Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Anchorage, Alaska

Home away from Home at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.8 reviewed on December 08, 2014

Beautful, Clean and friendly !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Superior to any national chain! at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by our stay here! The grounds are impeccably kept, and the rooms are stunning. Clearly, much thought, time, and love have gone in to decorating each one. Our special dietary needs were cared for with such style and taste, we were very impressed. Almost all the ingredients were either home made or locally produced, which gave the meal an extra special flair. We will definitely aim to make this our main lodging when we are in Anchorage.

View more reviews for this inn


just great at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2014

really nice place to stay, carol makes really good breakfast ¿¿ nice rooms, much storys she is telling, can only recommend it, much things to see at at the house ¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Anchorage at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2014

This was just like staying at grandma's house. Carol is a very informative on the area as she has lived here all her life. Her breakfast's were AMAZING! One morning she had made homemade strawberry, blueberry, rhubarb and raspberry toppings for our waffles. She made us feel very welcome. The rooms are clean. We stayed in the Glacier room which was nice. Two separate people that we ate breakfast with had stayed at this B&B many times before, which I liked to hear. Homey.....

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Big Bear B&B in Anchorage at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2014

We love staying at this B&B, as the accommodations are lovely, the waffle breakfast with fresh berry toppings delicious, and the hostess is especially knowledgeable and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.2 reviewed on August 23, 2014

The B & B felt like home. So cozy and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Start into our Alaska Adventure at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.8 reviewed on August 19, 2014

Carol is an incredible host! Don't miss the breakfast!!

View more reviews for this inn


Most enjoyable experience at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our two stays at Big Bear during our two week vacation in Alaska. Carol was a most gracious hostess. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about her stories of living in Alaska, viewing the many Alaskan artifacts in her home and learning of her excellent recipes particularly the caribou/apple breakfast pie.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value and hospitality at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Our stay was more than we expected. Carol has a great deal of knowledge about Alaska and is more than willing to share it. The house is filled with Alaskan artifacts and has a nice little resource center filled with books and videos. It can be a little overwhelming at first but once Carol starts to share the history and culture it's all pretty neat. Breakfast was wonderful! We would probably stay there again if we find ourselves back in Anchorage. The B&B is about a $10 cab fare to downtown and about $30 from the airport.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this place at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Carol is a great hostess and our room was great. The Denali Room is more like a suite with a bidet and a jetted tub. Breakfast was wonderful and the garden is beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


A home far away from home. at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Nice and clean room. Complete kitchen. Tasty breakfast. We enjoyed our stay with the McKinnon family. Perfect hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Super clean, modern, nice rooms, ordinary breakfast at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

3.4 reviewed on August 04, 2014

We did enjoy our stay at Fireweed Manor. The bed was very comfortable. We shared a bath which was no problem for us. The rooms are in the basement with a separate side entrance. There was another couple in the room on the other side of the bath but the room with separate bath was vacant. When we arrived there was a freshly made plate of brownies and lots of other munchies available. They had a lot of tourist information and maps which were very handy. We wanted to ride bikes one day and they offered the use of their bikes but unfortunately one had a flat. The house is located very near a bike path that connects with the waterfront bike path. So my only nits to pick are the breakfast and the sinks! The owners said that breakfast was at 7:00 (that's a guess, I can't remember exactly) but other than (very good) fresh berries was just store bought items, granola, yogurt, muffins, bread, etc. There was plenty but we are used to a cooked meal and more interaction with the hosts. They were very nice and like I said this is a nit-picky item. The sinks were a funny thing. They look beautiful but are not as functional as a plain old sink. They were a quartz or some other material with glass inlays and were very well done. Unfortunately they have no depth so you can hardly wash your hands without touching the faucet or the bottom of the sink. Maybe this is a modern trend and I am just too old school. If I were just giving a rating on my own criteria this would be 4 stars but this site's guidelines are pretty tough so it looks like 3-1/2. I would stay here again without hesitation.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, comfy, & quiet at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2014

Nice place, recently updated with new paint, carpet and furnishings. Breakfast is set out for you at 7 am but you can eat whatever time you get up. Nice deck to enjoy with a fire in the evenings. Easy access to the bus line to get around. Next time I'm in anchorage I will stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for our needs at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.6 reviewed on July 20, 2014

We really appreciated the full kitchen with snacks, comfortable living room, office area, and our private room and bath. The fountain outside the living room was a delightful surprise, and the deck was perfect for enjoying the sunshine. The location was ideal for shopping and doctor visits. We will definitely recommend Fireweed Manor to our friends and relatives.

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious Breakfast at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.8 reviewed on July 17, 2014

This Bed and Breakfast was a little far out of the city in a not so great part of town, couldn't really walk anywhere and the rooms were quite hot the nights we were there, however Carol was a wonderful host, she had very interesting stories, the B&B was very Alaskan and the breakfast was really really good, she even made gluten free waffles and muffins for me that were some of the best I ever had. Wonderful home made preserves and she was very helpful with all kinds of information about the area. Beds were comfortable but the bathrooms had a bit of an odd configuration.

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have had a better experience!!! at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2014

We will definitely be staying here again, and telling friends and family about it when they visit Anchorage. We were blown away by the entire experience - thank you so much Fireweed Manor!!!

