Recent Reviews in Appomattox, Virginia

Fantastic food & warm hospitality at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant three night stay in the spacious Bradley suite. Our favorite part was the incredible on -site restaurant. We enjoyed three delicious breakasts and two wonderful dinners. There are several historic Civil War sites nearby. Babcock House was an ideal location and setting to enjoy the area. The Inn is family owned, and very welcoming. It is nice to see such a nice family working together.

View more reviews for this inn


Due to Restrauant being served on lunch and dinner problem at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

3.2 reviewed on August 30, 2016

The owner was vary gracious but the restaurant was not as friendly., For a while I thought the restaurant was owned be a contract person. Because the restaurant was dealing with whoever wanted lunch or supper it was difficult as a guest to the bed and breakfast to enjoy aspects of the The Babcock House. Because of this We would not recommend this as a top Bed and Breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B--Babcock House at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2016

Superb Bed and Breakfast. The restaurant is the best in the area that I have found and reasonably priced for the superb food that is served. Staff is excellent. A great location from which to visit the National Park at Appomattox or the colleges--Longwood, Hampden-Sydney, and others in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


The Babcock House was Awesome! at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Babcock House! Not only is the breakfast amazing, but they have a restaurant downstairs with food you will love! Sitting on the balcony upstairs was a relaxing treat after a busy day. The service was great and I will definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2016

My husband and I were on our way to Chesapeake, VA and I wanted to stop at Appomattox to see the Civil War history. The Babcock House was the perfect place to stay. Clean rooms and bathroom, wonderful food, great innkeepers and chef. We would highly recommend Babcock House to anyone passing through!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Inn and terrific owners at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

Beautiful Inn with incredible attention to the details that make you feel relaxed and welcomed. The owners, Kathy and Mike, were terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B with southern hospitality at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.6 reviewed on August 01, 2016

Beautiful rooms well decorated and maintained.

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant Stay at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.4 reviewed on July 26, 2016

A nice stop over on the way across Virginia. Much more enjoyable than staying at a hotel. Very friendly staff. Able to take in some history as well.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Destination at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Our second stay was as marvelous as the first one. We stayed in the same well-appointed period room and enjoyed the perfect dinner and a farm fresh, homemade breakfast before traveling on. Charles and Talia were warm and charming hosts, as was their young son, Remi. Erica was the finest server we have had. We will be back, and, hopefully, for many more stays. - Jim & Janelle Clinkenbeard, Ft. Thomas, KY

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We had a lovely two nights at the Carriage House Inn. Perfectly located (close enough to walk to town over the bridge) and perfectly appointed (fell in love with the amazing carpets!) Kathy and Mike were very gracious with directions, maps and providing great comforts including water in the room, mints and snacks outside the door and bathroom amenities. Breakfast was delicious - multiple courses all delightful....I especially liked the watermelon salad. Highly recommend a few nights at the Carriage House!

View more reviews for this inn


Great time at the Carriage House Inn. at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on June 28, 2016

My sister and I stayed in the Carriage House suite at the Inn - spacious bedroom, living room area, and kitchen. Our hosts Kathy and Mike were very accommodating, and we enjoyed not only the wonderfully delicious breakfasts but the great conversation as well. It felt like a home away from home with that added great service you love to experience on your vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight getaway at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2016

This was my first time at a bed and breakfast. I was traveling solo on an overnight getaway. My room at the Babcock house was cozy, comfortable and quiet. The on sight dining was exceptional. Do not pass up the bread pudding for dessert, it may be the best I have ever eaten.

View more reviews for this inn


Motorcycle friendly at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2016

Babcock was a great overnight stay with fine dining onsite. It is also close to the Appomattox Courthouse National Park, which is what brought me to town.

View more reviews for this inn


The Carriage House Inn at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Kathy and Mike have everything "just so." They add so many touches to create elegance and comfort. We enjoyed our time in the Carriage House! Jim & JoEllen

View more reviews for this inn


An enjoyable stay at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.0 reviewed on May 27, 2016

Debbie was very welcoming upon our arrival. If we're ever in the area again we'll surely stay at The Babcock House.

View more reviews for this inn


Will plan to visit again at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.2 reviewed on May 10, 2016

Enjoyed our stray! The owners are a great family.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Very nice stay and extra touches. Would recommend assistance be offered w/ luggage.

View more reviews for this inn


Five stars in Appomatox!!!! at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2016

Everything was great. My wife and I recommend it highly!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic charm and a hidden gem at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 22, 2016

It was the first BnB for my wife and I and we're both very happy to have chosen Mike and Kathy to be our hosts. The house has a rustic charm to it that clearly showcased the owners' passion for preserving the rich history of the building while bringing it up to date on modern amenities like wifi and central air. It is nestled atop Daniel's Hill in historic Lynchburg and downtown is just a walk away. The 4-course breakfast was a good balance of fresh and savory. We stayed in the Mary Watts room it was perfect for our weekend getaway. Should we be in the area again, we'd love a pit stop at the Carriage House!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

I was at Carriage House Inn B&B for a little over a week and it was outstanding in every way. Mike and Kathy go out of their way to make guests feel welcomed. The rooms are spotless, the sheets are amazing, and the breakfast is out of this world delicious! If you are in Lynchburg, stay here, you won't regret it!

