El Edificio de los Pavos Reales Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic!

4.8 on November 02, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending three nights at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales recently. As you can see from the photos, the place is beautiful. The room was very comfortable and the hosts were very helpful with suggestions of places to see. The Subte (subway) is only a few blocks away and it is quite easy to get around the city. I look forward to my next stay there!


Great value, central, great atmosphere and fabulous Innkeepers!

5 on July 27, 2011

Best B&B ever. We were pleasantly surprised by the elegance of this centrally located building, the Innkeepers' attention to every detail and as a bonus, the value of their advice on what to see and where to go, not only in Buenos Aires but throughout Argentina.


Fabulous building, fabulous hosts and wonderful breakfasts!

4.4 on June 05, 2011

The photos of El Edificio de los Pavos Reales attracted me to booking this B&B and the helpfulness of Kevin with all our emails and queries before we even went there reassured us we had made the right decision. The location is good in as much as it is equidistant from everywhere you might want to go and is close to a subway, so if you are not worried about staying in Palermo, you cant go wrong here. We had teh suite with the separate bathroom, which I was a bit nervous about, but actually didnt feel any loss of privacy. The room was beautiful and had a balcony. The road is noisy from traffic, but we were so tired each night, it had no impact on us whatsoever. If you need the dark to sleep, you will need an eyemask, but again caused us no issues. The whole apartment is beautiful and full of character, making you feel that you are really staying in a piece of history Kevin and Diego are very friendly and bend over backwards to help you. The pastries in a morning have added at least 3 inches to my waistline, but hey, you only experience this once, unless you are very lucky. I kept telling myself that the huge quantities of fresh orange juice was counteracting the effects! Although we arrived ridiculously early in the morning, Kevin got up and let us in allowing us to use the room straight away and gave us breakfast as he had no one using our room. Likewise, he was kind enough to allow us to use the room at the end of our stay, a very welcome relief. Even though we had several very early starts, Kevin always got us breakfast - you dont often get that! I defy anyone to get such value for money in Buenos Aires - or to go back home and talk as much about the building you stayed in as the sights you saw!


Great Place to Stay in Buenos Aires

4.6 on May 07, 2011

El Edificio de los Pavos Reales was a real treat ... one of the best parts of our stay in Buenos Aires! The B&B is small, just 2 rooms for guests, yet with high ceilings and an interior coutyard/light well, it actually felt quite spacious. Kevin and Diego are charming, cordial, and friendly hosts who continually go out there way to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Kevin was also especially helpful with suggestions on what to do, where to eat, and generally making sure we got the most out of our stay in BA. Both Kevin and Diego are bilingual (Spanish and English) and communicating was quite easy for us (our Spanish is quite poor). Highly recommended!!


Outstanding

5 on April 19, 2010

A real pleasure to sleep in an ambience like a museum, you pay just for a room but you have a complete suite at your disposal, especially the atrium is a oasis when you come home from a sightseeng tour . We felt very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding, too.


Thank you

4.6 on March 22, 2010

After a long flight from the UK , Kevin made our introduction to Buenos Aires and Argentina so special. The sevice was excellent the discussions thought provoking and the insight given to Beunos Aires life was second to none. Thanks again for making our stay , all be it short, in Argentina memorable. Shirley , Chris and Charley


Great place, great host

4.0 on March 08, 2010

This is a lovely place with great style, and the host Kevin could not have been more helpful or kind. I had high expectations from the website so the ratings for 'value' and 'cleanliness' are not half-hearted.


First Rate

4.8 on March 01, 2010

Kevin and Diego were our favourite hosts in our 3 month trip around South America. Helpful and friendly, always professional and never intrusive, they made our stay in Buenos Aires! Excellent recommendations for cafes and restaurants and great suggestions for activities and excursions. Clean and comfortable accommodation, first rate breakfast.


Awesome place for a more authentic stay in BsAs

4.6 on February 22, 2010

El Edificio de los Pavos Reales is incredible. The owners could easily charge double and it would still be a good deal. This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and it had the perfect amount of privacy and interaction with our host. Kevin was an excellent host and very accomadating. He knows the city brilliantly. Everywhere we went Kevin provided us with suggestions that definitely enhanced our stay. Great place and will recommend it to friends and family for sure.


