Recent Reviews in Arnoldsville, Georgia

Football Weekend at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2015

I found this bed and breakfast while looking for a place to stay in Athens for a football weekend. The owner was quite friendly on the phone and very accommodating setting us up. Upon arrival, we were told to make ourselves at home. Even though we we weren't actually staying in the main house, he said we were welcome to go in and grab drinks or snacks and watch television if we wanted to. We stayed in the outer cottage (also called the red room) and it was so pretty. It's actually set up to accommodate two couples, however it was just us. The bed was so comfortable I didn't even want to get out of it in the mornings to go to breakfast in the main house. However, I'm glad I did because Mr. Lauderdale makes the most heavenly breakfast. The first morning of our stay he made us quiche with spinach and peppers with a baked on bacon crust paired with cinnamon stewed apples and freshly diced pineapples and orange juice. The second morning we had bacon, eggs, and the cinnamon apples again because I had loved them so much. The bacon and eggs were also amazing, I believe he said they were farm fresh from nearby. Overall, I doubt there's better quality to be found anywhere in or around Athens. The grounds were beautiful, the cottage and house were clean, the breakfast was AMAZING, the owner made it feel like a home away from home. I will undoubtedly be staying here again the next time I venture to Athens.

View more reviews for this inn


We are still talking about the breakfast! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2015

Breakfast was fantastic and the room was beautiful. We couldn't have been happier with our stay and we plan to return when we visit Georgia again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2015

Wir waren für eine Nacht in Athens und haben hier einen sehr freundlichen, herzlichen Empfang mit kleiner Führung erleben dürfen. Das Haus ist sehr schön gelegen und ausgesprochen ruhig, weil abseits der Hauptverkehrsstraßen. Das Frühstück war sensationell. Wir hatten die Suite gebucht, weil wir zu Dritt waren. Hier hätte man problemlos in der Küche selber kochen können und außerdem auch die Wäsche waschen und trockenen. M.a.W. die Suite ist ausgestattet wie eine Ferienwohnung. DANKE

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Stay, Fabulous Place! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2015

We are repeat guests. When in Athens, this is the place to be.

View more reviews for this inn


The innkeeper made ALL the difference. at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on April 22, 2015

Ken Lauderdale, the conscientious owner of Fair Haven restored the plantation home, worked diligently, and accommodated in every conceivable way. He multi-tasks and trends to all the details and is always asking how he can help further. Most of all he is jovial and a wonderful, wonderful cook. All his efforts made my stay memorable.

View more reviews for this inn


A slice of Southern heaven! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Reserved the gold room for a weekend of relaxing rejuvenation and it was amazing! The house and its property are worth it on their own but then add in the breakfasts and Ken and you've got a fantastic memorable time!

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommend! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2015

My husband, nine of our students, and I just returned from our second annual weekend trip to Fair Havens Plantation during our Georgia All State Chorus trip to Athens. Once again, it was an absolute delight! The house is breathtaking, and everything about our stay was perfect. We couldn't ask for a better host; Ken is so kind and gracious and has consistently been so accommodating to our needs. We highly recommend Fair Havens Plantation!

View more reviews for this inn


Gracious Living at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2014

My friend and I traveled from California to stay in Fair Havens Plantation. It couldn't have been a better way to end our travels in Georgia. Ken was extremely gracious and even though we arrived late in the evening, he gave us a tour of the house. It is a lovely place with a phenomenal story. The setting was gracious and not a stone left unturned in seeing to our comfort. Ken's breakfast was excellent, the best in our two weeks in Georgia. Everything was well prepared and baked from scratch. Such a find. The Lauderdale's were certainly outstanding hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on November 14, 2014

This was a perfect conclusion of a trip through the South. We have heard so much about the different movies such as Gone with the Wind, and finally we got an idea of what it was like to live on a plantation. Ken is a perfect host, who can tell a lot of good stories to entertain. The place is perfect to relax. The next surprise came in the morning with the breakfast. We've stayed in many hotel during our trip, but not many could match what we got from Ken. So the dining score is actually for the breakfast. Truely recommendable.

