Noftsger Hill Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
57 Reviews

Write A Review

Step back in time, sleep in class! Just fantastic!

5 on March 23, 2014

The guest rooms are extremely large, converted, original classrooms with all the charm of when they were built (1907-1917) that offer breath taking viewings out of the massive windows. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and it's fun to read the thoughts of previous guests on the original built-in chalkboards. The innkeepers are absolutely lovely and know how to take good care of their guests with meticulous attention to detail. It was the perfect blend of feeling pampered and visiting with an old friend. The breakfast was top notch and had me going back for seconds. The entire space is lovingly restored and a very inviting place to hang out, unwind, soak in the the history and the ambience and watch the sun set. Prices are very, very reasonable and the location is a great central point to explore Globe and it's surrounding areas. Great value for the $ and a perfect, central spot. If you're planning on exploring historic Globe, don't let the Inn's location high up on the hill deter you - it's just few minutes drive to the historic district and parking is plentiful so had no issues, even on a busy historic homes tour weekend. Definitely will return


School House Charm

4.4 on December 10, 2013

The Noftsger is an old historical school house in Globe, AZ, full of AZ history and whimsy. A party of 6 enjoyed a relaxing stay. Thanks.


November in Globe

4.8 on November 16, 2013

This was an absolutely fantastic place to stay!! The rooms are HUGE, and you couldn't ask for a friendlier hostess than Rosalie! She is an excellent cook and we really enjoyed breakfasts at the inn. Globe is an old town here in Arizona, and wandering through historic Globe was also entertaining. Wonderful Mexican food place right in historic Globe too! Can't wait to go back.


Noftsger Hill Inn Was A Delight!

5 on November 05, 2013

We were treated like family and welcomed warmly with all questions answered and every need met. The Inn was stunning beyond expectations. The rooms incredibly spacious, decorated true to the historical foundations, beds comfortable and charming. Details were seen to from the extra towels, the claw foot tubs, and proper period furniture. We were also provided with access to local interests and menus of near by restaurants, as well a served a beautifully presented and delicious breakfast. Four of us went and we all want to return again soon!


Great Stay!

5 on September 30, 2013

Was in Globe for a 50th High School Reunion from Globe High. First time ever staying at a B&B. Had a very warm greeting from Rosalie and a tour of the old school. Our room was HUGE with all kinds of interesting items from years gone by. It was very clean and well stocked with towels & toiletries. Rosalie is not only a charming person, but I would say a gourmet cook. Thank you so very much for our wonderful stay at Noftsger Hill Inn.


Charming and comfy

5 on August 16, 2013

Wonderful - we'll be back for more of the warm hospitality and yummy breakfasts.


Memories from Childhood

5 on July 10, 2013

What a great weekend! Great hostess, great room, awesome breakfast. Love the school!


Most Unique B&B

4.8 on June 16, 2013

One of the most unique B&B's I have ever stayed at. the owner took pride in her school house. Our rooms were very clean, the entire building was decorated and maintained to optimal standards. The owner also made an outstanding breakfast.


Historic and Gorgeous!

5 on June 07, 2013

The huge classrooms are beautifully furnished with antiques and have everything you could possible need. The former kids' cloakroom is now the bath, and a clawfoot tub made it even more charming. Rosalie is a warm and friendly inn keeper who is a great cook! Just exploring the halls of this beautiful building is a fun and educational experience. We can't wait to go back!


One of a kind B & B

4.4 on April 26, 2013

Beautiful old school with amazing antiques from the school itself and the area. There are a wall of photos of many of the kids that attended the school over the decades- and some of their report cards as well. Beautiful little garden surrounding it that is off limits to guests. The outer view from the hill is spectacular but it should be noted that the innerview is laden with depressed housing that is a bit unnerving. It should be noted that this area is a little sketchy. Hosts were great, accommodations comfortable, and the breakfast delicious.


Had a great time!

5 on April 08, 2013

I stayed with a friend at the inn on a just girl’s weekend and wildflower taking trip, two nights. We were warmly greeted. Rosalie was very friendly and helpful; we could tell she truly wanted us to be happy and comfortable. She was very accommodating with any request and what a great cook! The rooms were clean and comfortable, not to mention HUGE. What a great place for a group get together. Would love to do a sister weekend! I would recommend this Inn to anyone who likes the "not run of the mill" place. The rates are more than fair and don't worry, the stories about ghosts, we didn't hear a thing. . .


A Gold Nugget In the Old Mining Community!!

