Hacienda del Desierto Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Peace in the Desert!

5 on July 24, 2013

Wonderful inn and innkeepers. Perfect weather. Wildlife abounds. Melts away work and life stress.


Great B&B

4.6 on June 14, 2013

Beautiful grounds and interesting innkeepers. Great food!


Win husband of the year award!

4.4 on February 24, 2013

Or wife of the year! Either way it's a win/win. This inn offers everything you need for romance, or just relaxation. But don't tell anyone -- I want our room to be available when we go back!


I'd go back in a heartbeat

5 on February 08, 2013

We spent four nights using Hacienda del Desirto as our base to explore the Tuscon area. It was such a splendid place to land each night after driving (you gotta drive in Tucson) and exploring Saguoro NP, the Desert Museum and all the other treasures Tuscon has to offer. It is quiet and in the desert. There is a great nature trail that gets you out into the Saguoros right off the property. And the breakfast is served within a range, 8 to 9,when we were there rather than a set time. This allowed for a much more enjoyable morning as there wasn't a deadline to meet. We'd go back in a heartbeat.


Tucson's Desert Jewel

4.4 on January 15, 2013

Between Christmas and New Year's Day, my wife and I visited Tucson and stayed two nights in the ultra-spacious Patio Suite at the Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast. The Patio Suite contains a bedroom area with queen-size bed, a living room area with fully equipped kitchenette, and a bathroom with Mexican talavera sink. It incorporates an eclectic and creative use of regional styles (Native American, Mexican, Southwest Pioneer) and has everything you will need. We learned to operate the ornate, antique heating stove, and it kept the suite very cozy at night. The Hacienda is on the far eastern end of Tucson not far from the Saguaro National Park (eastern entrance). It is difficult to find the first time until you become accustomed to the location. The Hacienda has plenty of birds and a group of javelinas that will entertain you. The Browns are nice people and will assist you with your trip planning and any requests. Breakfasts are quite nice, too (the poached pear is a treat).


Amazing for Romance--Or Just R&R!!

4.6 on November 03, 2012

Now our favorite B&B! The inn is an amazing blend of serenity, gorgeous desert & mountain surroundings, and wonderful rooms, anchored by a fabulously decorated and maintained home. Your gracious hosts, David, Mary, and Shanna, go above and beyond to help you feel welcome and pampered, almost like family. You'll have trouble choosing which outdoor patio to be lazy on--each is special and inviting. Indulge in the huge outdoor hot tub. Breakfasts are excellent and beautifully presented. Super comfy beds, nice linens, choice of pillows, and each of the 4 rooms is truly lovely. Don't miss the local Saturday Farmer's Market offering produce, a variety of foods and baked goods, local arts & crafts, and very friendly people. Excellent hiking and cycling all around, plus Saguaro National Park is a must see. If peace, quiet, comfort and privacy are what you seek, you will be extremely happy here.


Serene and scenic

4.6 on October 21, 2012

Lovely quiet desert setting. Very hospitable innkeepers. Beautiful property. Gourmet breakfast. Enjoyed outdoor patios every night. Would stay here again, no doubt about it.


Hacienda Getaway

5 on October 07, 2012

This place was beautiful from the gorgeous patios to the inside of our patio suite. The food was delish, and the hospitality of the owners... they were delightful people. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a desert B&B getaway. We loved it!


Best of Both Worlds

4.6 on October 05, 2012

Wonderful B&B managed professionally by David & Romsemary. Family property that demonstrates love & caring from multiple generations -- both in the sturdy & well-appointed accommodations to the obvious land ethic of the surroundings. Excellent location for outdoor breakfast.


Perfect Stay

5 on September 06, 2012

The innkeepers are exceptionally hospitable. The room is cozy and peaceful. The food is gourmet, we could not have asked for a better experience.


Wonderful Sonoran Anniversary

5 on August 12, 2012

Everything that Rosemary and David promise on their beautiful website is true! Wonderful staff & hosts, helpful and attentive. Great food, beauty everywhere. Wonderful setting, wildlife! Clean, comfortable, peaceful room. Much attention to detail!


Wonderful

4.2 on August 12, 2012

Rosemary, David & Shannon were great hosts. Inn was beautiful and setting awe inspiring. Breakfasts were varied & tasty.


Great place and wonderful hosts.

