Caseron Porteno Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Grande ospitalità

4.0 on August 23, 2011

Un luogo ospitale in cui passare i giorni di tango a Buenos Aires.


Feeling at home

3.8 on August 17, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing. The owners and all the staff are very supportive and helpful. The only think that I could recommend is to have sale points for credit cards. But, for the rest, I would come back again!


People make a difference!

4.0 on August 09, 2011

The owners and staff of Caseron Porteno take excellent care of their guests. That makes it exceptional in my experience. I spent 3 weeks there, traveling as a single woman. I had a warm welcome from Cinthia starting with my first email. Daniel and his staff consistently overdelivered on the service during my stay. Rooms are very clean, the breakfast is substantial and served attentively. Great tips on milongas, places to go, learning Spanish, and local transportation help. The tango lessons at CP are extremely good - either for beginners or experienced dancers. If I didn't feel like going out to a milonga I at least had a good in house lesson 6 days a week. (In addition to the group lessons, I'd recommend setting up some private lessons using these same teachers. You get to use the studio for free!) This is a very safe neighborhood - I walked home from a nearby milonga after midnight with no worry. I did my research before choosing this place and was happy I landed at such a friendly place. Other guests, from many countries, were outgoing and fun to talk with. Being close to the subway and a good bus line made getting to downtown and Recoleta very easy. I didn't meet anyone there who wasn't very happy with their decision to stay there!


Our home in Buenos Aires

4.0 on January 04, 2011

For the second within three years we returned to Caseron Porteño because of a perfect first experience. Again we were welcomed as old friends and stayed for almost two weeks enjoying the city life during the day and the tango classes in Caseron Porteño in the evening with an occasional milonga afterwards. Although Caseron Porteño is somewhat out of the centre of Buenos Aires it is situated in a quiet and safe part of Palermo. Good public transport by bus, subte or even the train is well within walking distance. The subte took us in less than twenty five minutes to the centre of the city. And if we needed any advise on how to get anywhere or to find a specific place we wanted to visit, there was always Mary, Lucia or Daniel to provide us with some good ideas. Leaving in the morning after a super breakfast and returning to Caseron Porteño in the late afternoon, after long hours of strolling the city felt like coming Home. We will certainly return and can recommend this accommodation to anybody interested in tango and looking for a nice, cosy and hospitable place to stay in Buenos Aires. B + S from Holland


Two English Girls Explore Buenos Aires

5 on September 06, 2010

We were two single girls visiting Buenos Aires for the first time to pursue our love of tango. From the moment we stepped inside the doors of Caseron Porteno we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Our charming room was clean and comfortable, the substantial breakfast was served with a friendly smile and the lessons were great fun and really beneficial. After a hectic day of sightseeing and dancing, we felt like we were returning to a tranquil and safe haven. By staying at Caseron Porteno we were truly able to get the very most out of our time in Buenos Aires. We fully intend to return.


Very nice and warmful place to stay

4.2 on August 02, 2010

wonderful place and wondeful people welcoming us, Maria and Lucia The plac is perfect to dance tango, to have a quiet stay


home away from home

4.0 on July 06, 2010

Extremely friendly and professional service. Easy taxi access. Building has much character.


a month of enjoying tango in Buenos Aires

4.6 on June 03, 2010

We stayed a whole month at this beautiful hostel in the pleasant Palermo neighbourhood. The rooms were really good value and impeccably kept clean by the friendly staff. The hostal has its own dancefloor and free tango lessons from professional teachers. As it is near to the subway ( olleros ) you can get practically anywhere in town quite easy. We would recommend it to everyone and also to backpackers, as you get a better rate for longterm stays.