4.8 on March 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Noftsger Hill Inn with our parents. Rosalie was a delight and made us feel right at home. We felt more like we were staying with a friend than renting a room. Our room was VERY spacious and VERY clean. Breakfast was wonderful!! It was great to explore the old school house and learn it's history. Thank you for sharing your home with us Rosalie!!!


Old School Experience

5 on February 08, 2013

Staying at the Noftsger Hill Inn was a nostalgic experience seeing old school desks & the windows in the room. The innkeeper, Rosalie, was a delight and remembered everyone by name.


Delightful and inspiring

5 on January 28, 2013

Rosalie is a gem and I've never had more delicious (and healthy) and filling breakfasts. The history of the building and the loving restoration are inspiring. A great place for relaxation. I especially enjoyed the bathtub with feet.


Awesome

5 on January 17, 2013

My daughter's 7th birthday was coming, so I gave her a choice: Have a party with all her friends or stay at a haunted B&B. It's obvious what she chose! We decided on Noftsger Hill since it was only an hour away. Rosalie was very friendly and the schoolhouse was pretty awesome. The rooms were very spacious and when we took pictures and when we developed them we noticed there were orbs in them. The breakfast was excellent, not to mention the drive up there was absolutely beautiful. We plan on going again this summer. I would highly recommend it, even if you aren't a ghost hunter; this is a thoroughly enjoyable weekend getaway.


Nostalgic Night

5 on July 30, 2012

Atop the hill in Globe, a refurbished old elementary school has been transformed into a fabulous B&B. Each room, an old classroom complete with slate blackboards and each private bath an old cloak room. Charming, lovely to look at with gracious owner.


Back to school nights

4.4 on May 06, 2012

Our schoolroom quarters were spacious and well-appointed. My wife and I sleep comfortably and soundyl in our king bed. Breakfasts were a delight -- wonderful, homemade granola, fresh fruit and delicious entrees! Concierge, Rosalie, went out of her way to help us plan our days.


Outstanding

5 on May 06, 2012

We had a great stay at the Noftsger Inn. The stay was the highlight of our vacation.


Our experience

5 on April 22, 2012

Our B&B stay was amazing! Our hostess was cheerful & very welcoming. The inn was charming, warm 7 clean. Breakfast was delicious, the portions generous. Very elegant.


The best way to go to school

5 on March 22, 2012

This place was amazing - an old historic 1907 school house converted to a B & B. Our room was huge (an old classroom) and wonderfully decorated to reflect the period. Rosalie could not have been a sweeter and more accommodating host. Breakfast was wonderful. The entire property was just delightful. Although Globe is not very interesting, the nearby areas are breathtaking - Roosevelt Lake, the Salt River Canyon, and Hwy. 66 to Superior. I would definitely stay here agin.


GREAT STAY!

4.2 on March 12, 2012

We stayed one night and was very happy with the room, service, food, & cleanliness. We would stay again the next time in Globe.


Fall asleep in Class!

4.0 on February 19, 2012

We came to Noftsger Hill Inn for a weekend get away and we fell in love with the place! Rosalie is a gracious host and very helpful inn keeper. The rooms are enormous and clean and filled with antiques, the beds are comfortable. I would definitely come back!


Awesome B&B

5 on January 23, 2012

What a wonderful place -- loved the old schoolhouse with the high ceilings & wood floors! Beautiful place to spend the weekend!


Wife always wanted to stay in a school house

4.6 on October 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights here & thoroughly enjoyed the inn. We had high expectations for the rooms and they were even bigger than we imagined. Not a sitting area in your room - rather, a bedroom combined with a large living room. Some might not like the old fashioned claw foot tub, but then those folks would likely never select this inn anyway. The shower worked fine, so we liked how the bathroom fit the rest of the decor. Spacious open area in the "lobby" with plenty of sitting room for reading or meeting other guests. Interesting antique furniture both in the rooms and throughout the building. Breakfasts were very good and there was more than enough quantity & variety. We were especially fortunate that one of the guests had actually attended this school years ago, so we had fun asking questions about what it was like. High marks for service! Rosalie would not take "no" when I was unloading our bags and helped carry things to our room. When she learned we like a 5 O'clock cocktail, an antique tray was laid out for us with glasses, stirrers, napkins, etc. Rosalie also tolerates chatting in the kitchen, even if you are getting in her way.


A very lovely stay

4.4 on August 26, 2011

An old schoolhouse (circa 1906 or 7) turned into a B&B and the rooms are the size of the original classrooms - huge! The owners have a done a great job of restoring the rooms. The place had wonderful "ambiance". A great place as a couple or for a group of people to stay as there is plenty of common space or room in the rooms to get together. Breakfast was homemade and wonderful!


The top!

