Abineau Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Genuine, not Glitzy

4.8 on November 23, 2013

Located between Sedona and the Grand Canyon, north of the Phoenix airport, this haven is restful, family friendly and delightful after an outdoor day. There is so much to explore in the area that I never arrived at the Lodge in time for the wine tastings, but the breakfasts were varied and healthful. Not being on a main highway is part of the charm, but follow a GPS carefully and/or phone for directions as you get close.


Rustic Charm

4.8 on August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night after a long day at the Grand Canyon. We had some difficulty finding the Lodge in the dark, otherwise loved this B & B. The owners take pride in their Lodge. Everything was immaculate: rooms, common room, lounge, kitchen, etc. Owner was very accommodating for our late arrival. If you want a place away from the hustle and bustle, at a reasonable price, choose this B & B. High-end rustic furniture and bedding. When we checked in we had the option of scheduling breakfast according to our time table. We selected 8:30 and a delicious breakfast of egg's Benedict was ready. We would highly recommend this B & B.


Abineau B&B

4.8 on January 20, 2013

To start with, it's a great location. Just off the highway, a few minutes outside of Flagstaff business district, far enough away that on a clear night the stars are incredible! In the AM you get back on the highway, go around a curve & there's this gorgeous snow-capped mountain in view. Rooms were cozy (it was cold & windy outside!), clean, adequate size, the food was good, the common area nice too, the staff very friendly & responsive. Go there.


A great quite place to stay

3.6 on January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days while travelling in the Flagstaff area and enjoyed the quite atmosphere and the fine food. The lodge is about 10 minutes from downtown Flagstaff and there are no stores around, except for a gas station about 1.5 miles away however this was not a problem for us. No TV in the room but a nice common area on the second floor. Also the rooms do not include a hair dryer however the staff quickly rustled up one when asked. A fine place to stay to get away from it all but still close to highway and town. Carl


Kidless parents getaway

4.6 on November 18, 2012

This was our first weekend away without our small children and it was wonderful. Abineau is quiet and peaceful. Surrounding forests are beautiful. Very easy to get to Flagstaff for dinner. Breakfast was great. Wine tasting on Saturday was a nice touch. We stayed for two nights in November while we visited the Page, AZ area. For two people from Phoenix it was a treat to arrive in the snow. We would definitely come back.


Aniversary Weekend

4.2 on September 11, 2012

We wanted to get out of the heat in Phoenix, so looked in Flagstaff for a special place to celebrate our 23rd anniversary. Because Abineau was away from the hustle of the city, this was the perfect place! Quiet, cozy. Friendly staff to assist with any special needs. Great weekend! Hope to return again sometime. The Brown's, Sun City West, AZ


Well appointed, upscale rustic.

5 on August 17, 2012

Two really comfortable nights with a tour of the South Rim of the Grand Canyon in between. We felt at home in this casual but classy setting. Owners bring a very eclectic and unique background to the operation. Staff is competent, polite and friendly. A very homey feeling. On Monday night we brought back delicious light fare for dinner on the patio including a bottle of wine from the B&B shop. If you're looking for pampering and luxury, look elsewhere. If you want elegant rustic, comfort, all in a beautiful setting, go here.


Excellent Service and Lodgings

5 on August 15, 2012

My 4-day-stay at the Abineau Lodge in Flagstaff will forever be one that I cherish! The service was outstanding and the breakfasts were fantastic! The staff was always happy to help me with whatever I needed and were eager to offer information to help my stay be more enjoyable. I stayed in the Bear's Lair room and it was wonderfully comfortable and cozy! The view from my room was amazingly beautiful and I was able to take a nice hike right behind the Lodge! I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Flagstaff area!


Great for a family reunion!

4.8 on July 08, 2012

For the second time we took over the entire lodge for a family reunion and had a marvelous time! My husband and I also stay here frequently during the summer to get out of the Phoenix heat. Wendy, Jaime and the staff are absolutely wonderful and accommodating. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and cozy. Mornings offer a walk out the door into the forest where we watched 8 elk - 4 of the males with large racks! Breakfast is always delicious and, again, they will accommodate any dietary needs. We will continue to come back time and time again! Love you guys!


Terrific out of earshot Flagstaff

3.6 on June 03, 2012

The rooms were spotless. Mattress and linens impeccable. Above par breakfast plate served by owner. Disappointed blue corn pancakes not offered on weekends ?!? Owner set aside time to answer questions about local bike trails. Do not visit neighboring Mountainaire Tavern after 8:00 pm for dinner- near atrocious food.


