Recent Reviews in Alexandria, Louisiana

Peace and tranquility at Lloyd Hall at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on September 24, 2016

The perfect get away weekend, it was lovely to be there almost by ourselves. We visited with the goat and the donkeys and enjoy the peaceful setting. The breakfast I. The morning breakfast was just perfect and the stories about the house fascinating. I recommend this place to anyone who want something extra and out of the ordinary.

View more reviews for this inn


Once again...awesome stay! at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2016

Susan's Cottages will definitely become our go to place when visiting the in-laws! Susan is so accommodating and the cottages are so relaxing. Our favorite thing is to sit on the back porch and watch the wildlife in the bayou.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommend! at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Our 3-night stay in the Commissary was perfect in every way! So peaceful and relaxing, beautiful grounds, all very clean. Wonderful breakfast every day! We definitely recommend Loyd Hall!

View more reviews for this inn


Susan was incredible! at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Our stay, although short, was very relaxing and Susan was great with arranging our stay so quickly! Highly recommend this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on July 17, 2016

Enjoyed our stay. Loved the remote location, privacy, and quite atmosphere. Loved the breakfast and the tour of the home.

View more reviews for this inn


Love Loyd Hall Plantation at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

This was our fourth time to stay at Loyd Hall. Another couple went with us and enjoyed their cottage as much as we enjoyed ours. We were there from Friday to Sunday and cooked our own meals. We enjoyed the serenity of drinking our morning coffee on the porch overlooking the swimming pool, the kitty cats, the pavilion, the swimming pool, the breakfast, the tour and, as always, conversation with Ms Beulah.

View more reviews for this inn


Loyd Hall Plantation at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on June 14, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Loyd Hall, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the innkeeper made us feel welcome and at home right from the beginning. The room was great, it was clean and tidy, it was very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful! I have already made recommendations to others. I would absolutely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful & Well Maintained at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We loved this beautiful well maintained B&B. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The plantation itself is well maintained and furniture added a nice historical prospective. We arrived late, so we didn't have a chance to met the owner/keepers. In the morning, once again we missed out on meeting the owners/keepers as we had an early departure. My one observation, not a major criticism, is that all staff should feel comfortable engaging guests. I am a southerner, and I love that hospitality is a key aspect of the south. Your staff should demonstrate the kindness of the south by saying hello and welcome to our home. But we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect plantation stay - highly recommended at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on April 15, 2016

While travelling through Louisiana a lot of people asked us: Loyd Hall?? What´s that? Because it is off the beaten track. But that is exactly why we loved it. The house is very nice and very original. The rooms are lovely. We did not stay in the plantation house but as a party of 4 adults preferred to share the old kitchen house which had been turned into two bedrooms with kitchen and bath each, and a connecting door. The rooms were classically furnished with fantastic king bed and a huge fire place. We had breakfast in the plantation house and the housekeeper Miss Beulah joined us for breakfast to tell us about the including the ghost stories. Chad the manager had been a great help before our trip and greeted us with much enthusiasm. As no-one was staying in the plantation rooms that night we were allowed to roam through the house and have our very own tour. we highly reccomend staying there. P.S. didn´t have onsite dining but didn´t want to spoil the result by giving less than 5 stars since I couldn´t not fill this in.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Breakfast. at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

3.2 reviewed on February 01, 2016

We stayed in the Camelia and the room was very nice, but it needed a good "spring cleaning". The walls needed wiping down and it needed a good dusting. We loved making a fire. The breakfast was delicious and the tour interesting. It is a lovely place. We would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!! at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

Loved my stay here. Very peaceful, rooms were very nice and the service can't be beat for the price! Will be visiting again :)

View more reviews for this inn


Had a good time :) at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2015

This is a nice cozy, quiet, peaceful place to relax. The cottage was very pretty, and the Jacuzzi tub was great to soak in after hiking and biking in nearby Kisatchie National Forest. After supper at one of the nearby restaurants, I enjoyed relaxing on the back porch with coffee and watching the antics of the geese and ducks that hang out on the bank of the bayou. Lots of funny photo opportunities! :-)

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Loyd Hall! at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2015

We enjoyed our night at Loyd Hall.......beautiful setting, history, delicious breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway stay! at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 20, 2015

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Camellia room and were very pleased. The room was spacious, clean, and well outfitted with everything we needed. The breakfast was really outstanding as was Ms. Beulah Davis and her tour. We would not hesitate to go back. The venue would be awesome for weddings or corporate events.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay for a wedding night! at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on May 11, 2015

Booking and checking in/out was easy! We stayed here for our wedding night and enjoyed the space, cleanliness, amenities, and distance to the airport the next morning. Would recommend to anyone in the Alexandria area for a wedding night space or weekend getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Great get-a-way at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2015

Very nice quiet place for a get-a-way.