5 on August 07, 2011

Noftsger Hill Inn is an exceptional B&B. The accommodations are immaculate & comfortable. Plush & plentiful towels, great lighting for reading, and the charm of this antique-laden schoolhouse add up to a delightful visit.


Perfect

5 on August 05, 2011

The old school is wonderfully restored. What a great place. Breakfast superb.


This place deserves an A plus!

5 on July 31, 2011

Here you will find the old Noftsger Hill School, renovated into a quaint B&B! You will fall in love with the yummy southwest breakfasts, the charming schoolhouse classrooms/bedrooms, and the hospitality of Dom & Rosalie Ayala!


I'll be back!

5 on July 21, 2011

Rosalie greeted us at the door, and showed us around her magnificent school. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The beds are super comfy & breakfast was excellent. The water pressure for showering was super.


Historic B&B in Globe, AZ

5 on July 17, 2011

If you were ever thinking of staying in Globe, AZ...be sure to check out the Noftsger Hill Inn! Rosalie, the owner and hostess, is an absolute SWEETIE!. Me, my sister & nephew stayed there 7/2 & 7/3 2011 and Rolsalie made us feel right at home. Not to mention the awesome home-made breakfast burritos for breakfast! Will be staying there again for sure! Ed, Sue & Travis


Magnificent, yet homey

5 on May 16, 2011

The room is huge and inspiring, yet we felt completely cozy and comfortable. Roslie is a fabulous cook and a gifted hostess. So many extra touches to make us feel welcome! We will be back!


Loved it!

4.6 on January 11, 2011

Stayed here 2 days October - Nov 2010, and loved it! Rosalie was the best! From now on, when I go back to my hometown (Globe), I will make reservations here.


The Grand Adventure - Champagne and Fireworks!

4.0 on July 23, 2010

Our group of 6 had a delightful stay with Rosalie over the 4th of July weekend festivities. The Inn was charming and full of character, and the service was both personal and professional. Will come again!


Rooms with a View

5 on April 12, 2010

We had heard about the spacious classrooms converted to lodging and found the accommodations to be even nicer than we anticipated. Especially nice were the many current magazines as well as assortment of hiking books available to guests. Rosalie was so helpful and prepares a delicious breakfast. We added our comment on the blackboard with plans to return in the fall.


A Classy Place

5 on April 08, 2010

An old school where classrooms have been attentively transformed into enormous bedrooms. Very unique. Excellent breadfast. The innkeeper is an exceptional cook, besides being very welcoming. Top of the class!


Lovely Old Schoolhouse!

5 on March 30, 2010

Delightful rooms, delicious breakfast, with a gracious innkeeper.


so much fun!

5 on March 26, 2010

spacious yet cozy and charming. can't wait to return.


Anniversary evening well spent

4.0 on March 11, 2010

We spent the night of our anniversary in a charming 1900's era school that was fascinating to explore. Each room is decorated in its own motif with great attention to detail. Our hostess was attentive and helpful, and served a delicious breakfast. We have lovely memories of our evening in front of the fire at Noftager Hill Inn!


Back to School

4.6 on January 21, 2010

Staying at this restored schoolhouse brought back memories of our 35 years each as educators. Rosalie is a charming hostess and great cook. We loved our huge pink room and were cozy as could be. Great VCR tape library. Highly recommend it!


Two nights at Noftsger Hill Inn

5 on December 17, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights in this unique b and b in March 2009. Our room was large and lovely, with huge windows looking out over a desert planting. We were able to observe birds from our room. The coffee is ready early and the breakfasts were very different from each other and equally delicious. The main room and the bathroom are artfully decorated. The main entry hall is full of reading material. We will definitely stay there again when we are in the area.


The B&B Experience

5 on November 03, 2009

This was our first time ever at a B&B and it was awesome. The antiques were out of this world -- the schoolhouse itself was interesting & had a lot of character. The furnishings were super & owner was awesome -- breakfast was the best.


Southern hospitality miner's style

5 on November 02, 2009

Rosalie made us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. This home has southern charm with an antique flair. Visitors will learn much about the town and its people from browsing the halls!


Don't miss it

4.6 on October 22, 2009

Unique B&B in an old 2-story schoolhouse. Bedrooms are huge classrooms -- very light and well- furnished with antiques & great beds & linens. Rosalie is a marvelous, helpful host and cooks an amazing breakfast.