4.2 on August 10, 2012

We are birders so were delightful to have our room overlooking a small watering hole and bird feeders alight with birds, rabbits, and javelinas. The suite was incredibly beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious is a little skimpy. All over enjoyed our stay immensely.


Great Birding/Nature

4.6 on July 25, 2012

We stayed in the La Rosa room a few nights the week after Easter. LOVED it! The kitchenette was great! After a day of hiking, we enjoyed happy hour & self-cooked dinners on our patio every eve! Birding & nature watching on the grounds was fabulous. David & Rosemary were a delight, as were the fellow nature-loving guests we met during breakfast in the lovely dining room. Hope to return some day! Highly recommended.


Very Relaxing

5 on June 21, 2012

We loved this location! The SPA jacuzzi outside is especially worth noting since you are surrounded by desert wildlife (and not traffic). We also enjoyed talking with one of the owners, Dave, who made some great travel recommendations during our stay.


Great Place to Enjoy Tucson Country

3.8 on June 11, 2012

Hacienda Del Desierto The moment you arrive you begin to feel relaxed. The property has a sense of warmth, upscale, but not stuffy. Our room LaRosa was wonderful. Far exceeding our expectations. The photos on the web site doesn’t do justice. The room is large with a quite air conditioning systems and a ceiling fan to keep air circulating. The room has a stove, sink, refrigerator, fully stocked with plates, pot pans etc.. This came in handy because we did not realize that they do not serve a full breakfast, but a generous continental breakfast. Since we cycle we needed a full breakfast. Great location to bike and hike from.The property is 8 miles from Safe Way Grocery. We also picked up steaks and grilled them on the outdoor weber gas grill. (All the rooms have a gas grilles). We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on the patio table enjoying the quiet night, soft lighting, peacefulness of the outdoors. This may not sound appealing to some, but we enjoy cooking together, it was wonderful. For us it was a better alternative than driving to town and waiting for a table. There are a few restaurants nearby but we didn’t patronize them. We would go back, but nex time pick up groceries before we arrived.


Peaceful Oasis

5 on May 06, 2012

A beautiful, restful place with much to see & do. We have been here before. Love it. Our daughter loves seeing all the animals & birds.


Desert Escape

4.4 on May 06, 2012

The beautiful grounds and solitude of Hacienda del Desierto make it a great B&B to escape to for rest and relaxation. Our host made us feel comfortable and at home.


Nice but overpriced

2.6 on April 22, 2012

Pros: in desert on east edge of Tucson, near Saguaro National Park; hot tub; hacienda look with rich furnishings; innkeeper, Dave, very friendly. Cons: no full hot breakfast; DISH Network TV was out a lot; hard to find in dark (1/2 mi off main road, back in desert). Should be $20-25 cheaper for what you get.


We will return

4.0 on March 08, 2012

Excellent hosts. They know the area and they are bery helpfull. A great experience


Magical!

4.8 on March 07, 2012

Beautiful and peaceful! Close to all major Tuscon sites yet secluded, a desert hideaway. Walking distance to Saguaro National Park.


Fantastic!

5 on January 29, 2012

There are so many things to mention. I went alone, and the innkeepers made that very comfortable. It was quiet and restful - everything I could ask for in a desert getaway. A sanctuary of cacti and birds, I loved being on the grounds, but there was plenty to do nearby as well. I loved the old Mexico theme. My room (Galleria) looked out at the mountains and a bird bath, and was private. I thought it was priced reasonably for what was offered. I didn't want to leave!


Perfect in every way!

4.0 on January 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent five nights at Hacienda del Desierto in celebration of our five-year wedding anniversary. We enjoyed every part of this lovely B&B. Our room, La Rosa, was cheery, comfortable, clean, and cozy. The bed was super comfy. We used the kitchenette to make dinner and relaxed on our own private patio. The breakfasts were superb and include fresh fruit presented creatively, homemade granola, homemade muffins or other baked goods, hard boiled eggs, fruit juices, and freshly brewed coffee or tea. The common spaces inside and outside were beautiful and relaxing. We took advantage of the hot tub and enjoyed gazing at the stars and listening to the coyotes howl. We awoke every morning to singing birds and often to the sight of javelinas. The location is private, secluded, and quiet, yet close to great hiking and stores and restaurants. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.


Galleria is a lovely place to stay.

