Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Alexandria, Minnesota

Take the time to stay at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2014

Our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful experience. We will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Not sure another B & B can beat Xanadu! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2014

Our stay was absolutely amazing! Bubba and Margie by far are the best hosts we have ever had the pleasure staying with. They make you feel as at home as you can possibly be, like they have known you forever. The food was delicious, enough to make you want to miss lunch all together. The house and Island are breath taking. Battle Lake has so much history in it's small town, I never knew and I'm glad we got a chance to figure it out! I now understand why Xanadu Island has so many returning guests. We will be adding to that list! Thank You Bubba and Margie for welcoming us into your home and onto your beautiful island! Angie and Matt- Andover, MN

View more reviews for this inn


the perfect getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2014

Absolutely just a beautiful place to stay

View more reviews for this inn


Everything was great - except... at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on August 18, 2014

I liked everything about our stay except that the water smelled like fish. It wasn't romantic to take a jacuzzi in a hot tub full of water that made me smell like a trout. I know it was on a peninsula and was surrounded by a lake, which was AWESOME. But the water smelling and tasting like lake water was pretty gross. I don't know if they can use some sort of filtration device or something - but everything else was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to kick back and relax at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on August 17, 2014

The owners, Margie and Bubba were wonderful and the breakfast's are delicious. It's a peaceful location, loved hearing the loons in the early morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Place at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 16, 2014

Peaceful, serene, hospitable, kind, tons to do, excellent food, gracious hosts... Cannot wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


The truth of Xanadu Island at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Meeting people like Margie and Bubba makes a person's life better. You are more than just dollar sign and occupant of the room. You are treated as a member of the family. They go above and beyond any type of service from a hotel and make it your home away from home. We could rave on and on but we will just say you can never go wrong with visiting Xanadu Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Gem at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2014

This is a gem. A must stay if you are in the area. The rooms are large & very comfortable. The breakfast was great as well.

View more reviews for this inn


.the most romantic and relaxing place on earth at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2014

We drove there and didn't know what to expect, when you get off the tar road you drive on gravel for a 1/4 of a mile, and then down a narrow path beside a corn field, then into the woods, the road narrows and curves along and then you come out, and up, and the house is in front of you, kind of quaint, until you walk in the front door, huge living room, wood and windows, very beautiful, very comfortable, the view from the deck, and the magnificent oaks, and the lake.Margie comes out and welcomes us, and shows us around, then in comes Buba, nice fella, we had the most fun and felt like we had come home from a long trip, we talked , and felt like we were family, we will go back and stay longer next time, we stayed in the fireplace room, huge windows that opened up towards a view of the lake, and the other window a view of the bay on the other side of the island, a massive stone fireplace, with have of a log for a mantel, the bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed many hours there, we sat and sipped wine cheese, and crackers out on the deck, that we brought with, and we accidentally dropped a cracker and low and behold here's this chipmunk comes right up to us and snatches that cracker and eats it in front of us, all the sounds of the lake were prevalent there, the loons, and the ducks, and herons, when you go you will have to check out the two person hammock, what fun, in the morning I woke to the best cup of coffee I've had in a long time and me and zona polished off two carafes before breakfast, and then we ate like royalty, anyway it felt that and who doesn't want their get away to feel that way, I've, we've never felt so welcomed at any place where we have stayed like we did when we stayed at Xanadu Bed & Breakfast, and Resort, It will always have a special place in our memories, and we will return to make many more.John & Zona.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Care and Stay at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2014

I had a wonderful stay. Not only was the place immaculate but the hospitality was incredible. I felt at home and had the most amazing breakfast!!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded our expectations at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on July 17, 2014

Lovely, warm, and inviting property. The in keepers were very welcoming and we loved the location. While visiting you have to check out the civil war museum a must see!

View more reviews for this inn


Xanadu is Amazing! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Xanadu and it will not be our last! We always have such a wonderful time here- and Margie and Bubba were born to run a B&B. They make it seem so effortless!

View more reviews for this inn


Shhh! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2014

Looking to relax in a serene setting with an over the top breakfast? Look no further...I won't say more....want to keep this quiet.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2014

We stayed at one of the cabins and has a wonderful experience. The surroundings are lovely. We enjoyed access to kayaks and paddle boat. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. Since we did not stay at the B&B, we did not have breakfast. We did enjoy some surprise cookies one afternoon. I highly recommend a stay at Xanadu.