Returning in Three Weeks

4.8 on May 31, 2012

Great place! Quiet, forest pines, nearby tavern, great food!


A good value

3.6 on May 22, 2012

A warm and cozy room in a welcoming lodge. The rooms were a little small, but the cleanliness and value made up for it. I would return, definately.


Honeymooners!

5 on April 16, 2012

We've been to Flag before, but have never stayed here. Loved the place! Would come back for sure! Great lodging and food. The owners and staff were also very helpful. We loved chatting with the other guests at breakfast. We'll be back for sure! : )


Delicious breakfast, no dolies

4.8 on January 06, 2012

Comfy beds, yummy belgian waffles, and a friendly innkeeper greet you at this little place tucked away in the pine trees just outside of Flagstaff. Each room has theme, but it's not so done up that you're searching for a place to put your bag down. Enjoy a walk in the ponderosa pines or play a board game with other guests in the upstair parlor, you won't be disappointed visiting Abineau Lodge.


Cosy comfortable lodge

4.0 on December 20, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in December 2011, there was plenty of snowfall which made our stay even more memorable. Wish we had extended our stay by an additional night! Wendy the owner is a great hostess, she's friendly and inviting. She also provides a great home-cooked breakfast, the homemade granola is delicious! Rooms and beds were clean and comfortable, the lodge felt almost as if we were staying at home! We also enjoyed the huskies outside. Ü Location of the lodge is within easy driving distance of the town. If we return to Flagstaff, we would definitely look at staying at Abineau again! Highly recommended.


Great place to stay

4.0 on July 15, 2011

Overhead ceiling fans in the Sled dog room 6 for each room would be a nice addition to the 12in fan. Other than that the stay was outstanding, breakfast was different and unique each morning. The hiking trail to the pond was refreahing each day. Look forward to returning in the future.


60th Wedding Anniversary

5 on July 04, 2011

Our family gathering at the Abineau Lodge for our 60th Wedding Anniversary could not have been more enjoyable. Four generations of our family enjoyed 3 nights of outstanding hospitality by Wendy White and the Staff. The lodge fit our needs perfectly. The rooms were clean and well furnished, the food was outstanding, and the common area provided exactly what we needed for our family gathering. Wendy and her staff provided for our every need. We highly recommend the Abineau Lodge for group gatherings such as ours.


Great Location When Flying Into Flagstaff, AZ

5 on March 30, 2011

The Abineau Lodge is centrally located to explore Sunset Crater National Monument (dormant volcano, 20 min.), Wupatki National Monument (many ruins, 40 min.), Meteor Crater (30 min.) and Walnut Canyon National Monument (cliff dwellings, 10 min.), Lowell Observatory AND Sedona (30 min.). We had a 2 room suite for our family with 2 kids (ages 6 & 8). The decor makes you feel truly like you are in a mountain retreat. The staff were extremely friendly, accommodating and flexible. Abineau Lodge's location is also great for flying into Flagstaff because it is 10 min. from the Flagstaff airport, a very small airport. This was particularly helpful for us because our flight out of MN was 3 hours delayed, we barely caught the last flight to Flagstaff by minutes and finally got to the Flagstaff airport by 8:30 p.m. At which time all the rental car companies were closed. Our rental car company said they would leave us the keys with our airline agent but they did not. So, we were stuck at the airport for another 2 hours trying to figure out the rental car situation. We were able to take a $10 cab ride to the Abineau Lodge while my husband straightened out the rental car situation - went back to the airport. Needless to say the Abineau Lodge was a great place to come home to at 10:30 p.m. after a long day of travel with kids. I am glad we did not have another 30 min. cab ride to Sedona or 1.25 hours cab ride to the Grand Canyon from Flagstaff without a rental car. Also, we stayed in the Grand Canyon on the rim for 4 nights and came back to the Abineau Lodge and Flagstaff for our return flight to MN.


Overnight Senior Guest while relocating to Phoenix in Penske Truck

5 on November 10, 2010

Arrived tired and hungry to be welcomed by a most gracious Hostess who recommended the nearby Tavern for Supper. Enjoyed a satisfying ample meal in rustic surroundings with soft jazz on the Jukebox. My room was charming,quiet and most comfortable.Fell asleep with my window open to the Pine Forest -reminiscient of The Adirondacks, where I was born and raised.And the bottle of wine we shared when I returned from Supper helped.A fresh-brewed Keurig cup of java and a healthy, delicious breakfast greeted me the next morning.Later I walked over to the local store and purchased some freshly-brewed beer made in Flagstaff. Wish I could stay a few nights, but my 1400 mile journey in my loaded Penske presses me to keep to my schedule to Phoenix. Will return to the Abineau Lodge for sure !


comfortable stay

4.2 on October 13, 2010

Abineau Lodge was a comfortable place to stay. Beds were comfortable. We slept with the windows open and the cool breeze felt good. It was nice to stay in a quite out of the way place. The lodge itself was big and open where you were free to entertain yourself. Breakfast was very good,especially the blueberry pancakes and bacon. Would stay there again if ever near Flagstaff.