View more reviews for this inn


big bear at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2014

Awesome Breakfast, fantastic cook! Awesome rooms!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic in Anchorage at Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

The property is absolutely immaculate and recently remodeled. A convenient location, with easy access to the Anchorage bike trail system. The owners John and Jennifer are very gracious and accommodating and sincerely care about your comfort. Highly recommend a stay at Fireweed Manor while in Anchorage. Bret & Beverly - Mammoth Lakes, Ca.

View more reviews for this inn


unique b&b in Anchorage at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.4 reviewed on June 03, 2014

Carol has a wealth of knowledge about Alaska and Anchorage in particular.Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious,and her B&B is filled with fabulous books and unique artifacts.

View more reviews for this inn


The bear facts at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

3.4 reviewed on May 31, 2014

Carol Ross is an interesting and gracious hostess. She is full of stories and information, as she has a right to be, coming from a long-time Alaskan family. Her waffle breakfast with various berry and other toppings is worth the stay in itself. But we do have a few constructive criticisms: 1. If guests are required to take their shoes off, house shoes should be provided. Socks on carpeted staircases are a slip and fall hazard, as we experienced at the cost of some badly bruised toes. Shoes are more than fashion items; they are protective devices. 2. There is too much interaction between guest and household members' comings and goings. We often felt we were intruding. 3. The clothes closet bathrooms are ingenious but not very user friendly. We would also suggest that Carol needs more paid assistance.

View more reviews for this inn


Big Bear B&B at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.2 reviewed on March 07, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Big Bear and Carol was super nice and shared a lot of her knowledge about what to do/not to do while in Anchorage. The house is FULL of trinkets, dolls, etc. that give you a taste of Alaskan culture. The only complaint I have is the "bathroom" that each room has is indeed just a closet so there is no privacy whatsoever. Breakfast was soooooooooooo good! She is an amazing cook. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Big Bear Bed and Breakfast at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.6 reviewed on November 30, 2013

The salmon quiche was delicious, the house was spotless, and the host was fantastic. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience real Alaskan hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly an Anchorage Gem at Goose Lake Lodge B&B (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2013

Truly made our stay in Anchorage. Susan warmly welcomed us as we arrived and gave us a tour of the house. It met and exceeded our expectations based on photos we had seen. It was clean and well maintained, we lacked for nothing during our stay. We were traveling with 3 generations (7 of us) and there was something for everyone. My parents in their 70's loved watching the surrounding wildlife, twice in 4 days we watched a moose swim across the lake! Nesting birds on the lake could be seen from the big windows, deck or a short distance away to a path with a nice quiet sitting bench. Our young adult children enjoyed catching some sun on the upper deck, swimming at the nearby beach(short walk down a path from house), finding a quiet corner to read and taking some down time to watch a movie in the comfortable t.v. room. We ate out a couple of times but we found it more fun and relaxing to eat in with such a beautiful kitchen and eating area overlooking the lake. We found this location easy for day trips too. We would recommend going to Flattop Mountain there was great views of Mt McKinley to see there. You can do a quick easy walk or actually do a little more serious hiking, our group split and did both. Great shopping downtown. Girdwood was another easy drive, the cook inlet and Seward highway are beautiful. We would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it to our family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious & beautiful! at Goose Lake Lodge B&B (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

The home is spacious and beautifully decorated, and the location on Goose Lake is a treat. The breakfasts were wonderful. The best part of the experience was the gracious hostess. She obviously likes people and very personable. We will definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


AWESOME at Anchorage Walkabout Town Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2013

Awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have asked for a better first night! at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.8 reviewed on October 14, 2013

My daughters first visit to Alaska and decided to stay at a more "homey" place our first night instead of the same old same hotel. Carol and her family have one of the BEST B&B's I've ever been to. What a perfect first glimpse into the lifestyles and history of Alaska. I wish we could have stayed longer and will make sure I stay when I come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint B&B at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.0 reviewed on September 29, 2013

Lovely B&B but not located in a very good area. We were not comfortable wandering around near B&B but access to downtown Anchorage easy with bus stop very close. Good value for money.

View more reviews for this inn


The comfiest bed in Alaska! at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.4 reviewed on September 21, 2013

We were greeted and followed the house rules - we took off our shoes : ) Carol was welcoming and the Denali room was big with sofas to relax after a full day of walking - and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Tea and hot cocoa available upstairs. We loved the jacuzzi tub - we slept very well! Breakfast was waffles with birch syrup, homemade berry jam, freshly-gathered wild blueberries and whipped topping - delicious. On a quiet street, away from downtown. Carol made sure we got a discount at the Heritage Center which was a wonderful experience - all about Alaska's native people. She was glad to hold our suitcases while we finished touristing around town. A welcoming home away-from-home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay. Carol is a treasure. at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2013

Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were outstanding. Carol even prepared a box breakfast when we left at 2.30am. Yes she got up to do that!

View more reviews for this inn


True Alaskan Experience at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast (Anchorage, Alaska)

4.4 reviewed on September 12, 2013

Surround yourself in Alaskan decor and memorabilia. Highly knowledgeable host.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}