View more reviews for this inn


our favorite getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2014

Bubba and Marge are the ultimate hosts, and this place is serene and beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Wow! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on June 25, 2014

After reading glowing reviews of this B&B prior to booking you still never know if it'll be great. Well, my gamble paid off. This place is awesome. Even more awesome are the owners Bubba and Margie. They truly went above and beyond to make our 2 night stay fantastic. The beautiful weather helped greatly as we were able to spend hours on the lake using their boats and toys. The location is also very close to Glendalough state park which we also spent many hours biking and kayaking. I rarely write reviews but because I'm still so happy about our stay I wanted to share...

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Bubba and Margie are so wonderful. Bubba spent about an hour one afternoon helping us get out sailing on their sailboat. The breakfasts were incredible and the location is so peaceful and isolated. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


In Xanadu... at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2014

Beautiful lake-side retreat; great setting, great company, great food, cost was at same price-point as previous night's boring motel room with stock experience...

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 14, 2014

Beautiful home, welcoming owners, quiet, peaceful property and exceptionally clean. Wonderful place for a relaxing getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely perfect at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The property is very well-maintained. The service of Margie & Bubba was outstanding. Very relaxing, beautiful little island.

View more reviews for this inn


Even if you do not like sailboats, paddle boats, fishing, you will love it here. at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

It was so relaxing. Battle Lake has great restaurants....better than Alexandria. We wished we could have stayed longer.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden gem on a beautiful lake. at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2014

You will be so glad you visited here. WE were!!!! The owners make you feel right at home and relaxed. Delicious treats and breakfast. Comfortable and clean room with lovely surroundings.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, friendly, interesting, and so much to do, if you want, or just do nothing at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on May 30, 2014

So much is included! Plan to spend some TIME! We didn't realize what an amazing place this is. It is truly an island, apart from the causeway which was built in 1920 so you can drive onto it (OK - and probably for construction).

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on October 27, 2013

My wife and I had such a lovely time! Bubba and Margie are splendid hosts. Our highlights were the food, the jacuzzi, and the kayaks.

View more reviews for this inn


A Real Find at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2013

This place is so special. Bubba and Margie make one feel right at home and the breakfasts are phenomenal. Fireplaces in some rooms and a wonderful lake view. Excellent restaurants in nearby Battle Lake. We hope to be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, relaxing and beautiful! at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2013

Met my in-laws at Xanadu last weekend for a family getaway, and had a fantastic time! Bubba and Margie are gracious and sweet hosts, and the food is amazing. We relaxed on the deck, watching the lake, visited in front of a roaring fire in the great room, and generally enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of this beautiful lodge. Our second trip here, but certainly not our last! Jennifer and Jack, Valley City, ND

View more reviews for this inn


A great place at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on September 19, 2013

The breakfast meals are wonderful !

View more reviews for this inn


Boats, canoes, kayaks and a great bed and breakfast at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast if you want to get away from it all. The house is on an island in a beautiful lake, joined to the mainland by a short causeway. There are boats, canoes, and kayaks for guests to use. Cake, cookies and soft drinks are available for guests during the day. Breakfasts are wonderful. A highly recommended bed and breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Do Xanadu at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2013

This was an unexpected slice of perfection in the middle of Minnesota’s lake country! Margie and Bubba make you feel like family (the fun side of the family!) and are very accommodating when it comes to dietary allergies. The location is the quintessential north country resort; quite, remote and beautiful. Unless you are looking for a wild nightlife, you could not ask for a better place for a get-a-way from the grind of everyday life. We will be returning to Xanadu soon. Deb & Russ

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway at Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort (Battle Lake, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful this place is. It truly is on it's own little "island" and is a wonderful place to relax at. Everything about it is great; the views, the rooms, the service/food, super clean and clear lake, fire pit. It's located on Elbow Lake which is fairly small, but that's nice if you're looking for a quieter relaxation time. Margie and Bubba are gracious hosts and make you feel right at home. You are even welcome to stay and enjoy the amenities after check out time so don't pack your swimsuit early! And Battle Lake is just a few minutes away where you can enjoy shopping and dining out. My only wish is that we would have been able to stay for more than one night. Xanadu will definitely be on the list of places to go back to.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}