Excellent BA Guesthouse

4.6 on May 16, 2010

I had the good fortune to spend two weeks at Caserón Porteño during April and May of 2010. Many thanks to Daniel, Cinthia, Lucía, María and Graciela for a very pleasant stay. The CP team greatly enhanced my first visit to Buenos Aires. CP is clean, comfortable and quiet with an inner courtyard that is perfect for relaxing after a day of sightseeing or a night of dancing. On surrounding streets you will find coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants, laundries, ice cream shops, a gym and stores for produce and groceries. CP is within an easy walk or very short cab ride to all that Palermo has to offer and access to downtown is convenient via taxi or SubTe. You can walk down Calle Maure through the beautiful Belgrano neighborhood and cross Av Luis M Campos into upscale Las Cañitas to enjoy twenty-five square blocks of shopping and dining. The CP guests add another great dimension. During my stay, there were visitors from Finland, Belgium, Australia, Japan, United States, Italy and Great Britain. It was a mix of single travelers, couples and small groups staying anywhere from a few days to several weeks and many were return guests at CP. The nightly Tango lessons were very well taught by various local instructors. If you have an interest in this beautiful dance, the CP team will help you get to the right milongas on the right nights for dancing and live music. Overall, Caserón Porteño is an excellent value and a great place to stay while visiting Buenos Aires.


Great place to stay in Buenos Aires

4.4 on April 13, 2010

Thanks to the whole team of Caseron Porteno for your warm friendlyness making our stay in your house unforgetable. The atmosphere, the garden, the workshops and classes with Maya, sharing tango experience with the other guests at breakfast, our room, everything contributed to make our two weeks with you so great. We are already making plans to come back. Cheers Hanna and Norbert


The perfect place for a solo traveller

4.8 on March 22, 2010

I-ve travelled alone for the first time to this marvelous city, and was a little bit afraid. But all the people at Caseron Porteno made it so easy that I felt as at home. Lucia, Mary, the tango teachers, all of them were so friendly and helped so much that I-m totally thankful. They made me have a perfect stay in Buenos Aires!


What else to say? Have a nice stay !

3.6 on March 16, 2010

I’ve just experimented a nice place almost in the middle of Buenos Aires, just a few steps from the underground and with a lot of taxi passing nearby. Just the time to put your nose outside the door of Caseron Porteno and you are sure to find one within ten seconds. Caseron Porteno has a lot of attractiveness. A very interesting price/performance ratio, that is, a good quality of the services at a very convenient pricing. Mind you, this convenience is obtained non lowering the standard of the services, that are really comparable with a medium quality hotel, let’s say a three star at least. But the attractiveness are others. You enter the Caseron and you find yourself in a green and beautiful garden that looks like the inside of a small Pompeian house. The rooms are in large part looking to the garden or on a terrace situated on the first floor. The garden itself has a lot of trees, a local fauna (some cats and few birds) and on the far side the room in which you can take every day free tango lessons with nice and of good standard teachers. When you wake up you can have a breakfast in a room in a side of the garden in which Maria, a gentle housekeeper, (but mind you, remember not to slam doors when she is nearby, she is in charge of the quietness of the place too!) will offer you brioches, coffee, milk, orange juice, bread, butter, toast, jam without having to bother to go to collect them yourself at a far desk as usually happen in 5 stars hotel in which you spend at least 150 dollars and the service at a table is considered an ancient and obsolete custom!


A great tango guest house

4.0 on March 04, 2010

An oasis of calm in a hectic city with a lovely restful garden to relax in.


A green Oase in Buenos Aires

4.0 on March 01, 2010

In Caseron Porteno you can relaxe from Buenos Aires' smog and noise. The green garden with flowers and trees is a quite and bautifull Oase. The house in colonial style is a charming and in case of rain thre is a nice livingroom and diningroom. I loved my stay there. Astrid fom Denmark


Caseron Porteno

4.0 on February 01, 2010

We stayed at Caseron Porteno in January 2010 for 2 weeks, the place was fantastic oasis in the heat and noise of the city. We where able to use Caseron as our home away from home and would be happy to stay again when we next go to BsAs. There is a milonga only 2 blocks away and its only a short taxi ride to many more. Easy to recommend it and the staff where very helpful at all times.


Oasis in the City

4.2 on January 21, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at Caseron Porteno and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Guest House is very charming with very helpful and friendly staff. The walled garden is a haven for relaxation. With free daily tango tuition, free use of the dance studio and helpful advice/maps on dance venues, dancers visiting Buenos Aires would find it difficult to do better than Caseron Porteno. We wholeheartedly recommend it. Dolly and Jonathan, UK


December 2009

4.0 on January 02, 2010

A nice and friendly gem hidden behind quite anonymous doors in a neighboorhood where we, married middle-agded couple from Norway, found it safe to come and go at all times. If you are a "tango-freak" aswell, this is a good haven i Buenos Aires. To the metro there is a 15 min. walk, and there are taxis in abundance outside the door! We can absolutely recommend Caseron Porteno!


