, salt water pool is just delicious. Breakfast includes hard boiled eggs. The hosts are indeed generous and accommodating. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else. I highly recommend it to all my friends.


Peaceful getaway from alaska

5 on October 27, 2010

Very quiet. Very comfortable accommodations. Very friendly hosts. Will stay there again if in Phoenix.


Another great stay at ZenYard

5 on October 25, 2010

I have stayed her about 4-5 times when I get in town and have never been disappointed. It's always spotless, Eddie and Dale are great hosts and the beds are very comfortable.


relaxation is key

5 on October 21, 2010

absolutely the best place i have stayed when away from home.... relaxing, calm, peaceful, warm and friendly atmosphere! thanks guys for making our stay so awesome! robyn


lives up to its name

4.4 on October 20, 2010

The owners are friendly and we were greeted on arrival and shown around. It's a great place to unwind and we enjoyed a relaxing evening in the pool. Aneasy drive to Sky Harbor airport the next morning.


Delightful place

4.8 on October 19, 2010

I spent 4 nights in this unusual urban retreat, a perfect place to relax after exploring Phoenix. My room (the Sedona) was thoughtfully and tastefully furnished. It opened onto a shaded patio where I could read, and was a few steps from a hot tub and a garden courtyard, and a few more steps from the pool at the front of the house. Returning home late one evening I entered to find a lovely sight: flickering candles all around and a large bouquet of fragrant white flowers on the dining room table. Hosts Eddie and Dale had helpful suggestions for my stay, and were engaging conversationalists.


Friendly Fun Neighborhood B&B

5 on September 28, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the ZenYard this September. We chose it because it was just down the street from a friend's house, but were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable our weekend turned out to be. The heated salt-water pool is a definite delight, and our cowboy-themed room in a quaint cottage was quite spacious and wonderfully restful. The Continental breakfast was delicious and fresh, with a personal touch to all the foods and beverages provided. We would go back to ZenYard in a heartbeat!


Zen Yard

4.8 on September 23, 2010

Had a great stay at the Zen Yard. Breakfast was good. Pool was fantastic. Eddie, Andrew, and Dale are great hosts. Dale even lead us on a hike. Thanks!


Calm and Cool

4.4 on August 16, 2010

This is always remains a great place to stay. Quite, neat and fun. the pool is a delight, as are the hosts. I'll be back...


the best place to stay in Phoenix!!

5 on July 30, 2010

I was warmly welcomed by Eddie and Dale upon my arrival and they gave me a tour of their charming guest house, awesome pool, and my wonderful room with beautiful private patio adjoining it! I had the best time! Oh, and right behind my little sanctuary is a hot tub with a lovely little meditation pond, and vines growing up around the walls. Very green for being in the desert! After a great night's sleep I got up for breakfast and was welcomed by Eddie's sweet smile and a generous spread of fruit, breads, excellent coffee by the way, cereals, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs that Dale so lovingly decorates with happy images and phrases to start your day! There was no detail overlooked! I had a seat at the big communal table and was soon joined by a traveling couple from Belgium. We all had a wonderful conversation over breakfast! I would highly recommend ZenYard to anyone traveling through Phoenix. I am SO glad I did not stay in a hotel!!!! It was an excellent value and I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Actually, I wish my house was more like theirs! Thank you Eddie and Dale for your gracious accommodations and warm hospitality! - Sara from Asheville :)


To put it plainly - we will go back

4.4 on July 21, 2010

Great place and great hosts. To put it plainly - we will go back and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else. Eddie and Dale are super friendly and professional and will make your stay memorable.


accomodating and aesthetic

4.8 on July 19, 2010

the Zenyard provides a perfect "home away form home:. The owners are generous and make every effort to accommodate . We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the attention to detail during our stay. The rooms are aesthetic and comfortable. The only suggestion is to make the ac more effective by putting the controls in each room. We had a most enjoyable stay.


Peaceful and great

5 on July 16, 2010

Positive experience...everything about ZenYard is wonderful. Love the attention to detail and the pool area is an absolute delight. Eddie and Dale are friendly hosts. Thanks! Look forward to staying at ZenYard in the future.


A Truly Amazing Experience!