View more reviews for this inn


Reunion at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 09, 2015

We flew to louisanna for a 50th reunion and made a trip around the lower part of the state, staying at a variety go places. Susan's was one of the best, the comfortable bed great placement of furniture and fabulous tub. The deck and turtles made for for a great night. I was disappointed about the kitchen. I was prepared to fix a great dinner, instead had salad only. Salsa s breakfast was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


perfect newlywed get away at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 08, 2015

The place was absolutely gorgeous and a perfect place for my husband and I to stay together for the first time as a married couple. Going to make a yearly trip here every year!!

View more reviews for this inn


Alexandria get away at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

3.6 reviewed on April 29, 2015

Our hostess was very accommodating and had a key waiting for us. When we couldn't find the coffee she was a phone call away. We only had two negative things we observed: 1.) the other guest used the washer and dryer which were adjacent to our room and 2.) there was little room to walk between the bed and the opposite wall. Other than those minor details it was a great place to stay. The bayou view was terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved every moment we had there at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2015

We spent three nights visiting in the area. Our children didn't want to leave!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place, but needs attention to detail. at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on April 05, 2015

This was our second stay at Loyd Hall and was a nice stay. There were a few things that could make it a nicer stay. A clothes hook and a mirror on the inside of the bathroom door would be a good start. The jumble of miss matched glassware and dishes didn't present well. The window sills and the baseboards needed a good cleaning. There was no ice readily available. The pool had not been cleaned and the gas grill was not available for use. Just a few minor things done could make a stay there much better.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful for both of us at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on February 28, 2015

We stayed in the Fitzgerald suite in the main house. It afforded us the opportunity to view and enjoy the architecture and verandah of Loyd Hall at our leisure. There is definitely a different feel to the place when the sun goes down. The fireplaces in our suite were perfect for the chilly evening. The jacuzzi-like tub was a delightful surprise. And Ms. Beulah Davis' ample breakfast and very knowledgable tour of the house were both delightful endings to a great night!!

View more reviews for this inn


SUSANS COTTAGES at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 27, 2015

Such a perfect get away from reality!!! Clean and Cozy. I would recommend this place to everyone!!

View more reviews for this inn


Solitude at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on February 19, 2015

If your looking to be entertained, go somewhere else. If your looking for quite and peaceful in a historic and beautiful setting, this is the place. If you like sitting on the porch in a rocker reading a book or taking in the sounds and the scenery, this is the place you want to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Fine and flawless at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on February 18, 2015

This was a one-night Valentine's getaway for the wife and me. The room was everything we expected and we had no problems at all.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed And Breakfast Ever at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2015

You have to believe me when I say this was the best stay away ever. Perfect getaway, country setting, extreme southern hospitality! Over and beyond our expectation. Satisfaction guaranteed.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2015

My husband and I stay here each year for our anniversary. It never fails to please. The cottages are always clean, well furnished and adorable. Our home made breakfast was great. The whole atmosphere is so relaxing. We always leave much more relaxed. Would definitely recommend

View more reviews for this inn


A Christmas Blessing at Loyd Hall Plantation (Cheneyville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2015

It was a dark and dreary afternoon in late December when I arrived at Lloyd Hall. I was so comforted to have a dry porch rocking chair complete with the kitty to relax that afternoon. I felt so comfortable and cozy as I curled up in the bed that evening in front of the fireplace with a cup of hot chocolate. The next morning Buehla served a lovely breakfast in the big house and told us stories of the house and it's transformation since it was built in 1820. I hated to leave that day but left determined to return and bring my family along next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Eve Stay at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on December 26, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The rooms weren't done justice by pictures to me; it was beautiful! This was my fiance's birthday night and he had never experienced anything like it! (Plus, I added a little "floral" and candied decor to the room to add a little spice. The grounds showed the part of Louisiana I love the most... nature, bayou, & trees! The amenities and food waiting sealed the deal... Great little snacks that he enjoyed mostly all of. I am elated to say I had the chance to experience this myself. And that Jacuzzi... I think I may have gotten too excited, because I never actually been in one! Overall, this was a Peaceful, romantic getaway not far from home... We DEFINITELY will be back soon! Thanks a bunch Mrs. Susan!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!!! Very comfortable! You guys had everthing we needed and thank you for the late check in. Sweet little cottages! Will definitely recommend and come back!! at Susan's Cottages (Alexandria, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on December 18, 2014

See above.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Susan's Cottages (4.54)
  2. Loyd Hall Plantation (4.53)
Top
}