View more reviews for this inn


Maryland going south at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2013

Home run! Beautiful home and grounds. Ken is the perfect host, his breakfasts rate a 11 on a 1-10 scale. Chose Fair Havens for a place to stay for a football game, but would recommend for any occasion. We were worried about the distance from UGA, but the drive is short and pleasant. We stayed in the Princess Room and could not have been more pleased, we will book again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great wedding venue! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

My son's wedding was held at Fair Havens as was the rehearsal dinner. The historic house and grounds were perfect for both. The bride, her parents and the bridesmaids all stayed with Ken for the weekend. They were all very pleased with the accommodations and the wonderful breakfasts. We could not have asked for a better location or more gracious hospitality. Thanks, Ken.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic place to stay at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2013

A fantastic place to stay,great location,superb breakfast,we got upgraded to the master suite which was fabulous and Ken was a great host.I recommend it. Steve Murray Hampshire U.K.

View more reviews for this inn


This is the place to be at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2013

If your looking for a weekend getaway or your looking for a spot close to Athens, this place is a must! The rooms, service, food, and the overall cleanliness of the place was phenomenal. I have never had customer service like I had with Mr. Lauderdale. Absolutely outstanding. If you are staying in Athens for a game, music, or just to visit, this B&B would absolutely make your weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2012

We celebrated my girlfriends 50th birthday with a 2 night stay here. Ken made our weekend so pleasurable. His hospitality and breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms are so quaint and bring you back in time. Great location, close to the U of Georgia, so we could visit campus easily. Exceptional weekend, thanks to Ken and Fair Havens Plantation.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Surprise at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on November 20, 2012

This charming bed and breakfast was like a home away from home. From the spectacular breakfast to the wonderful southern hospitality, this plantation and its owners treated us like family. Only 8 miles from athens, it was quiet and remote, yet close enough to all that Athens Georgia has to offer. It made us want to come back again and thanks to the Lauderdale's it will be like coming back to see family. Our daughter was treated like their own granddaughter and we can wait to see them again.

View more reviews for this inn


A truly memorable Wedding and Labor day weekend! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2012

Friends and family in a beautiful relaxed atmosphere where people shared incredible meals and fellowshipped like they used too!Ken and Linda Lauderdale treat you like family,and go out of their way to ensure you stay is much much more than you could have imagined. The house is a master piece of lovingly restored history that lends itself to a comfortable and enjoyable stay with it's deep history and serene surroundings.No

View more reviews for this inn


Hospitality and History! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on August 02, 2012

Recently had the opportunity to stay at this charming historic venue. Tucked away on a horse farm/plantation Ken met us in the driveway and warmly welcomed us to his establishment. Southern charm and hospitality abounds. Exceptionally interesting history of the home provided by Ken. Tremendous personal customer service provided by Ken. Excellent breakfast and willingness by Ken to ensure our every need was met. You would be wise to select Fair Havens for your next stay while either staying in the Athems environs or simply as we were, passing through. Cheers, Les

View more reviews for this inn


Great holiday weekend getaway! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.2 reviewed on May 31, 2012

Really enjoyed the historic aspect of the house and feeding the horses.

View more reviews for this inn


Second post from "Perfect for a Southern Wedding" at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2011

I meant to rate everything outstanding...not just exceeded expectations!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a Southern Wedding! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on October 10, 2011

My daughter's wedding was absolutely magnificent due, in part, to this beautiful Fair Havens Plantation! We had the rehearsal dinner and the wedding on site...no driving to hotels or restaurants....absolutely perfect! My out of town family stayed at the Plantation with us. How special that was for us! We could all come down to breakfast in our PJ's and drink coffee, enjoy a delicious breakfast and relax before the wedding activities began! Our wedding guests enjoyed this lovely Plantation and grounds, as well! Perfect..absolutely perfect...for an outdoor wedding!! Thank you to the lovely owners, Mr. and Mrs. Ken Lauderdale, for a weekend full of happy memories!!

View more reviews for this inn


Prachtige mansion midden in de natuur at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on September 07, 2011

Fair Havens is een fraai gerestaureerde oude mansion, met sfeervolle kamers. Hoewel we de goedkoopste kamer geboekt hadden, kregen we bij aankomst een gratis upgrade naar de suite. Ontbijten op het balkon, uitkijkend over de bossen en de tuin met volop vogels was genieten.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern hospitality of at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2011

Surprisingly close to Athens, this is the place you should stay for the quintessential plantation experience. Ken, the wonderful owner, was full of southern hospitality. I stayed in the cottage and he brought breakfast every morning. He purchased tea that I liked and made sure my refrigerator was stocked full of water, fruit, soda and bagels. I recommend this B&B without hesitation. Have a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to stay, very friendly and attentive innkeeper! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2011