5 on July 14, 2010

My fiance and I recently stayed at the ZenYard Guest House while looking for a house in the Phoenix area. This bed and breakfast is truly an oasis. Every aspect of our stay was incredible. The owners are terrific hosts who make you feel at home from the moment you set foot on the premises. (They serve homemade banana bread that is to die for as part of their continental breakfast.) We extended our stay by three additional nights and would highly recommend the ZenYard to anyone visiting the greater Phoenix area!


truly an oasis in phoenix

4.4 on July 08, 2010

We had a lovely two night stay at the Zen Yard and had a great time. Behind the unassuming entrance and a large number 830 on their front wall, you enter an oasis of peace and comfort in Phoenix. We stayed there in late June 2010 over some very hot days and thoroughly enjoyed the calm of the front yard with their salt water pool. There is tea, coffee, water on the go the whole day and in the morning we enjoyed a lovely healthy breakfast with granola, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt and most of of all great coffee. We stayed at the suite and had a little kitchenette which was great for preparing a meal and eating it at the poolside. All in all, it's a lovely place with a great location to central Phoenix and Eddie and Dale are great hosts. Definitely recommended!


Wonderful hospitality

4.8 on July 05, 2010

This is a truly great place! Eddie & Dale are wonderful hosts, and our stay was so good that we are recommending this place to all our friends travelling to Phoenix. In addition to clean, comfortable rooms, the place is beautifully landscaped, has a great pool & excellent hot tub! Book it!


Restorative

4.0 on July 04, 2010

Dale & Eddie's hospitality was exactly what I needed to achieve a truly relaxing and restful stay. I enjoyed the accommodations and breakfast immensely. I would return in a heartbeat.


Our relaxing pre-vacation

4.6 on July 01, 2010

Dale and Eddie were wonderful and very accommodating hosts that went out of their way to make us feel at home. The salt water pool was a wonderful treat after a long day. The bed was super soft with down pillows that just seemed to envelop us into a blissful slumber. I wish we had an excuse to stay longer. We will definitely consider staying again if the opportunity arises.


Relaxing Staycation

4.8 on June 30, 2010

We live in the Phoenix Metro area, and the ZenYard (near downtown Phoenix) offered a surprisingly peaceful escape from our busy everyday lives. We booked the Cowboy Casita for two nights and were pleasantly surprised to find complete privacy and quiet. We enjoyed a romantic weekend together, snuggled under the down comforter on the most comfortable bed ever. My artist boyfriend loved the lighting and solid table near our casita's large, southeast-facing dining room windows. He was able to ink drawings for hours while I enjoyed refreshing swims in the salt water pool. The property is exceedingly clean and well-kept, and the innkeepers (Eddie and Dale) are welcoming and attentive. We'll definitely be back!


Great place to stay in Phoenix.

4.8 on April 28, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my brief visit to the Zenyard. Eddie and Dale have a wonderful, welcoming home, and they were great hosts.


perfection!

4.6 on April 22, 2010

Staying at Zenyard was like being in a private oasis in the middle of a city, that once you walk through the entrance, you are immediately transported to a peaceful and cozy environment . Eddie and Dale are wonderful hosts and make their guests feel completely at home. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I am in phoenix ! If you are the kind of traveler who hates giant impersonal hotels, then Zenyard is the perfect place for you..


Amazing Place

5 on March 12, 2010

I stayed at the Zen Yard in February 2010 and was blown away by the amazing service, gorgeous rooms, and total value. Dale and Eddie were the greatest hosts and their commitment to their customers was beyond amazing. Coming from Denver, CO, I wasn't looking forward to the 14 hour drive, especially knowing that it meant we wouldn't be getting in until 9 pm. However, my anxiety about arriving subsided when we were greeted by two beautiful souls. I would highly recommend staying at the Zen Yard. There truly is no other place I'd rather stay in the Phoenix area. Also, Dale gives amazing massages, so take advantage of his awesome rates and enjoy the stay. Mary (Denver, CO)


Unique and Worthwhile

4.2 on February 07, 2010

Great place to stay with a terrific pair of hosts. Convenient to the Phoenix airport including being able to get there by public transport. My only regret is that we were heading in other directions and only were able to stay here for one night. a fantastic place to use as your base camp for extended stays as well.


MORE THAN JUST A BED AND BREAKFAST

5 on February 02, 2010

A wonderful bed and breakfast which is really a retreat. I would never stay anywhere else in Phoenix,AZ. Great hosts who make you really feel like home. Eddie and Dale went overboard in making my stay a great experience.


Relaxation and friendly smiles all around!

4.8 on January 27, 2010

Jan-2010- My husband and I stayed at the Zen for 2 weeks while we were looking for a home to purchase in Phoenix, We were met at the airport by the sweetest fella's who welcomed us and so began our awesome stay at the Zen, The pool is salt and so clean and refreshing, we so enjoyed our own private hot tub as well. Dale and Eddie were so helpful and accommodating, we couldnt have chosen a better place to call home for two weeks.....we didnt want to leave! C and B from Calgary, Canada


Great stay at Zen Garden

4.8 on January 05, 2010

The room was great and the atmosphere very comfortable to reside in. We are planning on staying at Zen Garden again.