5 on January 13, 2012

The bedroom, sitting room and bathroom of the Galleria suite are all comfortable, colorful and fun. The bed is great. Best of all is the private pond right outside the sitting room window, it's regularly visited by roadrunners, cactus wrens, curve-billed trashers, Gambles quail and many others. It's a great introduction to the desert has to offer...


Tucson's radiant jewel

5 on May 23, 2011

Innkeepers David and Rosemary Brown have honed the skill of being perfect hosts. They have created a perfect setting to have a romantic, family or active vacation in their gorgeous home, and grounds. You are greeted with freshly baked cookngies, and a plethora of activities to do both on and off the grounds. Both hosts gave their time generously to ensure that we enjoyed Tucson, and their home. The rooms are all gorgeous, and decorated with care and love. We loved waking up to the chirping birds, a gourmet cold breakfast, relaxing in all the nooks and crannies, and walking around their pristine property. This hacienda is a destination unto itself; we loved its total ambiance, and how calm and serene we felt. It is definitely a place you could visit over and over again.


Desert Peace

5 on April 30, 2011

If peace for you includes waking to birdsong, watching the sunset and enjoying a wonderful B&B, this is the place! Fabulous and knowledgeable hosts. Hiking minutes away.


Delightful hacienda

5 on November 26, 2010

Entering the Hacienda del Desierto's front gate gave us the feeling that we have been transported to another time and place. The accomodations were enchanting, the surroundings, beautiful and the experience, sublime. The hosts were most accommodating and helpful in directing us to the places we wanted to visit. They delighted us with stories of how the hacienda came to be. On our next visit, we plan to spend less time sightseeing and more time at the hacienda.


Ah-h-h-h!

4.0 on September 13, 2010

Beautiful house, very friendly Innkeeper A wonderful get-away destination; gracious host wonderful breakfast, and a serene respite-Mary Room could have used a ceiling fan.


Taste of Old Mexico B&B

4.6 on August 21, 2010

We wanted a small quiet authentic desert place to stay, and that is exactly what we got. We felt as if the Hacienda was ours for our 4 day stay. The innkeepers gave us all the help we needed and left us to enjoy the area. We particularly enjoyed the desert trail on the property. Our suite comprised medium sized bedroom, separate sitting room, small passage kitchen and a bathroom; this last could probably do with some renovation, although it had charming touches. The temperature was 41C and 5% humidity when we stayed, and even locals were frying, but we kept very comfortable in the suite, and went out early morning and late evening. Guests have the use of a large sitting room in the main part of the house, where internet use is available. An excellent breakfast is served there, but the innkeeper will provide food to have in the suite if desired. It was the perfect place for us, visitors from the UK, to stay to experience desert Tucson.


Relaxing Desert Stay

4.8 on May 26, 2010

Wonderful 2 days enjoying a lovely property and desert sanctuary.


A Well Kept Secret!

4.0 on May 06, 2010

This is a hidden gem just outside of the city. Incredibly beautiful setting, warm hosts, a very comfortable stay and many little extras, including delicious cookies!


Wonderful Stay!

4.8 on April 08, 2010

Would come back! The grounds are kept beautiful and the innkeepers are very helpful and gracious. We felt very welcomed. The whole B&B is decorated beautifully, as are the rooms. Clean rooms, good breakfast.


Desert Oasis

4.4 on March 24, 2010

At the city limits next to Saquaro Nat. Park in the desert. Tranquil oasis from life. Would recommend to others.


Hacienda del Desierto

5 on March 15, 2010

Wonderful host and hostess, great room, great setting with great view and space for walks.


Winter In The Desert

4.0 on March 10, 2010

For a real desert experience, stay at the Hacienda del Desierto. Our hosts were gracious and directed us to interesting sites and restaurants. The rooms were spacious and quaint with a welcome gas fireplace.


Really nice place. Setting and decor exceptional.

4.6 on February 19, 2010

We had just a wonderful two night stay in Nov 09. Set on outskirts of Tucson next to national park, it is a beautiful setting. Nice people. Nice place. Loved it.