We stayed at this phantastic B&B on a Sunday at the end of April. We had the whole plantation for ourselves for one day, what a great and unique experience! Thank you Ken for showing us the house and the very friendly reception. Breakfast was great, real Southern style! We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite! Coffee and soft drinks for free! Ken gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation for the evening, The Last Resort Grill in Athens! We loved our stay in Athens very much and would visit again whenever in the region! Kind regards to Ken

View more reviews for this inn


UGA Graduation Weekend Bonus! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on May 16, 2011

We stumbled on Fair Haven B&B because it was spring graduation weekend, and the hotels in Athens were outrageous. Most hotels double or even triple their rates on graduation weekend, but Fair Haven is a stunningly beautiful venue which was a GREAT VALUE for the weekend. It is a very short drive back into town, and the home-cooked breakfast was incredible. The mimosas and french toast casserole were yum yum - and it was so delightful to meet Ken, walk the grounds, and learn the history of the mansion. This is a great find that made a thrilling weekend even more thrilling!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Find, Tucked Away in the Georgia Piedmont at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2011

We just spent a weekend in the lap of luxury, hosted by innkeeper Ken Lauderdale and the rest of the Fair Havens Plantation staff. Ken is a natural as an innkeeper -- friendly, outgoing, and determined to please his guests. The plantation house is a marvel, and the Lauderdales have done a marvelous job filling it with incredible antiques, gorgeous draperies, spectacular housewares, and all manner of interesting, unique keepsakes. You will forever remember your stay at Fair Havens -- it's that special. We stayed in the Purple Room (sometimes called the "Princess Suite") and were extremely comfortable with the luxurious, quiet, soothing comfort it offers. Breakfasts were wonderful, although Fair Havens is off the beaten path so you'll want to make plans to drive to other meals (the price of its peaceful, quiet seclusion). You won't be disappointed if you stay here, and you'll get a chance to see a piece of history in the making. The interior of the main house and outlying cottage is complete, but something tells me Ken still has plans for more gardens, porches, and other extras, so expect a work-in-progress rather than a museum, but Fair Havens is definitely a new national treasure awaiting little more than a few finishing touches.

View more reviews for this inn


SO glad we found Fair Havens, it was restful at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 24, 2011

We stayed here for spring break, the flowers were colorful and the birds were singing as I sipped my morning coffee on the balcony. The house and lawns were beautiful. My daughters, 9 and 7, felt like little princesses the whole stay. Ken was the best host and went over and beyond to make our stay relaxing - he is very knowledgeable about the 200 yr old plantation.

View more reviews for this inn


Treated like royalty...and family! at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend stay at Fair Havens in December...celebrating a special birthday which Ken and Linda helped me in pulling off a great surprise weekend getaway! Our weekend stay there couldn't have been better. We had the privacy and luxury accomodations we were hoping for...along with some great conversatons with Ken and Linda and some totally scrumptious food!! I don't know how they did it, but they managed to treat us like royalty, but make us feel like part of the family all at the same time. If you get the chance to stay here...you'll be glad you did. We got to see all of the rooms and they are all gorgeous. The history of Fair Havens is so interesting, the food wonderful, the accomodations superb and you'll be treated with loving care. Thanks again Ken and Linda...we'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Plantation Home at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on August 08, 2010

Our drive down a secluded country lane led to a lovely plantation home~Fair Havens~ We were greeted by our host, Ken, given a tour of the house and shown to our room. We stayed in the Princess Suite, a beautiful and spacious room, complete with kitchen, laundry room and a seven foot long bathtub!! Ken left us on our own, letting us know that he was a phone call away should we need anything. We had a continental breakfast and went for a walk in the morning before it got too hot. My husband and I loved it. A beautiful place with privacy, close to town. We'll stay there again:)

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic B&B at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2010

What can we say about this beautiful home that has not already been said? The house has been exceptionally restored, the decor is amazing. We were given the Princess suite and could not believe our luck. The breakfasts were wonderful (the best French toast we'd ever had). The hospitality was first class, we could not have asked for more. We will be back and are already spreading the word in the UK about Fair Havens! Pat and Dave Freeman, England

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Retreat at Fair Havens Plantation (Arnoldsville, Georgia)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2010

We picked Fair Havens for an overnight stay from the internet based on its location. Our choice was perfect! The approach and grounds are stunning, the rooms, both bedrooms and public rooms, were perfectly decorated, clean and very comfortable. The highlight, however, was the hospitality extended to us by Ken Lauderdale, our host. He was always accessible and never tired of answering our many questions about the history of the inn. The breakfast was delicious and the choices overwhelming. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only regretted that we had to leave after only one night.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Fair Havens Plantation (4.79)
Top
}