very outstanding b&b

4.8 on November 15, 2009

welcome very warm of Lucia very disposal and with sound advice;b&b :beautiful room,beautiful garden with a cedar and wisteria no noisy;b&b well located in the town at 20 minutes to the center with underground 15 minutes by foot to soho palermo where there are many very good restaurants; very very good breakfast with Maria


GRACIAS CASERÓN

4.0 on November 02, 2009

CASERÓN PORTEÑO: Es FABULOSO!!!!!!!!!!!!! Desde que llego me siento como en mi casa, me dá mucha paz y cada lugar o cada rincón tienen una belleza única. Siempre pienso en el Caserón... en su gente. La atención es excelente en todos los sentidos!!!!!!!!!!!! Les quiero agradecer nuevamente la posibilidad que me dieron el 23 de Octubre de poder quedarme, Lucía hizo todo lo posible para que me quedara, ya que era mi cumpleaños. Mary, es una excelente persona, extremadamente servicial. Está en todos los detalles. Es un lugar muy especial con cierta magia que a uno lo atrapa... No veo los días para poder volver al Caserón y su gente... Dios los puso en mi camino y le doy gracias... Tengo mucha nostalgia cuando pasa el tiempo y no puedo ir... Pero sé que voy a volver. GRACIAS CASERÓN PORTEÑOS POR TODO LO QUE ME DÁS.... Mary y Lucía las quiero mucho !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HASTA PRONTITO BESOS CLAUDIA MABEL RAMOS (NEUQUÉN)


Great experience!

4.8 on September 29, 2009

I spent a wonderful 3 weeks in the Casaron Porteño. The staff are friendly and helpful and the setting is exquisite! The neighborhood is very safe and the Casaron is easy walking distance to shopping and the subway. I was very comfortable there and plan to go back again next year!


My 4th stay AT cASERON PORTEÑO

4.6 on September 13, 2009

The Caseron is warm, friendly, accommodating & inviting. The staff is homey and charming, willing to help w all yr needs--directions, buses, subte, trains etc. Great to wake up to fresh coffee already brewed along w ample breakfasts. Convenient location for all yr needs re city travel, restaurants, groceries, shoemaker, seamstress, hair salons, etc. Reasonable pricecs for the value. Highly recommended!!!


Caseron Porteña

4.6 on August 09, 2009

Next time I'm in Buenos Aires, I will be heading straight to Caseron Porteña. It was fantastic.


charming

4.8 on August 04, 2009

very friendly ambience,great service,very good location,this place feels like home and place you want to go back Alina Gregor


Relaxing, comfortable, wonderful energy

4.8 on July 05, 2009

I spent a month in Caserón Porteño (May/June). This was my first visit to Buenos Aires, so I did not know what to expect. I'm happy to say that I chose the right place. It was perfect for me. I was warmly welcomed and showed around by Lucia. My room was cozy, very comfortable, and spotless. The staff were kind and helpful, and I still miss my hugs from Maria. The kitchen was always open so that I could eat "at home" if I so chose. The kitchen was also a nice meeting place where I usually came away with information on where to shop, dine, tango, and sightsee. Since I was alone, this helped me a lot. I liked the location and ease with which I could get around and always felt safe. It was also wonderful that I could participate in the nightly tango lessons, and I ended up taking private classes with one of the teachers. I guess the best recommendation I can give is the fact that I plan to make many visits to Caserón Porteño. I'm already planning next year's trip. J Connecticut


A home away from home!

4.6 on June 22, 2009

I can not rave enough about Caseron Porteneo. I stayed there 3 consecutive years since 2006 and I will be staying there again for the 4th time next March. When my famly finally joined me for the last visit they finally understood why I raved about it so much. They loved the physical setting of the place with its beautiful courtyard and a large roomy kitchen/eating area and the comfy sitting area upstairs. The staff are exceptionally friendly & helpful in giving advice and directions of places you want to go and even made reservations for tango shows and soccer match with pickup for my son. The breakfast was awesome and the ever-present housekeeper Maria is the most adorable person you can ever meet. We don't speak any Spanish but somehow Maria can communicate with us in her minimal English with her smiles and bear-hugs. This place is also within walking distance to subway and bus stations. I also like the non-tourisy area it's in with its local restaurnts, shops & icecream palours. I understand that they have done some upgrades in the hotel too. You can't be wrong in hoosing this place. AH from Canada