Comfortable and quite B&B

5 on September 26, 2010

The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were spotless. The staff is friendly and helpful. A nice quite location.


Loved it!

4.0 on September 16, 2010

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend while visiting some friends in Flagstaff. Very cute, clean and inviting place to stay. Would definately come again!!


Brilliant place

4.8 on September 14, 2010

Travelling I 40 and looking for a place away from the chain hotels and city lights? This is it. Warm friendly and totally relaxing


Abineau B&B

4.6 on September 03, 2010

Wife and I stayed one night. The lodge was very clean; the service was personal from the staff and the breakfast was great. We will definitely stay there again.


Great time at the Abineau Lodge

4.6 on August 28, 2010

My wife and I just stayed for the first time at the Abineau Lodge in Flagstaff AZ. Great place. Out of town, quiet, excellent food, very well turned out rooms. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. We will be back.


A cool break in the pines

4.4 on August 22, 2010

Distance from Flagstaff -- close and allowed for a rural setting experience Inn Keepers -- excellence resource for activities and local knowledge of Flagstaff Facility -- a very comfortable and relaxing home away from home Breakfast -- outstanding


Abineau Lodge

4.0 on July 12, 2010

A wonderful, relaxing Bed and Breakfast in a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere in Flagstaff, AZ. Clean, accommodating indoors and out, with very engaging owners. We will definitely be planning another visit!


Great place to stay near Flagstaff!

5 on June 23, 2010

I really enjoyed my honeymoon stay at the Abineau Lodge! I was impressed when comparing B&Bs for the Flagstaff area that Abineau had very clear photos of the rooms on their website, and the rooms and lodge design could have been arranged by a professional interior designer. Compared to other "quaint" places to stay, this had none of the... well, “granny” decor that other places seemed to feature. The lodge was just as gorgeous when we arrived. The rooms were large and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable, and Wendy made sure to fulfill all of my special requests. In case you're wondering from the description of the sled dogs on the website, the noise wasn't an issue. The kennels were situated a good distance from the lodge, and even when they did a "howling" on the second to last day we were there, you could barely hear it inside. The dogs were mellow and friendly, and the two cats, Isaac and Ziggy, were sweet and liked to get petted on the porch -- when they felt like making an appearance, anyway. Breakfast was scrumptious and hearty every morning, usually some form of pancakes, eggs, and meat, with a bit of fruit. The location was also perfect – just outside of Flagstaff so you didn’t have to deal with all the red lights when you wanted to go somewhere, or the train noise that many websites mention. Wendy was a friendly host, ready to give advice about where to eat or what to see, or even hunt down the kitties when they couldn’t be found. ;) All in all we had a great time on our trip, and if we ever return to Flagstaff, I know just the place to stay!


Great place for a stay in Flagstaff

4.8 on May 13, 2010

A great location for a stay in the Flagstaff area. Very nice rooms and extremely friendly staff.


wonderful stay

4.0 on April 28, 2010

My wife and I visited the lodge in late February. The rooms at the lodge were absolutely spotless, breakfasts were filling and the attention to detail was exceptional. We felt welcome but were given our own space as much as possible. Since we were interested in hiking, the inhouse library offered all we needed to know to enjoy ourselves. Highly recommended. We hope to return the next time we visit Arizona. Stephen and Shelley(Montreal)


Wonderful find

4.8 on November 13, 2009

Had a wonderful two nights here in October 09. The hosts have thought of pretty much everything and were very helpful. Great breakfasts and a lovely house. Enjoyed our conversations with the hosts, staff and other guests. A comfortable, friendly and relaxing place to stay.


Restful stay

5 on June 23, 2009

We stayed two nights in June. The room was very comfortable and spacious, and the bed was like heaven. In the mornings, we had the most wonderful and filling hot breakfasts; definitely worth the calories! Will recommend this B&B, and plan to stay again when we are in the area.


Abineau Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $134 - $179
  • Reviews (32) 4.6
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9285256212
  • Toll free 1-8887156386

Visit Website »

View details

Top