Kevin is the best host I have ever met!

4.8 on January 21, 2010

On Jan. 7th, my husband and I arrived in Buenos Aires with Kevin's detailed document explaining what to expect when we arrived. That was extremely helpful. In addition, he had a driver waiting for us, and we arrived promptly at his absolutely beautiful B&B. We stayed at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales for 3 days and nights, and Kevin helped us plan our time in Buenos Aires much better than we could have done for ourselves. He had maps available, information on how to use the SUBTE (subway system), touring suggestions, etc. His breakfasts were great for us - many fresh fruits, fresh-squeezed orange juice, cereal, yogurt, toast, fresh pastires, and a selection of drinks. We loved talking to Kevin and getting to know him. Not only is his B&B very nice, Kevin is an amazing person - very interesting and warm. Since he can speak both English and Spanish, there is no problem you can present to him that he cannot solve. The price of the B&B was extremely reasonable, and Kevin is completely flexible on the check-in, check-out hours. I don't know what we would have done if we had been staying at a different B&B because we needed these flexible hours. If you want to stay in charming, old-world B&B with beautiful wood, details, and design, you should definitely stay here. It is very tastefully decorated to represent the era in which it was built. I truly cannot say enough good things about the place or about Kevin. I cannot imagine how our trip could have turned out as well as it did had we been staying in another place. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Also, the neighborhood is FINE! We walked all over Buenos Aires, and walked all the way back to the B&B from El Centro two different nights, using two different streets. It was about a 30 block walk, but the weather was beautiful and the people and places we saw were very interesting. We got the true flavor of the city! Thanks a million, Kevin! Lana from St. Louis, Missouri


Couldn't be happier

4.6 on January 06, 2010

Two nights, two days - certainly not long enough. Squeezed in two great dinners - both restaurants recommended by Kevin - a 'not' cheesy Tango show - fantastic and a spot of leather boot shopping. All in all a great stop before my long flight home and a wonderful accommodation experience.


Old World Charm

4.4 on November 19, 2009

A beautiful place to stay ! Feel how BA was in the 20's. Indulge !


El Edificio Excelente

5 on September 03, 2009

We were in BA to re-visit the city and have a couple of days at Iguazu Falls.


wonderful experience

5 on August 20, 2009

the suite was beautifully decorated, the location very convenient to all. Kevin was so extremely hospitable and helpful, he made all reservations for us, made excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities, my teen daughters LOVED him ( and they are hard to please)


The best B&B we ever stayed in

5 on May 07, 2009

We spent two weeks at this fantastic B&B in a historical building on Avenida Rivadavia. First of all, the hosts, Kevin and Diego, could not have been more charming, hospitable and helpful. They made our stay in Buenos Aires even more memorable. Kevin helped us in making reservations at restaurants, B&B in Mendoza, and was always there to give us tips on where to go and what to see. Our patio room was quiet and stylish, breakfast was delicious, and my wife got hooked on the dulce de leche. If we ever return to BA, we will definitely stay at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales.


Excellent accomodations

4.6 on April 21, 2009

My husband and I searched extensively for a quality B&B at a reasonable price. We found the cleanliness, comfort, courtesy, and hospitality we wanted at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales. The owners, Kevin (he spoke Spanish which was a plus for us!) and Diego (also bilingual!), went out of their way to assist us from arrival to departure. Kevin suggested sightseeing, excellent restaurants, and made us feel at home. All of our requests were handled with courtesy. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was private, with a shower (we always had hot water) and all the necessary amenities. The breakfast was elegantly served and plentiful. We were close to a metro (subte) stop and had a grocery store across the street and several restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood (including the stunning cafe and bakery-Las Violetas at Rivadavia 3899). The BA B&B experience was excellent at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales! Highly recommend it!