Worth a trip to Globe just to stay here

5 on September 01, 2009

We've stayed at countless b&b's, all of which exude great charm & I have enjoyed, but this may be the single most spectacular room we've had the pleasure to inhabit. I believe we were in room #3 - it's the pale green room on the ground floor. Absolutely beautiful. The proportions are beyond grand - this is one of the high-ceilinged, cavernous classrooms of days gone by. There was a wall of tall windows with great views out onto the town & mountains. Two queen beds plus a twin on the other side of the room, great for lounging & reading. Lots of beautiful craftsman-style furniture that looks great with the pale green walls. The famous chalkboard that you can write your comments on. Nice bathroom. Outside the room, there are all kinds of books & magazines & seating areas in the old main center hallway. The breakfast was top-notch & was served in another former classroom. I just loved the massive proportions of all the rooms. What a fun place to run around & explore! There are still old signs outside the rooms that say things like 'library' or 'office'. Rosalie has managed to gather up & display old class photos of former students, which really gives a sense of history & place.


Quintessential small town America

4.4 on June 03, 2009

What a lovely way to step back in time to a quiet, restful place where people are friendly and caring. The inn is quaint, comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious.


Noftsger Hill is a Joy

5 on May 29, 2009

Spacious, charming, enjoyable in every respect. Ms. Ayala is a most gracious host and a superb chef. The breakfast she served, on the guests schedule, was superb. I will definitely return for another stay and recommend it to friends and associates.


So peaceful!

4.0 on April 13, 2009

I'm already recommending this as a wonderful, relaxing getaway to all my friends and family.


School House stay

5 on March 27, 2009

Noftsger Hill is an old school house converted to a B&B. The rooms are old classrooms. The innkeeper, Rosalie, fixes an over-the-top hearty, delicious breakfast. This is a great place to relax and explore the antique shops of Globe/ Miami.


You AWWTA go to Noftsger Inn!

5 on February 12, 2009

Arizona Watchable Wildlife Tourist of Association (AWWTA) promotes rural outings to see Arizona's unique and plentiful wildlife- from birds to bears! We enjoyed our stay in globe-old silver mining tour and Boyce Arboretum- full of history!


A trip back in time

4.6 on January 13, 2009

Great atmosphere, perfectly clean. Something delightful to see at every turn (antiques, lots of reading material, books, games, etc.) Homey, hostess like a good neighbor. Huge school house windows to enjoy views.


Don't miss Noftsger Hill Inn

5 on November 10, 2008

Rosalie makes you feel at home in this charming and historic school house inn. Views, rooms, furnishings, food are all excellent! A must when in Globe!


My Review

5 on October 14, 2008

Fantastic rooms, great theme and delicious brekkys.


My kindergarten classroom

5 on July 10, 2008

This B&B holds a special place in my heart because I attended kindergarten and first grade there when it was a school. I've stayed there twice now (once in my former K classroom), and I love it. The rooms (most at nearly 900 square feet) are gigantic. The furnishings, which include many tasteful antiques, are period-perfect. Beds and linens are top-drawer, and cleanliness is obviously a priority Rosalie is an impeccable host and an excellent cook. The B&B is an excellent staging point for forays into the old mining and ranching country around Globe, and this is a major birding area. From the second floor I never tire of looking out over the hills and old homes where I grew up.


Have you ever wanted to sleep in class?

4.4 on June 20, 2008

Yes, you can sleep in a classroom at school, without being sent to the principals office. Antique furnishings replace the old school desks and the wooden ruler. Chalkboards laden with messages of former students and teachers (even the principals) return visits. Breakfast gets an A++ grade of homemade recipies topped with homegrown herbs.


Great place to stay

4.0 on June 10, 2008

My wife and I spent one night at the Noftsger Hill Inn and had an enjoyable time. Our room on the first floor was HUGE. The breakfast that was served the next morning was out-standing, more than either of us could eat. Rosalie was a very gracious host. We would recommend this inn to everyone.


fun and relaxing weekend

4.6 on June 09, 2008

the service was excellent! owner even picked up concert tickets for us! gave us a coupon for dinner . it was clean and inviting. we are planning on our next visit!


Best B&B Ever

5 on April 16, 2007

This was the best Bed and Breakfast my boyfriend and I ever stayed in, and I consider myself quite the expert because we make it a point to try to stay at B & B's before was go hotel. The rooms were so large with antiques, and some ol'school house furnishings. The Innkeeper was friendly and helpful, when we were in search of shopping. Lastly, the breakfast was amazing. The Innkeeper made breakfast burritos with fresh tomatos and peppers from her garden! The OJ was fresh squeezed - what more could you ask for. I have a special place in my heart for the Noftsger.


Noftsger Hill Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $135
  • Reviews (57) 4.8
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9284252260
  • Fax 1-9284028235
  • Toll free 1-8777802479
Top