Private Getaway

4.8 on January 01, 2010

We were looking for a relaxing hideout near great hiking in the desert. Our room was big and beautiful with a sunset view. Breakfast featured creative fruit preparations. The property is gorgeous with a wraparound landscaped patio, a hot tub and lots of bird feeders. The best part is proximity to East Saguaro National Park. We walked into the park from the house and were on the trail in minutes. We couldn't believe that Hacienda del Desierto is not in the major guidebooks. They should be. When we return to the Tucson area we will come back!


A Lovely Place to Rest & Relax

4.6 on October 05, 2009

The location and room was more than expected after searching on the internet. Inkeepers were delightful, helpful and congenial. Environment was a wildlife area so we enjoyed quail, cardinals, and even javelinas including a baby javelina! it was everything we hoped for.


wonderful

4.0 on July 01, 2009

Was the best place. wonderful people and the room was perfect. loved it


A Gem In The Desert

4.2 on May 25, 2009

David and Rosemary Brown have designed a lovely and very inviting Bed and Breakfast near Saguaro National Park. The large property provides a relaxing park like setting. The Browns are very thoughtful hosts, providing wonderful, light, delicious breakfasts and great detail at their beautiful hacienda.


Gorgeous Hacienda

3.0 on May 13, 2009

More beautiful in person! Lovely patios and very peaceful. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good with a nice place setting. Inn keepers were nice, but could be more friendly.


Great place

5 on May 02, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very quiet, lost of wildlife. The desert is beautiful and the hosts are great.


Magical Desert Escape

4.8 on April 28, 2009

My sister and I visited in mid-April. The inn is nested in the desert, with desert all around. The desert around Tucson is lush and full of life. There was a small pond just outside our window and wildlife came to drink while we watched. As we relaxed on the back patio, javelina came to graze on palo verde beans. There were seven, including 2 babies! The mood was magical, and peaceful. Our rooms were beautiful. The grounds were beautiful. The hosts were friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and very attuned to the desert around them. I would highly recommend this place. We'll definitely be back.


We had a wonderful time

4.6 on April 16, 2009

The setting was wonderful. Rosemary and David couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. They made sure we knew about all the attractions on and off their place. Food is great! Interesting guests.


muy buena casa!

5 on March 27, 2009

My sister and I had a much needed and most pampered week at the Hacienda. the rooms and property were gorgeous and the hosts were lovely.


Surprise upgrade! Heaven in the desert

4.8 on March 03, 2009

What's not to love about the 'casita'? Wonderful ambiance, peace and quiet, every need catered for. Spoiled by our hosts. :) The perfect opportunity to unwind- just what a holiday should be. Top of the list. We will return!!


Serenity at the Hacienda

4.8 on February 27, 2009

Secluded desert site surrounded by walking trails and native habitat. The owners are native to the area and provide a warm, friendly environment. The main room has an inviting area with a fireplace, dining area, and computer access.


Delightful retreat

4.8 on February 27, 2009

We decided to stay at the Hacienda after having difficulty finding a room in Tucson during a trade show. What a delightful surprise! Beautiful tranquil setting, lovely decor, gracious service. The perfect antidote to a busy day at the Bead show. Great value, too!


A desert jewel

5 on December 09, 2008

Wonderful hosts; beautiful rooms; relaxing and quiet location; exceptional desert environment; lots of birds and javelinas.


Hacienda Heaven

5 on October 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed here September 2008, a beautiful place warm,relaxing and friendly, David,Rosemary and Shanna are truly wonderful people with a great knowledge of the area where to go and how to get there,nothing was too much trouble for them, if we are ever back over in Tucson we will most definately be staying here.


Second Time Around

5 on October 01, 2008

Our first experience was so great we chose to return a second time. You can kick, relax and do nothing in a pleasant atmosphere, or take hikes, road trips, see Tucson and surrounding areas easily.


2 years

5 on June 11, 2008

we have stayed here 2 years running now and will continue to come back!


Our Stay-First Time

5 on May 28, 2008

What a beautiful, restful, delightful place to stay. IT was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, to our surprise it was the best rest we've had in a long time. I'm a cancer survivor for one year, and it helped me quite a bit. Mr and Mrs. Brown were the perfect hosts and made you feel like family. We will be back!


Southwestern escape

4.4 on January 08, 2007

Lovely country setting, beautiful decor, gracious hospitality


Hacienda del Desierto Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $289
  • Reviews (54) 4.6
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5202981764
  • Fax 1-5207224558
  • Toll free 1-8009821795

Visit Website »

View details

Top