Homy B&B

3.4 on June 08, 2009

Caserón Porteño stands for home away from home! The staff and personnel are utterly friendly and they know how to make you feel at home (even if it 's your first time in BA)! The approach is highly professional combined with shere kindness. This is not limited to the actual stay, but goes beyond, as I have experienced before and after my stay. Informative, helpful, correct and accurate! I would certainly recommend this cosy B&B to anyone who would like to make a smooth start when visiting BA!!! Arleen Emanuels from Suriname (S.A.)


Take My Word For It

4.8 on May 06, 2009

I have stayed at Caseron Porteno two times for a total of about 5 weeks and have booked my return. It is very well run by a small very friendly hard-working group of family and staff, is kept immaculate and is a safe very attractive sociable haven particularly for single travelers. Guests are made to feel that this is a second home. The location is very convenient to the subway, to local small businesses and a variety of restaurants and very good, too good, ice cream! The locationalso lends itself to very pleasant nearby neighborhood walks. A nearby large very-well stocked supermarket permits us to share an occasional meal and/or late-night snacks and vino with other guests in the Caseron Porteno kitchen/dining room. Most guests have an interest in tango and there is a well-attended neighborhood milonga twice a week right around the corner. But the best part of the experience is the stay at CP. J.M.M.


Peace and Fun at the Caserón Porteño

4.6 on May 05, 2009

The Caserón Porteño is an island of peace inside of bustling Buenos Aires. There are many nooks and crannies one finds for down time to think and meditate, to write, and enjoy the sun. But make no mistake, tango is the focus of the place. The tango instruction is outstanding and the connection with the subculture of the tango world is exceptional. What makes the Caserón Porteño successful, moreover, is the warmth and sincere interest in the guests shown by the owners and the staff. It is as though one were visiting family. Furthermore, the guests are among the most interesting, open minded people one will find anywhere. The guests are from all walks of life from all over the world and make great companions from the interesting stories of their experiences as well as sharing nights at the milongas all over town. All of the above is why the Caserón Porteño is such a value. One enjoys the best of everything B.A. has to offer in an unassuming, friendly atmosphere, ideally located for transportation to any of the most interesting sights and activities in B.A. The Caserón Porteño is a place one hates to leave and an experience one can´t wait to do again.


"Home Away From Home"

4.8 on April 19, 2009

My husband & I spent 2 weeks at Caserón Porteño in Jan. & now, in Apr., are no less enthused about our experience! In telling our friends about the guesthouse, we describe it as the best place we’ve ever stayed. The location is great & the grounds/rooms are very well cared for…but more so are the guests. Before we arrived, Cinthia & Lucia made us feel welcome & confident through phone calls/emails. Every inquiry was responded to promptly & knowledgeably, enabling us to make the best of our first travel to Argentina. On arrival, Daniel gave us a warm welcome & tour, & we began to feel “at home”. Caserón Porteño is the perfect place for either a short visit or a long one. Each morning, Maria lovingly serves a nice variety of continental breakfast fare such as fresh-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, fruit, ham, & sweet rolls; however, the cocina is open 24 hours for those who would like to bring in food or cook according to personal schedule. It's equipped with standard kitchen appliances as well as cubbies in which guests can conveniently store less perishable items. There was also a small refrigerator in our room. For planning excursions/checking email, we found the library of travel books & computer with free internet in the living room very helpful. Dance lessons each evening (even weekends) are so much fun, both for folks who are interested in experiencing tango for the first time or for those wanting to build their skill. We had a great stay & met many friendly & interesting travelers. The homey, relaxed atmosphere & caring staff of Caserón Porteño surely bring out the best in everyone who stays there. Special thanks to Lucia who answered our every question so efficiently & to Maria who made us feel like part of the family, even getting up in the wee hours of the morning to accommodate our flight schedule. One day, we plan to return to see more of the city & will certainly look to Caserón Porteño for a place to stay.


Caseron Porteno

Details

  • Nightly Rate $50 - $95
  • Reviews (29) 4.3
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +54-11-45546336
  • Fax 54-1145546336
  • Mobile 54-91164890148

Visit Website »

View details

Top