Great B&B with great service

4.6 on April 17, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in this charming B&B and we had a wonderful stay. The room we had was great - very cosy and charming with very stylish furniture. Kevin, the host, was very friendly and helpful. Also, he is always happy to give very good recommendations about places to visit. Give him your plan of the day and he surely gives some recommendations that makes your plan twice as nice. The location is not 100% downtown, but with the metro or taxi (both extremely cheap) you are downtown in about 5 minutes. Nearby there is a giant shopping mall with excellent clothing shops, there are some nice restaurants and some smaller supermarkets. By foot you can go the Palermo Viejo, a very trendy neighbourhood. In short, I would say that there is probably no better value for money than this B&B in Buenos Aires.


Best Stay of our Trip

5 on April 06, 2009

My husband and I did a 20-day trip around Argentina, staying at ten different B&B's and this was by far our favorite. Kevin was incredibly helpful and accomodating and the room far exceeded our expectations. Thanks again for a great stay in Buenos Aires! Sam & Alicia


Best Kept Secret

4.0 on March 12, 2009

This place came highly recommended to us through a friend and lived it up its lofty recommendation. Kevin and Diego were terrific hosts. They made themselves readily available to offer their valuable insight into the city, but at the same time were sensitive to giving us our privacy. The accomodations are comfortable, affordable and beautifully decorated. If you stay there, make sure to take advantage of Kevin and Diego's intricate insider knowledge of the city. If you don't, you will miss out B.A.'s hidden gems that are not mentioned in the travel guides.


The Hospitality Made Our Trip

5 on March 04, 2009

My wife, step daugther and I spent 8 days at El Edificio and after a few days we were calling it home. Kevin and Diego could not be better hosts and obviously they care deeply about providing to their guests a taste of BA in its glory days. They were helpful in planning our trip months ahead of time. And made suggestions and gave directions whenever we made a request. We felt comfortable and safe in the middle of the busy and noisy city that is BA. When we come back we will definitely make our place to stay the El Edificio de los Pavos Reales.


A Jewel of B&Bs

4.6 on February 14, 2009

We stayed at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales for 5 days in early January, 2009. What a wonderful surprise to find this jewel of B&Bs. Kevin and Diego are welcoming hosts whose guidance and assistance make your stay in Buenos Aires ever more pleasurable. In the morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and Kevin would help us plan our adventures for the day. He had excellent recommendations for restaurants and made reservations for us. Several late afternoons we shared a bottle of wine on the patio with our hosts and had the opportunity to learn more about Buenos Aires and Argentina. Our suite was very nicely decorated and beautifully maintained. They are well located, close to the subway, and centrally positioned making it easy to get around town. We highly recommend this B&B.


better than home

4.6 on February 13, 2009

We spent several wonderful days at Pavos Reales, and can't say enough wonderful things about the apartment, the building, and mostly about Kevin and Diego. Kevin is as warm and gracious as a host could be, and was extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants, museums, making reservations, providing maps, etc... The apartment is in the heart of residential middle class Buenos Aires, and is a subway ride ( wonderful wood paneled subway cars from 1912 !) or a $3 cab ride away from pretty much everything. Lots of pizza, ice-cream, parilla, and the classic Cafe Violetas are all in the neighborhood, though the apartment and the patio are so lovely that it's easy to just stay in. We felt like we were staying with friends - it was a truly special experience and a large part of why we fell in love with the city


Excellent accommodation & value

5 on February 03, 2009

This is an amazing place to stay. It is a really beautiful appartment, and the hosts could not be more friendly or helpful. Breakfast is outstanding.


Great digs in Buenos Aires

5 on December 08, 2008

Our 3 night stay with 2 teenage daughters was terrific. The building itself is an exciting example of art nouveau and the decor of the apartment suited the era well. Our host Kevin was most accommodating, providing useful pre-arrival information, assisting us by making phone calls, and advising us on restaurant recommendations, sightseeing, and transportation. Two nearby restaurants are worth mention: Las Violetas and D'Amblee. The subte (subway train) is only 2 blocks away. Breakfasts were fresh, delicious, and plentiful. The apartment was spotless. The only downside is the street noise, although we didn't hear much of it our first two nights due to jet lag.