Zen Yard Will Bring Us Back to Phoenix

4.6 on January 05, 2010

While we had visited Arizona a dozen times over the years, this was our first visit to Phoenix. Our hosts Dale and Eddie have created such an ideal home surrounded by, yet seemingly miles away from, the urban sprawl of the Valley of the Sun that this will not be our last visit to Zen Yard. Their knowledge of the area and the sincere friendship that they extend are without compare. We have traveled to all regions of North America and to over 30 other countries staying at small guest houses and B & Bs. Zen Yard ranks at the top of our list for great value, serene setting and caring hosts.


Our Phoenix 2nd Home

5 on November 30, 2009

We spent two nights at the ZenYard B&B, before and after our flight to Hawaii, and were totally delighted with everything. Our hosts, Eddie and Dale, provided us with transportation to and from the PHX airport, and even allowed us to keep our car parked in their secure parking lot for the ten days we were gone. The whole atmosphere of their spacious B&B is definitely peaceful and beautiful. I enjoyed the hot tub the 1st evening and we used their suggestion of a great nearby restaurant which totally satisfied us. From now on, we will only stay at their B&B and we will recommend the ZenYard Guest House to anyone who is planning a trip to Phoenix. Eddie & Dale: you have made friends with us for life! Thank you so much. Jim & Sylvia


Zen yard is pure bliss

5 on October 27, 2009

Great B & B. Eddie and Dale are gracious and make you feel comfortable and at home. Our room was cozy, clean and roomy, and the service impeccable. Their kindness and hospitality made my trip very memorable. I would not stay anywhere else when in Phoenix!


Phoenix Rising!!!

3.8 on October 08, 2009

This delightful inn is in transition - renovations based on plans that will make it magnificent. Renovation aside, it is one of the best inns we've ever stayed in. The feeling of complete comfort begins the moment the door opens and you are greeted by the owners, their warm, friendly smiles and obvious desire to make you feel at home. Great care has been taken to ensure guest privacy with suites having their own entrances from outside. The suites are spacious and have all the amenities. We stayed in the Central Suite which has a bedroom, sitting area, kitchen and bathroom. Continental breakfast is available every morning. The front garden is tranquil ... wind chimes, oriental statuary, lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas and hummingbirds flitting from feeder to flower, all surrounding a pool that is warm and a provides the perfect end to a vacation day! Add to all this, in-house massage and in our eyes you've pretty much defined the perfect stay. All this for a nightly cost of US$75.00!! We rarely stay more than once at an inn but Zen Yard and its owners are there to be experienced over and over. We will certainly return.


So glad we stayed here

4.4 on March 17, 2009

Eddie and Dale are wonderful hosts, and their place is beautiful and just getting more so with renovations. We stayed here 2 nights, one on either side of our trip to Sedona. We stayed in the Central Suite the first night, and the Cowboy Casita the second. The rooms were lovely, and the bed in the Cowboy Casita may well be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They have a pool and 2 hot tubs. We were lucky enough to be there when Dale's mom was visiting, and got to share in the homemade brownies and chocolate chip cookies. They were so helpful with suggestions of where to go for fantastic wine and food, shopping, must-see places (the current Chihuly exhibit at the Desert Botanical Gardens). It was wonderful and I highly recommend Zenyard.


far far better than a hotel!

4.6 on March 07, 2009

the hosts, Eddie and Dale, are welcoming and hospitable. The House has great karma; it is casual, comfortable, and comes with everything a business traveler needs - wifi; clean, very comfortable rooms with comfy beds; pool and jacuzzi; and expert advice on where to dine and what to do. I'll be back, and bring my wife next time!


Oh YEAH!

4.2 on February 17, 2009

Delightful B & B! Eddie and Dale are a joy - the kind of rare people you sometimes meet where you feel an instant sweet connection! The ZenYard is very comfortable (my bed was the definition of comfort!) and private...delightful extra qualities and perfectly located for the Phoenix area. Eddie and Dale are very well plugged into what is happening in town and are a great resource for guests to all things wonderful! I will stay here again and recommend it to others.


Quiet and Comfortable

4.6 on February 07, 2009

Nice place to stay and relax plus not a lot of hub bub. Liked the keyless entry, didn't have to worry about keys. I'll stay again, can't beat the price anywhere.


January Stay

4.2 on January 14, 2009

Dale and Eddie are fantastic inn keepers - they know exactly what they are doing. Pillows are great, picked fresh citrus, hot tub was a blast - even did a lap in the pool. The especially large hunk I found for turn down service was quite a surprise. :) Thanks guys for a fun and pleasant stay...


ZenYard Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $78 - $168
  • Reviews (151) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6028450830

Visit Website »

View details

Top