View more reviews for this inn


Kreider Stay at THe Carriage House at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2016

Mike and Kathy are very cordial innkeepers. As with any new place that you stay, you never quite know what to expect, but they exceeded our expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and comfortable stay, food was wonderful at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.8 reviewed on March 15, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at The Babcock House, the rooms were lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was just delicious and the owners were a delight.

View more reviews for this inn


Just a quaint enjoyable stay. The owners were gracious and the breakfast most enjoyable b at The Babcock House (Appomattox, VA)

4.8 reviewed on March 02, 2016

We stay just one night but plan on making this a yearly visit. We hope to bring more couples to share this lovely B and B b

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hosts, Great Breakfast, and Great Accommodations at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on November 12, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn over Columbus Day Weekend and had a wonderful stay. Our room was in the actual Carriage House which shares a parlor and kitchenette with another room. Accommodations were very spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. The owners are really great. They contacted us in advance and went out of their way to prepare information and insights about the local area and specific activities we were interested in. The breakfast was fantastic with unique recipes you can find on the Inn's website. Great visit. We would definitely stay at this B&B again!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Home to Visit at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2015

The Carriage House Inn is beautiful and a lovely place to visit. Great hosts and plenty of privacy.

View more reviews for this inn


A Step back in Time at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 15, 2015

From the moment we arrived, Kathy and Mike offered a gracious style and warmth that consistently impressed up throughout our weekend stay. Flexible, engaging, thoughtful, and supportive, they modeled the style of innkeeper in an extraordinary fashion. Ask to see the storybook of the restoration. If you are a history or architecture buff, it will delight you and is just one of the many reasons the Carriage House exceeds expectations. Loved the group breakfast--guaranteed both a tasty and intellectually interesting start to the day!

View more reviews for this inn


Superb B&B at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2015

Our recent 7-night stay at the Carriage House Inn B&B was a first-rate experience. We came to the Lynchburg area to experience the 150th anniversary of the end of the Civil War at the nearby National Historical Park at Appomattox Court House and do some genealogy research in Chatham. The hosts, Kathy and Mike, were welcoming, and informative about the area. Their dedication to restoring the house has made it a jewel with a rich past history. The breakfasts were a real treat, not only presented beautifully, but delicious also. I would definitely recommend The Carriage House Inn B&B as the place to stay if traveling to Lynchburg. Seattle, WA travelers - Sharon and Art

View more reviews for this inn


The best B & B experience ever! at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 15, 2015

My husband and I stayed at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast during the week of the Appomattox Sesquicentennial events. I have to say both Kathy and Mike were gracious hosts and their home is exquisite. The four course breakfasts were delicious and they were always available to answer questions about Lynchburg and environs. I will recommend their B&B to anyone traveling to that part of Virginia.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and Breakfast Bliss at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2015

My husband and I arrived late for our reservation, so Mike and Kathy gave us a free upgrade to the Stable Master Suite. It is really a one bedroom apartment with a spacious living room, large bedroom, small kitchenette, and a glorious bathroom. So more about the bathroom; it has a large footed tub and an oversized shower. Both were just wonderful because of their size and cleanliness. The bed was firm and for most people would be very comfortable. We really enjoyed the privacy and space we had when staying in this room. We spent two nights in the Stable Master Suite and then moved to the RT Watts room. We made the change for three major reasons. First, it is the room I initially booked. Second, I really wanted to stay in the mansion because of the historic significance. Third, I have major back issues and the RT Watts room has a Select Comfort bed. The RT Watts room is just lovely with a private bath. The claw foot tub can be used only for showers because of how it had to be plumbed. The bed was great for my back, because I could adjust it to the firmness I needed. I really loved staying in this room, because the bed was good for me and it was in the mansion. The breakfasts were really superb. Even though I have some pretty annoying food restrictions, they were able to make fantastic tasty breakfasts for the both of us. We had a difficult time finishing our breakfasts and found that lunch was really not necessary. Mike and Kathy also have great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area. We ate at three of the restaurants they recommend, walked and biked the trails, and visited some of the local universities. We had a lovely visit and recommend The Carriage House to anyone who enjoys a fantastic b & b.

View more reviews for this inn


A Little Haven on the Hill at The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Lynchburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 07, 2015

What a delight to meet B & B owners Michael and Kathy of The Carriage House Inn. Yes Lynchburg, like so many of our old industrial towns is re-making the face of the downtown. But from the hospitality extended by Kathy & Michael, and the people volunteering and working in Lynchburg's historical sites, shops and restaurants, they demonstrated they are glad you came by for a visit and appreciate your business. We stayed in the Carriage House, next to the main house, for two nights and loved the privacy, yet access to the main house and our walks to downtown. The property, main house, and rooms are clean and comfortable. And your auto sits right next to the house in a old iron gated, fenced property. What can we say? Try it you will enjoy! George & Jenny Young, Chantilly, VA

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}