Off the beaten path

4.4 on December 07, 2008

Very unusual, beautiful building and well-kept rooms; wonderful attention and breakfast! Lots of help and helpful hints. Great if you want to get off the beaten path in every sense.


Highly recomended

5 on July 14, 2008

This is the best B&B we have ever styed in offering the best sevice we ever had


BA B&Bs

4.4 on July 14, 2008

We stayed with Kevin and Diego last year, shortly after they had opened, but Kevin was mine host as if to the "manor" born. Nothing was too much trouble, without being in your face, and this extended to helping with luggage to the street and instructing the taxi driver exactly where to take us. Both Kevin and Diego know BA really well, and their advice on shopping, dancing and dining made our stay richer. The historical and cultural beauty of the building goes without saying - it is real, Even the lobby has painted ceilings! We didn't tick dining as 5 star, being a B&B, but the B's were wonderful - fresh from the oven rolls, brewed coffee, and all the trimmings you could wish for. The best accolade we will ever give an establishment is the "Will we stay again?" test, and in this case, a most definite yes - we felt comfortable, at home and welcome. All the best for the future. Peter & Mariana Ward-Niehaus Namibia


great experience

3.6 on June 17, 2008

El Edificio is a gorgeous apartment style B&B in a central position but on a very busy and noisy street. Kevin is very knowledgable and helpful as owner. He is also fluent in Spanish and English whihc is enormously appreciated.


Unique Guest House Indeed

4.6 on May 29, 2008

We spent the last 2 nights of our 6-week South American honeymoon in BA with Kevin and Diego, and couldn't have made a better choice. Of the 15+ inns /hosterias/guesthouses/hotels, this was at the top. The place knocks you over with some of the most breathtaking architecture and design. Rooms are gorgeously decorated with special attention to art and detail. Breakfast is delectably perfect with fresh coffee, freshly squeezed juice, tosted pastries, toasts, cereals, yogurts - all served on china. Kevin had the best suggestions for dinner and museums and in general, just went above and beyond what you would expect from a host. The location was perfect and the neighborhood itself, quite charming. The only problem is that we can't remember the entire NAME of the place! Would definitely recommend!


Best B&B experience

5 on April 22, 2008

Kevin and Diego made our stay here the best B&B experience we have had in all our travels in the UK and Europe. The decor was exquisite with many personal touches. Breakfast was a dining experience. Kevin was the most gracious host and eager to assist us with directions and ideas for sightseeing. His extensive knowledge of the history and art of the area was so generously shared with us and certainly gave our visit to BA much more meaning! Prepare for a real treat!! Bill and Laurie


lovely home, more than we expected

4.6 on April 16, 2008

Our stay at El Edificio de los Pavos Reales was more like staying in the guest room at Kevin and Diego's home than a hotel. It was a delightful experience. Kevin was a gracious host who is willing to make arrangements for you and make suggestions to make your stay in Buenos Aires better. The attention to detail in the rooms was great. From the air conditioning he brought into an unusually warm room, to the lovely breakfast, the soaps, the books....we were very happy and comfortable. It has agreat central location, restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Especially surprising was the lovely French decor. I'm sure Kevin is cringing at my description, but this place is lovely. Breakfast is on china, with fresh fruits and bakery items. We felt like we were staying with a relative, and will return any time we're back in BA.


Value B&b

3.6 on April 13, 2008

Having been to BA before and experienced the art noveau/belle epoque architecture, wanted something that had loads of character. El Edificio did not disappoint and mine host, Kevin impressed with his extensive knowledge of Buenos Aires and surrounds. The B&B is situated in a convenient area to the city ( only two blocks from Loria Subte station). Whilst the riad is fairly busy, we gave BA our best shot and found that we slept well regardless! A nice 'home away from home!' Peter & Meagan- Sydney Australia


el magnifico!

4.0 on February 21, 2008

This is one of those rare places that live up to their promise and hype if not more . . . Kevin and Diego are the best hosts we've met at b&b's and it really does feel like being at home . . . a rather luxurious home . . . get ready to get spoiled . . .


El Edificio de los Pavos Reales

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $85
  • Reviews (33) 4.6
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 54-1148672199

Visit Website »

View details

Top